(2007/11) November MTBs

Jaclyn
I am one of the steel heart mommy ...heeee...same here, my heart drops when he was crying 2 hours continuously, and rested for 2 min, and continued crying for another 2 hours ......haiz...I think it's all worth it cos' he is sleeping through after about 1 week training...

Ethan sleeps at 10.30pm and wakes up 9.30am .. didn't really follow GF method religiously but I guess I am too lazy to wake up at 7am and wake him at at 7am too ....so let him sleep ....Ethan has been feding on 1 time cereal per day, and oday his poop was like dark brown and solid long, and stink.. ...no longer watery kind liao ...I guess it's due to solid food?? He poos once every 2 days, and checked with PD who said it's normal..they don't have to poo everyday ....

burping
I only burp when he is drinking milk, but I didn't burp him when he takes cereal ...don't know must burp or not so never burp him
...but hor after eating his cereal, he never burp himself leh ...don't know if it's o.k. ...

gloomybear
so cute ...arielle's boobooing ...Ethan started his boo-ing when he was 3.5 months, and now never boos liao ....kind of miss his boo-boo-ing ...haaaa...

Jaclyn / ShaneDiao,
i tried the cry-out method only once. wanted Jovan to learn to get to sleep on his own. tat day at bedtime, i just cradle him for a while & put him in his cot while he's still awake. at first he "eee eee aaah aaah", then become crying then wailing. i sat beside his cot & kept sing his bedtime lullaby also no use. he cried for 30mins until those "no-sound" type of cry. i couldn't take it & picked him up. he like v sad & still cried for another 10mins. so the 2 of u leave the room & let baby cry out or stay beside ur babies? it's used at bedtime or when they wake up at nite?

Twiggy no prob. Happy feeding Joseph his yummy cereals.

Dreamer: Last feed
as for the nite feed or dream feed you can either try not feeding but if she wakes up earlier than norm u can try slowly cutting back the amt by 30ml instead.
For me i use to dream feed after a while lazy I jus wait for her to "call" and recently after she started solids for abt 1 wk she has not woken up for milk and still slept till 630/7am.

Weishy: "crawling all over"
Ha my gal is like urs she can end up at the other end of the bed in the middle of the nite. Wen we place her in the cot to rest she'll play and move around 360! If not norm both our gals will be little weirdos?:p

Jacklyn:
my gal also cat naps in the daytime 15 mins / 30mins. Quite frustrating at times cos cant do much things. But thankfully she sleeps from 8pm-7am we kind of put her in routine wen she abt 2-3mths. But I dun do the cry it out method cant tahan la.

Tink if u ladies wan to train them to sleep must be consistent everynite follow same "steps" for bed but must be patient cant expect within 2-3 days to succeed. Mummy who have succeeded correct me if I'm sala. : P

Wat I do is after "dinner" feed bring her into the room all dark calm her down by carrying her up against shoulder humming/singing a lullaby tune (same every nite) stroke her back once she starts to yawn slowly craddle her and pat her. She likes to rub her little pillow agst her face after 5mins she's off to lala land.. pat / wait a while longer place her to bed semi-asleep.

But there will be some difficult days as well but if I try to make her zz she cry and fuss I will place her back on her bed and tell her ok u dun wan to zz I leave u alone. I'll walk away let her be after sometime she cry out I go back ask her if she wan me to help her zz carry her and pat her she fall asleep... all the many pattern!!

Not sure if ur tried rubbing ru yee oil. Sometimes it helps my daughter to zzz esp those fussy days! I call it magic oil.

Sori abit longwinded cos tink i wont be able to check post the rest fo the day.

langlao,
i will give L porridge when i introduce protein in 1mth's time. But i've tried making porridge using that method n i think its good. I will not mix the puree into the porridge though. Prefer to give fish or meat porridge separately.

Catherine,
If you want to use the cry it out method, I read that u let the baby cry for say 15 min, then u go into the room, pat pat the baby and assure him of your presence, but don't carry them. Do that for say 5 mins, then go out again. Next time, bb cries, let him cry for 20 min, then u go into the room, pat pat him but dont carry. Do this repeatedly, prolonging the time u take to get to him when he starts to cry, but each time reduce the time you pat pat him. Slowly, they will learn. But don;t let him cry too long, without going to him. I hear it's also no good, but for their throats and psychologically. Hope it works.

S@L,
thanks for ordering the toilet trainer. Il pay u the money 1st then maybe u can pass to u on our next gathering? Dont think il drive to Pasir ris for that hehe..is it ok? Maybe we can plan for a "all mums" only gathering? On weekday evenings or weekend high tea? anyone interested?

Catherine
At 3.5 months, I put him in the "yo muah" to sleep in his room, and I have another single bed beside his "yo muah". I didn't leave the room but stay in that bed.. he was crying hard at first but I told myself I got to be steel heart otherwise, there is no end for me cos' he kept waking up many times in the night before I trained him ...I couldn't take it liao cos' everyday sleepless nights and health affected me too. ..as I keep having migraine when not enough sleep ...so bo bian if my health affected I couldn't take care of him properly also ....initally he slept from 11.30pm and then will zun zun wake up at 2am or 3am ...and then after feeding him for a while he slept and then at 4am he would wake up again...fed him again and slept, and again 6 am woke up again ...wow!! How to tahan like that, wake up every 2 hours!!!! So train him loh ...I suffered for about 1 week until my heart "pained, dropped, broke" when he cried ...but after that his cries got less and less each time ......now sleep thru; liao ...but now he sleeps with us instead of the "yo muah"....

tinkabel
actually some theories I read it says doing the cry out loud method doesn't affect baby psychologically, ...I guess it depends who is writing the books...those who don't like cry out loud method will say it will affect baby psychologically ....so mommies have to decide what works best for their babies and their belief loh .... maybe my mum let us cry out loud and all of us grew up o.k. leh ...haaaa....psychologically no problem leh ...heeeee.... so I guess I am using my mum's method also to train Ethan ....heeee.....evil mommy me .....

Gathering on 19th May Monday (PH), Globetrotters (United Sq #02-02) @ 2.30pm. Reservation under MS LONG. So far, we have :
1) Yany
2) Mambobb + bb
3) Langlao + bb (no need hi chair)
4) S@L + bb
5) Gemini
6) - plumsource (cancel)
7) Cactusnah + bb
8) - baby40 (cancel)
9) skye skye
10) grace
11) dreamer@hk + bb
12) ueno + bb (no need hi chair)
13) poissons + bb

Sorry ladies, I can't make it to the gathering!! Hb also has last minute biz plan so I'm stuck with 3 kids. Hope you all have a wonderful time and update us with the photos!

Langlao, my Mum used 1/2 cup of white rice (soaked overnight), 2 pieces of pork + carrot and all throw in the slow cooker and cooked till the porridge soft soft. She will then mash up the carrot and mix with the porridge. She dun let Claire eat the meat.

If she dun use carrot, she will cook the vegggie first. Then use the veggie water to cook the porridge.

re: burping
my HB still burp chloe after milk feeds and lazy mommy only does it occasionally and sometimes she doesn't burp so just let her sit upright or put her in her rocker chair. sometimes she will burp herself, sometime doesnt.

re: crying to sleep
i can't do that coz heart pain.. but so far my gal still ok, her sleeping routine quite stable unless we go out and come back late. normal wkdays i make sure she sleep between 8-8.30pm; usually she will be in lala land by 8.15pm after her shake head, scratch stuffs, pillow cover face, legs thumping, pacifier sucking routine :D

but unlike some babies, chloe still wakes up around midnite or wee hours, making some noise if she has dropped her pacifier. if she had milk earlier at 6pm, then i will give her dream feed at this time. otherwise, it's a bit of H2O and the pacifier; then back to sleep.

re: lower milk intake
these 2 days chloe's milk intake is getting lesser. yesterday she had milk at 530pm, then last feed around 8pm before sleep. 2am woke up but didnt wana drink when HB fed her. and dis mrng 7pm she also refuse milk... What's happening??? HB is worried said if this continue, my chloe's going be "Ms Olive Oil" liao (popeye's gf the super skinny one). is it coz she's starting to teething liao? she'd rather bite her pacifier & toys!!! argh...

Oh ya, i got the U-Like Blender from Iseta yesterday, $69.90+10% off. Soooo.... happy!!!

now can experiment with all sorts of puree for my gal liao
ahahaa...

RE: NEstle NAN HA2
Any mummies using this FM to feed their babies? Claire refused to drink and my Mum taste the milk and says its bitter. Any feedback from the Mummies here?

RE: 360 turn
Claire also same. Now best part, she will wake up, flip over and do YOGA (Child pose)..... After a while, she will start to sing song to wake us up!

Anyone interested in taking over my Beco butterfly carrier? I don't think I will use it as much as I first thought! Still brand new in box. Pony Express print. PM me if you're interested.

kitty- welcome to the u club. happy blending!!
not drinking tink its one of those fussy days... My gal one time only drink wen zzz if not she du wan.
I see u becomin spree queen2? haha

kittybride
Ethan's milk intake dropped a lot for a week (took like 10-12 ounce per day), and we took him to see PD who advised us to let him have solid food on Sunday- he wasn't 6 month yet. So Ethan has been taking the ERS Si Sheng cereal for 5 days liao (1 time cereal per day)...and his appetite increases so much....now his milk intake goes back to his normal liao...+ the cereal some more...like today he drinks 4 ounces milk then 2 scoop cereal + FM ,and then 2 more ounce of FM again.... wow !couldn't believe my eyes man....

K@ye

I'm having that also. Yes, abit bitter but she's ok with it though.

plumsource

think the sept mummies looking for it. You wanna try posting there?

Gemini19, okie. I tot the milk powder gone haywired or what..... Sigh, might change to another brand milk powder if she still dun drink it. Or like what the HK PD says, a phrase where she refused to drink milk?

Kitty, Claire also going to be Popeye's girlfren soon.

Guess my daughter is like me, picky on food! Was wondering now picky on food, then when she grows up.. HOw how???

cry it out:
I leave the room after following the bedtime routine (drink milk, eat family dinner, bathe and prayer) Last time I tried the graduated method meaning check on him after 15 min and lengthen gradually the time I go in to check on him. but he will cry with renewed gusto whenever I go in so I stopped going in. I think every baby is diff so follow your instincts. if you're happy with the way things are and baby's happy too, then no problem la...

err... so sorry but is it ok for me to go for the outing on Monday? so far no one has replied...

wanna check, i wanna start aaron on cereal liaoz tis weekend...
can i give both puree and cereal or shld i juz give cereal first??
btw, can someone enlighten me where to get organic fruits/veg??
im staying in the east..

thanks hor!

kitty: i have PM you on my orders on PP
.. was checking out yest and wondering when I can order thru the spree... heehee.. lucky have you..

dreamer: you want to order PP too.. haha..

S@L: will email you the color of the bow shortly.

today me half day.. going to msia to visit my grandma.. so wont be checking the thread till tues.. oh boy.. must be very long thread to catch up by the time i return.. heehee

zzz,
i gave cereals first (2 teaspoons) for 1 week, then the following week starts to intro purees. think organic or non-organic still ok to feed lah, i cldnt find in the cold storage and ntuc i went, so juz bought the normal types and feed him. afterall, we are all fed with non-organic food so no issues la.

Ok... so here goes. very nervous... first time doing such things... heh heh... looking forward to seeing all of you and your babies!

1) Yany
2) Mambobb + bb
4) S@L + bb
5) Gemini
6) - plumsource (cancel)
7) Cactusnah + bb
8) - baby40 (cancel)
9) skye skye
10) grace
11) dreamer@hk + bb
13) poissons + bb
14) jaclyn + bb

RE: crying in the night
According to research, most babies are capable of sleeping through the night esp after they have started on solids. When Joash cries in the night, we wait for 15 min before making milk for him cos sometimes he goes back to sleep after a while. After many trial and errors with giving him water and patting him back to sleep if he cries continuosly, My hubby and i realised that if he wakes up in the night (which happens once in a while) and does not goes back to sleep, he is hungry and needs a dream feed to tahan till morning.

tinkabel,
thanks! i rem u let Matt cry when he woke up at nite. i was wondering if i should start the cry-it-out method when he wakes up at nite OR at his bedtime. he still needs us to cradle & rock him to sleep. v tiring.

ShaneDiao,
Jovan sleeps in his cot in his own room. i will sleep on the bed beside his cot. Jovan also wake up every 2hrs usually 1,3,5am or 2,4,6am. realised he dun need milk. he need help (water, cradle & rock) to get back to sleep.

mummies (whose babies sleep thru),
does ur babies need to be coaxed to sleep at bedtime? or ur babies are able to settle themselves to sleep? i read some books & websites. most say tat it's normal for babies wakes up a few times at nite. those tat "sleep thru" are those tat r able to settle themselves to sleep

kittybride,
i also got the U-Like blender from Isetan yday. i just grab the package from the demo counter & went to cashier to pay. din even look at the demo. the crowd is SO scary!

mummies, i'm going to the gathering, with my monster Jovan!
hopefully he see ur babies all so guai (sleep-thru the nite), he'll learn from them. hahahaa

Gathering on 19th May Monday (PH), Globetrotters (United Sq #02-02) @ 2.30pm. Reservation under MS LONG. So far, we have :
1) Yany
2) Mambobb + bb
4) S@L + bb
5) Gemini
6) - plumsource (cancel)
7) Cactusnah + bb
8) - baby40 (cancel)
9) skye skye
10) grace
11) dreamer@hk + bb
13) poissons + bb
14) jaclyn + bb
15) catherine + bb

shop and save has organic ones... the brand is called "Zenxin" Thank God I have an organic food shop right next to my block so I'm fortunate that way but organic stuff are soooo EXPENSIVE! Will burn a hole in our pockets if everything must be organic... I only bother with veg cos got more insecticides and veg tends to aborb stuff more easily

Catherine
My PD told me that babies need to learn the skill of self soothing to sleep by themselves, so I try not to pat, sing song, or anything that coax him to sleep liao ...I used to do that and it became a habit for him and need us to pat him, sing song to him ...so he learns to sleep by himself ...it's a skill that he needs to acquire according to my PD.....

re: crying it out method
i tried it before abt when Eliza was 6-8weeks. tried it for bedtime twice and i cannot tahan. it only took her 1/2hr - 1 hr to cry. the second time i decided i don't want to ever do it to her again. when she sleeps i find that her heart's racing like mad...not really comfortable with that, like stressful sleep.

re: first food
I started Eliza on baby cereal yesterday...i tried the Beallamy one..not much taste leh..and it was quite messy cos she doesn't really know how to swallow it. dunno how much to feed her tho, now juz feeding her to let her taste & learn how to swallow only.

Catherine
ya ya ..same here, last time Ethan also the same...he just needs the skill to soothe himself to sleep ...some bbs sleep well with binky cos' bbs have this sucking instinct in them and kind of suck to soothe themselves to sleep, some suck thumb ...some just fall asleep like that ...For Ethan, I refused to give him any binky since birth, and he had problem falling asleep by himself initially ...but over time he learns, I saw him a few times trying to sleep, but jerk a little and he woke up, and tried to fall asleep and jerk again ...slowly he learns liao ..After his routine, I put him on bed when he feels sleepy, and sometimes he will cry a little but I just ignore cos' I know he is trying to sleep ..then slowly he falls asleep .... in the middle of the night he will wake up but I just ignore, and he falls asleep by himself ....ya, it's perfectly normal to wake up for night feed according to my PD even though by 3-4 months bbs should sleep thru' liao ...but the waking up shouldn't be that frequent ....if once, still o.k. ..

<font color="0000ff">mummies, all colours for the toilet trainer is OOS!

Only have the orders for the potty. FOr mummies who ordered the potties, pls TT your payment to me. thanks</font>

catherine,
Eliza only officially slept thru w/o waking up (or me waking up) 3 times...gosh i can count! else, it's usually once in the night needing me to coax her to zz, i don't carry her up tho. i read that it's natural for bbs to wake up in the night coz their REM sleep is shorter than us adults, and then they dun really have the maturity to know how to self-soothe. anyways co-sleeping helps me when i'm just too sleepy or lazy or tired to keep getting out of bed in the night to coax her to zz, cos most of the time i dun remember 'waking up' and i'll pat her or hug her to zz.
it's her hands lah..dunno why everytime must scratch her head, scratch the bed/pillow, wave it everywhere and then she cry. she hasn't needed milk at night for a long long time le.

felt that bb needed to sleep on their own previously, but then i guess like a developental stages, each bb has their own time..so i'm quite fine patting her to zz, or rocking her to zz..heh..if i leave her alone to sleep on it'll take me ages to get her to zz

S@l, when the toilet trainer will have stock? Nvm, i still can wait.. Not urgent...

Re:sleeping thru the night
Claire now can sleep thru the night and wake up at 4-5am for her milk, keeping fingers crossed that she keeps up with it and sleep even later!

I also accompany her to sleep, main aim is to prevent her from scratching. Other than that, she is capable of sleeping by herself.

Skye², u should get Sandra Boynton's "Going to Bed" book. It is very good, i try to read to Claire every nite before she goes to sleep!

I'm very upset leh. I made sweet potato puree for my DD this wk and she doesnt like it. Today I made carrot puree she also doesnt like it. She's also rejecting the rice cereal. I dunno what I have done wrong. I feel so discouraged. Can you mummies share with me how u make those purees. I'm giving her Heinz rice cereal, tried giving her Frisocrem rice cereal just now too. But she also rejected. I really dunno what went wrong....

hi Jay dun be upset...

U jus started? I made sweet potato yesterday and hazel also didnt take it well. Tink its too dry. But I gave her pumkin, apple and cereal all ok.
For purees I jus steam the fruit/veg, once soft take it out and blend till its smooth w/o lumps.

How and wen do u feed her? I place her on her bouncer wif a pillow behind to prop her up abit cos at first I put her on the bumbo seat and she didnt take the cereal well.

Jay, dun worry lah... Babies are like that... Most babies will like sweet stuff but my daughter only likes sour stuff! The poached apples that i gave her, she will reject if it dun hv a sourish taste....

catherine,
i hv to rock/pat my girl to sleep (in hands) before she will fall asleep... tried lying her down in her cot, but she will juz wake up and start playing... many times after her feed, i tot she's asleep already, but once i put her down, eyes immediately open liao... haiz... i also dunno how to train her...

like many other bbies here, although she 'sleeps through' the night, she still wakes up many times in the night (not for milk), but fussing or cos pacifier dropped (not in mouth anymore) or whatsoever reasons... hv to force myself to get up to pat her/ put back the pacifier before she sleeps again... this can happen almost every hour in the night!

i think having ur little ones sleeping by your side has it's pros... i used to do that for my elder girl... she sleeps between me and hb and it was very convenient to juz pat her whenever she fuss in the night... and i don't remember her having to wake up so frequent in the night at all! but i realised the down-side of it is that she always need to have a person next to her when sleeping! even though i have shifted her to another room, she will need daddy to accompany her to sleep... when she happen to wake up in the middle of the night or early morning, she NEEDS to see that someone next to her, else will start to cry... haiz... that's why i'm trying to make sure that i get Bevis to sleep by herself in her cot!

k@ye,
er... i sort of like regretted giving my girl apples yesterday... was very ambitious and tried to give her the apple (by scrapping the flesh directly and without steaming/poaching)... she took a few mouthful and can tell that she doesn't really like it... after which i stopped... who knows juz a while later, she puke up milk curds (she had milk an hour ago)... sigh... feel so guilty... dunno if it's the tinge of sourness that made her throw up the milk

Hi Poochi,

I started cereal 2 wks ago. She loved it then. Also holding the spoon when I was abt to put it into her mouth. I will usually steam the veg then blend. When I blend the veg, I'll add some water too. Maybe I shouldnt add water when blending?

I feed her for lunch and dinner. I usually put her on the bumbo seat to feed. Can someone pls tell me what I hv done wrong? Or how I can improve???

mambobb,

got your orders liao.

k@ye,
wat happen to claire? how come wana slim down like chloe? :D

catherine,
i purposely take half day leave to go shop til i drop... hehehee... really almost wana drop lugging the items around, the U-Like blender quite heavy!!! i ask my fren to grab for me while i was still on the mrt going down! ahaha... then went to see the demo, ask the lady blend brown rice show me, very fine! just like the nestle brown rice texture!
so happy with this purchase!!!

ya, crowd is like crazy... me oso shop like crazy coz long time never shop w my frenz liao since chloe's birth! :D i got ice-cube tray wif lid for only $2.10!!!! dun know the size but slightly smaller than 1oz i thk. but beta than nothing lah, can keep 1 tray carrot puree, 1 tray potatoe puree... etc etc...

so many thgs didnt buy! a bit regret leaving early for catch up session wif my girlfrenz! ahaha...

Baby40, I give broccoli to my daughter. I only use the floretts in porridge. You can also give spinach (the ones with red leaves are better).

plim,
I think its still too early to give them raw fruits. She could be throwing up coz the raw texture is quite hard (even if it is fine). Try steaming and puree. Some babies like a more wattery texture like my DD.

Jay,
try not to introduce new foods daily for a few reason.. but mainly to watch if any allergy arise. Sometimes, the allergy doesn't show till a day later.

It could be that she likes cereal more. What I would suggest is, add the pureed food into the cereal (little by little) so she could get used to the taste. Also, make sure the texture is the same as when you prepare the cereal.

Just my thoughts on introducing new food

Sometimes, instead of steaming, I use a little water and cook the food. I would puree all togther to get a runnier texture!

Jay,

Dun get discourage. Did you steam/boil before you feed your baby?

I started off with rice cereals before moving on to purees.

When making purees, I will peel it, cut into cubes then steam.. I add water before blending them. (some people steam first, peel and cut). It is quite soft and my baby enjoy it.

Sigh.. Had a big fuss with mum. He let my baby had brown rice porridge the other day. When I brought him home, he had problem sleeping and kept crying.

After a while, he pooed and in his poo, there are a lot of brown rice hunks. The next day, I told my mum not to give so much brown rice, try to mix it with normal white rice. Then in the afternoon when I called her, she said she cook all brown rice for my baby again.
I told her shouldn't do tat, must mixed. She got angry and said she wont cook b.rice anymore.. next time she will just cook plain white rice porridge and slam down my phone

My hubby asked me to apologize to her after tat. Then she told me it is okay to cook all brown rice.

Is that so? I google a bit and read it is okay to give brown rice, but must seived it. Now I dare not tell her to seived it before giving my baby. Am afriad she will get angry again.

But so far, my mum has been very cooperative, following feeding schedule, dun carry baby too much, dun anyhow apply things/lotions on him. Am I really that demanding?

Jay, I usually cut sweet potatoes or potatoes into smaller cubes and steam them in the rice cooker. It take about 20 minutes to half hour. After that, I mash up with fork and add a little bit of warm water to smoothen the texture. My daughter loves it when I add the Heinz beef puree to it.

Starlight, I feed my daughter with brown rice, grain type and not powder form but I do mix with a little white grain. My MIL buys the 'Song He' brand, small packet because baby eats very little.

My girlfriend told me brown rice is good for strengthening the legs, besides the healthy part. Her elder son didn't take brown rice but her younger one was on total brown rice and she could see the difference.

By the way, brown rice cooks pretty fast.

sstarlight,

sorry to hear abt your little tiff w ur mom.
you're not demanding, only wanting the best for your baby, dat's all.... all moms are like dat!

wat i can suggest maybe you buy those seived/better quality brown rice then pass to your mom. at least you know the cooking part is no prob since you mom surely know how to cook, only the ingredients/preparation part needs extra care.

i intend to start doing puree and bring over to the nanny's every day so that all she has to do is prepare the cereal (cereal powder + water/milk) and then add in the vege puree. i dun want her to do it coz not sure how is her style but obviously not up to my expectation.

so in order to prevent any issues on feeding bb semi-solid, etc, i'd rather do it myself. coz both HB &amp; I don't really 'appreciate' her way of feeding my gal!

hope this helps!