(2007/12) Dec 2007 MTB

hen,

its alright to supplement baby with FM while u establish ur milk supply. pump religiously at 3 to 4 hours interval. go for supplements that boost milk supply if u wan the "extra kick start". dun let stress / emotion affect u.

always remember --> happy mum + happy milk = happy baby!

claire,
I also just open a posbkids acct for my gal. same reason as botanist. yes, can transfer via internet banking.

I have been trying to bottle feed my girl because I will be going back to work in 3 weeks time. started bottle feeding her one bottle a day since last week and sometimes, she takes the 120ml at 1 stretch and sometimes need to spread out and she still can't finish the 120ml after 2 hrs from the beginning of the feed.
Today, I ask my MIL to feed her 3 bottles and she only drank 40ml from the 1st bottle and 60ml from the 2nd bottle. I fed her the 1st bottle 4 and half hrs after I breastfed her at 530am but she still refused to drink. my MIL is worried that she is hungry and ask my to latch her at 2pm just now. she sucks readily.
For mummies who had trained your babies to take bottles, how long it take for them to get used to it? I am using avent bottles because avent is good for mummies who want to cont to latch. the teat is similar to nipple but it's hard so the babies will never reject the breast. I really don't want to change the bottles. just bought 3 new ones.

mine is the same as witty, i have chose ocbc for my bb's account. i have 2 accounts with ocbc, and plus there is a few branches in the north, hehe! So i just need to do internet banking to trf $$ to my bb's account can liao.

Hi Hen,

Don't worry so much. I am also a mother of 2 and am lucky that I have help. Being a full time mummy is the most stressful job in the world.

Take some time off for yourself. With my first kid I always felt guilty that I needed time for myself but I realised that a break is good. I'm happier and thus my kids are happier. Don't forget that we are not just mummies....we are also wives and friends. Take care!

Mummies anybody having the same problem as me? My #2 refuses to drink milk (he will struggle)....he will cry and cry too. Others tell me that maybe he's not hungry....but after not having anything for 12 hrs? ( he sleeps at 7 pm until 7 am ....wakes up at nite once....but lately refuses milk....pat back to sleep) The pediatrician tells me not to worry as long as he's putting on weight....but how not to when he drinks a total of 20 oz (EBM) a day. Can only get him to drink when he's half asleep. He's now 11 weeks and weighs 5.2 Kg.

Does anyone know about this ?

Over Feeding Baby
Babies who is taking EBM takes 1 oz per hour
Babies should NOT take more than 4oz each time

when babies are young, the bottle goes in the baby's mouth the mouth fills with milk, the baby is obligated to swallow and the action of swallowing initiates another suck. The suck again fills the mouth and the cycle repeats, giving an appearance of the baby "gulping the bottle down hungrily".

A baby will usually eat whatever is in a bottle because a bottle "force feeds" them and they don't have a chance to realize they've had enough until they are engorged. Keep in mind your LO's belly is the size of his FIST.

Because of this, its not unusual for more and more milk to be added to a bottle. What happens then is that because the milk can be seen and measured, it is not unusual that babies are encouraged to feed beyond being full. This then creates a situation where the infant is used to feeling over full meaning they then consume the higher volume without complaint, resulting in an overfeeding that is only seen in bottle fed infants. Ongoing research seems to indicate this is one of the reasons that bottle fed infants are more likely to become obese - they lose their ability to regulate their appetite because they need to eat more as children/teens/adults to feel full.

To satiation, so that baby is not aggressively encouraged to finish the last bit of milk in the bottle by such measures as forcing the nipple into the mouth, massaging the infant's jaw or throat, or rattling the nipple around in the infant's mouth. If baby is drowsing off and releasing the bottle nipple before the bottle is empty that means baby is done; don't reawaken the baby to "finish."

oooo.. sgo ur baby is EXACTLY the same as mine! He's also 5.2kg at 11wks. He'll cry n cry during feeding too. No matter how long we drag the feeding time.. still the same. He'll drink abit.. then refuse to drink liao. Same here.. half asleep easier to drink. Avg we take 1 hr to feed him. hai.. I'm dying to find a soln! Anyone got suggestions let me know! Change teats also no use.

mongs,
I took abt 1 week to get him to get used to the bottle. Initially, he refused to drink and will keep crying until i latch him. Actually even until now, he's still rejecting it at times. It all depends on his mood. When he's really hungry, he has no choice. But sometimes, he'll just cry, then drink a few mouth, cry again. I had to force him to drink fr the bottle and not give in to latch him. I've changed all my teats to NUK latex now. Another alternative which works for me is I asked my MIL to feed and I don't hang around when she's feeding.

Sgo
Mine also cry and refuse to drink milk recently. He can sleep 2-3hrs in the day and when it's time to drink, will drink a bit and struggle. Sometimes I can see that he still wants to sleep, sometimes I think he wants the nipple. End up I have to spread the feed over several attempts when he calm down. Sometimes he doesnt finish the 120ml at all. He used to have about 8 feeds of 120ml at a 3hr interval without fail. Now he's only taking about 6 feeds of 90-120ml.

0-6 mths

ya max is 4 oz which means if 3hr per feed is 3 oz ..
heard that when they grow bigger they drinks more times than increasing .. too much milk not gd for their little tummy .. i check n see if older babies drink how much ..

for calculation of milk, i think that's for FM
but still risk of overfeeding ..

rachel, noted :p

Bluelily, is it colic for ur bb? Cos colic will oos coz bb to feel bloated, and even hungry they oso cant drink milk becos of bloatedness! My son lor, kana oso. Then on infaco liao and he's beta now.

witty, sometimes maybe it's colic. But cant be 90% of the time right? Burp him, give gripe water also the same. When his stomach is super flat.. he also drink like 50ml then stop liao.

2nd Gathering for Dec 2007 Mummies

Date: 2nd March 2008, Sunday
Time: 12pm
Venue: Macdonalds at Kallang Stadium

Mummies, pls PM or email me and Linda your contact#, and pls do indicate your nick. I'll sms you my hp# once rec your email. So on that day we will contact via HP.

My email: [email protected]
Linda email: [email protected]
1.Witty+hb+BB+helper - Linda hv ur contact#
2.alien+hb+baby - witty and Linda hv ur contact#
3.fanny+hb+baby
4.Slimz+HB+BB - Linda hv ur contact#
5.missylan+baby+son+helper - Linda hv ur contact#
6.Linda+hb+bb - witty hv ur contact#
7.rachel+hub+bb (rachel cheng - Witty and Linda hv ur contact#)
8.petrina+bb
9.cocoangel+hb+bb - witty and Linda hv ur contact#
10.jeelomeelo+hb+bb - witty and Linda hv ur contact#
11.ankh+hb+bb - Witty hv ur contact#
12.naf+hb+elder+bb
13.steffietan+hb+bb+son
14.cookiemz+bb+#1+helper
15.bbtree+baby+daughter+helper - - witty and Linda hv ur contact#
16.eve+bb

2nd Gathering for Dec 2007 Mummies

Date: 2nd March 2008, Sunday
Time: 12pm
Venue: Macdonalds at Kallang Stadium

Mummies, pls PM or email me and Linda your contact#, and pls do indicate your nick. I'll sms you my hp# once rec your email. So on that day we will contact via HP.

My email: [email protected]
Linda email: [email protected]
1.Witty+hb+BB+helper - Linda hv ur contact#
2.alien+hb+baby - witty and Linda hv ur contact#
3.fanny+hb+baby
4.Slimz+HB+BB - Linda hv ur contact#
5.missylan+baby+son+helper - Linda hv ur contact#
6.Linda+hb+bb - witty hv ur contact#
7.rachel+hub+bb (rachel cheng - Witty and Linda hv ur contact#)
8.petrina+bb
9.cocoangel+hb+bb - witty and Linda hv ur contact#
10.jeelomeelo+hb+bb - witty and Linda hv ur contact#
11.ankh+hb+bb - Witty hv ur contact#
12.naf+hb+elder+bb
13.steffietan+hb+bb+son - <font color="0000ff">rec ur email!</font>
14.cookiemz+bb+#1+helper
15.bbtree+baby+daughter+helper - - witty and Linda hv ur contact#
16.eve+bb - <font color="0000ff">rec ur email!</font>

my ger (12weeks old) oso struggle when feeding milk... and end up i have to walk up and down carrying her to feed her. By doing this she can drink more.. but still cannot finish up her milk. She only having 6 feeds and should drink abt 120 - 130mls. But she only drinking abt and average of 90mls. haiz... heard that is a stage for some bbs. Really hope she can pass the stage soon. Oh ya.. i'm doing a 3 1/2 hrly feed. At 1st 3hrly and i tried 4hrly and end up she oso cannot finish.. so might as well do 3 1/2 hrly feed.

I would love to be in the lobang group.

slimz - [email protected]
Linda - [email protected]
Happi - [email protected]
Elaine - [email protected]
cry baby - [email protected]
tub - [email protected]
fanny - [email protected]
CSI_Fan - [email protected]
constancet - [email protected]
cookiemz - [email protected]
pretty - [email protected]
Jaz23 - [email protected]
CryStaLZ - [email protected]
Botanist - [email protected]
gina78 - [email protected]
bluelily - [email protected]
bbngg - [email protected]
phy - [email protected]
witty - [email protected]
kokopooh - [email protected]
eve78 - [email protected]
ankh - [email protected]
lynzi - [email protected]
alien - [email protected]
jeelomeelo - [email protected]
chjas - [email protected]
fairylander - [email protected]
lingling82 - [email protected]
Mel - [email protected]
rach11 - [email protected]
leejo - [email protected]
keki - [email protected]
valeriet - [email protected]
kat - [email protected]
janmom - [email protected]
elmo_78 - [email protected]
Iang - [email protected]
pierced - [email protected]
tricianbt - [email protected]
idah - [email protected]
Jammie - [email protected]
Gloomybear - [email protected]

btw, anyone selling their quinny zapp? I;m looking for one. thanks.

mel, thanks for sharing. i think that's why some PD recommend demand feeding. as for me i'm doing it more on a routine thing. just that this week, bb somewhat seem to change his pattern. he is drinking he amount irregularly. the way he tells me enough is wriggling his way thru and he pushes the teat out of his mouth. That signals enough. As for today, i was too lazy to wake up to prepare the EBM for him so i latch him on. he drank for about 1/2hr and it lasted him 7am to 1pm - 6hours! then in the afternoon, he goes back to his 3hr feed. dunno why like that oso...

hen,
hang on there. i am sure you're doing a good job. try to take time off once a week or so and let hubby or MIL/mum/sis to do the job even for an hr or so, it's good enough.

Direct latching is more contented!! Maybe cause of mummy breast ..

From birth till now i've been latching my bb .. once in a week i'll give him bottle .. But i realise my bb can last longer with i latch him .. He can go up to 4 hours .. With bottle something 2 hrs .. Not really hungry but more of comfort suck .. I guess babies have their own way of drinking .. And babies empty breast better than pump ..

And direct latch is the best as EBM lost some of the nutrients .. And breastfeeding is not only about feeding but bonding! So for those mummy that is working, try to latch whenever u can ..

cry baby, i found the infomation

Up to 6 months, an exclusively breastfed baby will only need approximately 3 ounces of breastmilk per feeding if eating every 3 hours, 2 ounces if eating every 2 hours. As baby grows, your breastmilk becomes more concentrated with the nutrients it produces. Formula doesn’t change, which is why it must be continually increased as baby grows. If baby seems to be eating significantly more than that, it’s most likely that the person giving baby the bottle isn’t adequately reading the signs that baby is finished.

mel

ooh.. i still thought i need to increase my EBM to my baby. Thanks for e info!!

funny, these few days, my baby prefer to drink fr bottle n not fr my breasts!! she tend to make alot of noise as if i m forcing her to drink. But if we use bottle, she takes it happily. sigh, wonder if too much exposure to e bottle n e flow was faster than fr my breasts? anyone with e same prob as mi?

Bluelily is your bb the same? My bb hasn't even had a suck. The funny thing is once we put him in the feeding position....and he sees the milk bottle he'll start crying. It seems like he's rejecting the bottle...but I've given him the bottle since he was 2 weeks old....never direct latch.

I thought it could be colic but because other than feeding times...he's quite contented....not crying....lying on his cot watching his mobile. Never seems to be hungry. I'm currently feeding him every 4 - 3.5 hours of 5 oz. He has a total of 4 feeds a day....total of 20 ozs a day.

Mel....sorry so does it mean I'm overfeeding my baby? I try to feed him more in the day as at night he prefers to sleep....does not want to drink milk anymore.

Anybody got any suggestions?

good evening everyone. sorry to barge in like that. wondering if any of you had a wonderful experience with your confinement nanny and can recommend? appreciate if you could PM me if you do. i am due in july and realise that many CLs are already taken up. many thanks in advance and have a nice evening.

Dinut, no worries, but jus wan to clarify if u have forwarded the invoice from the Nursing wrap to Vpost for matching? u can call Vpost hotline and ask them the reason why it has nt been matched if ur invoice has already been sent to them. I encountered this when i was doing my personal ON spree. my parcel was actually 'sitting' in vpost as ON did not incld my vpost name. so when i called they actually did the matching manually. u might wan to call 1605 to check.

witty &amp; linda,

i am fine with the date &amp; venue! see you guys soon!

dinut
dun feel stressed, you have done a good job so far. appreciated alot

thx for your input
Finally went for ocbc and link to my joint account. Took up the school plan and took advantage of the promo. put $$ in FD for 1 mth at 10%pa. So after 1 mth then I return the money to my girls

woke for 2 feeds last nite and each time fed halfway only to doze off and wake up wondering why the room seemed to be shaking. this morning found out there was Indo earthquake. phew! thot i was getting sick or something ha!

For the first time last nite i got full uninterrupted sleep. My son last fed at 6pm. At 8pm he slept all the way till this morning 8am. Full 12 hours!! Was quite worried if he's hungry but he seems to be fine. Woke up can even play2. But i still give him milk cos he went 14hrs without any feed.

cookiemz
i will like to try out the eclairs from chinatown..hehe

Claire
i opened UOB junior savers. This account the cons is has to maintain at least 500 if nto subject to the $2 deduction monthly. But the cons is also can use IB to xfer funds. And we're given an ATM card to access te account.

Reason for choosing cuz posb has real long queues all the time for their transaction so prefer one that has lesser queues ha ha

Hi Bluelily &amp; others,

Could it be your bbs are hot. Try to point the fan at them while feeding and see how? And also it could be the milk flow of the teat? If the teat is good for FM, it might not be good for breast milk as is thinner, so the flow is faster and they dun like it? Could it be the position when feeding the bb. If I put his hand underneath my armpit, he doesn't want, he prefers me to free both his hands so that he can play with his fingers while I feed him. It could be the tightness of the diaper around his tummy, it could be too tight and they are not comfortable.

My bb didn't try to reject milk when he was 1 to 3months but recently I found that he will protest a little. So I will try these and sometimes it will work.

My bb is 12wks old n lately, she's been crying whenever I give her the bottle too. She's been bottle-fed wz EBM + FM since day 1. No problem wz bottle before this. Now, I wld hv to carry her n walk around n feed her at the same time. She can usually finished 120ml, but sometimes only managed 90ml. Her interval is also quite irregular, sometimes 2hrs, sometimes 3hrs.

is this a phase that bb will go thru? My boy is also crying when i give the bottle. will take v long to finish n sometimes cannot even finish. he's also been on the bottle since v young

Hi Rachel,

Thanks for your suggestions. We actually turned on the aircon yesterday and tried feeding him. Still the same. I have also tried changing to NB teats and changed his diapers with no success.

My bb doesn't usually cry. He'll only fuss when he starts to get tired. The only time he cries is when he sees the milk bottle or knows we are going to feed him. I have tried dragging the feeds (4 hours)but he never seems to be hungry. He can only drink milk when he's half asleep. I am starting to wonder if its a behavioural problem. Like a bad habit....a way to get attention?

I am contemplating not feeding at all and see how long he can go without milk. But I am worried he's not getting enough nutrition.

Wah sgo, ur bb n mine can be best frens ah! He also v smart.. cry once we carry him in feeding posn... I also give him bottle since newborn. Yes yes, and he's also an angel when it's not feeding time! Always like not hungry! I give him 100ml every 3-3.5hrs.

Crystal, I no energy to carry him walk n drink milk ah. Have to sit down.. kudos to u!

Witty, infaco can just drink like tt w/o prescription? Currently I think his colic still fine.

Claire, ocbc got wat promo? 10%pa so much ah?

Rachel, tried all ur mtds. Even change from Avent teat to NUK teat. Also the same.

bluelily
have to take up a savings plan called school plan (it's basically one of those endowment plans, pay for 6yrs, then take out in the 12th yr). After that then can put extra funds into FD at that rate. Asked the guy if can put for more than 1 mth, but he said cannot.

If you're interested, can call ocbc to explain in more detail, but promo ends 29feb.

appreciate your understanding..i think it's just my nature,don't like to dissapoint people..thanks for the reassurance!
at least got one gd news from paypal that they've accepted all docs that i've submitted meaning they'll release the funds and batch #2 will be shipped soon.

s@l,i've sent them all the invoices...i'e also e-mailed them regarding the goods have been delivered at their portland vicinity but nt yet matched to my account...cld be busy baby forgot to put my Vpost number on the parcel...i haven't heard from vpost again...how to make call to 1605 as i'm overseas? can just dial +65 1605?

botanist,
yup...please sms emailmequicklyemq for me,just let her know i'm still waiting for her transfer of $29.25 to my DBS savings plus 032-3-026443...thanks a lot!

btw...seems that most babies start to reject their feed...mine also have been drinking less these days (he's turning 2 mths in 2 days) especially at night.
i've been told that it's ok coz BF babies will drink less as they grow bigger...even formula babies also...eventhough the amount of milk might be increased but the frequency will be less.
so i just let my baby be,i direct latch him on demand and if he doesn't want to drink he'll remained tight-lipped.
as long as they're gaining weight and seems healthy should be ok (alert, growing in height,etc etc).weight gain also will be slower soon won't be as rapid as now.
so i think if your babies starting to reject bottle cld be that he's too full still and since the milk makes him feel uncomfortable he cries at the sight of it.

dinut, I think what u say makes sense. maybe they are just not hungry. But what do you all do if lets say u make 100ml of milk.. then he drink 40ml then dun want liao. Throw away the rest n wait for next feed? So wasteful leh.. Currently what we do is to keep warming the milk.. till eventually he wants to drink. That's y will take 1 hr for 1 feed. But if make less.. scared he'll get hungry v fast also. Like so mafan...

Bluelily, yes can get easily from the shelf. Was prescribed by PD for wind and was told infaco is safe and commonly used in infant for wind. Tat why can get from shelves without prescribed.

Anyone have intention to bring bb travel? Now considering if to bring bb out for short trip like HK or Aust.

witty
so far i have brought baby to malacca, pd and kl. Considering to bring him to HK also this june. Afraid he won't like the sensation of blocked ears during the flight.

sgo .. If u feeding ur baby 3.5hr to 4hr means u give ur baby 3.5oz to 4 oz .. Baby needs at least 6 feed a day ..

After babies sleeping thru the night is not really good .. Deep sleep can cause SID ..

Wait i post up infomation about it ..

From eight weeks (2 months) to a year, here are suggested minimum number of times a breastfed baby should be nursing, in a 24 hr span:

From 2 - 4 months baby should nurse at least 6 times in 24 hr period

From 4 - 7 months baby should nurse at least 5 times in 24 hr period

From 7 - 12 months baby should nurse at least 4 times in 24 hr period

Don't expect your infant to sleep through the night. Any sort of "training" to make babies sleep through the night is unnatural and possibly dangerous. Infants are biologically required to feed several times during the night. They do not and should not engage in adult sleeping patterns. Infants should be expected to sleep lightly for several short periods throughout the night. Older children, however, will generally sleep through the night without any "training".

Extract from www.mother-2mother.com

I find kellymom.com a very good website about breastfeeding .. I've learn alot there ..

lynzi: yalor the air pressure is one of the factor tat worries me...especially during take-off and landing...i was told try to make them sleep at these times if not feed them with milk/liquid to ease the discomfort from the pressure...and go for commercial air and not those budget air..cos bigger air plane pressure not tat extreme...