(2007/11) November MTBs

Lazykat,
how long did it take for ZY's wound to heal? I'm juz worried that his milk teeth might be affected by that bad fall...

Michviv,
Ethan so cute, singing his ABC liao.. me just started hearing letters out fr ZY's mouth, fav being A, G, H and Y! Still a long way before she starts humming the whole song!

Poissons,
miraculously, her lips took only 4~5 days to recover (bruise disappear by then!) - at first we also worried if her teeth affected, but din seem to affect her current set (anyway she only has 6 to date with pre-molar just abt to cut in!)

lazykat: haha...thanks! I really love the video too. Always make me smile...=P E started with his favourite letters too! Then before you know it, they will be singing the whole tune. hehe. Its always a nice surprise to hear it for the first time.

Poissons: Sad to hear that G had a bad fall. Hope he gets well soon.

k@ye: Yalor, if u ask me, nobody can be as shrewd in doing business as the Chinese. I have seen so many unusual business transactions in the last 3 years in China more than I have ever seen in Singapore. The Chinese are super innovative. The Angmohs think they are smart, but they are wrong lor. The only thing that the Chinese lack is language. But honestly, everyone wants to China to do business and a lot of times, the angmohs have to learn to speak, read and write mandarin. I have dealt with a number of lawyers for my IPOs and I am really very impressed at these pple who are adaptive and picks up the language.

A lot of times we see things done in a certain way, we say WTC, meaning welcome to china. But hor, my this new boss dun accept that as an answer. So I will have to word it in way such that he will accept it. Sigh...

Poissons: G is tough boy. Dun worry, they recover fast.

I am still tired and sleep most of the time, sometimes feel quite sick. COntemplating to quit. but quitting also has pros and cons.
I haven't decided, but company has agreed to let me work half days until my pregnancy stablises. What do u ladies think?

Tinkabel, ya... They are very innovative... Things my PRC colleague told me hor, i was surprised but at the same time, i learnt something lor... Hehe...

Plus my Sis has a JC mate who chose to study law in China... He told my sis that in China, u used $$ to settle lawsuits... Nothing else matters... No such things as fair justice or so... but $$...

lazykat: I think the first teeth toothpaste no more already. Luckily I stocked up a few pieces, but then Matt takes forever to finish it. So I think now, need nice to last Matt and Mei mei for the next 1 year until expiry in 2010.

Matt also loves certain words, like apple, car. Now he knows A is for apple, B for bear and C for car. Last week, he just stunned us by matching 3 sets of my Baby Einstein flashcards to the words we say. He got almost all of the 3 sets correct. Now, he's getting more verbal, this month learnt a number of new words like truck, clock, earth, happy, up, out, towel, owl and some words in Mandarin like chair, socks, shoes, pants...etc. Can't wait to come back to Singapore to send him to daily play group, so that he can maximise his learning potential now.

Smilemum, take care! Half day sounds pretty good. Can try n see see? It will get better as the pregnancy progresses. Most impt, did gynae say you can resume normal work activities?

Michviv, Haha Ye,s I think I will melt if I go to botanical gardens! So glad my parents volunteered to bring travis. Haha.... N ethan is such a bright boy! Haha, my monster is still throwing temper at home! Wahaha.

K@ye: Yeah, super innovative. That's too much a positive and nice of a word to describe them. They are shrewd. That's why I never regretted coming here to work. Things here are so much more interesting I still remembered I used to be so resistant back in 2004 or 2005 when my hubby wants to come over.

Aiyo, my hubby's company was involved in a huge lawsuit here cos a JV partner they dealt with was so shrewd. But there is nothing they can do about it, cos the Chinese govt kinda helps internally. Just like the Coke deal whereby they try to acquire Hui Yuan Juice. Chinese authories did not approve and the deal is called off. Hard for foreign MNCs to make a stand here. They are still very protectionist.

Tinkabel,
actually, ZY's first teeth still hv abt half tube left, but i thot its been a yr since opened so wanna change. I prob try the alternative brand now that its no longer avail. Isnt' it fun now that they r finally speaking?

Smilemum,
agree with Cindy, try out half day, if not, can try if gynae can give MC, or worse, no pay leave until u feel u can manage?

It's so hot now, unless its aircon, otherwise i always feel i melted somewhat! Even some malls aircon r no longer that cool!

Tinkabel, most countries will protect their own country... i think in Europe its the same... Just that they dun do it so obvious like the Chinese.

Kat, yalor... Weather these days are so hot!! Remember to slap on sunblock for our little one!!!

Cindy,
to answer your qn, i usually will pack 1 pull-up and 1 normal diaper to cc..my MIL will use whichever she feels convenient that day..if she has the time, will let G wear pull-up so that it's easier for her to bring him to loo to pee pee.

Tinkerbel, one mth is quite fast. Close one eye another day gone liao, then another week. Wow ur boy very smart lei, can talk from abc and mandarin. Jordan only nod his head and shake. He only know spk "BOB" cos his fav charactor.

Weather is just so terrible. So hot. I am down with flu. Took panadol cold relief and was told by my gp and gynae that I can't take that except the normal panadol. But i arealdy taken 6-8 tabs cos over weekend very lazy to go n see doc and thinking is just a mild runny nose.

Cindy: Doc says shouldn't be big issue going back to work. Actually, I feel slightly guilty. I am barred from carrying my son and so, my mum has been running up and down between my house and her house to care for my son day and night. Normally (b4 the pregnancy) i care for my son at night.. he needs to be carried for milk in the mid of night. But cos the gynae says its better for me not to carry heavy loads and stuffs so my mum refuse to let me do it anymore. My auntie just suggested yesterday for my son to be placed at my mum's place and I go and see him until he sleep then i go off... but I bu she de... i think i will cry. Guilty towards my son and my mum... cos my mum's health also not too good... now I am only hoping that the 1st trimester will be over soon and the doc gives me green light to hold my son. I miss carrying him so so much. feeling very emo now....

smilemum: My colig's wife who is abt 7 weeks pregnant (she is expecting twins) was ordered to TBR (total bed rest) for the next 2 weeks. Her gynae also found blood clot and advised her to rest. She is currently taking medicine and jab twice per wk to stablise her condition. I dunno hw different is yr condition, but if possible, better to rest and not walk abt too much during this crucial trimester till everything stablise. U still need to travel to and fro to work though it's half day, and plus the weather now, working half day means u'll travel home in the afternoon which is really HOT HOT HOT. Just my thoughts.

Poissons: Ouch, sayang G on my behalf. And G is really such a gd boy, i rem he behaved well during yr last rd trip too. We'll be driving up to Genting next month, just hope E will be ok too. Any tips on the travelling part with our tods? I drove up to Malacca early this year with E, he was well behaved, but Malacca is only abt half the distance to Genting, i'm not sure if he'll be ok, so getting some tips from u.

Tinkabel: ReN ReN ReN! ENDURE for another 1 more month and be home for yr delivery and confinement and let yr Angmoh boss go learn the Chinese culture the hard way himself. No point explaining too much to him if he doesnt listen.

Yoko: Too much Xiao Long Bao last Friday? U better take care, and dun self medicate esp when u're pregnant. Anything unsure just call yr gynae before taking any new medicine. Btw, thanks again for helping to get the tickets to the show. E enjoyed, me too.

Tantrum: My E been shouting and throwing tantrum for the past few days. Not sure if it's the lack of sleep over the long wkend with me (napped only 15mins - 30mins in the afternoon on Friday-Sunday). Asked him to apologise and he refused. He din use to be like tat. I complained to my MIL and told her we hit him on his palm for misbehaving, my MIL said we shldnt be hitting him, must be patient and explain to him, else he'll be thich skinned next time if we keep beating him. Arghh....

Long winded. Paisei.

The funny part is, my gynae is not seeing me until 22nd June. My Duphaston finishes today. He only said if I have bleeding then I gotta go back before the 22nd. But he doubt I need to. My gynae probably falls under the boshap type of gynae... but becos he has advised well for J and also I delivered ok for J, my hubby says not to change. In fact, I'm also worried and feell like going back just to see if the clot has disappeared n whether i can carry j, but dun wanna spend.. cos if thigs dun work out, i might still become jobless...

Haha Missa, Smilemum, mine stuck at 11.5kg for ages. I am beginning to wonder if there's anything wrong with the scale. Haha!

Smilemum, don't be guilty. U are doing your best I am sure. Just bear with it for now, I am sure things will get better. If u think by quitting, u can spend more time with Javier, then can quit so u don't feel so guilty. I'm sure there must be a win win situation. My milk also told me to let travis bunk in with them when I was preggie n I refused too Haha. Don't want him to feel he is being chased away. N when trishelle was out, she made the same suggestion, n I said no again. Haha.... Do what u think is right. Hugs.

Dear moms, my poor Trishelle is sick! Flu n cough n fever. caught the bugs from travis. Poor girl. Sobs.

cindy:aiyooooo poor trishelle le.....too bad cant go anywhere

take care looooo

missA:no le...hayley also stuck at 10kg for ages too

yoko:no la nto xiao long bao la she also didnt eat much....must be the desserts kakkakakak

poissons:: thank you for answering my query. i just read your blog haha! G is such a good boy on the trip! hope he recovers from the fall soon.

weishy:: yes loh! sighsss! muacks to you.

Re: Tantrum
My D also has been throwing tantrum. Ask him what he wants, he don’t show me and if I guess wrongly, he will cry until very chiam. Easily get irritated and frustrated. I have been calling him crybaby. Sigh…is this a passing phase? I am going nuts!

Smilemum, I am sure things will get better as its go along. Just bear with it. And don’t feel guilty too. Most important now is you take good care of yourself and rest well.

Cindy, my D also keeps falling sick. The week before last week, he was down with high fever. Just last sat, I brought him to see the Pd cos he was down with cough with phlegm and running nose. I feel heartache that he has been taking medicine for the past weeks.

Re: Gaining Weight
My D had been stagnated at 11kg or 11.2kg for quite a while.

gelyn, A is also like that. Sometimes I try to distract her with other things but it does not work. Most times, she just goes down on fours and roll on the floor crying. Me also going nuts.

Gelyn - Is D sleeping in an aircon room every night? I got Ash the UMist from OSIM last weekend which is a humidifier, costs $108. This is supposed to clean the air so that Ash will not have a dry throat as he is sleeping in the aircon room every night. My throat gets dry in the middle of the night and thats why i thot a humidifier is helpful.

Mummies - Are you kiddos left or right handed? If it is left handed can we change since they are still young? Ash seems to be left handed, he will always use the left hand to hold the spoon during self feeding.....

Smilemum - Rest well and dont feel guilty about not able to carry your son. Things will eventually be worked out ok... Most important now is not to stress yourself. Hugs!

Cindy - Hugs to Trish!! Aiyo it's always like that, once one sibling falls sicks at home, the other one sure kana... My sis already warned me about it! Take care! When are you going back to work? When Travis goes to nursery, who is looking after Trish?

ashm, A is also a lefty prominently. She uses her left hand to draw. I believe we will get to know when they are about 4 yrs old. We shd not deliberately chg them at this age.

Cactusnah,
I think E will be well-behaved during the car journey too since he was ok during your Malacca trip. I only let G bring his 2 fav stuffed toy along, brought his fav raisins and biscuits, water and milk, that's all..this time, i didn't even bring a single pc of his toy. During the journey, we stopped twice, once is shortly after we entered the 2nd link at the petrol station to gather with our friends, the other is 200km later to take our breakfast and feed G. He slept abt 2x (an hr each) in the car, when he was awake, he just kept himself busy looking at buses and cars then talk to his stuff toys. Oh yah, we played his fav nursery songs in the car too, so he will listen and doze off. Have fun in genting, where will you be staying?

re: toddler tantrums

hi-5 to every mommies who having headaches wif our toddlers' tantrums!! my C is getting more assertive and wants things to go HER way - else it will be bouts of super loud shoutings and screamings.

if i reprimand her or give her my FIERCE STARE, she will just 'fan bai yan' at me and show me her angry pouty lips and walk off swinging her arms in anger! hiyoh.... dun know where she learnt that leh... sometimes makes me so angry but at the same time wana laugh at her antics too.

and this gal is not afraid of being smack smack on her palms or backside or thighs - seems like no effects one coz she just look at me when i smack her then continue to shout again. really wana pengz!!! HB threatened a few times to buy the CANE oredi but he also soft-hearted bah, say only nia... :p

cindy
hugs to Trishelle! hope she gets well soon

S@L,
do you still have the wetbag/diaper tote (dun know wat its called but here's a pic)
2545994.jpg

2545995.jpg

i wana get if you still have ya.
PM me the price ya!

Ashm. Gelyn, thank you... I hope she gets well soon, sigh. Poor thing sneezing n coughing away. Oh boy.

Ashm, mil will care for her. U excited? Travis is also a left hander. No matter what he will use his left hand. When we give him to his right hand, he would rather not have it. So I guess just leave them be hehe. U or your hubby left handed ma? Jeff is left handed. The only thing I find difficult is when teaching them to write.

Tantrums, sigh, can I join in? Travis is like Ahhh. Cannot stand him... Separation anxiety. I just walk out of his sight, cry like there's no tmr... don't give him what he wants, roll n bang his head on floor, if not hit table n run ard like crazy. Buay tahan! I m gg crazy too.

Mambobb, today is Claire's first day in CC! My hubby took leave to accompany her today... Tmr, my turn and after that my Mum's turn! Haha!

ASHM, dun worry too much! Me also leftie, i just learnt with the inconvienences lor... Plus, research has shown that lefties are SMARTER! :p

kaye,
wah..kaye..win liao lor..lefties are smarter..haha..

I think G is right handed, he holds the pen/crayon with his right hand and pick food with right hand too.

On tantrums,
mine started to fake cries and then throw things on the floor when i raise my voice at him. during the trip, he actually threw his spoon at the table which nearly hit one of our friends during lunch..so naughtly, no need to guess, he gets spanked for doing so.

ASHM/K@ye: I want my girl to be leftie lor.. and YES.. they are smarter.. haha.. that's y i want her to be leftie.. haha.. very bad of me..

I saw my nanny forcing her to hold the pen on the right hand which abit piss me off lah.. i told her its ok for her to draw on the left hand.. bt u know lah.. old generation one old fashioned minded..

k@ye: tmr Jia you lor

Cindy: hug to both of ur Ts..

Re: toddler tantrums
My C also throwing tantrums too. Told her cannot do that.. she nods her head, the next moment throw tantrum again o_O".. Told her I will beat her, she still can give me her palm wor~.. really pengz lor..

I guess nw they are starting to show their emotions and just dont know how to express them.. everything just want in their way bah.

Kaye Haha u win liao. Lefties smarter Haha. How is claire now? All Okie?

Gelyn, hugs to d. It hurts us most when they get sick. I hate to force feed medicine. Until he is now so scared of eating anything!

Ashm, the umist is good. I got it too. No more dry throats!

Mambbob, true that old generation very particular about the child being right or left handed. my dad was very angry that we never correct travis but now he also bochup seeing his grandson doing, taking, using etc with his left hand. Haha. Let them be la, natural ma... And no la, travis is definitely one of those Lefties that is not smart! Cannot call papa mama, cannot sing abc, Aiya a lot cannot Haha. Let him be man... One day he will know, might be the last but at least, slow but still will be there. Haha!

Matt's sick. He's been having running nose for a few days and got worse yesterday. Last night, when I picked him up at 4plus when he was making noise, he felt so warm. Fever was up to 38.5 deg. Fed him some tylenol and tried to cool him with cold towel. Fever subsided a bit to 37.9 deg. Lucky never hit 38 deg cos the clinic told us will have to refer to hospital if so, cos of the fear of swine fear. Now he's back at home, my mum taking care of him, hopefully his fever will be gone by tonight. This is the first time he really got sick, so was quite worrying last night.

Poissons: Thanks, will bring his nec barang barang there. We'll be staying in Theme Park Hotel. Actually now that they're older, i find it much easier to bring them out for holiday. Just give them rice and soup and that settles their meal. And wat time did u start yr journey from Spore? Night or morning? Coz i drove up to Malacca in the morning and back on the same day at night. I find driving bk at night more tiring and straining. So i need to plan the timing a bit on tat part.

Cindy: Hug hug yr 2 bao bei.

Tantrums: On the night we scolded E, he had v bad nightmare. My MIL said must be scared by the scolding. Tat's not gonna stop me from scolding him if he gets naughty again.

ASHM & Cindy: I also bght the Umist during my pregnancy 2 years ago. But 1 year aft when the warranty ends, the machine spoilt
And we did all the nec cleaning, but still...Nw give up, just buy those nice and cheap one.

Tinkabel: Hugs to Matt. Gd thing that his fever is down. Give him lotsa water to bring down the fever.

Cactusnah: Easier said than done. Matt doesnt like to drink water. We have to mix it with some ribena before he will drink more water. Sigh, it's a bad trait that he took after me, cos I also dun like to drink water. Hopefully he will get better by the time I get home tonight.

tinkabel: No choice, be it plain water/Ribena/diluted fruit juice, it's impt he gets enuff liquid. E din take his milk when he was sicked tat time, so PD said to offer him Vanilla ice cream just so to make sure tat he gets some nutrients. Hope Matt gets well soon.

Cactusnah,
Yah, I agreed that it's easier to bring them out, but then, hard to shop with them around, at least with G lah. He will run and run and touch this and that, so hard to chase after him. For food, I cooked for Fri's meals on Thu night and put them on thermal jar, he only ate our food on Sat and Sun.

We left S'pore at 6.30am, reached KL at abt 11am+. For Genting, it will need at abt 1.5 to 2 hrs more to reach, provided no stopover. When coming back, we left at 1pm and reached S'pore at 4.30pm with only 1 stopover to avoid evening jam cos it was a Sunday.

cactus:: thank you! ahaha ya each time i hit or schold Travis he also will get nightmare, but so what man. that's not gg to stop me too!! kids these days, give them an inch they take a foot. really have to exert some .... if not they take us for sick cats! how u feeling liao? all better? wah so fast spoilt. haha mine i think also ard 1yr plus liao. think spoiling soon liao. ahaha. Yea sometimes cheap doesn't mean no good!

tinkabel:: hugs to matt. sigh T also don't like to drink water, so we add some ice inside, at least he takes cold water. no choice la. tactics to make him drink. Booo. Both my Ts are sick too. fever, flu, cough, package illness.

Haha, of course i win liao!! Haha, no worries abt Claire being left or right handed coz she has either me or my hubby to teach her how to write..

But being left handed is cham especially when it comes to learning Chinese strokes.. I hope she dun hv the same problem with me!

Anyway, i think dun hv to worry abt it yet coz i observed that Claire sometimes use her left hand or right hand to do the same action.

Aiyo, Claire also very good at throwing tantrums... Now we feel that cannot give in to her to keep the peace. I just let her cry and ignore her... Later on, she stopped crying then explained to her what she did wrong.

Poissons: Thanks thanks. So yrs also morning trips. Shopping with E also none the better.Wat i do nowadays is i look and "Bio" clothes and ask them to take care of E while i dash in to the boutique for 5 mins. As expected, usually will come out empty handed coz too stress to shop in peace. But at least i'm satisfied coz still get to window shop:)

Cindy: I'm doing ok, gotta take medicine 3 times per day. Put on 3kg in 1 month. Bo hoo hoo...Thks for asking:)

K@ye: Besides writing chinese strokes, my brother-in-law who is also lefty said using the can opener and opening fridge are also some of the 'disadvantages' coz they're mostly designed for right handed. But i guess these are things they'll overcome.

kitty,
Little feet at raffles place got sale. 20% for older range, $4 off for normal range. I juz bought 2 pairs for G..hehe.