(2007/11) November MTBs

thanks everyone for your well wishes

will certainly check back often....despite the time difference!

so much to learn from one another here....

one thing on feeding solids tho .. how did mummies replace milk feeds with solids ah?

mine gal ah, her solid feeds are additional to her milk feeds!! altho the milk feeds juz before her solids, amt reduce by abt 1/3. dunno if i am overfeeding her or not?

the amt of solid she eats e.g. EYS brown rice powder, is abt 3 milk scoops + some puree. and if HT barley cereal, is abt 5-6 milks scoops with puree. mothers feeding similar food ... is the amt ok?? or ur baby can take more? or is taking less? can share?

so now her feeding schedule is like this:
7am : 180ml + 6 scoops milk
1045am-11am : 120 ml + 4 scoops milk
123am : lunch
3pm : 150ml + 5 scoops
6pm : 120ml + 4 scoops
730pm : dinner
10pm : 150ml + 5 scoops.

would love to know how your baby's feeding schedule is now ! many many thanks.

o, went for her pre-travel check up this week, she's 70cm and 8.5kg. i tot she was longer... measure, only 70cm ;p heehee

Ueno, L is advanced for his age! Claire still refuses to hold her milk bottle, she will only hold the milk bottle to push it out of her mouth!

Dreamer, here is Claire's feeding schedule

4-6am: 180ml of milk
10-11am: Porridge/Rice cereal
2-4pm: Porridge/Rice cereal
7pm-till bedtime: 180ml of milk

So on average, Claire has like 2-3 feeds of milk and 2 meals of solid food!

dreamer@hk,
my boy's feeding schedule:

7.30am (sometimes 8am, depending on wat time he wakes up): 200ml milk(6 scoops milk powder)
12pm: lunch (cereals or porridge with veg and fruit purees)
4pm: 200ml milk (6 scoops milk powder)
7.30pm: Dinner (cereals or porridge with veg and fruit purees)
11pm: 250ml milk (7 scoops milk powder)

Btw, any of you mummies feeding your bbs with those bottled purees (Heinz, Gerber)? You have any issues with them? So damn pissed with my MIL, always seem to have thousands of comments about what I'm feeding my boy. She asked me not to feed him with those bottled purees cos' she THINKs they are not good or healthy (cos' over the wkend I fed him with the peach puree and she said it is very SMELLY!). I explained that I only feed him bottled ones when we are out due to convenience, but she said dun feed him those even when we are out, one or two days without the purees won't die! Urgghhh...dunno what's her problem..

Tinkabel

My gal hates the sippy cup also. Its difficult to suck out the water when they first tries it, Think got to use a lot of strength kind.

She likes the combi one though

thanks k@ye, poissons... hmmm...seems like kaira is being overfed liao ... hahahaha...

but she always seems hungry after 3.5 - 4 hours. your babies like can tahan longer with their milk feeds ... but if i make more milk for her...most times she cannot finish... hmmm .... i muz see how to cut out pre-lunch and pre-dinner feeds ....

poissons, i do feed kaira with the bottled purees .... i have them on standby on days when i don't feel like making purees....heehee.

Gemini19,
really? Easier for the combi? Haiz, Avent sippy going to become white elephant again. Now I need to think whether want to get the combi one. And yah, Matt's a lazy boy as well, refuse to hold his own milk bottle.

mambo,

i tink it is okie for your colleague to join lah juz not sure if this is the correct class for her..
aug bb shld be 10mths now is it?

dreamer,

sounds scary leh but luckily she is alright now, srong gal.
anyway u have a safe trip huh, and rem to come chit-chat more often and share ur holland experiences with us..

tinkabel,
i started L with the sippy cup when he 1st had his solid meal so no problem. U might wana try Pigeon's Mag mag cuop stage 2, its very easy to suck.

Leroy's feeding schedule:
7am BF
9am BF
11am Lunch - Porridge or Pasta
230pm BF
5pm dinner - porridge or pasta + fruit
630pm BF
7pm bedtime

I've stopped giving him pureed food, i am giving him textured food so that he can learn how to chew. I only use the pureed veg as the sauce for his pasta

Dreamer, Claire also gets hungry fast now. So, its normal lah....

Poissons, my Mum also discourage us from feeding Claire bottled purees. Like u, i only feed her when i dun hv the time to make purees. Anyway, i usually will mix the puree into the porridge... That way, noone will know what goes into the porridge. Elders sure will have 1001 comments on whatever we feed our babies... And their comments can be extremely jarring to the ears!

Dreamer, saw the A&E on your thread and its shock me. Glad to know she is alright now. Sometimes, I agree that our baby will do something that will give us a fright!
Anyway, have to good rest today so that you can have to good flight tomorrow. :)

Poissons, for those bottled purees, I didn't buy. Even before I buy, my MIL already commenting that its not as healthy as freshly made one. I guess its individual preference. In my opinion, I do think its ok to give.

Re: Sippy Cup
My son is still at stage one using the Pigeon Mag Mag cup for drinking water which I think its quite good. I think I better start changing him to stage two soon. This mummy abit slow.

Ueno, how do you get your son to eat the pasta? Need to chew? Will get choked cos they don’t have teeth to chew yet.

poissons,
bottled purees aint that bad lah.. mine tried almost all gerber/heinz and also love homecooked vege or mashed food now, intro porridge recently. Even tho she is bo-gay, i also serve her mashed food now to let them get use to chewing mah. I even feed mine those xiao man tou..

tinkabel,
mine also prefer pigeon mag mag soft spout to avent sippy, it took her quite a while to be able to "suck water" out fr avent.. cos its a bit short/hard. maybe let matt try a few more times b4 u give up?

as for feeding, mine also drink almost 90% of her total milk feeds of 800ml a day divided into 4 feeds in addition to all the solids/fruits. I also dunno how to reduce milk feed, guess hv to monitor. But for 70cm at 8.5kg, is a gd weight lah, so dun hv to worry for Kaira lah.

gelyn,
pasta needs to be chewed. i use ABC pasta , i boil them for 15mins till they r v soft, initially i gave alittle for him to try n i saw that he can manage them quite well n the bread too so now im feeding him in bigger portion. It really depends on yr baby

Hmm, was reading Langlao blog... Seems like Grace, Langlao & me lived ard the same area!

Who else also living in the Redhill, Bukit Merah or Queenstown area?

mambo, the hello kitty cup i bought is stage 3 (straw cup) cos i hv another sippy cup with soft spout so have nt started Mischa on the HK cup. Yes u can buy the diferent stages and jus change the cap. BUT no nice lo...kekekee...tat was my dilemma when i bought the HK cup. cos if u noticed the normal COMBI range cups does not come in the red cap like the HK cup....so for me is VANITY first!

Ueno, ok cos i read the description it says that the dots cards come with subtract/additions signs....and the numbers are not alot.and I remembered the Shicida dots cards is from 1-60? or m i wrong?

Plim, I also bought the FIRST words flashcards from Popular. i find them quite good. i also bought the colours flash cards....but cant find similar dots cards though. how did u make the flashcards? do we print and paste the pics onto the blank cards? I am lazy la...already alot of things to do...hehehee...

Hi mummies, MIA v v v v long cos i am busy packing and re-organising my house to ship off. Me going Arizona end Aug for 2 yrs.

Ueno, I think your son is really advanced.
My boy hates his mag mag cup and he seriously hates drinking water by the cup but if i feed him water by the spoon he drinks.
Tried the spout oredi but her just don't take to it.

Gemini how's the combi cup good?
You think I should I try the combi one?

dreamer, do share with me your flight experience when you reach holland. I ams o not lookign forward to my 26hrs journey to Arizona.

Cat,used to argue with my hub usually over the tidiness of the house. Since I engaged a maid, it is much better.

S@L, I donno what is dots cards? how does shicida method use it?

zzz: the link u provided didnt show any map though. After I search, the map shows 46 East Coast Terrace instead of 46 East Coast Road. I confirm with my colleage and get back to you.

Ya, do we need to register anything for the trial class?

suzanne,
im also planning a vacation to the US in Aug. most likely LA but am considering Houston too cos SQ has this new route. its near to Arizona!

dreamer,
thank god your gal is ok now... really scary when i read ur post!
Have a good flight tomorrow! Amsterdam is a nice place...

S@L,
haha... dun think u can find any ready made math dot cards in shops (or mayb i dunno)... i made mine by buying all the red dot stickers, bought the blank square cards and stuck the stickers on each of them from 1 - 100! it was a truly tiring process... haha... not sure if shichida method similar to GD method... i'm using the latter one... and it introduces dots first, followed by numbers, then followed by symbols and then equations...

my gal's feeding schedule:
7-8am: EBM/FM of 130ml
10am: cereal/porridge + puree about 2 tbsp
11-12pm: EBM/FM of 130ml (depends on whether she had the semi-solid food at 10am)
3pm: EBM/FM of 130 ml
4-5pm: cereal + fruits or sometimes just fruit
6-7pm: EBM/FM of 130ml
10-11pm: EBM/FM of 130ml

i find that she can't take textured food yet, cos will give that 'vomitting' look when i try to feed her anything textured... so sticking to pureed food at the moment...

ueno,
u gonna bring Leroy on this US trip?
i am scared to take even my elder one for long haul flights... haiz...

plim,
yup, he's coming along with me! u can try feeding textured food using yr fingers for a start. when she can chew it down properly then use spoon.

Ueno, can I get the ABC pasta in NTUC? And what sauce can I add to the pasta? I wanna try this weekend to see if my son like it or not. Thanks!

gelyn,
i bought mine from Australia, its from Heinz n its iron-enriched. i saw ABC pasta at organic shops in sin or u can buy Bellamy's stars pasta, u can get them at cold storage, they r also iron enriched.i use veg puree for the sauce, like broccoli n cauliflower or pumpkin n leek.

Hi Ueno, when you planning to go? I think I'll be nearer to LA. I can't wait to go to Disneyland actually haha! But i think my boy won't remember a thing. Heard military personnel has got discount on entrance fee. Shall make use of that discount v ex leh entrance fee.

My boy's feeding schedule:
7am FM 180ml
11am Lunch (porridge)
3pm FM 180ml
7pm Dinner (Cereal 5 scoops)
9pm FM 120ml
12am FM 120ml (I feed him his dream feed so that he will last through the night)

shane, which part of states are you at? Washington or washington DC? Sorry can't remember liao... hmmm.. do you think i can organise spress from where i'm staying? thining of ways to occupy my time while i'm there.

Any mummies able to advise if i should buy a child fare for my boy so that i have an additional seat or i should just stick to the bassinet for flying to the US?

Ueno, wow!!! I shudder to think of my 3.5hrs flight with Claire to HK. I can't imagine to US!

Suzanne, dun worry... When the time comes, u die die will knw how to handle ur son on board the flight. Best if u can take SQ...

mambobb, also realise the map not very accurate, sometimes show 46 east coast terrace, but sometimes show the correct location. I managed to save a jpeg file of the location, if you want it, I can email you. file too big to post it here..

suzanne,
think they r still small for the seat unless ur gona use yr car seat onboard. u can buy a seat n place yr car seat on it,that way more comfortable. im gona use the bassinet. so ur flying to LA? im taking the direct flight.

fushiastar,
I'm staying near u! I'm at Dover..maybe can meet up one of these days at HV..

Teething:
Dunno why, my boy is teething so fast! He's got 2 upper and lower front teeth now and now my mum said she saw teeth marks in the upper gums (side) so should be coming out soon...aiyo..his other development also not so fast..

ueno,
wow..7 teeth at 7 mths! that's alot!..haha..

langlao,
i juz went to your blog and realise that we are staying in the same area..wat a coincidence! which condo u staying? i'm very very near you, within walking distance..

meow,
i use the veg puree sauce, i mentioned above n i add fish. I will be giving him the creamy pasta when he turns 9mths cos will be using some cow's milk n cream.

mummies going for the jwtkids, they do not need any additional info from us. I have confirmed 5 mummies though have not heard from cactus these few days..

gelyn, r u confirmed??

i asked for promotional prices for the trial class but they r unable to give.
so they say if the mummy sign up on the day itself, then they will waive the charge for the trial class..
or if the mummy decide to enrol in the current term plus the next term then they will waive off the membership fee or something like that..
i tink we can check up the details on the day itself

Poissons, wow!!! Then, Garreth can get to taste yummy food faster!

Suzanne, ya.. organise sprees for us when u re there!!! Two years will go by very fast one!