(2007/11) November MTBs

Larryle, i forced feed Claire water at least 3oz of water every morning (that's the water parade). I do it on weekends while my Mum does it for me during my working days.

Reason being, Claire has eczema and is heaty by nature. So more water is good for her and her skin.

RE: BECO Carrier
To all the ladies out who have this carrier, can this carrier be folded and put inside a bag? And hor roughly what is the size like?

Kitty/k@ye: my bb likes to scratch her head when she is hot.. and will pull her own hair O_O".. now she has short & "chang chang" hair abt 2cm aft a hair cut on her 4mth.. she still able to pull.. pengz~... my ger also likes to put things inside her mouth but hor she only puts those "new things" which she never see/touch before wor~...

BECO carrier:
The carrier can be folded and put inside the bag.. but it is still quite long due to the waist belt and the shoulder pad.. the size arh.. hmm.. length slightly longer than A4, width abt 20cm+/- depending on how you fold it.. maybe S@L can give better advise here.. heehee.. i just used once and give it a wash liao coz its new..

yany/plim
ya, I am still BFing...I hope it's the glands..doctor says not neccessary to scan since the lump disappears, but need to go again if lump appears ....and then will do a scan

pig07
I was asking my friend yesterday about photoshop, and said it costs about 1K, she says it's a very good software for pictures, and photoshop elements is cheap aout 1-2 hundreds, and sometimes it comes with the camera you buy so kind of free I think ...I have the photoshop elements cos' my hb bought a camera that comes with it... I can help you edit Kiros' "sai" ...you can copy one of his pictures and I will try to delete if I can.... and then I can send you back the edited copy ....But I will try lah ....you can send to my email - [email protected] ....

poissons - wow seh!! Garreth so big ah!! 1.5 times Ethan....tinklebel, I think Ethan is the smallest and the lightest liao lah ...he is only 6.4 at 5.5 months
...haiz ....now hoping after eating cereal he will "pong kong" ....and be chubby ...haiz...

dreamer@hk/plim
wah!! your girl can crawl already .and plim: your girl can crawl backwards ah?? steady leh......Ethan still lying down position all the time ...haiz ...

bbs' weight
looks like all babies are heavier than Ethan leh ...he dranks a lot when he was in Sin cos' very hot and he drank lots of milk and water ..once we came back , he is no longer chubby liao ...never drinks as much .....haiz.... only 6.4kg (14lbs) at 5.5 months
....doesn't look like 5 months though I think look more like 3-4 months baby

Jaclyn
Joash is cute
...I was so encouraged by your bedtime prayer for Joash.. I did pray for goodnite sleep in the beginning, and somehow slack...haiz....

Mambobb, hehe... Claire likes to scratch her head and i try not to let her scratch. Think at this stage, everything also into the mouth... Claire likes to put blankets and hankies into her mouth!

Oh, the BECO carrier can be folded good leh. I want to get something to replace my babybjorn Air as Claire is getting heavier and the bjorn is killing my shoulders liao... Hopefully can fold till its very compact like my babybjorn

Shane, in HK, there is this herbal tea for babies to drink when they dun hv the appetite. Its called "Kai nai cha".. I go home and check to see what re the ingredients and mabbe u can get it from the Chinese medical hall in US.

Basically, u use the tea as a subsitute for water and used it to make FM. It also aids in eczema but the moment Claire drinks it, she will flare up. Later, her skin will be better and her flare ups are like reduced.

Jaclyn,
one of my friend always caution me when i feed brocolli to my bb as brocolli tends to create 'wind'... so they were saying, the trick is to just use the florets part (not the stem as it is usually the stem tat creates 'wind') to puree... but remember to wash very clean hor, cos got a lot of insecticide (my MIL says so... haha), unless u get the organic ones, i think safer...

shane,
ya, i dunno she crawl or what, but she always 'lun' until the edge lor and she moves backwards!
it's such a battle trying to change her nowadays as she will keep turning and turning and turning!
don't worry, Ethan will be able to turn soon... it's a matter of time niah... u will be surprised when he starts to do more than one thing at a certain time!

hehe..ladies, just when I was complaining that my boy still doesn't know how to flip, he finally flipped yday! and not only once, he keep on flipping non-stop, so funny!

1419826.jpg

1419827.jpg

langlao: haha.. I just put the carrier into the washer bag and dump inside the washing machine.. haha.. too lazy to handwah.. me lazy type de.. if can do auto, i will opt for that.. keke.. but I think there is instructions stated cannot spin dry.. not too sure.. after the machine wash, i got the carrier out and just hang dry, and spin dry the rest of the clothing.. :p

hey hey... congrats!!
Kids are very cute. Once they learn a new trick, they keep doing it till its no longer fun. Then they move on to something new... lol.

kaye,
yeh, me and hubby both are tall, me 1.7m, hubby 1.83m. actually garreth boy doesn't look very "pong", mabye it's his bones that are heavy.

plim,
yupz, his weight kinda slowed down a little, he used to put on 1-2kg every month, but this time round at 1.5mths later, he only gained 1kg. also good lah..he's wearing L and XL clothes liao..diaper size is L for huggies and ntuc brand is XL!!

Tinkabel: No prob, my HB can help take pictures of Matt if u trust his skill. He loves to go to the zoo & bird park to take animals and scenic view, so still consider an amateur for indoor shoots. Think the troublesome part is the setting up of the equip & lightings. Hmm...will bug him to take more pic for Eagan, shld be ok by the time u come bk. Hee hee...

Wrt babylegs. I dun usually let him wear rompers when we go shopping coz feel a little "incomplete", but with the bbleg, i can. Now, all his pants and jeans are getting too tight, so will let him wear romper w/bbleg till i get more bottoms for him.

Scratch Head: My boy is always scratching his head and pulling his ear. Just the other day i saw some blood stains on his pillow case, must be him scratching when sleeping. Ke lian...

Just bght a high chair for Eagan. Now that he can sit in the high chair, me, HB & my MIL can finally sit together for dinner rather than taking turn. Eagan can watch us eat. Ha ha...

Carrier: Seems like Baby Bjourn carrier is not a gd investment. So many of u "abandoned" it and switch to Beco.

Wrt washing the carrier. Sigh..i washed my babyrock carrier and the colour ran out a bit. So sad, probably u all shld soak it in vinegar first before washing it just in case the colour runs off.

Poissons, congrats! Yup, Garreth is not very pong more like big boned.

Any babies here also like to bounce up and down?

Claire likes to do that when we put her sitting on our laps. When in the Jumperoo or walker, she will also do it... In the Jumperoo, she will jump with glee & laughter....

Somehow, i think she inherit my tomboy ways!

re: walker
seems like quite a few of you here have put ur babies in walkers already? wat would be the guideline age or criteria before we can put them in walker without compromising on the negative effects of like 'slouching', etc.? i can't recall when i put my elder gal in walker leh... but for Bevis hor, i see that she always wants to be carried and always likes to 'stand'! doesn't like sitting down or lying down for long periods of time, so am thinking is this the 'right' time to put her in walker now??

k@ye, my girl doesn't bounce up and down when i carry her leh, but my mum said that she does it soemtimes when she carries her...
another of my friend's son, was bouncing up and down at 4-5 mths age!

walker:
I was told by the nurse from polyclinic when i brought my ger for her jab.. she mentioned not to give walker to her coz it will affect her hip bones, no pacifier for her if possible coz it will affect her teeth. I dont know its her own opinion or wat, but I didnt get any walker for my ger.. for the pacifier, i only give her when she is getting sleepy.. sometimes she can sleep without it..

Hi Shandiao

Dun be disheartened abt Ethan's weight k? My jaydyn weighs abt 6kg at 6mths. Her height n weight are at 10percentile only. But I'm fine with tt. As long as she's growing n thriving. Dun think so much abt his weight. Think and rejoice abt his milestones rather. Think it will make u happier. Remember happy mummy= happy baby!

walker will really affect baby's hip bones? My parents insist of it leh, they wanted to buy one for her so I thought might as well I go and buy so I can choose those I thought is better....

Re: Walker
I let Claire used it for 1 mth liao. Usually, we dun let her sit for too long... Also, at times she will make noise to get out of the walker.

IMO, Jumperoo is similiar to Walker except that it is stationary. I guess Walker is dangerous coz the baby is on a rampage and sometimes they might go too fast and bump into things that might hurt themselves.

If wanna buy walker, try to get those w/o too much wheels. Claire's walker has only 4 wheels. Hers is Chicco DJ Walker.

jaclyn,
welcome on board!
will put your blog onto my blogroll

joash is cute and is drinking a lot hor... hee hee... and so good he can sit up without much asistance!

i used to say nite prayers before putting chloe in her cot but lately have been slightly slacking liao... guess must buck up liao since HB isn't a christian & responsibility lies on my shoulder now that chloe's baptised! oohhh... i'm a lazy catholic!!!

k@ye,
i think it's this statement "The baby's legs are not straight when "walking" in the walker. The hips and knees are bent and he will tend to walk on tiptoe. This causes him to use and develop the wrong leg muscles for walking. Such abnormal walking pattern may be difficult to correct even when he is out of the walker."

re: blog
wa, seems like so many of you hv blogs! i attempted to do mine so many moons ago and am still stuck at the 1st post! wahahahha... how to find time to do? need to read thread, check out the BPs, etc., no time leh... hohohoh....

Plim, hehe... Thanks for the highlight. Anyway, my hubby and I will put Claire's feet firmly on the ground and let her bounce up & down.

Can't remember where i read, babies who bounce up & down are good coz it is part of their development for walking... Hopefully, my arms can take it and mabbe develop a small mouse instead of being flabby!

Jaclyn, i also link ur blog to mine!

mambo/ K@ye,I dun put BECO in my bag cos my diaper bag is very small. I usually roll up liao will clip onto my bag's handle. so its hanging outside the bag. otherwise i usually ask my hubby to wear ard his waist lo. in fact tt was the recommended way of stowing it away when not in use.

Plim, do it once a week like me lo..hahhaha i hv alot of back dated posts and i do it at one go per week....its ok la. for ur own records only. dun need to do it daily although that will be more meaningful.

Jaclyn,
welcome here! checked out yr blog briefly (cos i'm typing this in my office now..i don't normally do that but today i'm so free..shuushh). i think i've seen your hb b4 in church or campus but i can't seem to figure out where. is he frm CCC?

Hi mommies, regarding walker - I'm deliberating about buying a walker. My son used it and didn't learn to walk until 15 months. So I'm thinking of doing a little experiment with Natalie, without the walker. Then again, being alone at home with her, I sometimes run out of things to do with her. So how? Buy or don't buy ah?

Hey mommies who blog, me also started blogging since I became SAHM. Now I'm a little more tech savvy. It's a good to way to journal down special moments. But very difficult to find time as well since Natalie has started taking 2 solid meals daily recently, plus got to manage some housework too. Fortunately, having a part-time helper to come once a week alleviates a bit. So I try to update once a week too.

My blog - www.jules-memoir.blogspot.com

Hi Shanediao,
Thanks.. i will email you a pic. Thanks.

Hi Poissons,
Wow.. at the mention of it and Garreth can flip liao..gong xi gong xi..

Gelyn, Jules, Yany,
Wow! Great to know there are quite a few diver mummies here! Gelyn, thanks for the note on Malapascua. My hubby really wants to see thresher so maybe we'll go there next. Is it all year round can see threshers? Sipadan was very good, saw lots of turtles, sharks and barracudas in tordedo formation etc. I need another diving holiday!! Haha..

K@ye,
Thanks for sharing with me about feeding rice. I just tried today. Gave about one teaspoon of rice mixed with 30ml of milk. He finished more than half of it alhtough he gave funny yucks face. Then I gave him 150ml more milk so he'll be full. Question : Do you try to gradually increase the amount of rice and reduce the amount of milk so that eventually that feed is replaced by only solids? I'm trying to do that for his 11am feed at the moment.

RE : Gina Ford book on weaning
Any mummy has the Gina Ford book on how to introduce solids to baby? Can share with me what it says about the first week? I'm looking for the book but in the meantime need to know what to give him.

mummies, can i ask how to transit to stage 2 milk?

juz change ? or mix stage 1 and stage 2 milk? if mix, how to do that?

kaira on nan ha 1, she turning 6 months next wed. will be letting her progress to nan ha 2....

jules, i dun think the walker has got anything to do with becoming slow walkers.....

I really think its a lifesaver! at least for my case cos no helper at home and when i really need to 'park' her and do some work/chores. I also dun hv much choice cos my mum takes care of Mischa most of the time and she needs to do her husework as well. Mischa being a more 'touchy' baby, needs constant attention, so the walker allows her to move freely ard the hse and less cranky. jus sharing my tots

Catherine, Jovan has ur smile leh!

Twiggy, gradually increase the amount of cereal till replacing 1-2 milk feeds with solid. Currently, Claire on cereal & porridge for 2 feeds.

Dreamer, the switch of milk powder is like this. If Kaira is drinking Nan HA 1 5 times a day, u switched like 4 times Nan HA 1 and 1 time Nan HA 2 and u switched gradually till 5 times is Nan HA 2. CANNOT mix the milk powder!

Twiggy I have the book but its at home...But roughly for 6mths old bb 1st week:
1-2 teasp cereal wif milk for lunch + milk for Day 1-2
1-2 tablesp fruit/veg for lunch, 1-2teasp cereal wif milk for evening for Day 3-4
1-2 tablesp veg + 1-2teasp cereal for lunch, 1-2teasp cereal wif milk + 1 tablesp fruit for evening for Day 5-6
1-2 tablesp veg+ 1-2teasp cereal for for lunch, 3-4teasp cereal wif milk + 1 tablesp fruit for evening for Day 7

Her method says to feed milk first than the solids and top up milk if needed. Slowly reduce the 11am feed to 120-15ml. The rest of feed is 180-240ml. First week try to introduce a variety of vegetables and fruits.

Hope this is helpful, cos I 'm following her method to a certain extent.

been so long since i came in to chat. this thread is really so active, almost lost track.

hi Shanediao and Jay
i think our babies can shake hand. my gal is only 6.2kg at 5.5months. But kinda agree with Jay that as long as she is thriving should be fine. My baby has reached many milestones. She has started calling 'mama, mama' few days back

S@L, is Mischa on walker now? Can put our babies on walker already ah? My girlfriend who's SAHM, totally without help, also say same thing. She swears by the walker. Then another say don't get cos baby will not learn to walk early. So I also very confused.

k@ye
o.k. ...now every night he will cry cos' very itchy for him. He keeps scratching his face before he sleeps ...I am not sure if it's due to the solid food that i started two days ago, maybe his body can't take it yet...he hasn't 6 month though but PD said can take solid already leh though his eczema is pretty serious .... I called his PD and was told that I could take yogurt so that when he drink my BM, it helps in reducing the flare ...now I am trying to eat yogurt everyday, and hopes it will help ....let me know the tea, and see I can find it here to let him drink ...

jay
Thanks for the encouragement ... I am worried cos' I thought boys will generally drink more than girl...but he's not drinking as much ...haiz...ya lor like what you said happy mum = happy baby....I try not to think about his weight so much ...hopefully this Friday when I go to the clinic to weigh him again, his weight will increase lor...haiz....

Catherine
congrats ..6 month liao ..starting solid food ??? .haaa....

walker
I am surprised that baby walker doesn't help baby acquire walking skills...didn't we were brought up using walker too???? Anyway, my hb discourages me getting one .....

Jules, yes she's on walker already. U have to feel comfortable to start ur bb. I am happy with the 'freedom' in fact. Cos Mischa cannot stay too long in the jumperoo. but the walker she could stay much longer.

I believe in it cos i have nt seen the cons of using one.

since everyone's sharing their blogs, here's mine : http://gohfamily-threeisnotacrowd.blogspot.com/

not fair la..keep reading all of your blogs but never share mine

Re: Walker
I wanted to get one for baby garreth also but my mum discouraged (surprisingly!). but my MIL has loaned one from her frens and she's parking it permanently at her place cos' she's expecting us to bring my boy over to her place EVERY SUNDAY. Urgggh.

poochi, just have a question. I thought it is wise to introduce different foods to the baby one by one in case there is an allergy, and we will be able to identify which one causes the allergy. Only after a few days each food is intro and bb has no huge reaction, we can mix the foods previously introduced. I haven't read this book by gina ford but it seems strange that for the 1st week, we intro a variety of foods to the baby. I did some ready up, and probably intro a new food every 3-4 days once I make sure he is ok. So far, he's tried rice cereal and sweet potato. I am going to move on to carrots next.

Shane, its so funny... My PD advised no yoghurt for Claire whereas urs says its ok for the eczema.... I tell u all the different ideas of PD.

Jules, dun be confused by the idea of walker. It depends on what exactly you wear. The only problem of walker is the baby is on the rampage. Ie Baby causing damage to the rest of family. My Mum told me that sometimes Claire's walker banged into her legs....

As my Mum is the main caregiver for Claire, if the walker can lighten my Mum's burden. I m fine with it coz i also grew up using the walker.

Like Mischa, Claire likes to move around and best part move to the door and see whether she can go out!

Poissons, I will link ur blog to mine. Hehe, my MIL also wants to see Claire every Sunday. She already not happy that i brought Claire to HK for 3 weeks...... Quoting my Mum's words, "Your in laws have every right to see their grandchild but you can always tell them to accomodate their visiting hours to ur timing!"

Any mummies here give ur bbs try the brown rice powder from Eu Ren Sheng?

I put 2 scoops of the powder, using FM spoon and mix with water (Is it too much?). Then I heat it up before giving it to my bb. Am I doing the correct way? I just add hot water when the paste is too thick...

Sorry to intrude this thread.
I am selling my THERMOS Leak-Proof Food Jar B3000PK2 (blue) coz I find it too small. Used only once, selling at $28. Interested pls email me [email protected]
collection :parkway

tinkabel: Sori for confusion.. hee
yes yes u shd introduce the same fruit/veg for a few days before moving to new one. But for 6 mths old she says u can move faster no need wait 4 days.

For example on Day 3-4 u give apple for lunch and no reaction for Day 5-6 u can give apple for the evening fruit. Ok let me go home and type out the actual menu ok?!

kaye,
yeh, i know my in laws are entitled to see their grandson, but i find that they might have been gone abit overboard cos they will "kidnap" my son on sunday afternoons and only "return" him back to me in the evening, leaving us not much bonding time together (where wkends are most precious since I don't need to work and can spend all my time with him). When I say that I wanna go over to their place with my son, she will ask me to stay at home and "do my things" or ask me to "rest". See lah, want my son, dun want me. And like my recent trip, the moment I left for the airport, she called my mom up and wanted to bring my son out to showcase to her frens. On Sat, she kidnapped my son again and wanted him to stay overnight at her place. I was so pissed that I told my hubby to call her up and say NO NO. Sigh..in laws!!