(2007/12) Dec 2007 MTB

tub,

i usually transport my frozen breastmilk in a cooler bag and keep it in the chiller at my destination for use in the same day. frozen EBM has to be consumed within 24 hours of thawing.. if u worry that the milk cannot thaw in time for the 1st feed at infant care, u can thaw some overnight for 1st feed and bring the rest in frozen packs.

Phy,
My boy seems to sleep less during the day too.. even when he does sleeps, it will be 10 mins or an hr longest. He will 'play' with himself ie look at his hands, suck his knuckles or 'talk' to me... though tired, he dun want to sleep and will become sometimes become cranky and cry. However he sleeps well at night, usually through the night.

hahaa....now trying to tag order ah....
I didnt know it has become so popular after I sent the email invitation for you all to try Goon...

missylan is considered Northeast area?
For east, I think naf is helping out to organise this "spree"...Sorry, correct me if I am wrong.
I dun mind helping out at the east area too...

phy, cocoangel
My gal also sleep lesser each day. Only sleep for about 30 mins or 1 hr before the next feed. she sleep longer in the night after the last feed abt 11pm.

tub,
I thaw it the night before and tpt in cooler bag. U freeze all ur EBM, why dun u keep one bottle of fresh EBM for the first feed next day.

Happi and cocoangel,

Finally he fell asleep at 4.50p.m.
But my boy doesn't sleep for such a long stretch.. 9.40a.m. to 4.50a.m. is 8 hours. IT is the first time he is doing this.. I don't even mind if he does doze off for 10 minutes to 30 minutes but he stayed awake for such a long period of time... Really worry about repercussions if there is any..

phy,

did u take drinks with caffeine? maybe it went into the milk and kept bb awake??? juz a wild guess..

missylan,

ya, goo.n is better than nepia and quality can fight with pampers active baby. my hb got a shock when he saw the diapers last night... coz we already have 4 packs of mamy poko at home.

cookiemz,
Hahaha... my hubby asked me to buy keep stock and sell to you all! He thought what Goo.N diaper are shares? XD Buay tahan him!

anyone has any idea where and which paint we can use for bb? ehh.. its not for bb room, but for bb to use.. i tinking of making my girl's handprints n footprints in her new room .. but duno wat kind of paint is OK for bb ..

missylan
My son's class is okie leh based on his worksheets, artwork etc for the past one year. This year, he is learning to read thru Phonics. I think for PreN, maybe they concentrate more on fine/gross motor skills development. according to my dd's teacher, her class (yr 2006) is doing the same thing as PreN 2 (yr 2005), eg introducing numbers. My dd already knows how to count from 1 to 10, but i doubt she can associate the actual written no to the qty. I think for her, although her teacher is only teaching up to no 3, all the artwork they have done is reinforcing the numbers, which i find quite good.

pretty
will post the cards once i take photos.

botanist
on maths dot cards, i am using the SM 65 day programme.

I never got beyond 20!!!!
Cos my dot cards are 11x11 (same size as your GD cards), too bulky to be placed together with the rest of my flashcards, i always forgot to take them out during home practise.
So have never complete a full cycle yet!

missylan
if you want something challenging for your son, maybe can try SM?

There's alot of other programmes such as "I can read", etc.

Constance,
But I find time spending on one to one is extremely short. Like today we are learning "4" and revising "Yellow". My son coloured the 4 lemons and ok can go liao. Then the chinese teacher revising "Yellow", took out the Yellow Lego and ask "what is this colour?". Those who replied correctly will get a piece. But she didn't show the "Yellow" is chinese words. In JG, teacher will get a one to one session, every week different word, teacher will get a picture and word card. Haiz... Wa... SM(SexManic?!? Joking)... challenging for mommy too! Cannot lah, mommy is lazy!

You like the Goo.N diaper?

hi constance, do post it...i really like to take a look so that i can do some for my bb as well..
and i am really impressed with the SM method...really good...hope i can get hold of either SM or GD cards..then can use it on bb..really wan the best for her..

i'm going to order more of the diapers coz i have 2 bottoms at home...anybody wanna tag along, pls let me know.. my area - simei/tampines

botanist,

is the maths GD cards the red dots kind?

constance,

my girl is approaching 21 mths.. i started her with SM at 13 mths, currently in her 3rd term. my home practice comprises mainly flash cards, i dun really do the esp, linking memory stuff.. i've slackened quite alot since my 3rd trimester and given up on the 65 day math dot program.. got stuck in the division segment.. keke.. lazy to sort out the cards and my girl does not like dots!

missylan,

u can do so if your place is big enuff to store all the diapers!! bulky stuff.. keke

constance,

is there discount for siblings in SM? will you be sending #3 there soon? i'm still thinking whether to start my boy in april... coz bery shiong on pocket..

pretty,

there aren't alot of SM flashcards to choose from and some of the SM cards from japan can cost a bomb.. u can buy cheaper flashcards from popular or other sources and use them in accordance to the SM or GD method... some mummies also prepare powerpoint slides and "flash" to their kids

cookiemz
yup, there's sibling discount. only 5%, even less than the gst amt.

missylan
actually come to think of it, if JG teachers teach a new word once a week, whereas CM teach the same word n revise every day for one week too,the one to one time CM teachers spend may even b longer than JG in a whole week. I find the programme ok lah. mayb cos my son's previous preschs were real bad.

missylan
btw, i think cm starts to teach chinese strokes first b4 teaching the words.

actually never c the Goo.N diapers yet leh. in my dd's class.

cookiemz
haha. at least u got to the division. I dint even get past 20.

there's this boy in my dd class who started at 3mth old. He is very attentive in class. unlike my dd. sometimes like monkey, always try to climb onto the table.

yeah, very siong on pocket. not only that, if enrol no 3, who will bring him?? sigh. now very convenient. both my no 1 & 2 having same time slot, so just go hdb hub once a week.

pretty
it's cheaper to print from website onto blank flashcards. Esle, like what cookiemz say, can buy from popular. but gotta make sure the pictures and words are not on the same side.

I'm back!

Will share the milk powder price later...mostly 900g and some 400g...dun have 1.5kg.

Fanny - dun have the 1.5kg...only have the 800 or 900g..

as for Goo.N, I will be ordering again, cuz wanna order M size...anyone in the east want to share? Do let me know...

btw, i have extra 2 packs of size S goo.N diapers. Let me know if any1 is interested.

Constance - oh how do i know what is the voltage for the adaptor? or u bring the original one and ask them?

My maid threw away the GooN sample before I can see how good is the absorbency. Keen to buy before the promotion ends but scared to buy too many packets in case it's not suitable for my bb.

Anyone can let me tag along in their order? On the other hand, I can do the ordering for you. Collection at Bt Panjang. Anyone?

hi cookiemz, constance,
but i duno how to carry out the method leh? is it like flashing 5 cards very fast (1 sec each) while saying out the names? use the same cards everyday? must always be in the same order?

constance, missylan, cookiemz

what is all this abt SM and GD and flashcard? can advise?

now me headache abt childcare for my son..to choose between carpe diem and cherie hearts. anyone got any feedback?

hi naf,
i would like to order the goon diapers and i reside in the east.
when are u ordering and how long do they take to arrive??
cos i am running out of diapers soon....

pretty
i took the photos already, but dunno how to download from camera to pc. gotta wait for hb to come back.

Yeah, one sec per card. Dun have to be in same order. Can reshuffle the cards each time. For SM, can use the cards for as long as bb is not bored. I think for GD, gotta retire one old card and introduce a new card each day, rite, botanist?

Naf
you haven settle your childcare yet? when you going back to work?

anyone heard of this birth defect "chaff palet"?
my fren's niece was born wif this defect.. she wana find dr specialising in this area.. ..

eve - no leh...n i have yet to receive a call from them. Tried callin since mon also no one pick up. Have dropped them an email this morning too. have u bought diapers to standby liaoz?

hi mel
what size do u wan to order? I have extra 2 packs of Size S if you are ordering S...tat time they deliver to me is within 2 to 3 days leh...think this time round is becuz of CNY and also overwhelmin response...

constance - ya lor...choosing between carpe diem and cherie hearts and if choose carpe diem, got 2 branch to choose from....going back to work on 20 mar but have informed my boss that i am takin last wk of mar to standby to settle the childcare lo...scare he will be sticky to me...

cookiemz,

yup mine is the red dot math flash cards.

Constance,

Gosh, i hope i can keep to it. Problem with these flashcards, not just flash to bb.. still got to do our 'homework' the day before, to plan which cards to show etc. For GD, you're right - got to retire cards and introduce new ones quite frequently, so there's alot of preparation work to be done.

My friend who has done it for her two kids, even created her own 'books', which her kids love. Becos the flashcards only show words, she later introduce big books with pix and words. i.e., book of vegetables etc. I thought that was quite brillant... so i've already started compiling photos and references which I wanna use for my own set of 'books'. Am doing them in powerpoint but will get them printed digitally onto artcard.
heheh

Pretty,

Yup you can do up your own flashcards. Just gotta read the GD book on teaching yr child how to read, how to do math etc,... the book will advise you on how to create the flashcards, and also for the english reading programme, what categories to focus on etc.

slimz, think there is a specialised dept dealing with cleft palet... can ask your fren to call & ask. got to get it "repaired" when they are young, otherwise may affect their speech & hearing, i heard

naf
ya... finished up the nepia already. Jus bought pampers dry to try. Not bad so far. only 2cts per pc more than nepia n it's much slimmer. so may use pampers first until i try the goon.

baby,

i'm not sure but i got mine from Kino. Maybe u can check for the full title on amazon then call popular to check if they stock it.

baby
i have some GD books, brandnew still in shrink wrapper. can let go at discount if you r interested. I didnt read in the end cos decided on SM instead.

botanist

for SM, usually will have a flashcard heading too. eg colors of the rainbow. you can show pix of the different colors of rainbow, followed by the words, eg red, blue, indigo, etc.
I think diff bet SM & GD flashcards is GD start with words only first. For SM, you can show both words and pic cards.

pretty
you can go to the following websites to print out the pix for flashcards

www.mes-english.com
www.esljunction.com