(2007/12) Dec 2007 MTB

claire, aiyo different la. susu was sent there since 2.5 months. still gong3 gong3 at that time. by now, she's used to it BUT on the condition that I SEND HER THERE. that is, i bring her to the cc. today, i've to reach college by 730 so drop off half way and hubby sent her there. she was SCREEEEEEEEEEEEAMING her lungs out in the car... sigh... heart break. no choice lor... just have to assure her that mummy will pick u up as early as possible and LEAVE HER. heart breaking hor???

thanks mummies. :D

today shawn oso clingy like a leech. but lucky he din scream and cry. It's ok la tub.. susu would gte use to the routine again. more hugs for her after she gets home lor...

FM : how much are your kids drinking for gain IQ? how many times per day? i read that 500ml per day of milk is good for a todd. pls advise. Thanks

jeelo
YR is on pediasure now, and she takes 4-5 feeds of about 200ml, so usually 1L a day.

tub
yah, heartbreak man. was talking to hb this morning and told him about it, he was saying nx yr when i'm on NPL, change her to the YWCA downstairs, then halfday. Just walk home can liao. I can't wait for ML and NPL!

hi jeelomeelo, i oso interested to knw...recently princess is on milk strike...only taking 500-550ml per day...used to be 800ml per day...i oso duno why? i tot i read somewhere tat 15mths bb needs abt 750ml per day? anyway will be going to PD this week...i will check with him...

RE: Jabs

I didn't have the chance to bring Aidan back to Singapore for his jabs this time round, so we went to HKG instead.

The HKG PD told us he feels the chicken pox jab is more important than MMR. Coz the last case of measles he saw was like 8 years ago, and mumps, more than 10 years ago. But chicken pox is still very very common.

So mommies who are planning to delay MMR, maybe can consider chicken pox first?

Aidan took both jabs together. Coz over here in China, I don't want to take any chances...

Jeelo,

Ryan takes 4 x 180ml a day. Actually he wants more but I would prefer him to take more solid so I limit his milk intake.

I remember someone mention here that milk intake should not be less than 700ml a day for our kids at this age.

Cocoangel,
3 letter word from me : WOW!

He's such a sweetheart! Gonna show my boy this clip to encourage him to talk. Thanks ya

hi mummies, just called up abbott...fyi, daily intake for 1-3yrs old shld be at least 700ml per day...
for my case, she said could be due to teething...as long as she is taking solids well, then nothing to worry...

well, i am going to check with PD anyway...

QJ drinking about 4x180ml a day, sometimes more. He is also drinking Gain and using Avent bottles. There are usually lots of bubbles, but there are times when there're none too. I'm not too concerned.

Cocoangel
Kyrell's such a sweet boy. His diction is quite clear and his voice is loud.

I must also capture QJ on video when he does his talking.

yea boy.. wow.. kyrell got good grasp of words. we haven't been speaking to shawn in mandarin. all english nia. only when my mum comes then she speaks to him in mandarin at times.

I'm now in btw FM and EBM. What's left in EBM stock is just good for another wk for Shawn's feed in school. He drinks 200ml of EBM in school. But at home for FM, he recently only wants to drink about 150ml at night. Morning i'm still latching on. So it's neither here nor there for me. Still in progress in weaning him off from the morning latch. Tough coz i'm the one who's lazy getting out of the bed.

susu is drinking barely 600ML of milk!!! OH NO! she doesn't want cereal now so milk intake cut down liao.

nowadays only last feed is BM. The rest i give her bellamy's growing up milk. some bubbles also but it's ok la. she'll stop automatically when its just bubbles left.

coco, wow! kyrell is very good at speaking!
my husband likes his "zhi zhi zou"!

jeelo, u know i realised only quite recently that susu doesn't respond to mandarin. we speak eng to her at home and her nannies are mostly indians. she'll look at us then look away. macham it's some foreign language. that's when i started speaking to her in mandarin more often.

my #1 is also quite mandarin illiterate. In her cc mandarin class, her lao shi always needs to remind her to speak in mandarin, but she'll just go back to english anyway. Problem is, though my ils are CL/hokkien-speaking, when they talk to my gals, they always 100% use broken EL. Now that LKY encourages sgporeans to speak CL at home, they do it a bit more, but still cannot make it. Only my dad consistently speaks CL to them, coz he's from taiwan. Now i'm trying to speak to her in CL, but it's tough when she doesn't seem to understand. Terrible threes

haiz,
today my hb on reservist. So it's me bringing my gal to my mum's place. wah...she wun let me go. She koala-bear me and refuse to let go. Finally managed to bribe her with raisins (her "rei rei"), and got her to sit in her chair for breakfast. But then she heard me open the door!! And then she cried and cried. I left anyway. Had to get to work! But according to my sister (who hasn't left for work yet), my gal cried till she fell asleep. Refused to eat. Then 15 min later, woke up again and cried. Then went back to sleep. Then 20 mins later, thunder. So woke up again. but she looked so sad and tired.

so sad...so poor thing. I dunno how manz, when it is time to send her to cc...

Val/Jeelo/Tub,
Kyrell can understand Eng and Mandarin, a little bit of Teochew too. Lately we have been teaching him some teochew, he can say "mai", "bor" and "tor ti kor" hehe...
I also liked his "zhi zhi zhou", so funny if he goes high pitched or off-tune!!

Yah dylan also taking abt 150-180ml of pediasure 4 times a day.

Just last wednesday he played with the room door and closed the door partway with his finger stuck near the hinges. Wailed and screamed like crazy. I was scared that he fractured his finger cos it looked so compressed and flat when I got his finger out... rushed to KK to get x ray done.. luckily no fracture but he needed to buddy split his finger for 1 week.

then, while he was at KK, he caught the flu virus from one of the sick kids there (there were so many sick kiddos at the emergency clinic).. and he fell sick on sat. *faint*

damn sian manz... first HFMD, then his finger, then now, kenna flu! Spent $500 on his medical bills this month liao.

Lucky i just rem that i got insurance for him, can claim $100 for HFMD and can claim the xray and monies spent at KK. phew...

cocoangel,
kyrell really can speak well.
i was just talking wif my friend the other day, he son, also same age as our boys also can speak well. Best part is, he can understand things very well.. cos his grandfather opened the car door to kiss him and after kissing him, he told his grandfather to "close the door!". haha

CSI_Fan,
oh dear poor louisa. hmm i also worried, dylan starting cc on april 1st... anticipate lots of crying and adjustment.

sigh... hubby will be going for 3WEEKS OF RESERVIST in may. can only come home on sundays. damn sian...

Dylan's Mom,
Oh ke lian de Dylan, the same happened to Kyrell last week, must be very painful!! And wat luck to have catch a flu while at the clinic
Hopefully he can recover soon.

Kyrell is only drinking abt 2 x 255ml of FM daily, sometimes slightly more if he's taking HT cereal. Is he having enough milk instake??

Whenever we left my mum place at night, he will tell my parents to close the door too.. haiz.. he's gonna be a talkative kpo in future bah :p

botanist,
aiyoh! ouch! poor dylan...he's been through so much this month...good thing you stay near KKH...

May I ask, which company did u get ur insurance from? I'm also starting to consider insurance...prev no time to really sit down and think through. Thankfully nothing major happen yet. *keeping fingers crossed*

How ah? how to ease the transition to CC? haiz...

tub,
my hb also has reservist in May. Basket!! last yr, never call him at all. Then this calendar yr, TWICE. sianz. I dun have so many days of leave to take leh. and within the first half of the year some more...

cocoangel,

heard from my PD that our babies no need to take so much FM so i think kyrell intake is enuf. esp since he takes a good amt of solids.

hehe i think all kids are talkative when they start to speak! I am complaining dylan can't speak but once he starts.. i'm gonna have problem keeping him quiet. :p

CSI_Fan,

Yah lor, grateful that KK was near but abit regret going cos so many sick kids there. maybe next time, i just go back to GlenE liao.

For insurance, i got from AIA. i bought him hospitalisation insurance, in case sick *touchwood* and kenna hospitalised then they will pay for it. I also got another one that covers little accidents, like choking, bang head, cut finger etc, and it covers HFMD also. Paying abt $400 in total per year. Each is abt $200 I think.

I think no solution to transition to CC, just gotta ease them slowly lor. I plan to bring him down for 2 hours to start, then slowly increase until its half day. HOpefully no problem *cross fingers*

Can check with u all the meal schedule for ur bbs now? Jr is having either milk or solid at 3 hourly intervals, 1 day 3 milk and 3 solid. But it seems like he's always not hungry.. I'm thinking of dragging to 4 hrly.. but that means I have to cut 1 meal. Jr is very underweight, so we are trying to squeeze as must food to him as we can. But he dun like to eat. Dunno how...

gabby mum,
yah, $400, 2 plans. will take more others later on... i think medical is still most critical for now.

bluelily,
i think ok to feed frequently if Jr is underweight. my friend's son is born in mid Nov, his weight is only 9kg and he eats 5 meals a day leh... breakfast, tea break, lunch, tea break and dinner! her PD recommended to just feed if baby is keen to eat.

gabby mum,

forgot to add.. the $400 hor, one of them is medisave deductable.. so we only cough up abt $200 plus in cash for the other plan.

dylan's_mom, the thing is.. he does not seem to be hungry every 3 hrly! Always refuses his porridge or milk. Occassionally when we go gai gai, we drag his meal interval to 3.5hr - 4hr, he eats better.

Bluelily,

Ryan's meals and milk feed as follow:

3 solid meals a day ->
Cereal or pasta for breakfast, then 2 x porridge

4 x 180 ml FM

Snacks on biscuits, yogurt, fruits, raisin in between.

Today he's exactly 15 months old! How fast!

Last week took him for MMR jab.
He weighs 11.5kg and height is 82cm.

Sometimes I'm in a dilemma too.. wonder if I should feed him more as he keeps wanting more biscuits, fruit , milk etc.

bluelily, susu has 4 milk and 2.5 solids (.5 cos the trs give her 2 pieces of bread for "tea" every day). also always not hungry. at night only eat a small amt of rice and soup + veggie.

tub, phy what's the timing like? How do you squeeze in so many meals? I can only manage to squeeze in 3 milk feeds.. if I drag to longer than 3hrsly.. sometimes only 2 milk feeds!

hmm bluelily,
if that's the case then looks like u need to drag to longer interval but u can still try to feed him snacks in between to fill him up? did you ask yr PD for any advice?

o dear.. hope dylan now not in pain anymore... aiyo.. i cannot imagine tiny todd's fingers kena ngiak! OMG! ouch!!!

morning - latch on
9am @ school
12pm - rice@ school
2pm - fruits @ school
4pm - milk
7pm - dinner
9pm - FM 150ml

Bluelily,

Actually Jr is eating more then Kyrell leh, mine only having 2 FM and 2 meals + some snacks in between. And his solids does not even consist of 2 meals of porridge, rice or pasta. Usually its only rolled oats+fruits or sweet potato for his 2nd meal.

He is eating at 3.5-4hr interval. I am also worried that I am under feeding him after knowing some of your bb eats so much
But my mum and hubby thinks his little tummy cannot contain so much. So long as he is putting on weight (11.5kg now) and not crying for food, then he should be fine.

just to share my son's schedule
my son ethan takes 4x180ml of enfapro/enfagrow

6am milk
10am milk
11am congee
4pm milk
5pm snack
7.30pm rice/noodles/fries
10pm milk

jeelo,
he ok already..
yesterday just went to KK to get doc's clearance. saw another girl who kenna same problem..but hers hor, she broke her finger!! faint...

Bluelily,

Forgot to add, Kyrell's portion of the meal is quite big though. For his lunch yesterday, my mum gave him cereal+120ml FM with fish, french bean, mushroom, soup, cauliflower and egg. And he will have his yogurt and 1 apple almost everyday.

If Jr is steadily putting on weight then I think you dun have to worry bah... maybe you can check with your PD?

technically, Louisa has 4 milk feeds too...but i'm not sure how much milk she takes for 3 of those feeds. coz latch on. Plus, I highly suspect she's just latching on for comfort...so, it's one FM (180ml) feed.

morning, she must latch on. Offer her FM, she refuse to open her mouth.

dylan ma, din go PD recently. Forgot to check with nurse at polyclinic also. haha.

cocoangel, ya loh. Looks like jr is eating more, but he's not putting on weight. Dunno where the food gone too.. all excreted out? But we have a super hard time making him eat loh. Sometimes will fight till he choke.. and once he choke.. he'll vomit ALL out. 1 whole bowl of porridge vomit back out intact cos he doesn't bite either. V sad ah.

shawn seems to be eating lesser than jr also? Or 1 meal consist of more quantity? Jr's milk is only 200ml.

daffy, wah u bb can have congee 1 hr after milk at 11am? How much milk n congee n feed? Jr will puke!

cocoangel, oh kyrell's meal looks big. For solids, we usually just dump all the ingredients into 1 small bowl of porridge. Jr have not been putting on weight for many mths.. only 8.7kg now. Below 25th percentile.. but nurse just says maybe me n hb also skinny loh. tt's y. Hai...

bluelily,
I think dylan prob eats abt same amt as Jr? dylan also only has a small small bowl of porridge each meal n he can only eat abt 10-15 spoonfuls.

Ok here's the timing. Tell me what you think.

8am: 100 ml milk + 100ml milk cook with brown rice paste + 1 small cube of laughing cow cheese

12+pm: 1 bowl (those small bowl used for soup) of porridge (with fish, vegy, alt day eggs, sometimes toufu, etc)

3-4pm: 1 bowl of porridge (same as above)

7pm: 200ml of fm

10pm: 200ml of fm

I'm thinking of splitting the 2 solid meals.. but gotta cook 2x? V leh chey.. cos we tried b4 and sometimes the porridge will get cao sng by 7pm.. even though i put in tiger jar.. maybe cos got vegy inside. How do u all do it?

<font color="ff0000"><font size="+1">But why is jr not putting on weight??</font></font>

Maybe his stomach got worms... hahaha. Or genes? My weight was 70% all along.. underweight my whole life. wahhaha

here's my princess schedule:

6:00am - 160ml milk

8:00am - 90ml milk+cereal/yoghurt w banana/90ml+oat+banana/bread w jam

10:30am - 1 bowl of porridge (fish/beef, spinach, brocolli, cauliflower, celery, carrots, pumpkin, red dates, wolfberries, dried scallops)
12:00pm - 60ml milk

3:00pm - 1 bowl porridge (same as above) + 1 apple

6:00pm - 40ml milke

7:00pm - plain rice, veg, egg, soup

9:00pm - 160ml milk

her milk intake used to be 200ml each feed, now u see...so little nia...tmr going to ask PD liao...

Oh dear poor dylan. Hugz... thank god that his finger is alright.

Joshua's pinky also kenna stuck in between the closing door and the bruised nail just drop off last sunday so now waiting patiently for his new nail to grow back.

hmm bluelily,

jus to share w u the advice my PD gave.
he said to give bb more food choices, not jus porridge all the time.

i.e,
give finger food like carrots, or grilled or pan fried chicken or fish in addition to rice/soup or porridge. try to interest them into eating cos they might be sick of same food all the time, esp if its all mashed in 1 bowl.

8am - 100ml of FM
930am - breakfast (raisin bread) sometimes he refuses to eat here.
1130am - porridge
1230pm - 160ml FM then nap
330pm - snack (biscuits, cheese, bread or fruit) then 160ml FM
630pm - porridge

as u can see i m not reallt practicing wat my PD taught me as i dun hv time to cook n care for dylan.

hmmm... this is susu's schedule

630am - 150ml FM
830am - 100ml FM + egg + apple OR 150ml FM + apple
1130am - porridge
230pm - bread with soy nut butter + margarine + another fruit
530pm - 150/200ml FM
7pm - dinner (rice + soup +veg) not a lot
9pm - 130-150 BM

@ home during weekends
7am - 150ml FM
10am - 150ml FM + fruit
12-ish - lunch (rice + soup + veg)
3pm - 150ml FM + fruit
6-ish - dinner (same as lunch)
9pm - 150ml BM

wow! ber! kyrell can drink FM after lunchie??? good! my darling doesn't even want water. sigh.

bluelily, put in slow cooker? i'll usually only cook in the AM for susu's soup during the weekends.