(2007/11) November MTBs

Michviv: Congrats!I'm sure di di will be as lovable and sweet like Ethan:)

Catherine: I used to be very strict with E's diet before he was 1.5 YO. Now, i just let him try everything, moderation is the key word. Just yesterday, he requested to try the soft drink. He tried a few sips of coke, aft an hr, he burped really loud and i guess he himself was shocked. I took the opportunity to tell him that coke is not meant for kids and after effect is terrible, asked him if he still wants to try and he quickly said no. We still prepare and bring out his out his meals but we also allow him to try outside food.

michviv,
unfortunately, my hubb's side also all boys, he has 2 other younger bros. but G is the first grandchild, so can't tell on the 3rd gen yet..haha. Sure, will definitely update when I know the gender, we cldn't see anything during the 12wks scan though.

catherine - everything in moderation lor. i thk 1st child we tend to be overly protective but when comes to #2, hahahaa... anything goes.

i was strict with my gal's food intake n she ended up being selective on the type of food she wants. and she only started eating MEAT (she reject any white/red meat) recently, even wanted to BITE it off the bone herself.
i guess going to CC does makes a difference too coz they have no choice but to eat whatever that is being served to all.

Yea... starting to let go now. Let R try everything, except fizzy drinks. She dun like vege, meat, always ask for FISHBALLS and EGGS. But she will take Mac Nuggets and Ikea Meatballs!

Kitty, true.. my hubby's fren told me not to be too restrictive.. She dun let her #1 eat alot of things n when they go out, she is particular abt what she eats...

In my case, hv to watch what Claire eat.. She is a glutton & very go getter... She knows where our food is stored & she will attempt to get it herself.. If help is required, she will pass it to us to open for her!

Oh, this is something very useful to share... My Mum will broil the veggie first & let Claire eat first when she is hungry... At least this will help them to cultivate the habit of eating veggies!

k@ye,
good tip from your mom!
my C will point to her goodies (biscuits, raisins, fruit jelly, yakult, etc kept above the rack) and fuss with us till we give in, else will end up in another crying bouts n rejection to sit in her high chair for dinner. every evening dinner is a battle with her, esp after she comes back from CC.

and she's also very temperamental lately.
each bath time is also a battle, she wil fuss n cry till bath/shower is over! drives me & hb crazy... mostly hb coz she only wants me to bath her, mainly see her play with water lah... aiyoh, dun know how to handle her when she grows older!! grrr....

Kitty, Claire also can fuss n cry one... So, we adults must be able to tahan her cries...

Claire can literally throw herself on the floor & roll about, refuse to get up & CRY.. if we dun give in to her...

Usually, me will just tell her to continue doing that... Usually, this tactic will work... Basically, just let them CRY! But its quite a pain to the ears...

I am also like catcusnah.. My plan was to be strict abt food till he's 1.5 yrs. From then on, it's anything. But still in moderation. But i realise that moderation is a very subjective word, cos it depends on what u r comfy with. FOr me, J ate nuggets the first time that day.
He doesn't like it too much though... He prefers the cream from the cake. LOL..

rachel,

catherine,
i let him try everything in moderation except for sweets n sweetened drinks/juices. he only drinks water.

Rachel, k@ye: Thanks. Ya lor...there is quite a lot of disappointment on my family side cos they are very pro girls. Aw well...too bad. Game over. =P Unless I can convince hubby of number 3 but at this point its a losing battle.

Cactusnah: Thanks dear. That's what we are hoping for but I hear that kids are bound to be different and have their own characters. I just hope he will be as obedient as E.

Poissons: Don't think you can see anything at 12 weeks cos its too early. Wait for your 20 week detailed scan. =)

missA: E can hi-5 Ashlee. He also loves his fishballs. haha.

Kitty, K@ye: E also has some bouts of wailing due to frustration of not getting his way. I feel the main thing is to remain calm on our part and reason with them why they can't get their way. Last resort is to distract them. They usually need help to get out of that sad mood cos they can't control their emotions very well yet.

Michviv, in Claire's case... I tried distraction but the more u tried to distract her... her wailing becomes even louder... Dunno isit a gal thing or not... "To attract attention!"

U also reminded me of my ex colleague, he has 2 boys & his wife wanted to try for a gal... He told the wife tt if guarantee no 3 is a gal.. He will go for it! Otherwise, he BTH 3 boys in the family!

hi gals, been a task to keep up with posts here. I have been so tied up. Anyways, Matt started school on Monday. Although he still cries now when I send him in the morning, he surprised me today by asking for his school bag when I was going to leave, cos I forgot to give it to him. Teacher says he is blending in well and is participating in the activities. Hopefully the crying at drop off will stop soon. The school is near my office so I drop him off every morning and take a 10 min walk to work and get the school bus to pick him up in the afternoon at 330pm.

Michviv: congrats on another prince

ASHM: congrats on the arrival of Isabella, my favourite name... haaha...

Re: eating
Well Matt's prob the worst. He know how to take french fries and coke from us when we are at Mac's. But I guess moderation is the key. Now he is so glutton that he always goes to the kitchen and tell us what he wants to eat and what he doesn't want to eat.

Ueno, send me the pictures too. Would like to see how the party went. Must be a successful one.

tinkabel,
i've sent it your hotmail, not sure if u can receive cos alot of mummies have problems with their hotmail a/c. if u didnt receive it pls give me another email address. PM me.

Tinkabel,
check the junk folder, i retrieve mine fr there.

Re: junk food
Like smilemum and cactus, we hv also introduced all kinds of "junk" food to ZY, but I will not relent on fuzzy drinks/coke and tea/coffee. Else, she has tried soyabean, some sugarcane, but somehow she still prefers her water, so I am not complaining. As I cook less frequent now, so she also likes her kueh teow fishball soup.. i guess shld be alrite guah..

K@ye,
I second yr method too - dun give in to their cries, else u'll get it again and again. I hv since grown to be oblivious to other people's stares, but luckily such meltdown is much lesser now.

Kat, yalor.. I also thick skinned now... Ppl give me the dirty look whenever she fussed on the train & i dun give in to her...

Tinkabel, when r u going back to work? Or u back to work liao?

k@ye: Matt's school is near my office, so I ve been dropping him off for the past week and going in a few mornings. Officially will go back to work earlier on Nov 16. Initially planned for Dec. Now capital markets are picking up, so IPOs are restarting. My bosses keep asking me when I am back. So i thought since Matt's school close for xmas for 2 weeks, I will go back 2 weeks earlier and take xmas off instead.

k@ye: I know what you mean. So that's why we will be weighing our options on the 3rd child (if any!) But it really depends how hubby's business goes. If its more stable then I can possibly quit to take care of the little ones or do part time. See how...

missA: E is starting MC in January which is really round the corner. I don't know how he will react to being in school. Still keeping my fingers crossed. But for now, he can recognize this school and has even asked us to bring him there so I'm hoping that is a good sign.

tinkabel: Thanks! =)

Cindy: I've posted E's birthday photos on facebook. Go and take a look. He loved his cake! But I found it a little too sweet leh. Maybe becos of all that fondant.

ueno, i still didnt receive the pix. dunno if something's wrong with my acct?
can try again. If everything cant work, then i'll ask my hubby for his email acct.

Gers, I'm so upset this weekend n I cant go to work now cos I'm sporting a very very terrible backache. I had 2 celebrations for J this weekend and had planned for it to be the happiest weekend in the entire month of November. It turned out to be the worst, i think. Jave fell and his entire tooth (one of the 2 fronts) came off.. the entire tooth came off... so he has a missing tooth and will have a missing tooth till he's 7. I cant sleep just thinking about it. My mum n maid were with him and said he wasnt running.. He just fell n hit the corner of the sofa. I am so disturbed.. n feeling very depressed. Tried n trying to tell myslef all the good things like the PD said at least the entire tooth came off, else he'll have to extract the root, n there's no infection as of now, it's just a milk tooth n it'll regrow when he's 7. But i just cant shake this feeling off... I think the hormones are at play, tt's why I'm feeling so horrid.

I am so sad, but I know there's nothing I can do.
Just wanna tell someone.

smilemum, it's natural to be sad, I would too if it happens to A. Dun worry too much about it. Happy Birthday to J!

Michviv, haha... u responding to the govt's call for more children! Must admit for those who hv 3 kids & above, i really salute them leh!

Smile, *hugs* its okie.. such accidents bound to happen.. Dun be so hard on urself okie....

Claire not in SG now & i m desparately trying to declutter my house of unneccessary things... N decorating Claire's room too... HAha....

My Mum told me tt Claire is getting used to life in HK and she is very smart now. As my Auntie's place has no lift, they hv to climb up & down 4 levels of stairs everyday to go out. Claire will demand to be carried coz she dun want to climb the stairs!

missA: Happy Birthday to Ashlee too! =)Did you have a party for her?

smilemum: Don't be too hard on yourself. It can happen to anyone...At least its a milk tooth and will grow back.

k@ye: haha...that's why I said "if any" cos my hubby is against 3 but recently changed his stance to "see how in 4-5 years". If you saw me 3 years ago, I don't think I even look like the type to have children. See how times have changed? =P

michviv, we celebrated her BD on Fri @ MC, she was cranky cos not enought sleep. Yesterday had a small party and I make sure she nap enough, she was also cranky cos she was afriad of the purple dino mascot. In fact most of the 2 yr olds are terrorised by it. Those below 2 & above 2 love the mascot. I'm so exhausted after the party that I hv not review the photos yet, even the presents are not opened. Just glad that it's over.

MissA, i find it very funny leh... The kids love to watch Purple dino on TV but saw the real thing... got so scared..

Michviv, yes... after becoming a mother...alot of things changes.

catus,
no, its a girls trip... only me and my girl friend to Seoul. No A...hahah, poor girl got left at home with daddy. Daddy did a great job..so proud of him!

Freezing in Seoul for the first 2 days at 0-4 degs and - 4 - 4...the 3- 5 day was decent... at around 6 - 18...

grace,
nice break for u. i've sent it to u.pls check n let me know if u receive it.

smilemum,
i've re-sent it to u. pls check n let me know if u can receive it. Think u need to relax, dont be too hard on yourself. Take care!

Smilemum,
what happened cannot be unhappened - at least J is ok now. No need to extract the root to endure more pain. It's normal to feel upset esp moms tend to feel it more, what's more yr hormones r still raging!

Grace,
so nice, my las girl's trip seems so long ago.. only to KL somemore.. ha. Glad u hv fun.

MissA,
must be stress for u when the party did not turn out the way intended, but at least its all over! CAn look fwd to X'mas liao..

Michviv,
for all u know, third one may be an accident leh? Hee...

Michviv:hapy birthday to Ethan

smilemum:HAppy birthday to J too
agreed with lazykat...at least he no need to go thru another pain.

MIssA:think hayley will be scared too le...... hehehe but so funny

mummies, can i ask a stupid qn? You know those helium balloons right, if I buy them at night (all inflated), will they still be as good till the next afternoon? Or will they be deflated by then? Cos thot of getting them on Sat night cos I dun have time to get them on Sun morning for G's bday lunch.

MissA,
I saw A's bday pics, looks like a fun party..but the Barney mascot abit skinny leh..hehe :p

possions, I noticed my helium balloons deflatted a little by evening time. My party was in the afternoon. You plannng a big celebration?

poissons, it's a purple dino mascot not the real Barney haha.

Michviv, saw ur comment on FB abt the cake. I was a little disappointed cos the box that contain the cake was not tall enough and the candle 2 broke. Also instead of 2nd birthday, she put 1st birthday. Luckily I realised the mistake and removed the 1st so it became just Happy Birthday. The cake is yummy tho. Overall not worth the $. Maybe nx time I'll order from your lobang.

michviv - congrats! another prince on the way

michviv, tinkabel, plim - thanks! isabella's jaundice has gone down and she is doing well!

ashton was down with mild stomnach flu last fri night n i thot it was due to the breastmilk that i gave him... but PD told me most likely he caught it during his music class on that morning...

ueno - thanks for those pictures, they are very well taken!!

Ya... I've stopped crying now, but u know what? I went to develop all J's nice photos and stick them all over the house... Very kuku already... Hahaha... think my hormones are raging... so that's why.

Actually, my hubby asked and planned a trip for me the 2nd last week of my maternity and I agreed to go... Just to Shanghai. Leave the 2 kiddos with my mum. but since that accident, i have been telling him.. i must stay by their side.. so now I also dunno whether to go or stay. Still thinking.

Balloons: Depends on the type of balloons. If it's latex balloons, they'll deflate. If it's mylar or plastic, then they will stay.

missA: Can tell that you put in alot of effort for Ashlee's birthday. How much did you pay for the cake and agar agar?

lazykat: Haha...I don't think so la. We are not so lucky. =P

Weishy, ASHM: Thanks for the well wishes.

MissA,
nope, it's only a small affair this yr, a 2-table lunch with the immediate family members. A few days ago my dad was just asking why I didn't throw a party for him this yr..haha..I said relac lah, if I do it for him again, then I have to be fair and do for #2 as well, very shiong

Thanks Mummies for the advice on balloons. Think maybe I shld only get a few mylar ones for the kids, no latex.