(2007/12) Dec 2007 MTB

linda
ops,,,so better start to buy,oh today wednesday leh....
u make me tempted to buy oso, coz I know my date came out like 2-3weeks ago also,talk talk now again scarly tonite come up again must bang wall liao..

Here's something funny to share. Hope it takes away some stress that most of us are feeling right now. Enjoy reading

"The Washcloth"
Ladies this has to be read, laughed at and passed on. There is not a woman alive today who won't crack up over this!

I was due for an appointment with the gynecologist later in the week.

Early one morning, I received a call from the doctor's office to tell me that I had been rescheduled for that morning at 9:30 am.

I had only just packed everyone off to work and school, and it was already around 8:45am. The trip to his office took about 35 minutes, so I didn't have any time to spare.

As most women do, I like to take a little extra effort over hygiene when making such visits, but this time I wasn't going to be able to make the full effort.

So, I rushed upstairs, threw off my pajamas, wet the washcloth that was sitting next to the sink, and gave myself a quick wash in that area to make sure I was at least presentable. I threw the washcloth in the clothes basket, donned some clothes, hopped in the car and raced to my appointment.

I was in the waiting room for only a few minutes when I was called in. Knowing the procedure, as I'm sure you do, I hopped up on the table, looked over at the other side of the room and pretended that I was in Paris or some other place a million miles away. I was a little surprised when the doctor said, "My, we have made an extra effort this morning, haven't we?" I didn't respond.

After the appointment, I heaved a sigh of relief and went home.

The rest of the day was normal . Some shopping, cleaning, cooking.

After school when my 6 year old daughter was playing, she called out from the bathroom, "Mommy, where's my washcloth?"

I told her to get another one from the cupboard.

She replied, "No, I need the one that was here by the sink, it had all my glitter and sparkles saved inside it."

Never going back to that doctor. Ever.

Linda, thanks for the fish and papaya soup recipe. i was just wondering where to get it?

Btw, I heard that too much danggui during confinement will reduce milk supply. Mummies who are BFing might want to take heed. i'm now taking the chicken essence with danggui but once I heard that, I decided to stop.

Went to Dr today. Surprised to find out that I'm already 2cm dilated and baby engaged already. Suppose to go for induction next Thurs but Dr says might come before that even. Getting very excited!

rachel,
good for you! 18 nov is a good day! i did consider this date too but my gynae thinks it's a little too early for me as i would have just reached 36 weeks....

have a safe and smooth delivery!

valeriet, hahahha the joke's funny.

Rachel, Twiggy all the best! You all so fast.. Hope I'm not the last mtb waiting to pop here.. otherwise will be so lonely. :p

Twiggy, u dilated n bb engaged, got any special feeling down there? Was asking Linda also.. wanna know how's it like in advance. hehe

baked bean,
dang gui is not the same as cordyceps la... cordyceps is much more expensive than dang gui!

twiggy,
how many weeks are you already? haha... next thur is my hubby's birthday! you have a smooth and safe delivery too! ;P

Btw, heard from my fren with the same gynae that he will not do VE for 1st time MTBs.. cos wont deliver so fast. So guess I wont know how many cm dilated also? Gd too.. cos I'm scared of the pain. And my fren say for her, also no need to shave for natural delivery! Gd ah.. hopefully I also no need.

Linda, yah, better go buy your number. heehee...hmmm... I never thot of buying. haha. always dun have the luck leh. heehee...

Wow Twiggy, so exciting! Hmmm, just wondering, does it feel any different now that baby's engaged?

Valeriet, it's a funny story! Thanks for sharing. It does relieves some stress...

Bluelily / Dodo,
I'm 36 weeks plus now, so next week will be just exactly full term at 37 weeks. No leh, I can't tell any diff that I engaged leh. Although I did notice I been waddling even more, but it was a gradual thing. But I dunno how long I have been 2cm dilated because gyne only did the first VE for me today. Dr only says today the baby's head is very low in the pelvis, so cannot see his full head on the ultrasound already. So must have been engaged in the last two weeks.

our thread is getting mroe and more interesting le haha everyone starting to pop....wohoo!!!

Went gynae today bbe stimate at 3.7kg at 37-38wks. then gynae told me that weight of bb cannot determine whether shd natural or c section cuz some maybe mass heavier not the physical size so have to see when the time comes....was also put on ctg to monitor bb heartbeat everything's well..

hang in there mummies we 're all popping soonz!

Etelle: 3.7kg wow.. big big wor.. gng to pop out v soon sia..

Talking bt packages from the gynae, i was mentioning to my hubby ytd tt mine dun have packahe.. a bit not worth it.. He v funni saying of cos la.. as our gynae v popular.. no pple to tight pple down with packages.. He so popular, no need package.. which is more expensive but each time we see him.. his clinic is forever full. Each wait is abt 2hrs....hahaha..

but if i m gng to have another child, gng to sign up package.. much cheaper.. else broke man...

went to check up tis morning bb weight had increase from 1628g to 1775g.spotted some pinkish discharge and some contraction.gynae said its sign of labour.looks loke my gal she know i will be gg to c-sect on 17/11 sat so she like give me signal.hehe.all the best and have a smooth delivery to those who is gg to deliver soon.jia you!!cheers

Constance,
My new maid tried to share her drink with my son, but since she is inexperience I told her cannot share anything with my children.

PD = Paediatrician
If you happen to have one or by recommendation, this PD will come to visit your newborn in the nursery. Will check the newborn's health when in hospital but anyhow you can change your PD when discharge or a PD near your house.

Etelle, your baby's big! Mine's only 2.4kg now, and will probably be just over 2.5kg when born. But he doesnt seem to be growing much more inside my belly.

Fairyland, that's great! He's very close to 2kg which is a very good weight that PDs usually benchmark against. Wont be long till baby hits that weight. All the best for your labour!

belle
i hope i popped soon though haha big enough to come out liaoz hee :p

Twiggy
haha my first bb at delivery is 3.67kg le and they said normally 2nd one also bigger so.....what to do haha :p

My son's PD is Ang Ai Tin from TMC also. She is very funny, observent and attentive, saw her few times on TV regarding children's health. Though I live in Seng Kang, I travel all the way there. Rivervale Mall got a Kids Clinic, 2 female PDs there, nice too but queue too packed!

Etelle:

wow, ur bb is quite big leh. at 33wks, my bb was 2.3kg. going for chkup again. hoping bb wont b too big when due. :p

Hi MTBs,

Thank u for the well wishes. Actually I am a bit excited and a little apprehensive. As don't know what to expect. Gynae will do a c-section with epi. Gyane was saying that it's like visiting the dentist kind of feeling. Awake and knows something is going on but can't feel anything wor.

Now 37 weeks plus and bb is 2.7kg. So I guess gynae thinks in another 2 weeks time bb will be too big for my frame.

Good luck to all the mtbs that are going to pop. Have a smooth delivery.

Remember to buy 4D har this weekend.

Hi missylan
yup, agree that kids clinic Q is quite long. so what i usually do is, go there, take Q number, then go home and wait for nurse to call me.

Hey Rach,
my operation scheduled on 18th Dec (1812), one month after yours.

coco, not too sure abt the charges, but PDs normally slightly ex than polyclinics and GPs. Dr Ong quite jovlous and nice according to my sis,

Ya i will, right now my boy is still comfy staying in my tummy, I wish he don pop out now, going to miss his kickings if he pop, hehe!

Hi Constance,

Wow! u booked yr c-section so early?

Hi fairylander,

I will be delivering at TMC. What about u? Have a smooth delivery too.

hi rach and twiggy,

congrats to your big day!! aiyoo i wished its me :p... this fri seeing my gynae, really pray can hear good news from her... that i will deliver very soon.

hi cocoangel,

Dr ek ong also attended to my #1 n #2... we quite like him, thus will bring our kids to see him when we need a PD... we also seen Dr PL Ang (long story, signed up his vaccine package, then once sign up, his attitude different, and to my horror, i paid so much for the package yet it was his nurses who jab my kid!)... din like him and heard alot of complains abt him too.

hi fairylander,

all the best to you too
...dont worry ok, my good friend gynae always say "a bird in hand is better then 2 on the tree"..tt's y he very KS, induced my friend 2x for her both preg and her bbies were only 36weeks (though i hope my gyane practice this too!)

sorry, i seemed to be ranting abt how i want to deliver asap.. i m on leave already, its a torture to be waiting with my nausea n very poor appetite.

i'm the worse la, after last fri's scare, i still dono when will i pop though gynae say will pop anytime, :D

ya blessed, my sis quite like Dr Ong too, that's y she always bring her dd to see him when needed.

i dun wan to pop too soon cos i'm sure gonna missed baby's kicking!! but working so late everyday is really draining me at the same time.. haiz...

jeelomeelo,
I spoke to my gynae about PD yesterday, mentioning that I would like to change to Dr Ngiam. But she still advised me to go with Dr Yip instead, saying that Dr Yip specialises in newborn.

You see, I was intending to change to Dr Chan Kit Yee after discharge (she is based in AMK), so Dr Yip will only take care of bb for 1st few days. Apparently, Dr Ngiam is one of the older and more senior PD over there, so not very nice to use him for a few days then switch. My gynae says, if I'm intending to use Dr Ngiam for long term, then it's ok.

As for anaestetist, my gynae says we can only choose if going for c-sec or induction. If natural, can only see who is available at that time.

Previously, I was also considering going for Brazilian wax. After checking with gynae, she says she does not shave at all!!! I'm so so glad!
No need wax liao!

fairylander,
all the best to your delivery!

Our EDD was on same day actually, but now you popping much earlier. I was hoping to go for induction soon actually, but bb not engaged yet, so gynae says to monitor first.

rach,
i wil be deliver at glenE.so cant meet up liao.all the best to u.

blessed,
tks u take good rest and try to eat more ya.

higgledy,
my gynae also say the same thing abt the pd leh.so i wil stick to dr yip hope he dun dissapoint me.and tks i wish u all the best too and have a smooth delivery.jia you

i have delivered my boy this evening, natural without epi, 2.265kg at abt 34 wks.
will share my birth story when i hv settled down.

all the best to the mummies who r popping soon!