(2007/12) Dec 2007 MTB

Pretty,
I paid $1.3k for my package but i cannot remember the details liao, tink its the rountine check up and scanning, urine test as well. OSCAR and Glucose Test is paid seperately. So far I have done blood test during the 2 tests only.

mama_ash, Etelle, sianz.. hate to wear bra at home. Just wear over n unhook behind will leak anot? haha. Or can stick the breastpad to my t-shirt or pjs? :p So buy those with slit better or those that can detach the whole cup?

Etelle, so early do the strep b test liao ah? Normally is done at which wk? Mine din mention at all.. maybe later on then I ask him.

ankh, gal smaller size nvm mah. And smaller easier to give birth! hehe

Updates:
Just went to see gynae yest. Bb is 1.5kg at 29wk. I gained 1.5kg in the past mth only.. think cos keep getting sick. Gynae keep asking me to swim.. but hor.. I din go n buy swim wear. V ex leh. :p Btw, my next appt is still in 4wks time leh. Tot he'll see me more often...
And gynae will be away from 8th to 16th Dec. Hope my bb wont come out so early! Gynae say most prob not.. he's not so worried abt me as my EDD is 27th. I still get my bb's printouts.. but I can only see 2 circles. Think 1 is the head, 1 is the belly? So for those who din get the printouts.. think still ok ba.. cos cant see bb's shape anyway. hehe

can i say that gynae will onli perform episotomy when its necessary? wont we be on aethestic or epidural if episotomy is performed? else, we wud be screaming like hell...image usin a knife to slit open the flesh...

if no BM at hospital, hospital will supplement..can i know if the supplement refers to FM? and they use spoons instead of bottles??

i aso wanted beri much to take maternity leave b4 i deliver...but tat wud means tat i have lesser time with bb when she's born...i cant bear to leave her to start work..thus, drop the idea and keep ENDURING...
wats more, now is the period when pple try clearing leave etc....less manpower...have to cover their duties..stupidly sian

hi eve,
had sent the info to your email already. Have you decided on which one to use yet?

hi agnes,
the confinement food catering doesn't appear on their website. If you are still interested in it, I could send it to your email... =)

Planning maternity leave is so difficult. We dun even know when baby will be out. Agnes, like you, I wanna maximise my leave to spend more time with baby.

Does anyone know if maternity leave must start by the day baby is born? E.g. i take annual leave from Dec 14 - Jan 1, then maternity leave from Jan 2. But what if baby pops on Dec 26. Must maternity leave start from Dec 26? My HR cant seem to even answer my question and I tried to read the MOM website but doesnt mention.

hmmmm, baked bean, you have a good point.

I dun think ML (Maternity leave) must start when baby is born, coz some pple start their ML a few weeks earlier. If not, you can cancel your AL (annual leave) from Dec 26 to Jan 1, and start your maternity then. Then the "brought forward AL days" can use it for after ML ends...sort of extend ur leave a bit. It's the same as starting ur ML on Jan 2 lah, but, if paperwork dun allow that, then at least still have this option...hehs.

Otherwise, got enough MC? Take MC from Dec 14 to Jan 1? heehee....

baked bean
that time for me i took2 weeks before i deliver le...hee cuz want to get ready bb stuff and do some last min shopping before bb pop hee

nt onli that....

dec, jan and feb so many holidays...christmas la, new year la, chinese new year...

wow bian...lugi leh coz all these PH still eats into our maternity leave...

agnes

episotomy is done using a scissors not knife.
when gynae did it for me did not feel any pain (maybe becoz I was on epi) only see the blood on his gloves (my hubby was like eeee yucks)

initially before giving birth to #1, I oso had the same tot, must be so painful to be cut down there n then afteer that stiched up. but I think after going thru the labour pain that is like very minor pain or maybe becoz of epi. Stiching part is also not so bad bcoz will oni feel the pulling of the string (to tighten).
will oso tend to imagine that passing urine must be very painful coz of the wound, but surprisingly is not painful. Upon discharge I was given a spray for the wound.

ya, maternity leave planning oso quite ma-fan. boss asked me a few times liao but i oso cannot answer him. i will give him an estimate after my wk 32 checkup lor. :p

Yah I forgot to add that I purposely wanna start my ML on Jan 2 onwards so that I wont lugi on all the public holidays (will only lose out for CNY and Gd Friday).

Ya loh.. I also headache abt planning m leave. Dunno when want to start. I dun want my water bag bursting in office! But dun wish to waste the 20th and 25th public hol leh. Was thinking either take mc or annual leave to cover till 25th then take ML. Dunno too late to take ML anot. Normally how early u all plan to take?

Etelle,
20th is Hari Raya Haji

Baked_bean,
You good lah, ur bb is due nearer mid to end Dec. hehs...Mine is early Dec. Dun have that much AL to use to push back my ML...hehs...hahaha.

20 Dec - Hari Raya
25 Dec - Christmas
1 Jan - New Year
7/8 Feb - CNY

Bluelily, like you, I'm trying to schedule as best. My EDD is 25 Dec... and I'm thinking of taking AL from 17 Dec (or earlier if i have more to spare). Ur companies allow u to take MC just like that?

Mommies who have had experience with child-birth, anyone of u managed to deliver without episiotomy?
I really hope not to do it, but will it really cause a bad tear that is worse than the cut?
And, will the doctor prefer to cut just in case?(Esp. those with Dr WK Tan)Will she cut just to be on safe side?

ARR???

still gt hari raya haji...

i omitted tat...i onli take christmas, new year and CNY into consideration...4 days of PH

btw the way, cny falls on 7th and 8th which is thurs and fri..so sat (9th) is 3rd day of cny and sun (10th)is 4th day of cny rte???
den the following mon (11th) holiday too or nt ar?

if yes, we lugi again....

i bo bian, my edd is 13th dec...sure hit all the PH one...

shd i take few days b4 my edd?? i onli have 6 days of AL left....no more mc liao....

now onli oct..worried that now till dec, i tired or wat, wan to take urgent leave to stay at hme..den my leave bal to take b4 my edd will fall...how ar?

tks amy, i feel more assured now

hey baked bean,
just got this info from my fren who is in HR.

Maternity leave is counted from the date of delivery.

So if u take AL before your EDD, should bb be delivered before 25 Dec, you might have to cancel some of your AL (and carry it foward if you company allows) and apply it for after the ML ends.

baked bean, ya loh. Me same as u. My EDD 27th. Think my company shd be quite flexible with mc.. as long as boss say ok can liao. Small coy mah. But hor.. my gynae will be away till 16th Dec. So I dunno how to take so many days mc also. Maybe arrange my gynae appt on 17th.. then ask him to give me mc for 2 wks? Gynae will give so long anot? Alternatively is to take AL. But I only got 4.5days of AL left this yr.. scratching my head how to plan sui sui. hahaha!

p/s: feels so shiok to be planning maternity leave. :p I got alot of deadlines all trying to hit b4 I take my ML. Arggh... cant wait to go on leave faster!

CSI_fan, are you sure? Like that, if bb dun come out later, I'll hit almost all the PH, including the Gd Friday on Mar 21!

Agnes, Singapore only give holiday for 1st 2 days for CNY, so u will only lugi 2.

Anyone thinking of breaking the ML... like take 10 weeks then teh next 2 weeks take later or something? Just wondering...

i was just checking with my HR the other day..since i will be giving birth in Dec, effectively i shd be eligible for the 5 days childcare leave ..so can i use the 5 days first before consuming my ML? the answer is NO....so the 5 days is actually useless one.

well...my fren is working in the govt, so I guess if the govt count it like that, chances are, pte org will also count it like that lah...

the 3rd month (i.e. 9th to 12th week of ML) can be broken up. and if that is broken up, it will be based on working days up to a max of 24 days. If dun break it up, it will be based on calendar days (7 days).

hmm, steffi,
maybe shd ask them under what circumstances then can take childcare leave. There may be certain situations then can "qualify" for childcare leave.

csi
3rd mth is only 20 working days leh....

oh, got to consume the 2 mths maternity first, then after that if still within calendar year, then can use the childcare leave....the 2 mths cannot be broken up

Steffi,
my understanding is tat childcare leave can onli be taken after the child is born...so cant take now since bb is not born yet...

baked bean,
glad to hear ttt...phew..else heartache...

i tot of breaking my ML too....take 1st part till b4 cny..the rest to take after tat...

but i CANT since my team mate is delivering in april....which means once i cum back from my ml in early march...she wud be going for ML and shes the sort who can realli accumulate leave so i guess she will take/clear many leaves b4 her ML

Agnes
Yup i am aware of that. Was trying to find out if after bb is born, can we use childcare leave first, followed by maternity...this way, will not lugi the 5 days

steffi,
the 3rd mth is max 24 days, coz some pple work 6 days mah. according to MOM website it is 4 weeks x working days in a week. So for those who work 5-day week, it'll be 20 days lorh.

hehs, but the law counts maternity leave as from the date of delivery (if we have not opted to start ML before delivery), so think we'll really lugi the 5 days this year...

steffi
how come u have 5days childcare leave? tot standard is entitle to 2 days per year? ur company give more huh???

I did call up to check on the Maternity leave part. If u are taking the whole 12 weeks in a block(continuous), it will be 12x7=84 days inclusive of weekends & PH.
If u are taking it by flexi, have to clear the 8weeks 1st (eg. 5 days work X 8 = 40 days), subsequently the 4 weeks = 20days can be taken over a period of 6mths.

amy
2 days of childcare leave and 3 days of childcare sick leave (ie got to provide mc one)

csi
oh i see...forgot abt those working 6 days a week ...keke

for my company, we are going by the number or working days. So it means that I am entitle to 60 days of ML. PH will not overlap my ML.

I'm thinking to start ML on 2 Jan'08 for the 1st 8 weeks after that the balance 20days will take as flexi... Coz my mgr is like u dun wan to keep the extra days meh, can use it for bb vaccination n sick lah, blah blah blah.. so I planing to stretch till Apr n take 10 days together n go on a holiday haha.

steffi
the 3 days of childcare sick leave (ie got to provide mc one)

the above that u said is not applicable to all company right??? Is it the government law???

rachel wee
i did have episiotomy le...haha i think not whetehr gynae want to cut or dun want it's if really cannot come out then have to cut lor...but usually most cases will cut but minimal la...y u scared episiotomy le...wun affect the "tightness" of our vagina one le...haha uz surprisingly after #1 delivery i feel as good as "new" le haha dun have the myth of with delivery that area get loose....

steffi
the 2 days childcare leave is mandatory i know...the 3 days child sick leave is also mandatory ???

miorei
that's right, so we can only use in 2008 and not 2007....cos got to use ML first....by then already end of 2007

Hmm... so say if we break it up. The remaining 20 days ML pertains to only weekdays rite? We dun have to count weekends in rite? So effectively, still 4 weeks wat.

hi Etelle,
not that i'm scared. Just that if i can avoid a cut i'd rather avoid. Don't like to be cut up la. And also with a cut, will need time to recover, cannot run about and it'll sting when we bathe too, right?

rachel
for me, only time when it stings is when i sit down or urinate..but the pain is still ok lah...try not to think too much abt it...

Rachel... if dun cut, it may tear naturally, making it more difficult to sew up rite?

Are you thinking about birthing plans already?

yup, gynae will advise and ask if we agree, if we dun, there's nothing they can do too...but usually at that stage, we will just let them do what they want lor

rachel
frankly speaking ah for me right no stinging pain when i pee le..its as per normal le..but my piles pain haha...the wound not pain le...

baked bean
thats what i think lor my friend natural delivery natural tear ah 3rd degree tear quite bad..she said her down there like map....

agnes
my gynae din ask me for permission whether to do episiotomy or not le..they are the medical pro not us ah...haha ask u u said dun want then how? let it tear naturally worse le...ike steffi said ah during deivery will let the gynae do what they want cuz u paid them mah...they are the pro we shd trust them

baked_bean,
the remaining 20 days is still effectively 4 weeks. Coz ML is only for 12 weeks mah. hehs...

But can spread the 20 days out...over 6 months (from birth of child, if I remember correctly). No need to take all 20 days at 1 shot. If take all 20 days at 1 shot, it will not be no diff from taking the 12 weeks straight lorh. hehs. Just that if spreading out the 20 days, can dun "utilise" it on a PH mah...so sort of "extend" the leave...erm, get what I mean? heehee...

Yah... I guess that's one other solution. Oh well... now I gotta decide if I shld ask bb to come out on time in Dec or later.

Hi mummies, Thanks for all the replies and concern .. Today finally hit 30th week .. Another 10 weeks to go .. Yesterday felt some fuild flowing out for 4 times and even wet a little of my pants ..Scare me but gynae said it was normal ..

About my proble, yesterday realise my mil went to work 0_0!! Throughout my pregnancy she is not working and now when i'm going to due soon she went to work .. Now she left me and my hb is confusion and i don't know who is goign to do confinement for me .. My mom is busy working and she is staying very far away from my hb place .. Now got to crack our brain to think of a way ..

Anyway i did stock alot of food in my room .. Actually throughout my first and second trimester, i always go out at noon time and go over my mom's place which is about 1.5hr bus journey from my hb place and wait for him to finish work and head home together but when near 3rd trimester, travelling is too tiring for me .. Either i stay there or come back to my mom's place .. Till now i seldom have diner at my hb place cause i refused to eat fried hotdogs with rice .. It doesn't seems nice to reject that way but i really can't stand eating that .. Actually cause of this i end up eating alot of bread and milk .. Lol end up i gaining alot of weight due to this .. And i can't cook at home cause y in laws will stand beside me and stare at me fearing i don't know how to on the stove and afraid things might get overcooked and is not healthy etc. so till now i don't touch the stove .. I don't touch their things .. My fil is weird .. He don't allow me to eat meat and keep asking me to eat veggie only .. No matter how my hb tells him that pregnant lady need meat cause of iron he refused to listen so i jsut let him be .. Sometimes i rather starve than i eat maggie mee .. I hate that .. Cause since young my mom refused to let me eat that .. I come from a quite well done family and i can say i'm consider a princess at home .. Not cause of loving my hb i will never take all this nonsense .. And ladies i'm not strong at all .. I do hide in my room and cry and sometimesi wish that i break down in front of them or even vent out my anger in front of them but i'm unable to do it fearing i might put my hb is a very difficult position .. So everytime i try my best to hide from my hb to refrain him from scolding his family members hoping that time will really fly and we are able to have a place on our own .. It has ben 2 weeks we never went home .. Have been staying at my mom's place and there is problems there too .. Cause my mom's place is too crowded and confinement is nono here cause my grandma won't allow and there won't be rooms for me too ..

Talked to my hb about this issue this few days .. He felt very bad to let me go through all this .. He suggested that we move out but i don't wish to spend so much on rental as is just a period of time and moreover now i'm pregnant i don't think nyone willing to rent a room out for me .. still praying hoping things will be better.. Anyway thanks mummies for all the concern ..

mel..
sorry to hear that u r in such a predicament....
but thank God ur hubby is on ur side and understaning and stand up for u..

there are some hubbies who are like or say, "aya, my mum/dad like tat one la, wat u expect? jus give and take lo.. wat u expect me to do. He/she aso my dad/mum..."

u know..arghh...