(2007/12) Dec 2007 MTB

Ohy my baby is will scratch his face when i nv let him wear mittens but after a few times they will learn that it hurts and they will stop .. File their nails until short short ..

phy, my bb oso the same. like to rub his face. think mayb coz of the itchness due to rash. not too sure thou~. fren tat hv eczema said so. gotta check wif pd. do make sure his nails is short.

Jas,
PD told me baby ance is not itchy.. anyway, my boy already started rubbing his face when he was a few days old.. it's a habit.. Just wonder when he will stop doing that..

Mel, is that so? They will stop after feeling the pain a few times? He has scratched his face many times already...

phy
my baby has teary eye cuz he scratch his face cuz its itchy due to the rashes. But I let him go off mittens and try to stop him from scratching. Rashes can be cured from creams and me abstaining from certain food. Its good to let them go off mittens to develop their motor skills. So that our babies will know they have fingers and not paws for hands!

Maybe you like to bring your baby to the PD to get some cream for the rashes? It will clear up fast! I've been eating chocs these few days (ferror), think the nuts in the chocs make the rashes come back again! So on my list, seafood n nuts is a big no no

Updated as of 5th March

1)Etelle/Baby Evan (27 Nov) - 8.6kg, 63cm
2)Ginger/Baby Andre (21Dec) – 5.66kg
3)Missylan/Baby Jia Kai (30 Nov) - 7.8kg, 65cm
4)bluelily/Baby Jerrell (5 Dec)- 5.36kg
5)Phy/Baby Ryan 24 Dec) 7.1kg, 66cm
6)ankh/Baby Emma - 5.89kg, 11 wks 5 days
7)Linda/Baby Jovan (7 Dec) - 6kg plus
8)Noelle/Baby Natalie (21 Dec) - 5.6kg, 63cm
9)alien/Baby Malcolm (7 Dec) - 6.9kg, 67cm
10)Botanist/Baby Dylan (18 Dec)- 7kg, 63cm
11)Elaine/Baby Gabrielle (23 Nov) - 6.4kg
12)Petrina/Baby Mikaela (14 Dec) - 6.1kg, 60cm
13)Gloomybear/Baby Arielle (28 Nov) - 5.2kg, 56cm
14) valeriet/Baby Qai Jinn (28 Dec) - 6kg, 59cm

Eve
I had the same problem as you. Last week, I took advice from some of the mummies here to swaddle my kiddo when he sleeps. It really worked! He sleeps so much better these days. You should try too, but make sure your kid does not over heat in the swaddle.

Sterilising pump and bottles
I'm very lazy. I only sterilise my stuff once a day. Sometimes, the bottles go unsterilised (ooops!) ... but so far, my baby's okl Fingers crossed.

Handling pump at work
I'm returning to work in 2 weeks' time and have also been wondering how to handle the pumping equipment. Read that some of you keep it in zip lock bags and dump it in the fridge until next session. Do you wash it first?

Frozen EBM
My freezer is also full of bags of frozen milk. I have no chance to use them because I'm producing more than enough to meet my boy's demand everyday. How?? Cannot keep too long cos they will go bad right? Really use it to bathe and wash face ah??

No milk stress. Too much milk also stress. Hai!

Ginger,
Actually I already let my boy go mittens free... Ya, I also want him to develop his motor skills... guess just have to put up with his scratching till he kicks the habit..

You're right, no nuts and seafood..

Ginger,
Already got the cream to treat baby acne.. it contains steroid which I'm afraid too much use of it will thin the skin but I use calendula cream as maintenance..

wow .. mummies u all are fast..
i was oni away half a day & ve so many posts le..

i bringing my girl to polyclinic tmr for 5-in-1 jab..will oni do her 3rd mth assessment den noe her 'dimension' tmr =P

gg bk to wk coming tues .. oso will b sterlising pump using hot water .. unless i find sterilising pills..

bumper mat:
alien, the mats come with bags for storing huh? i haven book my order .. so many designs.. cant decide .. faintzz
btw, how to clean them huh..use clean water can le huh?

T&P and valeriet
I also had a freezer full of frozen milk. Just donated to this mum whose triplets are one mth old over the weekend. Cos if not, i will throw away after another 2-3 mths also.

wow, etelle and missylan
your bbies r big!!!
i dun think mine hit the 6kg mark yet.

Phy i guess scratching face is a stage where all babies gone thru .. Even now my baby still rub his face when he is sleepy so at night i'll let him wear his mitten to keep his hands warm in air con room and in the morning he will scratch and rub his face like mad when he wakes up ..

At first i very scared to let him off without mittens cause he dunno anything and fingers can poke inside his eyes! See already can break into cold sweat .. A few times he cried cause of it .. Now he stop poking his eyes while rubbing and learn how to avoid .. I file his nails once every 2-3 days .. When a bit of nails grow, u can see scratches on his face .. I think can't be avoided but try to keep nails short .. Take things step by step .. For his acne i think only PD can help .. Sometimes he might to allergy to something else not only peanut and seafood .. See what u eat yesterday when acne gone worse .. Sometimes bb is born with sensitive skin but they will outgrown it!

Hi truffles_pearl,

Look at my freezer dedicated to store e BM. it's almost full already. i dun intend to keep them for too long too. i was thinkg of donatg some to e hospital if really no choice.

1283008.jpg

1283009.jpg

waah!!!!

steffie!!!! u're amazing!! so much milk! i think can feed all the babies in hospital leh.. good to donate then let it go to waste..

but i'm thinking of all the $$ u spent on the lasinoh milk bags.. me now trying to express just enough for my girl for her next day's feed.. if too much or pass the 48hrs in the fridge.. then i'll water the plants with it..

now i know can use it to wash face alsh.. hehe

valeriet
Yes.. swaddling does help. I'll swaddle him during bedtime, he'll sleep until 3/4am. then after no use already. will wake up n kick out the swaddle n want to sleep in my arms.

steffi,
envy u leh... so much milk!!! i've only a pathetic 4 bags in my freezer. Daily express not even enuf for the day's feed.

Updated as of 5th March

15) eve/Baby Ethan (20 Dec) - 5.7kg, 64cm

slimz
yes, it comes with a carrying bag for storing and travelling (if necessary). for first use and cleaning, wipe with soft cleaning cloth and luke warm soapy water. use plain water for subsequent cleaning will do. i use baby wipes to clean it everyday thou

steffietan
very impressive!! how did you make it?? *envy* *envy*!!!

wow steffi
dats alotta milk!!

my record was only 20packs of 8oz in the freezer n 2 days supply in normal compartment. Urs must b at least 3x mine!! :eek:

Updated as of 5th March

16) Baby12/ Baby Clarence (12 Dec) - 6.2kg, 67cm

steffi,

really envy the amount of milk you can produce! mine only enough for a day's feed... did you eat anything "special" to increase your supply?

Updated as of 5th March

16) constancet/Baby Rhaines (18 Dec) - 6.2kg, 63cm

my bb just over the 6kg mark.

Updated as of 5th March

17) constancet/Baby Rhaines (18 Dec) - 6.2kg, 63cm

linzyi

my more milk plus capsules still with mrspiggy. not collected yet. yeah, its BN. can't remember how much i got it for. I sms mrspiggy first, then let you know k? btw, her collection at tampines and siglap

petrina,

heng got BP for lansinoh bags..it's so much cheaper n kinder to the pockets. what u're doing now is good too..at least ur milk is fresh. i just feel v heartache if i hv to throw them away.

phy
initially i also worry about thinning the skin. My elder daughter has the same terrible skin prob too. But ovetime i realise if I leave it, the problem gets worse. So must diligently apply, once cleared then use other creams to maintain. PD said that both of my kids have sensitive/ezema skin

Milk SS
I'm starting to use some of my frozen EBM. Din want to use initially cuz use fresh one better rite? Headache!

Rashes
Oh by the way, I ate laksa the day before and the rashes are back! Laksa have dried shrimps!

steffii
WOohoo! Can hold breastmilk pool party for all our babies to go swim! I abit bu she de to donate my BM leh, but then again, keep too much also dunno do what right?

Petrina
Your plants sure very healthy and nice! hehehe! I use Playtex milk bags, I find that its the cheapest in the market. I bought it for $23 in Paragon, spree only cost about $10 per piece!!

steffietan,
wow so much milk. my freezer is also full but that is the freezer portion of my fridge.

see my girl smiling away. she can coo and talk to people, she likes to smile when we talk to her. can u spot her small dimple?
1283141.jpg

wah steffie really impressive store of milk. How many packets do you freeze each day?

today soooooo tiring. Baby's sleeping and makan times kept overlapping until I didn't know what she was crying about anymore. Sit down to read newspapers and next moment she wakes up crying from her nap. Think she drank too much foremilk so consumed too much lactose and had tummy ache. Will be trying out cousin's yaolan on Sat to see if my baby likes to sleep in it. Heck care if I also have to wean her off yaolan. If she can sleep longer than 20min then she'll get a less zombiefied mummy.

Whoa..so many posts. Very hard to keep up wif u gerls lei. Me will only know my boy's weight and length this weekend. Till then cannot update the list yet.

constance,
update me ok. Thanks!

steff:
wow!! impressive leh u ..
i sty with my MIL .. no freezer for my EBM .. oni ve abt 30 packs wich were from early feb till now..
now preparing to go bk work .. so will express .. and ve more dan enuf for bb .. will dump once pass the 48hrs mark .. so xin tong .. but wat to do.. no space =[

hi dinut,

I have transferred $2.60 to you liao. below is the details.

From Account POSB Savings 153-16711-7
To Account DBS Savings Plus 032-3-026443 Dinut
Amount S$2.60
Transaction Reference 1603485052

adding on to the list.

1. teething toys
2. toothpaste/brush
3. teething gel
4. bumbo seat
5. bibs
6. More clothes! 9-12mths? :p
7. Toys
8. Thermo Food jar
9. High chair
10.Walker
11.Play yard Panels
12.Feeding stuff (bowls, spoons etc)
13.swimsuits
14.flashcards?!?, educational dvds (eg bb signing times, bb can read, etc) (pls dun kill me. )
15) thermometer
16) safety gate
17) bumper playmat (a must have!!)
18) sleeping bag

Mel,
Thanks for the kind and positive words
I need them today!! Will try to trim his nails short short.. as for wiping after each feed, I do that using cotton balls in cool boiled water...

Your boy got rashes on face also?

Ginger,
Ya, must apply the cream to get rid of rashes for 3 days... anyway, whose rashes came back after eating laksa? Yours or your bb? Another no-no food added to my list..no laksa.

Busy Baby Wrap Shipment #1

botanist...didn't expect it to arrive so soon thought still on its way...can you pls keep mine with you first? i opt for normal postage when i'm back in singapore (will e-mail you),thanks!

payment for shipping charges received with thanks from:

1. constance
2. elaine
3. alien
4. gloomybear

wld love to hear your verdicts on the wraps

Updated as of 5th March

18) Idah/Baby Adlan (5 Dec) - 6.3kg

ginger:

yea, dunno what to do with the excess milk now. my daughter's intake ain't high to begin with somemore. but just saw constance's link, so may just donate them. beats throwing them away.

ankh:

i use abt 3 bags a day, yield is b/w 25-30 oz. thing is i still feed direct, hence e bags are not moving as fast. anyway, i'm startg to feed her more using e bottle already.

baby:

i didn't eat anythg special. i guess even before i gave birth, i told myself that i had to make BFg work (as i didnt hv enuff milk for my 1st during e 1st mth)so i was more "hardworking" this time. of cz i uploaded my intake of liquids like maaad. kept drinkg juices n milk n water n pumped n pumped n pumped even when i direct fed.

ya la..my HB still said i shld use e EBM to make 'sng bao'. anyway, my MIL already startg to nag..askg me what i intend to do wif e milk. haaaa..i suspect she's eyeing e freezer to store her food stuff..muahhhaa..

Updated as of 5th March

18) Idah/Baby Adlan (5 Dec) - 6.3kg
19) Cry Baby / Baby Kate (5 Dec) - 4.4kg, 55cm

hee.. realise quite a few baby same date as mine!! eh.. my gal seem abit small sized..but she was also born small 2.545kg onli =p

tmr taka bb fair start already!!

shopping time again!!! hahaha..

me going tmr with my bb and mum.. anyone going too??

will update u gals on any good offers if they have..

steffie

r u going down tom? update us wat gd stuff r there, k?
my gal juz took her 2nd dose of 6-in-1 jab. abit feverish now, so cannot go down tom.

crybaby:

my bb was also borned small, 2.53kg, but almost 3 weeks earlier than urs (her actual edd was 4 dec tho). as of now, i dun really know her weight. i do hope she's at least hit e 5kg mark.

yea, i'm not sure if i'm going tmr. but v keen. anyway i always do e same old things at home, might as well go out for a breather wif e baby. i'm sure she'll b happy wif e change of environm. ya, if i do go, i'll update u.

i'm going down to the taka baby fair later. Haha...cant believe i'm here at this hour. I have logged off then logged in again cos cannot sleep as me alone at home. Hubby was called for duty just now. Will update u gerls on the offer. Heard avent having sale there.

steffietan,

your milk bank is really very impressive! i have stopped freezing my milk coz my bb seems to prefer fresh EBM over freezer EBM and he kicks up such a fuss when drinking EBM from freezer.

our bbs were born abt a couple of days apart right? my boy was 2.2kg at birth, now he's abt 6.8kg, slowly catching up with his peers
i think bb girls usually don't pile on weight as fast as bb boys do.. my #1 is still at a miserable 9kg +

steffi,

yup, my boy still sleeps alot during the day. does your boy behave the same? i was trying to cut his night feed few wks ago, so will give him a last feed of 100ml at abt 11:30pm to midnight. it lasted him till 5am that time.. last week he went to sleep after his feed at 8:30pm, i was too caught up in my work and forgot to give him his midnight feed! that same night, he slept till abt 4 or 5am... means he can tahan at least 6-7 hours without milk. morning he will take abt 170ml and then 160ml every 3 hours till 8 or 9pm.

since then he has been able to sleep till morning around 7-8am. i think he does wake up in the night but he goes back to sleep after sucking his thumb..

now i have another problem... he has found his thumb and simply loves it! does not like pacifier at all
dunno how to wean him off from his thumb