(2007/12) Dec 2007 MTB

hi botanist, what is the methodology behind the GD method? how does it work? saw a clip abt bb able to do mathematical sums i really impressed..

hi mummies..
rdg the GD n SM .. SM will ve sessions @ springleaf rite? GD leh?

me 1st time mummy.. noe nuts abt such program de..not a mum who's educated in such areas.. =[

those using nepia, do yr babies wake up often at nite when u use nepia? my baby used to b able to sleep til 5-6am. but these days she will wake up after 3-4hours. n we will have to change her diaper n feed her. wondering if its due to e diapers? Or is there another round of growth sprout?? She norm drink 100ml, but today she woke up 2 hrs after drinking 120ml.

mi 1st x mummy too.
m quite blur abt tis GD n SM. so, do we bring baby to attend on a regular basis, like those Julia Gabriel? or issit to teach us how to train our baby n we apply at home?

Me n my sister personal experiences: nepia is gd to use during day as it's absorbacy is nt as gd as mamy poko which is y we use nepia during day n mamy poko during nite n even outings. My boy urine alot, so if usin nepia, i will hv to change per 2 hrs. So far e brands i use for nite are goon, mamy poko n huggies ultra which can tahan longer.

Playtimes: we tok, play n sing nursery songs to e bb. I used rattles, puppets n his baby elmo to play with him n he like to tok to elmo n laff a lot aft he finish toking to it. I guess cos elmo is red colour n he attracted to bright colours.

slimz/ ankh
I noe nuts abt GD n SM during my no 1 time too.

actually is my colleague who introduce me to GD first when no 2 already 6 mths old. I did my own research n compare GD n SM. find SM more interesting, so enrolled my kids in their weekly lesson at SM TPY HDB Hub.

ankh
my no 2 can speak earlier than no 1. Once she start to speak, after a few sessions of the same flashcards, she is actually able to read out some of the words I have been showing her. now, at 21 mths, she is starting to speak in full sentences.

cry baby
for SM, gotta bring bb for weekly lesson, then do home practice daily. For GD, you purchase the flashcards from GD and they will teach you how to train bb at home. rite, botanist?

paiseh ah.. but i'm super blur!!!

whats GD and SM?? is it a class the baby's go to or a flashcard or book series??

my goodness.. nowadays we really start our children young hor..

hehehe

Hi mummies:

RE: 2ND GATHERING FOR DEC 2007 MUMMIES

Think attendance list are more or less cfm. Shall we fix the date and time now. Since majority opted for wkend and few mummies indicated 'lunch', then shall we fixed the date at 1st March 2008 (Saturday) @ 12pm lunch OK???

Let 'poll' for venue now? Suggestion??? It will be best there will be a nursery around. As usual, we go for majority choice ya!

Venue: To be cfm by 25th Feb 2008 Monday

1.Shokudo @ raffles city - Witty, Fanny, Linda, petrina
2.Marche @ Vivo -
3. Globetrotters @ united square - petrina

mummies, united square's nursery room also very nice.. i like.. hehehe.. anyway.. i'm ok with number 1 and 3 choice..

constance,

yup - for Glenn Doman, we gotta purchase the flash cards n do them w bb at home. It really works, have seen the results on my friends kids. Best part, its fun for the kids too.

petrina, crybaby, pretty

heh i not so sure abt SM, u hv to check with Constance. But for GD - it all started out with this guy called Glenn Doman who created a programme to help brain damage kids. He basically help thousands of kids (who have been 'written off') to walk, read and write. The results were so good that these kids turn out brighter than regular kids, so he created a programme for normal kids too.

The programme works best when your kid is young, i.e., few months old. There are a few subjects but for infants, the one that work best is Math. The English/Chi reading cards can be done next.

How it works: Flash cards are huge! Because little kids can't see when the cards/text is small. You gotta show yr kids the flash cards quickly (1 sec each) a couple times a day. The premise is that kids are already v.smart and absorb quickly so they get bored when you keep repeating the cards or show it to them for too long. GD doesn't promote testing so they dont advise you to test your child to see if they have absorbed the stuff.

YOu can find the GD stuff online, theres a local website also. The local company lets you purchase the flashcards, books & necessary material at $2k plus... that is, for all Eng/Chi/Math/Encylopedia Plus they provide 'free training' to teach u how to use them on your child. You also get a GD adviser who works with you pretty much all the way.

But very expensive leh, anyway my set is 2nd hand. got it from my friend's friend who didn't have time to do the programme (it's really very consuming so gotta be a part time or full time mum to have the time to keep flashing those cards!).

hope that info helps.. hehe

Botanist,
Wow, you got me inspired to start GD programme on my boy leh
But consider the cost.. Haiz

I've just purchase somemore california products!! Yet to pay for bumper mat
Just paid for ERgo carrier.. Think I'm going crazy buying stuff!! haha

phy, lol....! I also tempted to get GD but I have to consider very carefully - I don't think i have the time to do it to my boy leh.... kinda waste $$ if i buy and don't use it.

Linda

my gal also seem to pee alot! everytime after change diaper, very soon e indicator will turn blue. i also end up changing e diaper every 2 hrs or so. think mammy poko still better. can tahan longer no need to change so frequent...

Hi mummies:

Think attendance list are more or less cfm. Shall we fix the date and time now. Since majority opted for wkend and few mummies indicated 'lunch', then shall we fixed the date at 1st March 2008 (Saturday) @ 12pm lunch OK???

Let 'poll' for venue now? Suggestion??? It will be best there will be a nursery around. As usual, we go for majority choice ya!

1.Shokudo @ raffles city - Witty, Fanny, Linda, petrina, slimz
2.Marche @ Vivo -

mummies, united square's nursery room also very nice.. i like.. hehehe.. anyway.. i'm ok with number 1 and 3 choice..

btw, next mth is my birthday month, so i will have bd discount from GNC and body shop. Let me know if u are getting anything esp from GNC...

botanist / Linda

i m also very tempted to get e GD.. but very ex!! $2K n i m a working mum, no time to play with her everyday. In fact, i m wondering when i go back to work, will i have time to play with her.. by e time knock off work n pick her home, she shld b getting ready to sleep!! so sad to juz think of that...

btw, any of u heard of comments that year end baby tend to lugi as compared to baby born in beginning of e year? any truth in it??

botanist:
veri EX wor... considering dat i may close shop @ 1.. veri ex.. ur 2nd hand set how much?
i'm not SAHM leh..but isit easy 2 execute? can get my mum 2 do it..

ya cry baby, they really can pee a lot, hehe! the only cons abt mamy poko is the diapers do not have urine indicator but still i like to use cos can prolong hehee!

hee... linda, i also try to prolong e change in diaper whenever possible. but now with nepia, dun dare to in case leak very ma fan. think i will follow yr mtd, use mammy poko for nite. hopefully baby will sleep longer...although i still not sure y now she keep waking up at nite. she woke up at 2am, 6am n 8am tis morning. so tiring...

crybaby:
hahaa.. my HB himself says dat..
coz our bb's peers would ve xtra 11mths of knowledge wen our bb go schools..

slimz

hee.. its comments like that which makes mi consider abt e enrichment courses. cos i dun wan my gal to have prob in sch. hee... KS rite?

phy, linda, cry baby,

ya, definitely need to commit time to do this. but honestly, its not a must-do, becos the programme only kickstarts yr bb's interest in reading & math early... but not guaranteeing yr kid become some genius. plus i believe most kids plateau in terms of developement by 6 so as long as u expose yr kids to some form of early learning...good enuf. GD is too ex lor.

but if u still keen n wanna find out more can get book fr kino. it teaches u how to make yr own n use the flascards.

slimz,

got my full set at 500 only cos lobang fr good fren. but the set rather old la. but so cheap! I dun dare to be fussy...

phy,

i also spent so much lately...was contemplating getting more california bb products but dun dare cos planning to spend again at taka baby fair so better stop now. haha

mummies: jus to chk, seem like i am having diarrhoea coz in out loo 4/5 times liao. But so far i still ve not take any medicine. Then tis AM did express out milk. Do u think bb can still drink the milk tat i express out? Will there be virus or bacteria huh?

Linda,
I also find that Nepia diapers doesnt hold long, I am currently using drypers and mamy poko.. agree that mamy poko is good.

read the posting on Goo diapers and wipes, are they good?

eh, your bd in march? me too leh.. when's yours?
I am thinking of getting fenugreek to boost my BM, do they sell in GNC?

coco, this is what i gather after i using the various brands of diapers using my boy as the guinea piglet, hehe!

Nepia - last 1.5 to 2 hr
Huggies Ultra - last 3 hrs
Pampers New Baby - last 3 hrs
Mamy Poko - last 3-4 hrs onwards
Goon - last 3-4 hrs onwards

Goon diaper's material is soft and the gather is good and as for the wipes, the moisture is not drying and material is soft. I already switch over to goon wipes, :p

My bd is 18 march, u? As for fenugreek, u can get from GNC, think 100 tables for $27plus before discount.

Linda,

Wah you used so many types of diapers ah hehe.. I have some samples which I have not tried, think better do it before my boy outgrow it. I wan to try Goon diapers and wipes if its good, where to get them?

Mine's 26, u have same bd as my cousin and my fren

ok thanks, i might go get it later.

coco, no choice cos some of the diapers are gifts, hehee! if want to try goon diapers, u can go www.diapers.com.sg to request for sample, don't think they have goon wipes sample.

oo, hahaha! didnt know u have the same bd month as me, hehe!

constance,

which day/timeslot are your kids' SM at HDB hub? my girl attends 4:15pm class on saturday. wow, your #2 can speak in full sentences? that's quite advanced leh.. when did she start SM? mine still blabbering nonsense, but she loves her flashcards

botanist,

your full set of GD comprises the maths, chinese, and reading sets? $500 bery cheap then.. i only got the reading set for #1 but never got started on it.. the cards are so large and unwieldy!!

Hi mummies:

1.Shokudo @ raffles city - Witty, Fanny, Linda, petrina, cookiemz
2.Marche @ Vivo -

Hi mummies:

1.Shokudo @ raffles city - Witty, Fanny, Linda, petrina, cookiemz
2.Marche @ Vivo -
3. Globetrotters @ united square - petrina, ankh

re : GooN diapers

i received my order last night.. tried them on both kids.. lasted through the night with no leakage and no big bulge in the morning... quite impressed! my son also slept thru the night very soundly

Hi mummies:

1.Shokudo @ raffles city - Witty, Fanny, Linda, slimz, petrina, cookiemz
2.Marche @ Vivo -
3. Globetrotters @ united square - petrina, ankh, Linda

botanist,

ya, u got a very good deal. are the cards for maths, chinese and encyclopedia as large/long as the english set? think u can start now.. using the level 0 black/white cards.. i'm putting some of the cards in the playpen around my boy... so that the first thing he sees when he wakes up .. are the cards! haha.. but.. he chooses to sleep most of the time, must be the cards bore him :p

On SM

It is a whole brain programme started by this Jap guy call Prof Shichida who believes that kids' right brain (for imaging, perfect memory, high speed learning, etc) training is easiest under age of 6. After 6 years old, we will be using mostly our left brain (for reasoning n logic). The programme consist of activities to stimulate both left and rite brains.

Besides the weekly lessons, it is recommended that parents do daily home practices with the kids as well.

A typical home practice consists of flashcards, image plays, ESP games, eye training, memory games etc.

DIY flashcards
I DIYed alot of my flashcards, and exchange with friends. You can get blank flashcards from Hiap Moh and print pictures from online websites.

botanist
actually the colleague who brought me to listen to the GD workshop got the whole series of Chinese/English/Maths prog. but she too busy, in the end never flash to her bb.

yeah, i think whether for SM or GD, alot of time and commitment is required. I also slackened in my home practices once no 3 come out.

cookiemz
both my kids in sun 8.45am class. Me and hb will bring each one in. How old is your kid? My 21mth old dd started when she was 10mths old. She can speak simple sentences quite clearly and can sing nursery songs. But we dun understand what she is singing sometimes. haha

Slimz - thanks for the link. I read about this place in the newspapers. $100 for 4 sessions is rather ex huh?

Goo.N
So many good reviews on Goo.N. I'm still waiting for my sample ... so many days already still not here yet.

valeriet:
i read abt that plc in this forum some other thread.. it interests me coz its gg b near my new hse in buangkok..

another few more places for swimming -
www.aquaducks.com.sg (6mths & above, $90/mth plus $15 reg fee, @ suntec, buona swim complex)
www.swimfast.com.sg (5mths & above, @ SAFRA Yishun, $150/10 weeks for SAFRA mbrs, non-mbrs $180)
www.marsdenswimschool.com (6mths & above, @ 113 holland road [tink its a private pool], $20/class plus $25 registration fee)

a baby care book i got from hospital gave the above info.. oso stated in the book "good idea to wait until bb completed the standard course of 3 injections agst diphtheria, tetanus & whooping cough, plus the oral polio vaccine i.e. 4-6mths old"

Goo.N diapers
Think I am going to order few more packets of L size to keep stock. I have let my #2 tried for 2 nights. It didn't leak or overflow. Changed from 10pm till morning 9am. Will not feel as sloughy as Nepia. Nepia full of urine will be heavy and sloughy. So conclusion, it is better than Nepia.

<font size="+1">Constance</font>,
I have been accompanying my #1 for few days liao. From your son, do you see improvement regarding his studies etc?

Cos hor, the studying/learning time for each kid is like few minutes only you know(for PreN). The Mandarin class also don't know what they teacher is teaching. Give some blocks and teach them colours, so hasty... Maybe not used to their system lah. Then those motor skills stuff, is it too easy or PreN? My son did them pretty well and then like boring liao. Haiz... dun think going to continue next mth.

Now don't what programme I can bring him to, any suggestion?

constance,

yup! that's precisely why i have my set for such a good price. the person who owned it also didn't use it in the end. but becos the flashcards are made with cardboard, the paper abit 'stale' already so looking abit yellow...

i'm also afraid no time to do it, so didn't wanna invest too much. wait, wasted..

cookiemz

i think i'm going to start on the math programme next week. am reading the book to refresh myself on how to do it.. haha.

missylan,

if you gonna order can i tag along?

need to check if urine &amp; poo leaks means need to upsize the diapers liaoz?

Elaine,
Hmm... if urine leaks meaning too full liao, got to change more often. Like Nepia, I made my son sleep on his side, Nepia will leak lor, even not yet full. So you must find out what is the reason it leaks. Poo leaks? Think the poo too much so it leaks... is it?

Hahaha... dunno my hubby will KPKM or not, got to ask him. Later he will said I keep stock of diaper, very boh liao. -.-" If I am buying, I will let you all know. =P

Oh yah... Goo.N diaper can fight with Pamper Active... which is next stage after the Pampers NewBorn. Can fight can fight...

hi ladies, how do you transport your frozen breastmilk to infant care/nanny's place? do you thaw it first?

HELP! My boy doesn't sleep during day!! How? Since yesterday, he would like drink milk then 'talk' to me and kick around for 2 hours.. then he would want to drink again.. the cycle just keeps on repeating!! Today he has been up since 9.40a.m.. till now (4p.m) he is still wide awake!! What's wrong? He turns 8wks 2 days ago...