(2007/11) November MTBs

phews, it took me quite a while to catch up with all the posts i've missed since tuesday. my gal got fever on monday night and then runny nose and now lotsa stuff stuck in her nose, so she's been really cranky during sleep time. need me to carry her then can sleep. (after which my PD said it's cos her head's propped up and it's more comfy to sleep that way). took her to normal clinic on tues, and tdy cos she was super cranky and suddenly couldn't even finish half her milk (normally she's quite a greedy gal), we took her to the PD. got more meds but it seems to be working better.

have been bringing her to my bed to sleep the past two days cos she's not sleeping well, and it's easier to coax her back to sleep, plus i dun need to crawl up and down my bed many times. tho, had to send hubby to sleep in the living room cos he's sick oso. any mummies here co-sleep with their babies?

i need helps...last night i accidently dropped my shampoo and it hits on my bb's head ( the shampoo was very heavy and it fell from the top cupboard, the impact was quite big)and this morning ard 3+am he vomitted quite a lot of milk. now the problem is i dun know his vomitted is it caused by the hit of the shampoo (cos eversince he was borned till now he uses to vomit a bit of milk out after every feeds, but this morning the amount he vomit was quite alot).
and this afternoon i saw him feel like want to vomit for a few times but nothing come out. anyone here can tell me is there anything wrong with my bb?

Hi Skye Skye,

Me me me. i sleep with Kiros. He is always next to me and i find it easier to pat him back to sleep or pick his pacifier.

PD med seems stronger but faster to heal the kid. You can consider putting her on car seat to sleep (tat is if she doesnt arch backward). That can help her to breathe easier. Another is to put her head over your shoulder. When a time like that comes, so heart wrenching to see the little one sick and taking medicine.

oh, once i place my boy's and part of his body on my pillow to sleep. It seemed to help him to breathe better. You can also prop her up with a bolster behind the pillow but against say wall or what for support.

Hi Rast,

i tink you better rush him to the hospital for check. Sometimes wound or what cant tell from naked eye. My sis's boy fell from cradle. He wasnt crying or what. But we also rush him to hospital for peace of mind. I suggest you dont delay anymore.

pig07,
this afternoon i take half day leave and bring him to see doctor at near by clinic, the doctor said my bb seems ok cos he still react good. but must monitor him closely if he vomit more than 3 times. what i worry is i dun know how to differetial the vomit. furthermore, i din see any bruise on his head, so i wonder is it he been scared by the sudden impact on his head or what...

cactusnah
wow...your Eagan "jin shui lou tai sian de yue" ah? not true leh ....my hb and I last time also long distance, sure can sustain lah ...

S@L
you don't like my boy too far away ah?
....o.k. loh..then I got to go for next Q liao

pig07
wow, you interval every 3 hourly, and Kiros still can sleep thru the night ....not bad liao loh.... I used to interval 3 hourly too, and he woke up middle of the night for his 3 our interval feed leh ....so stretch to 5-6 hoursly interval feed, and now he hardly wake up for night feed..occasionally still wakes up but not much liao ....so he drinks every 5-6 hours ...remember I complained that he didn't drink much .... I realized it was due to his constipation and he was sick from cold and cough past 3 weeks, and took him 1.5 weeks to recover. I realized he only drank 2-3 ounces, and I told you I change teats and also tried all methods to make him drink, and he still drank about 2-3 ounces each time ...moroon me, I kept thinking that when bb is sick he will drink more cos' he needs the milk to build up his body .....I didn't think that he is sick so drink less for him ..and he constipation also never drank much ....Past 3 days he recovered from his constipation and "wow piang" ..yesterday he gah gah drank 7 ounces one feeding!!! Never in his 4.5 months, he drinks so much !!!I think he is making up for those time that he didn't drink much ,,,haaaa.... now he at least drinking more than 3 ounce liao .... Now I stretch him 5-6 hourly feeding, and he drinks 6 ounces liao ...Hopefully he will put on weight soon ....when he was sick with cold and cough and with constipation, wow ...he is so "bamboo"

Yvonne
your Chloe also very cute leh, like S@L's Mischa...sooooo cute .....too bad S@L doesn't like her Mischa long distance relationship with my boy .....what about your Chloe??? my boy got chance boh??? haaaa...... I like her hair ...so hairy .....my boy's hair not as much ..could it be your Chloe gets over tired so can't get to sleep after that. I know my Ethan likes to play at night usually near sleeping time... I try not to play with him, and at first I didn't know, thinking ....he kept kicking his legs and smiling so much , so played with him a bit loh ...then who knows, after that he couldn't sleep, I think he "hong sim" want to play with us ....took him so long to settle down and got to sleep ...Since we know his pattern liao ...near bedtime, we make it very calm and quiet for him so that he knows that it's cue for zzzz and now he "guai guai" zzzz when it's time to zzzz maybe don't stimulate Chloe near bedtime ....have you tried that already?

Twiggy
wow , you boy wants to stand, sit or jump already ah??? I thot must crawl first ...haaaa....

skye/pig07
Ethan sleeps in the swing cradle in the night and when he wakes up at 5-6am for his feed, I put him next to me, and he continues sleeping till 10-11am ...so I wake up with him ....ya..my PD also said the same thing... propped him up so Ethan can breathe better when he kenna cold and cough 3 weeks ago...

rast
ya, maybe he is scared by the impact.. but monitor him closely as you can't detect any bruise ....

Yvonne

I do agree with you.. I think those who said SAHM "eng" hor, must be either without kids, or their kids very big liao and they forgot how tough it was to take care of them by themselves, or they have maids or MIL/mothers to help take care, or they have never taken care of bbs alone full time ....I have no help at all after my confinement, and only me and my hb in the US, so being a full time SAHM, and face Ethan 24/7, really very "bo eng" ....Ethan is high demanding kid as when I put him down, he will cry. My arms breaking liao
...he likes to be in sling, so sometimes I put him in sling and do cooking, do some housework, type email
, and not forgetting still have many bottles to wash and sterilize
...I can hear my whole back "cracking" liao ..haaaa....actually I rather work than to stay at home taking care of kid full time, but when I see him grow each day, there is a sense of satisfaction because it's something that I get to witness first and Daddy second (I will tell my hb what Ethan does each day) ... like from grinning to smiling, and then to big laughing, from sucking his finger to sucking his toes ...from blowing small bubble to blowing big raspberries ...haaa....and these are the small little things that bbs do, and it's so heart-warming to see our bbs developing each day and learn new things and we get to witness them first hand, and each time when Ethan does new thing, I will quickly use camcorder to tape down the moment...I being SAHM also no choice, no help here mah ...having said that, I still hope to get back into work force soon and put Ethan in childcare when he is slightly older ... looking after kid is very taxing, and satisfiying too , I agree

Twiggy
do you like the idea of putting Joeseph unto Bambo? I put Ethan on Bambo when I need a breather, but he will cry the minute I put him down..I am trying to distract him with more toys so that he forgets about crying when I put him down ...h.aaa.a..a

S@L
yo, see girl girl pictures cuter mah ...girl girl a lot of patterns .....nice dresses, nice hair clips, nice hairdo ....nice post ...heeee... everything so nice
How I wish I had a girl girl, can doll her up
...so many nice nice clothing out there ...so tempting to buy, but mine boy boy "sighz"...can only buy shirt,pants, shorts
nothing fancy
...girl girl hor, can one day suka suka wear dress, bo suka, then wear hot pants ....long hair, short hair also can .....

Yvonne/S@L
Your girl girl like very "toa jiat" compared to my boy ....my boy is only 5.9kg about 13 pounds
Maybe he has not been drinking a lot past 2-3 weeks ..he drank only 2-3 ounces eac feeding......Recently, he drinks 6 ounces ave ...hoepfully he will put on weight soon ...

Hallo ladies!

I m still in HK and will be back in Sg on this Sunday. Took me quite a while to read the posts.

Yup, super pissed off with SIA and the HK airport staff in general. Plus, my stewpig hubby never tried to help me from the start of the flight till landing in HK.

Claire 's eczema acted up during the flight to HK and she LS on her 2nd day in HK. Anyway, she s ok now.

Dreamer & Weishy, thanks for the info on finding the goats' milk in HK. I had actually brought Claire to see a PD in HK coz her eczema acted up and he told me that there is no need to change her milk powder and provided me with loads of information.

The variety of baby stuff in HK is really alot but it is not cheap. I had actually brought a baby walker and i dunno how the hell I can lug it back to Singapore. I m also amazed by the amount of $$ that HK ppl are willing to spend on their children!

Re: Labour experience!
Gotta salute Pig & Shane for their high pain tolerance liao!

Re: Milk Intake
I was quite surprised that there is a term, "yan nao zheng" in HK for the lesser milk take for babies from 6mths onwards. The PD told me that by 9th mth, our babies' weight should be triple the birth weight.

Skye/Pig:
I sleep with my bb too ever since she is born =D.. she slept beside me for first 2mths while my hubby slept in other room.. heehee.. now she is sleeping between us with a bb bed on top of ours.. I agree with Pig, its easier for us to pat her to sleep if she turns and toss around, and pick her pacifier.. it will be too tiring for me to walk to the cot and do all these stuff and go back to sleep again. Sometimes she can turn towards me until her face touch my face.. heehee.. so cute.. and i like to sleep with her like that too..

Rast:
I think its better to go and check your bb up. Better be kiasu then sorry..

S@L:
Your bb Mischa has alot of hair hor.. My bb Cailyn only grows her hair on the top part only.. so I went to cut her hair again on her 4th mth.. heehee.. at least i see more even hair growth for her liao.. quite a few ppl said she looks like ah boy.. -_O".. even i put her in pink romper or dress.. Have been trying to find hairband for her.. saw ur spree liao.. but I am looking those cloth type, like we use for face wash. Any idea where can i get it?

Want to pose my bb pic too but think twice, hold back the idea.. haha.. want to wait for her hair to grow more first..

I salute those SAHM, I really do. After my maternity leave, I actually felt glad that I can go back to work (I am not a workaholic though), but at the same time felt guilty that I can't spend much time with my boy boy. It's indeed very taxing to take care of a newborn, esp if without help.

Since I am back to work, I make sure I don't bring work home. And I go back on time everyday, no OT for me. So I can spend at least few hours of quality time with my baby before he goes to bed at around 10pm. Luckily I have a very understanding boss. That makes all the different. But my hubby always have to work OT, always home late, and sometime even have to work on weekends. So whenever he is at home, I will let the daddy and baby spend thier quality time, won't disturb them, so that daddy will not miss out anything.

Here a photo of my baby boy when he was 12 weeks old.
1364525.jpg

shane, ya long dist relationship very tough la...my gal will get lonely le..then ur boy go for flings how? hiaz....dun wan headache la! *LOL

yes gal gal very fun can doll up buy all pretty stuff. when i had my son back then, nothing to buy . but good la during tt time also financially tight, save money at the same time! this time i m like animal on the loose...hahaha buy and buy till my hubby give warning letter already.

mambo, ya both my kids have alot of hair. i think they take aft us la. me and hubby also full of hair when young. but Mischa has dropped a lot of hair. the back of her scalp almost botak.

the hairband in the pic is like 'stocking' material. very stretchy. i think i know what u mean. i got some hairbands from Kiddy palace before, the band is the spendex kind should be what u looking for. but KP ones are so expensive and nt tt nice.
You cn also buy CARTERS headband, i got mine from TAKA and mothercare. 3in1 pack also nice and cheaper than KP.

Hi Shane,

I discovered something last night about kiros. I realised he doesnt like milk with rice cereal. Remember i was telling you i gave him milk with rice cereal at 1am and he refused to drink and went back to sleep and only wake up at 5am to drink his milk (w/o rice cereal)?

Yesterday he drank his usual milk at 8pm. I was prepared to give him milk with rice cereal say when he next wake up at say 1am. Say i did jus that at 2.30am when he fusses. That makes it like 6hours already. Same thing, he refused to drink. I thought must be the rice cereal liao..But he went back to sleep. Then i think think he so ke lian.. 6 hours no milk. So i go make him milk (w/o rice cereal) immediately. He finished it. And he next wake up at 6.30am to drink again but didnt finish it.

I am thinking if i could have skipped the 2.30am feed? Since he can differentiate milk and milk and cereal and choose not to drink the one with cereal, would it mean he is really not hungry? But 6 hours liao lei. But hor if i feed at 2.30am hor, wa lau, defeat the purpose of not waking up middle of night liao.

Ya ya, you are right. If they no ps hor, they cant drink so much one. This happens to my boy also. Must be the stomach too filled. Just like an adult. I used to take it very hard when my boy didnt finish the whole bottle of milk. I deemed it as he is being naughty as sometimes he can finish and sometimes he couldnt. Then my mum was telling me, aiyo he has grown up liao lei. you think he is baby meh? He will have mood also. Sometimes never ps also wont drink so much. Sometimes wanna kun also wont drink. And yes, when he is unwell, he cant finish his milk too. Nowadays i dont care la. Most times he can finish. but if he doesnt, i also just leave it liao. Gotta pour then pour lor. What to do? They are getting so smart now that they will pursed their lips and refused to drink and will wail very loudly mah chiam kenna beaten like that.

You can give your boy more water and see if it helps in his ps boh. FM can be heaty hence harder to ps. I tried to give him barley water yesterday. He likes it very much (cos we added rock sugar). But my mum was telling me, barley water boil too long over the fire will become heaty instead of cooling. Also, i give him Gripe water, the fatty water you referring to. All this suppoe to be liang and can help in constipation.

Hi mambobb,

I also enjoy the closeness i share with my boy sleeping so close to him. It can be so touching especially when the child smiles in his sleep after his feed or when you touch his head to sayang him.

But hor, i tink we will hve a hard time later on to make them sleep by themselves.

hi pig, shane, i think our babies can go quite long without milk .... cos kaira...since abt 3+months, usually have her first am feed ard 7+am. and her last feed the nite before is ard 1030pm.

i've ever fed her at 930 pm and she also can tahan until 7am... juz that i tot very long...so i stick to the 1030pm timing... fyi

Hi K@ye,

Enjoy the remaining 2 lomantic days in HK with your hubby. Sometimes bo bian one. Men can be just too straight that they 'forget' to side with us when necessary. I have learnt not to depend on my hubby when quarrelling with people. Haha, i sounded very quarrelsome hor?

Wow, you shou1 huo4 in hk must be lots lei. Come back must share more with us what you had gotten for claire.

Hi Dreamer@hk,

really can ah? Ok, i will try. Cos i see him so ke lian. haha

But i remember my CL ever told me, she ever worked for a family that started a routine on the baby even before the child reaches 1 month old. The last feed is 8.30pm and then be it the baby wail or cry or what, no milk means no milk. And no carrying also. And she said surprisingly, the baby really got the que and then really had the last feed at 8.30pm and sleep thru out. Just that i thot this routine is a bit too harsh and started too soon on newborn.

Hi Rast,

I think one more thing to look out is if the child is always sleeping. If gets too sleepy or sleeps too much compared to usual, then something isnt too right also.

I remember once a whole stack of paper fell onto my head. The pain was intense and i can remember that i stood 'lost' for a while before i resume myself. So i guess the impact must be just as great for a kid.

pig -- i know what u mean by "ke lian" ....with kaira it was a "process" which we started when she's 2months+.... but of course, she's on FM so mebbe a bit diff for babies on BM (not sure).

she used to wake upard 2+am for milk and then 5+am. so what we did 5+am is try to "Drag" her ... with pacifier etc... bit by bit until 6+am. then fr 6+am, drag until 7am. quite sianzz initially! cos i think mebbe easier to juz make the milk and feed her! rather then her "ee ee, ah ah, heh heh" and muz spend the "time" to put the pacifier into her mouth (cos she will spit out to show that she's hungry!!) and pat her and what have u.

now even when she wakes up ard 6+am, i can see her lie there, look around, sometimes suck her fist and "wait" for me to "wake up" but i wake up liao lah (cos she does makes some noise), juz pretend to sleep only! heehee. and if she does "cry" , then i know it is one of those days that she's very hungry ! and will try to give her the milk @ 7am (or sometimes 5-10 mins earlier) !

then the nite feed, we also slowly bring forward....from 2+am to 1+am to 11+pm and now 1030pm.

Hi Dreamer@hk,

The last time before the 2am feed was at what time?

You good lei.. can take away 2 slots. If i can take away 1 slot i will be happy liao.

I used to wake up at say 1am, and then say 5am. Would be happy if i can take away the 5am slot. But i find it so hard espcially the feed before his sleeping time is erractic. Sometimes it can happen at 8pm, sometimes 9pm or sometimes 10pm. With tis 3 hour variation, it makes it harder for me to skip the 2am feed as i feel it would be too long a stretch say from 8pm to 7am. Or its ok?

Pig:
Ya, we will have a hard time to train them to sleep themselves. I am thinking of letting her to sleep by herself when she reaches 1YO, so that I can start planning for 2nd bb. But now i think back, its quite hard too.. Me also "she bu de" to let her sleep alone.. haha.. I took 1yr+ to conceive this bb.. so I can foresee I need the same amt of time to conceive again.. sigh.. so have to try earlier.

Feeding:
Now my bb will have her last feed at 9pm-930pm and will go to sleep after a short ee--ee--arh--arh.. turning here and there.. the next feed will be arnd 1-2am.. sometimes can drag to 3am.. and will wake up at 530am now.. coz mon-fri we will bring her to relative place.. even tho she wakes up at 530am.. i will try not to feed her coz I know she is not hungry yet.. she is just kpo-ing to look arnd and will fall back sleep again in the car. she will still wake up arnd 530am over weekend which tired me the most.. but will try to drag as long as possible.. till 6am+..

This is my bb photo at 3mth
1365083.jpg

and at 4mth
1365084.jpg

Hi Mambobb,

Hey, baby cailyn photos are up. Is cailyn very tall? She seems to be esp in the 4th month pic. Plus she is very fair right?

Ya, like very bu she de to leave them sleep on their own like they are very 'helpless'.. hahaha.. i tink we think too much. Cos ah, most times they are deep in sleep when they are sleeping next to us. But hor my ah boy will sometimes 'cry softly' in his sleep. I think he ham3 bin2 la. Played too much during the day. And he will cry like very ke lian ma chiam someone is scolding him. Then i will quickly try to wake him up to break him from the dream.

ShaneDiao,
Jovan doesn't sleep thru the nite. i have to get up at least 2x every nite! *siong* there was a period of time when he woke up only once ard 4am, then i let him cry to sleep w/o feeding. after tat his nite wakings become haywire, sometimes up to 4 times a nite! *sigh*

Cindy,
already told my mum not to cultivate this bad habit in Jovan but she wun listen. guess she was desperate to get rest when Jovan naps, so she'll do anything to make him nap. told her to give pacifier b4 his nap instead of giving milk but she said Jovan doesnt wan pacifier leh. *strange*

Hi Pig,

Im not too sure whether cailyn is very tall/long anot.. haha.. but according to some, they mention she is quite tall lah.. i used measuring tape to measure her few days ago, coz she turns 5mths liao.. she is 62cm leh.. is it tall?

cailyn also cry softly in her sleep too.. like kana scold or ppl snatch her toy away.. haha.. i will pat her and tell her its ok lah.. mummy is here while she is still closing her eyes.. then she ok liao.. but hor.. recently i am too tired over work and knock out during sleep.. so what happen recently i also dont know. Even my hubby also help me to pick up her pacifier.. haha

Ya, she is quite fair =D.. i like she is fair..

pig,
last time before the 2am+ feed, the timing not very fixed (cos i feed her more on demand) ... can be 7+pm, 8+pm or 9+pm depending. we moved the early morning slot up, so essentially is drop 1 feed only ... cos last time feed her 6x, now 5x

now, her routine better liao, its 7am, 11(+/-), 3(+/-), 6.30pm, 1030pm

my prob with her is her "crying before sleeping" pattern now ;( hope that gets resolved too!

mambobb, your gal very cute with the hair band

my gal has very very little hair ... so tempted to buy those clips, bows from S@L but now buy like very white elephant cos she has little hair to begin with!! heehee. so decided to wait until she has more hair ....

pig07
wow! new discovery ...I think we don't have to worry not drinking for long hours during sleep time ...I read somewhere that the body system slows down during sleep, and my mum also told me before that sleep is much more important than eat for children. I guess we adults sometimes also experience that we would rather sleep than eat if we are really really tired. I am one of them....Don't have to worry about bb getting hungry during their sleeping time ....I don't think they feel hungry if they are able to sleep thru'. I always believe that if Ethan can sleep thru long hours and not wake up for feed, then I will let him be and not wake him up for a feed. If he is hungry enough, his body system will alert him automatically to wake up. But if he wakes up like 2 or 3am, I don't really think he is hungry and feeding him at that time, as you said will defect the purpose for him to sleep thru' the night (provided that he is well fed the night before) ... As I told you, Ethan's feeding interval is 5-6 hours liao and drinks about 6-7 ounces already (after he recovered from his constipation), so his last feed is 10.30pm and feels tired and sleep ard 11pm, so if he wakes up at 2 or 3am, I will definitely not feed him, and I pat him to sleep or let him sing song ....I will only feed him when he wakes up at 5 or 6am. There was one time he woke up at 7am which is way beyond his 5 hours interval and I let him be and not wake him up ....so for Kiros, if he is not eating, then don't feed him liao ..wait for his next wake up time then feed at your desired time interval ...

ya, now I learn that when they can't ps, or sick, they won't eat so much ...so let him be liao, I tried forcing down milk unto Ethan's throat and he also screamed like crazy ...when he was sick, I realized he got tired easily and want to sleep more than drink ...I thnk which is good thing cos' sleeping will allow his body system to recover faster because they are actually resting and recupulating .... Thanks. Now my boy kind of recover from his constipation liao, and I give him more water to prevent his consitpation from coming back. I will give him some barley... I give Ethan Fatty water too ...just hope that his constipation won't come back otherwise, he will not drink his milk again

Actually my mum said the bbs are very smart nowadays ... my boy likes to drink from my breast, and when I quickly switch to bottle, he wails and screams, and his head toss backwards ...cannot tahan him ...even I "pump" out my milk into bottle, he also refuses ...he just doesn't like the teats.... everytime I have to force the milk down his throat

ya, agrre with you about having hard time later to make our kids sleep by themselves if they are so used to co-sleep....I am also kind of worried about that ....

S@L
agree with you..boy boy like nothing to buy leh ...my hb said boy good, no need to spend so much money on dolling up ...so I hardly choose clothings for my boy, most clothings my hb choose for him ..my hb also chin chai chin chai choose , nothing fancy as he said boy doesn't need to be fancy ...I also don't care cos' all look the same to me
....I think people pay attention to girl girl more ....what they wear, and their hairdo ....

Kam
wow, your boy very cute and sweet-looking
I find boy botak looks very cute

Hi ShaneDiao:

After shaving him botak, now quite regretted. As he had very nice thick hair when borned. Now take very long time to grow back....

Hi Cactusnah:

Ya, funny huh, why the hair grows only on the top, not the sides huh?

Hi Shane,
Ya.. I think wait until he really cry then i will give la. Else can never train him to sleep thru the nite.

dreamer:
I purposely put the hairband on her so that when going out, no one will mistaken her as ah boy lor.. got once i went to tampines mall isetan and was carrying looking at some earrings, the sales kept saying "boy boy.. so cute... boy boy so cute.." i tot i heard wrongly but after a few comments i told her that she is girl girl -_O".. now she is sort of botak lah.. coz cut her hair on her 4th mth.

thats why i am searching for hat and hairband for her.. i have tried mothercare at tampines branch but there isnt what i want from there. the one i put on her was from carters.

Long time didnt post here.

Cactusnah, just saw Eagan's blog...he is so cute and adorable. Wah, your husband really make alot of effort, go and buy studio backdrop...looks like a fun time for both child and father
Quite a cool thing to do too...

Kam: Maybe coz that's the part where they lay on, hence hair not growing? Guess it'll get better when they start to sit on their own. At least not laying down all the time and block the hair follicle from growing? Not sure...

I agree with dreamer, bbs can go without mil for long time actually ...I remember after I gave birth, I had no milk for 3 days, and I guess we experienced that right? milk won't come until much later hor... my boy also never really drank much when he was in the hospital for that 3 days ...so I ask the nurse about him not drinking much ..then she told me bbs though look weak and helpless, they can tahan without milk for long time because their intestines are still very very small, so don't need so much milk to sustain...I heard already very surprised ....

Catherine
my boy used to wake up every 2 hours even until 2 months, I was so stressed that I cried when I had to wake up each time to feed him and I felt frustrated cos' no one here in US to help me, except my hb .... My hb is nice and he will help feed him and we will take turn to wake up every 2 hours .... Being first time mum with no experience and no help, is very very stressful for me even I am SAHM...I told my friends and they said let him cry and ignore him and stretch him, but my boy being so young I also worry that he would cry until "duan qi" then how???? so no choice , "ren" until he 3 months old ..and he was slightly better but he still woke up at 2 or 3am every night which still made me upset that why can't he just sleep thru'. And I am more upset when I heard my PD told me that by 3-4 months, bbs should be able to sleep thru' liao. And my boy 3.5 months that time still waking up at 2 or 3 am!!! I decided to be "heng3 xin1" after my PD told me that if I don't train him to sleep thru the night, then he will train me to wake up at 2 or 3am every night .... when I decided to "train" my boy hor, I told my hb that I will be with Ethan in another room so that when he cried, his sleep would not be disturbed ..o.k First night, Ethan woke up at 2am again, I ignored him... he cried very loud I guess wanting me to pick him up for milk time....I let him cry, and he cried for 2 hours without stopping...in my heart I was thinking "wow lau! so long winded ....still can go on crying for so long" .....then he stopped crying at 4am... I thot ,,wow good I can sleep liao ...who knows....he started again after 5 mins ....and cried for another half hour until very very chiam like that .... My heart broke liao at that time, and thot just carry him and feed him lah ...but when I was about to do that, then I told myself that if I picked him up, then his whole 2.5 hours of crying would go in vain liao ...so "ren" ....then finally he stopped crying at 5am ....wow.. .all addup together he cried for 3 hours ...Finally at 5am he doze off as he cried until very tired ....he woke up at 6am ...so I decided to feed him at that time cos' he slept at 11.30pm, and skipped 2am feeding, and drink at 6am will be interval of 6.5 hours ...second night ..again woke up at 2am ...same thing cried and cried ....but this time he only cried for 2 hours ....he woke up at 6am ...so I fed him....3rd night...repeat again ...this time round cried only for 45 mins ....woke up at 6am .....then subsequently ...he got the cue liao cos' mommy is not going to feed him at 2am ...from then he slept thru' until 6am sometimes 7 or 8am ....Each night he is crying less and less hours if you press on ....actually I learn that they are not hungry, they just want to be pacified (provided the last feed is substantial but not overfeed)...Ethan occasionally still wakes up at 2 or 3, but very rare now ..I just pat him and he sleeps ...will wake up at 6am ...I am trying to slowly bring forward his sleeping time from 11 or 11.30pm to 10.30pm .... have to do gradually though ...wow! your boy now wakes up 4x ...I understand ...really very "xiong" if you are working mum .... Actually hor what I did to "stretch" my boy hor ...is not like suddenly skip the 2 or 3am feed ..before that I already trying to stretch his feeding time interval from 3 hours to 3.5 hours, then 4 hours then currently 5 hours ....I realize if daytime Ethan's between feed is 3 hours, then he would tend to wake up 3 hours after his last feed at 11pm, and that's why the 2am wake up time every night for him cos' his drinking interval is 3 hours .... so I slowly stretch his drinking interval and also night time bbs should be able to sleep thru' ... so how long is your boy's between feeding interval? and one more thing..I also learn that every cry doesn't mean that bb is hungry ....it could be wet diaper also ...and I also learn that last feed should be less than the normal feed so that they won't wet their diaper with their stomach too full ...I used to think that last feed must drink a lot so that he won't be hungry and won't wake up ... I was wrong! ....Ethan still woke up that time cos' diaper was too wet and heavy for him.. so usually my last feed for him is 1- 2 ounce less .. I don't know if it works for other bbs...but works for Ethan so far.....just sharing here ....

Twiggy,
Chloe is like Joseph - doesn't like to lie down or even rest on my lap for long. Gonna play with her or carry her n walk ard. All dpds on her mood.

Re. Sleep @ nite:
These few nites, my hb tries to sleep with Chloe at 9p.m. But she will still cry out for me. Is this a sign of 'being sticky'? She seems sleepy but will only sleep at 11pm.

Erika: Hi hi. Ya, was indeed quite fun. My HB was so excited and went disappear to the room. Then minutes later, he came out with all the spotlight, scotch tape, etc and said "come, let's take pic" I was like, "Uh, now?".

Hee...so far am glad that this daddy actually put in quite alot of effort for his boy. He'll use his camera to take some "artistic" photos every month (he'll zoom in to take Eagan's side view, bk view, etc sometimes i also dunno how to appreciate), print and update in his own album. Mummy lazy, merely update his blog.

sorry ...for the previous long mail ...heee...long winded ....

Kam..
Mine also had lots of hair but shaved botak twice cos' my friend told me bb will drop hair anyway so I shave him ...

pig07
agree ..

Cactusnah
wow!! Eagan soooo cute ...like you ...cutetie pie
.....no wonder S@L's Mischa wants Eagan, doesn't want my Ethan
.... S@L hor??? nvm Ethan, Asian girl doesn't want you, bo bian, get Ang Mo girl liao....haaaa.... Ethan also back "bo mo"

Eagan still wakes up once for milk too. Only managed to go w/o milk for abt less than 5 times so far. My bb sleeps with MIL in the next rm on weekdays, she said dun want to let him go hungry, so i've got no choice...

Shane: Hee hee...u really an ultimate 24/7 full time mum. From yr post, one can easily tell that u eat, sleep, breathe and dream of yr little darling.

Kam sia...But u'll not say Eagan cute when u hear him wail. Sometimes i really wonder if there's a loud speaker in his lung, or izzit the cordeyceps i ate during pregnancy, his cry can make me deaf. I see lotsa other bb's cry is only abt 1/5 of Eagan's volume lei.

Skype,

I sleep with my bb too, right after my confinement. A little squeezy for 3 of us (Queen size bed) but my hb n I njoy the feel of seeing her sleeping next to us. The only prob sometimes is we may accidentally press on her little hands.. *hehe* There was once or twice our bolster landed onto her but luckily we awoke right away to remove it. Now dare not use it.. just placed the bolsters right at our foot.

Shane,
Chloe has no taker yet, so Ethan still has chance. Meet up when u come back, see they got chemistry or not. Haha. =) I also think maybe she overtired.. So should stop smiling at her at 8pm? Can't resist her smile n coos leh.. We will try then. Tks!
I agree with u it is definitely NOT easy to be looking after BB all by yourself. I tried that for the past 3 mths with my mom's help, already buay tahan. Luckily now got maid to help a little, thou I dun really like. Only when I need to take a breather I will get her to help me carry. Jia You, Shane!

Chloe just taken her 2nd dose of 5-in-1 today! Weighing 6.5kg, Height at 65.5cm =) I was worried she might cry out loud but luckily, having enough sleep n well-fed, she just let out a cry. The nurse was a great help in getting me to stand n place Chloe on my chest quickly. That soothed her immediately!

Cooling her on her cot:
1365459.jpg

Cactusnah:
My girl cailyn has the same hair style as your boy too.. but daddy decided to give her another cool cut so that her hair will grow more evenly and nicely.. so far so good.. 1mth liao, the hair grows quite evenly.. and very "pei fu" you and ur hubby leh.. got so much time to do the mini studio at home.. =D.. keep up the good job

my bb cailyn can also cry until my ear feel the numbness wor~..

Shane:
haha.. she doesnt have her "chang chang" hair style le.. naughty mummy and daddy shave it away just to let it grow again to make it more evenly.. =p

Yvonne:
You have a pretty girl =D.. i think she is taller than cailyn too. I am bringing cailyn for her 5-in-1 jab next fri.. then i will know what is cailyn's weight =D

Mambobb,
Cailyn is so cute in that headband! And I like her top. Chloe has a similar "ILUVMOM" in pink. ^5

cactusnah/ Kam,
Tks for sharing abt your bb's hair woes. So I guess it is norm for them to drop hair n grow only on the top? I 'se bu de' to shave her hair leh..

Yvonne,
Me also "bu she de" to shave her hair.. but i think might as well one time pain pain and let her hair grow back nicely, rather than wait and wait.. haha.. thats why me pain pain hearing ppl say she looks like ah boy lor.. need to wait patiently for her hair to grow back.

Hi Mambobb and Yvonne,

Kiros has tat same top too. Short sleeves one in pink and blue. Long sleeves in yellow.

I heard la, is best to shave botak at least once for the hair to grow out more evenly..Kiros went for his on 40th day. Once only.

Pig/ Mambobb,

I heard b4 to shave bb's hair on her/ his 4th mth so that it will grow out evenly n nicely. But I oso scare new hair not as soft n nice as old one leh.. hehe.. scare I worried too much?!

Btw, the weather has been terribly hot. Chloe cannot tahan the heat that I have to bath her twice, instead of just cleaning her with wet towel at nite. I m intending to get a portable fan to attach to her pram. Any recommendation on where n what brand to get? Must have wind of cos..

cactus, Eagan very handsome *wink* MISCHA :"
kao_love.gif
".

Shane, show me Ethan's pic la.then i can compare

Gemini, can get hairband la. The clips are convertible and can use seperately when your girl has more hair. tats why i like those hairbands so much! My spree #3 closing already. will start a spree #4 if got demand. Cactusnah, u might wan to join spree #4 instead.

Hi Yvonne,

I also 'forced' to shaved him botak. His hair was dropping everywhere. on pillow, in his eyes, on his pacifier, anywhere that he has has contact with you can find his hair.

My friend 3 year old daughter has never been shaved botak. But she has long and beautiful hair now. Apparently they only trim for her.

As for portable fan, i am using the mama love brand. Bought from kiddy palace. I find the wind strength good enough plus there's light and can act as a source of distraction as well.