(2007/11) November MTBs

kittybride,
ya, my gal most of the time can finish up her 130-140ml EBM... except for cetain times when she 'throw tantrum' cos we speak too loud or the sister come and 'kachiau' her... lol...

re: freezer cubes
i just bought those normal ice cube trays with cover... think very cheap niah... was supposed to find out where they sell, but cannot remember liao, bought so long ago... mayb can try out Daiso like wat S@L mentioned...

oh, somebody mentioned about bellamy rice cereal (or sthg like tat)... it's organic is it? where can i get it in sgp? i'll prob try to give her cereal next wkend after she turns 6 mths on the 12th!

plim, i got bellamy's from NTUC. there was a promo 2 weeks ago

Mambo the carriers jus reached my doorstep!
i ordered on the 26th!

thanks gemini, i juz received it @ 330pm!

tell u all sthg, before visitng this forum, i din even know ice cube trays come with cover ... lol .... when i read about it here... i am like *tats new* ... aiyo so "sua ku" .... hahaha

Gelyn
Agree with you, must find challenging entertainment and also educational stuff too.. I read to him, sing songs with actions, do music with him using pots and pans, do flashcards, do sign language with him, watch bb Einstein together, do PE on the jumperoo and tummy time...run out of ideas too, but normally I repeat the activities, and he enjoys it very much...recently I have been teaching him the word "mobile" and was kind of surprised to know that even though he can't talk...when I asked him "Ethan, where is the mobile?". He can actually look in the direction of the mobile .... At first I thought it's just coincidence that he looked towards the mobile, but after 30 min, I went into his room again, and asked the same question, and again he turned his head and looked at the mobile ....I am so inspired that I did some flashcards in Chinese ...heeee...tomorrow I am going to try asking him the same question again ...kekeke...ya ya ..must lay down condition first ...heeee...

regarding the ice cube tray
wow!! very ex leh ...don't need so fancy lah...now got extra mouth to feed must save money loh ...since SAHM, I agree with Gemini19's mum, prepare fresh immediate intake more nutrientious I think...and will try to do all organic food for Ethan too cos' of his eczema..don't think it's good to freeze organic stuff leh ....but the cubes seems convenient for FTWM to heat up ....

Gemini, another reason for babies not finishing their milk now is they re at the Curious George stage so they get distracted easily, thus not finishing their milk...

Claire is now 6.5 mths liao, still no signs of teeth... So the baby biscuits, i bought for her still cannot be used.

Shane, my sis teaches Claire about the word, Music. So whenever, we said Music, Claire will look at her walker with the music toy.

Shane,
Read from the thread that you live in the US, my husband will be posted there soon. Intention is to let my hubby go end july and i'll bring my son over later end Aug. Can i check how your vaccinations are done and if it's the same as in Singapore?

And experienced mummies who have travelled already... With the long flight and by that time my son will be about 9mths old, what do you think i should prepare? My son need A LOT of entertainment and walking around. thing is... if he cries continously i'll get thos stares quite stressed about flying with him actually. Am desperate enough to want to ask his pead the next time he takes his jab to see if there's any meicine he can take so that he can sleep most of the time cos i'm a bit afraid that he'll feel uncomfortable too.
Sigh.. stress and kan cheong.. not a v good combination.

Suzanne, dun worry too much. I can't advise u much coz my flight was 3.5 hours. But one tip is to try to have transit flights, so that u wont be so overwhelmed by being stuck on board the flight.

As for crying and stuff, its no choice. Even if ppl give u the stare, at most just ignore ignore. I think u can ask the PD for those sleeping pills to knock the kids out. That's what my colleague did.

Tinkabel: I also bght big big bibs for Eagan in preparation for his solid meals. Bght 1 very sweet ballerina bib for my niece and tried on Eagan. My hubby scolded me upside down. ha ha...

Cactusnah,
haha you did the "UNacceptable" thing. Wear gal's stuff on boys. haha.

Suzanne,
Dun worry too much. I brought Matt back to Shanghai with us when he was 3 months. He missed his nap before that, so he slept throughout. Either that or give him a pacifier to help alleviate the pressure in the ears or give breast also can. But I figure at 9 months, probably harder to handle. I did hear about the medicine to take to put baby to bed for the flights, but I think if ok, better dun take la. Dun worry too much. for all you know, your baby will be ok

As for jabs, just bring your health booklet along. And ask abt the brands that u were taking so that the PD in US can follow up. but i figured at 9 months, you prob wld hv done most of your jabs required for the 1st year, so shdnt be too much of a worry.

I almost had to get my sis to buy and bring over cos I couldnt find back the same brand of rotavirus. But luckily I managed to in the end.

Cactus, hehe... I dun understand what's the big hooha coming from the father about putting on gal's stuff on boys!!!

My bro being the youngest and having 2 sisters played with Barbie, my Dad was so fierce about it! He s worried that his only son will become a sissy.... Guess what, my bro is so Man now!! Noone will tot that he played with Barbie b4! But one thing, he still loves soft toys!

Hi Kaye, really worried leh especially those ppl who are not parents you know will surely stare and stuff. Transit will stop over but the total travelling hours are v long. Well there a few options Sing - Narita, Narita-LA,LA-Phoenix. Of Sing-LA, LA - Phoenix. Still researching on the timing.

Tinkabel, ya didn't think about getting the brand of the vaccination! Thanks for telling. YA trying not to give him the med that makes him knock out but maybe will get from PD as a standby in case he really gets uncomfortable i am abit worried about the air in the plane too. Not breastfeeding so have to bring bottle but i bought the playtex bottle liners and the nurser so that i don't have to pack so many bottles, just sterilise the teat.

9 mths dunno if he can still fit into the bassinet, thinking whether to pay for the extra seat for him.

Any other tips welcome! Want to find out as much as possible before the looong flight.

RE: ice cubes
I bought at mothercare. $8 for 8 1 oz freezer pots. can also use in microwave. I saw bigger ones thr too.

Gemini, the doc also says nx review at 1 yr old.

RE: barley
my fren told me baby shd take the big chinese barley. Can use the barley water to mix with formula instead of using water.

Hi pig07 the barley i use is chinese pearl barley.glad he lives it cos they need water la.....salivating,crying ,playing all use up alot of water....plain water not a favour for my girl......even by adding alittle bit of apple juice or prune juice......haiz

oct mummies v onz leh, another outing line up again.
we nov mummies only shop shop shop heehee.

ueno, my distant nephew went to the gymboree class with u. saw u n leroy in their blog

k@ye
I find bbs do know a lot of words already, just that they can't talk yet, so got to use their eyes...last time didn't really notice much, now I try to observe his eyes to see if he understands me or not....ya ya ..same here I am also trying to teach the word music..., now I try to speak to him in Teochew and Hokkien, hoping he will understand when he grows up..here no grandparents to speak dialect to him, so got to speak to him ...haiz..don't want the dialects to stop at our generations .....

Suzanne
I went back Sin when Ethan was 3 months, and the almost 20 hrs flight is terrible for him cos' he has serious eczema and will scratch and fuss a lot as the air is very dry in the plane...going there is not too bad as he sleeps most of the time. But coming back, he was like crying most of the time ...bo bian leh ...got bb is like that lah ...people stared loh and I also no choice leh, don't worry too much and give yourself too much stress...it may not be as bad as you think ....you got to check with the airline about the bassinet cos' the length may not fit your 9 month old ...and there is weight constraint too ...Ethan is born in US and he only got his 2 weeks old vaccination and at 3 month we brought him back Sin without any other vaccination, and I am not sure if it's the same as in Sin ...I never check on the brand though ...I guess by 9 month, most major vaccine should be done liao ...but make sure you bring along the vaccine record cos' your bb may need other vaccine as they are older, and if you and hb are staying in US in the long run, at least you can show the PD in US what vaccine your bb has taken already ..... I guess it's better not for bb to take any medication for them to sleep ...cos' it may not be good for them though it's o.k. to take ...I will not take unless he really needs it badly ...and also once reach US, cos' of jetlag, and bb has to adjust again ...very xiong for them too ...I travelled with Ethan at 3 months, haven't reach 9 months so don't know what it's like to travel with a 9 months old leh...it depends what they like and what amuse your bb, just bring that along and pray that your bb will be entertained with those ...don't worry too much loh...it may not be as bad as you think .....I am also worried like you cos' we MAYBE going back to visit this coming year end, and Ethan will be 1 liao, and also nervous how he will react this time if we are going ....so you will be in Arizona....good..good ...very near Vegas...about 4 hours drive down ...can go jackpot every weekend ...hheeee.....it's very hot during Summer, can be hotter than Sin ...when there once during summer ...wah piang!! the heat was so intense that my skin feels tender when touch ....machiam roast pig like that end of the day .....must use tons of sunblock ...night will be very cold though ....

cactus
agree with k@ye, what's wrong with gal's stuff for boys ..?? My friend's boy love pink...and everything must be in pink ....I also let my boy wear pink ...he looks so sweet ...heeeee...there was once I let him wear pink and go out, people say "she is so sweet" ....wear pink must be girl meh ....people just jump into conclusion ...mindset is still the same...I don't buy the idea of only letting boys to play or wear boys stuff .... I think we shouldn't stereotype anymore in this 21st century ....like pink is for girl, blue is for boys ....boys need to learn that it's o.k. to play with dolls, having girlish colors, having sewing kits or cooking sets..I realize that people see it's o.k. for girls to play with boys' stuff and not vice versa ....

are you guys planning to have a mass Nov birthday parties for all your kids ah????

Cat:

Sorry, missed yr post coz too many to follow up over the weekend. First of all, sayang and hugz hugz (aiyoh, i can feel yr bones). Hee...i remember u're the skinnest amongst the rest whom met up at Merchant court for buffet dinner during our preggy time. Hopefully u can take gd care of yrself, physically and mentally to "bu" back yr "ying yang".

SAHM & ~!@#$%^&* boss
Like what the rest advised, u really have to think thru if being a SAHM suits u. Else, the situation may get worst. Guess if u can get a gd and realiable nanny, most of yr trouble will be solved. Coz nw seems like everything is putting a toll on u and u cant really concentrate and do yr wk. Plus, yr unreasonable and heartless boss asking u to stay bk after wk is making things worst. Settle things one at a time, try to get a gd nanny to take over from yr mum. Then she can continue to cook for yr dad and whenever they're free, they can drop by to see/play with Jovan. Guess that makes u less guilty esp yr dad wasnt feeling quite well months ago if i rem correctly. Perhaps by settling Jovan with a realiable nanny, u can better concentrate on yr wk and shut yr boss out! IF, u're still unhappy with yr job & boss, then start looking for new job. One thing at a time, dun stress yrself again with new nanny and new job at the same time.

Just to share. I recently changed a new job and is much happier. Not that i dun like my previous job and co., my bosses were great but i just needed a more pro family co and here i'm, a much happier person

tiffs with HB
It's no gd if two starts shouting at each other, it doesnt resolve the problem, only to make it worst. And, nw that Jovan starts to be more alert, it's not going to be healthy to quarrel in front of him.

Why not write to yr hubby to convey hw u feel if u two cant talk things out at this moment. Put the letter under his pillow or somewhere he'll see. Best if he can read it at night when he feels calmer. But, will not suggest this as a long term communication tool for couple. However, think u need to put the message across to him before u really breakdown.

Paisei for the long post. Ignore my suggestions if u find it unrealistic. Just my thots. Be happy, ok

Weishy, did u put any sugar in the barley water that u boiled for Hayley?

Shane, Claire is taken care by my Mum so she understands Cantonese. Whenever i talked to Claire in Cantonese, my in laws will give the buey song look. I was like WTF, they can also speak to Claire in Hokkien. Guess what, now i will declare right in front of them that my hubby dun speak to Claire in Hokkien!

Suzanne, i think got bigger bassinet but must double check with the airline. My last trip to HK, there is another toddler on board. Her bassinet seems to be bigger than mine. Anyway, Claire doesn't like to be in the bassinet coz its too small and its quite dusty too.

k@ye
How nice got ILs to speak dialects to Claire...why ah? why your in laws give you the buey song look for what? They can talk to
Claire in Cantonese, you cannot meh? yo..it's better for bbs to learn more language and dialects too ....last time when my niece was born, my brother instructed my mother not to talk to my niece in Teochew and Mandarin ...how not to speak??? my parents do not know English le ...xiao ...my brother ...my mother doesn't care just speak to her in Chinese and Teochew ....now can understand and speak Mandarin but only understand Teochew not speak .....

ya ya agree the bassinet is actually a paperbox and they put pillows for cushioning ...

Rice Cereal:
dear all mummies, i have intro rice cereal to my girl for the past 2 nights.. heehee.. cant wait till her touch 6mths... 15th may.. but only gave her 1 scoop to try... no mess at all.. so happy.. but hor.. got a question, it stated 4 tablespoon with 200ml.. what kind of tablespoon? now i am using the scoop which scoop the FM.. how to estimate?

Shane, my ILs are Hokkien... They buey song i speak to Claire in Cantonese and never speak to her in Hokkien. I myself dun even know how to speak or understand HOkkien except those swear words. Then my hubby also never teach Claire Hokkien, give me that kind of buey song look for what!

Plus, the thing is Claire responds better to Cantonese. That's y my ILs buey song. I also speak to Claire in Mandarin & English and i cut down on baby talk. I talked to Claire as if she is like an adult too.

K@ye & Shane: The coverall bib is not only in pink, it's like a dress with lace. That's why the fuss from my HB. Actually, it's not my idea, it's my MIL's! Wait till i upload the photo, hopefully Eagan dun blame me for cross dressing him. Ha...

Hi Shane, wow 20hrs.. i will ask his Peads next monday when he takes his 6mth jab more about the meads don't want to give med too unless really necessary. I know should be quite shiong for babies especially with the time diff. And i also scared i will also be very tired as well and get 'mang chang'.

Ya Arizona's going to be hot hot hot! and i can't stand hot! my son also don't like hot! Think my electrical bills are goign to be v high cos will be turning on my air-condition most of the time. Now looking for apartment there, 1st criteria is must have air-con and heating system.

oh kaye didn't know there's bigger bassinet. Good thing you told me that it's dusty. I will bring my own towel or cloth to cover then. heard bassinets are not v comfortable.

Hehe the cantonese thing also applies to me. My son understands cantonese cos my grandma speaks to him in cantonese. my MIL will always try to incorporate some hokkien into her converstaion but too bad, my son dosen't response. Who ask her? Only come when it's convenient for her don't make an effort.

Cactus, no wonder the fuss... But, i think all the mothers are "evil". My Mum also let my bro wear a dress b4... My bro cried as he dun want to wear the dress... My bro was not even 1 yr old then....

Remember to upload the pix hor!

Suzanne, yup the bassinet is really dusty... The air stewardess will put their blanket to line it first and then ask me whether i got blanket and put it in also.

Suzanne, i think if u re like me, very impatient type... Most likely will get tired and become "mang chang".....

Mambobb, i also used the milk powder scoop for the rice cereal!

Mambobb, i put in 5 scoops milk powder & 1 scoop rice cereal. Whereas my Mum, will put in 6 scoops of milk powder and 2 scoops of rice cereal.

Oh, just something to share. My Sis has taught Claire on how to kiss people! When we put our face near to her and asked her to kiss, she will put her mouth on our cheek! Now, I m teaching to kiss on the lips hahah!

ShaneDiao
So cute! He already know what is mobile! You to do so many things with your BB till I feel guilty. I tried to read to him while he is sitting on my lap but he will try to reach out and grab the book and put into his mouth! Normally I just sing to him but no action. I think he must thinking that mummy so boring…hahaha…
Recently, I also ask him to sing song with me and there he go hmm hum till I finish. Anyway, is the sign language good? Maybe I should go and check it out. :) After what you had said, I am inspired by you to try more stuffs. Yup, should try asking him the same question again…Heehee
That's one things about SAHM, have more time to play and teach BB new stuffs. I only have weekend. Weekday…only if he is not sleeping early then I will have time to play with him.

Ice Cube Tray: now I got the idea what is really for. My mil prefer to prepare fresh one and she also stop me from buying those puree that we can get from NTUC. To her, its preserved food hence its not good. Unless, I wanna feed him over the weekend. Morever, my boy’s skin is abit sensitive so better be on the safe side.

k@ye: yest i put 1 scoop rice cereal & 1 scoop FM with 30ml water. its already look quite watery, if 5 scoops FM with 1 scoop rice cereal, isn't it more watery? Are we suppose to give watery type or sticky type?

k@ye:the barley just boil for abt 20 to 30 mins,no need to add sugar and dun boil too long,will get heaty if overcooked.

well the bassinet in cx is oki size(freshly washed every flight) and there's a weight requirement,reason being its supposed to be for infants and the table top for the bassinet if u notice is a fold down table which cant take alot of weight.(do at ur own risks,cos sometimes parents insist and let their babies jump on it!!!!so.......
take care and read carefully,their respective websites should hv.yes those bassinet are not very comfy...well we're in a air plane mah.....constrainted space......

its just like when i hv every pax asking me for straits times.....which we sometimes hv 367 pax in total.......how to hv 367 copies of newspapers le?and with so many types of it.....including from hk etc.....then we'll hv no space for pax then.......it'll be a cargo flt lor.best is to bring everything ourselves.....never know sometimes they dun even hv potable water etc......tap water frm toilet is not potable my dear friends

S@L: its cute and nice... wanted to order one pc for my girl but hor.. after considering cannot pass down to no.2 if I have.. then waste of $$ liao.

btw, may I know when should i change the bottle teats? currently my DD is using size M ever since she is born till now... should I change to Large size for her?

Weishy, thanks!

The bassinet for SQ dun have a table top. My fren told me that when she took UA. The bassinet is just placed directly on the floor!

k@ye
yes!!yes!! ..can baby talk but not too much, afterall they like to listen to their baby talk ...heee... and must integrate adult talk to the conversation as well....use more language and they will learn more vocab ....Oh! It's your mum who speaks to Claire in Cantonese, and your MIL is Hokkien ...I read too fast..misunderstood ....good good good ..speak cantonese ...here in US cantonese is considered as Language ....so if you can speak English, Mandarin, and Cantonese ..that means you already know 3 languages ....heeee...

Gelyn
ask him again today ...heeee...he looked at the mobile ...haaa...yooo don't have to feel guilty lah ...just do what you can to help your bb learn...all kids learn differently..same here ..Ethan also tries to reac out for the books, but hor I don't put too near to him, and also when I read I use a lot of animated and high pitch voice, and bbs love that ...Ethan likes to see me act like a clown ...he will keep laughing ...ya..bbs loves action ...so sing songs with action like "If you know it clap your hands, itsy bitsy spider, head and shoulder knee and toes, Old mac donald had a farm ..etc" I always sing songs and think of my own action and he will keep laughing ...haaa....I don't mind to be clown to entertain him ..haaa... oh ya! my friend taught her DD sign language when she was two weeks old and her DD knows lots of sign already, now 9 months old ..I know sign language and got to sign with my hearing-impaired friends when I was in Sin...maybe I am so used to it liao, and sometimes I sign to my hb too ...the middle finger ..haaaa.... use simple signs... I teach him signs like "more", "water", "milk" "mommy", "daddy",
"play", "music", "stop", "yes" , "no", "drink", "book" and lots more ....he hasn't mastered all the signs but whenever I ask him "Ethan do you want .....(I never say milk but I sign "milk"), he will kick his legs very hard, and wave his hands down like bye bye to indicate "yes" .... and after reading or singing, I ask him if he wants more ....I will see his reaction ...if he signs "more" then I will read or sing one more time ...if he doesn't, then I will say "o.k. no more"....sign language is good for bbs who can't speak yet and yet want to communicate their needs to us ...and hopefully we can understand our bbs better thru' signs as they can't speak ...yes!! yes! ...do more stuff with your bb if you can..and you will be amazed that they really learn fast...must stimulate their brains to produce more neurons ...heeee.... yo.... now that my hb agrees to let Ethan to go out so that he is exposed to more people hor ..now every weekend, we go out liao, I also never really do stuff with Ethan on weekends, Sat and Sun free for him and me ....... so don't worry FTWM also can do stuff with their bbs on weekends, just that you have to sacrifice shopping and outing and stay at home whole day to do fun stuff with your bbs ....

k@ye
you are right ...it's on the floor ..that's why when we went back in Feb, we didn't want to choose UA cos' they are not baby friendly, so we chose NWA, and the bassinet is hooked on the wall kind ....

mambobb, got it, replied to u too

shane, ethan very clever
of course, mummy also put in effort
me, i think i am a very "slack" stay at home mum .... hahaha ... better dun say how slack i am ... paiseh liao .... =P think i better buck up ... hahahaha.

suzanne
are you migrating to Arizona? If you do come by Washington, let me know o.k....if not maybe see you in Vegas ...heeee.....