(2007/12) Dec 2007 MTB

hi BBnGG
actually i dun mind double bedroom leh, cos we still have the whole room to ourselves mah. Can accomodate more visitors.

hi deerdeer
I think you have to +/- 300g off your gynae's estimate. Dun worry.

I just came back from gynae's clinic. He dun encourage me to go for C-sect w. epidural. Told me that since already 3rd one, my inside must be traffic jammed already. C-sect w. GA safer. Sigh!

Hi missylan

I think i will try tandem pumping using 2 avent manual pumps first. C if it works. I LOVE my Avent manual pump. If not, then go for Ameda pump.

Hey mummies, robinsons having 20% off, so if you r considering buying Medela pumps, shld be a good buy bah. But not discount for Ameda pump.

my milk supply is also no good. Per time I express only can get abt 50 to 60ml per 3 to 4 hrs plus and bb is drinking 70 to 90ml every 2 hrs plus. Ya would like to know how to increase milk supply as well. It has been like that for the past 4 weeks.

Anyone know how to let bb sleep thru the night. My bb doesn't really sleep in the night and keeping us aware at night. Heard that aft things will improve aft 6 weeks is it true?

Rachel,

I latch on my baby with lying on bed position. she can sleep longer after the feed. Maybe u can try....

btw, do we have to burp the baby when we BF?

happi,
Heard that latch on dun need to burp but I still burp him cos I seen few times, he still burp out my blood(bm). =)

wah...the thread moves so fast...

I have yet to post pics of my gal. heehee...

Ooh, Petrina in labour...baby out yet?

Mummies, how long do you all pump ur BM? For those yet to pop mummies, I'm not sure if this will work...kekeke. but this was wat I did lah...2 weeks b4 EDD (coz never know if BB will be early or not), I kept eating the kurau/threadfin fish and salmon fish (cooked of course
). Threadfin fish is supposed to help increase milk supply mah, so I KS lorh. I started before I even gave birth. hahaha. Think it works for me, coz my supply came (felt super engorged and started leaking) when my gal was 2 days old. Salmon is fatty fish and fatty fish is also supposed to help a bit lah...

Rachel, I'm also facing the same problem as you. The lack of sleep is making me frustrated and at the brink of post natal blues. Yesterday I tried something different (been trying different positions everyday). I latched her on while lying in bed (on my side). I find that she can latch longer (probably coz my arms and back are rested, so wun end up moving away from her as she's sucking). She can drink more and she slept longer yesterday. Will try again today and see how. You can try that also...

erm, how to update the table?
Coz I realise I'm still under the "MTB" list...my gal already 1 week old. kekeke...

Can someone help me pls? Thanks!

My gal arrived on 8 Dec, Natural with epi. She weighs 3.482kg, measures 49cm.

CSI_Fan,
My last pump is 12am then till I wake up at 9am. This time, I get the most amount of the day. Then after that will be every 3-4 hours. Then, will not get so much liao... ard 100ml only, hope it will increase. Mine hor latch on will sleep very easily, got to wake him up and change sides to keep him awake. He thought my nipples are pacifier!

All breastfeeding mummies
Please tighten your bra straps if you don't want to have papayas instead of breasts in the future. Cos hor, once our breasts ligaments stretched, cannot go back to original shape liao. Got to take note ok...

witty, linda, claire, etelle & missylan,

just now managed to pump 60ml after 3 hours rest. my baby drinks 90ml but i can supply him 60ml only. still short of 30ml leh.. when i pump one side, the other side is leaking. shall i pump both side simultaneously by using 2 pumps?? i am using Avent Manual Pump now, wonder motorised pump will be better?

missylan, my boy also like yours leh. latch on tends to fall asleep easily. then hor, when he sucks, the other side is like tap water dripping.. wasted!! he thot my nipples are pacifier too, go in and out as he likes! faint!

<font color="0000ff">mummies, i am interested to know how much weight you need to shed? i start mine first.

Pre-pregnancy - 47kg
Full term - 67kg
After birth - 59kg
At day 7 - 56kg
Balance - 9kg</font>

alien,
Wa, like that you got good amount of milk supply loh. Mine till to date will not drip like tap water leh. Only droplets droplets leaking. If you are very happy with your current pump, you pump one side and another hand holding a milk bottle lor. Hahaha... busy neh! Me hor can shed till not over-weight me very happy liao.

Pregnant - 65kg
Full term - 72kg
After 2 weeks - 62kg

At my height, the ideal weight will be 57kg(meaning 1 more kg will be overweight liao) you know. Me can drop till 55kg, me slaughter pig pray Tian Gong loh... Your boy like mine drinks alot! He is drinking 100ml-110ml every 3 hours. In btw, CL fed him plain water also. Cos my milk supply still cannot cope with his feeds. So now he is on partial FM and BM. One feed FM, one feed BM. CL said that this way his stool will not be as watery which might cos his anus to be raw. Me dun mind FM also la... as long as can satisfied him and I can have my good night sleep. =P

hi alien,

mine is very strange..

Pre-pregnancy - 42kg
Full term - 57kg
After birth - 53.5kg (my bb is 3kg at birth, n i only lost 3.5kg :s)
At day 20 - 51.5kg
Balance - 9.5kg

for my previous 2 preg i managed to loose all the wt at 3rd mth... but now the progress is so slow?!? so sad...

i think the wt is really all FATS all through my body.. y i say that, coz my tummy is almost flat already (except not firm) but i cant pull up my pants mean the fats are evenly spread across my whole body... so sad

botanist,

Opps, tot you'e in labour already
You have a cat har? what species is that?

Went played Mahjong again, this week's damage close to $200, wow, heart pain.. take it as entertainment fee..felt so bored at home haha

Wow, so many things cannot eat during confinement har? So I must keep eating.. now gonna indulge in ice cream
Later got another mahjong session

Alien,
your Malcom does look tall and lanky and consider you're not big size!! wow, how did you push him out?

Missy,
Small boobs will still sag meh? I tot of going braless leh... haha

Naf,
Good that your little prince is more than 2kg
Do rest well so that you can take care of him..

May I check something, how does dilation feel like? Just now when my boy moved around alot, my groin area kept having this sharp pain till I got to close my legs and bend over!! Silly boy was reacting to the Xmas songs being played in the shopping centre...

phy, i didnt really feel e dilation, mayb i was on epi. Crystalz, my mum didnt put a lot of ginger so i still enjoyg drinkg it, hehe! Mm, my bb didnt cry e 1st nite when we reach hm, he zz like a pig, only cry when he want milk or change of diaper. I still hv nt measure my wt yet, hehe!

missylan, my supply is much lower than his demand too. short of at least 30ml. my CL is feeding him FM too after i BF him.

Pre-pregnancy - 54kg (gynae's scale)
wk38 - 67.7kg (gynae's scale - shawn's 2.88kg baby
After birth - dunno
At day 8 - 60kg (home scale)
Balance - 6kg

my target by next tuesday, hopefully the scale at my gynae would show 58kg haha

alien,
i tried fenugreek starting day2 while i was in hospital. milk came in on day 3. I continued for 3days then i stopped. For this whole week, i total BF Shawn.
today my 2nd time pumping, one time total supply is about 90ml. funny my right boob only got about 30-45ml. but the left boob is 60ml. i'm considering continuing fenugreek to boost the supply. coz now Shawn's drinking both sides every feed. i reckon pumping both sides is a better idea le. if you can latch malcolm on and see, may be his suction could promote more milk. just now during the last feed i put him on my right boob longer praying that it'd promote more supply

btw, i think i almost kena urinal tract infection. past one wk i was drinking the reddates/blackdates/dangshen & redbean drinks ... then last nite felt pain when i pee. then i quickly as my CL to boil the fried brown rice and simmer with dangshen. started drinking in the middle of the nite. then it's less painful today. so worried. i think i'll drink the fried brown rice drink.. more cheng... also drinking anmum now coz kena ban from drinking fresh milk

anyone got the same problem?

oh ya, congrats to all mummies who had popped. so many, lose track liao :p those who has not popped, get good rest, you'll need all that for the aftermath of delivery

phy,

yah i have a cat,... he is quite big liao, 4 years old and quite fat. But very adorable. He is a mix between Siamese and stray... white fur, brown spots and blue eyes.

hi all, tmr is my baby's one month celebration! *phweeee weeeet* i'm delirious that i got thru this one mth unscathed. finally, it's goodbye ugly, hello pretty. haaa... gotta really be thankful that e weather has been nothing but kind.

for all those who hv gone through labour, a big congratulations to you n ur family.

for all those undergoing confinement, be strong n perservere. e finishing line ain't that far away.

for all those who are still waiting to give birth, fret not, u'll see ur precious soon!

Pre-pregnancy - 46kg
Wk 37 - 57kg
After birth - 53kg
At day 29 - 52kg (arrrgghh, only lost a kg after a mth! drats!)
Balance - 6kg

Jeelo: Wow.. tt fast man!!!

Blessed & Alien: u so slim before u are pregnant.. after u pregnant also not the wt tt i was before...i shld b the one sad....

Hi Happi / CSI_Fan,

hmm... my bb don't want to latch so I had to express my milk out for him. so kind of tired as need to time his wake up time to coincide with my expression.

Thanks for the advance, I will try to do the lying on the side to see whether he wants to latch on. I guess I will not try to stress myself too much if bb don't latch on successfully. Congrats to mummies who has successfully BF their bb as it's really not easy.

Hi Alien,

my supply is also not enough so cl also supplement him with formula. When bf is given bb wakes up faster

Botanist,
My white persian (stay with my mummy) is already 13 yrs old!! He is an odd eye cat, one eye blue the other amber

Your cat and BB can co-exist?

Wow, envy many of you leh, some bfing, some saying bye to confinement soon, some already gonna celebrate first month already... envious envious envious

my bf supply cant meet my bb demand, oso half bm half fm, haiz! Nw lookg 4ward 2 finish my confinement so tat i can go 4 my hair cut n treatment, pedicure, etc, cant wait!

THink i gain most.. haha

Pre-pregnancy - 80kg
B4 give birth - 105kg
After birth (one week later)- 95kg
3 weeks later - 92kg
Balance - 12kg

can diet while BF? so sianz.. my massage lady say cannot jog, aerobic, skipping. Only brisk walk, crunches.. aiyo how to lose wt.. cannot diet oso... haiz

Petrina's princess is out already!!

Born at 20:03, weighing at 3.04kg/ 50cm. Natural with epi. Petrina only took 1hr of pushing... but she said 11hrs of labour.

how to determine how much our darling need to drink if we express out? I giving 70ml now.. she can sleep for 3hr and sometimes 4 hr..

phy,

Dont think my cat can co-exist with my baby...He is very possessive. My cat currently lives at my brother's place. We take turns to care for him.

Wah, all this talk about losing weight making me stressed. Already put on 14kg and scared cannot drop the weight.

Crystalz,

i'm like u. Already started out 77kg so now very heavy liao!! really hope that after bb come out, I can shed the weight quickly. If not, really will be damn depressed!

phy, i took more than an hour to push him out!! my gynea performed quite a big cut for me... his head was 34cm at birth, consider big. i dunno how i made it too..

alien,

alamak, your baby's head 34cm at birth... and your gynea performed a big cut! I'm scared liao!! My baby's head already passed 34cm... and I still got more than 1 week to EDD... OMG!

Cannot drink plain water meh? I heard abit is ok... Must drink lah, if not, kenna UTI quite an agony!

bOTANIST: I am also abt the same.. i started off at 60kg... planning to go marie france.. heehe..heard tt it's quite effective.. my fren lost a lot...

belle,

i dont think i wanna spend $$ on marie france.. I will diet and exercise lor.
actually for my height/size, my optimum weight is about 72kg, so just need to work harder and eat less! :p

hahah... sounds like i have a high threshold for fats hor...

i'm abit tall lah, 1.73cm so lots of room to get fat. Plus i have heavy bones... so doctor said that's why its 72kg. Last time, when i was skinnier 68kg... alamak, look like anorexic! that's why too skinny also not nice.

With all that being said, its impt to be happy with our bodies.. cannot obsess too much cos its unhealthy! Just need to lose weight to be healthy, but not overdo it!!

Must remind ourselves that we took 9 months to pile on this weight, it can also take a while for the weight to go away...

young_belle,
marie france very ex leh... I'm having Malay massage, $45 per session, more affordable, hopefully can show good results.

****BABY ACNE****
Can somebody offer advice? So far see doc, she gave some cream to apply but not much use leh. And she keep saying to wait for it to go off by itself. Sigh... duno wait how long leh....

phy,
Big boobs small boobs are still boobs. XD
When you engorge, you will have bigger boobs. Mine after #1 already sagging abit liao loh.

jeelomeelo,
Me opposite, right got more milk!

alien,
My son's head measuring 36cm. But the pushing part is very fast cos my gynae prefers to use vaccum. Think gynae don't want to risk anything so my 2 kiddos are being vaccum out one. I can feel bb's head at the vagina exit then gynae asked to push, only 3-4 seconds, bb's head out. Then got to stop. Another contraction comes, ask to push again then gynae pulled bb out. Can "feel" the whole process... =)

Higgledy,

I think must wait quite long for acne to go away. My friend's baby turn one month old liao and she said there's still some on his back... but the ones on his face and chest went away already. So must be patient...

Higgledy,
Do you on air-con for him at night? The first week, I didn't on air-con for him and he will sweat. CL will wakes up to give him a change of clothes. Then I saw his face+neck got those "heat rash", looks like tiny pimples lor. Since beginning of this week, I on air-con for him, 26C with 1 fan power only and I see the heat rash also gone liao. Is it your room temp? Hmm... eventually the pimples will go away one. So don't need to worry too much!

Higglendy: Not really.. i think $600 for 24 sessions... my fren went for both.. think bk to her old shape liao...

Botanist: Ya, u are really tall.. i m short with FATS and big bones.. =( Depress man

Mine is....

Pre-pregnancy - 55kg
Full term - 72.8kg
After birth - never measure
1 wk after delivery - 66.4kg
2 wks after delivery- 62.4kg
Balance - 7.4kgkg

Higgledy (higgledy),
Re the Baby Acne, my baby had it when she was born. We went to see Dr Ngaim at Baby & Child at Gleneagles, he gave a Dakota cream - it worked.. u might want to try seeing him.

hmm, my baby's head was 34.5cm. I had to push for 15mins then she came out. Think I'm quite lucky. heehee...otherwise, think I'll pengz. but it was still quite tiring. exhausted.

haiyah, just now I pumped for 15 min. then stopped. then 15 min later, baby cried for milk! alamak...just emptied breasts and she calls for milk. THen I just put the ebm in the fridge some more. ended up, not enough supply for her. so had to supplement with FM.

mummies, how long does each pumping session last? HB was asking me, "you pump until when? When bottle is full? How you know empty liaoz?" Seriously, I dunno leh. I only limited myself to 15min...can share some advice pls?

Alien,

For me, I pumped both sides together else, it's a waste when u are leaking on the other side leh..Also I realise if u pump both sides at the same time, milk supply more.. ALso, make sure u almost "empty" them, before stopping..then can produce more milk.

For me, my milk supply is adequate, about 300ml for both breasts..Alot throw away cos baby only take the highest 150ml sometimes, else its 90ml per feed..So no choice but to pour away as can only keep 48 hrs in chiller.. (Me dun like the idea of freezing)

CSI Fan,

I always pump for abt 15 to 30 minutes..Initially quite longer but now ok liao..I always pump until the milk coming out become "droplets" and the whole breast become soft. Why dun you schedule your time to before BB feed? Me always pump earlier before his feed, then by the time he wake up, it's just rite..

hi ladies, i'm worried about mishandling my bb cos she's so soft and wriggly. sometimes she struggles as i try to put my nipples into her mouth. tried to let her struggle freely but sometimes i thought i heard her bones moving! sounds scary. afraid i've hurt her. any mummies wif similar exp?

hi, today i experienced some brown stains and small chunk of brown sticky mucous on my panty liners. called hospital, they say just monitor and wait for the regular contractions to kick in. they says regular contractions can come either today, tomorrow or a week later. up to now, i still didnt feel any regular contractions or pain or rupture of water bag. what shld i do?