hi Valeriet,

I've transferred $18 into your account.

Transaction Reference 1605476145
Time: 9:41 am
Date 7 March

Sorry, I only just saw this message...

Hey Valeriet,
I forgot to include postage in my earlier transfer. So I've transferred another $1 for postage.

Cry baby
Diapers sale ay JL only limited to Pet Pet and Drypers. That's what i saw when I was there on Tues.

The Johnson baby wipes is very worth buying - 3 packs for $11.90, before 20% discount for Robinson card members.

Pls note that there's no 20% discount for the pigeon wipes.

A qns to ask the experienced mummies. When bb start to eat solid food.. how do u prepare the food? Need to buy those thermal warmer (on watever u call that) to keep the food warm when travelling outside? When at home, do u wait till bb crys then heat up the food. Then the cereals is it mix with milk n use bottle to drink? That's wat my mum told me. She also say got ppl dry the rice, ikan bilis, n dunno wats else then ground it for u. Like that more nutritious. Anyone got lobang?

Neck float spreeists
Very strange, how come nobody received the email.

Tks alien, CSI Fan and cookie for the prompt payment.

any1 saw whether taka baby fair got portable highchair?

brands of diapers at JL (when I was in MArina Square):
PetPet
Drypers
Drypants
EQ
Sealer
Fitti Basic
Fitti comfort

Guess for taka baby fair, they carry Huggies diapers...

bluelily
its not advisable to start solids too early but neither later than 6 month so ideally is around 5.5 mths or so. You can ccheck with your pd, every bb differs.

I used heinz rice cereal and then healthy times and earths best. Then initially only start with rice cereal then add hot water to it and feed. Some babies prefer with milk taste so u may want to add alittle milk as in BM or FM to it.

When th time comes nearer we can pool toether BP for cereal. I kow healthy times does free delivery for 120 purchase and above. i have their product catalogue...PM me if u keen to have it.

bluelily,
WHO recommends baby to be exclusively on milk for the first 6 mths. solids should be started after 6 mths. some elders will say to start at 4mths when the baby neck is stiffer but actually their stomach may not be matured enough to take the solid food. if your baby is gaining too much weight too quickly (milk is actually very fattening) and is exhibiting signs of weaning to solids such as crying for milk after 2 hrs even though the milk intake was already increased, then it's also ok to start earlier.
mixing cereals in milk and put in bottle for baby is what some elders used to so but personally I think it's not advisable. I always make my girl sit up and eat her cereal. babies need to learn that it's meal time and it will also be easier when we start giving them puree vegetables and fruits.

cookiemz/botanist

thanks for the info... i guess gotta look at other alternatives to buy alrdy.

I tot pd say 4-6mths can liao? The problem with my boy is.. he dun like to drink milk! Always fuss n fuss when feeding time. Try all sorts of mtd liao.. that's y thinking of letting him try solid ard 5mths.

So if it's like ard 6mths when u feed solid food. How's the routine like. Like how many hrs then feed.. then milk how to slot in. Can gimme a rough routine? Just wanna know how it's like. hehe.

arrgghh!!!

I need to bang my own head!

I did something so silly today!! Think I am really tired. haiz...

This morning brought baby over to my parents' place. deposited her and happily went off to work. Lucky thing hubby was on hols, so he went along too. Then he just called me (about close to feeding time) to ask, "where's the EBM??!! We forgot to pack the EBM!!"

*wail*...such terrible parents!! I can't believe I actually forgot to pack the EBM to bring over! It's still sitting in the fridge! aiyoh...

Boh pian, have to go NTUC to buy FM.

Now hb is wondering if he should go home and bring the EBM after this feed.

bluelily
the solid is not a meal to replace their normal feed le...cuz hor babys first year shuld be mainly dependent on milk for the nutrition le. Solids is just an add on lor....so hor for my #1 that time after porridge or cereal 1 hr later i give milk le cuz they will fuss and then know they hungry...

i bought the SUper Baby Food guide as used it as a reference. GOod book and lots of recipes and easy to follow instruction...can consider

re: baby sitter / solid food
i think i will have another "war" with my baby sitter again.. she told me my son can have solid next month which is on his 4th month. but i personnaly prefer to start after 5/6th month when his is more ready to accept it. sigh... she even wants me to cut down his EBM intake and supply more FM! i super duper sian to discuss makan issue with her.. always complaining abt me. make me feel i am such a lousy mum

cookiemz
he drinks so much during the day, no wonder can sleep thru the night..mine, will feed on 125ml every 3 hrs...sometimes also cannot finish..this continues thru the night......

btw, how's your #1 now? mine refuses to sleep during the day when in my house..in the end, always ended up very cranky on weekends....also, she doesnt like to go to bed at night..always got to coax her ...

diapers at taka bb fair:

they sell mamapoko there too.. but dunno if the discount is god.. and they also sell another brand.. never heard of before though.. now i also forgot what it's called..

gathering at causeway point:

count me in! i'm staying near yio chu kang.. hehe

weaning to solid foods:

alien, i have this problem too.. keep telling my mum and mil that it is recommended that my bb be on full BM till 6 mths then introduce solids to her.. but they keep saying 4 mths can already..

so hard to explain to them that its because of the bb's digestive system not yet fully develop.. haiz..

alien, petrina,
me too...my ma was saying, "another few more weeks can start to give solids already" (baby is now 3 months). I'm like, huh? no.....

Then I'm super scared to leave baby with MIL. Coz I remember for BIL's 1st son, MIL started giving him mashed papaya, and teeny bits of soft adult food when he was like, 4mths/5mths. I dun want MIL to do that to my gal manz.

re: sleeping thru
my son seems can sleep thru from 11pm to 7-9am in the morning liao. he practises this routine 3-4days in a week.

linda,
yup me in woodlands. Actually i'm very near admiralty mrt. How u know ah? If have gathering in the north tell me yah.

JL sale
U can use robinsons card also. Not all things are subject to extra 20% so please ask the salesperson.

Taka fair
They having sale on huggies. Saw lots of huggies diapers but since me soooo into Goon now i don't even look at the huggies...haha!

constance,
u have yet to get back to me on the price of the more milk plus.

i think i still able to STOP my baby sitter to feed my son on solids since i am the one paying for his food!? unless she wants to use her own money to buy!? i will never buy for her to feed my son until 5/6th months later

tricia,

i had this problem too somewhere when my bb was 1.5 months old..

what i did was to consistently pump every 3 hours.. not much milk also just pump.. this is to stimulate the brain so that supply will come in again.. remember.. demand = supply..

i also latched my bb on more than usual.. like latch her for 10 mins.. then feed her EBM that i have and then pump..

i tell u ah.. nipple will be super sore and painful though.. but then after 4 days.. waah.. supply kicks in and now i have more than enough milk liao..

another way is to take supplements such as more milk plus, fenugreek.. etc.. but i didn't take those coz didn't buy them..

and i started taking fish soup again.. so now still drink fish soup every now and then..

CSI, Alien,

my mil is worst.. say at 4 months.. can use chicken wing and brush pass her lips.. let her taste a little little bit.. i was stunn when i heard that.. dunno what to say also coz hubby never say anything.. so i keep quiet..

i told my mum and she said that if keep taking food and brush pass her lips.. next time she'll be super greedy.. everything brush pass her lips and she'll want to eat it.. very very bad.. not good at all..

luckily i'm not staying with my in-laws.. otherwise sure will quarrel one..

Hi Tricia,

I also take supplement from GNC.Fenugreek. A lotof my BF friends are taking it. for the fisrt few days maybe yo can take 3 to 4pills then. You will see an increas in your milk supply. is a herbal supplement.

oh, brush past her lips? not only will she become greedy (coz she'll think that's the way to eat...even when she's not really greedy), chicken wing is so OILY!!

sometimes I wonder what they are thinking one leh. And my MIL is retired nurse lorh. But still do things like that. haiz. Told my hubby, i must be around whenever bringing baby to his parents' place. (so that I can "control" the situation a bit).

u noe, my MIL started doing e 'food brushing' thing to my bb already. She initially used a watermelon (which i cld still swallow) n then got more adventurous with her 'food tasting'. the bun was e nx food she used. her reason, i quote her exact words: "so that bb will eat all sorts of food nx time". not say i want to b blunt or what, but her 2 daughters (my SILs) are e world's fussiest eaters now. if all these doings r true, why ain't her own daughters eating everythg? i really dunno how i can take all these sometimes. but e nx time she does it, i'm goin to casually comment tt she prob forgot to do that to her daughters hence their fussiness in eating. *basket*

alien
did you ask your bbsitter why she thinks FM is better?

On starting solids on bb
I gave my no 1 & 2 cereal mixed in BM/FM ard 5mth plus. I know some mummies mix the cereal to be given in milk bottles. for me, i am very worried bbies will choke, cos drinking from bottles mah. So i usually spoon fed them when they r sitting upright.

lynzi, got 2 ways to clean the pigeon sterilizer - the rapid 6 min model. Instructions came together with my sterilizer:

a) Lemon juice cleaning for weekly maintenance
Need 1/2 fresh lemon, clean soft cloth, mug
1. extract lemon juice into mug
2. pour into sterilizer without boiling
3. leave the juice to stay for 30min
4. use soft cloth to remove remaining limescale
5. drain and rinse sterilizer with clean water

b) vinegar & water cleaning for occasional maintenance to help remove stubborn stains
Need soft cloth, 40ml vinegar, 80ml water (ratio 1:2)
1. mix 1 part vinegar to 2 parts water
2. pour mixture into empty sterilizer
3. switch ON sterilizer for about 1 min
4. switch OFF main power & leave sterilizer to stand for 15-30min
5. with clean soft cloth, wipe off any remaining stain or limescale
6. drain & wash sterilizer to wash away vinegar
7. pour 120ml clean water & switch ON to run a full cycle with the clean water
8. switch OFF the main power, rinse & wipe clean the sterilizer

IMPORTANT NOTE:
Percentage of vinegar must not be more than 50%
Do not complete a full cycle with vinegar mixture
Do not boil vinegar mixture for MORE than 2 min. High concentration of vinegar will cause corrosion
Pigeon Liquid Cleanser can be used to wash away vinegar after cleaning.

lynzi
i just PM you the more milk plus cost.

to descale, you can either buy packets of citric acid from mothercare or use lemons.

1. Empty the steriliser
2. pour in citric acid w. recommended water amt into steriliser
3. open lid and run steriliser for one full cycle
4. after that, leave steriliser to stand for 30mins
5. pour water away and add in normal water amt to run steriliser for full cycle (with lid on this time)
6. After that, pour water away again and steriliser is ready for normal use now.

tricia, try fenugreek... else try what petrina mention. or you could pump in btw feeds.

lynzi, are you using pigeon steriliser? i usually squeeze one lemon, put the juice in the metal thing there for 1/2hr. then wipe out the lemon juice. then sterilise the empty steriliser one time b4 use. supposed to do wkly, but i only do like once every 2wks.

bluelily, i oso everything oso dunno on solids. i'm still thinking it's still a long way to go. haven't read up how to introduce solid food yet.

this morning on my way to office, baby regurgitated a bit in the cab. for the 1st time i see beancurd looking thing coming out of his mouth. i got a shock. dunno why like that... my friend said it could be because we didn't burp him properly after his feed. then i checked with my hubby, whether did he burp him after he finish the milk. he said he did, but no burp came out. in btw the feeding, he did burp but not at the end of the feeding session (no burp came out). or was it because i carry him to "violently", coz i was walking very fast today that i rocked him too much? but i left the house about 1/2hr after his feed ended wor... how come ar?

jeelomeelo, the beancurd looking thing is digested milk. Abit only it's normal. That time my boy vomits like once in 2 days.. and it's alot kind. Make me so worried. I call n ask pd, during injection also ask polyclinic doc.. all say normal. No worries. As long as it's not after every feed.

constance
she said babies on FM will grow faster and their shit will be nice looking!? i really hate to hear she commented BM not good enuf. sien plus angry. every morning she will say the same thing to me when i pass her EBM.. i really dunno wat to do with her.. she has alot of her method one la. see below:

1) babies loves PINK colour more than any colour. she refused to let my son wear YELLOW. i have so much restriction when packing stuff for her.. all yellow colour stuff will leave in my place

2) wear mitten until 3rd month which i doesnt agree at all. i took off mitten fr him when he turned 4weeks. she said i funny, rather let my son hv cold hands!? walao, hands cold becos their blood circulation not fully develope mah (learn from TMC parentcraft)

3) she returned all 6-12mos clothes to me and claimed that too small for him. i find it no prob mah.. dun understand.. so now i already shop for 12-18mos and sometimes 18-24mos clothes liao... i dunno wat to say..

4) she returned all towels and said she only accept WHITE!?

i had gave up arguing with her nowadays. as long as my baby sleep well, eat well and growing well.. i see no evil, hear no evil. i still insisted on feeding BM, this one is for SURE!!!!

lynzi,
is goon really that good? since you stay near admiralty, do you mind if I buy a pack of S from you to try? they send me one sample but 1 pc is not good enough to see if my girl is suitable. I bought nepia diapers and my girl is sensitive to it. she always has red buttocks after wearing nepia. now stuck with 5 packs of S size. I don't want to order Goon under I am sure she is suitable. think free delivery only with $60 worth of purchase right? Let me know. thanks.

CSI_fan,
don't be too upset about forgetting your EBM.
The same thing happened to me 2 years ago on my first day of work. I pumped out milk in the office and forgotten clean about it and left it in the office. I only remember the milk after I reached Jurong East and I used to work in Jurong Island. It will be very costly to take taxi to go back to the island and come out again. luckily my colleague was still in the office and I got her to bring out the milk while I waited at the train station. felt so stupid.

alien,
your baby sitter does sound very irritating. can't you find another one?

CSI and petrina,
hee, I did the drumstick brushing thingy for my elder girl when she was 4 mths. it's sort of like a ceremony kind of event. I find it very fun. only drumstick and biscuits. let her lick. I even took pictures with the intent to scrapbook the event. I also shave her hair when she was 4 mths and I video tape the whole event. I make brush with her hair with the intent to give her the brush when she is 21 years old. I will be doing the same for my younger girl.

CSI,
for fernugreek from GNC, u actually need 6-8 tablets according to the KKH lactation consultant. you can also read it from the kellymom website. the dosage stated on the bottle is too low to have any effect on your milk supply. after 1 week of consuming the tablets in that qty, ur urine should smell like maple syrup and your sweat may smell like maple syrup as well. that is when your milk supply will improve. once your supply is ok, maintain the dosage at 1-2 tablets per day to maintain the supply.

jeelomeelo
your bb only 1st time? Very gd leh, mine if can 1 day not regurgitate after feeding I'll be very happy. Last nite also, lie down and let her latch, finish liao she merlioned all over my bed...In the end the bed lining i bought for lochia is used to line the bed in case my girl pukes.

alien
ur bb caregiver is super one-kind! Nvr heard of such nonsense before! If you find someone else, shd change. Such a negative nanny!

CSI, i'm taking 2tab * 3times aday. my gf taking 2*4times aday. according to her, can take up to 3pills each time, not exceeding 9tabs a day. you might want to call up your lactation consultant for advice

ladies, ya, 1st time like that. tot i must have been too rush pick him up and walk fast fast. hhmmm... i see some coming out, then the rest was in his mouth. i think he swallowed them back. ewwww...