(2007/11) November MTBs

Pig07 and ShaneDiao

Really salute to you two! The whole encounter is really scary leh...

Mambobb
Yes can massage after 1 week if you have natural birth. I had mine a month later due to C-Section. But like no use leh, tummy still flabby flabby

Not sure why since this week, my gal like not sleeping very well at night. She can suddenly wake up and toss and turn in her cot and banging her legs. Then doses off to sleep again. Another hour later, she can wakes up crying and after giving her pacifier, she sleeps. Been like that since the weekend, now I'm quite zombie at work.

pig07 and shanediao: you are brave mummies
your delivery sounds so tough..makes me thankful for mine..

Gemini19: now I am trying to use the oto trimax to tighten the tummy.. dont know whether it works anot. I have used it during my Maternity leave and it seem abit improvement. but due to looking after the bb by myself, not self time, stop using. now starts to use back again.

My bb also sleeps like your gal. Toss and turn, searching for pacifier.. bt sometimes she doesnt want it.

My bb always cry very loud for milk in the middle of the night, no matter how many times I told her I am preparing for her. She can keeps crying and crying until I put the bottle teat inside her mouth. Any tips on handling this?

Hi Gelyn,

Same same. Me using John Tee too. I visited every wed evening at TPS. Its him la.. haha, he keep repremanding the midwives, asking them where is the 'sister' on duty, why no drip pan, why the light is not working in room 1, why the bed cant be propped up.. every qns he asked like 5-6 times. It wasnt helping esp when i was in pain.

Then the next day i understand from the 'Sister' whom came to addressed our concerns that most times hor, John Tee is like that one. But she claimed that John Tee is most aware of what is going on and what to expect. Then when John Tee came to visit me, i told him my encounter with the 'Sister', he said no no no. Dont bother, just complain. Must complain. So that they wil improve. Ironically, he is the Chairman lei.hahahaha

Hi S@L,
Bo la. I never buy. No 'gal victim' yet to let me put on the hair accessories. I jus thought i saw the BP interesting and posted in to share with you all as i understand some mummies were looking for nice hairbands/clips for their princesses mah. Only then to realise you had a OS Spree. Paiseh.

Hi Mamboob,
It cant be that yours is subsidised hence you are asked to ding dong ding dong. Cos ah, my ah beng hubby actually scolded the 'sister' and claimed that we paid A class rate la, why only 1 midwife to help la. and tis midwife was in fact shared with the next labour room lor. So you can imagine, it was only my hubby and myself lifting my legs and pushing when the midwife stepped away to the next room. When Gynae came, wanted to ask for something, it was actually my hubby whom stepped out to look for the nurse. There was no one at the station at all. Then tis 'sister' commented that at Labour ward there is no class differences whether you are subsidised or not. What i understand is there are 20 labour rooms in the ward. and each time only 20 midwives on duty. 1 midwife to 1 mummy. Is that so? i thot should be 2 midwives to 1 mummy mah. And 14, 15Nov was peak. sigh, one word, suay la.

Then my elder sister was saying aiya, dont complain liao la. since both mummy and baby are safe. just let it be la. sigh.

Hi Elaine,

Why did you switch from NUH to TMC?

Me too walk alot. I walked so much and i thot i am going to have a easy time during labour. wa lau, turn out to be opposite. Wonder if retroverted uterus play a part in difficult labour boh.

Elaine, if i remember correctly, i thot you had previously resigned as a nurse to stay home and look after yr gal? Now you working at a new place?

i was asking my hubby is he sees the doctor cutting me boh to assist in the dilation. He said, he darent see so much, so he cant tell. But even if he did, i think very minimal or once only. As i remember, when he walked in, very soon he was tearing the forcep cover liao.

Hi Tinkabel,

I have something to ask you before i forget again.

You were saying that you will increase Matt's milk the last feed of the night right? Can i ask if you have a fixed timing for that particular 200ml feed?

I find difficulty in determining 'last feed' as Kiros will be say drinking at 9pm, his next feed will probably be like 1am.. Sometimes his feed will be at 10pm, and next like 2-3am. Like that i wouldnt know which feed to give the milk that has rice cereal. If i gave him the one at 1am, then would defeat the idea of sleeping thru rite?

Hi Pig,

He sound so cool & steady. Wahaha...
I was one of those who have phobia for needle & super low threshold for pain! Was asking the nurse how long the epi c-sect going to take and I remember she said John Tee quite fast so no worry. But I will shivering when come to have to epi injection...took quite a while for them to inject for me sucessfully cos I was shivering too much. What an experience!

That day seem quite pack too! I had chose the single ward but its took 3 to 4 hrs of waiting afer my C-sect before warded to my ward. Due to need to wait for the earlier people to check out and prepare the room. Was quite unhappy about it.
Other than that I was quite pleased with the service.

Hmm...my son have irregular feeding time everyday!
and he is only drinking 125ml to 130ml for 7 times a day. Is it too little? BTW, he is on Nan 1 HA. Was thinking of letting him to try rice cereal...not sure to give him Nestle Rice Cereal or other brand.

Can other mummy advise what brand you give to your baby?

RE : Baby's weight
When do baby's weight stabilize? I'm wondering why Joseph is still putting on so much weight. At 4 mths, he was 8kg, and 5 mths 9.6kg! Wonder why he put on so much. He's drinking 180ml x 6 a day still. Dr says no need to cut down but don't give him solids yet otherwise he'll put on even more.

RE : Jumperoo
I'm thinking to buy/rent the Jumperoo. Joseph doesnt like sitting / lying down and wants to play, stand and jump all the time. So thinking to get him something he can stand or jump in. I recall someone was thinking of renting out the Jumperoo. Who was it pls? How many months does it last till?

Twiggy, rent jumperoo not worth it le. $40+ for 1 month. if use a few moths and sell of i think still more worth it. i think they will outgrow or refuse it when they start to climb out of walk or jumperoo. or up to 11 kg i think.

i nvr regret my purchase seeing Mischa enjoyin it. although it does take up quite a bit of space.

Pig07, oh its ok la. the overseas spree i did is to share with mummies to enjoy free shipping cos i cannot order so much for myself. anyway Mischa's hair dropped alot! now a bit botak at the back...dunno what to do with her hair cos trim also cant trim much...

RE: breastfeeding

mummies, i recently feel so demoralised. rememerb jus a week plus ago i was complaining abt my dip in supply? aft my bolt of fever/mastitis. i pump, latch and took supplement to boost ss. now i gena the infection! i suspect is abcess cos areole painful and swelling. gosh....really wan to give up sometime cos undersupply also sad, over supply also problematic.

Re: Baby's weight

Hi mummies out there who are worried abt yr babies' weight.
I think my baby is the tiniest for a 5mth old baby. hehe! She jus turned 5mths on sunday and she only weighs abt 5.5kg. So don't be too disheartened abt yr babies' weight. I think I should be the most worried mum ard. hehe! Sometimes when we bring her out, some passers-by will comment "The baby is so small." I try not to be too affected. Always telling myself tt as long as she's developing wel, its ok.

RE:Milk Supply
I hv been BFing her since birth and started to supplement when she was abt 4mth old as my supply dropped. Dropped cos emotionally depressed as there were a few events tt took place at e same time and I cldnt manage. But I'm trying to express and use my BM to supplement instead of FM.my way of supplementing is after I BF her, I'll give her more milk. Either EBM or FM. And 2wks ago, I went for my haircut. So my MIL came over to look after her. When I came bk, it seems tt Jaydyn was only able to take abt 120ml of milk each feed! She also seems not to hv increased in her milk intake since 2mths old. I wonder why.

But at least she sleeps thru e night. So I usually wake up ard 4-5am to express. Sometimes after tt, cant get to sleep. Then I'll jus prepare my lunch and hv breakfast. Then wait for her to wait up for her feed. hehe!

Twiggy
I'll PM u 1 contact I got for the Jumperoo. =) Actually hv a few but all deleted. :p

Twiggy

My gal is also feeding the same as yours. Dr also say no need to cut down but also to introduce solid at 6 mths. But I realise her milk intake cut down a bit these 2 weeks. sometimes 5 times a day, sometimes only 120 ml per feed.

hi jay (jaydynbabe)

My bb is supposed to be a Nov bb but he can't wait to come out from my tummy hence he was born in 03 Oct.. At 6mth now, he weigh merely 6.3kg.. I also hav lotsa comment on ppl asking me how many mth is he and ended up saying, 6mth ah? so small horr? Unlike u, I was quite badly affected by their comment..

His small size is due to low birth wt only 1.5kg when born and also refusing milk since 3rd mth.. sighz..

Hi Gelyn,

During our first few visit with John Tee, we dont have very good impression of him. He is always like ending our sessions very quickly. Then my hubby will be like contemplating to change gynae. But i understand later that most gynaes are like that. If they start to tok to you at great length, then that's when something is wrong with the mummy or baby. Else shorter sessions means everything's fine. Towards quite close to the pregnancy, i read from newspaper about the mummy complaining that kkh did not remove the placenta after her delivery this and that. Coincidentally, John Tee was involved indirectly.

In my next visit, i asked john tee straight, you will be avilable in November one hor? You wont be away hor? You wont send someone to replace you hor? I bet he must be thinking i was referring to the article.. hahahaha

Hi Grace,

Kegels on day 2? a bit over le bah!
I can imagine how the rest of the class were like when you walk or stormed out of the class. Yes, most probably they will be thinking, sigh, problem child. hahahaha...

Hi Shane,
The neighbour staying at sengkang had a daughter born in august07. She commented that her daughter will tear the house down when giving her FM. She changed from Similac to Dumex (when she heard that Kiros was on Dumex) in hope that her daughter will accept FM. Not too sure what happens after that and if the change is workable.

Have you tried changing the FM brand? How about the teat? Could it be too slow?

I gave kiros BM for the 1st few months. But always supplementing with at least 1-2 feed of FM from start.

kiros had dumex when at kkh. then when back i changed to friso. he doesnt like. will vomit and his poo stinks. we then switched back to dumex.

Hi Powergal,

Good to 'see' you here again.

My sis's twins were born premature at 34weeks. 1 weighed 2.1kg, another 1.9kg. The lighter one had to undergo major op at day 5 and were deprived milk for a long while.

What the PD at kkh told my sis to do was to introduce solids to her boys at month 4 instead of 6. This was becos their weight was on the low side. She then started with adding rice cereal to their milk and thru bottle feeding.

Hi Gemini,

My boy also. He will lift his leg and drop his legs. turn and tossed middle of the night. And he has this habit of using his hand to bring his feet toward him. He can do that in his sleep too. When i see that, that's the que for me to go make milk. But i realised one way to combat it (when it's not milk time), is to transfer him to the swing cradle. When into the cradle, he will continue sleeping soundly.

Hi S@L,
There was once i thot i had abscess also. Then i quickly rush to the breast doc to do a check/scan. Yes, you are right. Too little supply also fan. Too much also fan.

Hi Weishy,

Thanks. I will ask my mum to make barley water. Hope it doesnt change the milk taste. He drinks water, but not a lot. That could be why so much eye 'shit'.

Regarding weight loss, i was on tis slimming pill last month. few of my frens and relatives were on it too. We find it effective. but can be little costly. The brand is REDUCTIL. But would require doctor's prescription. Not suitable for bf-ing and pregnant ladies.

Hi Mamboob,

The biz office came up to the room and handed me an envelope lor. Its the staff from business office. And i think was only day 2 or 3 lei. And at 1 go ask for $800 top up when we had already paid cash deposit mah. And true enough lor, there is no need to top up so much cash lor even though i had stayed for 5 days lor. Maybe they kiasu thought that we A class and will incur more costs hence want to buffer themselves first. Do refund only when necessary. I dont care lor. any outstanding bill i only settle when they bill me properly item by item. No way am i going to pay $800 extra when there is no such need for that kind of payment.

But i understand that for private hospitals, ever single cent has to be settled before they allow discharge.

S@L,
Thanks for the info. If it can only be used till 11kg, then it may not last very long and I don't want to waste the money. So many expensive "white elephants" in the house.

Jay,
Thanks for the contacts for the Jumperoo!

Pig,
If you don't have a good vibe with John Tee, then best to change gyne. I feel it's very important to get a good gyne and maybe even if private if a bit more expensive but you can find a good gyne, it's worth it.

Gemini,
Yeah, Joseph seems to have cut down some of his feeds and he can only finish 150ml sometimes. I let it be and not force him to finish. I don't want him to become obeses so thinking to buy something like the jumperoo for him to excercise in.

Shane, Mambobb:
I was lucky my labour was short(abt 45mins) and bb's position was right, my bb is only 2.73kg when born, so perhaps that's why. Else i dun think i can bear the pain also, who cares abt the side effect of epi when u're so much in pain right?

Milk Intake: Eagan sometimes cannot even finish his 160ml of milk, very standard, he'll leave a "courtesy 40ml" for each feed. So, no way i can increase lei. Sigh...think he shld weight abt 8kg now, i think.

Pig07: U mentioned u have retroverted uterus? Thot i heard having RU is more difficult to conceive, but think certainly not true for yr case huh. Or izzit coz it's 2nd preg? U tried for how long before u preg with Kiros then?

Matt-Ash:
Interested in some of the clothes. Will log in to see and order soon:)

cactusnah,

yes yes Aaron can shake hands with Eagan...
he also like to leave 40ml at almost every feed..
then i tried to reduce and increase the amt, he still leave 40ml leh...
me and hubby was wondering if its the pressure in the bottle or wat, else how come so zhun leh??
i ask him to take toto oso not zhun..hehe

Hi Jay,
can email me the contact for jumperoo too??

Twiggy,
earlier on I saw the WTB/WTS thread someone organising BP at $180 each leh...
but too late when i saw it...

Hi Twiggy,

The reason why i chose kkh is becos after seeing what my sis twins had went thru, being kiasu and kiasee, i decided to go for a hopistal with ICU and specialists and with up to date equipments etc. I chose John Tee on random simply by calling the central appt and asking for a senior consultant and search thru the website for the higher ranking gynae.. hahaha.. kiasu rite.

Hi Cactusnah,
45 minutes? you good lei. Yes, you are right, who cares about side effect of epi and future side effects when we cant even get thru the current pain..

Yes, i had retroverted uterus. I also thot that its harder to conceive but different webistes had different findings. Some said yes, some said no.

We tried for like 6 months before preg with kiros.

Pig,
Yah, that's true. KKH has the best neonatal services for premmies. Maybe look for someone in KKH that you are comfortable with then. No lah, you're not kiasu, finding a good gyne is very important.

pig07:: Travis had that eyeshit before, it lasted for about a wk, very sticky when cleaned. I just gave him more water and clean it away when it accumulates. not to worry. Take care of yourself!

Hi Cindy,

Aiyo, kiros has the eye shit for a long long while liao. everytime when he wakes up from sleep, its there. both eyes. its so difficult to clean it.

Hi Twiggy,

Now that I am seeing john tee i will hear what he says after my next check up. He is ok, just tat he has too little advice for me when i was preg the last time. Considering that was my first pregnancy.

Hi Pig,

I also find that he don’t really talk much unless we have something to ask him.
But after a few visits, I was telling myself like that also good. Meaning there is no problem with me and baby. Rather than he told me too much and I can’t have a peaceful mind. :p

Ya, I also read from the about the mummy complaining KKH. Can’t remember who is her gynae who help in the delivery though. Scary man! I didn’t ask but was tempted too.

I told him I will chose A ward cos I don’t want to have different MO visit me in the ward. That was when I was asking him what is the different between the package.

I chose him cos my friend was commenting that he is good. Cos her child was delivered by him too. But I do find him quite quiet! :p A man who don't talk much, only necessary.

hi mummies, how u know bb caught a cough and it's not due to choking on saliva?
my gal has been "coughing" for 3 days, and started sneezing today

pig07

Ethan drinks Similac Advance since birth, and we tried to change to Enfamil but he pukes his milk, so change back. He was drinking fine until recently 4.5 months
... Keep refusing FM, don't know why. I guess could be due his constipation. He drinks about 2-3 ounces(60ml) every 5-6 hours 4-5 times a day
...Sometimes I have to force the FM down his throat and he will cry like crazy... There is no Dumex here, so have to stick to Similac Advance. We did try Enfamil one feeding, and he puked ,and have to throw away the whole can as he is not taking it well... so wasteful, so now dare not try other brands liao...worry he doesn't like then have to throw away ....tried changing teats too...same... tried different size hole also same .."sigh".... 4.5month still barely 6K
I thot boy will be bigger but he is not ...

Initially I was like you..didn't know Ethan's last feed...I kept wanting him to drink in the beginning, and still had to wake up at 2 or 3am for middle of night feed....I was so fed up cos; PD sad that by now all 4 months old babies if not most 4 months old babies should be able to sleep through the night already...she wanted me to skip the 2 or 3 am feed... so I tried. The first time I tried he cried so hard, but no choice, need to train him to sleep through witout a feed...it continued for 2-3 days but I made sure that the last feed is actually his bedtime, and not just naptime where he can suka suka wake up after 2-3 hours of sleep...When I know that he is usually tired around 11pm, I feed him milk, and force him to drink at least 4 ounces which most time he takes about 2-3 ounces....After skipping the 2 or 3 am feed, he gradually will wake up at 4am one night, then 5am another night, and slowly 6am another night....it's heart-wrenching to hear him cry at first but it's only way to stretch his stomach...my PD also said by 4 month, babies night sleep pattern is almost like an adult already....and she said if I don't train him to sleep thru now by 4.5 months, it will be more difficult to train him to sleep thru when he is 6 months onwards....I hear already scared cos' I don't want to wake up in the middle of the night just to feed 1 ounce and then he sleeps......If he wakes up in the night and drinks 3-4 ounces, I don;t mind waking up but he only drink 1 ounce or less...sometimes, he doesn't even drink...

Mambobb
As what Gemini said, natural birth can massage 1 week after delivery .... My friend recommends me Elancyl (spelling?), and said her SIL used already very good, tummy has improvement. But I tried not much diff ...I think massage lady better ...I couldn't remember how much she paid for the package ..I think $530 or 570 ..can't remember liao ...

cactusnah
I agree...before delivery, I already made up my mind, si si also don't want epi cos thinking of side effect...but when the pain comes.... "bo pian" liao ....
wow..lucky you..only took 45 min...I, like pig07, walked a lot also 16 hours of labor...cannot tahan....

gloomybear
my boy recovered from his cold and cough last week, and it took him about 1.5 weeks to recover. hb and I sent him to clinic to see doctor but she said it's o.k., he can recover by himself, no medication nothing
.....same here, cough at first...then started to sneeze...and then running nose next, and last...lots of phlegm....don't know how he got it..but took 1.5 weeks to self recover
...drinks lots of water

pig, shane,
gosh, your birth stories are very scary... i was having the shudders when i read it! i am considered lucky that both my pregnancies were very fast, except that after i delivered my 1st, i had to stay in delivery ward for 2 hrs before they wheeled me back to normal ward, cos i was losing a lot of blood...
anyway, it's a blessing that both mother and baby are well and fine after the ordeal

re: leaving milk from each feed
my gal also does that sometimes, leaving a courtesy of 20-30ml sometimes... i always suspect it's the air pressure in the bottle that they always leave the same amount each time! am thinking of increasing my gal's feed amt (she's currently at 125ml every 2.5-3hr on EBM) but also scared she cannot finish then wasted... haiz... cos depends on her mood, sometimes she finishes all and still want to drink, sometimes, will leave milk and refuse to drink!

re: gynae with little words
when i went to my gynae at the beginning, i also always felt that how come my apptmt always so short one, less than 5mins all gao-dim and had to queue/wait so long b4 it's my turn (even though with apptmt)... tot gynae shld offer a lot of advice... then i realised, if u dun ask and yours is not a high-risk pregnancy, usually the apptmt will be very fast one...

tinkabel, grace,
aiyo, i see all the nice nice clothing, so tempted! but my hb already warned me not to buy anymore liao! i bought so much during my trip in US in Jan and a lot of clothes that they hvn't wear are still in the wardrobe! i was packing both my gals' clothng yesterday and realised they hv a LOT of clothing! and little Bevis has even more, cos she inherited some from her sis and i bought her new ones... *peng* and i hardly bring her out also... so also not much chance to wear the nice nice ones... *cham* hopefully the clothing i bought for her won't go to waste!

gloomybear,
um, cough should be quite obvious one right? if choke on saliva, won't last for 3 days right? and since she started sneezing, perhaps she has caught a mild cough/cold... better monitor and bring her to see doctor if fever develops

zzz: ya, last time we tried to reduce the amt of milk for him. But still, he'll leave 40ml EXACTLY. So, we switched bk to the same 150ml for him. And we really thot it could be due to the pressure in the milk bottle? So we tried not to tighten the cap too much, else will be even more diff for him to suck. Nwadays, i try to 'force feed' the remaining abt 5-10mins later. But i'll resort to shake shake, walk walk, sing sing to him. He'll usually finish it. But think it's not right to do that, but as long as he drinks, bo bian le.

Shane: U mentioned u changed Ethan's milk powder from Similac to Enfamil & he puked. Did u change it gradually? Say to mix 3 scoop of similac with 1 scoop enfamil, then gradually increase the no. of scoop of enfamil vs similac ratio? Coz u cant change it immediately, bb need to adjust to new formula.

Now that our bb are 5 months, think we have to gradually mix Step 1 & 2 gradually though it's the same brand. Currently Eagan is on Friso Gold Step 1, so will need to buy Friso Step 2 to mix and slowly phase him into full step 2 when he turns 6 months. Is this the same for mummies who are on FM do here? Pls enlighten if what i mentioned is wrong. Thanks

Any of your babies on Dumex Mamex Gold? Kiros is on stage 1 now which is suitable for 0-12mths. I relised stage 2 is from 6mths onward. I ma confused as then so should i start stage 2 or not when he hit 6th month?

As for cough and sneeze, i didnt know to differentiate the cough too. Until when i see that his nose is slightly wet, and that he is tearing. When tearing it means his nose his blocked liao.

Hi Gelyn,
Ya.. my mum had the sentiments as you. Better that they say too much else it would mean otherwise. Wow, like tat hor, doctor money very easy to earn sia. 5 min consultation hor is already like $90. No wonder my sis is saying she wanna groom one of her twins to be gynae, the other PD. hahaha..

Hi Plim,
act i didnt know its so scary until i shared it here that i do realise that mine and shane is indeed not the norm.. hahaha..
after my stitch at the OT, i was waiting at the observation room before they transfer me back to the ward. I was shivering very badly too. But i suppose the observation is necessary.

Hi Cactusnah,

I heard about the mixing mil powder thingy. The PD at KKH told my sis to do that. But hor, one of friend didnt hear it from her doc, she simply changed from brand to brand when her son constipated from a particular brand. She just switch without mixing. In the end her son got lao4 sai4, but she assumed that the brand is unsuitable, not becos she did not mix the powder.

Hi SHANE,

by the way, i dont know if it could be that the powder is too thick hence your boy is refusing it. I ever read it somewhere in this forum.

Ok, say every 30ml of water should be a scoop of powder. so for 180ml of water should be 6 scoops right? but i will give only like 5 1/4 scoop. Currently Kiros is on 190ml water, i put like 5 1/2 scoop. after mixing, it will be 200ml liao. This is what my CL thaught me to do. She said if too thick, can be too filling for the child. even as adult, sometimes we get tired from eatIng food that's too filling or oily.

Also, one PD at NUH was telling my fren not to follow the insstruction on the milk tin exactly. That the instruction at the milk tin will say 0-3 month give how many ounce, 4-6 month how many ounce. The PD suggested to follow say the earlier month chart instead of the current one. This is didnt follow. As if i have, Kiros will not be drinking enough.

gloomybear,
my bb kana sore throat initially which caused fever. the fever lasted 1.5wks up and down. doc gave anitbotics and panadol syrup for her. so poor thing.. the doc also gave me nose drip for her block nose, cough and runny nose medication too. The doc sure will come in few weeks time, and its true.. sigh.. all come in one shot.

My bb cough is better liao, now just phlegm. I have consulted my sil how to make it better since she has 2 kids liao. She helped me bought some powder from Chinese medicine hall and give my bb take every 4hrs. I think she is getting better. I didnt give her 4 hourly coz im working. Only give her in the evening after her feed.

re: leaving milk after each feed
my bb also sometimes zun zun leave 40ml exactly. Now she will turn her head to one side and pull her ear when the milk reaches 20-30ml. I need to keep putting back the teat back to her mouth while she keep turning left and right -_O".. but she drinks wor~.. if she doesnt drink at least I know she is full.. but she drinks while turning.. sigh..

my bb drinks Dumex Gold stage 1 every 3hrs. Will be changing to Similac when she turns 6mths. But I heard Similac will cause abit consipation. Is it true?

Hi Gelyn,

The article mentioned that the gynae invloved is JOhn Tee. But John tee mentioned that he was away and hence ordered someone else to go on his behalf. But the best part is, the mummy had opted for subsidised ward hence she was told beforehand that any MO on duty will do the job. this mummy used John Tee for her prenatal checkup but decided to go subsidised for delivery as she felt its too costly to use a specific gynae.

When i asked John Tee if he will be avilable, he said yes. then i qns him back. what if, what if you are away on that day say for some urgent matters, then what is going to happen to me. He said another speicalist will attend to me. I wonder what he meant by specialist.

thanks mummies,

ShanDiao, initially when ur boy started coughing, got phlegm? is the cough frequent? my gal one coughs maybe once every 2 hours?

Plim, so no need to see doc if no fever?

gloomybear, i think you observe lor, actually hor, even if fever or cough or running nose, i sometimes see no point in seeing doctor leh... hehe... cos doc oso only give medicine niah... and for babies so young, i also dun like to give them too much medicine... of course if it's something serious like wheezing cough, very bad running nose, then mayb gotta see...

Hi, has any of your babies started on solid foods yet?? I am starting to feed my baby rice cereal and home made pureed f & v. PD asked me to start semi solids at 6 months, but, my baby displayed strong signs of interest in food, so I started him at 5months.
He doesn't take a lot, but just wanna check that my research is right.
Fruits that babies can eat: pear, banana, apple and papaya
Veg that babies can eat: carrots, potatoes, sweet potatoes. Can they eat pumpkin??

can help? I scared feed the wrong thing.

Hi Koh Gillian,

My boy started on the Gerber and Heinz puree. I realised he prefer the sweet potato one to the Pear one. Perhaps cos pear is slightly sour.

As for rice cereal, i tried once via spoon. He doesnt seem to like. But when bottle fed, he seemed ok.

As for pumpkin, i realised that one of the flavour i bot has pumpkin as well as sweet corn.

As for carrots, i remember reading somewhere about carrot and that it's best to start on carrot much later due to some nitrate or what what. Sorry, i just cant recall where i read it from.

Hi Gloomybear,

When my boy had cough and runny nose (twice), i brought him to the PD once. The 2nd time i didnt as i stil have left over medicine was told can keep for 6 months in refrigerator. Illadin nose drop can keep for 2 months.

But i feel more at ease if i bring my boy to doc as they can then check if he has ear infection, or if his nose is very blocked.

Like sometimes when sick, ear infection can kick in and they will start pulling and tugging their ear (they will do it on normal days too), and will sometimes find it painful to swallow milk too.

pig: when bb start to pull their ear, is it mean might be some ear infection? *worry*.. my bb always pull her ear whenever she going to finishes her milk..

Hi Mambobb,

its not true. cos my boy is practically pulling his ear everyday.

But one of the signs of ear infection is when baby is pulling the ears. As it may be itchy or painful.

That time my boy had cough and runny nose and was pulling his ear, i couldnt be sure if he has ear infection. So i brought him to the PD and they PD shone a torch into the ear to confirm that he has no ear infection.

Accordingly, 2 signs of ear infection will include pulling the ear (itchy), and not finishing the milk (pain when swallowing).. There are severalmore signs though.

Hi Twiggy & Sleepystar,

U might even wanna look at the marketplace WTB section. Someone wanna buy e Rainforest Jumperoo and a few pple responded. U might be able to get more contacts fm there too.

Hi Powergal!

I think yr baby has made tremendous progress in terms of weight! =) Mine was 2.265kg when borned. now only 5.5kg at 5mths. =) My ger's weight is at e 3rd percentile while her height is 50th percentile. But she still looks very small. =)

So how is he doing now? I believe he's developing well. If so, don't worry too much. hehe! I'm like reminding myself too all e time. Sometimes I'll jus check with my hubby. "It's ok tt Jaydyn is small right? As long as she's growing?". =)

We must encourage each other not to be disheartened by the comments made by others. =)