(2007/11) November MTBs

for those mummies who have gone back to work and are expressing at work, do you find your supply dipping?
for me, 1st 2 days seems to be ok, but for the subsequent week, i find my supply lesser already leh... although i hv been trying to express the same number of times a day... sianz... don't know if it will come back?

Hi plumsource,

Re: Baby Bouncer

We bought a Fisher Price link-a-doo at $99 for my daughter. She used to sleep in it day & night when we had difficulty putting her to sleep on bed. It's a rocker cum seat, comes in 2 positions and has some toys attached to it. I sit Natalie in it during the day when I need to do chores. Depending on your BB size, may outgrow quite soon if 3 months now. There's also vibration mode (A-size battery operated). I got this from Tangs.

My aunt lend me a take-a-long swing, also from FisherPrice. It 1-10 swing speeds & music. I find this pretty good cos Natalie can sit on it for quite a while & she's always distracted by the music and lights. The down side is that it uses a lot of batteries (can't remember if C or D size). I'm not sure how much it cost but you can check out at department stores. I think Robinsons or Tangs may have better range of Fisher Price.

Tinkabel & Baby Matt,
Take care and keep in contact through this thread!

tinkabel,
baby Matthias is so cute! pls do update his blog regularly so tat we can still "see" him.
guess u might be busy packing or on the plane now. pls take care & see u in may

mummies, can i check with u .... when u bring your babies out, say kai-kai or something...and say, they don't nap very well ... do they get cranky when they reach home like want to fall asleep cannot sleep? then cry and wants to be carried?

see for me, as i am in hong kong, no relatives, didn't have to bring baby kaira out for CNY visiting. so even if we go out in the past, its to nearby for a walk and lunch and usually will be back home within 2 hours. so far no prob.

but yesterday, we brought her further out shopping and went out close to 4 hours...she didn't sleep very well int he pram as very curious about the surroundings. when she came home, i know she's sleepy, so try to pat to sleep as i normally do, but she doesn't want, then cry and cry. must carry for some time before she can fall asleep....

aiyo...like that, me scared to bring her out liao ....

dream,
Taking baby out gets easier. My son will sleep throughout our outings regardless of how noisy it is. So don't worry. They often gets cranky if they are tired.

bouncer,
Plim,
I wanted to get the bouncer that you were referring to because I like the net backing, very breathable, I find the other padded types are too hot for our climate. Only problem is he can't sit in it for long.
Jules,
I've seen those swings ones and they can also convert into a chair for toddlers. But quite bulky and big, so takes up a lot of space. I will have to go and take browse around the shops!

baby walkers.
Anyone thinking of getting one? I used it for my other 2 sons when they were 8mths. But heard soo much bad things about walkers, so maybe decide against using one this time round.

Tinkabel, bon voyage!

Dreamer, Claire also has this problem like Kaira when i bought her out yesterday. When back home, she was fussing till i also buey tahan...

The worst thing is she starts to recognise ppl and places... Wow, she really scream when my in laws carried her!

Tinkabel

Have a safe trip

My gal has been learning how to flip and she finally managed to do so on sat. She's trying very hard till perspiring, thus so happy to see that she can do it. Though she dun know how to turn back yet.

Think she's enjoying also, can see more things and just the ceiling most of the time.

am able to sneak a post from work cos firewall down....hee

tinkabel, bye bye n take care! have a safe trip

dreamer, it happens to my girl soemtimes also. cranky becos she is tired. usually she will cry a while and i will carry/comfort her till she fall asleep. like what plumsource days, taking baby out gets easier...

) tweety- baby Luis - 6.01kg on FM anud BM
2) grace - baby Ash - 6.5kg on BM
3) rast- baby Jadon-5.6kg on FM (12wks 3days)
4) Jules - baby Natalie - 6.18 on FM
5) Kaye - baby Claire - 6kg on FM (3mth 1 week++)
6) Ueno - baby Leroy - 6kg on BM (3mth 1 week++)
7)Poissons - baby Garreth - 6.5kg on FM (2 mths 2 wks) Gosh! I think he is overweight!!
8) baby40 - baby Nicole : 5.1kg on BM (11weeks)
9) michviv - baby Ethan: 8kg on BM (12 weeks)
10) Plim - baby Bevis - 5.2kg on BM (11weeks)
11) Tinkabel - baby matthias - 6.07kg on BM (2 mths 3 weeks and 6 days)
12) S@L - baby Mischa - 6.9kg on BM (2mth 3wks)
13) Yami - baby Kaelyn - 6.6kg on FM (3mths)
14) Superhappymum - baby YongWei - 6.9kg on BM & FM (3 months )
15) Beloved_daughter-baby Matthias - 6.5kg on FM & BM (3months 1wks)
16) Skyeskye - baby Eliza - 5.9kg on BM (9wks)
17) Catherine - baby Jovan - 6.7kg on BM (mostly) & FM (bedtime) (2mths 2wks 4days)
18) Cindy - baby travis - 6kg on FM and BM (13 weeks)
19) fanny - baby cayenne - 5.5kg on FM (10 wks)
20) Jadefeet - baby Ethan =- 7 kg on FM (10 wks 4 days)
21) Sowie - baby Jaeanne - 7kg on BM (2mths 1wk)
22) Joey - baby Javier - 6kg on BM (11weeks)
23) Adelinechew - baby Amber - 7.1kg on FM ( 3mths )
24) yoko - baby Jordan - 6.78kg on FM (3mths and 2 days)
25) winwin - baby carrie - 5.6kg o FM (3 months)
26) efynn - baby xuan - 7.3kg on BM & FM (3 mth)
27) nov1mom - baby tailoong - 6.35 kg on BM & FM (3mths)
28) gemini19 - baby ying ching - 6.9 kg on FM (3 mths)
29) fushiastar - baby Luke - 6.1 kg on BM (10wks)
30) dokiesim - baby brayden - 7 kg on BM (3 mths)
31) Queenaire - baby Darius - 7.1kg on FM (3 mths + 1 week)
32) lazykat - baby Zee Yann - 6.2kg on BM, now FM (3mths 1wk)
33) kittybride - baby Chloe - 5.4kg on FM (3mths + 4days)
34) Olivetree - baby Gracie - 6.9kg on BM (3 mths + 2 days)
35) fttymum - baby En - 6.2kg on BM and FM(3 mths + 2 days)
36) Cactusnah - Baby Eagan - 6.6kg on FM (2 months, 3 weeks & 6 days old)
37) Sunshine - Baby Ziqi - FM (3 months)

Hi! Would like to join the Nov Mummies. I don't know what is the weight of my BB until her checkup this Friday @ the poly clinic. Will update by then.

Din have a chance to feed bb BM after confinement cos' I have skin allergy after eating noodles cooked with prawn. Took almost 2 months to recover. Going back to work on 3 Mar. Will miss the time I have with my cute bb. Luckily, Mum will be looking after her.

thanks plumsource, k@ye & yami for your sharing.

certainly hope it gets easier with bringing her out!

k@ye, like u, i also buay tahan baby kaira's crying! yesterday hubbie had to be the one to calm her and carry to sleep.

today.... she still cranky! aiyo...juz now cry and cry...cannot sleep even tho keep yawning and yawning... had to carry her for more than half an hour....

all my effort the past 2 weeks in training her to go to sleep on her "own" gone to waste liao! last 2 weeks, what i did when i see her getting sleepy is put her in the cot, turn her to the side, give her pacifier and she knows it's sleeptime. a few gently strokes on her forehead and very soon she will doze off.

hope she will get back to this routine soon..... :-|

hi sunshine
welcome

wow gemini, your daughter so fast can flip liao?
mine juz learning to enjoy her tummy time....haven't progress to flipping yet! heehee.

1) tweety- baby Luis - 6.01kg on FM anud BM
7)Poissons - baby Garreth - 6.5kg on FM (2 mths 2 wks) Gosh! I think he is overweight!!
17) Catherine - baby Jovan - 6.7kg on BM (mostly) & FM (bedtime) (2mths 2wks 4days)
32) lazykat - baby Zee Yann - 6.2kg on BM, now FM (3mths 1wk)
33) kittybride - baby Chloe - 5.4kg on FM (3mths + 4days)
34) Olivetree - baby Gracie - 6.9kg on BM (3 mths + 2 days)
35) fttymum - baby En - 6.2kg on BM and FM(3 mths + 2 days)
36) Cactusnah - Baby Eagan - 6.6kg on FM (2 months, 3 weeks & 6 days old)
37) Sunshine - Baby Ziqi - FM (3 months)
38) dreamer@hk - Baby Kaira - 6.5 kg FM (3months on 21 Feb)

k@ye, claire cried when your inlaws carry her becos she doesn't see them often?

i going back to sg in march .... baby kaira has been seeing juz me and hubbie for the last 2 months! (first month no count i suppose...too young...) wonder how she will react with my parents and in-laws when we get back to sg.....

Hi plumsource, I'd love to join you mommies for coffee this Wed. Hope to meet some of you mommies for support group. I KIV hor cos BB taking jab tomorrow, don't know how it'll go.

Plumsource, me too looking for a swing/ rocker to 'entertain' my princess. cos she needs alot of attention and basically i cant do things when she is awake! Sometimes i really need to get down to do my work and by the time i settle down, she wakes up again!

however i m very worried it will become a habit, like the 'yaolan' (sarong) effect). cos i used tt for my son previously....he cannot sleep without the swing...in the end i became the human swing ...even worse...

i have decided to purchase the bumper mat instead (considered a huge investment cos my son was using those ABC foam mats back then!) hahaha...i hope at least can put her there for tummy time or other activities when she starts to flip more and crawl...

i still contemplating whether to get the vibrating bouncer or swing-rocker chair cos it seems like Mischa is gonna outgrow the swing very soon when she starts to get active.

what do u think?

S@L
hi regards to the swing-rocker, i actually had one but now cannot use liao even my gabrielle is 12 weeks old... she had outgrown the swing...
but itz does calmed the little cutie when in the swing.

dear mummies,

It's my first day back to work, miss my bb so much.... I have so much grievances..

My MIL does not believe in the "pantang" kind of thing, and then keeps saying those rubbish in front of bb.. already told her dun say cos pantang & she say it's us who think too much.. Den I say "It's me who take care of bb & if anything, it's me who suffers!"

I'm realli going crazy.. esp on Sat night, she told relatives that at night she was nv be4 awakened by bb's cries (bb sleeps with me & hubby in another room). That very night, bb kept crying til 11 plus for no reason.. she still dare to ask me why she like dat.. I was damn furious (but try to control & din say her) & threw temper at my hubby.. I said "Ask ur mum to say more lah!! See if she can sleep tonight or not!" Den my hubby say "What u expect me to do?!! Tell her be4 dun anyhow say things in front of bb liao, but my mom's pattern is lydat wan!! Not like u dunno!" Actually I know she wun change 1, so I even more frustrated.. realli dunno what to do...

Sometimes I wonder when we are not ard, will she tok rubbish to my bb or not... Sigh.. now she take care bb from 8 to ard 12pm, den my mum take care of bb til I reach home ard 8pm.. I'm more assured when my mum's on shift..

sorry for the complaints.. I realli very pek chek & cannot find anyone to tok to.. my hubby also stuck in between.. I guess this is how the MIL & daughter-in-law conflict arise.. @$^&%$^!!!

something more to add abt my MIL.. there was once she asked me if she can feed bb without carrying her in the arms (as in when she's lying on her back)I replied & said no.. cos quite dangerous as bb might choke..

A few weeks after tt, me & my hubby went out for a while & left bb in her care.Guess what we saw when we reach home, she was feeding bb water while bb was lying down!!! I was so furious & immediately said "Don't feed her like this, can choke easily!!" Den she just pulled the bottle out from bb's mouth. And then one fine day, she asked my hubby if she can use a needle to enlarge the hole for the teat, cos she feel bb's taking quite long to finish her milk.. I listen liao wanna faint!! 10-15 mins is long?!! Den my hubby rebutted & said "How much u think bb can drink in a mouthful?" Den she kept quiet..

I already told her cannot already, but she still went ahead with it when we're not ard.. I really dun feel secure leaving bb in her care.. but no choice, I have to work..

plim - todae i just started work and my supply dropped by 70ml when i expressed at work.

but i am not complaining much coz i have to pump and throw away as the frige in office is not working well.

hope tonight's pump will boost a better supply if not i better start to take fenugreek for help!

plim,
is your work stressful? do u have proper meals & drink enuff fluids when at work? i find tat my milk ss is affected by these factors, so i try my best to relax (i know v hard to relax @ work) & drink lotsa water & never skip breakfast & lunch.

RE: Rocker
jovan uses those net type. every morning, after he had finished "chatting" with his bedside frens, he'll "call" us to put him in his rocker. then he'll "talk" to ah ma or his living room frens or watch us as we do our stuff. he's learning to flip so i think he'll outgrow it v soon. last sat, i found his legs all dangling at the edge of the rocker. quite dangerous. i was wondering if buckling him up will help since he's already 7kg. we had 2 other rockers (from frens) those hard backing type but we nvr used them coz CL said babies find it too hot & the backing is also not good for their back.

S@L,

I just bought the bumper mat for my gal and my mum who is taking care of her doesn't like it. She says very hot and too thin, baby can hurt themselves.

So buy already but putting aside till she's more steady then put her in it. what a waste... I rush down to Chinatown to buy somemore.

Gemini u mean the LG kind of mat? like those in the BP? is it cheaper from Chinatown? i used to put mattress or ABC mat for my son...now vain lo wan to buy soemthng nicer.

ladies, wanna get advice from you..i intend to open a savings a/c for my boy (together with me), any recommendation which bank is better? realise dat different bank have different type of savings a/c, not sure which is good. not looking at fixed deposit yet cos' my boy's angbao not that much...haha..:p

olivetree, catherine,
my job can be quite stressful lor, and sometimes rushing for meetings, etc. then trying to squeeze out proper time to pump...
as for diet, i'm making sure i take bfast and lunch, drink lots of water... btw, will green tea (i'm taking it as a daily drink) make supply dip? how about a small cup of tea/coffee everyday? cannot survive without these everyday if i'm at work leh...
i hope this is juz a passing phase (i encountered some days of lower supply b4 i returned to work but supply came back)... but this has been going on for like 5 days liao...

re: rocker
i hv the kind of chair (from FisherPrice), i think it serves 3 purposes (still position, still position and hang toys, rocking chair for above 2 yr old) and has the vibrating capability... dunno if that's the one everyone is talking about here?
i find it quite good for now cos when i need some place to put my gal down, i will use that, she will be in the chair's 'still' position, tilted 45 degrees backwards and sometimes she even fall asleeps in that position! well, my elder gal will sit in that chair as a rocking chair when my younger one is not using it... so it's a multi-purpose one and a good buy i would say (had it for 2+ yrs liao, since my elder gal was born)...

poissons, if i'm not wrong, if opening a joint acct with ur boy, it will be an account that you cannot withdraw money from it until the kid reaches a certain age leh... (can't rem. the name of the account)...
cos i rem. when i opened one (with POSB) with my gal for the deposit of the baby bonus, there are certain restrictions one lor, can put in cannot take out (yet)... is this true ah?

not sure about other banks...

hi poissons,

i oso open a joint POSBKids acct wif my bb.
it's like wat plim say, the acct open mainly used for savings; and restrictions on w/drawal till bb reach 12 or 18, can't rem.

but if u really wan2 take out, can la, just take ic and w/draw from counter; coz dey dun give u ATM card.

i wana know if any1 else open acct wif OCBC kids savings?

poissons

I open a uob junior savers a/c for my baby gal. It is a joint a/c between me and my gal. The initial amt to deposit is $500 and the bank will deduct $2 if the a/c falls below $500. Can apply ATM card for the a/c and internet banking for junior savers a/c.

I'm a mtb from the Aug08 MTB thread.
Anyone has any good confinement nanny to recommend me? I'm still looking for one.

Pls PM me if you have. Thanks in advance!

any mummies encounter problems when it's not you putting your bb for his/her bedtime? i put Eliza to bed around 8+ 9pm, and i started bedtime routine about 3 weeks + ago, but seems like since then, no one else can put her to bed but me. she'll cry her hearts out if it's my hubby or my mil, and when i carry her she'll calm down almost immediately.

skye, i think for my case, not necessary bedtime, sometimes when i'm having a shower, and Bevis cries, my husband cannot seem to calm her down... she will cry until i come out and take over from him... very jia-lat... i think cld b due to our scent that bb is familiar with or the way they handle (carry, pat) the bb bah... i always tell my husband to keep trying (by changing positions or the way he carries her) until she can get consoled by him!

bumper mat:
my gal is learning to flip, she managed to do it last thurs by turning towards her right but ended up her right arm trapped by her body and she has no strength to lift her head, heehee. I think it's time to invest in a bumper mat oredi.

jules,
Welcome to join us for coffee on weds. Here is my contact 9391809

coffee @ parkway this week.
10.30am 20th weds,cafe opp Top Shop, level 1 - i don't know the name ;P

1. plum
2. baby40
3. ueno
4. jules

bouncers/swings.

My concern is that our bbs will outgrow them very fast because they are already 3mths. Also the material is very thick so will be hot and sweaty. The swings chairs can be use up to 11kg and can then be converted into a chair for toddlers. But they take up a lot of space. I personally prefer the swing. looks really comfy and I can imagine bb having sweet dreams sleeping in that!

skye,
I think your Eliza can smell you thats why only you can pacify her when she is cranky. My Luis is the same, will drop off to sleep as soon as I pick him up, but will tear the house down if its my hubby! They can smell the scent of the mummy and find it very comforting.

bouncer/activity gym:
my gal oredi outgrown the small bouncer when she was abt 2 mths, now hv to put her in the giant bouncer. however lately she feels bored just sitting in bouncer and cries after a while. This past week, she begins to like the activity gym, she will use her hands to grab the dangling objects and she even falls asleep after a while! She has never fall asleep by herself till now

Updating Baby Joseph's weight at 3 mths.
1) tweety- baby Luis - 6.01kg on FM anud BM
32) Twiggy - baby Joseph - 7kg on FM (3mths)

We're back in Auckland now and thank goodness the 10hr flight was quite a bliss. Joseph didnt have any trouble with the landing or take off and only woke up when he wanted to feed. Phew! I'm wondering how babies handles jetlag tho. I'm trying to get him used to the 5 hrs difference and so far he's doing ok, though the timing is still a bit off. Last feed usually at 1am, then next feed between 7-9am. Hopefully he'll start having his last feed earlier so we can sleep thru the night in peace.

Wat level teats are your babies using now? I'm still using the Avent Level 2 teats for 1-3mths old but wondering if i need to move him up to Level 3 teats. How do I tell?

hi twiggy,

m using avent level 2 teat as well.
tried to 'upgrade' to level 3 last few days but seems like my bb can't take the faster flow; she will gulp and then stop and looks like she's gonna choke... so end up i switch back to level 2 teat and everything back to normal.

maybe i'll try it in another week or so.

Dreamer, yalor Claire seldom see my in laws and she can really wail!

In my case, i have no choice but to get a maid for my Mum to help me look after Claire. Claire wailed when she saw the maid. She refused to let the maid carried her.... I really faints!

Btw, my Claire is 4mths liao and she still has not learn how to roll over...

Hi Kittybride,

My boy is still using Avent 1 for his BM and FM. I tried to change to Avent 2, but he is like kena choked. then i very scared and didnt attempt to try again. He has no issue with Avent 1 though as he finished his milk within say 20minutes. Jus wondering if Avent 2 can speed things up.

Hi Mysterious-m,
I was with A/Prof John Tee too. Welcome.

hi mummies using Bfree bottles... can i check are u still using the "air vent tube"?

juz wundering when can we stop using the tube?