(2007/12) Dec 2007 MTB

Hi claire
Epidural also makes you feel groggy?
I thot already GA does that to you?
Dats one of the reason why i didn't want GA this time round leh.

joanne, wound down there start bit painful but still bearable, just tat i don dare 2 move 2 much. I oso glad tat e epi didnt give me aft side effect. Btw e doc who administered epi 4 me is dr yc lim. He very gd, try 2 ask 4 him 2 administer epi 4 u if u stayg in tmc.

linda
i used him too le...haha
cuz actually opt for Dr dickie Tay but he was busy so in the end got YC Lim but i found him even better than Dr Dickie le =p

think lianne has given birth too saw her facebook pic...will wait for her update...

congrats 2 all mummies who just popped!

congrats CSI, linda, babyterelle and alien!!! oh wow!

constance,
epi has diff effect on different ppl. i took like 47mils of epi. the effect was shivering terribly b4 the pop. and also puke after drug is gone. some frens

linda,
even sips of water after delivery, made me puke like mad when the thing wear off. lucky during my dinner at 9pm, i'm ok liao :p

joanne,
i took painkillers (i think it's postan) for the wound when i was in hospital, but my gynae doesn't recommend me to keep eating those coz i wanted to BF. so, i stopped taking yesterday. Still pain but you'd get used to it. just make sure you keep clean everytime u go to the loo. as for the piles ar... well, they work their wonders when you poop the 1st time. i think piles is worse than the epi wound.
anyway, i asked for stool softener and piles cream from gynae and it helped. my pass today is easier than yesterday's bowel movement, and i walk less like a duck today. anyway eat more veg n fruits. worry about the piles and wound pain later. Should concentrate more on giving your babe the BF nutrition.

his 1st nite back at home was like 1.5-2hr feed... i was feeding him every two hours at nite, coz he kept falling asleep during feeding. geezzz

today went to see doc coz we tot baby got fever, kancheong spider. then the pD said nothing wrong ar. anyway, today we notice red patches and and lot of the white spots, pimple looking thing on his body and face. see already oso heartache. my CL told me to get the pearl powder to help eliminate heat rash. Did you ppl give to baby?!

do you have any reco for 1st mth cel catering? I dont want the usual chinese food. I have tried lavish dine, they are pretty good but at this time, they are sure fully bokked.

Any reco for nonya, indo food? Thanks

talking abt epi, mine is administered by Dr Lee (lady). she is very good coz i did not feel any pain from the needles at all!

oh ya, not to alarm u ladies with piles ar, b4 delivery i had this massive pile there.. my gynae had warned me b4 i began my push that i would be getting it worse....now i got additional 3!!! the massive one got more massive!

Wow .. So many mummies popped .. Especially those EDD 20 Dec .. Went gynae yesterday but decided not to induce .. Hope to do it naturally .. Will take another week and most likely will pop in 7-10 days .. Now enjoying my last weeks of pregnancy .. No rush to be a mum yet haha ..

Congrats on those mummies who popped ~ Rest well yea ...

i nvr knew what exactly piles are, i tot they are pimples like growth until i watched Channel U an hr ago abt piles... its really quite a torture and scary.. they talked abt preg woman getting piles too... i can imagine hving to deal with the pain for the episiotomy and piles at the same time!

jee
i also have piles before i went to deliver. And thankful cuz i din push at all during delivery so din really aggravate it but cuz the contraction pressure sorta worsen it a little...gynae gave cream to aply and pills to eat to de swell the piles...my wound no pain only piles pain...

hi fairylander

i ordered from yan palace for my gal's full month. Actually wanted mum's kitchen but now they ask us to order christmas pkg instead of those full month pkg

Higgledy,

U can express alot now, i can only manage at 60ml so far. But the breast has been leaking more n more today. I recorded the feeding time but not the duration and the poo poo times. i noticed she latched on a shorter period now, so i guessed the more milk supply now.

Checked with you gals, can i pour newly express milk to the old bottle of frozen milk? cos i think i m running out of bottles to stored my milk, else i gotta get milk bags? which milk bags are cheap n good?

anyone bringing baby to polyclinic for the jabs? do we have to call for appt?

gloomybear,

i m also looking into full month party now. counting the no of pax... which bakery are u considering?

congrats to linda,jeelomeelo,babyterelle, alien and CSI!!!!

So many bbs popping all of a sudden! so exciting!!

soon this thread will shift to new topics already.. hehehe

with regards to full month catering.. i was thinking of neo gardens coz had lavish dine for both my wedding and brother's birthday so wanna try another caterer..

tried neo gardens 3 times liao at other ppl's functions and think that its not bad..

bakery wise i'll be using Pine Garden's for their packages..

happi,

The nurses at KKH told me its not advisable to mix..even if u were to mix, the milk in both containers should be of the same temperature before u mix.

You can buy the avent storage containers that can be stacked..Pretty gd..think its abt 24 bucks for a set of 10...

claire
thanks for the detailed description of yr experence. epi will make u nausea and goggy??? oh no, i hate the feeling... wat relief did they give u for tat?

constance
actually i would prefer natural but not sure if me and my baby can do it anot. my gynae ever mentioned tat my bb is distressed, wont be able to take the natural labour stress. morever, i have a blood clot near the placenta... *sigh* if c-sec w epi then DH can come in and see, and c-sec w GA cant lor. and btw, is c-sec w epi better than c-sec w GA? im also scared to hear the sound of surgical instruments... jia lat

congrats linda,jeelomeelo,babyterelle and alien!!!

Expressing milk

I am having the Medela Single Electric pump which I bought when I had my #1. Now right bust leaking, no more engorgement cos Mdm Rokiah(Malay Massage lady), helped me to clear clogged ducts... now my busts like normal still got certain parts clogging. Think she really helped me alot on my milk. She said Medela not good. She asked me to buy Ameda. Later going to buy liao cos Medela really not as powerful though never used Ameda before.

Any Ameda users here?

I've jux gave birth on 6dec..now den realise my nipples are act short and inverted

cant breastfeed at all..
my girl tried on one side and initially she got some suckling but it was not filling so i had to give her formula..
any1 have any advice wat i shld do from now on?

2day is e 1st day tat i bf my bb. Morning was doing k, den e rest of e day, nt very successful but will still keep on trying. Oh ya, my notti bb know hw 2 sai nai! When his daddy carried him, he started 2 cry a bit n sai nai n when i carry him, he oso cry a bit. Den we chk his diapers, tryg 2 bf him, etc, we still cant figure wat wrong w him. Suddenly i rem he just took his bcg b4 e nurse pass him 2 us. We were guessing mayb he telling us he feel pain pain aft e jab, lol!

happi: i'm deciding between sweetest moment and choz... or maybe none at all. Cos I'll be using mum's kitchen for catering, and they include Red Egg in Basket, Steam Glutinous Rice with Dried Prawn & Mushroom, and Ang Koo Kuih per pax.

fanny: I'm having my bb's full month party on the 22nd as well!
about 1 week earlier cos I have to split my guest into 2 batches...

Congrats all mummies who have given birth.

I am still waiting for my baby to pop

Another 3 days to my edd.

CryStaLZ,
Are you using the Lactaline Dual Electric Pump? Is the suction strong enough? Cos hor, mine medela single one not strong enough leh even set to STRONGEST. How much did you buy and where can I get it off the shelves? Went to mothercare, Isetan and kiddy palace cannot find leh, all selling Medela.

slimz,
Inverted nipples very difficult for bb to suckle(latch on), so best is to use breast pump. When you engorged, use hot towel to compress those hard area. I used to have engorgement for my #1 cos I have no experience and thought engorgement is part and parcel of bf. Now I understand liao, not true lor. Got to pump out the milk, don't let milk engorge your busts, even low supply also use pump. Don't use cabbage if you plan to bf for long term cos it will bring down your milk supply. Hope this helps...

fairylady,
how about fostre o elsie kitchen?

congrats to all mummies who has given birth....

m coutning down the days to my EDD.... 2 more days to go... keep having stomachache today... wonder have i eaten anything wrngly...

Wow... so many mummies have popped... Congrats to all.

Alien, yr baby is really big and tall.

Me still waiting... no signs at all

glommybear

u hv to call mum's kitchen to cfm, coz when i call them, they say they dont have the full month menu. u have to order their christmas pkg instead and if u want additional red egg, u pay to pay $0.70 for a red egg.

that's y i choose yan palace instead.

congrats alien!

my boy only always feed one breast per meal and i can't seem to wake him up in the middle of the nite to continue feeding even on the same breast. He still can sleep while i'm trying to burp him or unswaddle him. his eyes just won't open when i hold him up. any advise?

hi linda, can help me update?

My daughter's name is DeRui, Sumana. Weighs 2.765kg, c sec with epi. thanks.

missylan,

robinson got sell, hypermart oso have... but can get from breastfeeding support group, cheapest. The suction to me is ok leh. u can go breastfeeding support group and try b4 u buy loh. call up and go down.
cost should be ard 330

HI fairylander,

i m hving my boy's full mth on 22nd dec.. base on my past experience alot of caterer only hv xmas menu now n surcharge too.. coz my kids are yr end kids!

i hv tried neo garden, ok la. i tried CDCS too, ok also, lavish dine is good, western style..i hv forgotten what else i tried... now i want to look for something not traditional chinese food, coz quite boring. Yan palace, is it the tim sum restaurant at chinatown? i love the tim sum there.

how much is your budget? i also tried Penang place, nonya food, nice too, but exp, $22/head. Lemon grass, thai food, also nice, but exp too. I am putting a budget of $15/head for this full mth.

oh there's purple sage, angeli... not bad also

Hi Eve,

I'm still waiting too...but hopefully Bb would cooperate n wait till friday cause gynae is on leave...Have you started your ML yet?

BREAST PUMP

But one of my friend tried Ameda and she sold it away, she asked me to buy Medela PSI... ANy Medela PSI user here? Haiz... $600+ leh. $320 already considering liao...

Blessed,
You can try Lavish Dine. I ordered that for my son's first birthday. I ordered their Menu D, many high praises that night. But take note, qty not much!

Hi happi/jean
i think the avent via cups can only be sterilised up to 5 times. So not really worth it if you intend to store expressed milk. I called avent office regarding this before. The saleslady was telling me that after 5 times, better to use it to store dry stuff, eg cereals, biscuits instead cos they are worried about the cups being deformed. Only the lids are for permanent use.
I bought playtex disposable liners for milk storage. Ard $12plus for pack of 140pcs.

Hi jeelomeelo
I remembered last time the Mt A nurse told me to place one hand on the bb's chest and rub him if he refuse to wake up for feed. Works for my kids.

Hey missylan
My colleague used PSI previously for 6mths. According to her, it is very good and efficient. But me like you, didn't get cos of the cost. I am still going to use my trusty $75 avent manual pump.

finally logged o. heehee...wanted to log on whil in delivery suite (can bring laptop), but hubby dun allow me. told him i need distraction, but he only allow me to watch TV, listen music. hehs...in the end, I kept SMS-ing frens....kekeke.
(Nurses were saying "this one still can laugh and SMS frens...")

Will be discharged today. Now, BF-ing baby (and typing at the same time), and she's been hooked to my left breast for the past 40 mins...my arm is super tired...

Birth story is pretty long (11hrs plus other eisodes). Will update when I'm more awake.
Now "zombie-fied" from all that 2 to 3 hourly feeds...

Yes! now can go back to watching CSI!!

Hi constance,
Whr to get the playtex disposable liners?

Thanks Jean. i better nt mix them.

petrina,
can u send me pine garden package?

Higgledy,
i dun feel the stitches alrdy. maybe u check wi ur gynae on ur wounds? i m going back to see my gynae next week.

wow!! so many mommies have popped!
Congrats to linda,jeelomeelo,babyterelle, alien, CSI, slimz & hazel!

i think my mucus plug is detached as i have very brown & thick sticky discharge with some bloody discharge .. no contractions or anything else but the backache is killing me! so guess now gotta wait patiently either for contractions/water bag burst ba

hi crystalz and happi,

i actually haven't gotten the package from them yet, u can email them at [email protected] and request for the package..

from what i know.. there are different customisations also so can mix and match..

my bb not out yet so still procrasinating on the full month thingy.. hehehhe..

CSI,

u gave birth without epi??

yesterday went to see gynae and didn't realise that i was having regular mild contractions already.. but funny thing was all along i thought it was bb moving her butt only.. thats why a little hard..

then she say maybe yesterday or today will give birth.. but until now.. still not much feeling leh.. sianz...

missylan,

i love lavish dine's bread pudding.. got it for both my wedding recept and bro's birthday..

u're right about the quantity though.. just nice only.. hehe

by the way.. i realised that most mummies who give birth here got other mummies to post that they have given birth already?

do u all communicate via msn or mobile? can i join u gals too??

Constance: prob u are tall.. i am onli 1.54m, then he said bb big..

yuppie. i also lazy to hear.. jus hope i can deliver naturally.

my hb's granny jus passed away on Friday night.. went to the wake ytd but was barred from gng.. so alone at home now. gng over to mummy's place later... v not used to be alone.. and HB not ard. hopefully bb wont come out this time.

my MIL also clearing her AL to wait for mi to deliver.. hope my bb will stay till then

didnt log in till now. wow! congrats to the many mummies who gave birth already!

hi wiselyn, yup, im the same one from Sg brides. hee...

cookiemz, the doc i/c will be KT tan.

hi missylan,

i ordered lavish dine for my 2nd dau 1st bday too
! they are so difficult to catch! i tried ordering from them 3-4x but successful only once, coz they are always fully booked!

i agree their portion is not alot, just nice only.. my guests liked the food too, except old folks dont really know how to appreciate angmoh food :p so i guess w xmas round the corner, they shld b fully booked on 22nd liao

do u have other reco?

talking abt pump.. i used PIS for 3-4yrs... its convenient but i very KS n rush for time (was FTWM), always turn to max suction, so can hurt abit. but no complains so fair. but now with my #3.. i m at home, i use avent manual pump, efficient too n kinder to the nipples

just discharge 2day, busy w e bb till nw. I will b mia 4 a while as i doing confinement at my mum pl which don hv internet. Here my jovan pix at day 2:
1113999.jpg