(2007/11) November MTBs

MissA,
to think those are what I call the better pics, haha.. i shld just video the next time, but somehow, i always like to take pics. And yes, we did go to the Phuket Fantasea for dinner and show.. explains why the little one is cranky during the show, hence we gotta get out the theatre early. Else, u will see us watching the 9:30pm nite show.. she really enjoys, and so do we!

I thot ueno's L is attending JG at Forum?

Ladies, thanks for the info!

Yalor, i got one cabin lugguage with all our jackets + Claire's stuff to bring along with us...

lazykat, actually my parents & A enjoyed the 9.30 show whileme & hubby lounge by the pool sipping cocktails
can't wait for next holiday! hee hee.

MissA,
we usually hv the cocktail prior to the show if we eat fast.. and on the last nite, we ate almost 2 hours cos its French cuisine.. also cos we r chatting with 2 G.O.s, so din realise time pass so fast. Missing it already..

Hope A's rashes n redness go away soon!

lazykat,is the food good in phuket? Do they serve authentic thai food? The clubmed Bali din rserve or serve limited balinese food.

mummies - can you pls share with me what do your little ones eat for breakfast?

Ash doesn't seem to be intersted in oatmeal, bread with cheese, cornflakes with fresh milk, pancakes. He will just eat probably half of what is given everyday and he will throw the food on the floor! Except for oatmeal and cornflakes.... Gave him Pediasure Complete as a supplement and he also rejected it. Dare not give him soft boiled eggs anymore as he has this diarrhoea episode was after he ate them in the morning the last time....

ashm,A does not hv a choice, she's fed cereal with egg yolk and bread cubes at cc. On weekends, we give her heinz museli cereal & sometimes pancake or if we eat out it'll be chee cheong fun, noodle,carrot cake etc.

lazykat,
ZY seems to had lots of fun at phuket!
i like the shots with the elephant

ASHM,
there's not much variety for C's breakfast either. usually bread with butter/jam, cereal or porridge.

weekends usually eat what the adults have; usually either of these: bread, egg yolk, noodle (fried bee hoon), pancakes, prata and carrot
cake! :p

dun worry, so long he's eating some and is gaining wt as he should be, it's ok if he doesn't finish it. i just give C smaller servings (and she has a SMALL stomach and LOTS of energy!!) and she will indicate she still wants to eat by pointing to the food. else she will struggle to get down from the chair and play!

MissA,
nope, just a thin layer i rem - can u read the instructions to double check again? I think can only apply like twice a day..

MissA,
as we only hv a main restaurant, there will be a main section for "international" food like our buffet here, and there will also be a dedicated Korean, Thai, and Japanese section. So when its "French cuisin" for the day, u will expect the chef to serve some special french cuisine on top of the usual fare. The irony thing is, I find their Thai food so-so, but the international spread is more to my liking. After 1 day of asking chef to prepare for ZY, we gave up and let her eat the buffet spread but limit to the healthier options.

Kittybride,
cos we too early for the show, so thot shld do some touristy thing. Also we would hv gone for elephant trekking if w/o ZY.. no fish prawn also good lor..

ASHM,
its prob one of the phases when A prefers to play with his food rather than putting it in his mouth. They wont starve themseives, so prob he aint that hungry either. I read that, as their growth start to slow down, their intake of food either remain the same or even decline..

Thanks missA, Kittybride and lazykat! Ok i guess i am over-worried about his food intake then.

My current mission is to cut Ash's wee hours' feedings - he can wake up like 2 or 3 times a night for milk. His schedule for last night was :

11.15pm - 300ml milk
2.15am - 230ml milk
5.30am - 230ml milk
9.30am - 100ml Pediasure Complete

I was at the Positive Parenthood organised by Abbott at Raffles City last Sun morning and the american pyschiarist shared with us that it is due to insufficient solids intake during the day.....that's why toddlers are waking up in the middle of the night for milk. On one hand i know it's good for them to be able to drink milk rather than to reject it. But on the other hand, it's kind of taxing on the nanny who has to wake up so many times at night.

ASHM,
fwah..Ash wakes up so many times a night? For how long already? We have brought forward G's nightfeed from 11pm to 9pm before he sleeps since months ago and he is ok..but the headache part now is that he will wake up in the middle of the night, sometimes at 3am, 4am or 5am, jump up to our bed, find a comfy gap between me and his dad and fall asleep there quickly till morning. When I refused to let him come to our bed, he will wail big time. And he doesn't come alone hor, he will bring along his two best friends, Winnie the Pooh and Clifford the dog to our bed..sigh...at times I have to give up my space for him cos he keeps giving me his megawatt kicks, buay tahan..dunno how to kick his this bad habit! Anyone can help?

ashm, that's a lot of milk,luckily you have a nanny to help feed A.

A's schedule yesterday:
5.15pm - 1 bowl of cereal
7.30pm - spaggetti with earth best's chicken soup + half a golden kiwi
8.45pm - 200ml milk
7.15am - 240ml milk

She has enough solids in the day and 1 hr after dinner she demanded for milk!

poissons - Ash has been like that since birth..or should i say he still wakes up even though he started on his solids.... Hiaz... i know he will have a problem next year when he starts his N1 in Jan... maybe that's the reason why he still need his morning nap as he still wakes up at night....

Sorry cant advise on G's case cos A never sleep with US from day one and the moment he finishes his milk during those wee hours, he go back to sleep straight away... Tried to give him warm water and he will kick and wail big time! When nanny asks him you want nana, he nods his head!!

missA - Yes lucky we have the nanny but i think it's not nice also and poor her, she has been having interrupted sleep. The problem with Ash is that he is not very keen in his food during the day...really headache man!! How i wish he can like A, sleeps throught the night!!

ASHM: Woa, A is taking lotsa milk. What abt his morning, afternoon and evening feeds? He seems to be topping up at night instead. E's option is worst, only milk, bread, rice/porridge. He doesnt really like cereal (or rather we seldom offer it to him), so only time when his menu gets a little more creative and interesting is on weekends when we'll be offering him pancakes, Zhui Kueh, noodles, etc.

MissA: U feed A her dinner at 730pm and give her 200ml of milk again abt 1 hr later? We dare not offer E food/milk too close a gap coz we're worried that he may vomit. It's usually 2.5-3hrs later. Also wanna ask u, is it ok to use those packet chicken stock? E loves to drink soup so i've been making soup for him.

Mummies, can our kids drink watercress soup? Is it too "liang" for them?

ASHM

Ash sure has lots of milk at nite.

Does Ash shows interests in YOUR food instead?
C is demanding we feed her OUR food from OUR bowl rather than her own. she will shake her head if i try to feed her with her spoon but will gladly open her mouth if we feed her from our chopstick! sometimes i have to 'pretend' to scoop rice/soup from my bowl using her spoon with her food then she will eat. but she likes soup hence drank a lot during dinner.

so long she eats, we just have to 'play pretend'. tiring but bo pian lah.

poissons,
at least your misery is only in the wee hours when G wakes up. we still have C in our bed every nite leh and she is like a kicking machine in the wee hours, will turn, turn, kick, kick... till her daddy also buay tahan use pillow to block her kicks!
i immune oredi coz always kena her head! ahahaa...

cautus - Yes they can drink watercress soup. We are cantonese and must have soup every dinner. So Ash is drinking whatever soup we are having minus the salt. His typical feeds for a day would be :

Breakfast - Half piece of bread with cheese but he will only eat say 3 - 4 mouth

Lunch - Macaroni with chicken and carrot or with mince meat / brown rice porridge with fish and brocoli / white rice porridge with minced meat or chicken - but he will always leave one or two spoons behind or sometimes half

Dinner - Eat our dinner, e.g. rice with soup, vegetables, chicken with potatoes, steam fish. But usually he will pui out after eating a few spoons or half...

Kittybride - Ash is taking our food during dinner but the problem is he doesn't finish them. PD told me that we should time them during each meal, e.g. if Ash still cannot finish the food after 30 mins, or show no interest in the food anymore, we should just keep the food away. If he is hungry he will ask for more...

cactus, do you mean those cube chicken stock we adults use to make soup? I don't use these. We cantonese believe in making soup from fresh ingredients. Actually my mum cook the soup and A loves them. I am givng A those thick english soup from earth best. It's in a bottle,I just microwave. If she is not too hungry,i'lljust give her the soup,else i mix in some pasta.

ASHM
For C, she will let us know when she is full by struggle to get down from the chair and goes off to play.

most times we still try to coax her to come over for extra spoonfuls of soup and fish/vege/potatoes, etc if we are still eating (is a bad habit to do that lah but at least she eats more). i guess is like what your PD mentioned, the kid will look for food if they still want.

the most C can eat is a few spoonfuls of rice with veges/fish/etc and she usually leaves less than half behind (i also dun give her much since i know her intake 'pattern'...) but i do make sure she takes more soup.

another way to keep their eating interests, let them spoonfed themselves (with you holding the spoon too) - C will eat a few more spoonfuls if she holds the spoon too.

ASHM: A's menu for the solids seems similar to E's. Not sure if it helps to be more creative when feeding him. e.g: Laying his food nicely and ask him to finish his food so that the food can be cleared to reveal the cartoon underneath; or play pretend, ask him to feed/share food with his toys, etc etc. Be a bit more exaggerate and kiddy talk to him. Try anything and everything to entice him, dun give up yet.

lazykat: Glad to hear that ZY had fun at ClubMed. You went to the Phuket one right?

Cactusnah: Great that E's all well and back at home. I agree with you that we should not calculate the dosage and leave it to the experts. The last thing we want is an overdosed child! =P

ASHM: Wah! Thats a lot of milk at night. Have you tried going cold turkey. What happens if Ash does not get his milk? We did this to E when he was less than 1 year old and gave him water instead of milk whenever he woke at night. After he realised that there was no more incentive, he didn't wake up for milk anymore. The next thing I need to wean is his pacifier.

But the trouble is that E is getting very vocal and opinionated now. So much so that he decides who does what task for him. Eg: "Aunty Thee Mun (my maid) make sleep" or "Mama (my MIL)eat food" and if he does not get his way, he will say "go out" and cry his head off. He has nearly lost his voice this past week cos he refused my hubby bathing him. Jialat! Think this is the terrible twos stage...sigh...anyone with similar experience. Any solutions?

ASHM,
i feel A is taking too much milk at nite, hence affecting his day feeds, resulting in this cycle. Try offering him milk in the day, to cut down night feeds one by one. Then next, slowly increase solids, reduce milk in the day. Our todds are at a fussy stage now so even if he used to love a food very much, the next day he might reject. I realise ZY also cuts down on her lunch/dinner amt, but as she snacks in btn with fruits, bread, and still finishes all her millk, so i am not too worried.

ASHM,
one trick my mum did to keep G's interest in eating is to give him a plastic bowl with some ice cubes and a spoon for him to play with. For me, when we are having meals outside, i will scoop some rice to his bowl and let him self feed with his spoon. Be prepared that it's gonna be messy, but it's worth the clean-up cos' he eats his food and i can enjoy mine..haha. If he still pui his food after this, it means that he's full, so i stop feeding him. I will top up with milk in 2hrs time if he's not eating much during meal time.

MissA: Oh ok, for one moment i thought u gave A those chicken stock. Nope i dun use those too. Also prefer to give him some "real" solid soup too

Cactus, ASHM,
i also realise if i wanna ZY to finish her food, hv bite size pasta (w/o sauce of cause!), carrots, peas so she can use hands to pick and eat! Its messy but its a sure way that she will put all into her mouth and declare "no more"! The sauce i make it thinner so it becomes a soup and either she feeds herself or i will feed her if she allows. And yes, need a lot of EQ when feeding them.. sigh

Michviv,
yeah, we were at the Phuket one, definintely not as new as Bali, but overall experience is good (tho we din get all our baby welcome items, except the cot which by now is a white elephant..)

missA, I had his trial at east coast. I find that is gd. Evans rd and forum bit far for me. His teacher name is Clare.

ASHM, are you going to attend SM or LNT? Let me know if u are attending. PDS i hv nv attended cos is quite far away. Is there montesorri at BRMCK? I am interested too. For Ash diets, I think u keeep trying new stuffs. Cos there is once Jordan also refuse food intake esp porridge and he will open his mouth so small and it takes 1 hr to finish his bowl of porridge. At times i let him self feed. U can try give him like apples, banana and steam carrots and potatoes. Let him use his own fork and eat by himself. Or another way is that my granny bought chinese herbs for toddlers for them to open up their appetite and to boost their immune system. So far my boy had finish a big bottle. So far so gd. Now he eats everything. He even love chicken wings.

Cautus, I think is ok to gv. I gave Jordan watercress soup on sat too. He finished the whole bowl of soup.

hais... mummies. I feel so so fed up!!

Have to blast it out! J's sick again! and it's fever again! My mum keeps telling me how bad it is that he doesn't eat and also dun wanna drink. Like what can I do? So long as he's having his water... What can I do????? Medicine finished liao still unwell... then new round of fever and flu!! I am so tired too! Practically never sleep, still gotta work! Then when I call home, she says must bring him to doc again.... blah blah blah... I'm also worried and wish I can dun work. She really doesn't give me a peace of mind. Now, I am so so so so dvided and so so pissed that I gotta be at work.
What am I supposed to do if she cant handle a sick child with a maid at home??? Really feel upset!!

Anyone interested in D story club at pat school (Halifax rd) houese trial lesson @ sat 11.30am to 1 pm? $40. Cos now they opening a new class.

smilemum, cool down. it's always frustrating when our baby get sick and takes a longer time to recover. You might hv to bring him to the PD again. btw think ocean frantically looking for you to collect your cookies but that will be the last thing on your mind now.

Cactus / Lazykat - PD told me not to turn on the TV when we are feeding Ash his breakfast, lunch and dinner. And we did try to distract him with col stuff / toys on his high chair. But still...

Lazykat / Michviv - We were told at the talk last Sun is to de-condition his milk feeds at night by diluting his milk powder each time he drinks. E.g. if we are giving him 210ml of milk, we should only add 6 spoons of FM instead of 7 spoons. And slowly we will make the milk like water and eventually he will be lazy to get up for milk. But because he is used to these night feeds, it is not advisable to go cold turkey straight away. I guess he will cry and kick if we do that now. So am experimenting the method this few nights... no results yet..

Poissons - I will try the trick your mum use, i think its interesting and can keep Ash's for awhile!

Yoko - Ok will let you know when i confirm which one to go.. Could you pls PM me your contact number also... Thanks! Maybe the last resort is to give Ash the chinese herbs to open up his appetite...

ASHM,
it will take time given A has been conditioned for so many mths, but persevere! Absolutely no TV when feeding.. I will be the entertainer lor. Or she will feed me, I eat a bit, then I will feed her 1 big mouthful!

cactus - My mum just told me she is cooking watercress soup tonight....

smilemum - Cool down, i know it's very tiring and frustrating to juggle between work and a sick baby. Nobody wants this to happen and it's part of their growing up...

Smilemum,
its defnintely not easy to handle a sick child, think yr mum prob stressed out also.. thot u putting J in cc also? Hope J recovers soon..

ASHM: No no, no TV during meals. What i meant was the cartoon on the plate, underneath the food. But it may only be a temp solution coz A will be cleaver enuff to know the same old trick the 2nd time round. Continue trying...

Poissons: My MIL also likes to give E things like his cup, bowl etc to distract him during meals. I dun really like the idea but dun wanna say much, as long as he eats...

Anyway, E rejected me for the past 2 weeks coz i've been the demon to feed him medicine when he was sicked. He didn't wanna hug me or be carried by me, only started to accept me yesterday when i ran around and play with him.

Smilemum: Can understand how u feel. I was in the same position 2 weeks ago. E almost finished his medicine but the fever went up and down w/o fully recovering. Hw long is his fever? Perhaps u shld really go to a diff PD for 2nd opinion. Meanwhile, ask yr mum to give J as much fluid as possible till u go home tonight. Guess she is as worried.

ASHM, agree with the ladies... Ash drinks too much milk liao.. coz he din have enough solids.

HEhe, Claire also dun want her porridge but more interested in our adult food. We give her also lah but in moderation.... She sometimes will wake up in the middle of the nite for milk. Me used to it liao, as long as she goes back to sleep after her milk.. I hv no issues.

smilemum,

I had the similar problems like you do, but my case worse, when my boy was 3 mths old, my mother who is supposed to take care of him when i am working got stroke and I can tell you none of the maids can solve your problems, they can only help your mum in term of housework. Once our kids are sick, usually 2 weeks or so and then fresh round of flu again, it is quite common unless he or she is lethargic and behave abnormally else PD always say it is ok, just monitor.

I can travel to alot of private PDs, spent alot of money, in the end still ended up in KKH 24 hours and insist they check blood, urine if I think my boy is not recovering after long period.

All mums love to nag even my mum who had stroke but still luckily quite independent except that she can no longer do any housework or take care of my child but she will nag and command this and that too while sitting down and sometimes you are so busy liao and she will nag you to have meals, I also want to take my meals but who is gonna to take care of my boy while i take my meal, the stupid maid forever hiding in the toilet, kitchen etc..... and therefore I had to quit my job, but really not easy facing a monkey 24 hours so decided to put him in childcare, at least hopefully he can learn something there too and have other kids his age too.

At their age, it is okay to fall sick, this will build up their immunity when they attend primary, quite common, my boy got running nose almost every month, i immune to it liao and if nothing really serious, I just let it be. Maybe your mum is concern on the child not eating, again quite common so as long as your dr say that his development, weight everything is okay, then again it is okay. Try not to give too much milk, that will cause them to refuse solid in the day, have to cut down on milk in take.

smilemum::HUGS. HOpe your little one gets well soon! they get stronger all the time! HUGS HUGS.

ASHM:: why PD say cannot turn on TV while they eat? That's the only way I can keep Travis STUCK to the floor or highchair when he eats le. Otherwise he will run around, stand on highchair, ALL THE NONSENSE. really cannot do without TV. sighs. Poissons, sometimes I also use the same trick, ICE! they love it don't they? haha but it gets real messy so i resort to TV most of the times.
ASHM, when travis rejects his food, our trick is to let him eat it with some fruit, papaya, apple, banana. Usually he will have the fruit after his meal but if he doesn't want to eat the meal, we will one spoon fruit, one spoon meal, it works for us. If ash loves fruits, can try? I also do think the milk intake at night is hindering his solids intake in the day. IT's just like day time zzz too much, night time cannot sleep. so u need to try to reverse it

Travis currently eats:

Breakfast usually ard 8am: Bread *2slices without skin* or cereal. bread can be cheese spread, nutella, or jam. cereal is nestle type lo. honey joy, multigrain fruits or oats with prune.

10am, 180ml milk

12pm, lunch and fruit

2 to 3pm, can have a cube of cheese or bread for teatime

4pm, 180ml milk

6pm dinner and fruit

9pm, 240ml milk.

HUGS to ash and you!

ASHM:ASh really drinks alot durign the night wor (or a day...)ur nanny poor thing le...btu no choice.

solids intake same like hayley le......hv to play barney or enstein to her if nto she cant sit still and eat....

tried pasta/beehoon/noodles/potato etc.....she also dun like.....rice is the best choice for her....fruits also reject....jello too

breakfast i put yogurt(natural/vanilla) with fruits and cornflakes or museli for her....she likes crunchy stuffs...even rice also hv to put cornflakes...haiz.....

since no weight gain 4 her i out rice cereals into her last milk feed ,my last straw......too active and skinny liao she

cactusnah:wow u very patient le!!!!!me can't and of cos my helper tried her best...but in order to speed up her eating process...watch tv is still the best so far...will try out ur methods though

happy:i think u had managed it well so far la.....welll evrything falls we can't

smilemum -- hope your little one get well soon! take care *hugs*. its tuff, take a few deep breaths!

kaira also showing all sorts of pattern when it comes to feeding time. the last month, there were days when she just doesn't want eat proper meals. then some days, things she used to like, she suddenly doesn't want to eat them anymore. but after a few days, they are her favorite again! so funny, don't know how to "read" her mind sometimes!

and she used to have a "hearty" breakfast, FM milk feed followed by bread/cheese, or cornflakes or cereal and fresh milk etc.... now becomes only FM, fresh milk, yoghurt. other things, "NO NO" according to her.

and feeding time, must give her a few magazines/brochures (especially those with toys/animals/other children in it) to keep her entertained! she likes to point to things that she recognise and "call" them....so it can occupy her for say half the meal time. the other half, she will be self feeding nad squshing her food. i also play nursery rhymes during meal times to keep her entertained.

the tricks that we have to do for our little ones! haizzz.

Thanks mummies! Cookies: Really no mood to collect cos I've been busy battling this virus for a month.

J's finally asleep now. Brought him to PD again. and this time he's put on antibiotics and fever and ventolin. His fever should subside by Thursday; if not, he'll have to be admitted to hospital.
He's very difficult to care for now and I think it's unfair for me to say that of my mum. Guess it's just too much for everyone. She tried her best to care and is just as stressed. SOmetimes, I really wish I dun work and can be around for him when he needs me. But, now I am just crossing my fingers that it'll just be over on Thursday and by next Tuesday his cough should be a lot better. I really pei fu the mumies who can focus on work when baby is unwell.. cos I realised I cant! so tough.. really...please please pray for Javier, ladies. TIA