(2007/12) Dec 2007 MTB

Hi Etelle
I do have a maid to help out with hsewk and my mum stays over at my place during weekdays to look after my dd.

Ya lor, blessed.
Comes nite time, very siong. Me and hb will take turns to be with each kid. When it is my turn to accompany my ds, it is always a "bone breaking" affair for me now. Cos i have to sleep on those "thin thin" mattress on the floor while waiting for him to fall asleep in his bed. Sometimes will fall asleep and getting up is really very hard, esp now.

Hi mel/ missylan
I will not be bringing my breastpump to hospital too. I let my bbies latch directly in the hospital. anyway, the supply will only come after 3-4 days.

Missylan, my CL who is also my aunt, won't let me latch direct for my past 2 confinements. Cos she believe that bbies won't get enuff rest if they keep waking up for milk. So i will pump out and she feed from bottles, so that she can monitor how much they r drinking. Sometimes at most, she will let me latch for one time a day. This way, i also get sufficient rest at nite cos only wake up once to pump. The rest of the times when bb wake up for milk at nite, she will feed expressed milk. I think for me, expressing doesn't really affect my milk supply. I managed to breastfeed my dd for 8mths.

I think sufficient rest, nutritious meals and pumping/latching help in increasing milk supply.

Hi Etelle
I do have a maid to help out with hsewk and my mum stays over at my place during weekdays to look after my dd.

Ya lor, blessed.
Comes nite time, very siong. Me and hb will take turns to be with each kid. When it is my turn to accompany my ds, it is always a "bone breaking" affair for me now. Cos i have to sleep on those "thin thin" mattress on the floor while waiting for him to fall asleep in his bed. Sometimes will fall asleep and getting up is really very hard, esp now.

Hi mel/ missylan
I will not be bringing my breastpump to hospital too. I let my bbies latch directly in the hospital. anyway, the supply will only come after 3-4 days.

Missylan, my CL who is also my aunt, won't let me latch direct for my past 2 confinements. Cos she believe that bbies won't get enuff rest if they keep waking up for milk. So i will pump out and she feed from bottles, so that she can monitor how much they r drinking. Sometimes at most, she will let me latch for one time a day. This way, i also get sufficient rest at nite cos only wake up once to pump. The rest of the times when bb wake up for milk at nite, she will feed expressed milk. I think for me, expressing doesn't really affect my milk supply. I managed to breastfeed my dd for 8mths.

I think sufficient rest, nutritious meals and pumping/latching help in increasing milk supply.

hi agnes,

we have the same gynae! from my experience, very tough to get hosp/MC leave from her, so i din manage to get any. however i heard other pp managed to get.. so no harm trying, you may be the few lucky ones
!

any mummies here not using nipple cream but using breast milk to rub the nipple and areola b4 feeding bb?? i heard tat this is a much more effective way than nipple cream...

btw, for mummies who apply nipple cream, do u apply way b4 to prevent nipple cracks or apply only after nipple cracks?

anyone use nipple protector too???

hi blessed,

realli hope she can gif me...cos im left with 2 days of leave.....
and my edd is 13/12.
i wan to work till end nov and start mc for 1 wk and wen 1 week is up, start ML...tats my ideal arrangement....
if i start ML on 1/12....i sorta of waste ML at hme and will have less time to spend with bb...
other pple who managed to get gif wat excuses? tired, stressed ar????

agnes
i never use nipple protector nor use nipple cream le...i do use BM to apply around the nipple each time le to lubricate to prevent cracking lor...

constance
yeah my friends all dun latch and they express out and they fed their babies till 12 mths one le
so think hor as long as u stimualte whetehr latch or express will have milk. Or put it in another way have milk means have dun have means dun have hor...

missylan,

not sure if i was the one who recommended Strip to you
but the lady i used was Agnes. Not bad! She's at Wheelock Place outlet.

Missylan,

Hmm the procedure? If it's your first time, they will ask you to make sure you get gynea's clearance etc and to sign some clearance form (clear them of any responsibility).

If your pain threshold is low, then I wont advise doing 100% brazilian wax (I think they call it XXXX). Can do less traumatic version X or XX or XXX pull off less hair la! :p

Oh, they will also recommend using hard wax vs soft wax, which is less painful for preggies.

The first time is the most painful, cos that's when you have the most 'hair' to wax off. Subsequently, much less 'pain'. I went for my 2nd session already, it wasn't painful at all, but once you start waxing you might want to continue doing it cos its nice and clean without hair down there (just that maintenance is costly!).

hi etelle,

i was also told so tat nipple cream doesnt work..in fact, breast milk works much more effectively.....

hmmmm...i guees..i know wat to do...no need buy nipple cream!!!hehehe.....

but i hand itchy go and buy nipple protector....duno wat r it uses n jus buy...wow bian...

agnes,

actually i also heard breast milk very effective in lubricating nipples. However, my cousin who has 3 kids already said that we can start moisturizing our nipples (using cream) now liao, cos it will be very dry later on! Got to prepare our nipples early!

also, she said that sometimes, some mummies are 'put off' by the smell of their own breast milk etc so might not want to rub it on their own nipples so maybe still need nipple cream!

Hiya, I had probs latching on my first one so am bringing the pump along in case i can't latch again, but generally agree that if you can latch direct, then should stick to it so that baby can learn how to latch and it seems to be the best way to stimulate demand (and easiest oso, no need to wash and sterilise extra stuff), my pump is only there as backup in case I can't latch again.

But just in case you have the same probs as me the first time, dont give up, i started pumping at home (no latching at all) and managed to breastfeed (not exclusively, about 60% bm and 40% supplementing) for 10 months, at least some breastmilk better than none right? I had to stop because i had to travel for work but could have gone on as an exclusive pumping mom for quite long. so this time, just bringing the pump along for backup but will really try harder to latch on now and will call a lactation consultant if i have any probs.

actually, be warned, it's usually the older generation that is most discouraging about breastfeeding, need a lot of earplugs and best to kick everyone out of the room except yourself and the nurse/lactation consultant when trying to breast feed.

Wow alot of moms are popping ahead of schedule! So exciting! I've just started packing my hospital bag, suddenly realise not much stuff to bring!

missylan
i was also advised not to pump until my ss stablised. I was so gong that i did not even pump our my milk on the side that my baby is not feeding. End up my ss was lopsided!

Waxing
Someone mention about Wax Affair. Can i know the charges? Decided to go to Wax Affair instead of my regular waxer for convenience. I rem my last pregnancy I went for waxing, really ouch!! cuz the skin is more sensitive. But I still wanna wax cuz i think its cleaner with all the lochia that will be coming!

hmmm, I've been eating lots of junk food too...cham...Just bought a packet of keropok (those $2 per pack kind, sold by the uncle in a van...hahaha). My colleagues see already also shake head. heehee...

aiyoh, I dun dare to go for wax leh. heehee...

me resting at home now.....getting xcited coz tom morning i will deliver my boy via c-section. Just finish packing my hospital bag

hi constance,

my gals do not want my hb at all at bedtime! so i hv to entertain 2 of them.. good thing my elder gal willing to listen to me, i allow her to lie beisde me till she fall asleep on her own. my younger gal more troublesome, she needs me to LOOK at her while she fall asleep.. so she will lie on the other side on the mattress while i lie on my bed to LOOK at her.

hi agnes,

your edd very close to mine, did dr tan estimate when you will deliver? me sick of being preg liao... the biggest regret for me is not asking if she can induce me this week when i visited her last fri.... on top of being so xinku (my prob is nausea n bad appetite)... i also very kancheong 3rd one, dont know can get to hosp in time to use epidural hahaha... my first n 2nd labour pretty fast, 6hr n 3hr each... so cant imagine how quick this will b..scared scared

BBtree,
wow.. jia you... wow, another popping son.. heehee...

Did u ladies also buy formula milk to standby? shld i also buy 1 bottle to in casE?

botanist,
Thank you. Cos dun want down there bushy and made my wound painful after delivering the child. Easier to cleanse also.

Thanks CSI Fan.
Belle, i know Thomson Medical, there is someone like the nurse to guide u on breastfeeding. As for other hopsital, i believe they shd hv it too!

botanist,
realli? baby johnson lotion ar??? can or nt?? keke

blessed,
wen is ur edd? dr tan never say...last thurs i went to see her....which i am at 36 week, she aso never tell me bb engaged areadi or nt or am i dilated...

i ask her one leh...den she said haven....den she said 4 wks plus minus lo....

this thurs, will still ask her the same qn if bb engaged and am i dilated....

u mentioned that she said u gg to deliver in 1 wk time ar??? wow...but u said our edd veri near leh...how cum urs is 1 wk but mine is 4 wks plus minus.....

ur bb engaged alreadi? r u dilated areadi too?

Belle,
Some mama believe purely on breastmilk though it will come only after 4th days, my case 6th days after delivered. Bbs are believe to be able to starve (without milk) for days also. See you are that heartless or not lor, can bear with bb crying etc. I did prepared a can of formula (S26) standby... I am prepared to half formula and half breastfeeding for the first few weeks so that I can have good rest.

Missylan: tks a lot.. will also buy one standby.. Super blur wad to do man... Was jus a little gal.. now gng to be mummy.. a bit not used to it.. heehee

BBtree: Tks a lot for your reply..

Mt A Shld have also right? anyone any experience?

Hi Coco, Blessed and Agnes,

Have you tried giving Dr. Tan your birthplan? I want to give her my birthplan because I heard that she burst a lady's waterbag without telling the patient. But because she is so strict, I am scared that her face will be black black after I pass her my birthplan. Any comments? Maybe can email me. [email protected]

Linda,
Same same... pregnant already not enough sleep and good rest liao, wah think I will not wake up to breastfeed(latch on), the most wait for full milk supply then express out.

hi agnes,

haha you got alot of qns... which was in my mind too!! she did not tell me if bb engaged, if i m dilated or anything, just said "i week more"... my edd is dec10. 1 week more means i will b in my 38weeks... for my previous 2 pregs, i delivered both "natural" in my 38 weeks too.. so mayb base on this and also my V check she estimate to b 1 more week. ya you shld ask her all these qn on ur mind... i wanted to know, but din really dare to ask so much, later she think y tell me 1 more week liao i still want to know so much, so lor soh.

hi limko,

for both my deliveries, i dont rem her telling me she is bursting my waterbag.. or mayb she did but i was too "blur" to hear her already at that time.

Birth plan? no leh i din try telling her.. coz i dont have 1?? haha all i know is MINIMISE pain which i told her a few times thru'out n i m always quick to tell her EPIDURAL needed! but for this time, i m wondering if i can administer epidural first then break water bag? coz breaking water bag is sooooooo painful!

Mt A is very pro-bf, for my #1, the nurses were very helpful in teaching me and my bb how to latch properly. When I got home, they were also very supportive when i called to ask questions. What I felt most impt was whether need to feed fm if ss not established in the first few days, the LC said not to worry, bbs dun feel hungry in the frist few days so what we mummies have is enuff to tong til supply comes in.

bbtree
have a gd rest
What time is your op? Mine early morn so will be staying over at the hosp the night before op.

yaya..i heard of one mother BM in the day and wen her mother (the bb grandmother) take care of the bb in the nite, jus feed bb with FM.

the reason is coz wan the bb's mother to be undisturbed at nite....

blessed,
i c....V check means vagina check??? will she check there starting from now....

cos wen i see her everi visit, shs dun check unless i say i suspect i have yeast infection etc den she check...

sometimes, i wish i can ask her to induce birth but haf second tots coz feel tat if bb wans to come out, she wil come out....

haa...we veri cham hor...we pay $ to see her...and we so scared of her this and tat....

limko,
i dun have a birth plan wo...i leave my fate in her hands...

thanks all ladies for your blessing.
Claire, i will be admittg to Thomson Medical tonite after 11.30pm. Tom 9am will be my delivery.

bbtree,
haf a smooth delivery...another mummy popping liao!!!

btw,
i duno whether is it true or not....Nan FM is similar to BM, tats y some mummies like Nan coz if wan to wean bb off BM and switch to FM, it wud be easier

bbtree, all the best for your delivery!

botanist, do I need to call for an appointment first before going down to strip??

agnes,

i think any moisturiser is fine but really depends on your skin sensitivity. i play safe, using cetaphil now. But i think if you also got nipple cream, either medela or whatever brand, can also use. As long your skin not sensitive, anything shld be fine. If not, better go with unscented or more natural type of creams.

hehe sorry, i very lor soh.

lynzi,

Yup! Must make appointment first. Cos they only have a few rooms there (small outlet) so if you dont schedule appointment might not be able to get a slot!

Can I check with u mommies here...how often do I need to replace the valve and membrane of the breast pump?

Yesterday when my breast pump arrived, I realised that there is only 1 valve and membrane provided and I have yet to buy extra...quite worried here.

Thanks botanist. Will call them for an appointment. Hopefully my baby will not decide to pop out before I go for waxing...hehe

Missylan,

they will ask u 2 for a consent prefably for u to ask ur gynae.

they will use hard wax vs soft wax, which is less painful for preggies. they will cut ur hair slightly shorter, den apply the warm wax n pull it out.

depends on ur pain threshold- whether u can tahan the pain anot but just dink dat when the contraction realli comes... is even much painful. for me, my first time is not that painful. but once you start waxing you would wan 2 continue doing it cos its nice & clean.

Gloomybear
Thank you for the info. Do you know if they offer hard wax? I will pop by just before I pop!!

BBtree, all the best for your delivery tommorrow!!

missylan,

can try out their facial today... is specially designed post-wax to prevent in-grown hair.... is onli 10mins

gloomy bear,

was it painful as its ur first time?

i'm planning to go next monday..

thought the one at wheelock place is called 'Strip'? a little confused now on the shop's name..

CSI,
me still bracing up myself for the wax.. scared of the pain.. haha.. u sure u dun wanna do it?

seems like quite a few mummies here have gone for it already.. gives me more confidence to go for it..