(2007/11) November MTBs

my son is almost 3.5 months old but i noticed his neck not very strong. he cant really lift up his neck. jia lar! kind of worried.
is it normal?

poissons,
can lah, u can make it one. cos my girl's weight and your boy's difference only 1 kg. yesterday i still bring her go town walk walk, sit bus there and back just using the carrier. of cos in the middle, i cheat abit, i borrow pram from taka hee hee.
yah, no confirmed place yet, hopefully someone can volunteer a house otherwise if the group is not too big, we will have to settle for a cafe lah.

mysterious,
so u bringing 2 kids or just yr 5 years old. do bring him along lah =)

catusnah, eagan will be fine, just dont think so much. ash got some fever too. just like her drink more water and some medicine.

pig07, so far for the last feed before she sleeps i dont burp her cos she always fell asleep. seems ok still.

dokie, let him do more tummy time lah. my girl hates it but i try to let her do it still.

dokie

my gal oso 3.5mths now. one week ago she still hates tummy time and go all red yet still cant really lift up her head. Amazingly these 2 days, she loves it, can lift her head real high and for quite a while. needs practice lor.

grace, what carrier u using? i feel like buying one to carry my gal ard too. sometimes my hb not ard, i feel really handicap

Update on Ziqi's weight :
1) tweety- baby Luis - 6.01kg on FM anud BM
2) grace - baby Ash - 6.5kg on BM
3) rast- baby Jadon-5.6kg on FM (12wks 3days)
4) Jules - baby Natalie - 6.18 on FM
5) Kaye - baby Claire - 6.58kg on FM (4mth 1 week)
6) Ueno - baby Leroy - 6kg on BM (3mth 1 week++)
7) Poissons - baby Garreth - 8.04kg (3mth 4 days)
8) baby40 - baby Nicole : 5.1kg on BM (11weeks)
9) michviv - baby Ethan: 8kg on BM (12 weeks)
10) Plim - baby Bevis - 5.2kg on BM (11weeks)
11) Tinkabel - baby matthias - 6.07kg on BM (2 mths 3 weeks and 6 days)
12) S@L - baby Mischa - 6.9kg on BM (2mth 3wks)
13) Yami - baby Kaelyn - 6.6kg on FM (3mths)
14) Superhappymum - baby YongWei - 6.9kg on BM & FM (3 months )
15) Beloved_daughter-baby Matthias - 6.5kg on FM & BM (3months 1wks)
16) Skyeskye - baby Eliza - 5.9kg on BM (9wks)
17) Catherine - baby Jovan - 6.7kg on BM (mostly) & FM (bedtime) (2mths 2wks 4days)
18) Cindy - baby travis - 6kg on FM and BM (13 weeks)
19) fanny - baby cayenne - 5.5kg on FM (10 wks)
20) Jadefeet - baby Ethan =- 7 kg on FM (10 wks 4 days)
21) Sowie - baby Jaeanne - 7kg on BM (2mths 1wk)
22) Joey - baby Javier - 6kg on BM (11weeks)
23) Adelinechew - baby Amber - 7.1kg on FM ( 3mths )
24) yoko - baby Jordan - 6.78kg on FM (3mths and 2 days)
25) winwin - baby carrie - 5.6kg o FM (3 months)
26) efynn - baby xuan - 7.3kg on BM & FM (3 mth)
27) nov1mom - baby tailoong - 6.35 kg on BM & FM (3mths)
28) gemini19 - baby ying ching - 6.9 kg on FM (3 mths)
29) fushiastar - baby Luke - 6.1 kg on BM (10wks)
30) dokiesim - baby brayden - 7 kg on BM (3 mths)
31) Queenaire - baby Darius - 7.1kg on FM (3 mths + 1 week)
32) Twiggy - baby Joseph - 7kg on FM (3mths)
33) langlao3 - baby Ashlee - 6.9kg on FM (3 mths 2 wks)
34) Olivetree - baby Gracie - 6.9kg on BM (3 mths + 2 days)
35) fttymum - baby En - 6.2kg on BM and FM(3 mths + 2 days)
36) Cactusnah - Baby Eagan - 6.6kg on FM (2 months, 3 weeks & 6 days old)
37) Sunshine - Baby Ziqi - 5.02Kg on FM (3 months)
38) dreamer@hk - Baby Kaira - 6.5 kg FM (3months on 21 Feb)

RE: Bumper Mat
langlao3,
How much is the bumper mat? Is it made of rubber? Is Cheong Choon located @the building opposite Guan Yin temple, on the 1st floor, a corner shop? BTW, what is BP?

According to the elders, is it true that after bb has their 1st botak haircut, the new grown hair is thicker and nicer? Thinking of giving bb her first botak haircut @4th month to induce better & thicker hair growth. Noticed bb also recently dropping hair; more dropped hair on her pillow.

dokie,
u can try carry bb upright against your chest. Will help in strengthening the neck muscle. My bb also dun like tummy time. HB carries her upright position after feeding and her neck becomes stronger gradually ie do not "sway" easily due to weak neck muscle.

Updating Cayenne's weight:

1) tweety- baby Luis - 6.01kg on FM anud BM
2) grace - baby Ash - 6.5kg on BM
3) rast- baby Jadon-5.6kg on FM (12wks 3days)
4) Jules - baby Natalie - 6.18 on FM
5) Kaye - baby Claire - 6.58kg on FM (4mth 1 week)
6) Ueno - baby Leroy - 6kg on BM (3mth 1 week++)
7) Poissons - baby Garreth - 8.04kg (3mth 4 days)
8) baby40 - baby Nicole : 5.1kg on BM (11weeks)
9) michviv - baby Ethan: 8kg on BM (12 weeks)
10) Plim - baby Bevis - 5.2kg on BM (11weeks)
11) Tinkabel - baby matthias - 6.07kg on BM (2 mths 3 weeks and 6 days)
12) S@L - baby Mischa - 6.9kg on BM (2mth 3wks)
13) Yami - baby Kaelyn - 6.6kg on FM (3mths)
14) Superhappymum - baby YongWei - 6.9kg on BM & FM (3 months )
15) Beloved_daughter-baby Matthias - 6.5kg on FM & BM (3months 1wks)
16) Skyeskye - baby Eliza - 5.9kg on BM (9wks)
17) Catherine - baby Jovan - 6.7kg on BM (mostly) & FM (bedtime) (2mths 2wks 4days)
18) Cindy - baby travis - 6kg on FM and BM (13 weeks)
19) fanny - baby cayenne - 5.9kg on FM (12 wks 2 days)
20) Jadefeet - baby Ethan =- 7 kg on FM (10 wks 4 days)
21) Sowie - baby Jaeanne - 7kg on BM (2mths 1wk)
22) Joey - baby Javier - 6kg on BM (11weeks)
23) Adelinechew - baby Amber - 7.1kg on FM ( 3mths )
24) yoko - baby Jordan - 6.78kg on FM (3mths and 2 days)
25) winwin - baby carrie - 5.6kg o FM (3 months)
26) efynn - baby xuan - 7.3kg on BM & FM (3 mth)
27) nov1mom - baby tailoong - 6.35 kg on BM & FM (3mths)
28) gemini19 - baby ying ching - 6.9 kg on FM (3 mths)
29) fushiastar - baby Luke - 6.1 kg on BM (10wks)
30) dokiesim - baby brayden - 7 kg on BM (3 mths)
31) Queenaire - baby Darius - 7.1kg on FM (3 mths + 1 week)
32) Twiggy - baby Joseph - 7kg on FM (3mths)
33) langlao3 - baby Ashlee - 6.9kg on FM (3 mths 2 wks)

re: burping
sometimes my Eliza also don't burp after her late night feed, but i'll try to give at least 5-10mins to let her burp, else she'll suddenly wake up from her sleep crying cos she needs to burp. usually i find putting her down lying on the bed and after that picking her up, helps her burp better. i also realized recently that she could burp while on her tummy! gosh..it happened twice already

mummies on TBF,
is it ok to mix defrost EBM with chilled EBM?

skye, never try before. I presume is ok as long as both not expired. But the taste might be slightly different, not sure if your baby minds.
I understand that frozen bm more fishy. Not sure whether is it true.

dokie, maybe u try put him on the floor instead of mattress. put thick towels if u dont have bumper mat. on the floor, the support is so much better than the mattress.
i also hold her upright alot of times, that may explain why too.

langlao, me using bb bjorn. i find that its good but if u can afford the active, its even better cos got lumbar support. alternatively u may check out ergo carrier. heard that ergo can be used till 18kg or something...haha but i dont want to carry 18kg walk around..doubt i can do it..

dokie,
yeah frozen bm is smells really fishy, but i tried and Eliza drank it still. just that i packed mine it 200ml and she doesn't drink that much in one go..nor can i break it up..so gotta mix. i'll try this week..the last i let her try frozen EBM was few weeks ago, scared she won't drink it this time.

re: baby carriers
i personally find this really useful compared to a pram (very heavy! plus i gotta walk up one flight of stairs to the lift level) just that it's tiring, in particular when walking up stairs. do bb bjorn carriers support the back? cos i bought the combi one and it's tiring after carrying for abt 1+ to 2 hrs. actually more tiring on shoulders though

skye, i think it's ok to mix as long as your chilled ebm has been in the fridge for 1-2 hours prior to mixing.

Dokie, my gal also hates tummy time. and now i carry her upright most of the time as she will 'protest' if i cradle her

But i used to be the same as u giving bb tummy time on the mattress. So i decided to get the bumper mat for her hope tt it helps. besides tt can also use it for other activities with her when she is older

Langlao, me too invested in a bb bjorn which i got 2nd hand from one of the mummies in the forum. To me is a good alternative to pram cos sometimes i jus wan to be handsfree and nt bothered by the hassle of a pram. when i go out alone or when hb and i jus go out to run an errand. Of course i believe very soon i will nt be able to hold her weight for long. me too heard good comments of the Ergo carrier, but i vain la cos bb bjorn looks nicer

Morn ladies,

Thanks for the concern! Claire's fever has gone and she is starting to be her own self again!

Dokie, i always bring Claire out during the weekend but her fever is due to jab related.

S@l, Mischa & Claire can high 5 liao. Claire hates tummy time and she likes to be carried upright so that she can see what's going around. She dun like to be cradled!

Gillian, its normal for babies to practise their stunts in the middle of the night. My notti gal does that and ended up hungry for a feed!

Re: Burping after milk
I will burp Claire after her feed or halfway into her feed coz she will make noise. But at times, she will fall asleep and refused to be burped. I will put her in an elevated position.

S@L, you mean we wont be able to use the baby carrier very soon? wld it be still wise to invest in one? I hv a hand me down carrier that covers the head and baby face inwards, my girl protest when i try it on her, i feel she prefers to look at the outside rather than being squeeze wif face on my chest.

RE: Rolling Over
jovan also wan to keep rolling over, even in his sleep. now he can roll over v fast & go into tummy position. there's a few occasions i left him on the queen-size bed, turned to close the curtains (coz it's time for his nap) & when i turn back to him, he's already on his tummy with his head 90 degree. then i'll call him & he'll turn towards me all smiles. hehehehe he loves tummy position! We started to carry him in uprite position since he was 3 weeks old. he doesn't like cradle position unless we are coaxing him to nap/sleep. i guess tat helped to strength his neck muscles.

RE: Burping after milk
i still burp jovan after milk. sometimes he doesn't burp after his milk in the middle of the nite even tho i have tried for a few mins. i just let him be & put him back to his cot.

dreamer@hk
Nepia supplier $15/pkt all sizes min 4pkts 62262650

bb carrier
last sat HB was out of town. i brought baby out to buy lunch & dinner using a carrier. mine cost $60+ only & somemore loaned from fren. =P i think i'm going to give up on the MIM sling. it's too hot & jovan fusses alot in it.

hi catherine,

me also thinking of getting a carrier and give up on the MIM sling coz chloe seems to sweat a lot while in it.

was looking at baby bjorn but woah... the price so expensive! my mom said no nid to buy coz will only use it for couple of months then bb will start to walk liao... so maybe it's back to the sling...

side track a little... calling mommy bloggers...

m finally starting to blog but hor got so many problems need veteran mommy bloggers' help.

1. how come cannot post photo on the 'about me' page. i went to setting/layout and upload on the photo i want but after saving the setting, still no photo.

2. add page element - i also tried to click on the 'add photo' link and the pop-up menu came up. selected the photo i want, wrote the title/caption then went to click on 'save settings' but nothing happen leh... click several times still not saved; but click on 'cancel'... wah, super fast the pop up page closed. why ah?

3. how to add other stuffs like 'ticker', 'hit counter', 'link', etc... i tried the add page element under layout, still nothing happen after i click on the 'save settings'....

so frustrated...

blueangel30: I thinking of getting the bjorn carrier. but only left couple of months for use. my boy is 6.5kg now.. wat you think? should i get it too?

RE: Baby Bjorn carrier
I think it's quite good, although using for too long will cause shoulder strain and backache. My boy is already 8 kg and I juz bought it a week ago only. Can check out the WTS thread, I bought mine there, though a 2nd hand pc, but condition is gd as new..and so much cheaper too!

quite sad bb gabrielle is having runny nose/... n the flame is like very thick as she seem like choking sometime so now slping wif us in our bed... she oso slp sideway learning to turn... n so sad she is not the cubby type... 5.5kg onli in her 3rd mth... so sad my cousin alys said i din fed her enuff as bb gabrielle shd b cubby type wan as parents r TAF club wan... so sad...
wana resign but my manager not in town so nobody dare to accept... i dun wana work there anymore... wat shd i do... very depress...

dear elaine... dun let the remarks of others affect u k? u luv bb gabrielle very much and u are doing your best to take care of her and love her!

elaine, please don't be depressed. I'm sure gabrielle knows you love her very very much. Please don't worry too much. Hugs. As soon as your manager comes back you can tender, for now, just think of each day as they come. Hugs!! 5.5 is still alright lah. don't worry so much!! don't bother what others say. one ear in one ear out!

Hi Elaine,
Dont be depressed. My baby also just recovered from runny nose. I guess is the virus in the air now..not anything more.

As for those remarks that you dont wish to hear, just cast them aside. So long as doctor says baby's weight is normal then all is ok. Listen to doctor and not people who makes baseless remarks.

elaine, my girl oso having bit of stuffy nose but as long as baby is still cheerful and eating well, you shouldn't worry too much. Stay positive, ok?

i brought my gal for jabs last fri. today i felt a lump on the spot whr she has the injection. The lump is inside, not on the surface. anyone experience similar effect of jab?

good evening everyone. sorry to barge in like that. wondering if any of you had a wonderful experience with your confinement nanny and can recommend? appreciate if you could PM me if you do. i am due in july and realise that many CLs are already taken up. many thanks in advance and have a nice evening.

Langlao,Shazzie,
Mischa was already 6.4kg when i bought my bb bjorn carrier. And now she is already 7.5kg. Mine is the synergy range so can carry up to 12kg, but i tell u la, i dun forsee myself to be able to hold her weight till 12kg! Its only a temporary measure when she refuse to sit in the pram. So far it serves me well...anyway if condition is good, can always resell again when bb outgrow. If u planning for another bb, then is worth the investment.

Like Poissons, I also got a good condition 2nd hand sling. even if is pre-loved, it can be washed., so if u are worried bb wont like or wont use long, then can consider buying 2nd hand if u not particular.

pig07 : Oic.. John tee is one nice gynae ;)
yup, he's my gyane for both my pregnancy.

I do not burp my DD liao.
she'll burp herself aft feeding..
if sometimes she cr aft feeding, then I'll pat her back to help her burp.

My DD hate tummy down too.
she prefer to stand. haha!

I prefer to push pram cos it's really tiring to use a sling.
but sling is more convenient.

I should be bringing both my kids cos my son always follow me wherever I go.

Not logged in for awhile. Still in NZ. Quite a few kids brands like Pumpkin Patch here having sale. About $5-15 per pair of pants or top. Is that considered cheap?

Dokie,
Joseph's head is a bit lazy coz he hates his tummy time too. Now 3 mths and 1 wk old and his head still wobbles around when he sits upright. He hates tummy time and will usually start yelling after one or two minutes. Sigh... not sure how to get him to do more tummy time for his own sake. No choice, got to just let him yell.

Finally back at work yesterday. So tired, got meetings lined up the entire day. Went for massage in the evening and my back hurts from carrying Matt ard in the bb carrier.

Re: Sleeping through the night
Finally we made it. Last week we started Matt on the "strictly no milk at night" program. Fed his last feed at 1030 to 11pm with 160ML of BM. He usually lasted until 4 ish AM and he will start making noises. We fed him water until he is happy and I will put him back to sleep. He will next wake up 6 ish, then we fed him 160 ML of BM. Yesterday he made progress. Only woke up at 5 ish and dun need water. I patted him back to sleep. Woke up punctually at 7am for milk. Hopefully this will carry on. Now he feeds 6 times a day, day feeds 125ML and last / 1st feed 160ML. Hoping to cut it to 5 feeds if possible and even out the qty of milk.

Those using gina ford's method, what are the recommended feed times for 3-6 mths? Can share?

Here's Matt during one of his play sessions. Mummy's bed become his playground...

1266513.jpg

Elaine, dun let others' remarks abt Gabrielle affect u. Like what Pig & Mysterious say, most imptly is being healthy!

Tinkabel, Matt is like a dumpling in his winter wear!

pig07,
upload a photo of your boy. dun recall seeing him yet. What time your boy born?

poissons,
what about you? Waht time garreth born?

I seldom post here but was watching this thread almost everyday. Heh heh. Feels like all of you are part of my life already. My online friends.

regard burping:
I still burp my boy after every meal. But sometimes he doesnt burp at all. There are a few occassions he burp by himself while sitting upright.

Sleeping thru the night:
I bought the Gina Ford book, following the schedule for meal times. Now I don't feed at night, but he still wakes up. What I do is I change his position a bit then pat pat him to sleep. Does this consider sleeping through the night?

Regard bbjorn:
I also bought 1 recently when my baby was already 7kg. really no regrets lah. Its so much easier to bring him out in it. I use it to take bus to my mum's place. I tried ergo before. The support is even better. But my baby doesn't like it at all. I guess its because ergo carrier is bigger and baby doesn't feel secure in it yet. I will still give it a try again when my baby outgrow the bbjorn.

tinkabel:
The feeding time for 3-6 months is:
7am, 11am , 2.15/2.30pm, 6.15pm and 10.30pm

Oh regarding bumper mat:
I have one bought from Alien77 from the BP. I feel that if you have the budget, go for the 15mm thickness one is better. I bought Sweet Bear (11mm) its good enough but I feel that it will be really comfy if you can get the 15mm mat.

Wait till I find a job and start working, maybe I will upgrade it to 15mm. Heh heh..

tinkabel,

great that matt is making progress in sleeping thru the night, my boy has been trained on gina ford method, not fully cos i have to adjust it for him as some of her ways are not very suitable for him.

since 6 weeks, he sleeps thru the night but till now even though i tried to change to 4 hrly feed but not successful so he is still on 3 hrly feed at 180ml, everyday i will start him at 7-7:30am feed, then 10:30am, 1:30pm, 4:30pm, 7:30pm and last feed at 10:30pm, tried to increase his amt and try to cut to 5 feeds but still not successful.

i think you need to let your boy stablilise on this new improved progress that he is making before you tried to change it, bb needs routine else they will get mixed up, even though my boy is 13-14 weeks but still sometimes one or two night, he will wakes up at 5:30am or 6am but i dun care, i tried to drag and if die die have to feed at 6am then his next feed is still 10:30am, trying to tell him that the feeding schedule is fixed, cannot anyhow change.

by right gina ford is 5 feeds in the day now, every 4 hrly, start the day at 7am everyday.

tinkabel,
Matt is so cute! he's like choosing which toy to play with :p

i'm also trying to drop Eliza's feed from 6 to 5 but still can't..she can go 3 1/2 from one feed to next and then she'll cluster her feeds towards the end of the day. aiyah. now she averages her milk 120-160ml. GF method is 5 feeds for 3 month old baby but the time interval for the end of the day is too long for Eliza to tahan. think GF one is 7am, 11am, 230pm, 615pm, 1030pm.

Eliza's been going thru the night w/o milk too! but then ah...she still wakes up..so i have to swaddle her back and give her pacifier..or turn her on her tummy so she'll sleep better.

Woah happy, your boy can drink 180ml 3 hourly?
I am on Gina Ford schedule but my boy seldom finish 180ml. Usually he finish 120ml then he will start to fuss. I got to burp him in the middle, then he will drink another 30ml. The last 30 ml I usually got to wait until 10 mins later or sometimes give up cos he really don't want to drink.

HI Tinkabel,

Right. I have not posted a pic of my boy, Kiros before.

I got admitted to KKH on 14Nov morning 7.30am for induce but I didnt deliver until 15Nov 0011 hour.

below a pic of my boy.

1267106.jpg

elaine,

your bb weight is very normal, cannot be not feed enuf, my dr says sg bb can only be overweight and never underweight. you cannot compare with those slightly chubby bb, must based on your own bb development, some smaller, some bigger, some faster. some slower in development but ultimately they will catch up.

do you now compare with your friends that you walk at 12 month or 16 mths, does it matter to you now, like my bb now, he does not know how to flip yet, but i know eventually he will know how to flip, it really does not make a difference to whether he flip at 3 mth or flip at 4 mth. no need to worry too much, just a guideline of what you see and heard now, so dun be depressed when you compare your bb with the rest here, remember a happy mum will makes a happy bb :).

even your manager is not in town to accept resignation, you can still give the letter to HR dept and email your manager. when he comes back, the date that you passed your letter to HR to resigned will be the start of tge notice period, dun worry. No such thing as no one dares to accept the letter, all resignation letter ultimately goes to HR.

next time, those that say your bb not chubby, just smile and says your gal is vain and aims to be super model and praise that your gal is good, she can eats alot and doesn't have to worry about being fat next time, alot of ppl will envy her :)

starlight,

he is a heavy drinker sucky bb since birth, so when he is 8 weeks old, already drinking 180ml every 3 hrs then stuck there, recently, he also cannot finished his milk at certain feeds, he will play and push the teat away lor

re: sleeping thru the night
My baby's last feed is at 9-10pm and she will usually wake up at 5am+. I think this is considered sleeping thru already but the only setback is having to wake up and pump milk else my milk will start to leak which is super uncomfortable. I suppose body will adjust accordingly to baby's drinking pattern?

BUM WEAR
any mummies here considering getting bum wear for you babies to save on disposable diaper costs? Am considering and wondering if they offer a better price with bulk order. Anyone keen?