(2007/11) November MTBs

ASHM,
i mix med into C's milk for her nite feed.
she will guai guai drink up coz sleepy lor.
but do be careful abt the phelgm med coz tendency of them coughing n even throwing up few hrs later.
we almost 'expert' liao coz C threw up almost alternate nites when she was on med!

tinkabel,
shannon's a pretty name, m sure she'll grow up to be one pretty gal too!

ASHM,

Kiros has no fever or rash during mmr. had fever for a day after his 5in1 booster.

yes please please please. send the maid away.

ASHM: Just to let u know that if it's singulair that u r feeding Ash, it has to b taken in its dry powder form n within 15 mins from opening.

Tinkabel: sure u can do bf well. dun worry.

ASHm:i put the gummy bear etc into the soup and feed together :p
can try.

tinkabel:maybe can try the breasts massage from mdm rokiah?i tried and she's good
nee the contact let me know la.

ASHM, usually.. its better to feed the medicine before milk feeds. I had enough experience of Claire merlion on me.

I will mix the medicine with water and feed Claire as if drinking water. Sometimes she cooperative n i can just feed it to her directly.

tinkabel:: you can do it! don't stress yourself out over the bf thing, you can do it for matt, and so can you for shannon!

ashm:: haha! i also put into his milk and let him drink but one thing to note is if you do that and if he doesn't finish his milk, means he doesn't take the full dose wor. And sometimes travis is able to taste the difference. Did you use a syringe to feed him? Travis seems to like to drink from a syringe.. haha!

Went to see a lactation consultant yesterday. Said that it's normal to feel engorgement ard the 3-5th day after delivery, whilst the breasts build up the supply. Indeed today is a lot better. Think able to keep Shannon full and still have some excess to pump out with 1-2 letdowns, although breasts still feel a bit hard (but think the lactation consultant said it's normal cos it's due t the breast tissue) Will need to monitor how, since never face this problem when bfg Matt last time.

Weishy: can u sms me Mdm Rokiah's contact? Will see in the next 1-2 days how.

ASHM,
try using a syringe. it should be ok. feed before milk if med states that after food then wait 2 hrs before feeding.

tinkabel,
when u pump u can massage the swollen area , that should help to clear the milk. Take care!

ASHM,
there was a period when ZY also fights us off when its medicine time. We use syringe also cos like Cindy mention, best way to ensure they took the full dosage. But so far we hv never experienced the Merlion even though we feed after milk (after her night feed) - but better to see how Ash reacts.

Cindy,
ZY also loves the syringe, and will guai guai take her dosage now (we also use the syringe for the water) when I say medicine time.

Tinkabel,
best to consult the expert since each pregnancy/birth is different, just like each of our baby is gonna be different. So hopefully the rest of bf is gonna be smoother for u

Mummies - We tried putting the medicine into Ash's milk (2oz out of the 6oz), he rejected straight away! It was better the last 2 days and we used the syringe, feed him bit by bit as he tends to spit out at times. He is still having fever of 38degree as of this evening, hiaz...guess it will be any few days before he completeky recovers. I will give him the hou ning powder tonight for his cough and phelgm. I think the western medicine he is taking since Thu is not working very well....

My New Maid - I sent her back yesterday morning, so now am looking out for the replacement. Wish me luck!

PDS Make up Lessons - Looks like Ash cant even attend one of the lessons since he is still down with fever and cough this week....

ASHM,
G is also down with fever and cold since last fri. He also rejected his meds and merlioned on me several times..sigh! To think that he usually kuai kuai take his chinese meds. Today fever subsided but cough is still bad. If he recovers on time, will bring him to the playdate on 1 sep.

ASHM:: hugs to ash. he must be feeling so terrible!

poissons:: travis is also down with cough but it's the cough that has been lingering... if he is not well, then i also will not bring him to playdate lo.

tinkabel:: jia you!

lazykat:: haha i love the syringe!! He thinks it's yakault inside the syringe especially when the med is the colourful type haha.

Cindy, at least Travis okie with the syringe... Claire will struggle & fight with the syringe... Its really tough feeding her medication...

Last Sat, I was so fed up with her.. I m trying to feed her Hou Ning n she was struggling like mad... Then ended up merlioned all the stuff... Hubby chided me for feeding her that coz waste $$... I was so frustrated!

Morning Mummies - Ash merlioned at 3am and 630am this morning! Sigh....the poor boy eyes are swollen and look so restless. Brought him to the PD and the doctor asked if i wanted Ash to take the flu test,if it is positive, he will be given Tamiflu! I told him straight NO cos this is just the normal flu symtoms and moreover it is not proven that Tamiflu is child friendly. The running nose triggers off the phlegm and therefore prolong the fever.... so its all inter-related... Just hope Ash will recover by Thu. If not, he will have to be on anti biotic....

poissons - Ash's cough is also bad and it comes with phlegm, you can hear when he is coughing.....

Cindy - He has not been eating very well and on top of that he merlioned a few times, he is now a skinny bunny!

ASHM, the PD never gave antibotics to Ash? My PD gave it to Claire when she checked that she has alot of phlegm inside her system.

Oh, brew the 止咳汤 for him to drink. It will help n i think he will drink coz its sweet. For fever, i heard from the elders to give 岭羊水 to stop the fever... But i personally swear by water & water....

But dun worry too much if Ash is his usual active self.

ASHM,
Same fate as Ash, G also merlioned once yday after taking meds and at night he woke up twice coughing, so poor thing..I'm a walking zombie today! G's pd already prescribed him anti-biotics yday cos he's got yellow/greenish sticky mucus and he coughing his lungs out..today he started to lao sai due to side effects of anti-biotic..sigh..it all comes in a wave, wonder what's next..so sianz.

K@ye - Thanks! I will go over to EYS later as I want to get the hou ning powder, so will ask for the 止咳汤. Same here, for fever, i believe in drinking loades of water....

Poissions - Hugs to G!! Not sure if all these all due to the weather? But its true, so sian, all comes in a wave. He did not go for his classes on Fri and Sat, and I even turned down a invitation to a party on Sat! Lets hope our boys will recover by this week!! Jia you ok!!

kaye,
My MIL fed G with lin yang yday, he drank 80ml and after feeding him with some bread, he merlioned all out!

ASHM,
Hugs to Ash as well
It was really a tiring wkend with G, I'm sure it was for you too. Really hope our boys will recover very soon!

ASHM/possions:wah very jialat le like tat....hayley just had fever too but she's teething( which we found out later cos those previuos teethign times all no fever

Tinkabel: Hee...u're 2 times lucky for both pregnancy. Last time was yr HB's return and now in time for epi:) Blessed! Hope yr BFing gets better. Jia you, am sure u can do it!

ASHM: We also try not to add medicine in his milk coz he'll know the difference in taste and may end up rejecting his milk all together. We used to force feed him with syringe, but the last time he was sicked, i managed to trick him to take the medicine himself. He self fed the medicine with syringe. What i did was to give him his favourite vitamin in syringe, then we praised him for self feeding, then we pump and offer him the medicine base on the level of bitterness with the bitterest medicine come last. Try this when he is slightly better and hope he'll be well soon. Pump him up to a fatty bunny when he gets well, dun worry abt his weight nw.
WRT Tamiflu, just for sharing. The most common side effect that Tamiflu has on kids is nightmare and nausea. And there's only 2 places in Singapore selling Tamiflu in liquid form tat's KKH & NUH, normal PD/GP will prescribe the capsule type.

ASHM: last time I also hv difficulty on feeding C on medicine.. she refused and we have to force it down the throat. My hb will force her mouth open and I slowly give the medi from the side of her mouth to prevent her to get choke.

This cycles go round and round and one fine day, she just let us feed her.. and we praise her again and again after each feed without any fighting. Nw she always willing to take the medicine.

We will keep telling her that if she takes the medicine and recover fast, she can eat all her favourite food. heehee...

Poissons, best not to let G to eat after drinking the water. Must wait for at least 30 mins before taking any other food....

ASHM, i got the 止咳汤 from Hock Hwa tonic not EYS.

Hiccup:
Is it normal to hiccup frequently? Cailyn hiccupped 4-5x per day on sunday leh.. I find it too often liao.. is it ok?

Hahaha kaye, sally taught me. but ooops, i cannot remember how. she posted it on her FB, but don't know still there or not. I go find..

Nov's Toddlers - 2nd Birthday Bash at Mac!

Venue: Kallang MacDonald
Dates: 1st Nov 2009
Time: 12nn - 130pm
Gift Exchange budget: SG$20

Cost: $9/per child (Assume b4 GST)
Deposit: $15 (non-refundable)
Booked under Cactusnah name, Elaine

1. Weishy
2. Kaye
3. MissA
4. Grace
5. Mambobb
6. Cactusnah
7. ASHM
8. kittybride
9. Lazykat
10. Poissons
11. yoko - 31st will be better.. If not 1st Nov morning Cos will be celebrating Jordan BD on that day
12. Ueno
13. smilemum
14. poochi
15. Rachel18
16. Plumsource
17. Gloomybear

Items to propose:
1. Birthday Cake - Bengawan Solo or Polar character cakes? Must be unisex wor!

Hugs to A & G!

ASHM, Poissons,
in btn the syringe feeds, we use the same syringe to offer her some water, else if too much at 1 go, she will also spit it out. It took her almost 2 weeks to fully recover fr her cough/running nose. The bad weather + the virus is really bad this time, so need more time to recover i guess.

Mambobb,
I also use the similar tactic. I say u will recover only if u take the medicine. And each time she finishes her medicine, we will give her lotsa praise too.

Hope A & G get well soon.

ASHM:
We use a syringe as well. And use distraction but sometimes is hard to give them med.

Anyway Isaac has hives just came out suddenly. Could be due to weather change, food or medicine.

k@ye:
The strawberry cake from 4 leaves is quite nice. Just my suggestion.

Lazykat,
Thanks for the tips, I've tried every ways and means to con him to take his meds, but whenever he sees me with the syringes and bowl of water, he will say "bu yao bu yao" and then run far away from me or hold his daddy so tight that machiam I want to feed him poison...haha. So i have to resort to force feed and tahan his pathetic cries.

Today I'm down, must have caught the bug from him..sigh.

sorry for the long absence. been reading but didn't post. hardly can catch up with the posts lor, before my naughty boy starts disturbing me...

anyway have been busy with my new flat coming. doing reno soon and moving house estimated end of the year. very happy to get out of my current place... can't wait. lotsa conflict here right now... stressing me out so badly.

anyway, i was wondering if anyone knows where i can get lotsa gym mats cheap ah? i wanna use them to cover the flooring in my new place, as my boy has developed a great love for climbing. and i will be looking after him alone most of the day and i wanna protect him from accidents. i was thinking of converting one bedroom to a small gym, ala mygym or gymboree... then can dump him in there when i need to do stuff... evil mummy here!

thanks in advance!

K@ye,
can exclude Polar cake or not ah?
quality not so nice leh.
but just my opinion lah... hee hee...

seems like weather's the main culprit for all the kids (and adults) falling sick lately. my boy had high fever this mrng, but now seems like the temp coming down liao - think he's teething lah, kept drooling when he sees us eat! ahahaa...

cindy,
how's trishelle? got similar drooling symptons or not ah? :D

Nov's Toddlers - 2nd Birthday Bash at Mac!

Venue: Kallang MacDonald
Dates: 1st Nov 2009
Time: 12nn - 130pm
Gift Exchange budget: SG$20

Cost: $9/per child (Assume b4 GST)
Deposit: $15 (non-refundable)
Booked under Cactusnah name, Elaine

1. Weishy
2. Kaye
3. MissA
4. Grace
5. Mambobb
6. Cactusnah
7. ASHM
8. kittybride
9. Lazykat
10. Poissons
11. yoko - 31st will be better.. If not 1st Nov morning Cos will be celebrating Jordan BD on that day
12. Ueno
13. smilemum
14. poochi
15. Rachel18
16. Plumsource
17. Gloomybear

Items to propose:
1. Birthday Cake - Bengawan Solo or Polar character cakes? Must be unisex wor!

Cakes option
1. Rachel C -> Strawberry cake from Four Leaves
2. Kitty -> Polar not so nice

Another qn, how heavy & budget the cake shd be?

<font color="aa00aa">RE : Playdate on 1 Sep</font>
please exclude chloe &amp; me for above playdate coz chloe just got confirmed kena HFMD today. so have to quarantine her at home for a week. so disappointed lor, coz very much looking forward to meet up leh. sigh...

anyway, you all have fun n do post pics on your blog ya!

kitty:: AIyooo!! hope she gets well soon. so you on leave to take care of her? keep gaby away from her oh. Poor girl. and now.. nobody to share cab with me! ahhaa!!

Trishelle is DROOOOOLING like mad la. no teeth yet but she eats her thumb, ALL DAY long, 24hrs a day. really jialat. Must eat then can sleep and if it drops out, CRY hahaha. on the other hand, travis didn't drool that much ley.

Weather is really bad, trishelle has also been sick liao. brought her to pd aand finally he said: not the best time to give med but seems limke she's not getting better so have to give. poor girl.

thanks ladies!

cindy,
paiseh ah, hope u can find some1 to share cab!

ya, taking half days off for next 5 days (alternate w hubby coz cant take full days)

gaby also suck his fingesr &amp; toes like nobody biz until he dun even wana drink his milk! grrr...

*hugz* to trishelle too, hope she gets well soon too!

kitty, poisson, ashm, hope your kiddos recover soon!

A had fever on Sunday and then she rejected milk telling me it's hot (when it's not). She also refused to take fever med. Usually she will take the syringe helfself and pump into her mouth on her own. Last 2 days she completely rejected food, milk and water so brought her to see doc. She has a big ulcer in her throat so that's why she's even not swallowing her saliva. At first I thought she is teething. Hiaz doc say have to let her drink as much as possible to prevent dehydration else hv to go hospital put drip. Her tummy is almost gone

Cindy, Kittybride, MissA - Big Hugz to Trishelle, Chloe and A!! Hope they will get well soon!

Ash's fever has subsided since Mon night, no more vomitting. His cough is still quite bad cos can hear that he has phelgm. We gave him Hou Ning powder this morning and luckily he was co-operative. He was on Fedac for the last few days and it made him restless and drowsy = slept alot. Today is much better so I switched to the chinese medicine for him....

Mummies - Need your expertise. Ash poo 3 times today, twice this morning and another time at abt 2pm.. all are soft stools.... is he having diarrhoea? His diet has been very plain and little food intake as he was not feeling well since last Thu.... i thought he is on his way to recovery, now another new thing comes up....hiaz...