(2007/11) November MTBs

Gelyn,
I'm interested in the trial but I need to know the date and time..thanks.

Constipation:
I dun think taking solid food will cause constipation if you feed vegge or fruit purees together. My boy used to poo only once every 2 days when he is solely on milk but now he poos twice everyday after eating cereals + vegge/fruit purees. now have successfully replaced 1 milk feed with solids..hoping by the time he turns 7 mths, can replace with 2.

gemini, my son used to hate the Avent cup too. I think the spout is too hard. Try the Combi one. I feel its softer. ya agree its much more exp....and i vain la got the Hello kitty one during sale, so still ok becos of the discount.

K@ye, I thought porridge water is nicer than Soy Milk. IMO. I guess my son like a to have the milk taste cos even I only put one scoop of milk in the porridge water, he drink.

Hmm…I think I will be the heartless one. Lolz! I don’t believe letting them drink gassy drink too. Though I niece did sip some when she was only 2 years old. So now and then, if she saw, she want to drink. For me, I make up my mind that I won’t even want to let him taste the gassy drink. Cos if they never try before, they won’t keep pester you for the drink.

Gemini, I just called the lady up. This coming Sat (14th Jun), 1pm is quite full and she was saying that unless some mummies don’t committed the class then you all can come for the trial which is next week (21st Jun), 1pm which is the 2nd session. But I told her that we have enough people to start a new class but becos we never attend this kind of class, that why we want to trial first. She offered an option that we can negotiate for a class to start in 14th Jun if we have enough people but at 12pm cos the slot is so far is empty. But need to see if the teacher named Pat is available. What do you think? You want to take charge from here….I am not very good in organizing.

Poissons, the date and time is not confirm yet.

I know K@ye is not available on 14th Jun and I am not available on 21st Jun.

Gelyn, i also think porridge water is nicer but babies' taste buds are different from us. Ya, i also dun want Claire to eat too much rubbish. I will limit her intake but wont totally barred her from eating it either...

Poissons, generally solid food will cause constipation if we dun mix with veggie or fruits especially rice cereals. Spinach is a very good source of fibre. Claire will poo twice if she ate spinach but she hates the taste of it!

kaye,
yah, i know..that's why i say cereals if eat together with vegg or fruits will not cause constipation mah..realise that if eat papaya, his poo will smell of papaya the next day..omg..damn smelly!

Hi all, so many threads to read!

Constipation,
You can boil prune water and let them drink ... or watered down apple/pear juice. Prune water, use 2 prune (sunsweet will do) and let them drink the water. Else, can buy those apple or pear juice for babies (no sugar added) and add water ... 1/2 portion of both for them.

Diarrhea,
Have to ensure there's sufficient liquid/water intake. That being said, I always tend to follow BRAT diet.. meaning, Banana, Rice, Applesauce and Toast. These food tends to bind and will make their poo less watery. Remember to use diaper rash cream during this period!

Applesause helps with diarrhea wherelse apple juice does the opposite!

Poissons, Claire merlion all her food when we feed her Papaya.. But papaya has a smell that we adults also can't tahan!

S@L, the dress very NICE! wow, but a bit ex .... need to think think ;p

btw, i've transferred the postage to u liao and sent u an email.... do check!

gelyn/gemini,
if trial class on 14th june, i shud be OK

RE: Pigeon wide-neck bottle
i have 3 pigeon wide-neck bottles with caps tat couldn't be tightened properly after the first sterilization. I called up Pigeon Singapore Pte Ltd (84 Genting Lane #05-06 CITYNEON DESIGN CENTRE Tel: 67423001) can go down to the ofc during ofc hrs to make exchange. apparently the problem arose coz the cap & cap ring shouldnt be stacked on top of one another during sterilization. hope this info is helpful to any mummies out here

S@L

me also vain vain, bought the hello kitty one. S$25 plus leh, but when I see she likes it, think worth the investment la. How much you paid for it? Thinking of buying another one to put at my mum's place. I might be starting a BP for Combi products. Any mummies interested?

Thanks Gelyn, I'll take up from here. Me also never organize before.

RE: Kampong play house Trial Class 14th Jun at 12 pm - cost $25 each (max 8 babies)
(pls revert asap coz I need to call up the place to make a booking)

Weishy, papaya like carrots cannot let babies eat too much coz the skin will turn yellow too.

Any ladies here know where got sell nice nice organizers?

gemini:: Count me in for BP combi.

kaye:: u know how often should we let them eat papayas? travis eats like 2x a wk now.. is it too much? the rest of the days got softpear. he hates apples though!

Cindy, long time no see u post!! how s Travis?

I guess dun let them eat papaya everyday bah? My Mum alternate days let Claire eat carrots.

Hi Cindy,

Hey hey.. school holiday now? How hve you been?

Last Saturday i let kiros tried mash potato.I didnt let him try the carrot. Actually hor, the potato wasnt meant for him. It was in my soup. Then i thot, never mind la... jus mashed and let him eat to try it out. added a bit of the soup to make it Not so dry also.. he must hve liked it cos surely our soup has all the 'forbidden condiments' for babies.

Pig, hehe... My Mum and siblings gave Claire to try forbidden food with and w/o my consent. So far, i still say No No to salt till Claire is 10 months old.

Monday blues... Sian at work.. See the PC till headache.

larryle,

the PP stuffs shoudl arrive this week; m keeping my fingers crossed they wun delay further!
seems like a long time hor... super sian with VPOST this time round, their service seems going south!!

will keep you updated once i hear the slightest news!

kaye and pig:: HAHAHHA!! yes SCHOOL holidays now! i am soo happy!!
and yea hahaha kaye:: travis is okay! still doing okay an dSTILL waking up at night! hahaha!!

pig:: hehehe sometimes i give travis mashed potatoes for lunch too. we alternate. mon, weds, fri porridge, tues, thurs, sat and sun either mashed potatoes or pumpkin. ehe how are you feeling? Hey you have msn ma? Add me easier for me to talk. here the threads move toooo fast for me to follow le hahaha.. [email protected]

kaye:: i have you on msn but you are here more than there! muahahaha..

re: discipline our baby

i am also trying to find the best way to handle chloe esp during feeding times.

her milk intake decreased and the frequency also all hay-wired. sometimes she can go w/out milk for 5hrs! even when i feed her, she will 'entertain' me by drinking like 20ml then started playing around with the teat, etc...

other times, she will start fussing and when i bring the bottle to her; she will start wailing and screaming as if i'm torturing her by not giving her milk!!! arrghhh... buay tahan... once i pop the teat into her mouth, straight away she like nothing happen and just sucking away... aiyoh, dun know where she learn to 'bian lian' so fast...

same goes for semi-solid feeding. not fast enough, she'll cry... when i feed, she'll spill out half of her feeding or turn her head left right left right... then my hand/feeding spoon have to follow her mouth so close every time. so tired lah... no wonder the nanny every time complaint feeding her is a messy affair!

Cindy, co cannot MSN lah...

Kitty, *pats* Think our babies are going thru a refusal to eat period or mabbe Babies PMS?

gemini, i bought during the sale i think 20%+10%...cant really remember. i think i paid abt $18+ only. very worth it! but i bought the straw cup, hv nt started Mischa on it yet. i also bought another spout type (Strawberry shortcake) and she likes it .

dreamer, thanks. the dress nice hor...price is almost the same as the previous BP on the handmad dress/lounge sets. i think most USA handmade ones are almost the same price ba...the material is what we are paying for lo....

Gemini, Combi yes i m keen. u getting the full range? let us know when the BP is up

Hi Kaye,
Ya.. i heard about the salt thingy..act really shld refrain from salt.. some said until 1 year old.

I read something about egg yolk and egg white. i know tat egg white is at 1 year old. what about egg yolk? wonder if can start adding to the porridge. And yes, me still using slow cooker. Now adding bovril. Another not so good thingy.kekeke..

Hi Cindy,
I have added you onto msn. You may see me online most times but i may be 'away' in actual fact. Cos hor, my twin nephew are on holiday now. one will use my laptop to play games. another will use the desktop. aiyo, i have to 'can i use for 5 minutes please'.. before they allow me to use. And this tactic only work for one of the twins.

Hi Kitty,
Ya.. now with porridge, kiros will 'ah buuuuuuu' the porridge or even water. then will be so messy. Bo bian lei.. i dont care liao. want he eat, dont want then forget it. i jus feed him milk as and when also. bo bian liao.

tat day we went NTUC fairprice.. boought 5 tins of 1.5kg of the dumex stage 2. i realised that kiros can consumed 1.5kg within 8 days. consumed or pour away mostly?

My boy does not know how to drink from sippy cup or the pigeon mag mag... dunno if it is because he hates the water or simply dun know how to drink.

today I puree the spinach and added it into the carrots and rice cereal but doesn't seem to like it... I'll try again tomorrow.

S@L

discount so good? I cannot find it in Robinson etc, kiddy palace having sales now but also no discount

will keep all posted when the BP is up

Trial Class:
Based on the fotos I saw on Kampong playhouse, there seems to be a mix of different ages in their session? Or it's a different class from the one that we're looking at?

Hope there's enuff mummies here who can join, at least my BB gets to meet and play with little frens from the same age. He's getting too bored at home liao.

Kampong play house Trial Class 14th Jun at 12 pm - cost $25 each (max 8 babies)

1. Larryle (ok with 21st too)

Thanks Kittybride, at least not delayed till Jul. Driving up to Genting with bb during 2nd week of Jul so hope to use it then.

Combi products:
Yah, keen also...

Larryle,
i'm also interested in the trial class.

Kampong play house Trial Class 14th Jun at 12 pm - cost $25 each (max 8 babies)

2. Catherine

morning!

combi bp, im interested!

btw mummies, i tink my boy is down with cough..
is there any food that i should avoid giving him or any natural remedy to make him feel better or get well quicker??

morning.

DS is not drinking much milk recently. I suspect the reason is teething but DH said is due to introducing solid (only cereal). Is introducing solid will cause that? Me dun think and is so angry. mummies can share with me ur experience? thanks.

me also interested in combi BP.

heehee

Good morning all mummies,

See I'm blur blur again. The trial class is $28 and not $25 as pointed out by Gelyn. Dun know why I keep mixing it up.

Kampong play house Trial Class 14th Jun at 12 pm - cost $28 each (max 8 babies)

2. Catherine
3. Gemini

zzz, I heard Hou Ning from Eu Ren Sheng is good for cough. You might want to check it out.

Combi BP, can I know roughly what products are you all looking at? Sippy cup? I try to see which products you are interested in and negotiate with my supplier for better pricing.

Gemini: Count me in too for your Combi BP.

Ueno: the duration of the class is 45min. (reply on behalf)

Larryle: From my understanding from the lady, each class will have baby from birth to 18mths. But if we are able to get at least around 5 people, they might consider to start a new class for us. Then we won’t be mixing with different age group.

2. Catherine
3. Gemini
4. Langlao

Pig, my colleague told me can only intro egg yolk (cooked) at 8 mths to bb.

That day, we all itchy butt let Claire try those half cooked egg yolk... Wow, her eye lids like immediately put on red eye shadow.

Seashell, got 1001 reasons for babies not drinking milk.. I dun think its the introduction of rice cereal. Rice cereal at most take a longer time to digest, not say dun drink milk.

Claire also dun want to drink milk in the past 2 months but now its getting better. If teething, one obvious sign is always wanting to bite things.

Just put my name in too. :)

2. Catherine
3. Gemini
4. Langlao
5. Gelyn

zzz,
hope Aaron gets better.
i think u can give him more fruits with Vit C to help him fight off the cough.
try not to give him "heaty" food for now e.g. brown rice, mango, etc
btw, my baby Jovan also "coughs" on and off. sometimes it's coz he choked on his saliva. sometimes it's coz he wan to get our attention!

anyway, below is the consolidated list of "remedy" for coughs

Hou Ning from Eu Ren Sheng is good for cough

this sinseh is recommended by some forum mummies
Yu Guo Chinese Physician Acupuncture & Physiotherapy
8-B Jalan Masjid
#01-04 Kingston Terrace
Tel: 6447 4761
Consultation hrs (closed on Wed):
Mon, Tue, Thurs, Fri : 9 ~ 12:30pm, 2 ~ 5pm, 6:30pm ~ 8:30pm
Sat: 9 ~ 12:30pm, 2 ~ 5pm
Sun: 9 ~ 12:30pm

this remedy is from my fren
"Apply baby cherry rub (can buy from guardian pharmacy).
It something like vicks.
Apply on the baby soles during bedtime and wear socks.
Use the remainder on the palm to apply on the chest and back.
The instruction says its for children 1 year and above.
But i tried on shanice when she was younger. It works.
Not immediate la, but after 2-3 days no cough."

Hi Gemini,

My son is still having his cough. So you better put mine as tentative first cos I don't want to bring him to spread the virus around. I am still praying that he will get well in time to go. :)

Oh, you might want to try one of those recommended remedies by Catherine above. Better to get it cure fast for cought.

If I remember correctly, your son has the same birthdate as my gal right? 2nd Nov?

zzz: I also bght the "Cherry Chest Rub - For Kids". It's gd for nasal decongestant and cough suppressant. It smells really nice and i rub it on Eagan's soles before wearing socks when he had slight flu/cough. I also let him smell it when he got cold last time and immediately all the mucus came out. Really gd. I bght a separate bottle for myself too coz it's not as strong as Vicks which one "burn" ones skin.

Hope Aaron gets well soon!

Combi BP: I'm keen too. Keep us in the loop.