(2007/12) Dec 2007 MTB

Botanist
thanks so much...hee so happy can use carrier like that i can bring both the toddler and baby out at the same time...but hb dun really feel safe having me alone bring both kids out :p

etelle

maybe I will try to give pacifier. ytd my bb dun wan to sleep in the sarong. whole nite sleep on my bed. also dun need to carry.. I'm confused by him liao. or maybe he is also confused .

S@L,

. So you getting the 4th generation?

jeelo, my boy don really like tummy time, so usually we will put him on our chest which he like it a lot. He will tend to lift up his head from there.

bluelily, my boy also like to "eat" his fist, so everytime he try to "eat", i will put pacifier straight to his mouth, hehe!

gina and missylan,
is that so? put on neubiliser recover faster? ya the PD was saying that the oral medication to be given to her at her age group is very limited and has side effects so she said she hope that Clarene will have postive effect on the 2 oral medication prescribed by her. we will be bringing her back to the PD tomorrow night for her assessment, if still bad, then will have to rent the neubiliser back.

cloverluv,
did you apply baby vicks on his chest, back and nose? it may clear his block nose and he may feel better. I always do that when my elder one has cold. I also rub vicks on her joints at the back to the elbows and knees. also I read that can apply vicks on the sole and let the baby wear socks at night. I never tried that before but maybe that will help. ya, hope that all sick babies recover quickly.

Is sucking on fingers and fist a phase that babies go thru? My son also like that. Tried putting in pacifier but after awhile the pacifier will come out and he will be sucking on his fingers and fist again...sigh. Don't know what to do.

S@L,

haha same here. will be comparing this w my ergo... might sell off wat i dun need! honestly, when i use the baby bjorn, i really feel the weight n strain on my shoulders but with the ergo, the weight is so well distributed, i could carry him much longer! m sure u will experience the same with the beco...

the glass bttles which hospital has given us can used to store the express breast milk r?

how much to store in fridge b4 gg back to work? me gg back work next wk le... times flies

mongs, cloverluv

I was told by a PD not to use Vicks. They contain something that affects the brain development. Not too sure how true it is. I was recommended to use Snuffle Babe Vapour Rub instead. Can get it from Unity Pharmacy. My son likes it a lot when we applied it during the time he had blocked nose. Can see some relief after he used it.

lynzi

my son is doing the same thing too..no longer interested in his pacifier. i tink is a phase of growing up.

Ay
you have to slowly figure out your son's pattern la...whichever way that soothes him the best lor...normally kdis will wean off bottles pacifiers, sarong at a time one la...so dun worrie unless urs happen to be those super fussy baby if not everything should have a time to wean off so dun worrie 2 much...most impt is get them to sleep then we can rest well as well.

hi Botanist and S@L,
I'm currently struggling with the baby sling. Reading your reviews about the Ergo and 4th gen carriers, it sounds so good. Do you know if they sell that locally or must we buy online? Also, I'm rather confused with the butterfly, 4th gen and ergo. Could you clarify what those terms mean? I've looked up the website you posted but it's still quite confusing. Do you know which one can be used for breastfeeding? Thanks!

Hi Mongs,

yes i think the neburaliser will be good for yor BB. My son recovered after 5 days on medication and he was in tiime for chinese new year celebration. he he so if PD recommed that it will be good, but sometimes baby will be afraid of the sound.

Rachel,
i had planned to do dat one week before i start work, dats supposedly tis week, to leave him half day for adjustment, who knows end up sprainin my bk... haiz...

mongs,eve,
no i din do anything, now dat his runny nose has stopped i still hear a bit of like phelgmy stuffy noise.. is dat normal? i am also tinkin to stop his medi since e runny nose is no more... a PD had told my fren when her dotter is having flu, to stop e medi once no more runny nose... the plehgmy noise will gradually go away, tis was not advise by my PD.. in fact he gave more medi when we went bk the 2nd time.

eve,
how do u use the rub, apply where? i will look for it once i am up and abt fr my sprained back.
tia!

Botanist,
Seems like u have done a lot of research on the carrier. Can i know what's the difference btw this BECO one and baby bjorn? From the pic, don't all bb boy have to sit on the crotches?

botanist
i too slow, now on Beco wait list for metropolis 4th Generation leh.
actually getting for hb and mum to use, so gotta choose a neutral color. I am too comfy with my sling liao.

cloverluv
You can rub it on his chest. The same way when u use vicks.
I've stopped letting my son take all the medicine after a visit to another PD as he advised that they are too young for any medicine to work. He said they will recover on their own. Will take about a week to recover. Just let him sleep with the bed slightly elevated. As long as he doesn't develop fever, will be fine. I guess his philosophy is to let babies fight their own immunity.

S@L
using my MIM sling w. ring. Bb refuse to get into my littlepod sling at all. He will straighten both his legs and scream.

Mongs
the nebuliser actually dilute bb's mucus and make it watery. Messier, but easier for them to breathe lor, so not so uncomfortable.

Baby carrier
I started using Baby Bjorn when my baby was about 4-5 weeks old. At first, his head was still not so stable and the carrier was a little to big for him. After a while, his head became tougher and it is now showing above the top of the flap. He likes being in the carrier ... he'll be quiet and look around the environment or fall asleep on his own.

Sleeping
My baby got used to sleeping in his car seat / infant carrier during the day, doesn't want to sleep in his cot at night. At best, he sleeps for about 30 mins and will wake up, but in his car seat, he sleeps through 3-4 hours. I'm afraid the car seat is bad for his spine, so am weaning him off car seat now. It's tiring and baby's sleep and mine are disrupted but I hope in the long run it'll be good for him.

hope so.
Not intending to sell off yet, cos i bought lots and lots of books in the overseas spree also. Hope they will take a "second look" again.
btw, one system is around S$50-$60 after including shipping. definitely cheaper than buying locally.

eve,

sorry, just saw your post
. difference between baby bjorn & Beco/Ergo is this. Baby Bjorn provides less support when u carry baby as the straps are hanging primarily on your shoulders. So it will be painful after a while - esp when your baby is big.

Also, your baby is sort of hanging by his/her crotch and the carrier provides less support for the spine as compared to the BECO/Ergo. BECO/Ergo has an additional hip strap that distributes the baby's weight more evenly over your body, so you can carry baby for a longer period of time.

So with the BECO/Ergo, your baby will sit in a natural position, and not 'hang by the crotch'.

Honestly, I dont think Baby Bjorn is lousy. its a great carrier but more when your baby is still relatively small/light. Also great for short trips - but if you intend to carry your baby for a longer period, should get the Ergo or the Beco.

Also one thing to note. with Baby Bjorn, baby can face out... but with Ergo and Beco, baby can only face in or face your back (if strapped to yr back).

Rachel,

All the carriers u mentioned can be used for breastfeeding. but i think it will take some adjusting as you'd be breastfeeding when your child is upright...

Briefly - there are no great differences between Ergo 4th generation carriers & BECO 4th generation carriers.

Only different one here is Butterfly, which caters more for infants and is more user friendly because your baby is strapped into the carrier first before you really put on the carrier. This allows you to pass your child to yr HB or helper to carry without having to take out yr child from the carrier (which u have to do with Ergo or BECO 4th generation).

4th generation carriers can allow you to carry your child in the front, back, side... whereas Butterfly only front & back.

Constance,

The BECO BP is damn hot man! hahah Suddenly the whole world is ordering!!

Botanist,
thanks for the detailed explanation. U really did yr homework. My Baby Bjorn just arrived today. Now see this Beco and all the patterns available, so tempted. Too bad it came late.

constance,
Yup, 24 in my son's class. Yours dd's, I saw 2 Indian adults in the class, think 1 is helper right?

mongs,
After the inhaler, must rmb to tap on the back for 10mins ok. This will lossen the mucus. =)

Rachel,

i currently have an Ergo... but dont have the BECO. Was also tempted (haha) after seeing the gorgeous prints! So did research to find out what is the difference... was pleasently surprised to discover the Butterfly is quite different also.

Eve,

Can still get BECO mah..
Baby Bjorn serves a different purpose - at least I see it that way. If I were only going downstairs to open mailbox or run quick errand, i will use Baby Bjorn. If going out shopping, will use Ergo/Beco lor.

hi any mummies ve any idea when will our little ones learn to grab tings?

my fren says her bb was able to grab tings (e.g. rattletoy) by 3rd mth .. but my girl cant yet

FYI Mummies, JL having cardmember sales from 4-6 march. some baby items are:
1) 4 pc avent milk bottle for only $18,
2) 15% off diapers,

slimz, my bb is 3 months old today. she's able to grab things for awhile only.

talking abt crib deaths...

i muz share with u ladies wat happened tis afternoon. I heard my gal gave a soft whine. So i went into her room n take a peek. I was shocked to c her head being wrapped by e blanket n her hands waving tryin to get out of e mess... i quickly unwrapped e blanket. N my gal juz look at mi as if nothing major had happened.

Its a big shock to me. Esp cos I did not cover her with e blanket at all. in fact when i left her in e play pen, her body was resting on part of e blanket n she was happily lookin round e play pen moving her body. i have no idea how on earth did she manage to get e blanket to wrap her head!!

do b careful n dun ignore even e slightest whine fr baby. never know wat mess they r in.

Thank goodness i never put a blanket in my boy's cot. But the other day my boy kicked his pillow until it went over his head. Initially i placed the pillow at the end of his feet. Luckily it did not cover his face.

Mummies here, since the 4th Gen beco is oos, where else can i get it from? Any shop here?

Cry_baby,

I had a scare the other day too.. I swaddled my boy and left the bean sprout pillow across his chest.. He was crying and trying to sleep.. I left him for a few minutes to go kitchen to do some stuff.. Then he stopped crying so I walked into bedroom to check.. To my horror of horror, the pillow was right on his face and he was struggling to get if off his face.. He must have moved so violently that the pillow 'flew' and landed on his face..

Imagine my trauma... I developed a phobia.. now I constantly check on him.. and no more bean sprout pillow till he can sleep without being swaddled...

Phy
The same thing happened to my boy too. Swaddled him and put the bean sprout pillow across his waist. In the middle of the night heard him crying softly. When I woke up to see, the pillow on his face too. Since then, i dont use it when i swaddle him already.

Even the swaddle also seem dangerous. A couple of times, my boy tries to struggle to get his hands out, he used his legs to push himself. End up, he slided himself down towards the swaddle, n the cloth is around his head. Luckily, each time he try to struggle out, he made noise & alerted me. Wonder when he can sleep without being swaddled too. Anyone has any idea?

Botanist,
My hubby will say I'm crazy to get another one especially since now we havent really try the bjorn.