(2007/11) November MTBs

Tinkabel, ya their nap is so short each time, whenever pat Mischa to sleep..i will creep out of the room like a theif. then by the time i get the momentum to come bk to my work, she wakes up...of not tt, then i have to cook, eat,or pump milk cos she cant clear my breasts. So tiring. so i leave her with my mum, at least i can have schedule pumping and concentrate on my work.
the downside is cos she latch lesser when away from me, my ss also dropped

S@L:
Keep the pumping up. My supply is quite stablised now, just that sometimes I get too lazy and drag the pumping sessions too long. Haiz, it's tough being a wkg mother. i just went to a spore mummies gathering here in Shanghai. All SAHMs! How envious... But like cindy said, it's tough. I cant give up my financial independence too. Cannot imagine me getting every single cent from hubby...

K@ye cant combine leh..one notebook, one PIS, one bag to contain my breastpump sets, one document bag..siao huh..
I try my best not to bring notebook home if I can.

Tinkabel, I very KS. I dare not stretch my pumping too long. I have to sacrifice lunch time and dare not log in to forum or check personal email..ha ha ha

Salutes Tinkabel & Dokie! Lug so much things and have to brave public transport!

Tinkabel, no need to envy SAHMs lah... they also have their own sets of problems!
As much as i wan to be a SAHM but no $$ to buy what i want... That is the part that i can't give up!

k@ye:: ya loh! i hope he won't forget me like your claire never forgets you! haha

k@ye and tinkabel:: yes i can't imagine getting everycent from hubby, it's like no freedom! can't buy what i want anytime, no way man.

dokie:: keep up the good work, we all salute you! i'm sure all other TBF mommies support you all the way!

K@ye, tinkabel, I have decided not to be SAHM. I wan my financial independence. I cant imagine asking my husband for money to buy things or do my hair etc. My hubby said he cant support my lifestyle and hence wont support me to be SAHM

Cindy..i still rem your expensive collection !!! hee...
My husband just bought me a watch and he said more babies more watches...win already lor.I have a weakness for watches

you are right! I am a SAHM and I've been drooling on the jumperoo but no dare to buy.

Until I've set my mind to buy it yesterday, they go out of stock in Scotts Isetan liow.

Re: Financial independence
Yah man, think my hubby will faint if he has to support my lifestyle. i just buy things without thinking. haha. Now I also keep buying things for Matt.

K@ye: Luckily for me, our mode of transport in Shanghai is by cabs cos it is so inexpensive. But there are times I had to walk home (a good 30 min walk from office), esp friday evenings when it is so hard to get cab. But considering I am quite small size, 3 or 4 bags are a lot to carry.

dokie,
same like u, i lug a few bags (one handbag, laptop bag, pump bag, FTG)... like going travelling like tat... i also pump 3 times in office since i started work abt 1 mth ago, but recenlty a lot of activities/meetings and i feel all these are taking a strain on me, so since 2 days ago, i try to just pump twice... in fact, yesterday, i stretch my pumping session to 7-8 hrs cos of those meetings that i cldn't get away with! sigh... i hope it won't cause my supply to dip...

tinkabel, you mentioend ur supply dip when u tried to reduce ur pumping sessions, did u manage to get it back? how did u do it?

re: bb forgetting mummy once she goes back to work
i think at this point they already know how to recognise pple, so not that bad... cos nowadays when i return home, i talk to my gal, give her a big grin and call out her name, she will give me a big grin back... just that is enough to know that she remembers me!

ya i tink we all have the same probs...
i also wish i can be a sahm so that can spend time with my boy but like many of you, i cannot imagine myself losing the financial independence and asking hubby for everything that i wanna buy...

cactusnah,
your desc of off-peak parents so funny..hahaha
i also normally pick my boy up after 7pm but i still play with him until he is tired..
im worried that he would grow to be closer to his nanny than to us...
at times he wails before going to sleep but if i stop and put him to sleep at the right time then its okie....
so sad leh if can only play with him on weekends...

langlao3,
i experienced the same thing b4..
for me i even more guilty...
i shouted at him on cny eve when he cried cos of my unhappiess with my hubby..
i cant believe that i actually vented my anger on him when he's so innocent...
i felt so bad that i cried on that day..
tink i will never ever forget tis man...
since them i seldom scold him already, maybe its due to his incident and also cos i have read the blog abt bb ashlee that someone had posted here b4...
i felt that im so lucky to have my bb aaron now...

sorry mummies for my long post..:p

plim,
yah when I was still in Singapore and even though at home, sometimes too lazy. So I think there were 2 times it dipped. So after that had to pump more often, like every 3 hrs and had Matt latch to get the supply back. It was terrible. Takes almost 1 week to increase supply again. But now back to work really difficult. So I only pump once and shorter session some more. but i come home, pump at 8pm and 12am, so now my body is tuned to produce more milk at night.

Cindy, S@L, K@ye,
So glad what I'm feeling is normal. I'm already starting to feel a bit sad n jealous when I see my baby being cared by others... can't imagine next tiem when I fully return to work. Hopefully like K@ye, my boy will still burst into a smile whenever he sees me.

RE : Financial independance
I never thought I would ever be happy not having my own financial independence. I've not been working since Aug last year now because of my complicated pregnancy and it's driving me a bit nuts staying home all the time. I miss having my own money to buy stuff, spoil myself etc. Although hubby says never mind, I still feel bad. It's a self-imposed restriction on spending which some of my tai-tai frens say is very silly. They say "after all, if you give up career for his child, he should support your lavish lifestyle". But somehow I can't leh... So yeah, returning to work because I want my financial independance and I want my own sense of self-fulfilment from having a challenging career. Sigh... what a dilemma!

Summer,
RE : Failure to thrive
I read it in the Gary Ezzo book. It says to first distinguish "slow weight gain" from "failure to thrive". I suppose only the doctor can define this properly for you. As for the factors, it's divided into :

Mother-related factors
i) improper nursing technique
ii) Nature or lifestyle - ie mum not producing enough milk due to stress etc.
iii) Feeding too frequently - baby snack feeds and does not get enough nutrition
iv) Feeding too infrequently
v) Pushing to hard into next milestone - mother focusing too much on other things eg getting enough sleep, and neglecting feeding.

Infant-related causes
i) Weak sucking
ii) Improper sucking
iii) Underlying medical problem

Let me know if you think any of these might be the factors so I can type out the details for you. If you like, I can try to email / fax you these pages. Or you could go to a bookstore and look at page 96 of the book.

dokie,
no I dun cook in shanghai. By the time we get home, it's usually ard 8 pm (used to be later, now try to come home earlier). Now that my ILs are here, they cook dinner. Before that, we just eat out every day. I only cook dinners on wkends. Yah the dishes here very oily and salty, so esp during the 1st trimester, I stuck with western food like pasta, sphagetti, sandwiches and salads.

S@L:
the last time u mentiond htat you are doing some BP for beco baby carrier? Is it still on? what the price like? diff b/w the 2 types (cant remember their names)?

for those practising Gina Ford method:

anyone has trained their bb to sleep from 7 pm to 7 am yet?

my boy last feed is 9:30pm and then next is 7am-7:30am, these days, he fall asleep at about 9pm, and i had to wake him up at 9:30pm to have his last feed, thought that since he started to sleep at 9pm, then i might as well make his last feed at 9pm. However i kinda of worry that that will be too long and this 2 weeks, he kinda of funny, he will wakes up at 3am or 4 plus am, just suddenly wakes up, after patting him, he will sleep again so it isn't becos he wanted to drink milk. wonder any mummies let their bb sleep so long and then how is the sleeping pattern in the day?

jules & dreamer@hk,
should check out this lullaby cd by Integrity Music "I love you" and the other series for girls and another for boys. the one for girls is "Bless my little girl" by Kelly Willard, very meaningful lyrics and soothing music. I love it!

plim, have u got your almond powder? sorry i totally forgot about it until now.

I think I have to wake up in the am to beef up my supply. every 3 hours my LB can only produce 60ml instead of 120ml. haiz...I never know a few days of stress can cause such drastic drop.
troubled over searching for a maid for my 82y gm. she is bedridden recently and need a maid to exercise for her . My deepest fear is that I will lose her. exercise is important for her life as it keeps her muscles, organs,etc in motion. Now trying to constantly remind myself to let God takes control rather than carry this burden with me.

Hey Skye, thanks for letting me know. Will definitely check that out. Not easy to find a nice meaningful lullaby

Hi happy, your son & my daughter has almost same bedtime routine too. My daughter normally naps 1 hour after her morning milk at 7 a.m. She has 2 long naps in the afternoon, usually 3 to 4 hours sometimes. If very noisy (neighbor renovation), then about 2 hours. Naps after bath at about 10 a.m. Playtime for 1 to 2 hours, then nap again at 3 or 4 plus afternoon.

dokie, not yet got my almond powder, still waiting for your contact leh... hehe... i am halfway into the tin that i got from you

thanks skye! will look out for it!

mummies, can i check, when is the last feed for your babe now? i still feeding my gal her dream feed at 1130pm.

didn't try to push earlier...as so afriad she will not sleep through to 7+am.

Happy, my baby goes without feed for 9 hours at night. Think it's ok as long as baby doesn't cry for food.

queenaire, i think taka baby fair selling the jumperoo @ $199 also

Here's my princess today

1308047.jpg
1308048.jpg

plim..alright. promised tomo i give u. in my drawer the business card...:p

very puzzling! my baby brayden refused to sleep until past 12 midnight. He was awoke since 5pm. Very strange. He didnt really ask for milk but constantly eats his hands. Could he be teething?
when I latch him on , he would drag and bite real hard.

MIA for so long =P been really busy with work & baby ...

weekdays OT, go home have dinner & pump then sleep, wake up at least 2x (sometimes 4!) at nite for baby Jovan's nite feedings. v siong ah no time to even sit down on my sofa! i can watch TV only when i'm having my dinner & tat's like only 10-15min. every morning, no matter how tired i am, gotta wake up at 630am to pump & have breakfast at same time. i really hope tat Jovan can sleep thru the nite soon, otherwise i wun be able to tahan & it would be v hard for me to persist BF beyond 6 months *sigh* HB also getting less supportive wrt BF. there was once i came home early & found out tat he fed Jovan FM when there was enuff BM in the fridge. he told me he was lazy to warm up the BM! *sob* then these few days, he keep telling me to feed Jovan FM for the nite feedings. of course i refused. *sob sob* my mum also keep telling me tat it's so troublesome to warm up the BM & tat FM is so much more convienient *sob sob sob* no one supporting me!

mummies, should i train Jovan to sleep thru the nite? or i should just let nature take its course? i really envy mummies whose babies can sleep thru the nite. this sat going to take Jovan for his 2nd 6-in-1. i'm going to ask Jovan's PD whether can add rice cereal for his bedtime feeding. hopefully it can last him longer & i can get more rest.

Catherine, must press on ! Ask your husband to go to internet to search for the benefits.
My husband happy that i bf because he is simply free. no need to bottle feed. FYI I donno and afraid to bottle feed. don ask me why! :p silly me!
Now my supply drops I very panicky. Must pump every 3 hours.

Catherine,
Dun worry, we are all supporting you on BFg. Should try to train Jovan to sleep through. When he wakes up at night, you just have to try to be hard hearted and not feed. I just pick Matt up and carry him to let him know Mummy's there and pat him back to sleep when he wakes up in the past. But you must see this through. Now Matt sleeps through from 11plus to 7 plus in the morning. But it took a good 2 weeks to regulate that.

my Eliza still wakes up at nigh but not for milk for a long time le...these 2 days it was because she had to poo and i have no choice but to change her diapers...by then she's wide awake and smiling at me, wanting to play...that went on from 4-5am. geez. on bad days she'll juz wake almost every hour...struggling to get out of her swaddle. i bought the swaddle using the velcro and these 2-3 days she has been sleeping better.

happy,
i still give her the last feed at 1030pm..and she's still drinking abt 100-120ml then. i read somewhere that until she starts to lose interest in that feed will i drop it. or you can push the timing by 10mins earlier for a few days, until you get to the timing you want.

catherine,
jiayous with BF! we'll support u ;) it's not easy, but if you do feel it's what you want for baby and can manage it, press on! does yr bb drink milk around the same time? cos if he does, can warm the milk ahead of time so by the time he's hungry the milk is ready. i usually prep it 1/2hr before, also cos i have fixed time for bb's milk time, i know when to feed bb...unless she's hungry earlier than i expected.

here's Eliza on her Bumbo seat last week..

1308338.jpg

dokie, thanks!

catherine, press on, u hv all of us here to support you!
i always dun believe that bb will go hungry if they go without milk (in the night) from 9pm to 7am... to me, if they can sleep well, this is all that matters... if they are not wailing in the night for milk but juz because they are uncomfortable or habitual waking, then i don't feel the need to feed them...

skye, Eliza so cute, exploring her feet! my gal last night also, when lying on the bed, pull her feet towards her and put her foot into her mouth! oh my god, my mum quickly pulled out her foot... hahaha...

Morn ladies,

Catherine, dun be upset. We re supporting u in BF!

Tinkabel, did Matt wail when u din feed him at night? I tried doing that to Claire, wow ended up the whole house woke up!

Twiggy, dun worry Joseph will recognise the Mummy no matter what!
Claire is at the stage where she recognises ppl and sound. Now, whenever she hears the gate doors open, she will jump in excitement. When we bring her out, she will jump even more!

This morn, when i said bye bye to her. She cried! I guess she knows that i m not bringing her out!

my boy can go w/o milk for more than 9 hours, on tuesday he went for day surgery, he got to fast from 5am till 2pm, and surprisingly he is okay. imagine a "heavy drinker" like him can tolerate. now he is drinking 5 times in the day, 210ml, sometimes 230ml, last feed at 9:30pm and start at 7am or 7:30am but dunno why these few days kept waking up at 4am then 5am then 6am. I am very sure he is not hungry cos since 6 weeks old, he has been sleeping thru the night. Any mummies encounter this problem that your bb sleeping thru the night and then suddenly recently kept waking up in the middle and not for milk? What other reasons?????

He is not excessive for his weight though drinking 210 -230 ml, at 4mth 2 days, he is 8.2kg but he is long so i am not so worry of overweight.

plim yong yu organic ring them before u go:
Yong Xu Organic Enterprise
Address : Blk 921 Yishun Central 1
#01-257
Singapore 760921
Contacts: Tel: 6481 5508
Fax: 6459 4076

actually i observed a drop in my baby milk intake. he doesnt drink as much as before. He can also stretch for 4 hours and more in the day.
PD did tell me after 3 months, they will cut down in milk intake.
do your have the same experience?

K@ye,
Yes he does. I just put the pacifier in his mouth and hugged him to sleep. At the start, I used to feed him water. Then later, no need water, just hug him back to sleep. Wails loud, that's y never get this done when back in Singapore cos the HDB rooms are all so close together. Now in my place in SH which is a bit bigger, my ILs' room are on another end, so dun think they can hear. So Mummy can do whatever she wants with bb Matt. Haha, so evil right? No more Grandma to the rescue...

Haha..Tinkabel..I intend to try your method starting tonight since my mum will not be around and it will be a long weekend for us with the Easter holiday. Same..no more grandma to the rescue and i can do anything i want with the boy! Bet we have to close the windows else the whole estate will hear...naughty garreth not only wails, he screams!

Beloved daughter
hey howz the dr??? no hez not mine... coz i b gonna wk in his clinic so ask ard 1st...

GAbrielle oso tends to b cranky nowsaday... after her feed at 7pm she wun wan her 10pm feed... even we fed her she will wail n wana slp... but if fed her at 6pm she will wan her 9pm feed,... werid... n her intake is onli 150ml n 5-6 feed per day n sometime she wun b able to finish... she is still on the slim side... no cubby lay... bb shd b cubby at her age... haiz...
n re slp time... depends on her mood... on some days she will wake up at 2 or 3am for her feeds n on good day she wake up at 5-6am... so duno when will she slp thru...i discover nw she noe how to flip... when she flip n cry for her feed i cant juz put the pacifier and make her slp... she juz wan her milk... more buzi for mi now...

Plim, I had lotsa of Claire's pix but lazy to reduce the size. Will try to post them when possible... Claire is not dong shi, she is cheeky and notti!

Tinkabel, I also tried feeding Claire water but she really scream and wail. My Mum sometimes awaken by her, will scold her for being notti!

dokie:: yes for drop in intake.

cat:: persevere ON! you've come so far so just keep up the GOOD work!! travis still wakes up once at night too, so i guess it really differs from baby to baby. Don't worry i'm sure things will get better as the days pass and as they grow older! HUGS!!

Dear girls,
I need somewhere to vent. Hubby and I just had a row with my MIL or his mom last night. It's all because of travis's feeding pattern.
Ok daytime 3 feeds are FM and nights are latch ons BM. So daytime, I'm giving him 160mL of FM and usually he takes 120 to 140 he don't want already.

Here's the problem. Each time he feeds, he always go for like a 30min to 1hr nap then he wajes up to continue finishing his milk WHICH I HATE and i want to stop this BAD HABIT!! So I told MIL, before he feeds, let him nap a little bit so he will wake up and finish his milk all at once, It has been said and I HAVE proven to her it works SO MANY times, YET when travis makes noise and cries, SHE INSISTS on making milk and feeding him to BED.

Yesterday it happened again, travis fed at 1015am and next feed was like 145 to 215pm. At 130pm, he was making noise, i told her he wants to sleep, pat him to sleep, and she say make milk. I got angry and i went to make milk with a FACE and TRUE ENOUGH! after feeding 60mL, he slept and milk was standing in hot water for about 1 hr before he woke up to drink again. Then I said this type of feeding is WRONG and no good and she still tell me: FEED LIKE THIS HE CAN FINISH THE MILK. OH PLEASE!!

i told hubby to talk to her and she said WHY couldn't I tell her myself and complain to HUBBY! WEll, I truly did complain to hubby and i already told her so many times! then she said: WHEN BOTH OF YOU GO BACK TO WORK< HOW I WANT TO FEED HIM IS MY PROBLEM. she says we don't have a schedule to feed him, last time when hubby was a bb used to feed 3hrly and drink water 1.5hrly. Now she says she doesn't know his schedule when we've been feeding him at the SAME times EVERYDAY! I really am MAD.

I really worry and i feel like crying. But what can i do? I tried to tlak to her but got the attitude instead. Now i worry what happens when i go back to work in one wk's time. Sighs.

Cindy:
It's not easy, esp when it's yr MIL! They get sensitive at times and thot we're challenging them of their YEARS OF EXPERIENCE. For me, i've been recording down all my boy's daily routine since day 1. The time he poos, drinks milk, quantity of water he drinks, etc. But once i go bk to wk, i dare not ask her to record for me coz she mentioned last time when she took care of babies, she dun practise so many "patterns". Initially wanted my domestic helper to record for me, but worried my MIL not happy coz she might have the feeling that my helper is "spying" her. So, gave up too. But luckily she still helps me to record down his feeding time coz i told her doc will ask when we go for his developement checks. Not easy, must consider this and that when talking to MIL.

So, dont worry. Sometimes they're just "Zui Eing Xing Ruan", and her saying " WHEN BOTH OF YOU GO BACK TO WORK, HOW I WANT TO FEED HIM IS MY PROBLEM" is just to vent her anger. Who knows, she might think yr method is better and make sense and will ultimately switch bk. Meanwhile, can only close one eye. Hugz...

Sorry for the long post

Cindy, MIL is difficult to handle... Many times when she says something I could not agree, I also find it difficult to tell her.

Like 2 weeks ago, when I went away with my hubby for a couple of days, my in laws came over to take care of my baby. They kept commenting that my baby "sheng ti rou", her forehead cold cold, her hands are cold etc, saying I did not wrap her up enough and expose her to wind etc... When I came back from my trip, I say my gal sleeping with a short sleeve shirt, on top of it a long sleeve shirt, swaddle in the TMC cloth and cover with a blanket, in an air-con room of 25 degrees. I commented and they say must protect her from getting a cold. And my gal is perspiring in her cot... I complain to my hubby later and he just keeps quiet too
what to do, so if got choice, I still prefer not to let them look after.

As for feeds, I also record down my gals routine from day 1. Luckily my mum who is looking after my gal follows the same...

Any mummies here already giving your gal cereals?
Her PD says we could start at 6 months, but my in-laws say should start now. I heard that we can make puree and store them in freezer? Braun blender is good for making puree?

Gemini, my Mum also wants to give my daughter rice cereal but the PD advised us not to till Claire is 6mths old due to her eczema. At first, my Mum dun believe, she gave some to Claire... Wow, her eczema flared up!

So, i guess if possible try to give solid food when baby is 6mths old!

Cindy
hi *pat pat* wif MIL is like tat wan tatz the reason y i wana move out FAST!!! she got daughter??? mayb she listen to other relatives???
i used to do tat like feed half way then shower then feed again but kena scold bu my mum so stop liao... now taking care by nanny whoz is neighbour... duno wat she does to her n hubby ask mi to close one eye... as well as bb growing well he dun wan mi to worry much...
as someone who she will listen the most to talk to her ... mayb it helps...

cindy,

*hugs* *hugs*... old ppl mindset need to slowly tune to ours and need lots of communication; esp if it's our in laws... cannot 'de zui' coz hb will be in difficult situation...

like some mommies here, i also record my gal's feeding routine after CL left and luckily for me during the 2nd &amp; 3rd month when my mom was taking care, she also did the same thing; even more detailed than mine; including nap/awake/bath/sponge/play.

now send my gal to nanny; i thk everythg a little haywired coz nanny old thinking, she will make milk every 3 hrs to feed baby.

i told her many many many times bb feeding routine is more than 3hrs liao coz have increased drinking volumn as well as more waking hrs than sleeping (not like infant liao mah). but she continues to do so and only know how to complaint that my gal cannot finish her milk every time she makes it and dat my gal 'waste daddy's money on milk powder'.

wah piang... my heart was saying it's YOU who waste our hard-earned $$$ n yet dare to blame it on my gal... quite piss off coz she kept repeating this like a parrot every time we fetch our gal... and like a parrot myself, i also kept repeating to her no need to feed every 3hrs... yet vicious cycle continues!!!

really bo pian... hb oso say we hv to look for replacement nanny liao coz getting more fed up wif her oredi...

k@ye:: thank you dear, yes i think better to wait till 6mths to start hahaa your mommy very adventurous!

cactus:: I really hope what u say is TRUE. like what you and elaine says, i can only close one eye and pretend all is okay. SOBS. but it's difficult to keep track of his feeding times when it's so irregular from the way he's feeding and i already told her about these times should feed and so on, WELL, WHAT can i say more when she says SHE don't know what time he feeds.
And you're right. hubby also says if she does her own way, let her, until she realises that maybe she's wrong and follow our method in the end. I hope so then.

gemini:: hahaha!!! I really hope it's my mom who can look after too. at least for my own mom i can flare up and scold her freely. but MIL i must be soft and be careful of what i say. Really tough. when i say in a joking manner, she thinks i'm not serious about it. when i'm serious, she thinks i'm complaining. REALLY siann!! and i think start at 6mths better lahs. Follow the PD though my PD also say can start now.

elaine:: hahaha! i also WANT TO MOVE OUT fastt! but my home is only ready last quarter 2009 or early 2010. I think I'm really going to die if this keeps up. She no daughter and only 2 sons loh. My FIL did ask her to listen to us but she is prone to being oversensitive and jumps into conclusion that EVERYBODY is ganging up against her. hahaha it's all because of travis's fault lah! i mean i am fine if he takes a 5 to 15min break to rest his mouth and cheek muscles but i don't think it's correct feeding by letting him nap for 1 hour and then he can finish his milk in the end. but she doesn't understand. she thinks finishing up milk is more important. I'm at my wits' end. Now when i try to start a conversation, i get an attitude. REALLY. SIGH!

kittybride!! YES she insists on feeding every 3hrly strictly! but please lah everybody and everyday the feed times may vary. not strictly is 3hrly then she say SHE don't know WHAT TIME TO FEED. hahhaa hope you find a better nanny soon dear, hugs hugs. what to do. We can only close one eye and live a day at a time until bb grows up. really makes me think twice about having another kid.

Cindy, sorry to hear tt.BUT i think if u really need her help, somtimes really bo pian. Even my own mother too have our own sets of problems. My boy also taken care by her and i learnt to shut my ears, eyes, mouth everything in fact.

I understand ur stand and i also gets frustrated whenever she like to say 'LAST TIME I ALSO TOOK CARE OF YOU LIKE THAT". she always like to say "LAST TIME , last time ....."hiaz... waht to do. I had a few rows with her alrady ever since she started to take care of Mischa recently. one day will say my milk not full, she have to feed every 2hrly. but problem is mischa jus dun like btl feed, will only take most 100ml every 2hr...

otherwise will say wanna intro cereal, wanna give porridge at 4mths! kaoz..i wanna die talking to her. always end up quarrel.

But i understand tt things gets worse when its not ur own mother! maybe can talk to another auntie or so (but someone who is fair la) then maybe she feels better cos if u or hb tells her, she will wonder why she must listen to u when she assume she has more experience.