(2007/12) Dec 2007 MTB

BTW, if you ladies still remember how horrified I was by the way my SIL brings up her bb, well, I am still horrified!

Eg, feeding all kinds of junk food, teaching the bb to pee on the corridor, countless dirty and unhygenic habits...

I can't change the way these folks lead their lives. After kind unheeded persuasions, I suppose the only way is to respect them and leave them alone.

Just that I have to keep an extra keen eye that my boy will not be brought up the same way. I may have much respect for the elders. But I will not hesitate to fight for what I believe is best for my child.

pretty,
cud it be becos u started the package late as in u onli started the package at 20th week...
coz such package started quite earli....
this is my guess la...

i agree with Rachel on not to mix BM and FM. I intend to get the hospital to hang a sign in the nursery that says "Breastfeeding only - no bottles please". I don't want hosp to feed my baby with FM or glucose water (if there is such case) just to tone bb's hungry cries down.

CryStaLZ,
For the 1st few days, we will not have breastmilk, the supply will come after 4th days or so. Some mama are very brave and have good tolerance as they really wants newborn to be totally on breastmilk. So they will bring bb to suckle every 2 hours. This will help to promote milk supply. I rmb mine came after 5th day. I cannot stand bb with no feeding but still depend on each baby, my son can suckle btw nipple and teat. Think the trick is to let bb latch on every 2 hours or so whether yo got milk or not.

Higgledy,
I hate it when Mainland chinese pushes their way through... like got body contact. Talking damn loud in the public. But after I think back, different countries got their cultures, their different living standard so kinda block out liao.

no leh, it's indicated say from 20th weeks onwards...anyway, bo chap, friday will see my bb no matter wat..and i also wan to know the weight and length of bb...

btw, hv u guys heard about old saying that if your leg swell more than 3 times, it's time to deliver liao?? i so far swell 2 times liao...scared to swell for the 3rd time..i hvnt buy bb stuff yet, only get clothes...the rest hvnt leh...

HI MTBs

it has been a long time since i log on. Wow the tread moves so fast.

Mel have a talk withyour hubby and if you can move to your mum hse for confinement. My MIL did mention that some hospital do provide confinment services. Anybody heard of that before?

Pretty when you sign on the package does it indictaes wat services the gynae will provide?

Yesterday i went my friend who just gave birth in TMC. She was in the new wing hence the room looks quite nice. Moreover they provides confinement food. And it looks good too. However my friend made a complaint to the head nurse. She menetioned though she ask for epidural she could still feel the pain and the pain was rather intense for an hour. Apparently i think the nurse lower down the dosage and it was a bit too low.

gina,
TMC has this confinement nanny service.according to them nannies are trained in general care of mum and baby as well as diet and nutrition planning.
stay-in nanny costs $2568 for 28 days, day-time nanny $2140 also for 28 days and night-time nanny (8 pm-8 am) costs $139.10 per night.
not sure though what the nannies will/will not do in details (eg wash baby clothes).

Dinut, you mean they have confinementg nanny. Wat are their background?

Wat i meant is that my MIL did mention that both mum and baby stays in hospital for confinment. Are there such things. ?

Gina,
Yup, they have, actually my aunt is one of the trained one. She was trained and certified by Mrs Wong BB. I do not knw the details of her jobscope/rate cos I am not engaging her (relative mah, dun wan any misunderstanding later) but I knw she is not as strict ie allowing mummy to bath.
For those who has attended Mrs Wong antenatal class, well, her method is the same. And I dun tink she do washing of clothes or housechores. Solely cook for mummy and care for the baby.
Maybe you can find out more from the parentcraft?

Hihi mummies.. I went to JL Orchard during lunch and finally bought the nightdress - all 5 pcs!! hahaha.. yippie, one item off my checklist. I bought 4 pcs from Karmy and 1 pc from Doux, and I must say that the material is good and cheap too, at $9.90 each

Pretty, dont worry, it's quite easy to buy everything altogether. I bought all my stuff quite late too. Just prepare a detailed checklist, and go down to a big store and get everything in one go. That's what I did. I went to Baby Kingdom and Baby Hypermart, and read off the list, while the salesperson helps me to select what I need. At Baby Hypermart, there's a lady called Pauline who's very helpful. She'll give you advise on what you need and what you don't need, how many pieces of each thing to get etc. They just delivered the items to my home this monday and I just need to unpack and wash the clothes and all done!

Hi cocoangel,
$9.90 for karmy?? is it on sale? if yes, the sale gg on till wen?
yesterday i went OG at bugis..they dun carri..but they carry at OG People's park and Orchard

yup yup, i ever heard that hospitals have such package where mum and baby stay at hospital throughout the 1 month confinement...as in wat they do..not so sure...
but i think not cheap though...

Rachel and jeelomeelo,

regarding ur concern on BM and FM, i dun quite understand...
u mean in hospital, dun feed bb with BM and FM?
or even wen feeding bb at hme, aso cant let bb have alternate feedings of BM and FM?
i tot its beta to let bb alternate between BM and FM so easier to wean them off BM...
i confused liao :p

Agnes,
If you plan to BF for baby, it's better to just solely BF. Cos once baby takes FM, he/she may not want BM anymore. There is no hurry to wean baby off BM as it's the best source of milk there is and if u plan to wean him/her off it eventually, you can do that gradually.
This is what I know from friends who are mothers.

cocoangel, the Karmy PJs you bought are dresses or 2 piece? I can only find 2 designs of dresses with button all the way, the rest the button only at the top... eh.. I quite tall.. unbutton the top buttons also cant reach for bf leh.. :p I dun mind buying more if have other designs... now wear also v comfy. hehe

Agnes,
They have some designs selling at $14.90 and $9.90. Dunno when is the sales ending leh, go check it out lah! but even at $14.90, i tink its quite reasonably priced

Got a qn for 2nd time mummies. In hosp, do you all wear bra? I'm wondering do I need to buy nursing bra to wear in hosp anot? I dun like to wear leh... Can I just wear a jacket to cover when ppl come to visit? :p Havent buy nursing bra yet.. cos at home no need to wear nursing bra mah.. can just take the whole top off. :p

Then for those nursing bra with slits, if put on breast pad, still can slit open meh???

Hi bluelily
The nurse will advise you to put on nursing bra if you are breastfeeding your bb. I didnt put on bra during my stay in Thomson for my 1st delivery & the nurse saw & advise me to put on. They said wen we breastfeed & did not put on nursing bra, our breast easily sag.

Hi MTBs,
It's been 3 days not touching my com,see that so many posts.I heard you mtbs talking abt the confinement products like shampoo,shower and healing bottom spray.Is the spray really effective?I just heard frm my frn's sis experience of delivering is like so scary.
The thing that scared me the most is that after the push out ur bb,the doc will sew stitches on your virginal cos when the bb's head is pushing out,it'll cos the virginal area to enlarge.And this will cos pain for 2-3 weeks!Any advice other than using the healing bottom spray?

Mel,
Saw your post,girl u're so strong!Every preg woman mus 'ren' e ils de lo.older generations dun really know how we feel.Btw,try not to eat hotdogs,really no good for ur health.I would sugguest you buy energy bar to eat instead lo,eating so unhealthy.Or maybe you could cook soup by urself cos I did tt too.Ask your hb to go out during weekends to supermarket and buy vegs and some meats.I just throw in the pot and cook with packet of chicken soup,it's more healthier that way.

noobjo
i think it really depends on the skill of your gynae...for me, the pain just went off the next day....

Rachel,
Tks for the explanation...but most prob, i will bf bb till i go back to work (provided i have milk to express)...
wen can i start to wean her off BM..coz once i start work, i wont be bf...

cocoangel,
me veri lazy to shop and walk...tats y la....

Noobjo
my gynae will actually give instructions like when to push and when to stop and also to help support our bottom so that the slit to our virginal is minimal...

bluelily, of cos u can dun wear bra in hospital, but when u discharge think u'll have to put on lor... i remembered when i was in KK, their dress is so big, so can't tell also if u dun wear bra & they have a flap on the bust area, so easy for breastfeeding also. but after yr milk supply is established, u can't go w/o nursing bra lor, cos will leak milk & u won't want to have 2 patches in front! hahaha...

steffi, did yr gynae perform Episotomy for yr #1? i did tat.. but there were lots of comment abt the pro & con of it... so am thinking shd i still go for it this time round...

mama_ash,
I thought episotomy is a must for us, Asian? Cos our skin is thicker, if we skipped that, that area will be tore, more painful.

anyone got any idea any prevention from jaundice? My gf jus deliver and her little one got jaundice.. sound so poor thing... any risk to that??

gina,
not sure about their background...could be 'ordinary' people who undergo training for confinement (i mean not necessarily nurse or holding other qualifications).
i dun think there's such thing as confinement in hospital...even if there is, i think wld be very ex to stay in hospital for a month.
btw parent craft is the prenatal course offered at TMC.

agnes,
i think episotomy is when they cut your rectum area (between vagina n anus) to make way for baby...but i thought nowadays this method is optional,only performed when mum didn't dilate enough or baby's head too big?

belle,
from what i read in 'what to expect-the first year' jaundice is caused by extra bilirubin in blood.mild jaundice is common to newborns cause they usually produce more bilirubin than their immature liver can handle.
mild ones are easily treated and not dangerous.there are rare cases where the bilirubin very high or increase rapidly and this can lead to buildup in brain that cause brain damage,even death.

gina, my 40+ yr old cousin ever stayed in some type of confinement centre b4. should be about 20 yrs ago. but now no more. maybe the centres lost money.

agnes, episiotomy is a cut below vagina. To better control the vaginal tearing which could occur when delivering bb, thus allow easier healing. heard from frd that it's done during a peak during the labour contraction when pain is at its worst so we won't feel the cut.

missylan, gynae told us at parentcraft lecture that asian women tend to have (worse) vaginal tearing during delivery compared to caucasians, so high tendency to do episiotomy in Singapore. but i got question - how our mothers grandmothers etc tahan before us leh?

leejo, dun worry about your bb's weight. my bb 1.4kg at 30 weeks, gynae just say average. sigh, think must be becos my hubby and i short - if my girl can hit 1.65m when grown up i thank her lucky stars already. was so hoping a tall gene could skip to her - my brother 1.87m but i only 1.57m

belle08, agree with wat dinut say, & i understand from the nurses @ the prenatal classes, it's normal for asian bbs to have jaundice, only mild or serious lor... the old gen will say dun drink tea/coffee, dun eat curry, papaya & carrot, cos they'll yellow! hahaha... so depends on u if u believe or not lah... but am sure all asian bbs will have jaundice... so dun worry too much...

ya lor, i know it's optional now to have episotomy, but i read somewhere, if u take a pc of cloth and try to pull from both ends, it'll not tear unless u give it a snap @ the edge... so i also dunno how true this is...

missylan, i dunno leh, i did read in some articles some mums actually didn't have episotomy, & no torn also... or maybe depends on individual??... i also dunno...

ankh,
I know that my mom being perform episotomy also leh. Grandma... hmm, I dunno, I asked her maybe she also forgets liao.

mama_ash,
Hahaha... Don't think our skin is so elastic.

dinut,
What I had my first child, I did request for TMC CL but maybe CNY no one wants to take up my job. Then it cost slightly cheaper, $2300 or $2400. This CL will come to your house to serve you and baby, no housework just plainly taking care of mama and baby. If this time my CL is lousy AGAIN, I might engage TMC's but dunno last minute got or not. CL is a bigger headache than maid.

Asians more prompt to jaundice but there are some which I knew of whose bb is premature for 2 weeks and don't kenna. Mine premature 8 days kenna. -.-
He stayed in TMC for 1 days, hospital bill $600. Faint! Now I heard my friend saying can rent the machine back home liao.

hi cocoangel/gina, i paid around 500 plus for the package which include all preg related consultation from 20 wk onwards, first obstetric scan at 22wk, repeat obstetric scan at 32wk, a max 2 CTG monitoring session, and 1 postnatal visit...the other time i asked for the scan i paid additional around 70 plus for it...duno lah..damn sian lor...will update u gals on the outcome this friday...

btw, so far i only did 1 blood test. isit normal? how many blood test do we hv to do? i am always worried that i didnt get a thorough check for my entire pregnancy...sigh!!

oh yes..normally 1 triple blood test will do....
the time that you need to draw 3 tubes of blood.
I did another blood test which is the glucose test cos of my family history of diabetics.
Therefore, I think 1 blood test shld be normal

Crystalz
Of course u can total breastfeed in hospital but if no milk come in yet bb will cry for milk so have to supplement one lethen when u discharge back home then u latch on totally soon milk comes

bluelily
I got buy nursing bras le ad wore in hospital and during confinement. After that wear back normal bra cuz me express out milk one. If you buy nursing bras with slit in front and put breast pad then have to remove breast pad before latching on lor..

Pretty
One triple test blood test only.then yeah glucose test for those with family history

Went gynae today at 32 wksbb is now 2.5kg . Gynae said its not big said bb is of good weight. Did the growth scan measuring the growth of the bb too. Was given the admission letter to bring to hospital when I in labour. And also did a finger pricking test and I am anaemic. Also did the Strep B Vaginal Swab test..so many things within one visittiring..

morning ladies,

I'm think I'm sinking into depression.. can't seem to get above body discomfort.. sudden onset of heartburn woke me up in the middle of the night! 2 nights already! It hurt like crazy and I struggle to sleep half-seated..

Already got gastric medicine from a GP.. tried hard not to take as afraid might affect kiddo..

It's getting harder to wake up at 6a.m. to go to work.. furthermore, so many deadlines to meet..Feel so tired all the time, so draining.. how to survive the next 10 weeks? Really very tempted to just go on no-pay leave..

anyone getting depressed like me also?

mamaash
yup, gynae did to episotomy for no#1. she mentioned that my something is very close to something..cant remember, so got to slit...

missylan/etelle,

so have to latch every 2hrs ahz... if bb cry then gotta give supplement... but how abt teats confusion.. request using cups?

hi phy,
you're not alone...i think many mums to be experience some kind of stress even depression.
for me not so much caused by pregnancy discomfort and deadlines as i decided to quit my job when i found out i was pregnant
(i knew i wouldn't be able to handle work + pregnancy).
but recently it's ups and downs for me,one minute euphoria another minute rather depressed.
the other night i even questioned myself whether i'm ready for a baby.suddenly i had this feeling that my life wld totally change and there's no looking back.
sad to say but the feeling was almost a regret.i'm confused because at first this pregnancy was the best thing that ever happened to me as i didn't get pregnant shortly after marriage and had a miscarriage before.
i should be grateful but all of a sudden this blessing is giving me weird feelings...like it's a burden and i'm not ready to lose my comfort zone.

crystalZ
if you have specified total breastfeeding and your milk supply is not enuf, the nurses at the baby nursery will use spoon / cup to feed fm to the babies. They will not use bottle. for my #1, i was too tired at night to wake up for feeds, so the nurses help to feed fm.

hi ash/ dinut,
tks for the explaination.. cos i saw my fren pretty poor thing.. got to go down & down the hospital to see her gal...

Hi phy,
u are really not alone.. ever since i was pregnant.. esp after 8 weeks. i really din wan to come to work. Sleep seems never enuff and weekends are just too short those kind.. everyday also wan to slp in. My back got worst recently..aching all over... eyes forever want to shut. The heartburn also got worst... i have gastric pain almost 3 times a day. My MC onli left 2 days, leave also left 2 days.

Don't think u are alone.. if ur family can support u financially.. then i think it will be good to take leave to rest at home. Else u can arrange with ur company to take ur maternity leave 1 month before u deliver lo.. else during the last month, i heard super tiring.. i also no idea wad to do... can't wait to leave this office too... Jia you okie...

anyone got any suggestion how to speak to my boss? I am thinknig of working from home... my another colleague also pregnant.. earlier than mi 1 month.. i scare if i request.. she will also.. then later pple start "talking"

or maybe, i can work from home maybe twice a week... how do u think i shld put it across...