(2007/12) Dec 2007 MTB

missylan: i requested to work from home before i go on maternity leave... cos doc wans mi to rest at home more..

MIL : Yes, he expects mi to do portion of work when i go on leave... i thinking how to do so cos quite a lot of things i need to settle.

Jean, wow, your bb very big leh. Last week, at 34 weeks, my boy only 2.4kg.

So your gynae gave you medication for the heartburn? Does it help? Is it tablet or liquid type?

Ladies, is it true that induction has pretty high rates of going into emergency c-sec? Frankly, I'm so sick of being pregnant, I would simply love to have induction as soon as bb's weight is good enough. But I scared c-sec leh...

Belle 8,
I havent got the chance to talk to my boss abt my workload, hve hinted abit but he pretend not to catch it

I've been working till 8-9pm everyday for the past few weeks and really getting very tired plus my mood swing, I hve cried a few times liao...like now, I'm still in office!
Will take MC if unwell, dun care liao then find an opportunity to talk to him..
He also hve not got a replacement to cover me while I go on ML...

Hmm,

Wow, most of your babies weigh heavier than mine now... Wonder if my kiddo is ok? Today went for 33wks scan, my boy only weighs 1.95 kg... Dunno is it because my appetite has not been well... Getting worried. Furthermore, I'm been hit by flu bug for last few days and given 3 days Mc till Wed to recover...

The good news is, kiddo's head is down and my placenta 'shifted' up so doc say can go for natural birth

mummies, can i check will we feel pain, uneasy at our pelvic when baby engaged? i feel weird at my pelvic these few days!? does it matter?

hi all, today went for my checkup and did the 3d/4d scan and also the growth scan!!! Was very excited when i saw my bb's face!! He look so chubby, this boy! He keep using his hand to hide part of his face, keep yawning la and he even suck his thumb! Oh ya, i saw his eyes open and then close, so cute, hehee! He weigh 2.2kg at 33weeks. And my weigh gain in total till now is 9kg. Everything goes well, bb head cfm down but nt engaged yet and placenta is finally normal.

Will post up the pixs tmr. ;)

My back been feeling very aching whenever i just stand for a short while and also the area near my bladder begining to feel very sore when i try to stand up, guess really need a good rest whenever i can and lucky i going on leave soon... cant wait!

I also need to know any alternative beside taking coconut juice...

Hi Linda,
Glad to hear tat everyhing's well for u

I also went for my 4D scan last fri but baby is sleeping so again, nothing exciting to see but managed to see his face, chubby and resembles his daddy. How abt yours? Who does he look like?
My boy is only 2.05kg at week 33 and breech position ah!! I did not gain weight since last check up and in total, have put on also 9kg since preggie.

steffi,
I heard this from a friend. She says if we induce, 1st of all the dilation will be much slower compared to natural delivery, hence longer labor will be expected. And this can often lead to emergency c-sec. She also says the dilation process is more painful than natural birth.

Dunno how true leh, but sounds pretty scary to me. Otherwise, I was seriously considering inducing at 38 weeks. Coz my hubby coming to Singapore during that time, and his AL is until end Dec. Hope he can be with me for my full confinement. Else if bb overdue, his AL only overlaps my confinement for 2-3 weeks.

how much should we give angpow to confinement ladies? like $100 or $200? or is this too much?
Only give after confinement rite?

linda,
good to hear everything is well for you too! :p
btw, i didn't do anymore 3d scans. managed to catch a glimpse of baby chubby cheeks during the 2d scan.

thanks, dodo. been sleeping whole day, still feel like that. :p

Linda,
Is that painful area yr pubis? Meaning the front pubic hair just below tummy? I have that pain for 1-2 mths liao. Especially climbing up from bed to toilet, lifting one leg to wear pants/panties. Told gynae about it, he said that asian is pelvic bone shape is better, ang moh ones are narrower, will be more painful, sth like that. I pressed the pubis area, I will have the "suan suan" feeling rather than pain. Yours?

jeelomeelo,
If she sucks, can don't give. hahaha... Hope you will have the chance to give though.

Steffi,
I think what higgledy is trying to say that mommy experiencing labour pain liao, backaching, contraction but waterbag not yet burst. Induced liao, cervix takes too long to get ready. Bb too stress(heart beat either too low or too fast) so lead to c-section. This happens pretty often.

thanks a lot, coco, jeelo! Hopefully i can go for nautral birth. I don want c-section!!!

ya, missylan, quite painful when i try to get up or turn my body when on the bed, ytd forgot to ask gynae abt it. Ya mine oso suan suan when pressed. Very xin gu....

talking to a colleague who juz came back from ML yesterday, her bb was overdue by a wk+, so doc induced her. Who knows after 8hrs she only dilated 0.5cm so in the end went for csec. bb too comfortable inside already

claire
for me, i wasnt even dilated when gynae induced me...after abt 4 hrs, still no pain and only 1 cm dilated...doc didnt say anything abt c-sec, just mention maybe insert another pill the next morning...so i think it depends on indiv doc.....

need to ask a question. Though i am a 2nd time mum but i have never feel any contraction during my 1st pregnancy. Yesterday nite, i was alone at home when i feel my stomach tightening for the past 10 mins and after that it goes off.
When my hubby returns, i suddendly feel a bit of menses cramp. before i doze off. Is that false contraction. I am at 34 weeks now.

Hmmm... I felt my lower tummy contracting a few times yesterday evening too. It's BH coz the pain is only lower area... but wow... can get rather painful (but bearable). Also had the feeling of wanting to poo, but nothing.

Think my hubby got more frightened than me.

missylan:

wow, tat's fast. jia you!! :D

cocoangel & belle:

my boss oso didnt get a replacement for me when i go on ML. so far, we have yet to discuss on my ML plans too. he's always on holiday. i even had to inform his boss (aka my big bosS) tat i will b going away in dec. faintz...

just surfing and saw that JL at marina sq having yr-end clearance sale. anyone knows if it's been on for long? dun want to go all the way down to find that the gd stuff's all gone

Cocoangel, try to find time tok to him again. i m gng to tok to him again after i do my proper planning. Cos no way to do my work while i m on my ML. Was thinknig whole night.. got to speak to him again..

Try arrange time to tok to ur boss too.. it will benefit both. Else later too last min..v hard to find replacement.

Linda,
I dun wan c-sec too!! but at least your boy has turned so your chance of natural birth is higher hehe...

Miorei,
When do you plan to take leave? why are the bosses not kan cheong and understanding to us?

Btw i am taking mc today.. really need a break!

cocoangel:

my EDD's 21 dec. am thinking of taking leave on that week or get 1 wk's mc then start my ML on the following wk. not sure if possible or not. :p

mama_ash:

thks for the info. i seriously nd tat. :p my MIL's not well again. nd another op. she cant help tk care of my bb when she's born. sigh.

higgledy,

Its the liquid type...white in colour...yucky but I find it useful...everynite sure take before going to bed...hehe

now i starting to get up and pee a few times in the middle of the night, but sleeping wise, is bttr, as least i don suffer from insomnia for now

went to take another day of mc to just sleep in... last nite still have to sit up to cough... think i have to go thru the usual cycle i always go thru when i'm down with flu.. .

jeelo,
ye.. for flu, you need plenty of rest! probably need a week or so to recover. take more MC if necessary... your health is most important now.

Thanks jean, I'll ask gynae for the medicine when I see her next week. Really hate the heartburn, so uncomfortable!

Steffi, you were induced by inserting pill? So far I only heard using drip. But for your case, if gotta wait until next day then insert again, meaning your hospital stay is extended right? So I guess cost is another factor to consider when it comes to induction?

baked bean, I had the exact same experience as you this morning. BH contractions, keep feeling like poo poo, but nothing comes out. Actually the pain is a cross between tummy ache and menstrual cramp. Bearable pain, but still scary, coz hubby not around with me.

linda,
jovan's soooo cute and chubby!

jeelo,
if you run out of MC, another option is to go and see your gynae and ask him/her to give you hospitalisation leave to rest at home. else, the last resort would be to take AL lor... bo pian...

higgledy
think nowadays they seldom induce by drip leh...nope, didnt have to extend my stay cos no need for another insertion. bb was out early the next morning :p

dodo
can ask for hospitalisation leave but stay at home meh????

higgledy
i thought all the while induce is by inserting pills one le....so far my friends all are by pills...anyway all of them induce alo end up emer c section..so they said #2 they straight away opt for c section...

erm...gals, just a word of caution...For my company, any MC taken 4 weeks before your due date is considered as maternity leave...So maybe u gals should check with your company to see whether they practice that too...and the 3 months maternity leave is actually counted as 12 weeks inclusive of sat, sun and public holidays...so all in all, not even 3 months...

jeelomeelo,
down w cough and flu ah.. terrible rite... same like me.. i hav to sleep uprite...

dodo, i din managed to try ur method cus went to see doc for medi cus coughin too badly...

i submitted my ML form already... boss was like.. "huh.. so early ah..."

Jeelo, tk care of urself.

I also caught a flu ytd then followed by cough. This morning fever & sore throat.. but still got to come to work.. No more MC alreadi...

Jeelo, tk care of urself.

I also caught a flu ytd then followed by cough. This morning fever & sore throat.. but still got to come to work.. No more MC alreadi...

Mama_ash, I found my durians at Taka in the end.
Btw, how often can we drink coconut juice?

Higgledy, I'm going for induction. Was quite worried about conversion to emergency C section too but my dr reassured me it's not likely. I kinda want to wait for baby to come out on his own but also very impatient now so I agreed to the induction. Why not discuss w your Dr on this? My Dr explained to me that they will insert something into the vagina to dilate cervix the night before. Then you go home and wait till next morning to come to hospital (unless water bag bursts in the middle of the night). The contractions should follow once the cervix starts to dilate. The drip one you are refering to is the oxytocin drip where they put oxytocin to bring on your contractions. If not dilated but contractions have been going on for very long, then baby may end up in distress. But as Missylan was saying, they will convert to Csection if the baby starts to show distress from a long labour. It seems to me that if going for induction, it is better to soften cervix first then stimulate the contractions, and not the other way round.

Hello MTBs!

Just came back from the gynae, can't believe it, she got two emergencies during my short two hours visit. One labour and one D&C.

Baby now 37 weeks, weighs 2.85kg, did a vagina check and confirmed that baby indeed turned, but still not engaged, so got to wait. But gynae is going away this weekend, which she thinks that I will most probably not going to be due yet, but if so, then she've got a replacement for me, one of the most famous female gynae in the hospital. So, I think I'm in good hands...

Hi Twiggy, good luck for your induction. Like I said, every one is different. I took 26 hours (soften cervix then stimulate contractions) but my SIL took only 4 hours, both same process and same gynae...

etelle,
my gynae need me to bedrest more during this period due to twin pregnancy, so I am given hospitalisation leave to rest at home.

Miorei,
Can take MC to rest at home? I dunno if my gynae will allow tat, unless really need to bed rest.. and after wat Jean said abt taking MC 4 weeks before EDD is considered as ML, i tink i better find out more ah.. dun wan to waste my ML lor