(2007/11) November MTBs

cactus : It is the Motherhood fair at expo from June 4-7....

Re Maids : I think it all boils down to luck, my phil helper is going over to help my mum and I am waiting for the maid agency to get a new one for me. She will be looking after Ash and do housework, so this means i have to train her and hopefully she is ok....fingers cross!

Poissons - Ash wakes up twice, say 12plus midnight and maybe 4 or 5am for his milk....

Mummies - Ash is coughing only at night which started 2 nights ago, and he is totally fine during the day. Any idea what causes this kind of cough... my mum said it's called han ke...and I am giving him the EYS Ba Bao San to see if it works or not.....

cactus, weishy, sorry can't hv dinner after Barney cos we got to rush to MC open house. Forgot abt the open house and bought barney now hv to rush. Dun mind if you take A to dinner tho haha.

cindy, Travis & A the same leh. Completly taken over the TV. Luckily she goes to school in the day. In my mum's house, she took over my dad's desktop so he got her one for herself!

maid:

wonder is it a common trait among filippino maids, stubborn, cannot tell them off, too many times and they start to show you face, ( then how to teach???), like to justify themselves, give excuses and if anything damaged, sure not them or they dunno, always yes yes i understand but never do it, when ask them then they said they intend to do it tomorrow. sigh....

Is it common for maids to damage things in the house, crack utensils, lost things, iron until silvery, spoil electrical appliances or new things under their care sure become salted vegetables, wooden furniture chipped off liao, wall dented with holes lah ( due to ironing near to wall) or dirty lah, parquet flooring scratches lah. Realised all my maids will have this problem depends on how much is the total amount the damages only, sure in terms of hundreds or even thousands of dollars. I just cannot figure out. I thought maybe they are doing housework so more or less these kind of accidents happened so i told them as long as they are honest and admit to me that the things spoil, I am not so angry. But again, just cannot figure out that things my family use for donkey years never spoil but once they come only, spoil. Next maid, I think i will try indonesian liao and see the differences myself.

K@ye: Not sure if i'm right, i think AF = Auntie Flow.

Mambobb & ASHM: Thanks. Maybe will go take a look if there's no Q.

Mambobb: U taking TCM, just started? Maybe tat's why? Or perhaps really preggy already? Pray pray...

MissA: A shld be easy to handle right? Just give her 10 Char siew bao and she'll guai guai sit there for an hr. Ha ha...

Cindy: Breath in, breath out, breath in, breath out. Relax relax......patiently waiting:)

cindy, mummies,

you are not the only one that spoil your child. very difficult to draw line between pamper and spoil leh, i will stop hanns from doing naughty things but when he crys and scream, I usually will give in and try to distract him with something else instead of giving punishment or beat him ( got beat liao, beat hand only but he still insist on having his way) so in the end i give in so that he will stop screaming and crying cos i find that if i beat him more, he cry more and I always give the excuse that at his age, he still dunno :) so wait till he grow out of this stage ( I think that's very wrong right?)

Whenever we use stroller and bring him shopping, the whole shopping centre can hear his screaming, he die die wants to come down, but once down, he will run and touch this and that. My hb asked me how come other kids can sit still in their stroller and keep quiet, only my hanns so i have to keep giving him tibits or biscuit to shut him up and still in his stroller, but once stopped, he scream and I have to give him more again, told him no no or mummy gonna to beat you soon, but he dun care leh. How to discipline him at this age??? can someone teach me, sometimes so tired that the only way to stop him is to distract him or give in to him but is that right? I will tell him no and beat his hand but still find it useless leh. No way to eat quietly unless got TV and toy to play too, if i refused to give him, he will cry, scream and refused to eat lor, in this case, what should I do??

happy: My fren's girl used to be like too.. always cry and scream and my fren always give in to her jus to stop her from crying. Till nw, even she reason with her girl.. sigh.. 50-50 lah.. most of the time the girl will sure throw temper one. so wat i always believe is to teach them when they are young.

moerover me n dh are not good temper kind.. haha.. will raise our voice abit when C really cross the line. Most of the time she knows tt we are angry and stop all the nonsense.

I just tried yest when she flipped herself and lie down on my leg to throw her temper, asked her to wake up for several times, raised voice also no use. THen I said "Mummy doesnt want Cailyn already".. wow.. to my surprise she wakes up and hold me tight.. haha.. it works!!

cactus, A will finish the 10 baos in 10 mins. She doesn't chew and eat very fast. I am grateful cos I dun hv to sit for >10 mins when feeding her

happy: hugs. travis behaves like hanns too. Don't want stroller etc. Till one day my hubby told me: maybe he doesn't want to be that bad, just that he got a sister now, So... Excuses maybe sigh. But I usually also cave in to his demands as his screams get more intense with mucous n all. Ai.. Come to think abt training from young, we have, we did. But useless. Me n hubby also wondering how to tame him... So Paiseh, outside eating, cannot sit in high chair for >10mins. Scream, shout, let him down, run everywhere. Very Sian. lets hope things improve as they get older.

Cactusnah: Haha u doing great! Continue the workout!

Happy: My son also like that when we use stroller and bring him go shopping. After awhile when he feel bored, he also must come down. And when he come down, he looks so happy and excited and touch almost anything thats pass him especially when I brought him to Kiddy Palace. And yes...he do scream and cry when we tried to put him back in the stroller. Sometimes, he will stop when he realize that we are not giving in to him.

Mambobb, I think I will try that to my son and see if he will hug me or not. hahaha... so cute that Carilyn know that.

ASHM, hope Ash recovers fr his cough soon. can i ask how u feed him the ba bao san ah? i mix into kaira's water and she doesn't even finish half of it. so like wasted. in the end i drink (since i also abit of coughing).

missA, its good that A likes to eat!! i wish kaira's appetite will improve slightly. i miss the "hungry and eat anything" kaira. ;(

I think our little ones in the Terrible 2 stage! Claire knows how to bully us the parents but with strangers... She dun dare to play punk!

And she is afraid of ppl who re big sized! In London, my Sis' fren who is big sized... She cried when she saw her n dun dare to misbehave when she is ard!

k@ye
welcome bk... a bit late but hope ur holiday was still memorable! :D

re: CC
i have headache wi C this wk that she's going CC this wk. Mon she cried 4 times even wif me around n screamed when other teachers wana carry her.

ytday she had a bad fall n end up wif a BIG buah luku on her forehead - end up she was being 'carried' the rest of the day (coz i was guilty)

today was pretty bad coz she still wan me to carry most of the time. and she kept crying n screaming during bath time til it was like her own drama - the rest of the kiddos were just watching her n it made me so MALU!!!!

i just can't imagine what will happen tomorrow when i leave her there tmr mrng. and each mrng during temperature checks, she'd made a big fuss so i nid to prepare myself for another drama again tmr mrng! sigh... breaks my heart to see her cry but just had to learn to let go...

sigh!!

k@ye, yeah boy, i think its the terrible 1.5 years old and not 2!! now they really "chu" all kind of patterns.

kitty, hugs. it's really not easy and i can imagine the "agony" both for u and her. but once C adapts, all will be well, give her some time and lots of TLC now as she makes the transition...its tough for her too. take care yah.

happy - kaira sometimes also need snack to keep her in the stroller. so u r not the only one!but i remember when she was younger, ard 8 months plus, she doesn't like to sit in the stroller and will cry and struggle. i remember letting her cry and ignoring her. after a few times, she got the message liao. altho embarrassing for a while...it really helped as now getting her to sit in the stroller is not such a challenge for me now. but i think our kids are older now.... don't know if method works any more!

now, for kaira, sometimes it works sometimes it doesn't. especially when we are outside, she seems to know that if she makes noise, we will give in!! *faints* y are toddlers so "clever" ????

Dreamer, must be the vitamins we took during our pregnancy.. that's y they are so smart!

Another better way is kids inherited their smartness from Mums... so hehe... We as mothers are smart, thus the kids also smart! :p

dreamer - i mix 1/3 of the powder with water in a teaspoon and feed directly to Ash...he is ok so far. For their age, the dosage is 1 bottle 3 times day, so it will be 1/3 each time. Today is the second bottle, hopefully he will recover fast... just find it strange that he only coughs late at night. Even like now 8pm in Singapore, he is perfectly ok....sigh...

cactusnah:ya ya oki dinner after the show.think of where first can?no need to waste time mah hehehheheh.me oki with anywhere.

Terrible 2:think hayley started long time liao kakakakkaka.now she cry when we brign her away from toys etc got tears one......

Cindy, Dreamer, Happy,
ZY also never likes to sit in stroller ever since she knows how to walk. I guess its just common that they wanna feel and touch when we are out shopping with so much to see! So we dun usually make a big fuss on this, and we will rotate to carry her or chase after her. So its getting almost impossible to shop with this gal! But we seldom give in to her tantrums throwing even tho we may get the stares. Cos once u give in, that's it. These littles ones r too smart, and they will repeat the stunts since it worked. I do believe reason will help but only after they hv calm down fr their tantrum!

ASHM,
that's really strange.. hope Ash recovers fast!

Today Jordan did almost the same thing. He insist wanted to get Yakult. I told him that i will give him when we are back home. He very reluctant to go. SO i pull him along. And when I stop pulling him he wanted to go back to the shop and stand there refuse to move. I just carried him and walk off. He is ok till we get into the car and he start throwing tantrums. Kicking the packet of rice when I refuse to let him touch. So I just give a slap on his thigh. He cried la. Till we get home and he saw the maid (Like seeing his savior) So i refuse to let him run to the maid. I bring him to playground. Hiaz. I think all kids are like that now. When I bring him to shopping he will nv take the stroller. I just let him be but keep an eye on him. Actually he sees who is with him. If only me ard, he don't dare to defy my orders. But if go shopping together with his dad and maid or my auntie, whenever they try to carry him, he will struggle and pinch their face. So I will turn ard and carry him, he stop all his nonsense. Guess I am the fierce one afterall.

happy, not all maids are like that. Whether is it indonesian or philipinos are the same. That is why I will never buy expensive appliances in my house. Cos it spoil easily. Once my maid spoil the washing machine. So i said no washing machine from now on. For many years, I never buy washing machine.

Of cos not all philipinos are gd, nor indonesian are bad. If maid is new and less then 2-3 months and start showing you face, I think u better get the agent to have a word with her. I usually scold new maid, when they repeat the mistakes more than 3 times. Then I will reason with her after scolding. Usually it works. It is quite natural for them to show faces. So I will just ask them whether did i scold them wrongly anot. I give them chance to explain. If I listen it is not right then i will raise my voice la. But i will tell them that I will not allow mistakes to happen more then 3 x, so if it happens don't blame me for scolding and stopo showing me face. Most people like Indonesian maids cos they can so call TAHAN scoldings. And she will keep quiet. But u never knows what is inside their mind. I don't have any grudges against any race or countries. But after dealing with these pp for couple of years with what i seen and my experience tells me that as u can see from crimes and reported news for murder and abuse usually are from which country?

Honestly nowadays maids are quite difficult. So have to open one eye and another close. Just like my current maid case, before i want to shift house and knowing her pp expire soon and I am due in AUg, she demanded for her off day new contract and ask me to pay for her pp. Cos she learn from her friends. And dare me that if i don't want to renew her pp for her so I sent her back. I just keep quiet and smile as during that time I still need her to look after my boy as I am having bad bad MS. I told her ok no prob for her pp and her off day. (as i am having bad MS and i need to shift house soon) So i pretend to give in to her. After I settle in my new place, I talk to her and now is my turn to nego my terms and conditions. I told her off that her hw is slow. But she can take gd care of my son but she nt so clean. So I tell her from now on this is what I want.. If she can't do it, then is ok. She can choose to transfer or go home if she can't cope. I also gave her an option of higher salary and easier job at other employer house. Cos I feel she is slow in her hw but she really takes gd care of children. I told her that if she finish her 2 years contract with me, i will rebate her the passport cost. If she never finsh she will have to bear her own lo. Also I complain that sometimes i talk or asked her to do things to her she showed me black face so i told her this is not allowed cos i also never scold u. I talk nicely to her la. At the end she choose to stay. Cos afterall she knew how she was treated in my place. Never feel threaten by maid. No big deal to change another one till the right one comes along. Just like when we employ employees. Same theory. U never know how the employee turns out to be. Every 6 mths be it maid or employee all need to review. Just let them know lo...

Long winded..
paisei

cactus, missA, weishy

I am going to bb fair on friday at ard 2.30pm 3pm before concert start. Once u are there drop me an sms or call so i can pass the tickets to u. I will be meeting weishy earlier to go for lunch and maybe back to my place to pick up my boy and head to expo together with S@L. So if u are interested in the arrangement let me know.

Dinner I think i will have to skip cos my hb will be with me and by that time Jordan will be cranky liao....

Happy,Yoko,

I fully agree what you are trying to say. I also hv that same prob with my current phil maid. The initial 3mths, she will show black face when I tell her off of certain things she didnt do right. Threaten to go home and want to change employer and even told the maid agency that she didnt sleep enuff, made her work in 2 houses, and she is not happy. All these bullshit coz I scolded her for doing something wrong.

I was in the midst of looking out for another maid when my maid's sis who has been wkg here for 20 yrs called me and wanted to find out what I did to her sis. Funny rite... but this sis EQ v high, after i explain to her wat happen and the work I made my maid do, she told me its a v easy job. Immediately she talked to my maid and ask her to tink twice coz not many employer in Spore so tolerant with this.

Of coz, she apologised to me and i allowed her to stay. Till this v day, I hv still need to c her face color and worse is she is not pro-active, very reactive and no initiative with work.

I have sort of gotten really tired how to handle her already that I just told her off last sun abt what I dislike. I told her I dun care if you agree with me or not, but now that she is here for close to a year, I expect a lot more from her, what she is doing is totally unacceptable. Then she was better for the 1st wk, but now, bk to norm again.

Tats y now I m planning to put B in CC but also hv headache coz B doesnt like to eat or drink milk. So I really worry if she goes CC n will starve herself.

Kitty: You hv to hang in there wor~.. Cailyn only today didnt cry when I put her there, which is 3rd week @ cc.

Our bb sure cry one coz not familiar place lah. I always say goodbye to her, let the teacher carry her and walk away. It's sad to hear her cries but no choice lor.. The longer u stay there the more they cry for us.

I'm still worry after weekend break, will she starts to cry again on Mon.. haha

Jia You!

mambobb
1st day for C at CC w/out me.
screamed all the way from the moment i took off her shoes at the center till i left... heartpain man!!!
i stayed back n peeped when the toddlers went for their breakfast. C was carried by the teacher (coz she refused to walk with the rest since day 1) and was ok wif the teacher feeding her breakfast. i stayed a few mins more then left - since she was no longer crying liao.

sigh... so heavy heart but i guess she only 'fuss' coz she saw ME.

let's JIA YOU together!!

re: batam/bintan
any1 went there for a short break recently?
thot of going there for 2D1N, not sure if there's any baby friendly hotel there.

i used to use the aprica stroller and hanns is super strong, each time he will managed to struggle out by himself and stand up in the stroller, before i can buckled him up, he already out, after i finally managed to buckled him up, less than 30 secs he struggled out and get up too, so no way to bring him shopping. finally bought a maccalen XT though I find it very heavy for me to handle but at least this XT, he can struggled out of the shoulder pad but not the buckled up and at least he will not be able to stand up on the stroller, just that he will cry and scream lor. Funny things is that every time we go out, we dun see any other kids doing that even though mummies here complained that your kids do the same leh :)

maid:

I told this new maid (3 weeks) off so many times, proof to her that it is not clean and not only not clean, I suspect she did not even clean at all. but she insisted that she cleaned. I told her last week that the wet kitchen is dirty, got to clean but she did not and yesterday I told her to clean again yesterday night but she did not complete the cleaning at all and went to sleep, again she likes to choose her own time to do the housework instead of scheduled, I told her to do general cleaning for whole kitchen but when this morning i checked, the part that i specifically pointed out to her that not clean is being clean but not clean again and the rest of the kitchen is not being clean at all. Very angry! I have lectured her so many times, told her off so many times that if this goes on, I cannot keep her and she promised to clean well not once but many times too, even tears too, then why dun listen!

advices needed: i am allowed to have 2 maids and told my family that maybe i should employed 2 maids at one time and compared, keep the better one than train one by one like this, take one filippino and one indo but they said 2 maids can have more problem and with 1 maid already very stressed.

I will be dropping by Expo later. Will updated you all if there is any good deal at Motherhood Fair. If you have something to check it out, let me know by 11:40am, ok.

Re: maid
I give up on them already. And I agree they will give you black face when we ask them why never clean or do properly.

Re: CC
Kitty and Mamboob, I think I must really prepare myself for the screaming session after I heard your experience. I am quite soft-hearted leh...I wonder if I can cope with that cos thinking of putting D into full day too.

Miss A,
saw your A yesterday at Dawson Place around 7plus.
My A sick and has to see doc and your A was in her pram and wheeled past....

michviv,
so sorry i MIA for so long. work is crazy! sorry couldn't make it for the PDS class last sat. Jovan is coughing. hope i can make it this week.

mambobb/kittybride,
i can understand ur heartpain when ur gals cry at cc. when i first sent J to infantcare, he was only 7+ months then. my mum & I accompanied J for half a day at the cc. my mum weeped when she saw him cry for sleep. my HB & I cried in each other arms when we were back home. din dare to cry infront of my mum. when J changed cc at 10 months, he cried when i went out of his sight. can really feel my heart breaking & sinking. i went to the toilet & cried.

ASHM: there is no Mustela booth at the the baby fair.

Diaper Sales:
Huggies Diaper selling at S$14 per pack and 2 for S$25. Buy any 4 (diaper/ pull-up pant/ swim pant), you will get the huggies tent or torchligh.

There is Poney sales but mainly girl's clothes. Boy one quite minimum. Oh, there is Elle sales, buy 2 for $10.

Karihome Goat milk sweet (Asstd) 200 sweeties selling at S$16.
Single flavour (Original/ Yogurt/ Blueberry/ Stawberry) 150 sweeties selling at S$12
Buy any two free one can of 70 sweeties (either yogurt or stawberry)

ASHM, dun go lah... Too many temptations haha!

My Mum called and told me that Claire is being notti again.... She refuses to chew the food immediately and choose to keep the food in her mouth for a while before swallowing them...

mambobb/kittybride/catherine,

hanns started crying on the fifth day of cc, ( first 3 days, half day and he still dunno what's going, maybe thought like normal enrichment class), the fifth day, he had his final vaccin in KKH in the morning and then late morning, I bring him back to cc. He cried so hard, I phone my hb that i never see him cry until like this before ( he is a stubborn boy, knock here and there also cry for short while unless blood comes out type then will wails till no voice and breatheless type) but still not as hard like this, I did not leave the childcare, sit in my car, wait for a while and then 10 mins later, peeked again but before i reached the window to peek, can hear him screaming for mummy and he cried till his whole body shaking and hiccup type. Teachers told me it is okay and normal, I told them if really cannot, phone me, I will pick him up, they reassured me that it is okay so I went ahead with my lunch appointment. Half hour later before I reach my lunch appt, the cc called and said hanns kept crying and refused to eat, better take him back, so i rushed back, he was still crying and when i picked him up, he stopped but body still shaking and jerking after long hard cries lor. Carried him to the carpark and then suddenly i think he must have felt very sad again and started crying, I have to reassure him that it is okay, so pitiful. At home, he is not secure that few days, every half hour or so, wokes up and called mummy, mummy. Refused to go and play alone at the outside premises.

Now 3rd week, much better, sometimes cry, sometimes dun but can tell from his face that he wanna cry but contain it and mummy everyday like thief, hiding under windows to peek at him for 10 mins, the teachers must have felt that I am funny.

I heard from my friends that the are cc where you can log into the site and see what's your child is doing, real time in the cc now, hanns's cc dun have that. it will be nice to have that.

Kitty,
Can empathise with you, the first few days G went to cc I also very upset when he cried. But now in the 2nd week (he sick for the whole of last week), I bor chup already..haha. But I must say my MIL damn good, she wants to assure me that G is in her good hands, so she made a point to update his movements in school on a notebook she puts in his school bag, took lots of pics and videos too (those are for the school's newsletter use also...not that G gets special attention la..).

aiya feel so sad for the kids leh when i read abt all ur experiences when putting them into childcare..
I am oso looking for a cc for A, can't bear to put him there actually..
moreover all centres i spoke to, do not allow parents to stay in with them even for the 1st few days...
i feel so sad, tinking abt tat alone oledi saddens me, wanna cry..

dun want my boy to tink that his mummy abandoning him there..

K@ye - The latest 'demand' from Ash is he will only eat when we switch on the TV for him!! So good ah, know how to threaten the nanny!!! Hiaz....he will finish all if he gets to watch tv while eating, so bo bian....

Poissons - Your MIL is so sweet, i am sure G is in very good hands....

RE: Nepia
Oh yes....Nepia is selling at $14/pack. This price is vaild until 30 Jun 2009. Free delivery if you order 4 packs. Can call them at 6226 2650.

ASHM - I am using the Nepia Diaper Pants for my son on daytime. The quality is not bad. I like it better than Huggies pul-up pants. NTUC promo selling 2 for $28.95 if I remember correctly.

Thanks Gelyn and zzz - just thinking if i should use Nepia when my #2 comes out. I used Papmers NB during Ash's time....

poissons,
lucky u to have ur MIL to lookout for G.

i went to pick C up around noon today and she was in a happy mood when her teacher carried her out. she was laughing loud when she saw me and was eager to go home, keep pointing at the exit but still remembers to give her teacher flying kisses and waves before we headed off.

remarks from her teacher was that she was acting very 'babyish' - kept asking to be carried else will start screaming, hence she was practically being passed around by the teachers and even asst principal today. hahahaa... no choice coz she is really the BABY in the whole childcare now, the youngest in her class. :D

but her 'priviledge' will have to end soon else will be unfair to the other toddlers if they see her always in the teachers' arms. and hopefully she will enjoy her time there more and more - even if she cried and screamed quite a bit today (the asst principal told me coz her screams were so loud she had to bring C to the principal's room coz it affects the other kids! wah piangz!!)

keeping my fingers crossed she will scream less tmr! ahaaa...

zzz,
which CC u looking at? how come 1st day already do not allow ONE parent to be with the kid? i thot we should at least stay wit them for a few days (MCYS allows 3 half days, according to my CC) so the child can get aquainted with the environment/teachers/other toddlers, etc.

Kitty:
My C same lah.. for the 1st week, basically she is either holding teacher's hand and walk around or want to be carried lor.

As u mentioned, they hv the priviledge nw coz they are the youngest there.. haha.. but I believe ur C will soon adapting the place well. Cailyn is in her 3rd week nw and when the teacher wants to carry her from me, she willing lor. haha.. Jia You..

zzz,
ya lor, why cannot stay for half day? where got kids can stay in unfamiliar place without any parent area?

Re: CC
I am also looking around for a CC to put my son. But hearing all the story...I feel so "bu she de" but then I think its time for him to pick up some social skills. Now he is like a koala bear when he see stranger!

ASHM:: that time i bought nepia to try on travis before i invested to buy for trishelle hor, wah it leaked SO MANY times! So i decided no nepia for Trishelle. I stuck to goon instead.

Happy:: hugs to hanns. i hope he will build up his confidence in time to come. i really must prepare myself for the worst man!!

kitty:: Chloe is only gg halfday cc? good good. give her more time to adjust. I think she is loved by teachers there! hehe so can see her smiling.

poissons:: Hugs to G. hehe. nice to hear he adapting well! hope he'll grow stronger and not get sick so often!

Travis is sick man. last night vomitted at 11pm + all over the bed. CRY CRY CRY like mad and woke trishelle up. Wah super bad night. Today he got cough with phlegm and fever. Take medicine also refuse. CRY SCREAM AND BEAT me. goshhhh! and trishelle is another one. I've started her on FM bottle for day feeds (don't wanna pump at work) and night continue to latch. just started this arrangement last wk and NIGHTMARE! she only takes very minimally to survive and then at night WAKE UP 2 hrly to latch!! OMG. i'm dying. the whole day 6am to 6pm she can only take just 2 feeds of 60mL. TerRIBLeeee.... force her to drink more, she will cry super badly till tears keep dripping. So sad, cause when previously on tbf latching, she could actually already zzz from 10pm to 5am. Sighsss. I wish she could take more from the bottttttle soon, otherwise when i go back to work in 2wks time, i will die! haha.