(2007/12) Dec 2007 MTB

gosh so many young young mummies here.. i feel like an old bird!!

Belle - i have been sucking out the phlgem for my son, only twice a day, in the morning and before he goes to bed. sometimes he already feel so uncomfortable that he just lie there and let me suck it out!!

if you v.worried and he is still phlgemy after so long maybe u wanna go back to the doctor? my PD is a cough & specialist at GlenE... very good, if you want can go ask him for 2nd opinion. Dr.Ngiam at singapore baby & child clinic.

Noelle,

hmmm i can't advise u on night routines cos mine totally screw up. baby still wakes up for 2 feeds at least everyday.. sometimes more!! i feel the problem lies in how he is too tired to feed properly so end up waking up hungry sooner than expected.

I think u need to relax yr routine alittle, dun be too rigid in watching the hours go by. sometimes yr baby could be on a growth spurt so must feed more frequently...

most importantly is to keep her up while feeding so she finishes all her milk, that way she will sleep for a longer period and then feed again only after a few hours.

linda, jeelo,

hahah u gals very funny! i am 26 every year!! for sometime everytime ppl ask me how old i was, i will say 26!!! even though past 26 already..hahaha

Thanks Botanist,

Sigh, theories always sounded so easy but when you really put them into practice, it's so difficult. Anyways will try again, but one thing I gain from the book is that I carry her lesser now. She seems to be more independent, sits in her combi chair longer, plays on her own longer. Maybe its a part of her natural progressions, she will be 3 months old this Good Friday.
Hope your baby Dylan will recover soon!

personally, i dun really like rigid routines. so never got down to follow any methods. all i do is to make sure that she has her milk, play and then nap. till now, my ger is sleeping throughout the night.
pray that this stays ok?

belle, i reaaaaaaaaally lao liao... sigh... went beyond the big THREE liao. must change nick to lao tub. :p

belle, go to the database at our yahoo group. update ur details there

btw any moms here got fibroid? i have n had discomfort ard the fibriod area last nite. mine is outside the uterus. dunno whether nornmal bo.. later call gynae

Ahhhhhhh Talking about age now? My goodness, I want to be forever young! I haven't return to my normal size, my weight and age is accelerating at the same speed... How I wish my weigh can go down, i still need to loose 10kg le, mummy says within 4 months will loose weight, but then.... its coming 3rd month and i still need to loose 10kg... How to get rid of 10kg in one month.......I see no hope liao la.
I am loosing hair also.. so depressing.

noelle, jia you! me also need to lose about 6kg... future very grey... cannot diet some more cos BF-ing.
and constantly hungry also. even the canteen aunty tells me... :wah! you more feng1 man3 now hor? WHAT THE HECK!!! all my mango pants cannot wear liao!!! booohooooohoooooooo

Jeelomeelo,

I used to have a fibroid, during my C-section, my gynae spotted it and asked me if I would like her to surgically remove it, so I say yes. I realised after removing the fibroid I do not experience menstrual cramps like before.

belle,

i use the pigeon tube thingy... its quite a mild device and doesn't cause any trauma to baby.. but dun over do it la.. just use if really alot of phlgem stuck there. that day i was so shocked when i sucked out this thick wad of phlgem.. no wonder my poor baby cried non stop before that!

noelle,

yup, just take it easy. in fact i think... for everything we do for our kids, gotta take it easy and be upbeat. cos sometimes it gets stressful to face yr kid all day so just cannot let get u down... cos our babies can feel yr frustration and it affects them too

the good thing abt baby whisperer is she teaches u how to better understand why yr baby cries. it helps to manage yr bb better!

Tub, I haven't fit into any of my jeans yet... they got stuck half way in my tighs... hahaha jialat le. I have been wearing skirt all the time to cover my heavy bottom. Then I bought XL 3/4 to wear... so sad right! Everyone sees me say, Wah you also put on a lot of weight hor! I no face meet people liao.

Hi botanist, pls keep mi in ur mailing list as well. Thks ;)

Hi Petrina, mi getting CAT B - 450 pcs 4" x 12" [for words] & CAT D - 150 pcs 12" x 12" [for maths/encyclopedia] from alien. U wanna share some with me? not sure whether i can finish cat B. Hee~ Let me know...

Botanist
I am also trying to understand the different moaning and crying of my baby and tried to telly it with Tracy HOgg's, but not the same le... hahahah I also dunno how to explain why like that.
You are really right, facing bb all day long is no joke, it gets really frustrating at times. And when it really gets to me, I feel that I am a lousy mother.

jas,

i dun mind sharing cat B.. let me know how many u dun want then i take.. okie??

ok.. really leaving now.. my carrier is waiting for me..

Noelle, i got even more to loose.. oh pls.. tell mi bt it.. ahhahahahah...

Tub, dun tok bt age la.. Healthy can le.. heehee

Botanist, tks.. will check it out later.

Noelle,
Tracy Hogg's list is just a guide. You gotta figure out what kind of cry your baby makes when hungry. Different babies cry differently. Just remember, your baby is an individual. So she'll have her own style of crying for milk or change of diaper. It's about giving babies the respect as an individual.

Some naps should be short naps. Some longer. So if your gal sleeps for 30mins and wakes up, like you mentioned, do the A. till it's time to makan. Then E. But during E, gotta keep baby awake so they complete the whole feed. The following A need not be anything too physical. Just some talking or massage or just let baby sit by herself also good. Then try to catch the signs for S. Sometimes I catch my gal's yawn. Sometimes I dun. If I dun, she'll "call" out loud for us, maciam saying "I'm tired! HEY!". IF we still dun start putting her to bed by then, she'll fuss a lot and cry loudly (shutting out the world). So now we have managed to identify her cues.

At the end of the day, these routines are not cast in stone...so just follow the concepts and adjust accordingly to your baby. Each baby is different.

Every now and then gotta reinforce the routine. It's not a few days and yeah, they got it. Coz if we dun keep practising the routine, it will go hay wire in a short while. You want this to last for a while....right?

I also wearing XL...so sian...I ve 20kg to shed....
*sigh....3mths ago, I said that, 1mth+ ago b4 CNY I also said the same thing..til now that 20kg of fats seem to be part of me liao....cant shed off.

My bb also on nebuliser...Its ok when he's sleeping but when's awake...He will keep struggling..then I ve to make sure he breathes in properly cos 1 hand holding him, the other hand holding the mask...so scared I will dropped him

Belle,
maybe go to yr PD for 2nd review...

What's those A, S thing?

I know even if my bb yawns, he also wont want to sleep....will look here & there...

Isaiah finally flip successfully at week 11!!!

Re:Baby sleeping time

Isaiah sleeping time is haywire i can say .. I feel quite bad as i never set a time like 9pm etc for bed time .. Normally i will put him to bed the latest at 11pm .. Somtimes he sleeps at 9pm .. Got to depend what time his daddy is home .. If i force him to sleep he will cry n cry and it got worse .. If he feels like sleeping he can sleep at 9pm .. Anyway i'm not a morning person so i don't need my baby to wake up early so i can catch some sleep .. Normally he wakes up at 9am .. As long as he don't wakes up in the middle of the night i'm happy enough ..

i agreed with CSI, every baby is different .. My baby will fuss when he wants to sleep .. gave him pacifier n he can sleep within mins .. So i prefer that he sleeps when he wants to .. I find a routine very stressing for me .. As long as a healthy lifestyle is good enough for me ..
Anyway i'm 18 every year .. Haha ..

Hazel
i think its the code in the Baby Whisperer book lor...actually trial and error will work to with your baby la...just try to figure out his pattern can le...slowly la...

re:weight

i m XL size already even b4 preggie...haha!! i lost all 16kg liao but loose tummy still there, cant wear tighter tops anymore...

taking care of bb quite stressful = further weight loss. hehe hopefully i can eventually shed the extra pounds i piled on after marriage...sadly that one got another 5kg to go!!

haa..everyone's below 30 here =P
i oso stil ve wt to shed .. another 3.5kg .. not alot .. but tink its gg stick to me while i stuffed myself full during TBF .. hiak hiak (*V*)

i have another 6kg to go le...yeah also quite sturbborn le...wonder what to do with it...but hor for my #1 pregnancy by 6-7 mths all the 17+ kg i put on were gone le...so now i am giving myself the same amt of time lor...hopefully it work out...

dun lose heart! we can do it!

anyone back to pre-preg wt liaoz?
dat day saw a mummy @ PD .. she figure ultra gd lor.. hour glass leh .. top not too big, waist pretty slim .. dun ve big hips.. and her bb is almost same size as my girl .. tink is oso dec bb.. urgh!!!

CSI,
I am also looking out for sign of bb's fatigue, but she yawns all the time and at first when I catch the sigh I start to put her down on her bed then she cries and struggles from one end of the bed to the other end... hahaha,
She yawns all the time le, even when she just got up she also yawn, so how to EASY? Stress***

Botanist
Looking after bb really very stressful, but I dun loose weight le... Envy you, loose all those 16kg! I need to loose 10kg

my bb sleeping pattern actually quite std...
If he is in my hse, by 11:30pm shld KO liao...in the past will wake up at 5am+ going to 6am...now dunno why...wakes up at 2am+ for his milk..then 5am+ again...

If its at my IL pl, she said he will sleep at 12+ till 5am+ then till 9am.
So, she always quite surprised when I said my bb can sleep by 1130pm..Actually he can sleep at 10pm+ but will defintely wake up again....11:20pm is his actual sleeping time

hi Noelle,
don't be depress. It's just part n parcel of life, we give birth we earn inches more at our waist and butt, and lose more hair. I've been shedding like a dog. more than my dog i think, i think i should get hair tonic liao. i guess just be who you are and love yourself. just eat healthily and be happy! so take it easy ya!

i think it's standard operating procedure after awhile. i didn't read baby whisperer but somewhat managed to get baby into a routine. and yes all the cues he gives are diff. different kind of cries means diff thing. it took awhile before he settles down to a routine.

be patient and i'm sure she'll be all right

BUT after reading tracy hogg, at least I know what to do and what not to do. So I can avoid inhabiting bb all the wrong habits. Now I don't rock her when I carry her in my arms. When she is on her Combi chair I will also not rock her. Try not to over stimulate her too much too. At least now she sometimes able to fall asleep on her own in the chair or if I am lucky she can sleep in her bed without much pacifying

i shed everything 2wks b4 i came back to work. but somewhat the inches are still there. been trying to eat more healthy stuff n not snack on junk. like after milk pump, i'll try to just eat fruits or biscuits. sometimes got the urge to eat one big muffin or croissant (my opit nursing room is just next to spinelli's ... darn). i have succumb those carbo once or twice.. but got to yan....

I have got 0.5kg to go to reach my pre-preg wt (for no 3). But there is still a slab of fat hanging around my tummy.

Can't get rid at all!!

Noelle
my gynae also removed 2 fibroids from my c sectn for no 2. only diff is I undergo GA, so he only informed me after the operation. I could claim co insurance for this and my overall hospital charges turned out to be much less than no 3 c-sect.

what is over stimulation? chatting with baby and playing for 1hr considered over stimulation? can't help it le.. coz bb keep gurgling, smiling and making funny noises.. so sayang not to spend time with him. :p

I just moved my no 2 into no 1's room and bb could sleep thru the nites without jie jie's sudden crying at nite.

Didn't follow any routine recommended by those books thou. What i did was just feed and feed him just before his bedtime, until he very full and drowsy, then KO-ed. very bad hor? hehe

my bb must cry & be carried to sleep...
if ignored, he will cry until face red, head red, perspired....

Have you all go back to yr pre-preg chest size? My total size is as though I m pregnant without the big big tummy lah...

ya mummies, i didnt follow exactly what the books mentioned as I do believe that every bb is different from one another.

constance, i'm a bit like u hahaa, me will tank my boy up before zz time till he become sleepy and i put him to sleep, hehee! i oso very bad!

hazel, i havent go back to my pre-preg chest size yet... but i think it's shrink a bit...

Hazel
difficult to go back to pre-preg chest size if still b-feeding. I "uped" a cup after 1st delivery. 2nd one remain the same. Third one dunno yet.... Cos still bfing mah. but sometimes when too long never pump, engorged like two hard rocks.

Noelle,
yrs is the $200+ or $400+ high chair?
I wanted to buy, then come to think of it..it wont last long...cos wanted to put him lying there...but now he seems to be growing longer...

So, may just buy a normal high chair in future.

Linda,
I m super lazy mum...only pump twice during 1st mth...after CNY totally no pump, then just latch once a day...till now still the same leh...
Dunno to buy pre-preg size or current size

constance,

neck long long liao.. eh? i thought your cocoa butterfly is with missylan?

botanist,

i was wondering whether it is good for baby boys to sit front facing in the baby carrier? won't the jewels get squashed? even when i carry my boy facing inwards in the 4th gen, i kind of feel like he's being squashed against me.. or should i sling him looser?

slimz,

i'm not an auditor, but in tax.. used to be from one of your competitor firms..
i also thought of going IRAS to work, heard they have pro-family arrangements and childcare, training etc... but will suffer paycut. change job also good.. no more timesheets! right??

Constance,
wat kind of bf I am in? once a day only & its more like comfort while waiting for the FM to come....hahaaa