(2007/11) November MTBs

ueno,
i one arm cannot support garreth for long if standing up..haha..so have to sit down. i guess practice makes perfect, have to try putting him on a few times to get the hang of it. but gotta admit, it's a breeze carrying him with it as compared to bb bjorn. Haha..u let him enjoy licking the belt? i find the belt smells of his saliva after the end of the day...haha..

ueno: u let ur bb licks the belt huh.. my bb even licking the back cover when she turns her head to the side wor~.. so i have to fold the back cover down to her shoulder.. then she has no choice but to keep scratching the scrap or lick it.. pengz~

Ueno: So Leroy got it from the public. Guess it's sometimes unavoidable. Else, gotta keep bb home all day.

I've a neighbour with a 15 month old girl. She loves babies and will hug and kiss Eagan every time she sees him. Initially, i find it ok. But, recently coz of the HFMD, i got very worried. Just last Sat, she almost kissed Eagan on the lips! Luckily i was fast enough to turn him round and it's a peck on the cheek.

Catherine, it depends on how well Jovan is taking to the new teats. I let Claire used the no 4 teats when she is 6.5mths old as i found that she took a longer time to finish her milk and she got frustrated also.

poissons, yes Mischa LOVES licking at the buckles/belts too...hiaz....

I think we hv same problem cos of their thunder thighs that gets in the way. i hv to adjust the straps each time cos of like what Ueno mentioned, it jus cannot work for her cos no way can put her inside without extending the straps first.

mambo, woah...tats sounds scary....Mischa doesnt sratch it but also licks the back piece and i also fold like you
hahaha...no choice let them lick, jus wash the carrier often lo

ueno, ic. stick to plant based diet and bm for him. he should be recovering fast. don worry.
My baby also down with mild fever at 1am today. so on childcare leave to monitor him.

k@ye,
thanks. sometimes i think i bad mummy. let him use all the diff teats & bottles. then when he drink milk, he must be thinking "how come this milk milk sometimes fast sometimes slow??" hahahaha

Pig, my wedding in july... hee so thinking of using that song. Can't find on the internet, but Fanny(mrs choy) already emailed me liao

Jay, actually i brought her into the pool right after the rain stops. it was about 5pm. Surprisely, the water is even warmer than what i have experienced on a hot sunny day! Her swim costume is 2-piece, with a reuseable swim diaper.

K@ye, my cousin-in-law also ask me not to give too much pumpkin and carrot as they will turn babies yellow?? anyone else heard of that?

jay, rice cereals are very convenient when you are on the go.

Re: BECO Carrier
So far i always need ano pair of hands to lift my girl into the carrier. I find her legs always end up on the upper section before the cross strap and have to remove her and try again. I have to put the side belts behind the straps (hide underneath) else she will grap and lick. This carrier is definitely a gd investment, my baby loves being in it and even fall asleep when she's tired.

Cat, I have also bought the 6mths teats but yet to use them. I find the 3 mth teats are still working well. I have bought spare bottles as my frens keep telling me hv to change after 6 mths. However the spare avent bottles comes with 1 mth teats so I bought a hole puncher as well. When the time comes, will punch to make the holes bigger, hope it'll work.

gloomy, we went swimming abt the same time. On a hot day, the water will be colder and we once brought DD to swim ard noon when it was very hot and she wasn't happy with the cold cold water.

RE: Carrots & Pumpkin
How abt sweet potato? can give everyday? Can cook sweet potato or pumpkin in porridge? So far I hve been using carrots in porridge.

RE: Shampoo & Body Wash
Beside Avent what other brands has non rinse formula? Anyone use the must rinse off type? How to bath babies using these esp now that our babies still cannot stand on their own.

dokie,
he cant take solid food now, only milk. He will throw up everytime i feed him solids. think he's finding it hard to swallow.

Trying to speed read through...too many to catch up.

Hi Weishy, thanks for the info on ring float. I will keep a lookout for that BP. :)

Yany, all your cookies and muffins make me feel so hungry! Haha…

Pig, don’t feel useless. Sometimes, its good to just rest and relax without doing anything. Cooking will involve washing up, something that I hate most. Anyway, I am lazy too. :)
Your priority now is have more rest!

Tinkabel, I like the froggy costume swimwear. So cute! :) Am looking forward to bring my son for a swim too.

S@l: Thanks! I received the Angel brush already. :)

gelyn, no problem!

Langlao, u mean how to use those shampoo/soap that needs to rinse off? I hv been using such liquid soap since Mischa's birth
except that for first 3-4mths i add little bit of the soap into the water tub and use hanky to cleanse her. then rince off with direct shower spray.

But now she's older i put the soap directly on her and lather. then rinse off as before. No problems so far.if u prfer non-rinse i think Mustela has a cleanser for that purpose but its way too expensive.

S@L, do u still use the tub during bath? What we do is we fill the tub and put a few drops of the Avent non rinse in it. Put baby in and wash then towel dry. We used to do it in the bed room til she started using her hands to splash the water all over.

You very can leh, can handle Mischa and use the spray at the same time.

langlao,
Kyra now sits in the tup (hold her with one hand) and I put on those shampoo hat to wash her hair. Then just pour water over her head. The hat will prevent the water from getting into her eyes

Didn't cook much over the weekend. Saturdays are usually busy with tiution and swimming classes for the boys. Sundays are spent at the in-laws.... so only made blueberry buttermilk pancakes for breakfast. Popiah party at the in-laws... yummy!
1461241.jpg

langlao,
Kyra now sits in the tup (hold her with one hand) and I put on those shampoo hat to wash her hair. Then just pour water over her head. The hat will prevent the water from getting into her eyes

Didn't cook much over the weekend. Saturdays are usually busy with tiution and swimming classes for the boys. Sundays are spent at the in-laws.... so only made blueberry buttermilk pancakes for breakfast. Popiah party at the in-laws... yummy!

1461248.jpg

yany, i din know got such gadget for shampooing. So cool! Now after we shampoo her head, one of us muz carry her head over the sink while another pour water over her and sometimes accidently we'll spill water into her ear. No wonder she is itching thr

Yany, can I be ur neighbour? You are making me hungry again!

yany: where did you get the shampoo hat? and hor.. now i am trying to diet and everytime see ur food.. wow.. super craving for food again..haha..

mailing:
mummies, anyone encounter giving wrong unit number and the parcel will send back to you? I blur blur type 1 number wrongly and I didnt manage to get the orders from the spree.. the organiser now is waiting for the mail to send back to her so that she can mail to me again.. but 2wks liao and she still hv not received. me very sad now.. ordered 10pcs bodysuit from bbmallonline for my ger..

Hi mummies, what's your babie's schedule now that you have started on solids ah?
I followed the Baby whisperer method of 4hrly.
7am Milk 180ml
11am Porridge / Cereal
3pm Milk 180ml
7pm Porridge / Cereal
11pm Milk 200ml

But sometimes i cannot follow the schedule and end up feeding my boy milk at 2.30pm and then dinner at 6pm and last feed at 11pm. Don't know if it's because he's not full with the porridge or cereal or he just wants to drink milk. Any advise?

RE: Shampooing
Think my Mum quite "heartless" but i think it works so far. My Mum actually use a wet towel and squeeze the water or showerhead on Claire's head. We took care not to let the water to get into her ears. Claire has gotten used to it and she will just close her eyes when the water comes down.

Langlao, think Mustela got no rinse bathing stuff but i dunno abt shampoo.

Now, i also use the shower head to give Claire a quick shower at noon when its really hot.

Fruits & veggies like Papaya, Carrots, Pumpkins and even tomatoes when consume excessively will cause yellowish skin!
Can't remember whats that nutrients called!

Hee, Claire also licks and scratch her babybjorn carrier straps.

RE: Shampooing,

I've been using wet towel to squeeze water over arielle's head since she's 1 month old. i'll say "1-2-3" then squeeze. she learns to close her eyes when i say "1-2-3"
Now, i also use showerhead as well.
For bathing, i usually use 2 bathtub. one big one small. the small one (just big enuff for her to sit in) will be clean water to rinse her off the soap.

langlao,
trying to find the shower hat thing and found that its called a shower visor. It looks like the picture below and we got it a couple of years back for my second boy. They sold it at ToysRus but not sure if they still do.
1461713.jpg

langlao, yes i still use the bathtub. can le. i hav been giving both my kids their bath this way since birth-alone and even during confinemnt! hahaha...what i do is i will lean her backwards while i shampoo and use squeeze water from a wash cloth over her head. so it will nt get into her eyes. then when i rinse her body with spray will lean her bk against my forearm to support her. its easy.

and recently i also started to wash her bottoms at the shower aft she poo. cos its getting too messy to clean with wipes..hahahaha...i think i m one of those 'bo chap' mummies!

hi all, thanks for all the "gd practices" on showering.

dreamer, I'll go Daiso to chk out the visor tmr. I was told Daiso also sells the rubber thumb thingy which aid in flashing flash cards.

thanks k@ye, langlao

i always so worried water will get into kaira's eyes
... now....mebbe i shall try let water drip down her face...let her learn to close her eyes.... heehee

yany
hi! seeing ur cream puff make mi droof... wanted to do for hubby to eat this wed... btw wat do u mean as in 1 cup and 1/4 cup...izit those cuo meant for cooking??? n 75g of milk how do u measure? sori neva bake b4 so a bit confused...

Dreamer, no need to worry... My Mum just told me to let our babies get used to such stuff as early as possible.

In fact, i let Claire sit on the bathroom floor for quick showers!

Hi Elaine,
good questions..lol. The american measurements always use cup. They do sell these kind of measurement cups which comes in different sizes

For the custard cream, I used a different recipe which taste a lot better. You can see that this is not American ;)
I have a weighing machine... so can easily measure 75g. First measure any cup... and then add 75g milk to it

yany...why why why u keep making me drool....
everytime i come here and check, u will show us some new goodies...

here is ash in her plastic t-shirt bib waiting for you to feed her some goodies...
1462005.jpg

Grace, Ash is so cute!!! Did she attempt to get out of the Bumbo seat?

Claire will try to get out of it!

Here is Claire giving u a blur look!

1462098.jpg

langlao3
Ashlee is so cute and she looks like she's not afraid of water at all.

Yany
You always makes us drool leh. What kind of oven are you using? Can advise on buying an oven because thinking of baking liao. hehehe!

Hi ladies! wow! Thread is super long ...really got no time to read everything, and also forgot where I left off ....so only scan through pictures......Sorry MIA for soooo long liao....SUPER BUSY when we came back 2-3 weeks ago....

*went road trip to Seattle to visit friend, and was kind of HOT HOT HOT, and my boy's eczema flared out big time!!! He was like scartching all over the place, and kept crying soooo much during the drive
Aircon full blast also felt uncomfortable for him...haiz.... Stay for a few nights at friends' place, and boy was better. HB was too gung ho and drove further up to Vancouver B.C. yo, thinking my boy should be fine but even worst, got very fussy during the road trip ....maybe sit too long in the car liao...kind of blame my hb for insisting driving up to B.C. Though plan to go Seattle and B.C, it still have to depend on whether my boy can take it or not since it was his first time road trip in the car for soooo long....Didn't really enjoy much though cos' he was like cranky and fussy sooo much due to his eczema ....thought it would be fine for him ....haiz ......only did shopping and eating all the time, never really took pictures though cos' nothing interesting as HB and I always drove up many times ....Ethan always grumpy so hard to get him to smile and took good pictures and once under the sun, he couldn't take it liao .......in the end camera also never used .....haiz .....

*once back, HB celebrated my Bird-day, and we went to seafood restaurant for buffet....wow! the next day, I was not feeling well, migraine came and went for few days, and a little diahrrea, maybe due to too much seafood liao .....and Ethan's eczema also drove me crazy!!!! now he is slightly better liao ....

*once recovered, I was busy grinding the Organic brown rice cos' Ethan is allergic to commercial rice cereal....didn't know it was soooooo time -comsuming even though I only did 2 lbs of brown rice ...wash and dry, and also pan-fry the grains to make sure they are moisture-free ....use my Magic Bullet to grind them ...and then still have to sieve them for very super fine powder .....sieving was tough .....took me soooo long ....bought the wrong siever I think .....the hole was soooo fine ....have to grind sooo many times to be very fine then can sieve ....haiz .....

*I order some blank white poster board and red dots and they came....so very busy doing the GD method for the math .....have to cut to size 100 cards with the dots ....wow!! never know soooo time consuming too ...

*Ethan reached 6 month liao finally ....and went for his check up and shots ......his weight now is 7kg and 69cm ..PD said for his height, he should be heavier...but she said it's fine as long as he is healthy as my HB and I are also not very heavy weight kind ....the home-ground cereal is fine for him and no reactions, he had that for a week liao, now feeding him organic avocados ...wow! never know organic avocado soooo expensive ....one cost US$3 and very small one too
.....only bought two to try .....

*then my friends came to visit for 2 weeks, and stayed at my place for a week ...so busy bringing her around, and most of the time Ethan stayed at home with HB when it's SUPER HOT outside, don't want to take the risk of him flaring again .....kind of worried cos' summer is coming, and it's really SUPER SUPER HOT here...the heat under the sun will burn the skin and tender when touch if stay too long under the sun cos' low humidity and sooo dry here....unlike in Sin , high humidity .....hope by then he gets bigger and he will be o.k.... Friend left yesterday, and at last I can breathe a little .....But this coming Fri, my HB's friend is coming with his wife for a visit ....got to be busy again
....maybe will MIA for few days to entertain them as they are staying at our place ....

*Help my SIL order her Babylegs ....so "ma fun" I accidentally ordered the wrong patterns , kenna "shoot" by my SIL ...so mad with her ....kind of hint that I am so old liao still can order wrongly .....BTH her sometimes ...but don't want to make a fuss lah ...I very chin chay person, and she is my brother's wife ...don't make things difficult too .....don't know where on earth she gets so many people to buy the babylegs, managed to spend US600++ so many pairs and see until I blur cos' many colors and very nice
...managed to find from my mum that she has lobangs from those "mommies" from her working place lah ...she works in the childcare, I forgot .....she must be "promoting" the babylegs so that she can get free shipping ....haiz ....anyway she also saved 10% more on those leggings cos' she ordered so many and they decided to give discounts ....she was "bloody" happy when she got them cos' she only buy for about S$10 per pair ....also good lah ... I save some money too as I also order some for Ethan .......I told my mum "xiao, sin so hot wear babylegs..." know what my mum said ...."yo...you don't know ah? ...sometimes early in the morning especially raining days...very cold one ah...." ya hor...I keep thinking Sin very hot ...forget about the raining part ....haaaa...... maybe because when I visit Sin, it seldom rains and always HOT HOT HOT!!! .....

Is there anything that I miss ah??? never get to read thread also ....
Wow! only know Yany's snacks look soooo yummy!!! Have baking oven but NEVER bake, only use oven for heating up pizza, and also roast turkey for Thanksgiving Day only .....sorry for such long grandmother story ya .....

yo...all the babies are so cute...they have grown so much liao .....Yany, you make me drool when I look at your food .... feel motivated to bake too, but with Ethan sticking to me like glue....hard to bake too ....haiz ......when he naps, I try to nap

shane, u sound like you had a hectic time!!!! take care of yourself and remember to try to rest too!

u very good mummie! so dedicated

tinkabel,
matt is so CUTE with the froggy swimming costume. i got a tigger costume but my HB dun wanna let Jovan wear

ueno,
hope L is much better already. u take care too.

langlao,
take care & drink lots of water.

mambobb,
did u get my PM?

grace,
ash looks v eager to eat the goodies u r going to give her.

k@ye,
Claire is so chubby! i wan to pinch her cheeks!

ShaneDiao,
long time no "see". wow u sound super busy. good wife & mummy. i v lazy mummy. never do flash card & never grind rice or cook porridge for Jovan. he still eating rice cereal or brown rice for staple. haven tasted oat or barley yet. then i always let him eat the same veg / fruit puree for the whole week =P

Carrier:
Jovan will lick the carrier too. tink at tis stage, they'll lick anything & everything tat's near their mouth! me & HB went shopping & we took turns to carry Jovan (without the carrier) coz wan him to see see look look more. then we both went home with wet sleeves coz Jo was licking/biting our sleeves all the time. hahaha. it was quite a funny sight. HB with wet right sleeve & mine was left side.

Carrots:
yah my mother told me tat she heard the saying tat giving too much carrots will turn the babies yellow. dunno how true. but i rem tat carrots has high nitrate content so must be cautious when giving it to them for the first time. anyway i purreed some carrots last nite. giving it to Jo today. oh my mother told me my uncle (my mother's brother) was allergic to carrots leh. strange, first time i heard pple allergic to carrots.
http://www.wholesomebabyfood.com/nitratearticle.htm

<font color="0000ff">mummies,
wat is the recommended time i can store pureed food in the fridge (not freezer)?
sian leh, my HB forbid me from freezing food for baby coz he think it's too "cooling". anyone heard or encounter this?</font>

dreamer/catherine
ya lor ...very hectic and busy weeks
...I got no choice leh ...Ethan has reacion on commercial rice cereal
so got to grind lor ..what to do...I also hiam very ma fun ..but I want him to try the rice cereal leh ....my HB just bought one 10 lbs organic brown rice ...*faint* ...his 2 lbs finishing soon ...so will be busy grinding, and sieving again ...haiz ......I just prepare the flash card first and do with him when I have more time ....he seems to be very impatience liao ...try flashing with him some words, he looked away ...*bang head*

shane, at least ethan is eating
! all your efforts no go to waste!

my kaira -- to date tried normal rice cereal and barley cereal and both -- she eat a bit then don't want liao! very sianzzz one ...

then yesterday went for her jabs ...yesterday and today no want to eat liao ...

i see the way she eats i also not motivated to go and puree foods for her ;p so demotivating!! heehee ... cos she always take a few spoonfuls then stop liao ... she seems to prefer her milk ... altho she always "chewing" and wanting to eat our food. when it's her own food...she dun want.... your ethan finishing 2lbs of grinded brown rice ... very good!!!

i don't even have a blender at home. went to buy commercial foods for her...but haven't given them to her yet. mebbe later this week when she's in a better mood ....then i go buy blender ....

dreamer

he is not eating a lot leh... I only give him one tablespoon of brown rice, and always take him very long to finish
....initially he was so motivated to eat, but now I realize he kind of sian already ...gave him avocado this afternoon but he gave me that "want to puke" look ....didn't finished too
....maybe your girl has no appetite due to her jab ..can try later when she is better .... ya, better get a blender cos' even I grind the rice until super fine hor, sometimes he eats also like want to puke like that ...maybe I gave him too much at a time .....but give him too little in a spoon, feed until I and him also want to fall asleep ...like today, he eats until he dozed off, left a little bit of rice cereal so bo bian got to throw and put him down to sleep ...haiz....

Catherine, yalor... Alot of ppl wants to pinch her cheeks!

Shane, wow u have such a busy time!!! Do take care of urself!!! Let Ethan take a bit of time to get used to eating...

Wow, ur SIL champion buy so much Babylegs, scully she set up a BP in this thread to sell! I only put on Babylegs for Claire in air con places.

Dreamer, takes a while for babies to get used to eating. Initially Claire also dun want to eat, after a while, she s ok. Somehow, they hv this mentality... My baby food not nice, Papa &amp; Mama's food tastier... Which is true!

Wah ShaneDiao,
I feel tired for you after reading about your road trip. That's why I opt not to drive back to Ipoh with 3 kids. I can go crazy if they start acting up in a confined space! hahaha
Re organic food... they are so expensive! That's why can only afford to feed Kyra and not the whole family... lol. Good to know the Ethan's eczema is controllable with food

Grace,
Ash can still fit into the bumbo nicely

yes... am trying to temp mommies to bake moawhahahaha

K@ye,
Claire has such kissable full lips! hehehehe
I bet you can't get enough of those

NewMummy,
My oven is more than 10 years old from Technogas. Not too bad and quite easy to use. If you are really planning to use the oven a lot, I would suggest get a mid size oven. Most oven comes with all the basic function so that's ok. I am not an expert by far..... so paiseh people asking for advise

Cat,
Never heard of freezing food is too "cooling" but then again, I'm very "ang moh pai" type. My other 2 "babies" grew up on those freezer cubes food purees. My opnion, feezing food when they are freshly bought and cooked are healthier than cooking veg that has sat in the fridge a few days... kwim?
Ah well... just MHO. Remember... I'm no expert!

mummies, i ordering stuff from www.forgetmenotkids.com again ... if u want to order, juz let me know, we combine. they have int'l shipping promo now US$20 flat (according to their email lah).

k@ye -- i hope she starts to like eating soon... cos i really quite demotivated

k@ye
envy your claire eats 5 scoop of rice cereal leh ...Ethan only eat 1 tablespoon cannot take it liao .. now he has patterns eating too ...first time sit on Bumboo still o.k. can feed him , then later he began to fidget..so change to sit in the car seat to feed him ...now carseat he also fidget and fuss, so got to change to carry him on my lap to feed him ..so far so good sitting on the lap ...haiz...

By the way, went to Seattle to visit my friend and saw her feeding her 9 month old girl with a feeding spoon and all the cereal is in the feeding spoon and she just press and the cereal will come out from the tip of spoon ....never use plate to feed ...kind of cool ....see if I can search the web for the spoon..

Yany, u re not the first one to comment on her kissable lips. My colleagues commented on it when she is just a newborn. Thank god, her lips are nicer than mine &amp; my hubby!

Shane, no need to envy me lah... Different babies different pattern!