(2007/12) Dec 2007 MTB

Alamak, we all have the same problem.

Actually I do not mind continuing with the night feeding but I would like to cut down the pumping during the day.

Like what steffietan said, just bite the bullet and continue with the night feeds, they will outgrow it soon.

valeriet,

actually if u hv enuff surplus, u can slowly cut down on day pumpgs. u'll b happy to know tat u will still hv alot of spare milk for ur bb in e nite when he latches on. drag e interval of pumpg slowly n dun overwork ur nehs on how much u shld pump out..by n by, ur supply will decrease in the day n ur body shld make more milk in e nite where e demand is higher.

steffie.... WAHAHAHAHAHAHAH WAHAHHAHAHAHAAH

anyways, i'm still doing full breastfeeding... 3 feed via bottle (while i'm at work), 3 feeds direct latch. 2 pumps daily (one before work, one after work).
Baby Arielle just sprouted 2 teeths... so far so good... she has yet to bite me... *crossing my fingers*

steffie, val

when do you think they will grow out of it???? :p I scared to think leh... i was thinking of going back to work next year but looks like I gotta shelve my plans liao!!

missylan, i kenna bitten by dylan!! he got 4 teeth now and after he bit me... i got one cut on my nipple. damn painful...

mimeole
had emailed you.

steffietan
your putu here liao

re: cheese
i agree laughing cow mini cubes are nice! i am the one eating instead my son. i just bought monterey jack block cheese ytd. will try pasta this weekend

re: bfeeding
my ss dipped further to 350-400mls per day. 3 pumps per day. the supply just enough to cover mal's intake. he has 3 full meals now.

re: teeth
mal no more mr. vampire. his front teeth has cut thru. total 5.5 teeth now, hehe..

steffietan
I re-read your msg to missylan a few times before I got it (the word hb and bb look alike esp if you're scanning very fast) Hahahaha ... anyway, tks for the advice on dragging the pump sessions, which I am starting today (ugh, damn uncomfortable!)

Dawn
My boy has teeth but feeding is still ok. He only bit me once so far, but that was like ooohhhhhhh !!

Looks like i will also be biting the bullet and hopefully dylan will grow out of it soon. steffie, i know what you mean... when he wakes up at night and wants neh neh... nothing will pacify him except me!!

val - yah, when I kenna bitten.. i really scream leh. so painful!! after that, nipple was bleeding and swollen. so scared now.

Alien,
the other time you said tat mal boh geh, like has 5.5 teeth liao, tats fast! kyrell has 2 bottoms + 4 tops but not fully out yet.

To mummies who are still bf'ing,
Envy and salute to you! You are all doing great and i can only imagine the pain of having your kiddos biting your nips and the numerous time you wake up for the night feed but please hang on, they are gonna outgrow it and then you will start missing it! Jia You!

steffietan !!!

i almost puke out my soya bean milk while i was reading ur msg juz now. hahahahaha

luckily never else i will hv to spend the rest of the day cleaning my monitor & keyboard. hahahahaha

mummies.. need some advise here. Last time I rem so babies down with high fever for 3-4 days then got those rashes after that.. forgot what's it called.. Rxxxxxx? How high was the fever?

Jr down with fever 39deg! Now i measured ear temp is 38deg. Pd say maybe will have rashes or something like that (according to my mum cos i couldn't reach home in time to see doc.. my mum went with jr)

haiyah...miss the night feeds ah? maybe lorh. but for now horh...I can't even go for biz trips! haiz...coz I scared if I go, then when she wakes up in the middle of the night, she'll be so poor thing...can't be soothed back to sleep. sob sob. Heng my bosses are ok with that. haha...

Dawn
Wah, Dylan's a vicious vampire! Your nips was actually swollen and bleeding?!?!

Cocoangel
You're right. Though a bit tough waking up for night feeds, I am so damn going to miss it when it stops. This kind of bonding opportunity is something that only we mums get to experience. The dads just don't get it
tks for the encouragement!

haiyo jane...

i think quite a few of our bb got fever then rash after that.
missylan's ah pui & my kayden.
Both had since recovered.

Kayden's fever had last for 3.5 days and then followed by mild fever. He was then super clingy & demanding.

Gonna take care ya!
POor boy.

hai... pd did say the fever will last 3-4 days.
Now thinking how many days of leave shd I take. How high did kayedn's fever reach?

The highest was 39.3 degree.

I took 2 days of childcare leave to take care of him. Was so damn stress that time cause nv will i expect that he will become so clingy, demanding and cranky. Then at the same time, scared the fever will shoot up to super high. So need to monitor even after he sleep.

PD told me to alternate 2 types of fever medicine every 4 hourly. Burofen & paracetamol.
Did your PD gave u a stronger medicine to standby?

oh oh...i mean fever followed by mild rash :p not mild fever...wat talking I :p

bluelily
my son just recovered fr fever and rashes last week. his highest record was 39 degree. lasted for 3 days. got to sponge him... my PD prescribed capsule type to insert anus.

steffie
had emailed you

dylan's mum
i hv more or less sorted out all putu liao. but your cd still with dini. i hv yet to collect fr her. was waiting for jjb to come and pass her all together.. let me arrange for collection with her within this week if you can't wait yah? paisey..

Mine too! Same PD as shryn.. Today is his 3rd day of fever though rashes gone on 2nd day. 4-6 hourly got to give him his medicine, if over 38.5, got to give him the Burofen(orangy). SO far I gave him one Burofen cos it hits 38.4. His temp all 38.4 and below. I gave him longer bathe time. He looks more comfy and feel happier with longer bathe time. Do not bath him in COLD water or use ice water to sponge him. Dangerous!

First time my kiddo got rash during a fever, was worried, scared dengue. But PD said dengue's rashes not like ah pui's. Even requested blood test, but PD said if fever still not recovering, will do it on the 5th day of fever.

aiyo.. tell dylan to be more gentle to mummie eh... i oso kena b4, teeth marks n blood.. during his 1st 2 tooth...ugghhh... i hope he remember how i screamed at him (only do that when it's darn painful) and flick his ears when he did that to me....

roseola - fake chicken pox? is that the one?

valeriet, just read your post. you bb can manouvre the playskool? mine lang-ga the wall then start crawling away liao. heee

hope all babies get well soon! poor thing.

val, jeelo,

yah after that one time he bit me... and i screamed so loudly. He's never done it again... Heng ah!! I dont think I can tahan one more time of that swollen and bleeding nipple ok!! *faint*

Argh! Because I'm dragging my pumping intervals today, there is more during each session BUT I stopped once the bottle is full. So I ended the sessions not fully emptied. Now my nehs a bit uncomfortable. I hope I don't get mastitis. XX fingers crossed XX

Valerie,
I envy yr supply. U lucky gal.

I had managed to wean my boy off the breast. My ss drop n since he had managed to sleep thru the night now, I’ve recently stop bf.

I’ve tried thru trial and error so not any expert advice here. But thought maybe just share wif u gals my experience.

When I started work, I pump 2 times a day (during lunch, after work) and latch in morning before work, last feed before sleep n night feeds. EBM during work time.

Gradually, I start to intro EBM during last feed n pump instead. So it becomes 3 pumps + latch in morning n night feeds.

On certain nights, I alternate between breast n bottle during the night feeds and realized that he accepts bottle since he’s in a drowsy state. So I stopped latching in the nights from then onwards.

Then eventually I stop the latching on in the morning. Gave bottle instead. So in a way, I stopped latching him in this sequence. After some time, he forgot how to latch n only drink from bottle. Tried giving him the breast back twice. He just refused it. At 1 time, he gave me the “want-to-vomit” look. Felt so insulted and really missed the suckling feeling. Kinda of feel bad. Ss also dropped at the same time.

Before he goes to sleep, I will normally give him more FM so that he feels fuller. Then I also notice that at night when he wakes up, he only wants to suck on to something. Didn’t finish the whole bottle. So gradually we reduced the quantity of FM during those night feeds. Very soon, he just suck for a while and drift back to sleep. That’s when I exchanged milk with water instead. Nowadays he doesn’t even want water. When he’s aroused during his light sleep state, I just give him pacifier n he goes back to sleep. On good days, he sleeps thru without his pacifier.

During the period when I stopped latching, I continue to pump 3 times a day (lunch time, after work & before sleep). Slowly cut down to 2 times (during lunch & before sleep). Eventually, cut down to just 1 time (during lunch only). Finally I drag from once a day to once in 2 days. And until earlier this month, I totally stop. Factory now closed liao.

While cutting the pumping session, did experience fullness. But after 1-2 days during each transition, body got the signal.

This is my experience la.. may not work for everyone. My colleague is also reducing as his son is 1yr+ liao. Her method is different. She continues to pump the usual no. of session but reduce the time spent n quantity each time.

The only problem now is he’s rather reliant on the pacifier when he sleeps cos he still have the “gian” to suck on something. So now my problem is how to wean him off the pacifier at night.

slimz,
i recognised your girl. i saw u feeding her at the fast food restaurant. I was there shopping with my girl too....

missylan,
you mean mung beans aka green beans? the dessert type? i typically soak them overnight, then only cook the next morning. Otherwise, veri difficult to soften

jeelomeelo,
No, not green beans. It's peas... like frozen peas but this one I bought is dried whole peas. Manage to get it from NTUC organic dept.

valeriet,

ya, there will b more milk initially when u drag e pumping intervals..but when u express less by n by, e body will make less milk..just got to tahan e uncomfy-ness. after a while, u'll do just fine. nehs will still feel heavy but no 'hard' lumps..dun suffer fr withdrawal symptoms k..u're merely producing less milk, not stopping totally. when i made e decision to express less, i felt v sad somehow..but i told myself tat i've worked my body really hard this 1 yr (almost) n it's time i gave it time to rest.

eve, thanks for sharing.. but can ask hor..
ur boy was on partial FM b4 u wean him?
dat time i tried giving SR FM when she's 4mths .. she vomite leh ...
so now i oso duno how to wean her .. wait she dun wan milk altgr...

happi,
ya ya .. its me ... feeding her porridge @ long john i tink .. with my fren and her HB.. and her niece..
aiyoh u din come say harlowz..
but hor.. i seen u b4 anot huh? how come u recog us ...

ladies, how many feeds r ur babies taking now?
dunno if i should reduce my feeds cos sumana is still taking 5 bottles of ebm and 2xs solids a day. should i reduce the milk feeds and increase one more solid feed?

<font color="aa00aa">harlow mummies!!!
so hard to catch up with this thread.

tub,
think most of the babies here taking 3 solids a day.
faiq takes 3 solids and about 3-4 milk feeds a day.
that's not inclusive of his snack and juice.

btw, i'm into baking frenzy recently.

made this last week.
1815595.jpg

made this yesterday.</font>
1815596.jpg