(2007/12) Dec 2007 MTB

Wow.. isetan so 'baby-friendly' one. I've been to vivo city nursing room, very small too.

crybaby,
I hv been stocking in the freezer. U hv not let ur bb try on frozen EBM? My baby is fine with the frozen milk.

I'm also a Dec mum.

Fanny, there is a chinese medical hall, named "Jin Tai" at Tampines Mart where you can get cheaper diapers and milk powder.

Linda, Eve is right. the price for similac has gone up to $35,80, i think. V ex...

My boy drinks abt 100 - 120 ml every 4 hrs. somehow, he will sleep thru the night =P but he doesn't drink more b4 he sleeps, and yet it can tahan him for 6-7 hrs...

UPDATED: 19-FEB-08

2ND GATHERING FOR DEC 2007 MUMMIES
Date: TBC
Time: TBC
Venue: Tentatively fixed at Grand Mecure Roxy Hotel (Feast @ East)
Food: Heritiage + International
Lunch (12-230pm): $32++(mon-sat); $42++ (1130-3pm on sun)
Dinner (6 to 10pm): $36++ (mon-thur); $38++ (Fri-sun)

**Mummies appreciate if you can cfm your attendance by 20-Feb-07 so that we can fix and cfm the date and time. Thanks!

1.Witty+hb+BB+helper - wkend(sat/sun)- lunch/dinner
2.alien+hb+baby - wkend(sat/sun)- lunch/dinner - merchant court/the rice table/marche
3.fanny+hb+baby -> wkend lunch/dinner
4.Slimz+HB+BB - wend - lunch/dinner
5.missylan+baby+son+helper -> Sat lunch/dinner
6.Linda+hb+bb - wkend lunch/dinner
7.rachel+hub+bb -wkend lunch/dinner
8.petrina+bb - Saturday lunch/dinner
9.cocoangel+hb+bb-wkend lunch/dinner
10.jeelomeelo+hb+bb-wkend lunch/dinner
11.ankh+hb+bb - wkend lunch
12. naf+hb+elder+bb - wkend lunch
13. steffietan+hb+bb+son - wkend (sun)lunch/dinner
14. cookiemz+bb+#1+helper - wkend lunch
15. bbtree+baby+daughter+helper - wkend lunch/dinner
16. eve+bb - wkend lunch

valeriet..
i took my girl swimming when she turned 2 months! at sentosa!
but just dip dip in water only lah..until waist level for like 5-10 minutes..but that time was morning and sun not too hot and she was in a wetsuit..she loved it! but when i bought the wetsuit the salesgirl say better wait 6 months before bringing to swim and also putting on the sunblock for toddlers..but i think if not too long should be ok.
Have fun!

Linda,
yah lorh...the Japanese shopping malls are so much nicer. Taka is Japanese mah..heehee...

Aiyoh, talking abt pathetic, think IMM is amongst them. Next to carpark and smoking area (the ground floor one). 2nd floor one, cannot even put pram / stroller in! pengz...

phy,
so you want a pack of S size and a pack of wipes (with the box?)?

my stock of S size diapers running low liaoz. Have lots of M size ones (so many pple gave diapers during 1st mth celebration...hahaha), but can keep those to use later.

BBnGG,
where's your workplace? Am thinking how to pass the diapers to you. heehee...

eve, my PD is Dr EK Ong at TMC. Stay in Whampoa so very near. Just that one Sat wanted to urgently see him but his clinic VERY full, so decided to try Dr Ngiam. I prefer Dr Ngiam cos he takes his time to explain, but the parkign at Gleneagles is terrible!

CSI_Fan, yeah, i also got lots of Drypers for 1st month. Haven't use up yet. Also got lots of baby clothes for 3-6 months. Me dun need to go shopping for baby until GSS in mid-year.

CSI,

Yeap, would like to take 1 packet of small and 1 pack of wipes with the box.. How to pay you and where to collect? Clementi can?

talk about babies napping, mine has slept for 1.5 hours and counting! Yeh! Maybe she's given up her half hour naps hehe. Just hope this doesn't mean she's sleeping at midnite again else i'll be a very grumpy wife and mother tonite

happi, if u stay in east, can try Erie Adornment House P/L @ #01-17 Katong Shopping Ctr. Tel no. 63454386. Think each nursing bra cost me $19.90? Never tried other nursing bras before, but after waering these, I'm still ok with them. THey also sell baby clothes, but I think Kiddy Palace still cheaper and has more variety (at least for Jingle brand)

ankh
i agree tt dr ngiam is patient in explaining. also went to see him once when my PD Dr YY Yip's appt is full. am thinking of changing to see him instead. his q is always v long.

my boy is having his long sleep spell today again. played for 1 hr until 1.30pm today. slept until 4.30pm just now n stired a bit. woke him up to hv his milk. but drank halfway n cried. want to sleep. dont want milk. now sleeping again. strange... also hope he doesnt stay up tonight.

Hi mummies:

<font color="ff0000">RE: 2ND GATHERING FOR DEC 2007 MUMMIES</font>

Think attendance list are more or less cfm. Shall we fix the date and time now. Since majority opted for wkend and few mummies indicated 'lunch', then shall we fixed the date at <font color="aa00aa">1st March 2008 (Saturday) @ 12pm lunch</font> OK???

Let 'poll' for venue now? Suggestion??? It will be best there will be a nursery around. As usual, we go for majority choice ya!

Venue: To be cfm by 25th Feb 2008 Monday

1.Shokudo @ raffles city - Witty, Fanny,
2.Marche @ Vivo -
3.Buffet at Merchant Court (nursery, any idea???)

**By the way I have check and Grand Mecure Roxy Hotel like dun have changing room for bb, that why have pull out this venue as a choice. :p

witty, there is no nursery at merchant court, i had checked with the staffs over there when i went there last mth. so merchant court is out. I going for shokudo.

ankh,
wah, till GSS ah...so good. Hehs...

phy,
okie. noted. Clementi can...my parents are at clementi. I'm there everyday...except weekends. hehs. I'll email you lah...

hi Botanist,

i just saw on the Ergo website that the carrier are NEW IMPROVED...does it apply for ALL carrier regardless if they are organic? coz i read this notice on the organic section. I did not get the organic one, i got the normal one only.

Linda, tks for info!

Hi mummies:

RE: 2ND GATHERING FOR DEC 2007 MUMMIES

Think attendance list are more or less cfm. Shall we fix the date and time now. Since majority opted for wkend and few mummies indicated 'lunch', then shall we fixed the date at 1st March 2008 (Saturday) @ 12pm lunch OK???

Let 'poll' for venue now? Suggestion??? It will be best there will be a nursery around. As usual, we go for majority choice ya!

Venue: To be cfm by 25th Feb 2008 Monday

1.Shokudo @ raffles city - Witty, Fanny, Linda
2.Marche @ Vivo -

blessed,

the new improved thingy applies to all the carriers. i saw the notice in the 'shop' link on the ergo website, so it applies to all.

i got my carrier already! so exciting. tried it out on my son, he cried abit because i also couldn't quite figure out how to fit him in properly.. after about 3 tries, i manage to do it and he was quiet for awhile but cried in the end. i will use it for a while everyday to get him used to it, cos got to put him in it for a few hours next week...

Hi CSI_Fan,

I work in Tanjong Pager. I can pick up from your place after work or on weekend. I think you will have your hands full, lugging your pis and barang to work!

thanks ankh.. i will popped by kiddy palace.
i ordered from mim but out of stock.

does ur babies drink water? mine dun like to drink. i m on TBF.

hi BBnGG,

I'm only going back to work in March leh...(I'm at Raffles Place...heehee)

Think you wanted the diapers this week right? (hopefully they can deliver by this week).

I'm at Clementi during the weekdays.

Yah lorh, I'm still trying to "configure" my barang so that I dun have too many things to carry to work. The only good thing is, since I start work at 7am, I'm allowed to take taxi to work...so going to work is not so bad. It's the coming back home!! hahaha...can't imagine, squeezing into MRT with lots of barang.

happi
there are a few nursing rooms at viviocity, one of them is very spacious. You must have gone to the smaller ones near toyrus.

But the sliding doors to the nursing rooms cannot lock one.

Valeriet
I bring my bbies to the pool once they hit the 4 mth mark.

okie, Phy, BBnGG...

ordered liaoz. Delivery shd be within 48 hours.

I'll email you gals on my account. Can just do a deposit lah. Thanks!

fanny
there is one chinese medical shop at my mil's place in pasir ris that sells cheap diapers and formula milk.

Ren Tai Tang at Blk 445 pasir ris drive 6.

constance,

where is the more spacious one? Ya...i went to tat one. so crampy..... ask my hb to jaga the door.

csi,
u start work at 7am, u knock off earlier?

happi,

unfortunately no.

knock off also at 6. Sometimes gotta work beyond 6. That's why, after my teacher friends got to know of my office hours, they are all very happy. All say " suddenly teaching doesn't seem that bad..." hahaha...

happi

my baby had not tried frozen EBM yet. mayb i shld try once to c her reaction.... but also not sure if she is ok if its being stored long, which is most likely e case for frozen EBM.

was also wondering if i shld let her try FM too. She had taken b4 in e 1st mth when i did not have enuff ss. NOt sure if she will reject now if back to work need to supplment FM

can anyone advise what and how to "play" with your 2 mths' old baby? bgt a few toys but he doesn't seem interested...

When is the best time to introduce toys to them then?

nursing rooms:
been to the one @ bugis near the children section.not bad too got hot water..the oni off part is the nursing rooms ..dun ve doors, ve curtains..so a bit risky..coz alot of kids there since its children section..may ve a chance of kids opening the curtains =P i placed my shoes under the curtains to let pple outside noe got pple..oso got risk coz notti kids mite steal my shoes !

happi:
did ur bb's stools change pattern wen u fed fed frozen milk? my girl is on TBF (direct latch). but 2days back i went out so my mum fed her 1 feed of FM, 1 feed of frozen EBM.. and her stools from den till now is greenish le wor..sticky..and stinky.. her stools on TBF was yellowish wor..

valeriet:
swimming - chk out this http://www.babyswimming.com.sg/

eve:
the sling, u sent out le? how much shld i tsf to u?

constance:
where's the spacious room @ vivo? i went to the one nxt 2 toyrus, oso the one directly below toyrus. i noe oso ve 1 near bakerzin

baby12:
i play nursery songs 2 my girl every morning while i bathe her, massage her .. den will BF her.. aft wich if she dun zzz.. will play n tok to her.. the oni toy she reacts to is tis rattle my HB bot..she smiles n smetimes lauf wen she c it.. no other toys interest her .. oso cracking my head..

CSI,
Wow, you're really very efficient!!
Great! Clementi is easy for me or hubby to collect
Thanks ya, will pass you the cash when I (or hubby) pick up the stuff

Blessed and Botanist,
Yeah, I've also collected the Ergo Carrier!! But can't try out on boy yet coz the infant insert not in yet

has anyone tried the baby swimming at punggol plaza? any feedback and how long did your baby "swim"?

i was quite tempted to let my boy try, but afraid that it might be a bit early to let him "swim" and frighten him...

hi slimz, i hv maid to look after my bb...i really hate going back to work, it's so tiring and i really miss my little darling...whenever i reach home, immediately store EBM, head into toilet to bath, then carry bb liao...always hope she dun sleep by 730pm...at least i get to hold and play with her, then abt 8:30pm, she will doze off in my arms...at least one hour of playtime with mummy...

playtime ww 2mths bb:

1. what i usually do is i will "chat" with bb. she will engross in looking at my mouth. i will talk then wait for her to response..she will wiggle her tongue then coo abit...so i will answer "ok" or "yes"...to "communicate" with her..

2. i will also use red objects to move from left to right so that her eyes will follow and turn her head as well.

3. i will blow on her tummy..her daddy's fav playtime with her...bb will open her mouth when daddy do that on her tummy..

4. peekaboo is another game, but my bb doesnt really like it i think...always no response...

5. finger-muppets - i use it to tell story and teach her her body parts...example, i hv a goldilocks muppet, i will say "goldilocks is going to touch darling's nose, this is darling's nose"...

6. flash cards - i know i know it's too early...but i bought this flash cards for 3mth-5yrs old bb...amazing, she is looking at the cards with full attention...we will show her the word "tiger" and repeat it for 3 times...then show her the pics of tiger...so far, she is ok with it..

hope it helps..any other playtime games, mummies do share k?

For playtime, i usually chat with my son, do some little exercise (move his little arms &amp; legs) and sing nusery rhymes to him. i have my favourite rhymes and sometimes play with him while singing, and tickle him. He will usually respond by laughing.

started reading to him already, although not much response from him yet. Hmm I also let him 'read' black/white/red books, which we does stare very closely at (mersmerized by the big prints).

i also have some flash cards - black/white cards with abstract objects which i flash - 1 sec each card (i.e., hexagon, bottle, ship, fish, etc). These work best! He enjoys the process, will laugh/giggle when he sees the cards. But he gets sick of them fast! So after showing a few times I retire the cards now... thinking of starting him on the math cards soon cos i heard bb's really like that.

UPDATED: 19-FEB-08

2ND GATHERING FOR DEC 2007 MUMMIES
Date: TBC
Time: TBC
Venue: Tentatively fixed at Grand Mecure Roxy Hotel (Feast @ East)
Food: Heritiage + International
Lunch (12-230pm): $32++(mon-sat); $42++ (1130-3pm on sun)
Dinner (6 to 10pm): $36++ (mon-thur); $38++ (Fri-sun)

**Mummies appreciate if you can cfm your attendance by 20-Feb-07 so that we can fix and cfm the date and time. Thanks!

1.Witty+hb+BB+helper - wkend(sat/sun)- lunch/dinner
2.alien+hb+baby - wkend(sat/sun)- lunch/dinner - merchant court/the rice table/marche
3.fanny+hb+baby -> wkend lunch/dinner
4.Slimz+HB+BB - wend - lunch/dinner
5.missylan+baby+son+helper -> Sat lunch/dinner
6.Linda+hb+bb - wkend lunch/dinner
7.rachel+hub+bb -wkend lunch/dinner
8.petrina+bb - Saturday lunch/dinner
9.cocoangel+hb+bb-wkend lunch/dinner
10.jeelomeelo+hb+bb-wkend lunch/dinner
11.ankh+hb+bb - wkend lunch
12. naf+hb+elder+bb - wkend lunch
13. steffietan+hb+bb+son - wkend (sun)lunch/dinner
14. cookiemz+bb+#1+helper - wkend lunch
15. bbtree+baby+daughter+helper - wkend lunch/dinner
16. eve+bb - wkend lunch
17. Elaine+hb+bb - wkend lunch

swimming:
my bb really loves water, she never once cried during bathing time...the CL commented that this bb really loves water...recently, whenever we bath her, she is enjoying away happily, kicking in the water...but the moment after we get her out of the bath tub and start to dry her, she starts crying...when we put her back into the tub, she stops crying..really duno wat to do with her..cant let her in the tub for too long mah right? hmmm at my wits..

for me, i wont bring her to swimming so early...water not clean and immune sys not strong yet..think maybe 4-6mths onwards is better..

hi botanist, where do u get the flash cards from? i think my bb really loves flash cards..so thinking of getting her more...

hi pretty, thanks for your advices...

i shall try some of the suggested playtime games and see if it will attract my baby's attention :p

Hi slimz/happi
can't remember the exact location of the bigger nursing room. It's on the first floor, shld be somewhere just below the PageOne bookshop.

pretty
shld be okie to start bbies on flashcards now.
I think bbies like the contrast colour of black/white or black/red pix. My dd has one classmate in Shichida Class who started attending at 3 mth old. I wish i have time to flashcards to my No 3 too. now even no 1 &amp; 2 get compromised on their flashcards time.

botanist
R u on the Glenn Doman method?

pretty, constance

yup, am on Glenn Doman now.
Constance, u using GD also?

Pretty - GD method is good but need to commit alot of time cos must flash the cards to bb a few times a day (per subject). Thats quite consuming so heard from working mummies that they find it hard to keep the schedule.

U can check out the WTS section, sometimes ppl sell their GD sets. A few hundred dollars per subject. If you buy GD original, its $400-600 per subject.. total for Eng, Chi, Math, Encylopedia is like $2k!damn ex...

crybaby,
I have not let bb try FM too. I nvr buy too. Frozen EBM got stronger smell than fresh ones... hee hee

slimz,
Stools nvr change leh. I think greenish stools are due to the FM. I nvr use FM, her stools remain yellowish.

How u massage bb? Is thr any webbies can show baby massage?

baby12
I talk to bb.... make funny faces, use high/low pitch, use rattles, use toys with flashing lights. Bb will smile but sometimes they will jus stared at u.

cry baby
it is a left and rite brain stimulation programme for kids from 0-7 yrs old. you can find out more from the following 2 websites.

http://www.sgparenting.com/
http://www.shichidamethod.com/

personally i think only when parents do home practice with their kids regularly, then the programme will be useful. I can see the diff in development between my son who started SM at 3 yrs old and my dd who started at 10mth old.

Constance, what sort of developmental differences seen between your #1 &amp; #2? Had negative impression of the Shichida personnel at Springleaf, but if it works then maybe i'll give it a try again

Botanist, is GD method really effective?

Happi (in case i gave out wrong info), the variety available at kiddy palace i was talking about referred to baby clothing