(2007/11) November MTBs

poissons,

but if take school bus,need to wake up and leave housee very early ? what time does G takes the bus? where do you stay? another concern is that they already expose to lots of virus in school in class and then school bus got different levels of students so again more exposure to more virus sigh.....like to fetch the kids to school as I can see their behaviour when they walk into the class whether they are happy or not and after school, sometimes able to get direct feedback from teacher too leh... just my thoughts lah...

is st james really good? i have friends who told me that after their kids from st james go to primary 1, they are unable to cope, i wonder why is it so? they told me that st james is like any other kindergartens, need to take enrichment classes etc..( if take school bus then how to have extra enrichment after school) that's why me having 2nd thoughts too, since like any other normal kindergartens, then might as well send to nearby one....have different opinions heard from st james leh... sigh...

kaye,

in work place can throw tantrums???:) how old are they? you mean they complains alot? among colleagues bound to complain alot when things dun turn out smoothly but throw tantrums.... who entertainment them...

happy,
G is in the 3rd session, he has to take the school bus by 1.35pm, a little earlier than other students who are being sent to school by parents. I stay around S'pore poly area...the school bus is those 12-14 seater type (van), and it's only catered to the 3rd session students, not mix with other levels cos' at that time, there are only pre-n students. Agree that if we send them direct to school, we are able to see their behavior or chat with teacher, but I rather not cos' I know G will be sticky, if we send him, there's tendency of him not wanting to attend the class. As for comms with teacher, there's a daily comms book in their school bag, so if you want to check with the teacher on certain things, you can write and they will respond to you promptly. Otherwise,they also hold teacher-parent session to catch up. I'm not that particular, they are only Pre-N, just going there to socialise and learn thru' play (rather than stay at home and nua). For enrichment classes, the school do organise school bus to send them back too (have to pay lah), so no worries.

As for whether St james is good, I think it's up to individual bah. My niece graduated there 2 yrs ago, so far she is coping well in pri school, but that's also becos' she has other enrichment classes outside school as well. We can't really rely on the kindergarten to teach everything.

michviv, how many students are thr in E's class? A's class now has 14 students & they are going to split the class in March and she will have a new English teacher.

Poissons & MissA, thanks!

Happy, they throw tantrums by throwing the files & papers hard on the table & stuff... Both of them in their early 30s.
Complaints are okie coz i m also one of the whiners but not throwing tantrums.... Even my boss pissed me off big time with her MI requests, i also dun do that.

michviv: quick question. Usually for Augmentin, how many days is the course? Shannon caught a cold last week and the PD again prescribed antibiotics, this time for 14 days as he says she has another ear infection. This time, no fever and no discharge from ears. Then today, we did a follow up at a ENT specialist at Fudan (a local children hospital), he says she is recovering, no infection, fluid in middle ears almost gone. Just continue to take the nose drop and see him in another 2 weeks. Tell me I should not continue to give antibiotics, it's not gd for the baby. I also know this, but my concern is I cannot just stop it. For Augmentin, I rememebr usually one course is about 7 days? But the nurse did tell me can feed from 7-14 days. So if really want to stop, when to stop? I am getting so stressed over the medical care here. I am almost on the verge to bring Shannon back to Singapore.

missA: From my knowledge I think there are 10/11 students but only about a little over half of the students are on full day so its ok. Splitting the class is good I guess but it really depends if Ash will get the teacher she likes. E is quite attached to his teachers now so it may be an issue if the class was split. There is also an issue of space at Tanglin as all the classrooms except 1 are full. Eh, will you be keeping Ash in Mindchamps from N2 to K2? Ethan has a spot in Maris Stella Kindergarten but I'm not sure if I should move him there or not. Hai...

Tinkabel: What day of the course is Shannon on now? She should complete at least 7 days or else it may lead to resistance in future (where the antibiotic may no longer be effective for her). So if its after 7 days, you can safely stop now. If not, please continue till 7 days then stop. Hope this helps...=) Dun stress!!!

michviv, Ash has change English teach fr PG to N1 and now to another new N1 teacher. Luckily her Chinese teacher remains the same. I guess she'll be able to adapt. I intend to leave her in MC as long as we stay at the same location. We probably hv to move to Mt Vernon area in 2 yrs time, then we hv to change cc. I hv not source for a cc that area yet. Have you start E on toilet training? Since CNY week, A is toilet trained at home and at MC, the teachers are also doing their part. The teacher feedback that A is co-orperative when it comes to toilet training as some of her classmates are doing it at the same time. Peer pressure - I guess. Btw, E has started the reading programme? My A dun like to read at all, she does not like to read the books more than 1 time.

MissA, u thinking of shifting? In my case, i will be shifting nearer to my Mum's place coz the cc that claire is going to is good....

poissons:: it's okay la dear!

kaye:: wooo! then u found new job liao? or your new job is SAHM? haha!!

missA:: Why probably have to move? is it move to near a primary school?

tinkabel:: hugs to shannon.

missA: Mt Vernon? You have bought a new place there that is under construction? =) I'm just guessing.

I've started E on potty training but its very difficult leh! He is too smart for me. I keep on telling him about the benefits of going to the potty, he keeps on tell me about the benefits of diapers. *faints* Can get him to sit on potty occasionally at home but I'll probably start hard core training after I pop cos its too tiring for me now.

Yup, we've started the reading programme. E take to it very well possibly because we borrow books very often from the library and he loves reading those too. So the book from school supplements what he already does. Try to incorporate into her daily routine. It will help...

michviv, cindy, k@ye, I am forced to move cos my hubby given staff housing and we hv no choice, it comes with his assignment. Anyway I am trying to resist, cos I like my area too much. The primary school where we stay now also quite good. Moving to a new place (far & not accessible IMO) will change a lot of things. Support care for A will be gone, now at least my family are nearby.

missA:: given staff housing means he must stay in that housing, not optional? aiyo, u sound so sad. so if don't want to move then he must change a job? but mt vernon is quite prime area ley.

michviv:: haha!! E is a smart boy la. I have also given up hope on training travis la. HE only tells me when he finish peeing! and pooing is worse, he tells me he wanna poo. SO i say okok, potty okie? he says okay. not even 1 min, he just make some ng ng sound, and he tells me, OKAY! Finish! but there's nothing. then he says he wants his diaper back, when i wear it back for him, POO is out immediately!! GRRR. frustration.

missA: travis also loves reading books but he chooses the books he wants to read. so every fri he will bring a story book back and we will read to him, he prefers vehicle or animal related books eh.

cindy, ya no option and my hubby wont chg job one. Mt Vernon mite hv "hantu" lol. But at least, we get free housing and can lease out our current apartment.

Cindy, on the look out for job now... Will be temporarily SAHM lah...

MissA, i see... but how long to stay at Mt Vernon? Not very long rite?

On toilet training, i m fortunate that Claire loves to sleep without her diapers and even with her pampers on, she will insist that we take it off for her so that she can pee/poo in the potty....

But she refused to sit on the toilet seat even though we put on the child toilet seat. N in CC, she is still in diapers coz she dun like the child toilet seat either... grr... just dunno what to do!

k@ye, cld be staying thr till hubby retire! when C zzz at nite, she'll wake to to pee?

My A very naughty, she'll take the inner pee container out of the potty and sit on that to pee. As for the child seat, she'll want to fix it on herself then we can carry her to sit on it.

wah, claire really clever ley..

missA:: he loveeee his job so much eh? can rent out current house and get extra income also good la. in fact that was what my hubby suggested to me too, move to boarding school where i teach and rent out duxton, but no way man!! and who knows? u will definitely grow to love your new area!!

toilet training: I think training is important but if the kid is not ready, then just have to wait for a while more, I did not purposely toilet train Hanns, just kept telling him that whenever he wants to poo, must tell us and in the past when he pooed out, we will tell him that dirty, smelly, must tell mummy before you poo, poo must go toilet, that started when he is about 1.5 yrs old, just kept telling him and after a few month later, he will tell you he wants to poo but most of the time, he does not know how to control and several times we are not in time rushing him to the toilet so we kept telling him whenever he tells us he wanna poo, wait hanns, wait, cannot poo poo in the diaper, and as times go, he know how to control liao, as for urine, i did not bother cos too busy but after he attended japanese school, the teacher there helps to train and within 2 weeks, he learned ( guess maybe all along he is okay but i just dun bother lor for urine) but i still find that for urine, alot of times, he cannot control that well, for eg. when he said he wanna pee, i bring him to toilet and only a few drops come out, then about a few mins later, he said he wanna pee again, especially when taking shower, he said wanna pee but sometimes dun have, I think it is the urge feeling but he still dun really know how to control yet lor, so far without his diaper, he will not pee but alot of false alarm and then one thing funny is he dunno how to pee standing, in shower, I told him, just pee but he wants me to carry him up the toilet bowl before he can pee, guess later part got to ask daddy to show him sigh....

my point is, just keep telling them to tell you whenever they wanna poo or pee and when they are ready, they will just do it lor, like my nephew, started 1.5 yrs too, kept scolding him also no point, close to 2.5 yrs old automatically okay liao.

kaye,

hated it too when ppl around throwing files on the table or slam down phone, so inconsiderate as it really affect the ppl around them, that also shows their EQ level.

me prefer to work with more men around, usually they are quite ok, with more women, more complicated environment, oops sorry ladies..:) that's why no woman superior for me too :) but then again, in my last job, my male GM was a hundred times worse than female boss. we always said he is a failure as a boss and also as a man :)

RE : toilet training
I think i will skip the potty part and go straight into toilet training, now that my gal likes to go into toilet with me. Even offer to clean for me after i pee! Hopefully she gets enuf peer pressure fr her schoolmates when she start her class next mth since half of her gp are all toilet trained... we shall see.

MissA,
with more people moving in, i guess the yin qi not that bad bah.. i stayed in Bishan for so many yrs also ok wat.. extra income sounds cool.. more trips!!

michviv: Thanks, that's assuring. We are on 6th day today, so once I am done with tomorrow. I will stop. Although when I emailed the PD, his reply is 14days is usual treatment for ear infection with sinusitis (nasal infection). He still recommends to do 10 days for ear infection, says 5-7 days is ok but usually infection comes back. I am just worried too much antibiotics for her.

Re: toilet training
Matt denies he poo poo. Ask him if he pooed (esp in the morning) cos we know that's the usual time. Always say no with a cheeky smile and then we know. Sometimes, hide under table to do his business. Sigh... I am hoping he gets trained soon. I just ordered 3 packs of diapers for both Matt and Shannon. Cost 100+ bucks SGD. So expensive...

Re: reading program
Matt loves to read too. Start memorising certain key words in his books. Would pull me to read before going to bed. His teacher in school says he loves to go to "read" in the reading corner, so I am quite glad he's taken a huge liking to reading

MissA & Cindy, C loves to sleep w/o her pants especially at nite... even sometimes after she has finished peeing midnite... she will take off her pants!

Happy, Male or Female colleagues all dependent on their personality but in general, male colleagues are better as they re not so calculative! I just cant wait to leave this place!

Grace: Congrats on a bb boy:)

Weishy: *Wave* How are you doing in HK? Doing ground wk or u've started flying? Am sure u'll miss yr kiddos.

Cindy: Too bad i cannot go visit u at yr new palace.U take pix and load on FB k.

Toilet Training: E is toilet trained during the day but still needs the diaper at night. Just last wk, we brght him for the Chingay parade. Aft the parade, E said he wants to pee, my hb ask him to pee in his diaper but he ask my hb "mummy will scold or not?" Aiyo, make me sound so cruel. Knwing he will refuse to pee in his diaper, my hb brght him to a corner to do his biz, but he said cannot pee there, must pee in toilet. In the end, he only pee when we got bk home. So that's the only disadvantage.

Tinkabel: E was on augmentin before and we were told to complete the 7 days course. But E din get well aft that and we brght him to the hospital and was told the dosage given by my PD was insufficient for his weight. I guess 7 days shld be enough esp for Shannon's age. Winter shld be over soon right? Hope S will get well soon.

cactus, A was also on augmentine, the dosage is 5ml.

k@ye, C reminds me of myself when I was a kid, I also always take off the pants at night but that was due to the material of the pants which caused me to itch. My mum juz bo hue and let me wear the same pants every nite!

MissA, my Sis also told me tt she loves to sleep w/o her pants at nite ard C's age. But my Sis is smart, she will cover her ass with a blanket!

Tinkabel,
ZY can hi 5 Matt too - always denies she has poo-ed but I figure she is in the midst of fun n dun wanna break the momentum. And she also loves reading, but can be tiring for us cos she wanna read together.

Get e vat refund receipt fr LV shop. U can't check in e bag, after gog thru e German customs. Shd hv a tax refund counter bah. Need a chop fr e custom officer to chop on e receipt b4 can claim $$ but I can always ask my German CFO abt e counters.

Coz usually all int'l flights to whichever part of Germany has to transit in Frankfurt.

cactus, michviv: Got to PD today for a subsequent visit. Agreed her ears are better and we stopped the Augmentin. Weather is SH has warmed up this week, Shannon's nose is getting better and thus helps the ears.

Michviv: I understand that there are eye drops that can be used in the ears. What type of eye drops are safe? I mean anti-ototoxic. I had a doctor who prescribed this allergan brand Polypred eye drops to me, only to have the Fudan ENT specialist tell me that they create toxic (he said in mandarin, so not sure if this refers to ototoxic). What about Lincomycin hyrdrochloride eye drops? It was prescribed by the Fudan ENT to use in the nose. Getting so skeptical about drugs here. Shannon's right ear passed the hearing test, which means it is recovered. Left ear still has some fluid. So we are waiting another 2 weeks for a re-visit to the ENT. Else, we may just return to Singapore. Really feel stressed by medical care here in Shanghai. Sorry for bothering you, you are my only pharmacist friend, that I can seek some advice from. Thanks in advance.

brought hanns to a birthday party and he enjoyed himself especially the pinatas part. first time, he saw sweets falling off from pinatas and all the kids picking up from the floor. I told him to go ahead but being the youngest, he is slow, however still managed to get 1 sweet. There is a little girl with parents beside us so I told him to give the sweet to the little girl, guess what, he threw the sweet on the floor to the girl, I was shocked and then realised, that's what everyone do, (the pinatas, sweets dropping to the floor and everyone pick up) so he thought he should throw on the floor and let the girl pick up. OMG, so paiseh and I keep saying sorry to the parents for they kinda of shocked too.

Tinkabel-tats ex le!!!!! I can bring daipers for u when I go sha la but buy from hkg loooo

Catusnah -I'm good but gt discharge since last week till now n no heart beat yet cos bb only 6 weeks

MissA-think e tax rebate in Germany is about 15% hummm sometimes u hv to chk e exchange rates too.euro too high also Bo hua le

HELLO EVERYONE!How have u ALL been? Guess you all still remember me?
But I am using my BP username instead cos my main user acc has been suspended for quite whille. also one of the reason why i havt been posting at all for the past mths...
I have been missing from this thread for the longest time! BUT i do pop in and 'peep' at everyone once in awhile. However no time to really sit down and post something proper!

And I know some of you mummies here are preggy with 2nd one...so far all ur wishes are granted right? CONGRATS! And for those of you who have given birth....CONGRATS too though my wishes came abit late..

Thse passes mths have been crazy for me. Moving hse, my boy started P1, no proper workspace, new hm reno etc....I am more active in FB now cos easier and I hvnt been updating my blog either.

I guess i do have lots to catch up with all of you.
and i m so looking forward to move in by March so that i can start to do alot of things!
Arggh....plus the recent hot weather is killing me....Mischa's terrible 2s' getting worse by the day too...hiaz..

S@l-P1 very tough hor..... Busy busy busy
terrible 2 ma think all kiddie here same same la ;) at least Hayley Is looo but nowadays abit better.seems that she understands more now so can listen

tinkabel: No worries. Glad that I have been able to help so far. As to whether a eyedrop/eardrop preparation can be used for the eye or ear depends on a few factors. The most important is the formulation (which refers to the ingredients in the product) as some products are formulated to stay longer in the tear film of the eye and may be more viscous. The other consideration is the pH (which refers to the acidity of the product). Usually, the pH differs for eye and ear products unless its formulated for both purposes. In summary, there is no hard and fast rule and it would depend on a case by case basis. From what I read, polypred is only formulated for use in the eyes so I would caution using it for the ears as well. As for Lincomycin hydrochloride, that is just the drug name of the active ingredient and I really need to take a look at the formulation (or other ingredients in the product) to be sure. To be on the safe side, always confirm with your doctor before using and don't interexchange use for eyes or ears. In general, products formulated for eyes are gentler than that formulated for the ears so it sounds reasonable when you say that they are using an eye drop for the nose.

Good news to share ladies...I've FINALLY launched my mineral make-up line called Apotheke (for obvious reasons) haha...do support if you can or refer to friends if they are interested in mineral make-up. Will offer all of you mummies 20% if you are interested. =)

Here's the website: apothekesg.wordpress.com
I will be organizing a BP which starts tomorrow so help me spread the word ya? Thanks!

ladies, i cant sleep at this hour cos i cried for the longest time today. we went for a trip to M'sia to visit my in laws and J had 2 falls within 3 days. Both times to A & E. 1st fall on the chin, so hard there's a 1.5cm incision on the gum (where he lost that tooth at 24mths), send to A& E at KL specialist hospital and the 2nd fall this morning in the bathroom. He slipped and fell. Both times, he was looking at me, gonna tell me something and he just went under. I couldn't catch him. Then at 2pm (4hrs after the fall) he puked in the car. I was so scared that God takes him away, I cried for 3 hrs on the car. I dunno how. Sent him to A & E KKH. Doc asks me to stop crying and that not all falls with vomiting = brain injury. UNtil now, until 72 hrs later, i won;t know if he's really fine. I am so so worried...I cant get the scene of him looking at me and falling down out of my head. even now. Please pray for him. I am so worried.

smilemum,
I am still up working and saw ur post. Hope u are fine and feeling better.
I sincerely hope J will be fine and i will pray for him.

Smilemum-gosh....poor J !!!!!!!!! He must be tramatised too in n out of hospital. May I ask if he has flat foot?or e falling is just accident?take care ya

Michviv-sure sure!!!!will look see look see

michviv: Thanks. I stopped the Polypred on the ears after the Fudan ENT made that comment. Luckily only used once. Hope never cause any bad effects. As for the Lincomycin hydrochloride drops, let me go back and check and let you know. But it's all in mandarin. Sigh. But he was the same guy that told me not to use Polypred, so seems like he would know better. Not sure. But in any case, I stop all drops now since Shannon doesnt hv any more runny nose and weather is kinda warming up. If confirm the Lincomycin hydrochloride drops are ok, then can use. Thanks, really appreciate your help here.

Smilemum: Hey hang in there. I can totally understand how you feel cos weeks ago, I was holding Shannon's hearing test results without explanation from the local doc and appears she cannot hear. I freaked out and was almost ready to book the next flight back to Singapore. Then turns out the test is not accurate cos of middle ear fluid. Take care of urself,so that you can take care of him, cos he needs u to be strong. Keep us updated. Will keep you in prayers.

Tinkabel: Gd to hear that S is getting better. Will S outgrow the condition as she gets older? Or will it recur whenever winter hits?

happy: Ha...so funny. H learnt fast and that's his pinata way of giving, so u cant really blame him but explain to him the difference.

Weishy: Got discharge? Did u see a gynae in HK? Think they'll prescribe with the jab to stabilise the condition. Take care and hope everything's ok.

S@L: Dun think anyone here will forget u. Yup, saw yr pix on FB, major overhaul for yr new nest huh. Shld be able to relax a little aft reno and settling down.

Smilemum: Hope J is fine. Is he under home/hospital observation? Dun worry, will pray for him. Ur heart must be aching, but dun feel guilty as falls are part and parcel of their growing up stage. You try not to cry too much too coz it'll only create J more anxiety. Take care.

Cactus: The ENT says they will eventually grow out of it by the time they are six. Still a long way to go. It's cos the Eustachian tube is more horizontal for babies and children and fluids don't drain as well as adults. I also hear such chronic ear infections are more common with winter seasons as some children tend to hv runny nose when it gets cold. So when the nose is stuffed up, the ears start getting affected again. We are almost done with this winter, temperature's around 10 degree on the average now. We will have to wait and see if she gets better. I guess having gone through it once, I know what to look out for. If really cannot, I think we might hv to make a decision to return to Singapore. Shannon's health is something we wouldn't compromise on.

smilemum: Please don't blame yourself. It could happen to anyone. You need to be strong for J. Will keep you in my prayers...

Tinkabel: No worries. =)

Weishy & Cindy: Thanks for the support!

Mummies, i've just booked air tix to go Taiwan in end Apr. Mummies who've been to Taiwan, can share where are the must go places? Will be bringing E & MIL along. TIA.

smilemum,

can understand your worries perfectly, my 6 mth old kokomi also fell from the bed and cried non-stop, rush her to A&E KKH but nothing they can do except monitor for 72 hrs too. After that, I wanna buy the head bumper for her to wear to prevent further falls, but I know it is not gonna to be easy cos she will take that away. Hanns being super active also falls quite often on his head, clipped off his front tooth too, just 2 days ago, his kindergarten teacher told me that he slipped and fell while running with books on both hands and the part he hurt himself was at the back of his head, landed hard on the floor, I felt a lump there, so heartpain, second time fell in school already, just 2 mths there only, part and parcel of growing up but they are much stronger than we think so dun worry else J will feel it and affect him too. the A&E dr told us that unless something tell them that it is really necessary for them to subject the child to CT scan if not they will not do it, so I am sure J is gonna to be fine else they will have sent him for test and scan. Don't worry, I am sure he is now running actively and happily around isn't it.

cactus,

yes, Hanns a fast learner, he will copy things from books, shows etc...that's why got to be careful of him cos he always surprise me. In fact, kokomi at 6 mths already copying her brother and my nephew. we wanted to test whether she will copy her kor kor so we told my nephew to take a stick and start to drum on a box, then we passed the stick to kokomi, the min she took it, she started drumming, OMG, she will turn out to be a tom boy for sure cos she got 2 kor kor at home, fighting and snatching from each other all the times and she is always sitting there, watching them. sigh...

michviv: Here are the list of ingredients in the lincomycin hydrocholoride eye drops that was prescribed to me to use in the nose. The read up is all in mandarin and I googled for the English chemical names. I kind of trusted the Fudan ENT given that he told me to stop the Polypred and use Ofloxacin (I googled that this has min ototoxicity) and I did not check the insert that comes with this eye drops. I read this yesterday and say some side effects might include tinnitus (ie ringing) and dizziness etc. Sigh, I should have read this before I administered to Shannon. She appears to be ok, don't think got dizziness. Tinnitus I cannot tell and not sure what's in the etc. I got to a page with the ototoxic medicines and did a search with the following names but none match, but not sure if I am looking at the entire list of ototoxic drugs. The other question I would like to ask, if stop using, will there still be leftover effect? I used this drops for her nose for about 2.5 weeks so far. Sigh... I think I am going to bring her to Fudan ENT tomorrow and ask him abt this. Then I will bring her back to Spore for a check up tis weekend. I am going crazy with medical healthcare here

Lincomycin hydrochloride
Triethanolamine
95% ethanol
Sodium hyaluronate
Sodium chloride
Ethyiparaben