(2007/12) Dec 2007 MTB

hey mummy who already given birth thru c-sect..how long does it take to recover from the pain? i now very scare cuz gonna go thru c-set this sat...so scare of pain..

Botanist - I've had fake contractions liao... Dr said to watch for regular and increasing pains. Mine was regular... but the pain level was not consistent.

baked beans,

i'm trying to count lah.. but not easy leh.. like last night.. pain from 12am - 2am.. but it seems more like a constant pain.. no break inbetween.. so how to count like that?

i was just waiting for it to get more painful then wake my hubby up.. but in the end.. fell asleep liao and this morning back to no pain.. so sianz.. thought she was coming out already..

now everytime i go toilet.. i check for bleeding (which i have totally none) and everytime when i have a little discharge.. i hope that its my waterbag bursting but its not also..

very frustrating..

phy,

if i could have it my way.. my hubby would have been raped many times liao.. but tummy always in the way lah.. and he's so strong.. so i give up in the end.. HAHAHAHAH

botanist,

me too.. scared of the stitches.. actually more scared of the epsiotomy i guess.. i asked my gynae if i dun use epi.. will she numb the area first before she 'cut' and she laughed saying yes, of course.. heng ah.. otherwise i will surely freak out when i feel her cutting me.. *faint*

baked bean,

yup i know what u mean. i get that too.
but haven't started timing... cos my gynea said that baby's head is low but not that low yet so i think still wont suddenly go into labour.

will start to monitor carefully from next week, cos that's a week to EDD.

petrina,

haha u v.funny lah! yah, if they dont 'numb' the area and just cut, we sure die right? Hopefully they dont cut too much lor.

my friend from the US told me they don't really practice epsiotomy and for her labour, she brought in pure olive oil and used it to massage down there... which help to stretch the opening further. She said when her son was born, he was an oily baby!! hahah... But didn't do epsiotomy lah!

Too bad singapore don't practice this...
But i heard you can massage yourself with the oil down there prior to delivery to help get the area used to the stretching already.

botanist,

in the US different leh.. i actually saw one delivery on UTube.. its an angmo and the doc stretch and stretch her vaginal until its so huge!!

apparently we asians got to cut coz in case of a tear, the tear may go through our ass hole too.. and will result in sure pain in the healing process.. i think i will not dare pang sai for the next month if that happens.. yikes!!

our measurement between the vaginal and ass hole is very small only.. so i think i'll rather cut.. at least it'll heal up nicely.. hehe

Petrina,

not true leh, my friend is Singaporean leh. I think the massage really helps!! But of course i believe the mid wife in US is trained to do the massage lah!

Steffi,

Oh i'm at GlenE. hehe thought we could bump into each other at the hospital. Haha!

baked bean,
Nay, not high sex drive lah, just that have not been "at it" for many months mah.. Furthermore hormones changes may have increased sex drive lor...

Envy you leh, still "at it" at this stage

Steffi and botanist,
My EDD is 25th!! Maybe my little one will be a X-mas present to both hubby and me

Petrina, haha, you're so funny!!
Maybe you should really rape your hubby so that you can go into labour ASAP!!

Episiotomy
I asked my gyane the other day.. She said she'll prefer her patients to tear naturally so that it'll heal better and faster... scary... but since I'm taking epidural, won't feel any pain lah.. just hope there'll be no tear at all...

I read that short panting and control the urge to push and allow the skin to stretch will prevent tear... keeping fingers crossed...

Am going for c-section tmr at East Shore. Yest went for a scan at TMC to check baby blood circulation in water bag and also amm fluid and found out that fluid dropped to 6.2 and umbilical cord is ard baby neck. Baby weighs abt 1.8+kg at 37wks 3 days. Very small.

Went to see gynae today and was advised either to induce birth or c-section. However becuz of the cord ard the neck, baby will be at risk if opt for induce birth.

Thus, hubby and I decide for c-section while doing CTG. I nearly burst into tears cuz am quite scare but at the same felt that mummy is at risk better than baby at risk.

Keeping fingers cross and doing some last min packing and setting up of new baby items.

Constance, I will be at Mt A if I am to be induced on 18 Dec. You also right. Maybe we will be neighbour if you have also opt for a 2 bedder.

My contraction has stop totally since beginning of this week. And now I am 2 days past my edd and my naughty boy is still happily swimming inside. I have been receiving calls from frens and relatives daily asking if I have pop.

Bluelily, your boy has double eyelids, so cute.

Congrats coco and mama ash.

phy, petrina

Yup, I also read that we must control the urge to push. If anyhow push, will cause piles and tearing. Only push when the midwife or gynea advises you to. (I guess having epidural will be good right? cos can't feel anything so wont anyhow push!! hahahah).

Also, i've read that there isn't a huge difference between tearing naturally or cutting. But that's just a different school of thought. There's so much info on the internet.. read until blur!! I guess let our gynea's decide is what best. After all, we can't even see what's going on down there!!

Yah! If you bomb on 25th, it will be yr Xmas present! I did hint to my gynea that I want to induce on 25th, but I think he wanna celebrate Xmas leh... he said induce on boxing day. Hahahaha

Naf, be strong ok? It's not your fault.. Must believe that everything will work out fine for both your and your little one
Have that faith and keep talking to your little one to ask him to hang in there and be strong ..

All the best!! Have a super safe and smooth delivery!! Update us when you've given birth..

Naf,

yup.. take care. Dont worry too much. You and your baby will be alright. Be happy cos you are going to see your bb tmr already!
Dont worry too much about the weight because you will be able to feed BB lots of milk once your bb is out.

Keep us posted!

Thanks phy, botanist for your encouragement.

my tears jus flow again. Dun dare to cry in front of my hubby, mum and son else they will be worried.

Looking forward to see baby tmr. He is still kicking hard at my tummy. Jus scare of the long needle during the ops as I will be awake but half body numb. And also scare he will need to stay much longer in hospital.

my EDD on 25th, but i'm so damn glad he'll be out earlier!

Naf, dun b too worried. For all u know, when baby's out tomm, he'll be more than 2kg (machines are not 100% accurate). Relax... otherwise bb can feel u are tensed up.

Naf be strong and stay strong. Dun worry too much as you and baby will be fine.

Once the baby is out, you will be able to feed him with lots of milk and he will grow stronger by the day. Dun worry too much. Hugs~

baked beans,

that time i watch.. i also didn;t know that the area stretch until like that.. its really quite gross i tell u.. i think a toddler can climb out of there..

now the image is in my head liao.. yucks..

phy, botanist,

actually i'm also quite confuse by all the info on the web.. some say tear good.. some say cut good.. see which one ur gynae prefers then go ahead with him or her.. afterall.. they'll be the ones in charge when we're screaming in pain.. hehehe

naf,

dun worry too much.. quite a lot of mummies also go through epi with c-sec.. bb and u'll be alright.. we'll be here to support u yah??

Naf,

Remember your little one can feel what you feel.. for his sake, do think positive and stay cheerful.. then he'll feel secure and not tensed up... Like what baked bean says, he'll probably be more than 2kg... think happy thoughts like cuddling him, kissing him etc etc.. His well being is topmost priority now..

steffi and baked bean,

I also wish that my kid will come out earlier so that his daddy got time (we are both off work now) to help out at home.. Next week onwards he has many meetings lining up so may not be able to stay at home and keep me company... I hardly have to lift a finger at home when he's at home
Been treated like a queen, a Queen Bee hahahaha

But EDD is 25th leh.. Gynae says she'll be around on that day

Belle,
alternate days
Who is the one with high sex drive here? hahaha

Pertina,
Like what you said, go with the gynae lor.. anyway, epidural will numb any pain
The power of epidural!!

phy,

my gynae says i can tahan without epi and that it'll be the last resort leh..

she's so pro natural.. me scared scared liao..

Petrina,

My gynae pro epidural
She herself went through 5 child births with epidural
My threshold for pain super low so won't subject myself to that kind of extreme pain

You are so brave!! I guess I'm a coward who dare not go through the labour pains..

phy,

5 children!!!! waaah!! *faint*

if i tell my hubby he will surely be happy one.. he wanted 12 children.. i told him he can give birth to the next one.. hahahaa

no lah.. not brave.. just wanna 'try' it out first.. if really cannot.. i will also call for epi liao.. heheheh

i heard that epidural also helps you relax, then can dilate faster...

anyway my gynea super pro epidural.. haha i was thinking of braving it out at first but he talked me into taking epidural already.

was told that it's the point of adminstering the epidural that is painful..cos need to insert a jab into spine......

steffi,

yup i heard its painful too but bearable.. afterall, the pain does go away after that.
heehe

Constance,

there is breastpump rental but used ones lah. But of course they sterilize properly. When i went for GlenE tour they said can check with the nurses at the maternity ward, there is a company which rents out breast pumps....

hmm, seems that only a few of us are yakking away...others popping liao?

btw, anyone experiencing back ache now...my back like very 'suan' now......

Petrina,

Mine is first kid... hubby says 1 will do as I suffered quite a bit during pregnacy..
but I think 1 is too lonely.. hope I can overcome fear and have #2 in future...

Wow, 12 kids
Your hubby must have loved kids a lot!!

Ya, my gynae got 5 kids.. somemore she still looks dashing!!

Steffi,
Me me!! Got lower pain on right hip.. then tail bone also hurts quite badly... Hubby will help me massage the area

steffi,

Ya, my hubby says because our CG changes to accommodate bump in front... so must really be careful when bending down to get things from floor.. cannot carry heavy stuff too...

Ladies, is it true that during last 2 weeks of pregnancy, baby tends to be less active and sleeping more ? Now i'm in my 39th week, past few days baby is rather quiet even though he did move once in a while .. Kind of worried ..

mel,

maybe u wanna check with your gynea... if you worried, go in to see him/her. at least, u will be less worried if they do CTG or check on yr bb's progress

i'm also in my last 2 weeks, baby still moving the same amount although not much space left. not so much kicking, more like shifting around.

Steffi,

Maybe you should stop carrying your #1 for a while.. if not later the backache may not be easy to get rid off...

Mel,

don't think so leh, my little one still move quite a bit.. those type that the tummy will be shifting around one... esp. after I've eaten something... You may wish to check with your gynae

Naf,

Dun worry.. Everything will be fine. My #1 was also having umbicla cord round the neck..i went for c-sect to minimise the risk. Then to found out that the umbilcal card was coiled 5 x round the neck n also round the shoulder at birth.. In the end baby was fine.

cookiemz
lucky u! your confinement almost over! Pei fu that you manage to hold out on washing ur hair all this while...i tahan for 10 days then cannot already. will be celebrating man yue on christmas, so i cut short my confinement by about 3 days
then really gotta go visit hairdresser, dentist and beautician! haha

read that someone was enjoying ice-cream...*drool* now even plain water sounds good. this is always the hardest part of confinement for me, the midpt.

to the mummies who've popped

My gynae is away .. Last friday he said if anything go a&e straight away .. During 38th week he was so active .. Only this 3 days he quiet down abit .. Gynae said most likely will deliver this 16th or 17th .. Not sure is case not much space so less movement .. Not much kicking after 38th week .. Also alot of shifting .. These 3 days he is only active at night .. Mostly he is sleeping .. Sometimes will slighty move abit when i talk to him etc ..

Yr gynea should have a 'stand-in' gynea right? maybe just call the clinic and tell them your concern. If worried just go into hospital.. they will do CTG and make sure u are alright. At this stage, must be kiasu...

There is stand in gynae but the clinic is closed .. Stand in gynae is only for delivery .. My gynae did tell me to go a&e if baby is not so active or contraction is here .. Don't know whether i should admit anot .. Scared too kiasu cause baby did move but very little .. Don't dare to tell my hubby cause will give him a shock of his life .. Also what it means by not so active ..