(2007/11) November MTBs

What foods have you all been feeding your little ones? I am not very adventurous. Just started her on Heinz Rice Cereal (add BM) and also the Heinz jar of vanilla custard with banana....

The pink dress is a gift, and so is the white romper. I love the white romper... It came in rolled up in a plastic drink container, with the lid and all but without straw. It looks very much like milk from far!!!! It advocates drinking milk. The front says "Will Work for milk" and the back, just beneath the collar, it says "milk, milk, milk please...." So cute, right?

Yeah, her hair is rather curly - from my DH i'm sure. He has a certain percentage of indian blood... hee hee hee. But he is Australian...

Gotta go! Nicole is crying for her cereal...

I wanna start jaydyn on rice cereal soon but she doesn't seem interested in our adult's food. She only wanna grab and she doesn't open her mouth to indicate that she wanna eat our food leh. so does that mean that she's not ready for solids?

Jay, mabbe u try spoon feeding her and see her response.

When i fed Claire with apple for the first time, she gave me the yucks look.

Now, my Mum told me if the porridge she fed her is tasteless. She will give my Mum the yucks look!

Hey Mummies!

OG is having 20% off on ALL Baby's stuff, from toys to strollers to cots.. til 11 May, except for nett-priced items. Lucky Baby walker gg for $49.. My hb n I just had a 'wild' time shopping at OG Albert.. bought Nuby toothbrush/massager for only $4.. And Chloe is going to have new toys to play with during her bath!

kitty,
U can suggest to your hb to wait with bb at a particular pl while u do your stuff such as shopping, spa etc..

Shane,
Gd gd.. come back this Nov la. Then we all can meet up!

weishy,
Awaiting for your HK address n name of the restaurant in HK for tt roasted pigeon!

pig,
Haha. Your eyes damn sharp sia! That's one gigantic hamper which I dun need to use. Too many liao.
The pic I hv shown was her 1st trial during lunch. I din place Chloe too long in the chair. She din like, maybe too hard. After 10mins, she made noise liao. Just supported her with pillows by her sides. That same nite, I placed her on the chair again to show her daddy n she leaned 4ward n laid on the table instead. She was tired. Din spot any redness 'cos again, she din stay long on it.

baby40,
Nicole has so much hair! BEautiful~
I m not intending to start any food with her except BM. Maybe wait til she tends 6mth..

jay,
It is ok. U can try like what k@ye suggested. My hb n I tried to 'tempt' Chloe with
our food but she did not open her mouth. The only thing I find it amusing is she will be 'munching' away whenever she sees us eating, as if she is also eating!

k@ye,
Actually dun need to intro any taste (just use natural food) to our bb yet. I heard that the later u intro taste such as sweet/salt, the lesser bb will demand taste.. then can go for more natural n healthy food. *Juz to share*

Oh ya.. 1 more thing, just compared n found out that things sold at the 2 stores at Kaki Bkt Warehouse r not exactly cheaper than outside. E.g. I got the pigeon soft tip feeding spoons, meant for introducing semi-solid food to bb, at $6.20 at Kiddy Palace, 70cents cheaper if I wld have gotten it from there! I got other bb stuff I wanted cheaper @ OG during the sale now.

Yvonne
k.k....no problem, will meet up if I really can go back ......I went to a Warehouse, don't know if it's Kaki Bukit Warehouse ...bought the swing cradle, cheaper than Kiddy Palace ...quite worth it ....but got to check in the cradle as one luggage
cos' too big the packaging ....

baby40
yooooo....your girl so much hair hair ......so nice and wavy ....

fanny
your girl cute leh ....hey Ethan!!! quick crawl to mommy here and see cayenne "gum" you bo .....Ethan says "gum..gum...", and stretching head now ...so many "mei ren" hor, don't know how to choose ...."long zhong" want lah.....haaa....

ynonne,
glad that chloe has recovered fr the heat rash too. ya just try to keep the neck area as dry as possible. CB is California Baby, it is avail in dept stores but I bought fr BP & spree cos much cheaper. I put 1 tub at baby sitter & 1 at home, at home i use the CB aloe vera. both also can use at nappy area. Last mth ashlee has red spots at nappy area and PD says it's viral infecrtion and gave her some cream. I'll try look for the name later.

baby40,

woooww... love nicole's big big eyes and thick thick hair!!! compare to my chloe, is just the opposite! :D ahahaha....

yvonne,
last nite we went out liao... suppose to go JL at marina sq coz of sales (i got the flyers saying got 35% sales) but end up we went to Funan Ctr coz he wana chk out notebook... sigh... but at least went out lah... my gal oso super sian at home liao i thk

fanny,
ur gal so cute and chubby lah... wana pinch those cheeks!

re: semi-solid food
i've tried giving chloe some ystdy and lask wkend, she still have not got the hang of swallowing but is progressing.

just wana ask coz FTM (blur blur...), do you all prep according to the proportion given on the instruction? i tried a few times and the cereal usually end up so watery...
then my gal would fuss; end up mix it up in her milk feed instead. any suggestions?

kitty

i scoop 2 teaspoons of cereal, then put in water for her. But cayenne still can't finish. My mum ever says that put FM will cause phlegm and will put on extra kilos.

Shane :sorry to reply so late cos i tapped on others network hehhehe so alwasy lost it la.finally my internet connection is fixed.

K@ye,sure of cos,actually u my house is just next to CITY GATE(TUNG CHUNG MTR) hehehhe veyr near.But i dun find the stuffs there cheap loooooo,maybe becos me alwasy go Yuen long,Fa yuen street etc.....me also dun really go for branded stuffs,spend mostly on food hehheheheh.
Pls do give me a buzz or e-mail me whenever who's coming(provided i'm in HKG la).Can help to book hotel too...i hv staff rates for some mah hehehehhe.(if possible la )

The roast pigeon address :http://www.ypfood.com/en/html/article/lungwah/english
think better to Take KCR to SHATIN then change to taxi......cos quite difficult to find la,sat/sun should be crowded too.

fanny:i put cereal in my girl's milk since 4months and she's taking it well(provided using barley or rice water to mix into formula,about 350ml of it daily)

trying sweet potato today hehehheh hope oki la.

weishy

How u do the sweet potato puree? i want to try advocado, can i juz scrap the flesh and feed her or i need to steam and mash.

Have any of your babies start babbling? I like it!!!

i fed my baby sweet potato, apple, banana, papaya, pumpki, sweetcorn, potato and pear. He also took rice cereal n barley water. I made all the purees at home myself except pear n sweetcorn, cos dun have organic fresh ones.
The amt he eats is very little at the beginning. Like half an ice cube. I wanted him to taste only.
Only started giving him larger portions from this week.
but still once a day, and still supplemented with 2.5 onuces of FM.
He has likes and dislikes. he loves pumpkin, sweet potatoes, carrots apples papaya n bananas. he likes pears, not a lot... n he dislikes potatos. I am trying to look for organic avocado.. but will only try next week. I make more of the stuff that he likes and will keep trying, so as to know his 'taste'. Hahaha... i dun follow the rule of giving 1 type o food for a few days cos I prefer the other mtd of letting him taste a wide variety. portion wise, I let him decide. Once he does not show interest, i stop.

Hee... I'm a greedy mum.

Koh Gillian
Wow! you introduce so many types of food to your bb ah? My mum too...she said when bbs are introduced many types of food, they will not be fussy next time ...But too bad, my son has eczema,and the PD advises me to introduce one food at a time so that if he flares up, I will know which food he is allergic too ....I can only allow solid food when he is 6 months, 1 more month to go .....yeah!!!

FAnny,actually i didnt do it my self just instructed my DH and helper cos i'm in hkg now.
According to a canto book(about bb food written by a mummy in hk),steam the sweet potato in a bowl covered by aluminim foil,scrap out then mash :p

Koh gillian ,how old is ur son???seems like he has tried alot

how abt brocoli and cauliflower?

wow gillian ... how old ur bb ?? he has tried so many food already?

kaira hasn't tasted anything except FM and water and she's 5months+ now ... and i was thinking if i can start her on solids later ... like 6.5mths or so ...
kekeke..abit lazy... thinking of the steaming, pureeing ... very ma fan ... heehee... think i am a super duper lazy mammy... ;p

wow gillian

that's alot of variety? hold many months is your bb?

my gal is born 2nd nov, i only started rice cereal last week, and apple puree.

Dreamer,
I heard not to start too late on solid also. best is from 6 months.

gemini .. really ah? do u know any reason y? me juz curious ...

guess, i will have to start her on cereals when she turns 6 months then ... cannot "Delay" any longer... heehee ...another 3 weeks to go...

but i muz say, she;s getting hungry on a shorter and shorter interval these days!!! quite scary, looking at the amt of milk she drinks 8-|

langlao,
I have not heard of the brand before. Seems like so far the CB pdts are gd for Ashlee? How much does it cost for the aloe vera tub?

kitty,
I'm happy for u! That's 1st step.. more n more outing coming, rite? I feel that bringing our bb out is a kind of exposure to them - learn from nature =) But need to be careful of crowded places tho' cos of those dreadful diseases..

weishy,
U r working in HK?

yvonne, personally i find the CB brand quite good too... for myself! heehee
i am using the calendula cream now for the sun-induced eczema on my face ;( quite ok. at least, my face not as red as before ... and i also ordered the aloe vera cream recently! cant wait to try it! of course, i also use it on my baby

u can look @ this thread to c if there's any excess from the spree that the seller can let go.
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/1327996.html

Hi Yvonne,

Ha ha.. so i am right.. Still managed to maintain good eye sight. hahaha..

Oh ya mummies, for those of you whom used epidural during delivery, are you beginning to feel the effect of backache recently? I am beginning to have pretty bad backache and had to survive on the medicated plaster. Not sure if its the carrying of Kiros that caused the pain or epidural.

one more thing, mummies looking for Avent Teat 3. I think the stock is in. I saw many at Metro Compasspoint over the weekend. It was just last week that they have no stock still.

weishy,
Cannot open the site.. =(
Can provide the URL again?

Can't get to the pool 'cos of HFMD? I get the pool to my balcony! *hehe* Look @ Chloe..
1382946.jpg

dreamer,
Tks for sharing!
I m using my BM to apply on to her rashes.. seems workable. haha. My sis n mom taught me to do it.

Pig,
No worries. Yr eyesight still good. I think epidural may not cause backache. My sis also had epidural but she had no backpain. However, I experienced backache since confinement.. now better liao. Did u always bend over at your waist to get things? Bend your knees instead to see if your back gets better. Better b careful leh. Now that you are preg, it may worsen 'cos of the bb inside. Try to sit or lie as often as u can. Take care ah!!!

Hi Yvonne,

I was sitting on the floor with kiros the other day. I am veyr careful not to get up too suddenly adn to make sure i bend my knees..But gosh, when i lift him up, i can feel the strain at both sides of my waist liao.

And now like last time, when i sneezed or coughed, i can feel a sharp pain at the abdominal area. The same when i was preg with Kiros.

pig, yvonne, my fren told me she suffered severe back pain after using epidural so for her 2nd delivery, she braced the pain and din take any painkiller.

yesterday i carried ashlee and while sitting down hurt my back till cant move. Thr's a sharp pain, now feeling better juz cant bend.

Yvonne, I also bought the CB from Nor, she holds her BP monthly. From my observation, the calendula cream is more popular than the aloe vera. Sorry I cant find the prescription for the nappy cream.

Yvonne, u bought the neck float? Does Chloe likes it? My ashlee 1st time like the float then subsequently cry when we put it on, maybe my bath tub too swallow and no kick for her lol

Weishy, Tung Chung not bad leh. The place is new and clean as compared to my Auntie's place in Yaumatei!

Citygate outlets only cheap for certain items. Must open eyes big big during shopping! Yup, i also spend $$ on food in HK!

Kitty, u will realise once u bring Chloe out. She will be very happy and her head won;t stop turning here and there. Too much things to see!

Yvonne:ya i worked in hk for 13 yrs looooo,so me quite old liao too hehheheehhehe.Thinking of bringing my girl to hkg till she can go school(primary maybe)wnat her to be with me instead of me flying bcak 3 times a month......tiring

K@ya :ya tung chung consider quite a young area la btu still more than 10 yrs looooo

Guys,my girl used to sleep thru since 2 months but these few days (whilst me in hkg,she in sin)she kept waking up in the night and wanted to play...my fren told me its a stage....wats the cause ar?anyone knows?

Yvonne- okies added ur blog! Chole likes chilling out at the pool huh.. so cute ha ha

Sorri couldn't update u gals sooner cos no laptop on weekends. Wen for the warehouse sale there were many good bargain buys esp those FP bouncers selling at less than $50. High chairs at $80. I saw the jumperoo $100 but it was reserved! Anyways wanted to buy those rocker cum bike for Hazel but husband says too bulky buy later wen she can actually use :p in the end bought a few FP toys. Anyways lots of FP toys also got hot wheels and barbie, dora toys for older kids. Think the sale is still on...

Shane- never spoke to u before but Hi Hi.

Jay/Kitty - u gals started ur bb on solids?

Hi Poochi

I hvnt started jaydyn on solids yet. But I bought Heniz baby rice cereal. Think its without milk so wont be so sweet. I intend to start maybe end of this wk or early next wk. =) This wk I might introduce to her the concept of a spoon. hehe! Will feed her water with a spoon. Or jus put the spoon into her mouth. What about u?

Hi mommies, re: Solids

I know there's mixed thoughts about this. My MIL started my son at 4 months with one 1 porridge a day and then 2 meals at 5 months plus. My own mom says no need so early. When I was baby, she fed me solids only at 7 months.

For me, I started Natalie with rice cereal at 4 months plus. Sometimes with milk or bottle puree. 2 weeks ago, I started cooking porridge with pumpkin, carrot and fish. I also made boiled potatoes with Heinz puree (beef, carrot flavor) and Natalie loves it. I know I get her approval when she makes 'hmm, hmm' noises at each mouth. So I guess it's own preference and comfort

I also checked with PD earlier. He says it's alright to start with rice cereal at 4 months. Then recently when I brought Natalie for jab, he told me I can give 2 solid meals at 6 months.

fanny,
Avocado, just need to mash with fork n mix with milk, no need to steam. U cant freeze it, try to serve immediately, else it will turn brown.

weishy,
my boy tried broccoli n cauliflower already. I mixed them n serve with potato, its a good combi. u can try.

Poochi, how to get to the toys fair? I no car can only depend on public transport.

Gloomybear, she looks so cute in her swim suit!

Weishy, Tung Chung is still clean even though more than 10 yrs! Btw, what u worked as? KPO!

Solid:
May I know any recommendations on the feeding bowl and spoon for feeding? I saw some designs at Kiddy palace but cant decide which to get for my girl.. any advise?

1)S@L - AVA
2)Ueno -AVA
3)Gemini19 - Mia
4)Grace -- pending
5)Steph -- pending also
6) Kittybride -pending?
7) Langlao - AVA, OOS : Carnival
8) Mambobb - Sophia, OOS: Mia

Jay- Last time round wen she had fever I fed her H2O using spoon cos she didnt wan her bottle n she took it well- maybe its something new to her so she's curious.
I already bought the feeding spoon as well as healthy times brown rice cereal was tinkin of only starting wen she's 6mths. Lately she's like "bored" wif her milk but she hasn't shown any interest in our food; she loves eating her hands and blowing lots of bubbles... R u putting her on high chair? I'm considering if I shd get one.

k@ye, tink u can take a train to boon lay mrt from there take a cab- shd be abt 10mins. If not take feeder bus 192 theres a bus stop os the place. Theres a canteen beside the sales area.

poochi: my girl has shown alot of interest in our food already.. everytime when we have meals, she will stare at the food, our spoon and our mouth.. heehee.. but i am waiting for her to turn 6mths before i introduce semi-solid to her..

poochi,
i also went to the toys fair yday, so hot..I was sweating like mad! when did you go? Bought a few items, quite cheap..but heard Fri and Sat got more variety.

mambobb,
same here re solids... i check with the pd at 5 mths checkup and he said to offer her solids after 6 mths... but i noticed since 4+ or 5 mths, she is already showing a lot of interest in our food! she wld stare at the food and the person eating... very eager to eat! hohoho...

poissons,
ya man very hot. I wen on sat afternoon! My husband and bb stayed in the shade while I shop for the toys! ha ha...

dreamer: thanks for reminding =D... me forgot abt it.. guess the memory has not improving yet.. sigh..

plim: yayaya.. heehee.. she shows alot of interest and i played with her.. bad mummy.. i tried to move the food left right left right and see her reaction.. her head will move with the food too.. heehee.. naughty mummy.. hahaha

mambobb, sorry all orders placed already. But i hv not received confirmation from the supplier if they hv been shipped. BUT i m nt taking in anymore orders cos its alot of $$ involved already and the seller is willing to under declare for me so we can avoid GST. I think its too risky to under declare if the amt is too big. I hope u can understand.

Why not i pass the contact to u and u can get USD500 more orders to make FREE shipping? GEmini wants to order another pc, maybe i can ask her to place it under ur name? SHall we take this offline? u email me at :

Dreamer

My friends and colleagues are saying that the nutrients from milk is not sufficient enough for the baby after 6 mths. They need solid to thrive better, earlier is also not very good, so I try to start close to 6 months. At 6 mths, my gal needs to go for her jab, change to milk powder etc, thought too much changes so i introduce cereal when she's 5 mths 2 weeks.

Yvonne,

my gal got rashes at her bum the other time, i use the CB calendula cream on her bum, she recove quite fast. In fact, my mum and hubby also uses the cream, i think quite good leh...

ya, I also order from Nor from the BP.