(2007/11) November MTBs

Poochi & ASHM, its okie lah!
I think the balloon spree might be cancelled too coz not much response!

ASHM, no lah.. She is not in CC yet... I suspect its the weather or from my Mum hahah...

Michviv, yalor.. Cantonese speaking toddler..One day in the lift, she was looking at this guy and suddenly she uttered the word, "Butt" n that guy understands Cantonese & laugh!

dreamer, to be frank with u, my son only weaned off milk bottle at the age of 4! yes i know its shame to still be drinking thru bottle at that age! should hv stopped long ago. But i had a hard time dealing with that issue till my mum n some frens enlightened me. "Why get so worked up over issues like that?" AND "there will be a time when they know how to feed themselves, drink from cup, buckle their shoes. its jus a MATTER of TIME". As much as i wanted to stop him from using bottle, but it wasnt as easy as some children who wean off bottle easier.
My son refused to drink his milk unless i gave it to him thru milk bottle. I was most concerned of his wellbeing cos he didnt like solid either. So inorder to let him hv him milk at least, giving bottle was the only way out. rather to see him starved.
SO i set a time line for him that after he celebrated his 4th bday, he has to quit his bottle and he did.
I do encourage that you try to wean K off the bottle soon if that is what u wan, but dun be too stressed up ok?

Tweetie, no worries, keep trying to give. sometimes kids can really be picky eater. Like my M, she rejected porridge over the past weekends when i cook. she jus refused to open her mouth for me when i fed her. so all ended up in my hubby's stomach. But jus last weekend she willingly finish her porridge, and i didnt do anyting special to the dishes at all. Its jus her mood perhaps

not sure if you have submitted your income tax..i'm doing mine and just like to check if any one of you is claiming the Grandparent caregiver relief? I'm abit confused cos' not sure what shld be the claim amount..can help?

hi catherine,
can use zambak, but apply on your palm 1st to rub till warm then onto J's forehead and rub gently. hope it helps!

Catherine: Can try Zambak. E also fell on concrete ground and hit his forehead last weekend. We applied Zambak for him.

K@ye: I find kids speaking Cantonese very cute. Like 撒娇 kinda tone.

Hope Claire gets well soon.

Talking abt weaning from bottles, I just changed a new set of bottles. Most of old teats split and the holes so hugh but A still happily drinking from them. I wil let her use the bottles as long as she like.

The Chinese doc says A is a heaty kids so hv to abstain from raisins, biscuit & even pumpkin. I feel moderation shd be ok as long as dun give so much.

Thanks Mummies for all the recommendation on biscuits and snacks. Running out of idea already.

S@l: I did try his biscuit and some of them taste quite nice. Not as tasteless as I thought to be but I think he eats until very sian. So trying to look for more variety of biscuits for him. I did give him the strawberry pocky…should be fine right.

Re: Lasik
Grace/ Kat: where you all going for the Lasik? I am also contemplating to do it for years but no courage.

K@ye: Hope Claire will recover soon.
Agree with Castus that kids speaking Cantonese very cute. Though I am not a cantoese.

Cactus, no lah... The 撒娇 kinda tone only applies to Hong Kongers.... coz the way they speak to kids are like that...

Ya, the PD told me if by the 3rd day, the fever dun go down.. Must bring her back to see her again.

Gelyn,
u ask me i would say evrything moderately is fine. but i think alot of mummies will hammer me for saying this. But i cant help it. cos i hv a 6yr old at hm, he is already exposed to tons of junk food from schools, parties etc...he can even buy his own snacks from the minimart etc...so the little one will follow suit. sometimes really cannot be too uptight abt such issues. i will go mad if i do

oh btw ladies, have started the bear BP in the BP thread together with my hairclips. Cos too many mummies emailed me , hard to coordinate without a point of contact.
Cannot post the link here cos will be considered spamming!

Poochi: Good suggestion abt Kindergolf. I may consider for E once he turns 2. He really has a passion for it. =)

PDS
- Ashlyn (Grace)
- Hazel (Poochi)
- Ethan (michviv)
- HAYLEY (weishy)

I'll be submitting the names today and I'll let you know of the outcome if the class this Saturday is confirmed. =)

lazykat, Grace: Have a smooth lasik procedure...

S@l, hehehe... Okie, i hv not used the iphone but hubby listed 2 major flaws of iphone that I din buy it in the end.

1. Cannot forward SMS
2. No blue tooth!

Catherine,
My boy also kana ba luku when he fell and hit the floor. Brought to GP, he say best is use ice pack, or use towel wrapped around ice... rub on it or leave it on when bb is sleeping.
Monitor him for 24hours, check for excessive bruising, restless, drop in appetitte and excessive sleeping..

Hi Poissons,

Kicia is back to drinking milk. Now we giving to her at 4 hourly interval..no more 3 hourly. Hoping that will make her hungry. 4 hourly, she is still not finishing her milk. dont care liao. dont want i just pour. and make again 4 hours or 3 hours later.

Hi Tweetie,
Hope kicia is not going to turn out to be a fussy eater as I already have limited menu. was worried about her weight too but pd said she is og 50-75% percentile now. but hor, at the rate she is going, i think very soon she will not be upto mark considering that she is going to be more active and losing the pounds.

Hi Michviv,
I did try to change kicia to NUK Wide neck and Avent. the milk rejection came in 1 day after the change which then i began to wonder if the rejection is due to her 'frustration' as i changed her teat ding dong ding dong. Now she is back to using her NUK narrow silicone. i always feel that NUK teat is too short that why i want her to use avent one.

Hi Kittybride,
it's really frustrating and worrying when you see her not drinking and crying.. and when she cries, i go make milk. but she didnt want to drink and sleep. then will begin to think if there is something in her mouth or if she is teething etc.. aiyo..

kittybride/cactusnah/jadefeet,

HUGGIES ULTRA DIAPERS - XL (>11KG) 30pcs (+4pc free) at Suntec Carrefour going for $12.90! NTUC sells at $16+ while CK sells at $14.90.
The smaller sizes are going for $14 at Suntec Carrefour.

k@ye, ya my bro mentioned this. He is using an Iphone, but finds it good...hahhaa...i m hving doubts cos my HTC diamond also cannot forward sms..which i think is quite impt!

Weishy, u think is ok? what abt the sms input? i m so used to keypad setting

Pig, can understand ur agony! Our children will be our constant source of worry....

S@l, actually iphone is like the ipod touch with the phone function lor. Its actually very nice design and quite easy to use lah...

I m actually eyeing Palm Pre... Hopefully it will be launched soon in Asia

S@l, Omnia was also on my hubby's choice but he gave it up for Xperia, i think for Korean brands, their technology is still not as good.

The new Nokia, i hv not really seen it or touched it lor..so can't comment too...

HEhe, u got expensive hobbies leh... Phone & LV bags! :p

Oh, my sis was telling me that its cheaper to get LV in London than in Paris coz of the exchange rate now.

S@L - Replied to your email already. Thanks

Mummies - Anyone keen to join me at Botanic Gardens next Fri morning for a walk with our kiddos? Its Good Fri holiday and i thought we can meet up and have breakfast there. Maybe can meet at 930am?

ASHM,
Interested! But gotta check with Hub first..go Jacob Ballas Park la..got water play and all, better than Botanic. We wanted to go on Sunday but it RAINED..aiyo..really not fated to go..

Cat,
My mum used hard boiled egg and roll it on G's bruised area when he got a huge baluku the other time (he hit the wall) and it was really effective. She did it a few times a day and by the evening, the baluku was gone.

poissons - where is Jacob Ballas Park? Do they serve breakfast there? I dont mind as long we can breakfast there....

ASHM, its at Botanical garden.

MissA, hmm.. Mabbe i shd start a LV spree for Nov Mummies and earn back some air ticket $$! Haha... Can help u buy lah.... but no guarantee whether i got chance to step into the LV boutique.

I will be going to Paris too... I know i m very suaku... What's that street in Paris called where they sell all those branded stuff? Champ-EL???

K@ye, Michviv - LOL!
I can't help laughing too.

S@L - Now I am trying to keep cool and hope her crankiness will go away soon.

Pig07 - Keep fingers crossed bah!!! Its really a pain to feed such babies. Furthermore, that time she was on EBM. U know so much heartache to keep throwing my essence away, so in the end, i force it down her throat. Haha, i am a bad mommy rite!

K@ye - Thanks! Ah now i remember its after Botanic Gardens - we call it the children's park....

LV's flagship store is at Champ -EL. Dont go to the one at Galaries Lafayette. Its CRAZY there!! Al the tourists will swamp there and its over crowded when I was there. I went to another one cannot recall the street name. We went to Paris the last time with 2 of our friends who go there every year. So they brought us to all the shopping areas although we have not finished walking and i did not bother to remember the street names. We are planning to go there next Feb

S@L: I'm using iPhone. For me, i think it's ok. Before this iPhone i was using LG viewty, also touch pad, so it's not too much of a challenge to transit to iPhone. But for those who are driving, i think the touch pad is not too useful coz u cant key in SMS w/o looking at the screen. I like to read Straits Time from my iphone, surf net (FB, etc), listen to music/video from Utube. So i make full use of it. But, bad thing abt iPhone is i find the photo quality not very gd. I cannot zoom in when i take pic, and like what Kaye mentioned, cannot forward SMS, cannot type in chinese character.

Wa, u changing phone again? Rem u updated yr blog not too long ago abt yr new HTC diamond? One thing to consider when buying phone also is the resale value. Nokia can fetch higher price as compared to others.

Hi K@ye,
Yes.. constant worry. And it's kiros now down with fever. It started from my nephews, then now kiros. worry that it will affect kicia next.

Hi Tweetie,
I also feel the heartache when i have to pour away EBM. When i know she is not the hungry and probably wont finish, i gave her FM instead. EBM reserved for feeds after long hours of lapse.. hahaha.. but hor, i am slowing down my expressing liao. she is on FM most time now.

k@ye, I've not been to Paris for the longest time,just know it's near the arch.Thanks in adv, will start browsing!

ASHM, Jacob Ballas is nicer & they hv a cafe. I've not eaten thr so not sure what kind of food they serve there.

Ok Mummies, lets go to Jacob Ballas next Fri morning then.

Morning Walk + Breakfast - 10 Apr @ Jacob Ballas @ 930am

1. ASHM + Ash
2. MissA + Ash
3. Poissons + Garreth

Pig07: Kicia was so bubbly when i saw her, so shld be ok. Monitor how much she drinks each time and make sufficient but not too much till u have to pour away each time. Slowly increase if she can finish all. Monitor and be patient, am sure her appetite will pick up in no time.

ASHM: There's a little cafe in Jacob ballas.
Refer to: http://seenthisscenethat.blogspot.com/2008/06/jacob-ballas-childrens-garden-singapore.html
I've been there once, but no time to explore the entire place. Rem to bring along spare clothes to change and towel for the little ones. Wont be in Singapore next week, so u guys enjoy.

Cat: Thanks for the sharing on the Huggies diapers. Was at Carrefour over the wkend but din check out the price coz i usually order in bulk. But this is def cheaper than my bulk purchase.

Mummies, i'll be bringing E to HK next wk. Is it ok to let him eat so many meals of outside food? He've always had home cooked food, so am worried if it's ok to give him non-home cooked food during the 5 days trip.

ASHM, wow your frens go to Paris every year for shopping!!! Okie, will take note.. I will be going there on 26 & 27 May lah... Me will go see see look look... No $$ to buy the bags but even got $$ also wont spend it on the bags!

MissA, u go browse lah.. and let me know if u wanna get anything.. If i can, will help u get it lor.

Re: Botanical Garden on 10th April
If Claire is okie, i will join u ladies!

Hi Cactusnah,
Dr Loh mentioned not to increase her feed according to 'age', but more like if we realise she is not having enough. I increased another 10ml as of yesterday. one good thing is she can drink at 11pm, and next feed at 6am... to me, its like not waking up for night feeds as I always sleep later than 11pm..

As for eating out.. my sil brought her sons to Bintan club med 4 days when they were 3year old. Never have they been exposed to so much outside food until then. One of her twin had diarrhoea when back in singapore. Could be the way the food is being prepared or something else also.

You bringing milk and cereal there?

Cactusnah: I think it's fine la. Just make sure the outside food u give him is not that oily or salty (ie maybe wash away excess oil etc with plain water 1st). But the last time we brought Matt to HK, he ended up taking more milk instead. Cos he is used to taking porridge at home and outside, we can only give him rice and he doesnt want too much of those. But they will be fine, dun worry. Bring some of his favorite snacks along. Can help tide over at times.

Cactus, dun hv to worry. For Claire, we let her eat the bao skin, give her rice to eat, fish & stuff... Basically like what Tinkabel said, wash the food with plain water or chinese tea.

And if E dun like the food, standby more FM!!!

Unfortunately Claire is a big dustbin... She literally eats anything except for her own food!

cat, I also bought more huggies last weekend but at the Taka baby fair. Every 3 packs come with 1 free pullups (abt 10 pcs). I bought 3 packs of Ultra & 2 packs of Pulls ups & get a diaper bag free. Actually I wanted the diaper bag that's why stock up on the diapers when I already have many packs at home liao!

Pig: So good, Kicia is off from her night feeds. Lucky you! E is still waking up for milk at times

Thanks ladies for the advise on E's food. Actually we hardly give E cereal, dunno why. I find it a bit too sweet:p

K@ye: E also rubbsih bin, eat almost everything we offer. I wanted to buy those portable cooker but dunno whr to buy poultry etc. So ma fan...Like what Tinkabel said, will wash the food before offering to him.

Pig: Really? Yr nephew stomach upset from outside food at 3 YO? Hmm...i'm gonna pack all the nec medicine too. Aiyo, like fighting war, "big bag, small bag".

Tinkabel/MissA: Okie, will stock up his biscuits. Thanks!!!