(2007/11) November MTBs

Jules: I'm just curious. How did Nat get the diarrhoea from yr niece/nephew? It's really quite scary how vulnerable are our bb.

Pig: So u decided which hospital for yr next delivery? Guess also need to know which hos yr gynae has attachment to, else also diff.

Hi pig,

same here!!! My boy is very excited once daddy is back. I am a working mum, and he just sees me sliglty lesser than daddy, he'll kick his legs in excitement whenever he hears/sees his dad. Sigh...

Gemini19,
I have the Ikea chair but i find that its not very stable, I leave it at my IL's place so that i can feed my boy when we are there on Sundays. At home, I use the Stokke chair and i find it very sturdy n good.

thanks all for ur encouragement and concern. iwill be seeing the breasts surgeon first thing tomorrow. the swelling is actually getting better, but i jus wan to be safe cos if it gets worse over the weekends, then i will be in trouble. So far i have been latching Mischa and gritting my teeth whenever she latches on my swollen breast. i hope i m doing the right thing.

Cactus, no le not organising the Drugstore spree anymore. cos the packing and all is really 'xiong' hahhaa..and also paiseh everytime have to let mummies wait so long. someone selling the cream in the BP le. i think price is abt the same.

KAM, i second ur tots and 'theory'. My 5yrs old son and my gal too isnt in any kind of routine. I also feed and play with them taking their cue.

I did try on the GF routine but without success and decided nt to enforce any routine since she is growing well and so far ok with her daily activities.
initially i feel inadequate as a mummy when i see frens who follow routine. I feel that i dun discipline my kids well enough cos they dun hv fixed /regular sleeping hrs, playtime, and feeding time. Like u, my mum also belive in free play as long as bb are fine and nt demanding or have growing problems, we should let them have the freedom to do what they want. except bedtime i m quite strict cos its for health reasons that children should be asleep by a certain time at night.

Of course it'll be good if babies can follow a routine and parents are happy with it. jus to share my tot too.

ueno, i found the Bellarmy's at NTUC
i started Mischa on her 1st rice cereal feed yesterday! hahha i broke the rules...she is not even 6mths yet! but she shows signs of wanting to wean. She has been waking up for genuine feeds for the past few days abt 3 times a night...so i tot it'll be time to let her try some semi solids and see if there is any changes. morever her weight vs months is also a good indication that milk is nt enough to keep her full.

Hi Catusnah,

I think KKH doc can only deliver in KKH bah unlike private practised one. I think i will go back to John Tee bah. Unless i decide to use other doc in KKH.But my choice will be KKH for sure.

ueno, may i know the price and where can get the Stokke chair? Saw at Motherhood.com.sg and it seem quite attractive and have more functionality than normal high chair.

Hi S@L,

Hope you feeling better by now. And that Mischa can help to ease yr pain in anyway.

agree with you. Should sleep by certain time. The babies can get very hong1 sim1. If you dont make sure they sleep say by 10pm, they will probably still be playing at that time.

Nite feed wise i am hoping can achieve a momentum that he wont need to wake up for it.

But day time playing, day time sleeping, daytime feeding is hard to control and follow a routine. Tis i let kiros explore on his own. But hor i am beginning to realise that my boy seemed to be sleeping lesser nowadays. And his noon sleep at 2plus will stretch till 4-5pm. Unlike last time, his sleep is like 1 hour only. My mum said is becos they getting older liao, hence sleep lesser. Will become such that they only sleep once or twice in the day.

pig07, yes Mischa also sleeps little now. lesser time for myself now cos have to entertain her ....

as for sleeping earlier at night, is actually more for health reasons as human organs will 'recuperate' at certain time at night aka BEAUTY SLEEP , so our body has to be in sleep mode for this purposes. tats why some adults age faster due to lack of sleep...haha..will give a more indepth details when i find more info.

s@L,
does mischa like it?

mambobb,
i got it from mothercare n i paid $600+ including back support n cushion. Teenagers can use the chair too so i think its a good investment.

ueno, ya she likes it! heres the pics i took., although cant tell from the pics, but she did almost finish the small bowl of cereal.,

Getting ready for her first semi-solid:

1363102.jpg

Her first taste of cereal
1363103.jpg

Hee sorry all for spamming this thread! haha i cant help it cos i jus received the hairbands and clips yesterday. I think i m one crazy mummy here -my hubby freaked out!

Langlao, u ordered the gerbera hairband too right? the big bow one is nice too. sorry the pics nt clear cos Mischa was moving the whole time.

1363115.jpg
1363116.jpg

ueno

ya, my hubby commented that. I'm still thiking abt it. Wow, the mothercare one quite ex huh? really worth it? I'll go and take a look later.

S@L: Wa ha ha, the hair band is so cute on Mischa. Lucky her,think u musthave bght tonnes of those for her. Is the "flower" too heavy for their little head coz she looks happier with the bow hair band. Hmm..if comfy for them, wanna buy for my little niece also.

I like to see bb's photos, post more photos if u have any.

Kam
So far so good..At least I know what is coming next....I used to run like a chicken without a head, serving him at his demand ...now with a routine, I am so much relaxed and have more time to myself ....How nice, your bb has his own routine ..mine has no routine so I have to fix for him ...

pig07
Actually hor, I strongly believe in helping to fix my bb schedule now, because if he grows older, and he suka suka eats at 1pm, and sometimes suka suka eats at 2pm ...then I die lah ...cannot tell when he needs to eat, and also don't know what time I need to cook for him ... when he starts eating solid food, I will make sure he eats at certain timing too, otherwise not consistent hor, very chiam for me to guess when he is hungry and when he is not ....pig07: agree with your mum, as they get older, they nap less too , and their wakefulness time will be longer ,...now I learn that Ethan's wakefulness time the most is 2 hours ...after 2 hours, he usually "peng san" liao ....

S@L
wow, your girl sooooo cute !!! got people Q'ing up already or not ..... can take Q for my boy???haaaa....

hi mommies

I like to see bb's pictures too ...post more of your bb's pictures ..... I peeped into other threads and some got lots of bb's pictures to see...all very cute leh .....

gemini, buy la.i doing spree #3 now..hahha...kinda addicted.

CActus, not heavy la. but my this gal very 'cho loh'. she dun like to look pretty ...always struggling when i put accessories for her ..hiaz....think she must be wondering why mummy is always so 'high' dolling her up. there is another series of hairband with 4 clippies. u can consider tt for ur nieces. very worth it.

Shane, sadly, no le.no one interested. U can take no. 1

Shane: Will be difficult for long distance relation to sustain. S@L will miss Mischa so much if choose Ethan lei. Perhaps Eagan will stand a better chance? S@L, what say u? Ha ha...

S@L,
mischa is so cute. So girly.

Hi Shane,
Ya. Good to establish a routine when say perhaps older bah. Like my nephew, when they start to be on solids, then easier to say 2pm porridge, 6pm rice. But becos kiros is on milk only, so i just interval it like every 3 hourly.

I will definitely want my child to have a routine when older. Perhaps when they eat more than jus milk. Like say at 10am cereal/porridge, noon nap at 12, 2pm milk, 5pm rice.. 6pm shower, 9pm milk, 10pm sleep.. tat kind of routine. Ya, will hve to start to hve tis kind of routine else wont know what time to cook what and eat what. all will be haywired liao.

Shane,

I agree with u, and not only hb think SAHM are 'xin nang', many others (even those who once had given birth) also think likewise! I m still on No Pay Leave now to take care of my Chloe and some frens/ relatives/ colleagues actually commented I very 'eng'.. so frustrating! I find looking after Chloe is more taxing than a job, just that I willing to do so cos the satisfaction is way beyond!

S@L,
I didn't know u r org the BP for princess bowbow, if not sure get from u. Actually ordered in another thread. Next time, u org again k? I happily look thru the site n so tempted to order a lot but told myself, muz see some 1st. If like, next time buy more. *hehe* (My Chloe crying in a distance while I m typing.. ehh..)

Yvonne, no prob.i should be org quite often cos i like them as gifts too. cant find nice hairclips locally.

but problem is the waiting time la so i order alot in 1 go! hahaa. i'm sure u will like it.

Jules,
I'll go check out the chair at Ikea, thanks.
It is quite inconsiderate of your SIL to let your baby stay so close to hers when she knows her baby has a virus. Virus is airborne usually and transmit very easily, especially to vulnerable babies. Hope she feels bad now and won't do it again.

That's one thing I'm quite concerned about too. My maid takes Joseph out for walks around the estate wtih the other maids and their respective babies. Although it's good for Joseph to meet other babies, I'm worried he'll catch something from some of the babies if she is not careful. Sigh... I guess we mummies always demand a lot.

S@L,
Mischa looks adorable in those hairbands! It's great fun having a little girl you can dress up.

Kam,

Old folks' words are worth listening to. I m guilty of nt doing that at times. Eg. My mom told me to wear long pants to cover my legs during confinement period, sometimes I ignore - now knee joints pain.. I find her understand Chloe better than myself! I read in books that a mother can differentiate baby's cries for different needs, but til now, I sometimes still dunno what Chloe is crying for, but my mom can n will tell me what to do. Made me feel 'paisey' as a mother. But reading up still make me feel a bit more safe.. Btw, I m having problem to make Chloe sleep at nite. She will take at least an hr to finally sleep. By then, already 11+/12MN. Any adivce, mummies?

Re Breastfeeding:

Just to share from what I have learnt from the lactation consultant in KKH & Sg Breastfeeding Support Grp. The supply comes along with demand. Pumping is not the best option in the beginning stage. Suckling by BB helps to establish milk supply. So the more BB suckles, the more the milk supply.

Twiggy/ Gemini,

Your babies are able to sit up already? Mine still cannot.. Intending to start solids after she turns 6mth ie. 1 June.

(Left) Old Rocker vs (Right) New Rocker with a handle & cover.
1363335.jpg

Here's how excited Chloe was when 1st placed in the new rocker.
1363342.jpg

She can play by herself for abt 15-20 mins. Perhaps u can try getting one to place your bb on. Just to share. =)

Pig,

Ya.. That's him! W L Tham. Always long Q, but if u go on time for appt, usu. dun hv to wait too long.

I always feel paisey for a male doctor to check my pte area but with him, it just feel ok at the 1st instance. Recommended by my Muslim collleague. Dr Tham is a professional n reassuring gynae. I had my menses immed after locchia (in Jan n Feb) n got worried. Wanted to rush down to KKH 24h clinic. Called him up in TPS & left him a msg. He returned call personally. After talking to me, he reassured me that all should be fine. No need to rush down. Asked me to observe 1st, if still heavy after 2 days, then go n check.

Another instance was the routine check during preg. The visits during 3rd trimester were still quite apart, diff from some of my other frens who visit almost every week in other pte hosp. Dr Tham advised no need to waste $$ unless got complications. He actually spared a thot for my $$! =)

Pig,

KKH confinement meals not so nice, but western food ok leh. I enjoyed mine on the last day.

Was toying betw TMC & KKH during my preg. Almost got TMC but I hated its super confined hall n carpark space! Made me feel so cramped.. leading to discomfort. Also, I talked to its desk nurses, not so friendly. But TMC wards (new wing) n staff are nice.

Hi Yvonne,

He so nice hor. He actually returned your call personally? i was trying to call my gynae via the hospital line and he didnt even reply lor. Sigh..

Ya, something i like about kkh is the shopping mall. and plus i tink kkh undergoing some reno now lei. Hopefully they do up the wards also la.

I didnt order western food. i anyhow order one la. cos no other choices liao. once i ordred sphagetti.. tats for my hubby to eat..haha..

S@L,

Mischa is so cute in those hairbands/ clips. I can't wait to get hold on those.. seems so fun! We can meet up n take pics with our BB on those cuties! It wld be fun! And your Mischa has so much hair! Chloe is dropping her hair, got lobang liao, just like her mummy ME! Why like that..?! help...

Pig,

U can consider trying Dr Tham. Same position as Dr Tee - snr consultant. I actually called him up twice at TPS & he returned my call both times! So touched.. considering he is a busy gynae, running diff clinics (even at AMK) everyday! Thanks 4 yr comment on Chloe! +)

NB: Paisey I have to post so many times. Short memory so read 1 msg n post at 1 time. V difficult to keep track la. Chloe quite demanding n sometimes I can't use pc for a gd few days, just to look aft her.

S@L: Ok, will take a look at the clips and buy for my niece. Hee hee...Think i buy more things for my niece than my sis lei. Perhaps this is her 2nd kid, that's why bochap. Unlike u,keep buying things for yr gal.

Yvonne: Chloe so happy in the rocker
She has dimple?

Pig: Dr John Tee recently stepped down as chairman. Think he is now a consultant. But think it's ok to stick with him as long he is gd and pro. Perhaps by stepping down from his chairman post will allow him more time to be in his clinic and perhaps charge cheaper for his consultation fee??? Hopefully...

Hi Yvonne,

Ya. i remembered i was coughing very badly. And i needed to reach him fast enough to know if i can consume the prescrived medication. Wa lau, few days also no return my call. Then i realised he is on leave lor. But the person whom took my call shld at least know mah.

Hi Cactusnah,
Really? Ya, i hope so he has more time lor. Now tat you mention, ytday he was toking to me in a more casual and relax mood though.Hahaha.. must be me imagining things again. I didnt look at the receipt and do not know if i am being charged senior or consultant charges ytday. i will go to the website and see now. hee hee..

By the way, talking about formula milk powder, any1 using Friso gold (0-6mths), NAN1 (suitable from birth) & NAN3 (10 mths - 3 yrs)? My kiasu hb got them when Chloe was born. They are still in brand new, sealed condition. Gd til Jun 09. Chloe is on TBF so no intention to put her on FM. So any takers? I m willing to let go at a lower px.

Hi Cactusnah,

Really lei. I just went to see. He no longer has the chairman title there. But he is still 'senior consultant'. alamak, cant get lower rate.

In fact there is this Dr tan Kim Teng whom used to have a title 'Head of dept', now also no more liao.

Aiya, they really shldnt be holding more than one post lor. so little time for women like us. kekeke

Hi Yvonne,

I remember tat time Benjamin Tham was still a consultant when i saw him at sk kkh clinic. But that was 2 years ago la. He is now a senior consultant liao. So i gathered his experience and business over the years had brought him to higher level.

Cactusnah,
U can actually see her dimple? *Haha*

Pig,
Next time must tell the person on the line to remember page for your gynae n ask him to return call then. Hope that helps.

Pig,

He was promoted just before I was about to deliver in Nov last year! So my last 2 visits were paid at snr consultant's rate..

Yvonne,
No lah, Joseph cannot sit on his own yet but he refuses to lie down for long when he's awake and wants to stand, sit or jump. I try to let him sit on his own but he'll balance only for a few seconds then flop to one side. I just hold him up. But very tiring so I want to buy a chair so no need to keep holding him.

gemini, yes u can email me. dunno why must reg 1 yr then can buy...?

CActus, sure. order quick hor cos i sending in order once i hit the max. the bows are handmade, so will take abt 2-3 weeks hor.