(2007/11) November MTBs

michviv
your discipline idea is good - i've ran out of ways to get my gal's attention!
she prefers we listen to her gibberish 'conversation' where she's the MAIN speaker and we just listen, nod our heads and say, 'oh is it? oh really? ah i see...' sort of responses. i remember once i tried to sing one of the songs from PDS to distract her, she got pissed with me and grabbed my mouth!!! either that or she'll grab/pinch one part of my arms, face to make me stop!!! so 'ye man' rite??

re: LNT
no more FOC trial; have to pay $50/lesson and must go for all 3 different language classes (Jap, Eng, Mandarin). and like wat lazykat mentioned, no make up classes unless u show them MC and they only pay you back 50% (ie $25) of that lesson. "BO HUA" lor...

lazykat,
yup, these gals like to hit their daddies coz they know they can get away wif it. but if she tried that on me, i'll sternly looked at her and use an equally stern voice to ask why she did that to mommy. she usually will stop for awhile then distract herself with other things. i tried to pull her back to reason but obviously her mind had wandered elsewhere!! tough luck leh....

ASHM,
ya, somehow getting heavier (though i dun see any wt gain oredi) and makes me walk so clumsy.
planned c-sec on 8th; this wed gotta let them know the timing i want!
prefer PM coz at least dun hv to fast so long! hee hee...

wow, 3 bdays at one go!! feel like xmas comes early for them coz got 3 cakes in that month! :D

kitty,
talk about gibberish conversation, i saw the video of Chloe "talking" and keep laughing to myself..it's so cute lor..

poissons,
that is chicken feet now... she has improved ever since, with lots of hand gesturing, head shaking and sometimes, facial expression as if she's ASTONISHED (with her eyes opening wide) at some of the 'stories' she's telling us! very funny one... and she can go on n on n on for at least a few minutes before she pause to catch her breath!

both me & HB is enjoying this now... but we're also wary that once she can speak properly, we'd probably end up wanting her to 'shut up' more often than not - esp when she started asking WHY WHY WHY! scary! ahahhaaa...

last time the confinement lady who took care of her did told me once that chloe has very pointy lips, next time will be very talkative... aiyoh, how true!!!

Kitty: Glad you're enjoying this talking phase. I can tell you that it gets even cuter once they are speaking coherently. This morning, E went to look at what his daddy was eating for breakfast - luncheon meat and potato mash with bread - and he pointed to it and said "Daddy, please?". So hubby gave some and he said "thank you" with his mouth full. You should have seen his daddy's face! Now I know why there is a show called "Kids say the darnest things." haha.

Kitty: So are you going to sign C up for a term at LNT? Did she like the lessons?

Hi Pig07,

I guess you are gg thru what I went thru. Even until now at 16mths, she is still like tat although a little bit better.

Just last Sat, she started her milk rejection again, dun want milk, dun want food. I dunno what to do with her also. PD did say she is quite small size now abt 10kg but not really underweight. Just hv to make sure she eats and drinks. She doesnt even hold her own bottle, so we try not to antagonise her at this stage until she shows strong signs she likes milk.

Really headache headache...

Tweetie, ur PD commented that at 10kg is considered small? I think its ok , quite normal.

actually the milk rejection stage is pretty common at this age. I can still rem when my son rejected food! Literally any FOOD! Milk, solids etc. he was really small sized then. i dunno why, but it seems like its really a stage. So friends recommended me to switch his FM to Pediasure, and it did work. his apppetite came bk n also when he attended CC, due to peer pressure (cos every kid has to ea during mealtimes) he was more keen in food.

S@L - My girlfriend told me about Pediasure and they have this special formula called Pediasure Complete for fussy eaters. Is he taking the same one? Ash is now on NAN 3 and spoke to his PD this morning, he told me that as long as Ash does not have any signs of bloated tummy, fever, cough or running nose, as long as he is active, it is ok for him to reject food. Just have to give him a smaller portion and different variety of food. If he still does spit out the food after trying all these methods, then i should bring Ash to see him.... He spit out his lunch again just now.... ! Haiz.......

My son also talks in gibberish language that I don't understand. For the naughty part, he can be really stubborn and keep struggling with us till we hit his thigh. And he will cry non-stop till like very chiam! How huh? I realize he want thing his ways too. He can scream when things do not go his way.

Mummies, can I just have a quick check on what snack and biscuit you gave your child? Adult biscuit? I need more varieties. Thanks!

Michviv,
E is such a smart boy
G hasn't learn to say thank you yet but he can say xie xie. so whenever he helps us with some chore, he will remind us to say xie xie to him..haha..i find it very cute.

re:snacks& biscuits
I give pigeon biscuits, KAMEDA HI-HINE RICE CRACKER, gerber stars, raisins, fruits, muffin, bread, waffles.

michviv/poissons,
J cant say "thank you" or "xie xie" yet but he can say "please" v accurately. last time is "plea" now he can pronouce the ending "s". And everytime (dunno y) he will nod his head when he says "please". v cute...

Ash can say thank you but not in full. something like tank u. He just learn something not very good from his cousin, if you are trying to take something away from his hand, he will say MINE in a very strong way! He only knows how to say car car, dark dark, bus. And he will shake his head if he doesnt want and nods if he wants.

Baby Yogurt - Mummy, do you still give the baby yoplait or the adult one to your toddlers? I saw the organic ones and very expensive, i think its abt SGD16!!

Gelyn - I give baby yogurt, fruits, gerber stars, organic orange rice crackers to Ash....

Poochi/Poissons/Gelyn: Thanks! Alot of credit has got to go to his grandparents. They have talked to him alot since he was a baby and read to him as well.

But one bad thing though - he can't say any chinese words except 八 cos even his grandparents cannot speak chinese. =) Now I'm trying to immerse him in the chinese language by reading chinese books and playing chinese 儿歌. Me & hubby are peranakan so written is ok but oral is not so good leh. haha.

Catherine/ASHM/Poissons/Gelyn: Its very good that your kids can say so many single syllable words! The next step would be to teach them to say 2 syllable words by breaking down into 2 sounds. =) E can say "Mum-my" so well now, it just melts my heart. I'm sure it will be the same for you.

Gelyn: I give E animal biscuits (forgot which brand though). He also eats digestive biscuits and occasionally, his daddy's butter cookies.

biscuits:
i was at millenia walk yday and there is a shop that sells organic food..they have pretty good selection of biscuits there for kids also..I didn't get to buy cos' G was busy running around..haha..will definitely go back there again soon, without G of cos..

Mummies, try to use positive language. like say, "walk" instead of "stop running". CHildren at young age tend to catch/ listen to the final word.

Cane: No no no... not at this age. They dun understand yet and by having it 'hanging' on the wall for too long might be a bad idea. It will lose its power. hahaha... think about it!

J also throws tanthrums.. I also have headache..

michviv - i know when they say mummy our heart will sure melt! heehee... ash knows mama, papa but dont know how to say mummy daddy yet... ok will slowly teach him from now

michviv,
yup, E is really advance and i think he'd do well and enjoy the lessons at LNT!

we have dropped the idea to let C continue as she simply has no concentration, not participative nor cooperative in sitting still for 1hr plus. and she gets distracted easily by other noisy toddlers. at least at PDS, she gets her chance to roam about when she's 'bored' with one activity.

catherine,
so good for J, can pronounce 'S' - i thk this is the hardest lor coz my gal's gibberish usually consist of A, B, D, E, G, K, M, O, P, T only... and with lots of saliva-splattering moments due to the gap in her teeth! ahahaha...

gelyn,
i gave C both kids and adult biscuits that melts easily, mainly coz her limited teeth restrict the biting and munching part. but do limit them coz it can be quite heaty. and gerber biscuits with different flavours are her fav, she can just stuff them in her mouth!!!

smilemum,
noted on the cane... ya, when they see it too often, no more 'power' liao.. hehehee...

now is just purely flesh vs flesh (or their diaper) so impact is different - we also feel heartpain faster when we 'beat' them when they are notti... heeheee... but more upset when they bo chap or dun even feel pain and continue to be notti! argghh!!!

Re: Biscuit/ snacks
Can they eat pocky, meiji plain cracker (biscuit)?
Adult biscuits. I buy pigeon biscuits, Gerber Star and bread. I think he eat untill sian.

Poochi: where did you get your KAMEDA HI-HINE RICE CRACKER? As for raisins, those normal one that we can get from NTUC?

ASHM: Where did you get your organic orange rice crackers?

RE: Yogurt
Haven't let him try yet? Any recommendation?

RE:Fruit
So far, I only let him eat Banana, Apples and abit of mango. What other fruits he can eat?

Sorry, I know I have alots of question. :p

Michviv: I only hear Mum-my twice and thats all. most of the time is Mum-Mum. So sometimes, I don't he is calling my MIL or me. hahaha

smilemum: I think I said alot of "don't run" to my son. Maybe I should tell him to "walk" instead of "don't run". Ok...will try on the more positive words. :) And yes, mine also always throws tanthrums till I cannot tahan!

Poisson: Organic biscuit for kids? Hmm....sound interesting. See if I have time to dropby. :) At least got more choice.

geyln, u can try maketplace at cityhall but its at the biscuit section not bb section. U can also try giving this brand called organix they have a no of biscuits. This can also be found at marketpl. Raisin I give the sunmaid brand- I get those small lil packets so its easier to bring out. For fruits can give strawberry, blueberry, honeydew, grapes...

ASHM: i give yogplait's petit miam and sometimes adult yoghurt.

tinkabel:sorry me forgotten to bring the stuffs out :p so will meet grace again on monday :p sorry........

ladies sorry abit last min but hv to make sure i;m in sin :p

PDS trial - Mandarin Doddle Bugs (4th April)
- Ashlyn (Grace)
- Hazel (Poochi)
- Ethan (michviv)
_ HAYLEY (weishy)

ASHM: Hee...so u heard the galloping sound. How wonderful. Wow, 3 Nov birthdays! My family has 4:)Take good care, eat healthy, rest well and hope all the MS will go away soon:)

Abt food. Not sure hw true, but my sis told me she was very strict and particular with what my nephew eat when he was younger and he became very particular abt food, often likes keeping food in his mouth for an hr till my sis give in and ask him to spit it out. So come to her 2nd child, she is more lenient coz she sees us letting E try and nibble our food and she said there's a lot of difference as compared to both of them. My niece eats almost anything & everything offered to her.

Smilemum: Agree with u that we shld use positive words. But sometimes, it's just so diff. Esp if it's yr own:p

Tweetie: 10kg for girl is not small, so dun worry.

Yoghurt,
Try Petit Miam, can get from NTUC, not exp. About $4.70 for 6 little tubs, one tub a day.

Biscuits,
Can get kiddos. biscuits from Isetan Scotts supermart or taka cold storage...

Organic food: Supernature has quite a good range of organic snacks for kids, have a look, Its at junction of Tomlinson road.

Aiyo.. think my son is the slowest when it comes to speech..
still single syllabus..mama papa.. thats all.. he cant get the "please" out ...though can see his mouth moving the right way..

Gelyn,
U can try the teddy puffs from healthy times (buy from ntuc, cold storage, carrefour), they are organic too. Yogurt, I give the yoplaits (not the baby ones), comes in a pack of 6 small cups, G has a habit of eating everyday. Fruits, he likes something sour and not those super sweet ones, eg. Apple, strawberry, bannan, pear, blueberry..I juz intro dragonfruit to him over the wkend..the organic ones that have purple flesh.

Gelyn, yes definately eat until sian. cos they are so tasteless. if u hv already introduced outside food, most likely they will find the kiddy biscuits tasteless.
I started giving Little M cornflakes, coco pops etc. I try t give a variety of biscuits, be it cheese biscuits, oreo etc. but moderately.

ASHM yes thats the one. i think Pediasure suits a wide range of age, think if i m nt wrong, up till 10yrs old kids with feeding issues.

RE: caning
I agree with smilemum. It's useless to use cane on them now. In fact i dun really like to cane children even for my son's age. I hated to be caned when i was young, so I try not to do that. I only recall once or twice i really cane my son hard becos of his terrible tantrums. Aft that i felt so heartache.

at our little piggies age now, i think if we speak to them in a stern voice to express our anger, i think they will get it.

Michviv: E is so smart. With his grandparents' guidance, i'm sure he can excel. Sigh, for E , my MIL always speak malay with my helper. So naturally E pick up some malay. Whenever i count 1, 2, 3 with him, he'll say "Am Pat" when it comes to 4. He knows the malay of raining, throw, bath, medicine, etc. Faint. I always tell my MIL to speak proper with him, but she said she din teach but E pick up on his own. But of course my MIL teaches him lotsa good and things as well. Guess that's the disadvantage/advantage of not putting him in CC.

ASHM:i give hayley adult plain natural yogurt,add cornflakes and fruits inside
so far also oki ....those bb and organic ones.....cannot affort la in sin...really too ex

ashm, i also give kaira adult organic yoghurt (since she was 12 mths old) ....its the plain kind and we have it for breakfast almost everyday

o, mummies, i give up liao ... kaira simply doesn't want to drink FM from her cup, tried for 3 days, yesterday afternoon, i 投降. gave her back her bottle. and she was very happy! :p

dreamer,
at least Kaira is drinking her milk, at least u dun hv to resort to spoon feeding or syringe.. I am also not going to be too harsh on her using cup to drink milk.

Re snacks,
i also bought a lot of those Japanese rice crackers, can be bought at NTUC Bishan or Medi-ya. For organic biscuits/raisins, i usually buy fr organic stores at United Sq or Cold Storage. To date, ZY has eaten a lot of biscuits, since she snacks almost daily. I feel, if they hv to take junk, might wanna let them try the healthier options now. Cos the kids/adult cereal really a lot of sugar and other stuffs.

Kittybride,
to add on, the LNT MC refund of 50% is applicable to next term's fees.. so if u din sign on, u lugi also.

Grace,
how r u feeling? I am going for my LASIK tmr morning too! So nervous..

Weishy,
sorry cant meet up cos will be cooping up at home these few days to minimise the risks.

Michviv,
E really clever boy. ZY only says ma-mee and da-dee a few times, cos she also papa and mama usually. She will go gege or gorgor and meimei whenever she sees the little kids. As we use both languages at home, so she can say quite a few words, the famous being "wobuyao" and "meiyou"

Smilemum,
now i know why the more we tell ZY dun throw, she immediately will throw.. ha!

Dreamer, Mischa is the direct opposite. She refused bottle since birth
my mum had to resort to spoon feed /stringe feeding. But i m glad she is willing to drink her milk from straw cup instead. I also think that you need not be too uptight abt it. what abt using straw first then slowly transit her to cup when she is more steady with it.

dreamer, at least u tried, and figured she's not ready. Tink they will auto transit into cup later on ie how they learn to suck fr straw on their own. But i guess we must still introduce it to them so they get the idea? At least Kaira's drinkin fresh milk fr cup rt? Thats a good start! For me I give Hazel fruit juice via cup and adult straw since she reject the milk in cup thing, jus so she gets a hang of the skill I guess... oh ya saw ur bicycle very chio le!!

MM, kat, poochi, yarhlor, think this transition to cup thingy i shall go slow with kaira.... let her be.

actually, she can drink quite well fr the cup. can even hold the cup with one hand and drink without spill (sometimes). juz that, she doesn't like FM in the cup.

i never tried putting the FM into her straw bottle. so far, its only water in her bottle.

anywayz, like u all say, shall take it easy with this one.

poochi -- my bicycle very "gu-niang" ....hahahaha. after we bought it, then i thought hubbie will look quite "silly" riding it... LOL

S@L, OMG!!!! I stocked up so much GainIQ for her, dont think I can afford to switch at this stage. Well, she caught a virus from my maid and down w sore throat, wheezing and cough. It cld b due to this reason that she is rejectg food and milk. Later gg to bring her to c dr again coz the phlegm doesnt seem to clear up.

Cactusnah - Abt her weight, she used to be overweight but has since gone stagnant after her 12mths. So mayb PD say she has become small siza bah. So far, on avg, hw heavy is your child? I u/s boys are usually heavier rite?

Michviv, same same. My girl doesnt understand an ounce of chinese at all even though my parents are chinese speaking. I dunno y they always speak to her in english when they cant speak well. In the end, she ended up learning those broken english. Worse, my FIL taught her that the water fountain is called "beautiful". From then on, whenever she sees that she say beautiful.

Pig07 - I dunno if yr bb will end up like a fussy eater coz mine ended up being v fussy as well. From 6mths till now, I hvn managed to start her on cereal. She simply hates it. Other food like potato, tomato, sweet potato, banana are foods she hates. She is ok with brown rice, brocolli, carrots, spinach, pumpkin, corn, fish, chicken only. Its so hard for me to venture out to make interesting food for her coz her diet is so limited.

weishy,
pls let me know when u meeting me ok... cos Mon i wont be in office. will most prob be on MC still.

lazykat,
wah, u really fast hand fast leg... suddenly i hear u go test eyes then today lasik already? hahaa. mine is on Thurs. so you went with SNEC right. how much did u pay and what kind did u do?

wow!! all tods have very good progress.

Kids really pick up and learn things very fast from adults and etc. Whenever my no1's pacifier dropped on the floor, we will call our helper to help to pick it up from the playpen.

When I was in the toilet and his pacifier dropped, I heard him calling the helper's name to pick up his pacifier while he is in the playpen...and now even us have to call the helper KaKa so that no1 will call her kaka... alamak....

Morn ladies~

Claire kena viral infection again. Her fever was so high that the PD inserted the suppository in her butt!

Tweetie, heng ah for me... My parents speak to her in Cantonese, for my hubby & me, its a mixture of Mandarin & English. I tried to speak to her in a complete English sentence so that she will have a better command of the English...

So far, i think she is most fluent in Cantonese! Hahaha

dreamer, ha ha ya hor wld be a very funny sight if he uses your bicycle!

K@ye, hope claire gets better soon. Tink its good to expose them to dialect now cos once they older they will use english with their friends!

Poochi, yalor.. Yesterday, her cheeks were so red and burning to touch!

I even asked my hubby to teach Claire hokkien but apparently he dun bother so I told him if she dunno how to speak hokkien... None of my problem, coz my MIL will give those faces whenever i speak to Claire in Cantonese!

Tweetie: Your girl is so cute! I think I laughed too loud in my office when I read about your girl's "beautiful" fountain. haha. =)

lazykat: Thanks dear. Glad to know that ZY is picking up 2 languages very well.

I've come to the conclusion that our tods are really like sponges at this point - they really absorb everything they observe and see even without us teaching. Yesterday, when E was playing his golf, he slowly took the tee, put it down, took a golf ball, balanced it on the tee, then took his club and hit the ball. No one taught him that! It must be too much golf channel by his grand-dad...but if any of you are interested in building up your child's hand-eye coordination and fine motor skills, can try to introduce them to golf. The plastic golf set we bought at Kiddy palace was less than $10 and it has allowed E to develop his fine motor skills very fast.

k@ye, at least supp will bring down fever faster. Hope her fever is lower now. Ha ha daddy's are usually the lazy ones lor so heck la better to be good in one dialect than none :p
I wan elmo balloons but cldnt find it so will give it a miss.

michviv, my friend use to teach at kindergolf and she was saying that some kids as young as 3 r really quite talented.. mayb when E older u can let him attend this ECA

Good Morning Mummies!

Gelyn - I got the organic orange rice crackers from market Place as well as Cold Storage. You can also go to the organic shop at Tanglin Mall, they have quite a good variety of stuff for toddlers.

Cactus - Thanks! Yes now just pray that the MS will go away really soon. Feel sick everyday : (

Lazykat / Grace - Good luck in your lasik op tomorrow and Thu! Rest well ok...

K@ye - <hugs> to Claire - Where did she get her viral infection? From other kiddos in CC?

Dialects - Ash would pick up Cantonese from us as time goes by. I just want to expose him to Mandarin first - one improvement is that now when I call his chinese name, he looks at me meaning he acknowledges that is his name. Hopefully the bilingual playgroup in JG can help him along the way

Balloon Spree - Sorry K@ye, am giving a miss this time. I should be having my confinement in Nov and dont think will throw a party for Ash for his 2nd bday.