(2007/12) Dec 2007 MTB

congrats to the mummies who have just popped!!

CSI fan,

i am surviving with 1 slow cooker! my nanny usually starts to cook the red date tea before she sleeps, so the tea will be ready early in the morning. after that the cooker will be free to cook your herbal soups for lunch/dinner and supper. my nanny prepares 2 thermal flasks of the tea for me everyday, any leftovers will be discarded. hope this helps.

re : durians during confinement

my nanny said durians are okay during confinement coz they are supposed to BU!! she said during her time, she had durians with rice and they were yummy... so.. i had my 1st durian puff yesterday, absolutely heavenly

linda,

thot you gone to pop liao... talk to baby and ask him to cooperate lor... it helps ;)

cookiemz,
I don't think durian is under "bu" fruits leh. It is under heaty and damn high carbo! If you want to gain weight during your confinement then hahaha...

linda, haha! so funny say shake legs and wait at home to give birth...

petrina, wah...ur aunt's plants very lucky leh....got Bm to drink!

belle, howz ur bb's weight now? got catch up not?

Pretina & BBnGG:
thks for the advice. i will ask my gynae tmr. if he says ok, then i book appt w/ strip.

Blessed:
Congrats. :D

hi Belle,

I was at Dr Lim clinic's on Sat. Aiyah miss you again. my next gynae appointment is this coming Friday? you leh. I hope i dun need to see him this friday cos that will means that i have alredy given birth. he he really cant wait to iv bitth soon.

wow seems like a lot of mummies might be giving birth today. he he !

hi constance,

not quiet quiet... its coz i was so paranoid the whole of last fri after my gynae visit coz she said, "anytime now"

so whole fri i was "imagining" things, so kept asking my friend how is labour signs like? haha then till after dinner i cant tahan the suspense.. coz i TOT i had reg contraction at 5mins apart.. so admitted myself to TMc. the nurse said i had 5mins constraction (but i dont feel pain) n 2 cm dilated. since its my #3, i shld not go back home coz labour can b quick. so afrer 3-4hrs i delivered my #3

my gals are at my mum hse in the day, at night they still ret home.. quite shiong initially coz they keep looking for me dugin bed time. no choice my hb got to lock them inside the room w him. set up TV, dvd etc etc to entertain them haa. in the day my mum will also pop by to see how things are..but most impt to NAG at me this n that cannot do loh.

my maid also went home, on the day i delivered! but we are coping fine w/o her. laudry use washer.. dishes, not that many anyway, flr just use magic clean..tt's abt it

Gina: Oh.. tt fast.. popping out.. i still got 5 weeks to go.. my appt is next Friday.. ur full name Geogrina?

Pierced: i think our gynae also sian in measuring the wt.. since it's onli an estimated wt and margin of error is pretty big..

Gina: Bingo.. yuppie.. i seen u before on sat's appt.. early early appt. i went with hubby.. hubby always sit there and slp slp slp..
heehee...

Just a feeling tt i have seen u before.. heehee..

I din feel any dull ache and my baby's fully engaged.

Thanks for the reviews on waxing. I'm gonna book my appt now since gynae gave me green light - she said it's better than being shaved.

belle, ya lor i thk so too, haha, den everytime i ask him same question. he say depends whether bb take a deep breath at that time den seems bigger oso.

blessed/jean,

alo all,
i'm back. got a lot of discharge today, that's why went to gynae. am officially bedresting at home liao. no more go to work. anyway, the discharge increase dunno why. doctor say my cervic is still at about 2cm, baby heartbeat ok, water bag level seems ok. She sent did a swab test and we'll see the results la ....

anyway, i flunked my glucose challenge. officially declared gestational diabetes. quite sian. went to see dietician. dietician said it's not exactly that high but because it's higher than normal and now that i am pregnant, doc won't take chance to just let me go without reviewing my diet. that cost me $75. having GD is not a good thing, and doc said in the past few wks i had traces of sugar in urine and this mon only i did the glucose test, she cannot determine when the GD actually started. anyway, took back the prick kit and would start pricking on this saturday. meanwhile, i need to watch my carbo intake.

She told me that if she were to induce me this week, bb is still a little preterm (borderline case) and COULD have breathing difficulty when born preterm, coz i am GD. So she has concern. Anyway, she said she wants the bb out by next friday. So mid next wk could be my induce date, provided i'm not having more surprises this wk.

this 4days in a row, i've been going to GlenE and seeing my gynae. I hope not to see her until this Friday when i have my appointment. and spent like so much over these few days!

linda,
keep me out of the to-watch-list. hahaa i hope to be out of top20. not in top20. i hope, still hoping.... if my sugar level back to normal hor, i hope my gynae would change her mind and tell me to carry on til wk40

hi good afternoon ladies,

i am from the jan 08 MTBs thread... but looks like i will need to join the dec 07 thread after my detailed growth scan.

i just got back from the gynae and JL mega sale. i was late for the detailed growth scan therefore was being penalised for 2 hrs, wait till 1130pm before my turn (appt @ 9am but 30 mins late). the results of the growth scan didn't turn well... baby's weight is only 1.4kg @ 31w 5d and her waistline is much smaller as compared to the standard. there's a call for concern as this is not due to genetic (both me and my DH are tall and huge) so gynae highly recommend me to "bail" her out the during 34-35 weeks as he says that baby is feeling "stressed" inside the womb (means tat she will be a dec 07 baby). appts has been made to see the KK and Mt E gynae on thurs and mon respectively for 2nd and 3rd opinion... and also need to go back to this gynae for another detailed growth scan 1 week later...

i better go prepare all the baby stuff now to welcome her early arrival...

Re: JL mega expo sale

luckily my DH went with me... we were in there for less than 10 mins then exit out. nothing to buy, WASTE OF TIME, PETROL, PARKING!!! they have very limited baby stuff ie. lucky brand strollers, no brand playpen (cheap and very cheapo looking), cheeky bon bon, pureen and tollyjoy stuff. its more like a departmental organise PASAR MALAM...

sassy,
Welcome, I should be in Nov MTB also lah. You meant the recent JL sales? I went there too, bought a bonbon sleep positioner and a tricycle for my #1. Nothing to buy one...

my milk supply is low... my bb can latch on one side but not the other... sigh.. then pumping out is miserable.. now bb admitted to hospital for jaundice.. will only be back on thurs.. haiz.. then wanna pump out for her.. but see the supply so low i oso sianz liaoz... just feel that she gets more on latching..

how to pump more milk? haiz... now i pump every 2 hours to collect milk for my bb. Rather have at least one feed of breast milk to bring to her.

crystalz,
I'm not at the BF stage yet...hehs...but I know of one thing...don't give up! You can do it! (I probably need the same kind of encouragement when it's my turn). Dun give yourself too much stress also. Not sure if that might have effect on the supply? Just keep pumping and maintain a healthy diet (with less ginger). Did you try the fish and papaya soup?

went to see gynae on sat...baby not likely to be early...still have enuf water, so he is comfortable....so, got abt 1 mth more to go

CSI,

i just tried the papaya soup today... hopefully it will work...

I cried.. cos bb oso cried when latching.. sigh.. its so hard to have a good latch.. latching is real struggle between us.. my husband very supportive on breastfeeding.. but the difficulty i encounter really very tiring and really see her cry my heart break...

missycow,

its the JL mega expo sale which starts today. really disappointing and a waste of time.
no point visiting unless u wanna kill time and just go there to jalan jalan...

hazel,

can you pls add me to the list? TIA

edd: 22 Jan 08
hospital: mt E
gynae: dr ben neo
sex: its a GIRL
BB #1

engorgement,

how to relieve it ah? my breast start to harden... but not painful yet.. i scared it will become painful soon. What can i do?

Crystalz,
Cheer up...if your decision is to TBF all the way, then ignore what others say, and perservere on. When you go visit your gal at the hospital, possible to visit the lactation consultant too? Can get some advice from the consultant...

Meanwhile, continue to pump to keep the supply going...

Crystal,
Don't be too gan cheong, mine came after 5th or 6th day. 2 cases of engorgement...

1st - engorged yet no milk supply coming out even when pumping. You got to feel for lumps, might be milk glands blocked. Then you got to use warm towel, wipe ard your bust and massage while feeding. Massage towards the exit (nipple). Have to clear those lumps! If you don't clear them, you will have problem.

2nd - Engorgement with milk... you got to pump or latch on every 2 hours to clear.

Try to latch on, cos latch on is the best method to sitmulate and increase milk for these first few weeks!

wowww more mummies popped...CONGRATULATIONS TO ALL! i can't wait for my turn...pretty excited! :D

engorgement...how abt the 'cabbage therapy' for engorgement (as featured in wong bb's class)?

mummies,pls advise...
for baby's going home outfit...what kind will be more suitable? is a romper enough coz baby will be swaddled anyway,rite?
then also need to bring booties,mittens,hat,receiving blanket...anything else for baby to wear?

dinut,
I think the cabbage therapy is more for the 2nd stage of engorgement kinda thing (maciam like inflamation)...like, if it's not treated, then it worsens, so use cabbage. Initial part, use the hot/warm towel (heat treatment) to massage.

Hmmm, what else can your bb wear? seems like u've got everything bb needs leh. heehee...

Hiya, yeah man, it gets worse, i cheong until 7 plus this morning and send out and went to sleep and then today at 11 am got email from him with comments saying must turn round and send out by this afternoon!! what the @(&$#*()*!

only 3 more days lah, today i went to gynae in the morning (thank god - I think if i have to see him in office, i may just lose it and scold him and dont want to do it cos i tahan so long already, better to avoid and after this week, just ciao in peace)...the good news is baby is now 2.551 kg at the beginning of 36 weeks, he put on 320 grams in the last two weeks, think by the 38th week, will be 2.8-2.9 kg like my No. 1. so at least i had a nice start to my day after the tekan session.

too all new moms struggling with the breastfeeding/pumping, dont give up lah, just take care of your nipples!!! i'm serious!! cos the one common problem is the sore and cracked nipples, then kena infection, then kena blocked ducts then kena sudden high fever, then even the "good" breast will become the not so good producing one hahah...remember to keep air drying them after pump/feed (means walk around shirtless for a while haha)

but if you so lucky to have too much milk can always freeze them in bags and next time when baby sick those kind, breast milk damn good and multipurpose, someone once told me even can put on your pimples hahah...shall we all do a test and see whether work or not? this kind must empirical evidence one!

dinut,
Bring 1 normal set of newborn clothes can liao... then swaddle them to make them feel secure. For me, don't need fanciful clothes anyway they will be swaddled up. I know for TMC, they do provide mitten and booties. I dun dress cap/hat for my NB also cos Singapore weather beri warm liao, wait heatstroke. Some receiving blanket also got a hood. Kekeke

Cabbage method is for those engorgement yet milk supply can flow out one. Blocked milk gland cannot use this method.

I went to see gynae this morning. She says bb engaged and position very very low already, plus amniotic fluid starting to get low, advise me to induce immediately. Anyway, already 2cm dilated. So at 10.30am, inserted first pill.

I'm now resting at home, contractions still mild, about 45min apart. I'll have to wait till 8pm to admit to GlenE for observation, and insert another pill if necessary.

Well, looks like will be popping tonight or tomorrow. Pray hard won't go into emergency c-sec!

Higgledy,
Oh thats great! Luckily your hubby is in spore liao, wont missed baby's arrival

Have a smooth delivery and update us. Must be very excited!!

hi fairylander,

congrats!!! saw the chart and u were among the top 3... may i ask at how many weeks did u deliver your baby as she is quite small rite (only 1.6kg plus)? did she stay in the ICU? im at my 31.5weeks and baby only weighs ard 1.4kg, gynae recommended me to deliver her at 34weeks due to some complications. he says that my baby is feeling stressed inside my womb...

Missycow, I'm not concern about what to do with the milk coz I will freeze them if necessary. But I need to slow down the rate my right breast is getting producing milk because it gets engorged every 3 hrs if I dont pump. If I continue pumping, it gets more and more engorged faster, like a vicious cycle. Now dunno how....

CrystalZ, my milk supply was very little at first too but now I have the reverse problem. I tried taking this fenugreek supplement that I bought from the doctor. And also because I pump every 3 hours, it builds up the supply quite well very quickly also. You might want to try that.

Any remedy for sore nipples? After I latch baby, a bit of skin from nipple flakes off and part of the nipple is pinkish raw and sore. This is even after I put nipple cream all the time. That is preventing me from latching baby even though now the supply is building up well.

missylan,

i still can pump... but the milk is pathetic.. so the engorgement should be under which one ah?
and its harden even if i use pump leh... haiz

Crystalz
I remember Mrs Wong said to be careful with hot / warm towel in case you scald yourself. In fact she does not recommend it but she is quite pro the cabbage treatment. Try it and don't give up!

hi sassy,
i delivered my ger at 36weeks.ya she is small at birth.she was in icu wen born.then i transfer her to kkh after 5 days.now she is in special care nursery in kkh.she is doin quite well now juz have to gain weight till 2kg then i can bring her home.u try ask ur gynae if ur bb deliver at 34 weeks is it ok?if he/she can breath/suck on her own then shouldnt be a problem.feel free to ask me if u have anymore question.dun worry to much.

thanks fairylander. may i know the wat was the damaged like during her 5 days ICU stay in glenE? thereafter, when u transfer her to kkh, was she considered a private patient? and wat is the average bill size per day in KKH? TIA