(2007/12) Dec 2007 MTB

lynzi,
thank u very very much for the info. will be extremely useful if *fingers crossed* he kena again.. as for the honey, do u giv him daily irregardless of his condition. ie even when he's well?

dylan's mom, which sippy cup is dylan using now? i also find the mag mag cup troublesome to wash, and was thinking of getting one with less parts

ankh,

he is shuffling between the nuby sippy cup, and a thomas the train sippy cup with silicon spout. I find the nuk one the easiest the maintain. Plus its silicon so if want, can still sterilize or boil in hot water.

lynzi,

yup, good idea to start half day and slowly extend once faiq has adjusted. I am only planning to let him take up the extended programme which is until 3pm when he is in pre-nursery. Until then, will let him continue on half day if possible. I feel heartpain to leave him there for the whole day..

lynzi, erm... i sent susu to infant care when she was about 3 months leh. that time still blur blur la... hiak hiak hiak. now she has no withdrawal tantrums cos she's so familiar with her teachers. BUT i shudder to think when i need to change her school.

btw, i went to learning vision at grassroots club in yio chu kang on sat. the place is nice and cozy but they have one weird requirement - that ALL kids be weaned from their own milk powder and take nespray!!! i was bewildered!!!

dylan's mom, ya lor... at 3am the last thing you'll want to do is to fight with your baby. but i think when i go on childcare leave this jul, i'll insist that she falls back asleep in her cot when she wakes up. it'll be an uphill task but i'll try...

tub
maybe so that all the mummies can contribute 1 tin of nespray every mth and cannot complain which kid accidentally consumes another's milk powder etc.

i know some student care does this with shampoos and soaps, all get same brand at the beginning of the mth. First time i heard abt milk powder though

Wow thread is moving really fast. For those with cough, think is better to dilute the milk for your little one until cough recovers.
The recommendation from Lynzi on the chuan bei with pear is good. Do add nanxin beixin when brewing. Smells and taste good..

Tub, That is strange, are they sponsored by Nespray? Is it for free inclusive as part of their meals?

<font color="aa00aa">tub,
oh yah..i forgot at that time susu was still so young..hehehe.
eh..but why the weird requirement on the milk?
i better ask the centre about this and the toiletries then.
btw, how come u taking childcare leave?
wana spend more time with susu is it?

botanist,
is the nuby cup good?
i'm oso using the thomas sippy cup with silicone spout but faiq seems more interested to play with it.
will only drink 10ml then he starts playing...sighhh</font>

steffi and starz, yeah... either they want to make it more convenient or the centre gets a cut from nestle (which we highly suspect). but it's so strange cos i can't even manage what my baby eats or drinks and we're paying a premium at LV. at first they din even want us to bring fruits but i told them susu takes at least 2 whole apples a day at childcare. i'm ok with not bringing if they are able to provide that. then the person relented and said fruits ok... can bring ourselves. then what if i dun want her to take nespray??? aiya... so weird. now having 2nd tots about LV at grassroots lor.

sigh... still like pat's school house leh. hiak hiak hiak.

lynzi, i want to take a break la. maybe go study or just stay at home. been so long in teaching. will be good to spend some time with su cos she's getting older and learning more new stuff everyday.

thanks all... he's still coughing. last nite was a nightmare. he woke up means i'd wake up too.. totally not enuff sleep. we both got paNDA eyes. he wakes up every 3-4hrly coz the ventolin wears off and he coughs again... fever came in the midd of the night at 38++... damn sian.

mimole, nope the inhaler is not permenant. it's like the oral ventolin excepts this works faster than oral ventolin. it's like spray and the kid inhales it thru a small chamber. he's one who coughs often. that's why i resort to purchasing the inhaler from the dr. so when he starts to cough badly at night, i could use it 1st to curb it

tub, lv has some kind of affliation with nestle. That's why you have nespray and honey stars. However it's weird. you should be able to bring your own milk powder and fruits &amp; packed snacks (like yoghurt for teatime). they don't encourage parents to bring food to the CC because it's supposed to be a halal centre.

lynzi,
yah dylan loves the thomas cup also. carries it wherever he goes but thankfully for me, he also drinks from it subconsiously. he can finish half a cup or more within a few hours cos he keeps drinking from it. haha. If its the nuby one, he will not want to drink! frankly, the nuby one is easy to maintain
. Even less parts to worry about than the thomas one.

tub,
that childcare is so weird. i prefer any cc to be neutral and not be 'sponsored' or affliated with any brands. hope you find a cc that you are happy with and able to get a space!
its very headache to secure a space at the more popular ccs.

jeelo,
its a good idea to buy the inhaler. at least you can use it when he coughs to see if he gets better before bringing to doctor. my friends who own the nebulizer also advise that can do neb treatment when yr kid starts coughing... they can get better lor. then no need to see doctor already.

jeelo, aiyo poor boy. hope he gets well soon. when susu had phlegm and cough, i weaned her off fm for a while and gave rice/hazelnut/soy milk. those packet kind from rice dream etc. she recovers pretty quickly leh. not sure if it's due tat but like wat i told hen, can try la...

aiyo...LV is affiliated to nestle??????? if i decide to place her there, must negotiate and make arrangements with them then. but it's really ironic that i'm paying and i have to beg them so i can bring my own food!!! faint... ._.

dylan's mom, hope i find a cc that i like soooooon cos i only have 6 months b4 she's being "promoted" to N1. i like pat's also no use... i'm no.15 on the list. sigh.

Tub,

That's weird. They didn't tell me that leh. In fact, the LV @ RP told me to bring at least 2 milk feeds' worth of milk powder everyday. They is only 1 milk feed (before nap time). But bring 2 feeds' worth, in case accidents happen and the kids (or them) spill the milk.

But thanks for highlighting the bit on the Nespray. I shall just call and ask too. Have to take steps to ease the transition to cc for Louisa...

Lynzi,

For toiletries, I was told that bring own toiletries. Coz some kids have eczema etc, so they say better bring ur own that is suitable for ur kid.
My gal haven't start at LV yet lah. She's only 17mths...I'm starting her at the toddler class. So have to wait till mid-June (which is soon...).

How to prepare for cc? sticker labels...wat else ah?

tub,

just had a thought. did you try checking if su can join pat's now under infant care? that's what happened to me... i enquired for N1 but they said no vacancy. But when I ask whether he can join now as infant care, they said can... and on top of that, he will be secured of a place at N1. that's why there is always little to no vacancy for N1, because its reserved for those that are in infant and toddler care. So in the end, my hubby agreed to start dylan earlier, so he has a place lor.

csi,

the one thing abt cc that i was kinda unprepared for was Clothes! need to hv alot of clothes lor. I pack 2 sets of clothes for changing plus one towel everyday. So must do dylan's laundry 2 times a week so he has enough shorts/singlets for cc.

LV dun provide bedding, wet wipes and toileteries. They have a cubby for you to store clothes, hanky and towels. Bring your own pillow (if need to) and bedsheet. They do wash bottles and cups for u after use. I give them a tub of milk powder and when they run out, they'll get me to replenish. If your kid is on vegetarian diet or allergic to something, let them know. They typically serve white meat diet for lunch. Snack is 1-2hr lunch (they give fruits then) but if your kid is sick or whatever, you can tell them to skip. They'd sub with rice cereal or something else. This is for Infant la. now that he's transitioning to PG, i oso dunno their schedule.

dylan's mom, think the serangoon branch doesn't have infant care.
the other branches are too far for me.

jeelo, thanks for the info.
think i'll just tell them susu is on a vegetarian diet. see wat they say.

argghh...got to get my sis to help me post messages. hahaha.

I called up LV. Yes, they do give Nespray for their meals. But for milk feeds before nap, we bring our own brand. Toddler class / PG, bring the milk feed daily. They dun encourage parents to leave the entire tin there coz toddlers don't drink as often as infants, so just bring one or 2 feeds daily.

Basically, LV @ RP timetable is like that:- (i think roughly similar to all LVs bah...)

830am - breakfast (provided by centre)
11am-1130am - lunch (provided by centre)
12noon - shower
1230pm-1pm - milk feed (bring own)
1pm-3pm - nap time
3pm-330pm - afternoon tea (provided by centre)
530pm - light snack (provided by centre)

in between is all those activities lah.

dylan's mom,

yeah...clothes. hmmm...but LV must get uniforms. so hehs, not so bad lah. kekeke...uniform not dry, then wear home clothes lorh. hahaha. and vice versa. hehs...

<font color="aa00aa">csi,
thanks for the valuable info.
now i know what to expect and what to inform them.

tub,
hopefully u find one to your liking soon.
btw forgot to tell u that the other day i went lsh and they said i can bring my own food daily from home since i'm a muslim and the place serves halal food.

deerdeer,
i'm still using first teeth but incase it stops production i will get Earth Best toothpaste..its similar to first teeth..banana apple flavour and safe to swallow.
will only change to the Thomas orajel maybe when he is 3 and knows how to spit out...hehe</font>

lynzi, i realised that if i tell them su is a vegetarian, they'll let us bring our own food.

i also went to this childcare at sembawang called shooting stars. it's started by 2 teachers who were formally from MMI. anyone knows anything about them? seems quite good but no brandname.

<font color="aa00aa">tub,
i have been to that shooting stars.
some mums and me at our wdlds thread has been discussing about cc oso..another one of them oso has gone there to look see.
for me i dont quite like it..just my first impression when i stepped in.
aniwei i have frens and a cousin teaching at various branches of mmi and all of them told me not to put my child there.</font>

So happy that for the last few nites, Kaylen went to bed at 8.30pm, woke up once at 1 or 2am, fed her milk n she went back to sleep til 5 or 6am, change her diaper n another round of milk n back to sleep til 8am! Keeping my fingers crossed that this will last...

hen,
congrats! I know how you feel

2 amazing things happened today, first, dylan slept thru the night from 930am to 7am this morning! Whoo hoo!! Then when we sent him to cc this morning, he didn't cry or shed a tear, just happily joined the class and didn't even look back at us when we left! I guess my little boy is growing up!!

mommies,
sorry to interrupt.
just want to check whether NESTLE NESLAC TODDLER MILK DRINK is available in spore? if yes, where to buy?
i'm a may '06 n dec '07 mommy, but live in melbourne. and we'll be in spore for a week for holiday.

so happy! This morning yuru woke up and saw me and called me "mummy"! Heart really melted man. First time she called me without being asked to

claire,

that's wonderful!

dylan finally talking now, his favourite word is "THERE!". Everytime i ask him anything, his reply is "there!". Toink.

claire, so heartwarming!
i have to BEG susu to call me and she's only called mi mah-may twice. sianzzzzzzzz

Claire, Botanist and Tub,
Haha, I prefer my boy to call his Ba Ba when
1) he wants milk in the morning and we are still sound asleep.
2) he wakes up in the middle of night and cries

On these 2 occasions, I really appreciate the fact that he only wants his daddy then

I haven't got my "mummy" yet! But jr's vocab is certainly increasing. V funny to hear him talk. He's auto call pa pa whenever he wanna ask for food from anyone. Thks to my hb lah! grrrr...

Jr's latest sentence and greatest num of words in 1 phrase.. Bear bear mei you le! or bear bear bear bear mei you le! :p He purposely repeat bear bear many times. haha

phy,

haha ryan is so cute. I wish my dylan will only look for his dada when he wakes up for milk! :p

bluelily,

jr is so funny...he has a bear bear that he likes? Dylan can say a few words but he just loves "there" so sometimes he refuse to even say "ball", "milk" etc, he just point and say "there!". Headache ah!!

hee.. tink our little ones are picking more words along the way =D
sr is into holding my hands n bring me to the tings/toys/plc dat she wants to get nowadays..
duno if tis the GUG classes or she is 'growing up' le.. she is now better able to repeat words after us ..

dylan's_mom, ya jr have 1 bear bear at each place, my home, my mum's home and in the car. He like to knock his head into the bear bear.. supposed to be a sign of affection. hehe. It's ok lah.. jr also KAI for many mths before saying more words. Cos they realise that 1 word is enough to get what they want!

bluelily,

hehe jr is cute. you are right, they know that 1 word is good enough to communicate so like to stick to that. Plus, he is most confident of his favourite word, so always shout very loud. If its milk, ball, car or anything else, he will speak softly! Toink!!

slimz,

yah, our litle ones are not babies anymore. Growing up sooo fast!

susu seems a bit too looong when i cuddle her now. her arms and legs seem to be dangling out when i carry her. miss those days when she could fit into my arms nicely. heehee

her vocab has also increased quite a bit recently and she could point to her 5 senses when asked to. including hair. but she can't differentiate between verb and noun. she calls the part time cleaner yiiiiii and she will say yiiiii everytime i clean or mob the floor.

the oni time i can craddle sr is during BF-g lor .. and its the oni time when u can disturb her in anyway and she wont mind =P
and yes her legs are dangling and shaking ard, sometimes even kicking me from my under chin!

and sure miss those days man.. when sr has her lotus arms =P

hee.. tub, susu associates mop/sweep to yiii so if u do it u r oso 'yiiiii'??