(2007/12) Dec 2007 MTB

Hen

Pat on your back. You are alread doing a great job. Don't be too hard on yourself. Anytime need to vent, just come in here. We're all ears.

Day time naps

My son's day time naps are usually very short - 30mins a pop every 3 hourly or so. But he usually doesn't sleep by late afternoon, i.e. he will stay awake from say 5pm till bedtime at 8-9pm. I only care for him full-time on weekends and I know his pattern. My MIL cares for him 5 days a week, so she surely knows him better. BUT every evening without fail, the moment I step into their house, they will complain non-stop "wah! he has been awake since 5pm and refused to sleep. We are very tired already! My hands are aching from carrying him. Blah, blah, blah ..."

Really like a broken record and I have decided to turn a deaf ear to these complaints because it just gets repeated EVERYDAY! No effect on me anymore.

Your Baby Can Read

Does anyone subscribe to Robert Titzer's style of teaching baby to read? Appreciate if you can share your views.

Steffietan,

My boy also super bad tempered and inpatient. Sigh~ he would pull and rub his ears when he is angry or frustrated. I got to ask for cream from pd as his ears are raw from his constant rubbing

Hen,

Big Hugz. Today will be a better day. Take care of your hand ok.

My mil also complain tat my son is not sleeping enuff as compare to my sil's twins. My son power nap 3 times for 45 mins per day. My mil (who came over to help out when my mom went holiday-2 weeks) keep wanting to put him in sarong as she says that way baby will sleep longer.

But I ignore her lah cos she is here to help out 3 days nia and the rest of the week, I took over and I can handle my boy without sarong. Even without long nap, he is still playing happily so i let him be..

I think different babies have different sleeping habit. Not neccessary all babies would take long nap.

got a q. my gal is still having phlegm n cough despite having been to the doc twice already. she coughs more in the early morning and evening. shld i bring her for a follow-up visit? so far, she is not on any antibotics. any advice wld b greatly appreciated. thks. m(_)m

Chanechane,

I also FTWM, last weekend when we went out for lunch with pils. My mil wants to feed my son with beancurd. Faint ~ and I told her sternly that my son cannot take food that is infuse with sugar and salt yet.

And she tell my son (in front of me) that is not ah ma dun want to feed you, but your mummy don't allow you to eat. ~fuming~

Luckily, my son is taken care by my mom, if by my mil, every rules on the book will have been broken.

chanechane
i will sack my MIL if she dares to do such thing to my son! my baby sitter told me this morning NTUC selling a very nice baby biscuit, not that hard, thin enough to let baby chew. she said her previous babies liked it. i told her straight i select every food for my son, so indirectly telling her dun ge kiang! haha..

hen
hope you feel better today. cheer up!

BBnGG,
My boy too!! Skin behind his ears is very raw and red!! got little bumps too!!! What cream did your PD give?

chanechane:

i can totally understand. tat is y i insist on letting my bb sitter & my own mum take care of my bb insted of my ILs. at least bb sitter n my own mum listen to me. my MIL (super auntie kind) for sure anyhow feed my gal n sure spoil her 1. if not for her condition (hepBC), she wld hv done wat ur FIL did n fed my bb liao. :p

hen:

juz read abt ur bad day. *hugz* it's a brand new day today. dun b so hard on urself. superwoman doesnt exist in reality. we r all trying our best already. we r all in tis together n we can ride the storm.

jamie, no la, no trying for #2.

I am so worried now, my boy had been pooing big time since tues! tues 3 times, wed 4 times, this morning 4 times! He is very cranky ytd, and i have hard time pacifying him, now he at my mil place having low grade fever as he went for the penum. jab ytd. He showed no signs of dehyration, just he sometime will drink more and sometime he will be on milk strike, nt sure it due to his change in fm from stage 1 to 2 or he is teething...

hen,

really can imgaine the scene. hope u feels better today!

any babies can sit up by themselves already?
yesterday my ger gave me shock by sitting up by herself. she only done it once only. think she did it by luck nia haha

I feed my son with tofu also when I eat hot plate tofu that day. But I dig the inside only and he loves it. Sometimes when I eat bread, I also feed him a little bit..To me, its ok la..Cos when we are young, our mum also does that..

I think for grandparents, they won't wanna hurt their own grandchildren. And afterall, we are all brought up this way, and there's nothing wrong with us rite? Guess everyone has their own set of thinking lor.

Beng's ma,

My boy also has fever yesterday, but think he's teething la..So feed him paracetamol and he's ok liao..He also poos alot but I think its becos he eats alot too..hahha

hi everybody,

Thank u sooooo much... me better today liao, except for a big swollen little toe. Me clumsy these days, keep kicking into things.

jeelomeelo, I get blue-black very easily lor n it takes a long time to go away.

Been discussing abt the part time cleaner wz hubby for long long time liao. The conclusion is always "no". These days, we not so kan cheong abt housework, many areas neber clean for long long time. Every now n then when I can find the opportunity, I'll clean n pack one spot at a time.

hi crystalz, my boy can sit up liao.

krist, according to my gp, 10% of the babies will have mild fever after the jab. I told my gp my boy cfm will have fever de cos he also kana fever from his 5in1 and 6in1 jabs previously.

jean, told my mil he maybe teething, she brushed me off that bb will grow teeth when they are 9mths old, don want to argue with her further, anyway i bringing my boy to see doc in a while.

crystalz:

mine can liao but not for long. :p

Beng's ma:

cld b caused by teething. my ger oso went on milk strike recently but no sign of tooth leh. :S

hen:

glad u r feeling better today. do tk care. mi oso suggested part-time cleaner (offered to pay out of my own pocket somemore) but hb always says "NO". #@$@#$@#

crystalz
my son not only sit, he crawling ard whole house now.. wherever we go, he follows.. my hb is cleaning the floor everyday now

beng ma
you cna shunbian ask the doc to check beng's gum too

whoa kim,
mal so fast hor can crawl.
if my boy can crawl now i will be in DEEP trouble!
cos i have not baby proof my home yet...jialat.

talking about teething, faiq has also been giving me sleepless nites.
for the past 2 nites he woke up 3 to 4 times.
cried but eyes still closed and got tears.
in the end i had to carry him for about half hour before can put him back in the cot.
can see the bud of the tooth alredi but have not even come out half...sigh.

lynzi
mal can crawl very very fast! we hv put a stopper on those sockets, cos he seems very curious on the holes! he will dig and dig.. faint! time flies, our babies has grown up so much! no longer NB..

beng's mum, u check his gum..My boy's bottom gums shows sign of little white and swollen..so most probably teething liao.. Tell your mother-in-law that etelle boy's already got 4 teeth and he's less than 9 mths old!!!

chanechane, i understand how u feel. My parents was like dat.. Go work also cnt concentrate. Dats y i decided to become a SaHM. Anyway, sometimes u gotta give and take in this situation.

alien, mal sure is fast. Can crawl liao.. Sarah is moving forward and i'm sure she's gg to start crawling soon. Wish wun be so fast. hehe.. I dun wana start 'exercising' so soon.

Just woke up...

Sumo woke up at 1am.... 3am and managed to sleep at 4am+. Walao aah... He woke up cranky, rubbing his eyes and forehead till red spots coming out. Applied cream for him, now no more liao. So scared he will be like that again tonight. Alamak...

beng ma, hope jovan's all right. don't worry too much, it's probably the saliva causing frequent poo.

oooooooooo i'm goingggggggggggg hhhhhhhhooooooooooommmmmmmmmmmmmmeeeeeeeeeeee!!! FINALLY AFTER 1YR not eating local penang hokkien mee and laksa and what nots! Flight at 3pm later on. hopefully shawn would be all right.

I know I still owe u gals some photos from the HRC. Sorry been really busy. I will upload this weekend.

I also let my bb use bumwear for 1 to 2 hrs (trial period), he seems to be taking on quite well. But the hrs he dun pee, so can't know how good is it.

Linda,
Are u the one who is pregnant? So u become SAHM?

Alien,
Is your u-like grinder metal one? If yes, can you tell me where to get it?

And just curious who is the Dec mum? So productive har.

jean, i told my mil b4 abt etelle's son having 4 teeths, well i wont argue with her further, let her son aka jovan's daddy go and talk to her.

zu, not only they crawl fast, they flip fast too, i simply cant leave my eyes off jovan for a sec!

jeelo, i hope he is alright, i also think his saliva is making the cause of frequent poo.

Congratulations to the mommy who is pregnant!!

(beng's ma, now confirm its not me hor!)
so happy for you! Our thread is very good, alot of 2-3 kids. jia you!!

hmm... can't be following:

- bbtree as she will be planning next yr
- missylan is not

*scratching my head* who who who? Anyway congrats to that mum?

beng ma
you should know who wat... clue: rem not too long ago you added her to our msn... abt playmat??.. shhhhhhhhhhh if you got me! keke

she is lah! her #2 born in dec, and the next one coming in dec too. she said 1 yr 2 babies leh.. we used to msn when we were preg rem?

wah... so many can sit up ler ah? wat i mean is on lying position and push his/herself up to sitting position. then mine quite slow ler...

crystalz
yes, my towkay pushes himself up to sitting position when he sien lying on his rocker. but i noticed he prefers to crawl than sit. he can go anywhere he likes now.

lynzi, my boy too. He was screaming and crying in his sleep. His eyes are closed but crying with tears. Crying like someone bully him.

He woke up twice last night.