(2007/11) November MTBs

Cactusnah: That's y. After a 1 week trip to HK / Macau during Xmas, we decided we can't bring Matt to NZ with us. We will die carrying his stuff and stroller and him. Somemore, I'll be 21 weeks by then. Anyways, my ILs and my dad/sis is more than happy to help me babysit for the 2 weeks whilst I am gone. My sis damn funny, she say she will take leave and bring Matt to the Zoo, Bird Park etc. Haha...

MM, thanks for sharing abt the transition to cup thingy. guess each kid has their own "time table" and when they are ready, they will transit... juz whether earlier or later only.
i will try to take it easy... heehee.

as for feeding our toddlers when travelling, err, if u dun mind, like the dutch here, BREAD is a meal.... hehehe.

so for my upcoming trips, i think for some meals, Kaira's going to juz have bread and cheese + milk. :p

k@ye, juz read that claire's down with fever. btw, if u r sponging her, don't use ice cold water .... that's what my PD told me the last time in sg. something about too drastic a drop in temperature will have negative effect ( i cannot remember the exact term). so lukewarm or slightly cooler than room temperature will do.

hope claire gets well soon.

k@ye thanks for sharing ya...no budget for LV this yr le...lotsa things happening...very stressed ah!n then i realised that i hv a few bags i dun even hv chance to use now...

cactusnah, ya u still rem ah. ya i like phones..hehee...cos hubby dun really like gadgets so i use his contract to upgrade my phone. and when its time to renew my own contract, i change phone again! I like my HTC, the features are sophisticated, but abit slow le...i m the fast hands fast legs kind...this phone is too slow for me.
Sobz...i hv been thinking of iphone for the longest time, but now hv to measure if i can leave with some of the disadvantage of iphone.
oh ya resale value is true, but i hated my last Nokia phone and since then nvr used Nokia ever! But i read reviews that the new touch phone is not bad.

oh ya u wanted to find out more abt my HKG trip? u can buzz me or email me..hehee..

Dreamer, i think its hypothermia? Thanks for the concern, she is better!

Tinkabel, my Sis also... Now she is back in SG, she wants to bring Claire to many places too... Tat day, she told me she wants to bring her to the zoo but Claire fell sick!

Just now so funny, I went to my Mum's pl to see Claire wearing her flower gal dress. My Mum told me that my Sis fren came up to her pl to ask my Mum to alter the wedding gown for her. So the fren wear wedding gown, think my Sis & Mum bo liao let her wear the flower gal dress. Then ended up, Claire cried when they tried to change her out of the dress!

Gals are vain no matter how chor lor they are!

cactusnah,
huggies ultra at Carrefour suntec is now $14 irregardless of size. should have gotten it yday! sigh. anyway i bought 2pkts coz it's still cheaper than CK. can share with me ur bulk purchase lobang pls?

missA,
how much is the huggies at Taka baby fair?

Re: Botanical Garden on 10th April
r ur hubbies going?

k@ye,
yah thread is down. could only come in after i saw ur link

cactusnah,
Everytime we go overseas with E, we brought small rice cooker, brown rice, fish, brocoli n carrot. All wrapped separately, in those white colour ice box. then checked in. Every morning cook for E then bring out in thermos for his lunch. Dinner will feed him cereals. No outside food for him cos the porridge there is really salty. Cant wash porridge.
The most u can order rice, steam fish and perhaps daily soup(lei tong).
He is happy with the food we give him.. no problem adjusting after we come back to Sin.

PDS update
Ok mummies, PDS just got back to me that they cannot do any class earlier than the 18th of April. Kindly confirm if the date is ok for you, if not any alternative dates.

- Ashlyn (Grace)
- Hazel (Poochi)
- Ethan (michviv)
- HAYLEY (weishy)

By the way, LNT@Dhoby Ghaut is currently having a promotion. $100 for 3 trial classes. So if everyone if ok with the 18th of Apr for the Mandarin bugs trial class, I'll be signing E up for the LNT class from 25th of Apr onwards. Let me know? Thanks! =)

Hi jadefeet, what kinda ice box ar? can the fish store well? I'm planning to bring baby A to HK in nov... headache about how to feed her cos she doesn't really like outside food.

mummies, any of your toddlers rejecting food? baby A started rejecting her food about 4 days ago.. nightmare feeding her sia.. she only wants my neh neh, and cheese cubes. Other than that, all other food she'll only taste then refuse... how ar?
YTD brought her for her MMR jab, PD commented she small size.. only 8.7kg, btw 10-15 percentile nia.. sigh.

Hi mummies - thread is down today huh, manage to get in from K@ye's link......

K@ye :

Is Claire getting better? Hope you guys can join us next Fri! The last time i met her was at my house in Aug last year, time flies!

Cactus :

When we went to KL and Bukit Tinggi few weeks back, we cooked porridge with carrot in the serviced apartment in KL but we ordered steam rice with steam fish and tofu for Ash when we were in Bt Tinggi. Its good to expose them with outside food once in awhile so that they will not be fussy eaters? My nephew is now 3 years old and he eats almost everything. So when we bring him out, it is quite easy

I give Ash the Quaker's oatmeal which is not sweet, you can add a little bit of sugar or condensed milk if you want. Most important is to bring enough FM when you are travelling provided the country you are going has the same brand of FM that you are using. Dont worry you guys will enjoy HK!!

Catherine :

Hubbies are more than welcomed to join us next Fri. Are you able to join us?

Gloomybear :

Ash is also like that since last Fri, he would spit out the food after a few spoonfuls but his milk intake is still as per normal. I am going to bring him to see his PD this Fri....

gloomybear, this issue of mother & baby's front cover model looks like baby A. issit har?

poissons, sorry the grandparent rebate is $3K and Qualifying Child rebate is $4K. If you have submitted shd be still ok as they will adjust for you.

catherine,The huggies ultra was $14.70 normal price but free pull ups, the 2 packs of pull ups with Hi 5 dvd was $30.95. The diaper bag is good quality.

I have to bring hubby along to nx fri cos that plc quite out of the way for me to go with A.

Hi Cactusnah,
while i mentioned about my sil's twin hving stomach upset after overseas trip, i must also mention about my sister's twins whom had no problem at all.

we ever brought them onboard cruise, bkk, and genting at 2 year old also. They had no problem with the food they took. We brought along delifrance soft rolls, and then apply butter or jam.. the butter/jam were from the same hotel restuarant where we go for daily breakfast. They also survived on mcdonalds burger and fries and chicken wings when at BKK. cakes etc were fine also. frootloops etc also..

but one thing to note is we feed literally everything to my sister's twins from young.. whereas my sil has been very strict with her twins' diet..

Grace: Its at Paradiz centre at Selegie.
No.1 Selegie Road, PoMo (Paradiz Centre), #04-03, (S)188306

PDS (18th Apr - Mandarin Bugs)
- Ashlyn (Grace) ok
- Hazel (Poochi)
- Ethan (michviv) ok
- HAYLEY (weishy)

Gloomybear,
My MIL bought the ice box from Daiso. Light blue colour. Like those fishmonger in market uses, but daiso ones are smaller in size.
We pack the fish in 1 plastic bag, another plastic bag holds ice but tightly wrapped around to prevent leakage when ice melt.
Then use masking tape to tape around the opening of the box. Kiasu abit.
If you stay near big supermart like City Super at Harbour City Kowloon, then buying fresh fish there no prob..
I also bought the Danone baby yoghurt when i was there.
But i think by nov, our babies shld be 2 yr old then, Its ok to expose them to rice, mixed with soup. steam fish n tofu are good as well...

the last time i went to genting, i cooked soup stock before hand and stored them in tupperware, brought along my mini slow cooker + rice grains + veggie (brocoli/carrot) and cook in the hotel room..haha..my frens who went along the trip with us teased that they wanna come to my room for free meals.

also brought along those instant porridge from Nestle, but doubt our todds would want to take it now..cos' niam niam one.

ASHM, yalor... Time really flies.. Hopefully, i will be able to join u all at Botanical garden. Her fever subsided lah but now i m worried abt her coz my hubby told me that she got a bit of LS & vomit her lunch just now.

My hubby looking after her now coz my Mum sick..

Anyway, just now i super evil... My MIL came over to help out with my hubby in the morning. Then hor, hubby called and asked me to cook how much veggie for Claire.... Hubby made the mistake of putting the phone on speaker mode, I told him," Can use ur brain or not, ask me how much veggie to cook for Claire. Claire can finish it all meh?" My aim is to let my MIL hear... She always like to ask such nonsense one! Grrr...

Pig, i m strict with Claire's diet coz of her eczema & partly dun want hv to eat too much junk lah.. but go outside, i sure give her a bit of our food selectively... If everything dun let them eat, we re the ones to suffer!

ASHM, let me know what PD says ok?

Miss A: issit? i go see see look look, it's definitely not her though

Thanks jadefeet, i go take a look. u pack frozen fish?
The last time I bought Baby A overseas was when she's still on BF... easy task. now abit headache... plus she's quite a picky eater. everything want to try (and I let her), but most things she spit out.. sigh.

PD mentioned giving her multi-vit. anyone of u giving baby? what brand ar?

glomybear,
We bought fresh fish from market, then frozen it before we fly. If not, the fish will be stale by then.

I check with GP, try not to give our bb multi-vit until they are much older. Cos their bodies and organs are still too young to digest n absord. So its like over-working their livers and kidneys. Unless they always fall sick, if not, dun have to give multi-vit.
If really need to, can give sembucol but must get from doctor who are allowed to prescribe sembucol reduced strength for kids below 4. Pharmacy type is too strong.

MissA,
go Taka 3rd floor pigeon counter and get those instant porridge from Pigeon Japanese imports. 12 month old and above can take. Just dump the pack into hot water to heat up can liao. Abit exp but save trouble.

jadefeet, I've also given A pigeon instant food. It's exp and quantity very little. A is a big eater! btw, you are Cindy's fren?

Hi Kaye,

i agree. i am one such guilty mummy.. kekeke..

kiros also having fever from monday evening. its been up and down and on bruffen and pandaol on 3 hourly interval but he didnt seem to recover fully yet. i thought fever should come down and back to norm within 2 days? or it's normal to linger for a few days?

if I am to bring him back to doc ah, i tink they will mostly give him anti-biotic liao.

I also feed J childlife multi vit. In prep for him going to cc soon. It's my defense mechanism.

Food abroad: I'm intending to feed J bread, rice, steam fish and anything he wants that's not too salty for my trip to HK next week. Aafter reading all the posts, I told my hubby that maybe we should bring some rice and a slow cooker. He says if I do that then no more trips for J until he can take food at destination. For J, he's been eating rice for the past 2 or 3 months liao so not an issue. He's a big big fan of bread (same as me), yoghurt and a lot of other stuff, so I am not so so worried. But who knows? Maybe I'll panick when I am there.
Worse come to worse, buy a pot there!

michviv, I'm ok wif 18 Apr. Thks!

eating abroad,
bread is most conv and filling esp when the child likes it. Oh if hotel has buffet breakfast best to fill their stomachs full than lunch can be light. :p If not too uptight abt os food than ur hols will be easy la.

Smiley agree wif ur hubby if need to lug many stuff than very troublesome. Tink its ok to be lax abit for a few days. I'm sure J will be so happy that he won't even bother abt food! Moreover HK got chinese food even better.

ASHM:

Morning Walk + Breakfast - 10 Apr @ Jacob Ballas @ 930am

1. ASHM + Ash
2. MissA + Ash
3. Poissons + Garreth
4. weishy + Hayley

i just went on monday and was crowded with primary school kids already when i reached at 9:15am.....

there's a cafe thingy outside,no otuside food inside teh garden so may hv to eat at that cafe first

about 10 am its getting hot liao

there's a water play area for them,samll btu oki for them already.....best is bring swim wear ot t shirts......no shower facilities ....

things to take note la

just put my name first...hoep i go go...will confirm confrim on next monday

michviv:same will confirm confrim the lesson on next monday

cactusnah:u can get those mini sized slow cooker to bring over ( if u wna i can lend it to u) the rest u can buy it at their super market la.....names of super market~~PARK N SHOP/WELCOME/CITY SUPER/JUSCO can buy fresh there.....packign from sin...ma fan and not so hygenic liao.....in case la....flt delay etc.....or the cargo no chiller on then how....so better to buy form super markets there...bond to hv one :0 just need to ask ppl

they do sell organic vege amd meat too
mroe variety than sin

pig07,
its common for fever to linger for a week esp if its viral. Just keep sponging them and give meds on time.
Of cos if more than 39.5 deg then better see doc again.
So even if the fever seems to stay down, its better to continue with meds for 24hr post fever subsided.

cactus, I brought a lot of snacks for A overseas but she din get to eat half of what I brought. Din open the bottle of stars cos gave her dry corn flakes/rice pops at breakfast. I also brought those organic food jams (packet form), end up also gave her the free baby fruit jars provided by the resort.
If you go to those organic shops, a wide range of snacks to choose from.

pig, A also fever >2 days, same symptoms as K. Usually her fever will only subside after taking anti-biotics.

k@ye, A & C same size so naturally big eater lor kekeke. I measured A yesterday only 80cm! Do you know how tall is C?

Morning ladies...

Finally found this thread.. searching high n low all over..

and I'M BACK FOR WORK!!! hahaha.. no more shutting down this month..

MissA, no lah... our measuring not accurate... Go PD office to measure more accurate one lah!

A not short & stout lah... Her tummy bigger only!

Mambobb, welcome back!

k@ye, A was measured at NUH on Monday at 80cm. Yesterday I measured her against the chart at school, also 80cm. Confirmed very short. She has lost some weight, now only abt 11.4kg. I feel her tummy also smaller liao.

ERrrm, Claire is 1 mths older than most babies here leh... So mabbe that's y she is taller lah...

Claire is 11kg when i bought her to the PD on Monday, i think she lost weight due to her fever!

Anyway, i dun think Hayley & A not short lah coz their parents all tall one... Mabbe their development is slower... For all u know, Claire might be the shortest when she grows up coz me & hubby not tall!

missA/Kaye: thanks for the welcoming.. heehee.. did I miss out anything here? haha.. too many posts to catch up..

I know there is one outing at Bonatic garden but not conveient for me to travel dw..

Weishy - Thanks for all the pointers for next Fri. Ok if it is too crowded and hot, we can always go to Botanic Gardens? Hope you can join us la!

K@ye - Hope Claire is feeling better - she must have caught some flu bug! I am sure she will be ok by next Thu!

Weight and height - I am going to measure Ash's tomorrow at the PD.

Morning Walk + Breakfast - 10 Apr @ Jacob Ballas @ 930am

1. ASHM + Ash
2. MissA + HB + Ash
3. Poissons + HB + Garreth
4. weishy + Hayley
5. K@ye + HB + Claire

<font color="ff0000">Mummies - Do you want to change to a earlier timimg, say at 830am? Ash wakes up at about 8am every morning so we will try to be there early. Else you guys can start first??</font>

Mambobb, there is another gathering on 16 April, lunch at Merchant Court Hotel. Let me know if u want to join us, Kat is making the reservations.

mambobb,michviv is also organising a trial at PDS this Sat. It's far for you but definitely better that the music class we attended.

ASHM, 9.30am is fine with me. If I'm early (~9am), then I eat bf 1st lo hehehe. I'll bring a swimsuit &amp; towel for A. Waterplay is her favorite spot in the whole garden.

tinkabel: thanks for the info.. 16 Apr I will be working, so cant make it
thanks thanks

missA: ya, PDS is really far for me and me cant travel there alone with cailyn.. even tho i always wanted to join PDS.. anyway u mummies enjoy

Viral Infection:
Cailyn got that too during the Mar and the fever lasted for 3-4days.. after that she develops rashes all over the body. Nw she still have rashes on her back and around her neck.. is there anything can help to reduce the rashes?

ASHM:hee 8:30 also cn :p not a problem for me

breakfast :no la just that i dunno wa tthat cafe serves...maybe we can bring some food ourselves and order drinks from them loooo