(2007/12) Dec 2007 MTB

CSI
yes the thongs are available pls PM me your addy and i post it out to you

Thanks for the interest in the items. It has all been given out excet for the kodmo shampoo still available...

constance:
can i ve the pix of the flash cards too? TIA (*V*)

cookiemz:
do we need to ve yoga bkgrd 2 take part huh? i've not had any yoga b4 de..
if not a pre-req, i'm fine with the actual class starting 9thMarch, 11am slot..

slimz,

no yoga background required, we shd be doing the basic poses

---------------------------
please indicate whether you are taking up the full 8 sessions (confirmed) or juz going for the trial class (trial).. + preferred timeslot.

do note that Babybreeze will only start the class with min 4 confirmed mummies..

Available timeslot : 11am on Sunday and 2 pm on Sunday
Cost : $234 (after discount) for 8 sessions (1 hr each)
Trial class : $35
Venue : Novena Square 2
Tentative start date : 9 March 2008

cookiemz (11am - confirmed)
alien (11am - confirmed)
slimz (11am - confirmed)
lynzi (11am - trial)
cocoangel (11am)
Linda (11am)
happi
tub
cry baby (2pm)
kokopooh + sister (2pm)

Postnatal Yoga (weekdays?)
ankh
cookiemz

Thanks Constance, got ur email.
Hmmmm... i think it's quite easy to DIY bah. Show to bb for how long? Any special instuctions???

How to send email to the yahoo group? I didn't receive any invites to join the group. HOW????

i think someone had asked abt those portable fan to clip on e pram/strollers. I juz saw 1 at Tom & Steph. It costs $7.90 i think.

I've been feeling lousy n unhappy...

I'm a SAHM, taking care of 2 kids on my own with no maid or part time helper. As my elder daughter is 6yrs old, having this 2nd baby now is quite a gap. For my #1, my parents n sis were there to help. I was working back then, so I only get to take care of my #1 during nite n weekends. By the time I pick her up from my sis' place in the evening, she's sleeping n continue to sleep thru til next morning when I sent her to my sis' place again. Only need to attend to her during the nite feed.

Now, wz #2 is different. I'm taking of the baby myself. Some days, the baby is easy to take care. Every other day, she can gets cranky n cries a lot. Sometimes, I get agitated when I can't pacify her. I cried a few times, even in front of my #1 when I just can't managed. I also feel worried if I'm doing everything right for my baby. So far, she seems alright. Her weight is abt 6.5kg now, feeding abt 120ml but her feeding time is irregular. Sometimes, 2hr, sometimes 3hr, sometimes stretch to 4hr. Lately, whenever I feed her, she cry n cry. I'm not sure she doesn't want milk, or she doesn't like the bottle teat, or the milk flow is too slow, or she is not hungry at all. I feel so ashamed. Though am a 2nd time mummy, but I don't seem to be able to take care of baby well.

Feel so bad that I'm not successful to bf my baby, she's on EBM + FM since day 1. Before I gave birth, since I'm not working, I planned to bf directly for 6mths. But everything just didn't go as planned. As I so busy doing housework n taking care of the kids, feeling so tired that my EBM supply has dropped. Now only manage to express once a day n enough for 2 feeds per day. I don't think I can last beyond 4mths, though my initial plan was to bf for 6mths. So angry wz myself.

Sometimes, I wish I'm working instead of staying at home, taking care of kids. I feel guilty that I have such thoughts. Big part of me do want to stay home to be there for the kids. But got to admit that I miss the social life I had wz my colleagues n friends back then. I haven't been able to go out wz my friends/ex-colleagues eversince I became a full time housewife. Also, I miss being financially independent. Last time, I can afford to buy a lot of things for my #1 n also sent her to many enrichment classes. I feel bad that #2 has been getting/using all the hand-me-downs, n will probably attend lesser enrichment classes cos dun tink we can afford it now.

Sorry that I'm pouring out here.

hen

dun feel so bad. i can understand how tough it is to do housework n handling 1 kid n a baby. I m now on ML. so kinda taking care of my baby full time in the meantime. It is tiring n frustrating facing baby 24/7 sometimes.

u were saying abt yr parents n sis helping out for e #1. How abt getting yr sis to help u out or seek her advise on how to handle yr baby? u may also try to get yr hubby to help with house chores during weekend?

hi hen,
dun be too upset,i understd its not easy to be a SAHM.im a SAHM too.may be u can try talk to hubby to find a better solution or take a short break.i know its been really hard to take care bb and kids.u really superwoman still can do housework.jia you!!we r here to support u

hi hen, no guilty feelings at all please! being a SAHM is the toughest job in the entire planet!!! being mothers, we can fully understand wat u r going through. i, too, am going back to work altho my initial thought was to take unpaid for one year to take care of my daughter. i think sometimes it may not be a bad idea to let other people take care of the baby. it doesn't mean we love them less. it means being able to admire the tiger at a distance and love it at the same time. i tend to get upset, paranoid and panicky when i take care of the baby myself. so hubby and i reckon it would be healthier for everyone if i send baby to infant care and i go back to work. my daughter is adapting to infant care well and i hope it remains this way. if u so decide to return to the working world, i'm sure baby will love mummy the same. if not, do take a break from the babies. it's not easy being there 24/7 and having unfinished work all the time. take some time out for yourself...?

and please do not feel bad about not being able to BF your baby. u r giving her your best and i'm sure she's growing up fine. she's 6.5kg!!! tat's a nice weight! also be nice to yourself and dun be so stressed ok? please dun blame yourself. happy mummy = happy baby.

hi hen
don't be upset. I can understand what u are going thru. When my mum and MIL left me after my confinement finish, i had to take care of the baby 24/7. Since i'm a first time mum, its even worse cos there are a lot of things i have to learn by myself.

I believe even though we have kids we can still have a decent social life though not as active as before. For me, at least once a week during the day i will send my boy to my MIL place so that i can some time to myself to just go out or meet friends for lunch date. By evening me and hubby will fetch him back so that we can still have family bonding time. Why not u try that? Having time to yourself will reduce the stress and u will come back to baby a happy mum.

Please don't feel so bad about not bening able to BF your bb. Initially i also plan to BF for 6 mths the least but i was not able to as i had post natal depression during confinement and my milk ss dropped very low so i had to supplement my boy wif FM. When i recovered, my hubby told me not to be too hard on myself cos at least i'm feeding him and not starving him. What is most important is that your bb is healthy. That itself is an achievement!

hen,
I understand how you feel.
I am also looking after my #1 and #2. my #1 is 2years old and she goes to half day CC so it's still managable but because she is still young and don't understand a lot of things, it's quite a challenge as well.
I also thought that I can stay home to look after kids but I know I can't after my #1 confinement so I went back to work. don't worry about having that thoughts. I believe a lot of mothers prefer to work.
If your financial allows, maybe you can get a part timer cleaner to clean your house once a week, it will lighten your work. you can then concentrate on your 2 kids. it's really not easy and I think you are doing great. cheer up and remember that tomorrow will be a better day. that's my motto! hee!

please indicate whether you are taking up the full 8 sessions (confirmed) or juz going for the trial class (trial).. + preferred timeslot.

do note that Babybreeze will only start the class with min 4 confirmed mummies..

Available timeslot : 11am on Sunday and 2 pm on Sunday
Cost : $234 (after discount) for 8 sessions (1 hr each)
Trial class : $35
Venue : Novena Square 2
Tentative start date : 9 March 2008

cookiemz (11am - confirmed)
alien (11am - confirmed)
slimz (11am - confirmed)
lynzi (11am - trial)
cocoangel (11am)
Linda (11am - confirmed)
happi
tub
cry baby (2pm)
kokopooh + sister (2pm)

Postnatal Yoga (weekdays?)
ankh
cookiemz

fairylander,
it was sent to your hotmail leh...nevermind...you can go to http://groups.yahoo.com/group/smhdec07 to "enrol" from there...heehee...

yah, think you need a Yahoo ID. just for the login purposes. When you sign up for a yahoo id, they will ask you for an alternative email address. You can put down the email you are more used to (your hotmail, for example). Then you will receive posts to this Group in your hotmail. I used my hotmail account to join the Groups. Just that needed a Yahoo ID to be able to log in to the Groups (via web).

Hope that helps. heehee...

Etelle,
have PM-ed you. Thanks!

Hi hen,

dun be too hard on urself. giving EBM is also giving baby the best. bonding can also be established when u bottle feed baby.

hen, it's only natural you're feeling stressed! 2~3 generations ago all of us would've been staying with our PIL and even some grandparents. So there would be more people to help out with looking after babies and housework.

But now that we stay on our own, of cos the full brunt of SAHM workload falls on you in the daytime (and probably past dinnertime sometimes till your hubby's home?). Some more you've suddenly switched lifestyles, no wonder can feel down. But you're actually being the best mum to your kids! That your baby is already 6.5kg is evidence enuff! My baby only 6kg leh.

Possible to take a midday nap with your kids? Cos i find these naps allow me to last till nite time. Erm, i oso invested in some ear plugs so I don't feel my stress level go too high when carrying a screaming baby. Within limits, i sincerely believe anything that makes a mummy happier will produce a happier baby.

Btw,why do you still need to express your milk?

Hi Hen,

Being a SAHM is not easy. I would love to stay at home 24hrs with my son but I dun think I can cope after my 9-weeks ML. I salute those mothers who are able to do so.

Find someone who you can trust to look after your children for a few hours so that you can take some time off to spend time doing what you like. Go for a nice meal or a movie with your hubby once a week would be a start.

You don't need to feel bad at not being able to breastfeed your child.Motherhood is more than just breastfeeding. Try to look at your situation from a different angle and enjoy your chance to watch your children grow.

Hi Hen,

I can feel your despair.

I am also a 2nd time mummy. My problem is not the baby but my elder one. She is 4yo & eversince i gave birth, she has been feeling jealous of her little brother & always making a nuisance of herself to spite us. I feel crap all the time.

As for bfg, don't be too hard on yourself.
As I didn't manage to bf my elder kid successfully the other time. So i machiam like die die must succeed this time.

Big mistake!

I nearly go bonkers & in depression when i couldn't cope with the demand my bb needs initially. Not only that, my mil asked me to supplement with formula as she thinks I will have no milk & she worried about bb's weight gain. Imagine she said that to me 3 times in a less than 15mins conversation. She kept thinking last time i no milk so this time surely no milk. Not only that, she thinks my milk got not enough nutrients.
but i choose to ignore her comments.

Lucky i have a group of friends whom i chat through email regularly & they gave the support I needed when i wanted to give up on bfg. They told me it is ok to supplement with formula & not to be too hard on myself.

Couldn't bf doesn't mean you don't love your bb any less. A happy mummy makes a happy baby, whether u bf or not. Ít also helps if you have a supporting hubby who supports you on whatever decision you make.

Anyway, my elder one was on mostly formula since bb & she was as healthy as any breastfed kid. Btw, last time i also like you, i set a 6mths target to bf. Now, I ditch this thought. As long i still have milk (even how little), i give. I feel better this way.

Being a SAHM doesn't mean you need to be a superwoman as well. Seek help from your family members if needed to help you babysit for a few hours once or twice a week or employ a part-time helper to clean the house once a week if you can afford to. This will keep your sanity intact.

2nd Gathering for Dec 2007 Mummies

Date: 2nd March 2008, Sunday
Time: 12pm
Venue: Macdonalds at Kallang

Mummies, pls PM or email me and Linda your contact#, and pls do indicate your nick. I'll sms you my hp# once rec your email. So on that day we will contact via HP.

My email: [email protected]
Linda email: [email protected]
1.Witty+hb+BB+helper
2.alien+hb+baby - I've ur contact#
3.fanny+hb+baby
4.Slimz+HB+BB
5.missylan+baby+son+helper
6.Linda+hb+bb - I've ur contact#
7.rachel+hub+bb (rachel cheng or rachel wee? Awy, ve both contact#)
8.petrina+bb
9.cocoangel+hb+bb -I've ur contact#
10.jeelomeelo+hb+bb -I've ur contact#
11.ankh+hb+bb -I've ur contact#
12.naf+hb+elder+bb
13.steffietan+hb+bb+son
14.cookiemz+bb+#1+helper
15.bbtree+baby+daughter+helper - I've ur contact#
16.eve+bb

*Changed the meeting day to sunday as some daddies need to work on saturday.

**Called up Shokudo - no answer; then Globetrotters having function that day and also they have problem setting aside 1 corner for abt 32paxs with babies and prams. hahaa...so we will set for Kallang macdonald lor, spacious, need no booking and oso got playing corner for kiddos. Linda and myself will be there early to 'chop' place tat day.

2nd Gathering for Dec 2007 Mummies

Date: 2nd March 2008, Sunday
Time: 12pm
Venue: Macdonalds at <font color="0000ff">Kallang Stadium</font>

Mummies, pls PM or email me and Linda your contact#, and pls do indicate your nick. I'll sms you my hp# once rec your email. So on that day we will contact via HP.

My email: [email protected]
Linda email: [email protected]
1.Witty+hb+BB+helper
2.alien+hb+baby - I've ur contact#
3.fanny+hb+baby
4.Slimz+HB+BB
5.missylan+baby+son+helper
6.Linda+hb+bb - I've ur contact#
7.rachel+hub+bb (rachel cheng or rachel wee? Awy, ve both contact#)
8.petrina+bb
9.cocoangel+hb+bb -I've ur contact#
10.jeelomeelo+hb+bb -I've ur contact#
11.ankh+hb+bb -I've ur contact#
12.naf+hb+elder+bb
13.steffietan+hb+bb+son
14.cookiemz+bb+#1+helper
15.bbtree+baby+daughter+helper - I've ur contact#
16.eve+bb

hen,
take some time to breathe and find some time for yourself ok girl?
you're doing an amazing job as a SAHM to 2 kids..a very tough job i must say! i think whatever we do for our kids, we do it out of our love for them..whether we choose to be at home with them, or work or breastfeed or feed FM ..whatever it is..i'm sure we moms do it for the best for our kids..nobody knows what's best for our kids better than us, their mommies.
take care girl!

Re jabs

Does the 2 optional jabs cause fever?
If my son takes the 6-in-1 jab at polyclinic n the optional jabs at private clinic, does it mean he's subj to more bouts of fever? how shd we schedule the jabs in this instance?

Gina
i also looking for such bulk discount le for similac....sigh yeah lor very expensive formulae...think naf can help u order but have to self collect....

hi hen,

i totally understd where u're coming fr n how u feel. like urself, i miss workg too. not that i dun like what i'm doing now (SAHM) but sometimes, when i talk to my frens or see pictures of them hvg fun, i can't help but feel tt i'm 'missing out' alot. even my frens hv stopped askg me out as i can nvr make it. i guess tis is v natural. dun despise urself n e job u're doing. what we do cannot b measured tt easily. i'm sure u will only give ur utmost best to ur children n take care of them to e best of ur capability.

dun get depressed abt BF..there is indeed more to motherhood than just BF. give ur breasts a break, seriously. lengthen e interval of BF so that ur breasts can replenish e milk. supplem wif FM in between. it's not junk u're feedg e bb. try to take things easy n things will improve.

hi mummies...i feel like banging my head against the wall.
i don't understand why i've been getting so many problems that caused delays in ordering the nursing wraps.

according to USPS my batch #1 already arrived at portland on 19th feb but til today vpost hasn't matched it and e-mailed me to make payment.

n as for #2 i'm getting very frustrated with paypal...still asks me to fax more stuff...this time it's copy of my passport coz they know i'm overseas *sigh*

i hope mummies here won't kill me...feel pressurized already and i'm not even doing this commercially,just sharing lobang with other mummies...

today i'm waiting and hoping for some good news from paypal and vpost...

so sorry once again for the delay,mummies

botanist,
thanks for offering to help with paypal...but as now i'm already in the midst of negotiating with them,i'll wait for final result first otherwise will get very messy with credit card refund etc etc...thanks gal! btw do you have cove's e-mail? i need to reach her...also my e-mail to [email protected] bounced back...oh dear now dunno how to reach her.

anyone has opened bank account for your kids? which bank and why did you choose it? I'm thinking of opening one and trying to decide betw ocbc mighty savers and posbkids. the ocbc one quite interesting and cute, but posb will be convenient for me coz I can use IB to transfer $$ to her acc.

Bank/reason:

claire:

i have open an account with ocbc for my son. FYI, mighty savers is like for 7yrs &amp; above (if i did not rmbr wrongly whereby kids at this age oledi know how to save $$). For babies, they called it young saver (joint with parent name). I go for OCBC becos i have one saving acct with them and oso no minimum sum required to maintain for this young saver acct until they reach the age of dunno 15 or 12.
But cons is that there will be no internet and ATM card assess for this acct.

claire,

my HB opened the POSB kids account. same reasons as witty - convenience is the main reason. Plus there's no min sum to maintain in the account until child turns a certain age. However, with POSB kids i believe u hv internet access with the account, because its linked to our main accounts and we've manage to transfer funds to the posb kids account using BDS online banking.

constance:
tankoo .. shall take alot @ it ltr..

Re:2March outing
I'm ok with the chaning in venue n date..
linda oredi ve my mobile# le =D ..

claire:
i opened POSB for my bb too coz can IB ..hahaha

dinut:
its ok ... no nid strezzz

hen:
act i tink SAHM mumies r really wei da leh..
my HB told me i can b SAHM coz his pay alone can tahan us .. but i chose to wk .. coz dun tink i can handle .. .. so i really pei fu mummies who b SAHM de ..

Thank u all for your support &amp; advice. Guess my mood is like roller coaster, some days I feel good, some days I feel really lousy.

As the days go by, I believe I'll be able to cope better. I've arranged to drop my kids off at my parents' place every fri afternoon onwards, so that I can take a break.

My hubby has always been telling me not to push myself too hard to bf. In fact, he's the one that keeps shoving FM to my bb so that I won't have to work so hard. Appreciate that but sometimes I feel angry cos that wld affect my supply even more. Sigh... I'm hard to please hor, he wants to make life easy for me but I still get angry.