(2007/11) November MTBs

Hi Dokie,

me also has the rainbow. owe them for 2 years too.. hahaha.. but i am sharing with my sister. hence the cost is split and not so heartpain. but when i see the dirty water, wa lau.. i almost fainted. until now, only my sister's maid know how to operate it. when the person come do demo, we made sure the maids see and learn. but frankly, my sis's maid is smart. most things at home she knows to operate and we dont.

after reading what maids has destroyed, i realised that my sister's maid of 4 years has never broke (or maybe very small items like clips)anything of hers. her mil's maid whom went to her house for few days then spoilt her cupbaord door and kitchen table top. Maybe they can be careful and handle with care one or it works with some 'threats' like, you can have my clothes and wear it if you spoil it. all you need is to pay for it.

Hi Happy,
as for silvery line. i read on some mag before that i can be removed by placing a pandan leave on the clothe, then iron over it.

Hi Mambobb,
as for honey hor, my concern will be more of the sweetness. cos once i wanted to buy rice cereal with honey. then my mum commented that will induce phlegm.

Hi k@YE,

Ya, my sister's maid with her for 4 years and previously with 2 other families. can easily be like in sgp for say 8-10 years. can you imagine she hasnt save a single cent? her mum kept calling up and ask for $$$. say need to buy this, build that etc.. in the end when her cousin came to work in sgp told her that there isnt such a thing going on at all. nothing was being built back in philippines.

she is a single parent and has a pair of 12 year old twins taken care of by her mum. her mum is like using the twins as 'fortune god' as she know will hve to rely on her to look after.

now not only is she feeding her daughters, her mum also, her younger sister, her brothers and her brothers' families. every month she has to send like $400 back. and her mum still complain and call to scold her say is not enough. whole family not working. all depending on her nia. they think she is digging gold in sgp lor.

we are telling her, if she continues like that, no way can she 'retire' and have savings. she will have to work till she die lor. plus when she is old, and if we dont require her service anymore, what is sshe going to for? she will be too old working as a maid liao.

dokie,
i sent Jovan to infantcare when he was 7 months. After 1 week there, he got hospitalised due to gastric flu. PD said most likely he got the bacteria/virus from infantcare. my supply dropped alot when i stayed with him at the hospital. so i had to stop when he turned 9 months old. now he's on full FM. v sad tat I had to stop BF but i'm also delighted at my new-found freedom again.
this current infantcare cannot make it. we r sending him to another one in Sep. the teacher-infant ratio is much higher & teachers r more experienced. just tat it's not so convienient for us anymore. the inconvienience & higher $$ is small price to pay for his better health. each time he fall ill, i feel so guilty & i have an urge to quit & be a SAHM to take care of him. i feel so bad for making him suffer *sob*

Dokie,

That's exactly what my maid did also. She try to be smart, so she "dismantle to wash" and put it back. But never fix probably la, so water flooded. And guess what? think she too stun to realise what to do, so just stand there and leave the patches of water on my pacquet.

Catherine

Dun be sad, me too,everytime i see my gal fall sick i also very guilty and wanted to be a SAHM too. Finances, cannot leh. Like yesterday, pouring very heavily in the morning, I still need to "brave" the rain and bring her to my mum's place.

Catherine, no problem. Dun worry abt Jovan, he is a strong boy and will recover!

Plumsource, okie.. Now i know at least IKEA stuff is not as flimsy as i tot to be! Nvm, keep all your expensive dishes in the storeroom... Use it next time when your boys are all grown up!

Claire also crawling & cruising. She ultimate one, she tried to cruise from one place to another w/o support!

Pig, we knew of rainbow when my hubby's fren referred the sales to our house for demo. Wow, super hard sell and even i told the sales No, still can give me 1001 reasons on why its my loss if i dun buy it. I think the sales can't beat me when i told her this, "If its meant to be, its meant to be.. Nothing can be helped, its just fate!"

Hi K@ye,

i dont like people to push also. wa lau, the more reason sale person give, will just make us fed up if we already have a good mind to reject.

if its not becos i am sharing with my sister, and coincidentally i was preg with kiros at tat time, i dont tink i will buy that also. then thinking that we hve so many kids at home and so many houses, we agree to share. now we buy a small trolley and belt to transport the rainbow to the car when we have to use it at different house.

I was so scared yest. Hubby was on business trip. I took care of matt. Act tucked him into bed and under my blanket already. He was asleep, then thought I wil go to the kitchen to get a drink. Shd be fast, so never put pillow on the side of the bed as a barrier. Then next thing I know, I heard Matt crying. When I rushed in, he was already on the floor and trying to get up. He cried very hard for 5 minutes. I mean very hard. We managed to pacify him after a while and he calmed down. I couldnt tell which part of him hit the floor. Then let him play a while cos din want to let him sleep immediately in case there are further reactions. He seemed ok after 1/2 hr, so I put him back in bed. He is behaving normally this morning too. Just called home at lunch, my mum says he is fine. Thanks god for that. But still have to monitor for a while and see how. I wanted to kill myself at that moment. how could I take for granted? I feel so guilty that I caused Matt to fall.

tinkabel: *hughug* i know how you feel.. cailyn fell vert hard from bed last mth and i was watching tv.. cailyn's blue black patch appeared aft 2 days around her eyes which took 2weeks to fade away and the big bump appeared straight aft the fall on her forehead. U check his head, hands and legs.. me forgot to check on her hands and legs aft my fren told me abt it.. hope he is fine.

Tinkabel, i understand how u feel. Claire bumped herself at the corner of my Mum's side table. My heart ached till i can't say anything... She was wailing like mad!!!

Actually, if Matt got cry means its not that bad... Never cry is the worst... Means they re in a state of shock...

Dun feel guilty okie.. Its part of their painful growing up process. MAtt shd be alright, give him a kiss for me!

Hi Tinkabel,

do monitor him and his appetite. and also if he is sleeping too much or little that kind of thing. if you still dont feel at ease then just bring him to doc to verify.

i can imagine how you would have felt. when kiros rolled off his mattress which we placed on the floor, to the floor, i was like so heartache liao. let alone from bed.

tinkabel..dun worry...Matt will be fine...actualy i think majority of the mummies here make the same mistakes....taking for granted...i nvr learnt my lesson. Favian fell the same way when he was 5mth old..and Mischa too had her 1st rolling-off-the-bed recently..hahahaha.i actually dozed off aft feeding her and she was right at the edge of the bed! - its like a part and parcel of growing up for them! *slapping myself....

Plumsource, mine previous maid also damage the vacuum cleaner hose. I seriously wonder how they manage to do that.

Dokie, she didn’t steal note. She stole the coins from the piggy bank. Notice it when we want to move the piggy bank to the other side and realize the piggy bank very light. Got her red-handed in her bag of coin wrap with 2~3 layers and tied tightly to avoid sound.

Tinkabel, hope Matt is fine. *pat pat *

I realize now at their age, always bump into something. My son was walk along inside the cot when he slipped and knock his head pretty hard on the side and he really cried so hard like tearing the house down. I also discovered that his leg also got blue-black which I still don’t know how he got it.

Thanks mummies for your advice. Will check him later to see if any bruise have come out. Better got bruise than no bruise (ie may be internal bleeding). Now I know really cannot take things for granted. Especially now that they are much more mobile. Sigh...

Tinkabel,

Welcome to the club. Like s@l said, most mummies have also done the exact same thing as you resulting in our precious little ones falling off the bed. Don't beat yourself up about it because it can happen to anyone.

Its a tough lesson to learn but we do have to have eyes at the back of our heads and watch them like a hawk. The smallest bump and they get worst bruise ever! Our babies are tough little cookie so I'm sure Matt is fine.

hey tinkabel, no worries my boy fell of his carseat and had blood coming out from him mouth. He was ok after 3days. Thank God and ya i know what you mean by guilty but try not to take it to heart.

Ueno, do I need to get a beanie to cover my boy's ears during flight?

Any mummies, know how i can keep my boy's hands warm as well? His hands like mine, always feel v cold.

Suzanne, mabbe get your boy those oversized sweater/jacket that could cover his hands? Oh, if u re worried abt his ears being chilled, do let him wear a beanie.

Hi Mambobb,

my hubby went to get he citric acid liao. do pm me yr address if you want it.

its $8 for 10 sachets. i am ok if you want fewer sachets.

its friday, time flies...
so so so busy these days, work late everyday dun even have time to "come here"..haiz...

can someone pm me some contact nos and sharron's address, i wanna drop by if I can...
if can sms me better, but not sure if anyone still has my mobile...hehe

thanks in advance!

tinkabel - *hugs* -- matt will be alrite! me also had a few "scary" experiences with kaira.... thank God she's fine despite her falls, knocks and bleeding!

suzanne - i brought the beanie for kaira for the flighte as she's still botak botak, scared her head and ears cold...so i let her wear it on board. but thing is, while she was wearing it and sleeping, she was sweating in it! so funnie, when she woke up and i saw her sweaty head...i was wondering if the "beanie" was extra....hahaha.

Cat, try increase his fruits intake if u can. Fresh fruits ! See if it improves. Alternatively, get from vitakids natural vit c from paragon, united square, forum.

tinkabel, I fully understand my baby also fell off from bed at 5th months. Since that incident, i dare not dare not leave him alone in bed now.
read Philippians 4:6/7 By our own means, we are not secured and worried all the times.

Gemini19...ha ha ha....I recalled my heart was aching when I first saw it. Gosh...how to answer to my dear husband if it breaks down.

Gelyn, very stupid of her to steal under the same household, knowing she cant escape without being discovered.

Gals, Pigeon sterilizer can use the citric acid pack?

Suzanne, My hands and feets also cold most of the time. TCM perspective is poor blood circulation.
Do u know?

Tinkabel, *pat* *pat* - a lesson that most of us hv also been thru, now that mine cruise around, i hv started to lose count on the knocks, bruises all over her.
still, i will try to prevent any fall where i could - but its inevitable. Just continue to shower him more TLC, I am sure Matt will be fine!

S@l, Gelyn, i read in the internet that its best to reach 1 yr and > 20 pounds before we change to front facing.. gonna do more research on this b4 i change the direction, to be on the safe side.

just to share that my gal fell off our bed 3 times, once when she was 6 mths, 7 mths, then 8 mths... she literally fell off once a month. My heart broke and never felt so terrible in my life. Never leave her on the bed w/o very close supervision anymore. Now, she still gets into accidents, bump her head on the floor while crawling... bump her head on side of changing table, fall off potty and bump head, bump head against cot... and the list goes on and on... it is unimaginable the different types of accidents they get into... and the strange places they get stuck in between. She got stuck b/w sofa and side table once... so i give up and send her to gymboree to vent her energy cos i cannot control her anymore. I tried to discipline her but fail. She doesn't understand the dangers. Even now, she still crawl towards edge of bed. i can only wait till she is older and hope she get over this phase soon...... sigh...

My gal's milk intake has dropped drastically. Is this normal? She is only taking about 20-40ml every time I feed her milk. Total for the day maybe at most 250 - 300ml in total. May I know how much milk do your 9-month olds drink?

kaye and dreamer where did you get the beanie? You go tthe woolen kind or just a cotton kind will do?

Dokie, anything i should eat or anything i should give my boy? I don't really practice TCM leh but I don't mind finding out more. Cos my hand and feet always cold and now it's my boy's turn. Even my husband also say that my boy follows my pattern.

CLtine,
my gal is taking about about >650ml a day, it depends on her mood and i suspect how much she poops as well. could it be that yr bb is distracted by her surroundings? or the teat too small or she's more interested in solids? or maybe it could be a phase. how often are you feeding yr bb?

re: baby bumps
while Eliza hasn't had mega falls so far i'm also fearful of her on the bed, especially when i can't trust her to stay within her boundaries when she's awake, curious and reaching for my tissue box at the bedside. she used to hesitate at the edge, but nowadays she doesn't so. she has fallen from the thick mattress that we hav on the floor a few times tho...once when i was so tired i dozed off, only to wake up to her crying cos she fell off the mattress when she was crawling off it. felt so bad for falling asleep, i didn't tell anyone at home abt it for quite a while.

I think its safe to say that nearly all mummies here have experienced some sort of "accidents" with their little ones. I & hubby brought Baby Ethan to Bangkok in July and because we had to do everything ourselves (cos no maid mah...haha) so left him alone on the bed and the next thing you know, we hear a "thud" sound and lots of crying. Now we are very careful when he's on the bed but lately, my boy has learnt a very cool move - he will spin on his tummy so tat his legs stick out the end of the bed, then hold on to the quilt and lower himself slowly to the floor till one of his foot touches (I call it his "commando" move), then he swings the other leg down as well and smiles as if to say,"Look! Ta-da!!!" hahaha. Should video him one day and put on You-Tube for all mummies to enjoy. Its quite hilarious. =)

CLtine, the amount babies drink is really variable so you should really compare to your baby's usual intake and if she is eating more solids. Sometimes my boy eats so much porridge that he hardly drinks his milk afterwards but I make sure he finishes his bottle before his next meal is due.

Re: Baby Classes
Brought Ethan for his first trial class at Gymboree today. Think he enjoyed playing with the equipment more than the class itself. Am still undecided about signing up now. Has anyone gone for trial classes at Growing Up Gifted or Kindermusik? Any other classes to suggest?

Wish all mummies a happy gathering! Wish I could be there...

Suzanne, i had not bought any beanie yet coz Claire is a "hot" gal. I always have to keep her in cool places to prevent her eczema from acting up.

Best to get cotton beanie coz its a breathable material and wont cause any skin irritations.

michviv,

i went for trial at gymboree too but decided not to continue with class as most of the time, the teacher is teaching us how to let them play on the equipment and got to wait for the rest to finish before can play and time limited too, so in the end got the membership and go there as and when i like for playgym with my nephew or friends, result the same too.

went for growing up gifted too, quite like it but problem is too crowded and class room too small, 12 children to a class, cannot even have space to sit around the semi circle, and i think those kids who can walk already will enjoy more when they moved to the music room for singing and dancing so decided maybe wait for my boy to be able to walk on his own then join the class, plus they got coloring session and usually very messy if the bb does not know how to do it too whereas the older kids already more or less learning to hold brush. the age gap in the class is abit too wide for me too, 8 mths to 18 mths? so too messy lor

went to forum and saw my little gym, thought that they are more professional than gymboree as they teach the kids gymnastic, maybe will join their trial too and even hold my boy birthday there :)

Thanks for your advice Skye and Michviv.

My gal used to be taking almost 800ml per day until last week her milk intake reduced drastically to 350-400ml only. I suspect it is due to her teething. She seems to bite the teat rather than drinking. I wonder if the teat is irritating her gums when she attempts to drink.

GUYSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS thanks for the 100% attendance we all deserve an applause hehehhehheheh

hope to see u guys and ur bbs soon though hehehheheh....earliest?????NOV kekkekekekke.

BUt i do hv flts back though....just that hayley wont be there
pls invite me when u guys hv gatherings even though its only me ohoohohohoohoh,i can help to babysit urs :p

Birthday bashhhhhhh
DO consider la

it'l be fun like today(tks for our host today )
venue....lets list out a few
quotation etc

easier to make choices mah
then vote looooooo :p

CLtine:Hi there i think its teething la

my girl also no even though she alreayd hv her bottom 2 :p....keep waking up in the night and cry.....and she's been refusin her solids since arriving sin
......cant do anything but let her drink her 4th feed of milk......

Mega Birthday Bash Dates Suggestion!

1st Nov 08
1. Plumsource
2. Kaye
3. Mambobb
4. Langlao (prefer)
5. Poissons (cos 15 Nov is my boy's exact birthdate, need to celebrate for him with my families)
6. Grace
7. Mandy
8. Teng_Family
9. Gemini19
10. Cactusnah
11. Plim
12. Sharron

Venue suggestions:
1. eXplorerKID
- Downtown East
- $24.40/child
- minimum 15 kids
- http://www.explorerkid.com/bdaytrips/bdaytrips.aspx

2. Gymboree
- Tanglin Mall

3. The Little Gym
- Forum Shopping Mall
- http://www.thelittlegym.com.sg/parties.htm
- Sat Dinner only: 530pm - 8pm

4. Go Go Bambini
- Dempsey Road
- http://www.gogobambini.com/party_terms_conditions.php

5. Fidgets
- Turf City
http://www.fidgets.com.sg/parties.html

sharon:tks for getting it started again kekkekekek.

1st Nov 08
1. Plumsource
2. Kaye
3. Mambobb
4. Langlao (prefer)
5. Poissons (cos 15 Nov is my boy's exact birthdate, need to celebrate for him with my families)
6. Grace
7. Mandy
8. Teng_Family
9. Gemini19
10. Cactusnah
11. Plim
12. Sharron
13.ceceia(hope i can managed to hv off days again though,can be confirm when date is nearer)

Another Suggestion : The Toy Rental Club

Birthday Parties: The Premium Package
Mon-Fri: $435.00
Sat-Sun : $475.00
$50.00 surcharge Public Holidays
Up to 15 children
Each additional child: $27.00
Coffee/tea per adult: $4.00

2 hour time slot between 9:30~12:00 or 14:00~17:30
$75.00 surcharge for up to 30 min extra
$50.00 surcharge for parties finishing between 17:30 and 19:30

Use of playground and choice of toys available on the day
Table set-up and clean up (plates, cups, cutlery, napkins)
Party food: selection from our menu
Party invitations to send to your guests
The toy rental club hosts to supervise and entertain
20 regular Balloons
$25.00 surcharge for helium balloons
Party games with prizes
Gift for birthday child

Please Note
Number of children includes the birthday child. Children in attendance during the party will be counted as extra guests and charged accordingly. We will cater for the number of children confirmed 5 days prior to the party date.
Drinks and birthday cake are not included. Outside food and drinks for children as well as adults are allowed on the premises. Coffee cups for up to 30 adults are at your disposal, as well as a coffee machine, water cooker, microwave and refrigerator.

all of u muz have had a good time yest..
so sorry wanted to join but neighbour's kids came over to play while neightbour went out...
and they didnt come back until few hrs later *sighz*
so i missed the gathering..so sad

sharron's place is so close to mine and yet i couldnt turn up..haiz...paiseh leh..

1st Nov 08
1. Plumsource
2. Kaye (Claire might be in HK, to be confirmed)
3. Mambobb
4. Langlao (prefer)
6. Grace
7. Mandy
8. Teng_Family
9. Gemini19
10. Cactusnah
11. Plim
12. Sharron
13.ceceia(hope i can managed to hv off days again though,can be confirm when date is nearer)

It was fun yesterday, hoping to meet you all again.

wah, you all really so OOOONNNNNNN, ok, count me in ..

1st Nov 08
1. Plumsource
2. Kaye (Claire might be in HK, to be confirmed)
3. Mambobb
4. Langlao (prefer)
6. Grace
7. Mandy
8. Teng_Family
9. Gemini19
10. Cactusnah
11. Plim
12. Sharron
14. SusanY

Sharron,
Thanks for being such a great host, sorry to mess up your place yday though, we really enjoyed ourselves, hope to see all mummies and babies again!

wow... post some picture from the gathering lah! lol.

Celebrated my son's b'day yesterday and we had fun too
Here is the pic!

1679461.jpg

Tinkabel,
Not to worry too much about kids falling. My pedi mentioned that kids at this age and a little older are equipped for this. Mother nature made their skull is thicker at this age in aticipation with falls when they start walking.

Re: eating/Drinking less
I think DD is teething soon too as she is drooling like a fountain... lol. However, her appetite seemed to have improved!

Yup Sharron,
Thanks for being such a gracious host. Eagan & i had great time too. Yest's gathering could be the last gathering with all the little ones still crawling. Some could be walking around when we meet next time (i think Hayley shld be one of the 1st. Hee hee...)

Yany: Wow, did u bake the cake yrself? Yr son sure look happy

Hi mummies - you are most welcomed! Glad that you all had a good time.

Lets meet up for coffee the next time - only the mummies perhaps? hee hee hee........

heehee... you ladies noticed eh? Yes, I cut her fringe. Cannot tahan at bedtime, it keeps poking her eyes! But I didn't do a good job and it looks like its been bitten off by a rat! lol
It sure makes her look very micheavious!

No... I didn't bake the cake as I do not know how to make fondant. However, its made by a lady from another forum
Cake was a hit and as you can see, DS's loves cars and his favourite is a mini cooper! He thank everyone for coming for his mini cooper birthday party! lol

Sharron,
Meeting up for coffee sounds good!

Sharron,

Thanks again for hosting the gathering. It was a great turn out even for the daddies! Mummies tea session sounds good...how about mummies high tea at Shangs??? (I love the high tea there! any excuse..keke)
Sharron notice you have mahjong table in your home...haven't played in 4yrs! Maybe can get together some mummies for mahjong session...but I'm only novice not hard core player...just messing around one! haha

I've rented from the toy rental club. Personally don't feel its a great venue for a party. Basically a warehouse with shelves of toys, not very appealing.
How about mummies who have been to figets and goobambini Dempsey rd? Any feedbacks on those?
What about the kids place at big splash? Do they cater to baby parties?

oh yeah, it was great to meet all you mummies at the gathering.