(2007/11) November MTBs

ASHM,
Yup due in end oct. Thanks!

michviv,
that crossed my mind too abt their milk teeth. but when i researched it online, it seems like if u dont take care of their milk teeth now n they fall off prematurely then there will be gaps n when their adult teeth grow they will not be in line.

ASHM,
welcome back, no wonder have not heard from you so long..had a great trip?

I'm doing fine and my gal is turning 5mths old soon..time flies!!

I juz took one day leave last week to bring Garreth to the zoo. Let me know when you ladies are meeting and I try to fit into my schedule

poissons - Yup, had a great trip to SH. Visited the expo and best of all we did not queue to get into the 4 pavillions as we had friends there and manage to get us in under the VIP list.
Yes i will arrange for us to meet up and let you know when it is confirmed.

michviv - I was in the HK disneyland two years ago in Dec. The place is small but enough for a toddler to begin his disneyland adventures. You can complete the rides within one day as not all of them are suitable for our kiddos. Perfect timing if you guys are going to HK since your hubby will be there for exams. Perth will be nice too. We will bring the kids to Melbourne next year. I think they should be able to enjoy the place by then.

gloomybear, congrats! Brielle is adorable

ASHM, I'm ging HK Disney on 6 Nov. Any idea if the weather will be chilly then? Not sureif need to bring winter clothes.

michviv, how much did you pay for the agar agar last yr?

missA - Nov should be cooling in HK, average temp is around +/-24degree c. It will not be cold especially you are going there early part of the month. Maybe bring one thick sweater for A for night time?

Apologies but am searching for a Babysafe Mattress for baby.. Do pm me if you've any to let go, with the condition, dimensions, pictures etc.

Appreciate it lots and thanks! =)

Hi ladies!!!!!!

been extra busy cos helper problem

all new joiners are so cute n chubby!!!!!!

with no 2......all of u must be super busy like me hehhehheh.

missA~nov come hkg disney???any chance of going together :p probs can hv a mini celebration together too

ASHM~ya!!!!!!!!! can hardly go forum except facebook n look see.more clothes to hand over ???hehehhehheh.

will hv a sin flt on 26/27th sept n 26/27 oct.let me know if wanna meet up la
will be at furama city centre (chinatown)

ashm, great, weather not so cold. Was about to but long sleeves & tights which A will probably resist wearing. This girl now pick & choose what she wears

weishy, sure can meet up when I'm in HK. Plan to go Ocean Park on too. I'll reach on 6 Nov staying in Kowloon. Oops forgot which day will be in Disney, will chk tonight & update tmr.

Wah... all planning celebrations and birthday gifts for our Nov babies. Think this year will only be our family and the boys. he'll also be celebrating in Disneyland. So I was thinking not to buy him a gift.. but he probbaly can start on a bike soon... so i'm quite undecided..

If anyone comes to Europe can come visit.. I also miss company here.

Weishy, i just booked my air tix to HK!! Haha, i m also going in Nov... will be in HK from 10th till 14th Nov....

Claire & my Mum will be in HK earlier, she n my Mum taking CX flight... Hehehe, see whether u also same flight with them lor... :p

wow... so many will be going overseas in Nov to cele our little ones' bday...

For my case, since 15 Nov is a Monday... Most likely we will cele for our little ones on Sunday..

missA~actually u can skip ocean park cos not much fun le....esp to younger children like ours......dun brign stroller cos alot of steps without lift.

disney~best is go on weekday so hayley can go too :p
annual pass nt for weekends ma

K@ye~aiyo u guys come when i dun hv leave hehehheh but will post my off days here in nov :p

we can go yum cha ma ehhehehhe
my hk no 61919605

MissA, i bought Claire to Ocean Park before. Like what Weishy said, its not stroller frenly... Alot of steps.. but some places are okie within the park.

Claire enjoyed herself thorougly at Ocean Park coz she loves to see the sea animals show n also the Giant Aquarium where she gets to see the fishes & sharks & stuff!

Weishy, hhaha.. this time my trip very short.. also dunno got time to meet up with u... How much is the tickets to Disneyland?

weishy, me staying at Disney on 9 Nov so will be in Disneyland 9&10 Nov (weekdays).

weishy/k@ye, whr's gd to shop or visit wif kiddo? Thinking of going CityGate.

So many of u going HK for holiday? I'll be going Taiwan in early Nov, but w/o E. Will be going with my siblings and hb this time round

k@ye, MissA: Have fun in Hong Kong. =)

missA: Did you go to Perth ah? I can't recall...I know that Poochi has been. By the way, is A going to continue with Mindchamps next year? Or are you putting her in the Kindergarten system.

Poochi: Any recommendations on places to bring children at Margaret River?

Cactus: Have a good time in Taiwan! No one ever volunteered to take care of Ethan and Evan so we have no choice but to go on holiday with them. Lucky you...=)

Hi michviv, imo margaret river generally lots of vineyards nothing much for kids le, but we did a farmstay over there as well as visited the choc, cheese factory. I recommend going to Kings Park- childrens playground, WA aquarium as well as the wildlife park. I think i still have the details can email u. Wen r u going?

poochi, email me too, can keep for reference

michviv, I went Brisbane & Goldcoast last year. A will go Nanyang K nx yr. Now hv to look into hiring a maid since no more childcare. E going Maris Stella right?

cactus, wow who look after E? I hv the impression you went taiwan recently leh.

k@ye, u stilllooking for Finance job? if so sms me ya?

Michviv/Miss A: Hee...i've a super nice MIL to help me look after E. Yes, we went thr in Apr this year together with E & MIL. My sis said she wants to go and asked all my sisters and bro to join her as a family trip (w/o the kids) so we thought its a rare opportunity. But it's super guilty with the thought of leaving E behind but it's gonna b v hectic for him and us coz we'll be going to mountainous area this time round. Also, since both my MIL & E went to TW before, it's less guilty to break the news to my MIL that we're going to TW again, but w/o them:p

MissA: We're planning to go Brisbane and Goldcoast next year, might need to get some travel tips from u if the trip is confirmed:)

Btw, u mentioned abt shifting months ago, have u?

Poochi: Ya, we plan to go to visit the farm and chocolate factory. I heard that there are some wineries with children play areas so I'll need to research more into that. We are going to the wildlife park and Kings Park playground but I'm not sure about the aquarium. is it worth a visit? Email (pm) me any info you have ok? Thanks babe! We will be there from 4-9 Nov.

missA: I see...haha...everyone seems to be switching to kindergarten system. Yes, E is going to Maris Stella. I'm crossing my fingers that he will like it. Wah! I heard Nanyang K is very tough to get into...how did you manage it?

Cactus: So lucky...enjoy yourself! =)

Hallo Ladies~~

MissA, i love to go to this place called Grand Century Place at Mongkok. Its a shopping centre, there is one level dedicated to all children stuff n with a playground near to the foodcourt on the same level.

Do note that the playground can be very crowded at times (esp when the children had knocked off from their classes) The playground is very big.

MissA, thanks for thinking of me. Not looking for a job at the moment, i got trsf to another division. Will only look out when my contract abt to end... which is Mar next year!

Hi, i'm an experienced pre-school teacher now SAHM. My kids are both 4 and 8 yrs old now. I started doing playgroup style cum phonics teaching with them when they were 2/3 yrs old. Both started reading elementary books and able to spell many words by age 3.

Many parents sent their kids to phonics at the age of 4 and some kids at age 5 still unable to spell or read well. In fact, once a week phonics class is not enuf. At least 2 times a week is more effective. Giving toddlers early exposure to phonics with effective material and fun lesson plan is beneficial. My girl loves reading and without tuition and the need to do assessment book, she's the top scorer for English in P1. Her strong English foundation will not be possible if i did not expose her to phonics at an early age. There are many phonics material sold in bookstores and internet but many are not interesting. The one i have is used by a popular playgroup and my 2 kids love it and listen to it many times which is impt for their learning process.

Thus, I'm thinking of starting a training course to mothers who wants to learn how to teach phonics YOURSELF effectively. It's oso good bonding time with your kids and with those who have more than 1 child, it's even better to do it together. U can bring yr kid along as long as they dun distract you. Lesson plan, CD and material will be included. I will teach hand actions on songs and rhymes as well as ideas on art and craft to make the whole teaching session meaningful.

Details as follows:-
- 6 to 8 week course
- 2 hours per SESSION, once a week
- Weekday morning except Thurs (pls state your preference)
- Time : 9.30 to 11.30 am (time can be adjusted)
- $50 per SESSION (including lesson plan and craft material)
- Phonics Book and CD to be purchase at $20/- per set.
This phonics course is basic phonics comprise of Consonants and Vowels. Suitable for children upto 4 yrs old.
Alternatively, if there's enough kids (5 of them), i'm keen to start a home based playgroup cum fun phonics for 2-3 yrs old with adult sit-in. 2 or 3 times per week.

If you are interested, pls email to me at [email protected].

All enquiries are welcome

k@ye, thanks will def visit GCP since quite near to my hotel. Geed to know you got rid of the PA role

cactus, oredi planing nx yr's trip! You hv a great MIL
Looks like my hubby is trying to opt out of free housing so we're staying put for the time being. Hubby now hv crazy idea to rent somewhr near the primary sch he want A to attend. Currently we are within 1km of Fairfield but heard it is such a popular school that even within 1 km has to ballot.

Michviv, I din deliberately plan for A to go Nanyang. I called to put her in the queue when she turned one. The lady gave me the impression that she is just entertaining me cos later I was told hv to go down to pay $100 to be in the queue. Was taken by surprise when she called me few mths back to confirm the intake for next year. The principal has been complaining abt A's behaviour in MC so I think perhaps good to change get to ano environment.

MissA, small thing! Enjoy shopping there! Y did the principal complain abt A?

For my case, the principal is worried abt Claire hvg autism. As Claire shows no sign of responding to ppl, quoting the principal's words, "Her behaviour is inconsistent n dun seems to be that of a 3 yr old as compared to other 3 yr old." That totally freaked me out, now the principal & me are working on to stimulate Claire so tt she will be more responsive to us.

Poissons & Ueno, her behaviour is inconsistent at home or in school... sometimes she will respond to us but sometimes she wont...

In school, its even worse... Recently, she had cut n bruise herself at school coz she din respond to her teachers' call out for the danger she is going into...

The principal told me that her behaviour is not as what other 3 yrs old be. What makes the principal's words credible is that she volunteered at the Autism school n the cc has a case of an Autism child 2 years ago.

She further mentioned tt there is 2 possible reasons for Claire's behaviour, one is mild Autism n the other is blockage in her learning which we hv to stimulate her...

So i pray tt its the latter, blockage in her learning.....

Kaye,
will pray for Claire. Try yr best to stimulate her n work w the school. It's dangerous when she doesn't respond to the call for danger. Take care!

kaye,
do take care - and will pray that claire's case is the latter and this is just another phase she will get through.

missA
A is truly lucky to get a spot at nanyang!

missA: Good job all the same. Hope you likes her new school. I pass it every week on my way to church so I know its newly renovated. =) Ethan really loves MC and both me and hubby have been telling him about his new school. So I'm keeping my fingers crossed.

k@ye: Try reading more with her or bring her outdoors to expose her to more new experiences. Will keep Claire in my prayers as well.

hi kaye,

maybe you should bing her to a polyclinic and ask for referral to KKH child development unit to access.

I did that for Hanns becos he is very active and cannot sit still, the teachers and school nurse mentioned to me if I am aware of AHDH etc..... and so i went to take a referral, and guess what, the doctor at the KKH child development unit gave me a small reprimand and even mentioned to me that school teachers need to be educated rather than start to brand a child with this and that cos they are not professional and kids at this age is too young to be diagnosed with hyperactive, AHDH etc.....

I mentioned to the dr that becos Hanns is not like other kids and other kids dun behave like hanns too and she kept asking me what's wrong with that, every kid is different and they are below 3 yrs old etc.... anyway she give Hanns a series of assessment and he passed, not only passed but with flying colors so in the end me and hubby are the one that got problem, not hanns and the doctor asked us to go for signpost, a parenting class to handle difficult kid with difficult behavior and discharged hanns.

If claire really has a problem which i think is too young to tell, then early intervention by professional is important.

Happy, ya.. that's what i m going to do after observing her for a few more months. What happened is that in Claire's cc, one of her teachers... also has a child who has autism...

Also, reading from some online resources, some children who had autism can be hyper active too.

The principal is concerned as she told me tt the cc is a protected envt. She is just worried abt Claire being bullied n unable to express herself when she goes to primary school. As the principal has witnessed bullying acts from the upper pri children to the lower pri kids.

hi k@ye, just to share with u that my cousin was also diagnosed with asperger's when he was a toddler. but he's as normal a 18-year old now
altho he does have his "quirky" traits but nothing too worrying.

but his mum did home school him and he only attended "real" school in secondary school.

don't worry too much k! early intervention will help and important is the support and guidance that the child gets.

k@ye, my fren who teaches autistic children mentioned most of the time, the children who were thought to be autistic are really not. Don't worry, Clare shd be fine.

The principal told us that A only listen to her chinese teacher. When the other teachers tell her to do things, she will not and she also insist that the chinese teacher feed her. Recently she has been going around pinching her frens & she even pinched the cook. This is has a fiery temper as well and none of the teachers can control her.

btw, is Nov too cold to swim in HK? Wondering if shd pack swim gear for Disney hotel stay.

k@ye: My friend has a 3 year old son who is confirmed to be having autism. She said one tell tale sign of kids with autism is they will not look at you in yr eyes when u talk to them. Her son has been seeing a pte psycologist for the past few months and has recently gotten a referral letter from poly to be seen in KK for detailed tests and assesement in end Oct.

Like what happy mentioned, we cannot label a child autism so easily. There's usually a series of tests and assesements before they can conclude anything. Observe her for a few more months and see how it goes. She seems to be a chirpy girl and i really hope it's nothing serious.

I've a 7 pages article extracted from our internal source on Autism, ADHD, Dyspraxia, Dyslexia but the pdf file is too huge to be attached here. PM me yr email addy so that i can forward the article to u if u're keen.

Thanks ladies for e reassurance! Claire also dun look into ppl s eyes or mine when we talked to her. Tat s y quite worrying.

Cactusnah,
can you email me the pdf files too? (i pm you)
my son has the same problem of not looking into my eyes (not even face!) when i talk to him (squat down to his level) and will either try to get away from me or beat my face with his hands and then start throwing tantrums & cry.
he's very active (very notti too!) but does things HIS ways almost every time - climb chairs/table/sofa/bed/etc. *headache*

K@ye,
keep the faith - lets be positive that this is one of the growing phase that they will get over in due course. Jia You.
I read about the part whr autistic kids usually dun look at eyes of the other person during communication and it worries me quite a bit coz my son too behaves like that for a few months already. and although he is super notti (we all thought boys ARE so different from girls, rite?), running/climbing/beating/pulling C's hair, etcetera; when i talk to him, he will look elsewhere or simply just beat my face with his hands n then throw his tantrums and cry.

Another UNRELATED question:

Any mommies here have bought electronic products from US to Sg? Are there any taxes/GST we need to pay to bring in the items? I'm eyeing one kitchen appliance (Sg not selling) and wants a colig to help bring it back - but we're not sure if this is possible. The item cost USD150

TIA!!

Kitty, thanks! On ur tax question, bring back is not an issue, if the item is less than SG$400, no need to pay GST.

Kitty: I din receive yr PM and i dun have yr email addy. Can PM me again?

Not having eye contact when conversing is just one of it, there's still many other tests and therapy that need to be carried out. Dun worry too much and let's hope it's just a passing phrase.

Hi Mummies, can advise me how to build immunity system? My son had fever about two weeks ago and just got it again last weekend.

Re: autistic kids
What about when you call them and they don't response but continue with their own activity?