(2007/12) Dec 2007 MTB

tub,

i'm sure ur gal will b fine. juz monitor her n dun panic.

steffie,

mine sleeps fr 11 to 3/4 am (drink water) then all the way till 7pm. it takes time. we dun let her nap too much. naptimes r more or less fixed now n usually we let her play until she's v tired then zzz automatically. no nd to coax her to sleep. also, now she doesnt nd nite feed liao.

steffie,
shawn takes 5feeds of milk everyday. usually takes his milk usually at 4-5pm, then solids at 7-7.30pm. then by 8.30 to 9pm he'll scream for milk. for the last feed, it is like surround sound screaming/cry no tears with a lot of perspiration; while i go n bath before latching him on. Then he'll just drift to lalaland while drinking milk - he clears both breasts. Initially when he started solids, he was waking up at 2 or 3am every single night (he WAS waking up for past 1-2mths every single night even before solids). just last wk, there was ONE day i decided not to latch him on and let him cry all out to sleep, then he slept thru since then. he now sleeps from 9/10pm to 7am

Tub
Hope Sumana's ok. This is one of my worst fears too - that one day while I have baby in arms, we will slip and fall. I don't care about hurting myself but I don't want to hurt my kid.

tub
ouch!! u mus be in pain also..be careful next time ya...

last sun my bb turn n turn on the bed.. then her head knocked on the rail of the wooden bed..then she cried for a while... shld be painful bah.. heez.. husband blamed me for being so careless

i heard from my MIL tat so long u are still breast feeding, ur mense will not come.

phy
relax ya.. the most diffcult task (giving birth) we have already done le.. wat task is more difficult than that right!!

valeriet
the most fear i have is not slip and fall.. it is miss a step then roll down the staircase/escalator.. piangzzz cannot imagine.. goosebumps also come out...

Jeelo
for me, my menses only came 2 mths after i stopped bfdg for both #1 & 2. But it's also possible to have period while bfdg

miorei,

i din think of giving her water..haa..sometimes, in e most zombie-fied mode, i'll just latch her on..n zzzzz while she drinks. it's super dangerous i know but i really just knock out each time.

jeelo,

i really wish i can let her cry out but i can't because 1) her cries r deafening and 2) i cannot afford to let her wake my #1 up. tts why sometimes, e moment she cries v loudly, i will need to 'silence' her almost immediately. u're v lucky wif shawn's sleepg schedule.

tub,

aiyo..i know exactly how u feel. but honestly, at tis pt in time, u can only monitor su. if she can stil eat n smile, she shld b ok..but of cz pray hard that there r no repercussions. it's nvr easy takg care of a child. hope u're fine too (dun kick urself too much).

menses:

yep, still at bay. but hv a feelg tt it's coming soon. grrrrrrr..totally not going to enjoy it when it comes. n yes, its possible to menstruate while BFg.

phy,

hang in there. it's not easy for sure. e thing is, if u do want to continue BFg, dun give up. i know how it feels to be soooo bz at work until there's simply NO TIME for u to express. i used to experience this when i was workg before. it was terrible. everyday, i had to revolve all my meetgs around my pumping times. n when it was just not possible to find time, i wld bring my pump wif me n express in toilets n all.

if u still want to cont ur BFg journey, e first thing u need to do is to train your body to only make milk when ur bb needs it. my SIL has a job tt doesnt permit her to express so wat she does is to latch her bb on b4 she goes to work n then feed her again when she returns abt 7-8pm+. that's abt a 12-hr interval but there's still enough supply for e bb. so dun give up.

jeelomeelo,
Mine came onli yesterday even though I'm still bf. Mmmm.... supply dropped alot. I also thought that when bf, period will not come but not really true. So sianz when I see red yesterday. Hahaha..... not use to having to use kotex once again.

Steffie,
Thanks ya.. feel so motivated and encouraged by your words.. Ya, I'm trying to train my body to only let BB latch on at night.. That's why gotta start on FM.. I will see how long I can tahan..

Krist and Hen,
Thanks also for the encouragement
I'm feeling so much better now.. though still stuck at work.. managed to take a breather when I expressed milk in a small room just now

cloverluv,
Your boy scratches and pulls his ears also? My boy does it whenever he wants to sleep or frustrated.. The thing is, he pulls and scratches so hard that the skin behind his ears is very very raw.. so I'm afraid may have gotten infected lor...

steffietan,
so ur SIL gives FM in between? actually, BFg need not end just coz we dun have the right environment to express. We'll just have to transition to partial BF, from total BF. And the BFg journey continues...

gals, thanks. brought my ger to the PD and she said baby is fine. checked here and there and asked mi to monitor for 48 hours. sigh.

baby is currently eating well, no vomiting, no signs of lethargy, no bumps and seems to be playing well. hope no repercussions lor...

steffie, how not to kick myself?
u know mi la... worrywart and neurotic.
i was the one carrying her.
can't even see that bloody pile of water on the floor. :x

re: menses

i still don't have leh.
hope it doesn't come so soon as i have endometriosis. if it comes, doc's advise is to quickly try for number 2.

eve - no la the maternity insurance dun guarantee girl la...i mean if i really wan to have a 3rd baby, must be baby girl lor!

alien, krist - the insurance will cover pre-natal and post-natal up to USD6K..if that time i din cancel 4 months before i was pregnant with my 2nd baby, i would have save up a lot more! :~(

tub - are both you n baby ok? what did pd say? be careful ya

lynzi - u started working liao?

jeelomeelo - mine came back when bb 5months...so upset...why back so early! one of my friend bfeeding mroe than 1yr + then mense came...Envy!!!

btw, not sure why my supply kept dropping even though i still pump every 3 or 4hrs in office... really dropped a lot lot! like 60ml when in the past i can get 120ml n abv....so sad leh

CSI Fan,

As my SIL's bb has started on solids, her milk intake has dropped too. So, she apparently has enough milk for the nx day after expressing before she zzzs.

But then u're right abt e transitional portion of fr total BM to partial. not enough BM, feed FM la. e thing is, we hv to b flexible wif wat we can offer our bb rite?

tub,

ya, if i were u, i'll also kick myself silly. u prob din notice e water cz u were bz planting a huge kiss on su's face la..tts wat i do when i carry alexis..always kissing her. dun worry too much k..ya..too much neurotism ain't goin to help matters. bbs r really much stronger than wat we tink they are. my mom always says angels will watch over them so try try not to let it affect u too much.

Naf,

my ss is also dropping..i guess our body sorta knows it doesnt need to produce so much milk already. my hb told me to give my boobs some rest la.. haaa..

phy,

my bb rubs her feet together when she's angry/sleepy. like rub until v red. my fren says tis is a sign of bad-temperedness. oh dear!!

steffietan..
oh no.. my bb also.. always rub her feet.. rub n rub n rub... but shes not angry.. while drinking milk also she rubs.. almost all the time she rubs... meaning my bb also very very very bad temper!!!

also she likes to "hook" her left big toe onto the right big toe... oh no... OMG!!

krist,

haaa..aiya..dunno whether true or not la..cz my fren's son is v v bad tempered n when he was a bb, he used to rub his feet together n pull e skin of his elbows until e skin tore. scary right? so when i told my fren casually abt my bb rubbing her feet together, she gave me e uh ohhhh.. urs not zun la..drink milk also rub feet.. mine only rubs when she's angry lor.

Today is not my day.

Last nite din sleep enuf cos Kaylen woke up so many times n refused to go back to sleep.

Afternoon, my mum came over to help out so that I can "breathe" a little n do housework. As I re-arranged my furniture n do some minor re-decor over the weekend, thot I cld do some more cleaning then. Kaylen refused to cooperate today. She kept crying n my mum just couldn't pacify her. She was super clingy to me. Ended up I got to do the chores while carrying her.

When I was cooking dinner, my elder gal fell n broke a small egg pot of soil on the living room floor. I had to stop cooking n clean up the mess. While cleaning the mess, I accidentally broke a bottle of wine. Glass was shattered all over n wine was all over the floor. I was soooooo mad. I just mopped the floor!!! Took me an hr to clean up cos the wine soaked thru the bottom of my CD rack n had to vacuum all the shattered glass from the floor.

HB came back n helped to clean the CD rack n put the VCDs/DVDs back. I tried to help n guess what? I broke another porcelain doll which we bought from Shanghai. Can see my hb's face change.

The pain in my left arm is coming back cos I've been carrying Kaylen. Now, can't stretch to the back again.

Everything just went very wrong for me today.

Krist, tried the soothing music too. Din work for Kaylen. I sing lullaby also no use. And one more thing, she must cry n scream before she finally falls asleep lor. Think her temper is really very very bad.

Ankh, sleep too much? My mum was telling me that Kaylen doesn't sleep long enough lor. She said Kyrene (my nbr1) was easier to take care, she wld nap 2hrs each time. Everytime, Kaylen gets cranky, my mum wld say she din sleep enuf.

tub,

Take it easy, dun blame yourself too much. Sometimes, things just happened. What's impt is that both of u r alright.

There are many times that I'm guilty of negligence. Once, I left Kaylen on the bed n asked Kyrene to look after her while I took my shower, Kaylen crawled backwards n slided down the bed n ended up on the floor. Kyrene din know how to stop her n she herself panicked too. Another time, I let her sit on the centre of the playmat while I fetch something from the kitchen, she fell back n started crying. Luckily she was on the playmat so the knock was cushioned. There was a few times I got out of the car n knocked her head against the roof of the car door. Then, there was a time when I was bathing her, she slipped out of my hand into the water in the bathtub. I managed to scoop her out fast enuf, dun think she drank any water. The list goes on...

I'm such a terrible mummy lor. But I'm human n not superwoman, I need to multi tasks like mad. There are many things I know I shdn't have done or shd hv been more careful, but I got no choice but to take risks at times. I do know that baby's safety n life at stake n I shdn't have let it happened. Guilty, guilty, guilty. One day I probably will be punished.

seems like most babies are experiencing haywire night sleep after start solid? recently my boy also starts waking up 2-3 times for comfort sucking. very tiring. also tried all sorts of method to make him sleep thru. sometimes it works sometimes it doesn't. i'm also trying to convince myself like what steffietan said. they will sleep thru ONE day.

my mil had been making my boy sleep a lot in the day all the way until i come back from work at 8-9pm. end up he's so alert at night. will play until 12am, then wake up every few others to cry. i got so fed up until i purposely say loudly to my hb that he slept too much in the day. quite angry that he makes him sleep in the day so that she can do her things n end up we can't sleep properly n still need to work the next day. now i think she got the hint n only let him sleep for max half n hour after his 6pm feed. so by 10pm, my boy would knock out after his last feed n wakes up another time around 3-4am.

jeelo,
mine also hasn't come. hopefully it doesn't come until i stop bf.

naf,
hang it there. my ss finally went up a little bit. keep pumping more often, drink more water, religiously take my fenugreek. finally saw some results these few days. but very tiring esp the last pump. always end up falling asleep.

btw, just out of curiosity only. if really want to try for bb again, does it mean need to stop bf? if not how to know if there's ovulation? or know if preg since no menses all the time?

hen,

there r good n bad days. like wat u said, u're not superwoman n accidents r bound to happen. dun b too hard on urself. what u r doing is not what many can do n i'm sure u're doing to e best u can. i'll prob pull out all my hair if i had to do wat u do. anyway, hv u considered part- time help to do ur household chores?

eve,

ya, i noticed tt my bb has been wakg up more often during e nites once she started on solids. mayb cz they r startg to teeth. i guess a bb's first yr is e toughest. once they turn 1, things will def b easier! i cant wait!! =P

if want to try for bb again, u dun need to stop BFg. BFg is not a 100% contraceptive anyways. but i guess in order to hit e jackpot, u need to menstruating at least (altho i've heard of ppl who conceived even tho their period hvent arrived). i guess if u do really get preggers w/o ur period, there will b tell-tale signs.

eve
when i was trying for no 3, i actually stopped bfeeding no 2 cos my menses dun come when i am bfeeding. Got my gynae to gimme a jab to make my mense come. After dat, can predict ovulation and strike before the next round of mense came.

tub,
about Bumwear, i have only 3nappies and 3 pull ups. Dats 6inserts. But the pull up too big for her so will let her wear pants outside. I used abt four in the day. Dat also depends on how much water she drinks. Max is 3hrs cos i scared gt rashes. Bumwear also can be used for nite. If u scared leak, then can use 2inserts. But i normally dun. Cos after she wear for the day, i can wash and let her wear again the next day.

hen,
dun be too hard on yourself. Take things easy. For me, its also hard to cope without help. But the kids are my priority. Housework comes second. Cos i wont wana blame myself if anytg ever happens. And i also wun want hb start nagging at me for negligence. I will normally get hb to do the hsework for me during his off days. If u cnt cope w the kids, always ask hb to help u. Dats wat i did the past few days. Sarah has been waking up 2x in the nite too! Parenting is a 2 sided affair. If hb asked me to do all these by myself, I sure faint long time ago liao... Cheer up okie! See ya next week!

okok, so there are quite a number of mums here taiyima haven't come yet.

hen, sorry to hear about your bad day. cheerup, tomorrow would be a better day. ya, perhaps part time cleaner might be a good idea. even though if she comes by once a wk.

I m having that arrangement on wkends coz on weekdays, even doing laundy oso drives me mad. Every night i only get my own time after baby sleeps (about 10pm). got to think 10 steps ahead to multi task here n there, pack his bag for the next day, fold laundry etc. Even walking to/from the kitchen, i be so pyscho to tink what are the things bring out to/from the kitchen to outside so that i don't need to walk to and fro. sometimes when i'm TOOOOOOO tired, i'll just dump the clothes to the dryer (thank goodness for this invention). ironing/windows/floor would leave it to the parttime cleaner. Even the floor nowadays, i don't clean that often. My house is like a mad house at most of the days recently. Hubby helps but if he comes back late, then makes no difference. By end of the day, i'll be dead tired.

now alien's mat is a place for baby to roll around and when bb is asleep it's a place for me dump the clean laundry!

constance,
the jab will also stop the production of bm?? will cause engorgement?

steffietan
ya... i guess it's the toughest for the 1st yr. that's why the thought of going thru this again for no. 2 when no.1 settles down kind of scare me off. sometimes the crazy me just tell me quickly try for no. 2 n get thru this most difficult period together once n for all. but really scare cannot cope.

wow, few days never come in here to read...

congrats to the dec mummy who's expecting no. 3!! who har???? *kpo* & super envy!!!!!

Halo mummies,

My MIL had bought diapers(Pampers Active Baby) for my bb without knowing I've bought already. Do not wish to stock up. Retail price is as follows :
Pampers Active Baby L size(38pcs)-$24.10
(Willing to let go at $21)
Pampers Active Baby XL size(34pcs)-$22.05
(Willing to let go at $19)

Also, I've bought many bottles of Clarins Huile Tonic Oil from Changi Airport recently cos it's so much cheaper than discounted price during sales. Bought at $67/-, Willing to share this offer at $65/-.

Mummies interested can contact me at 91451454(anyday, anytime)

Haiz, I'm a FTWM. So bb is taken care of by my MIL. But guess wat, at 4 months old, they fed bb with ice cream already. I believe every now n then sure got other food when I'm not around. Now bb just turned 7 months, just recovered from 2 weeks of flu. So heart pain. How I wish I can be a SAHM but reality is cruel, doesn't allow me to be one SAHM. Somemore lately, FIL got the cheek to tell me he let bb suck on a piece of pear n bb actually bite a partial piece off n they got to dig it out from her mouth! **Faint** & angry!!!
My BIL was eating chocolate, my MIL ask him to feed bb since bb crying for his chocolate *faint faint* And MIL suggested salt and soy sauce for baby's first porridge! I'd already told her salt & sweet stuff is a no no for BB yet she still want to ask n do all these in my presence. Really causing me depression soon. Dun think any of u encounter worse senario than me.....

eve
no lah. I stopped bfeeding gradually on my own. after i decided not to bf my dd, then i went to gynae to get dat jab to hasten menses. i slowly cut down the pumpin frequency. took me a full one mth to adjust, so no engorgement.

For the menses thing,
My menses came 1 month right after my lochia. And every month on the dot! All these despite I am BF.

Asked my gynae and was told that this is a gd and bad sign. Good meaning my hormones are back to normal and my eggs are healty. Bad is it implies I am supre fertile, so if dun want 2nd one, must take precaution..hahha

So nothing to worry la..

jeelo
i just finished my 1st period after delivery. sianz. actually, expected it coz got the EWCM before it came. then thinking whether want to ttc and in the end dun have.

who's preggy with #3? gong xi gong xi

hen

agree with steffietan about not being superwoman. she only exists in fantasy! where housework is concerned, now is the time to eat snake la. i dun think our homes can be supertidy now till our kids are older

my mum also used to comment why was Emma cranky all the time. it's true, she was sleepy! but after observing her, we realised she's only in a good mood for about 1.5~2 hours after waking, but becos we use up most of that time for her to drink milk, play, bathe, change diapers etc, it was her sleepy time already. Ha, i also wish Emma can nap 2 hours each time and still sleep thru' the nite, but she cannot one la. Observe Kaylene lor, she has her own sleep pattern, just gotta catch it

jeelo
my taiyima came back full force when my girl hit six months. got a huge shock! no wonder i had mood swing n craving for red meat. Good thing is now no discomfort.