(2007/11) November MTBs

hi, long time no post. hehe. Welcome welcome new mummies.....

Fanny, Other time I was like u bring to KK thinking that they are specialist. "Emergency Children clinic" I am so disappointed in their service. All docs are actually new trainee docs and blur blur. Just tell u what they think. 1st time i brought Jordan there due to his rashes. Doc told me is milk rash so it is ok. No medication was given. In the late afternoon, it the whole body is full of rashes. I immediately brought him to see his regular PD. It turns out to be virus infections and need to consume anti biotic. Hiaz... 2nd incident my boy didn't poo for 2 days and pls he is crying badly, refuse milk. I brought him to KK again. Just like yrs test eyes, wait t feed him, but didn't test urine. Ask me to admit him. On 2nd thought i really got doubts. So i asked them again so what happen if i don't admit and what s the reaon? " maybe is just colic, u can monitor him at home too." Lucky I didn't waste my money.. Next day i brought to PD again. I was given Destinox stronger med for colic. Even better and cheaper. Last week my friend also complain abt KK ECC, her son was having high fever, they make her wait for 3 hrs. Same comment lousy doc. Don't know what kind of docs they have. So dangerous inexperience and what happen if diadnose wrongly??? Hiaz..... Perhaps they have gd facilities but must go to the head of dept not ECC.

Joey, Hi 5, Jordan is exactly behaving the way yr bb is behaving. Very headache n stress don't know what he wants exactly. Morning use sarong cos my parents need to walk around n not just sit ther and pat pat him. Nite, i will put him in the cot. But i am so tired when i aslways need to walk to him whenever he make noise. Decide to put him on m bed. He sleep better side way. Maybe u like to try. Mischa also sleep in tis position. They can really sleep longer period. I Can't really zzz thru the nite cos need wake up for nite feeding. wake up like zombie. Dam tired. Maybe sometime is colic, Jordan gt very bad colic. PD also advice give Gripe water.

Zoe, jordan also poo every 3 days on FM. PD ask me give him glucose water and it helps abit. But again it goes back to 3 days. PD advice put a little glucose in his milk. I did that too but nt so often. It helps. Maybe u want to try that. Like now, it becomes a habit of every 3 days. Wonder if inheried from me. Cos i constipate too. Hehe.

At last, Manage to see a 49.5kg instead at 50+kg. 4kg more to go I can fit few pcs of my pre preg pants liao. Jia you!

1) tweety- baby Luis - 6.01kg on FM anud BM
2) grace - baby Ash - 6.5kg on BM
3) rast- baby Jadon-5.6kg on FM (12wks 3days)
4) Jules - baby Natalie - 6.18 on FM
5) Kaye - baby Claire - 6kg on FM (3mth 1 week++)
6) Ueno - baby Leroy - 6kg on BM (3mth 1 week++)
7)Poissons - baby Garreth - 6.5kg on FM (2 mths 2 wks) Gosh! I think he is overweight!!
8) baby40 - baby Nicole : 5.1kg on BM (11weeks)
9) michviv - baby Ethan: 7.1kg on BM (11 weeks 4 days)
10) Plim - baby Bevis - 5.2kg on BM (11weeks)
11) Tinkabel - baby matthias - 6kg on BM (2 mths 2 weeks)
12) S@L - baby Mischa - 6.9kg on BM (2mth 3wks)
13) Yami - baby Kaelyn - 6.6kg on FM (3mths)
14) Superhappymum - baby YongWei - 6.9kg on BM & FM (3 months )
15) Beloved_daughter-baby Matthias - 6.5kg on FM & BM (3months 1wks)
16) Skyeskye - baby Eliza - 5.9kg on BM (9wks)
17) Catherine - baby Jovan - 6.7kg on BM (mostly) & FM (bedtime) (2mths 2wks 4days)
18) Cindy - baby travis - 6kg on FM and BM (13 weeks)
19) fanny - baby cayenne - 5.5kg on FM (10 wks)
20) Jadefeet - baby Ethan =- 7 kg on FM (10 wks 4 days)
21) Sowie - baby Jaeanne - 7kg on BM (2mths 1wk)
23) Adelinechew - baby Amber - 7.1kg on FM ( 3mths )
24) yoko - baby Jordan - 6.78kg on FM (3mths and 2 days)

the video on the maid showing the way she abuse the kid is really horrifying... i'm glad it was shown on tv such that more pple are aware of it!
cannot imagine the trauma the parents are going through now... sigh... personally i don't trust maid 100%...

I am thinking of removal of the mittens. But he rub his face, clean his mouth, rub his eyes, suck his mittens (actually trying to suck his yummy thumb and his nais are sharp. I was sratch by him when he is crying. I am so afraid that he scratch himself if i remove mittens.

Maid
Other time regarding the news of the death of the infnsnt cos maid accidentally hit the bb head against the toilet bowl. Died. I am so worry tat my maid accidentally done that too. So just ask my mom to bath him everyday instead of maid doing the job. Now see this news is worst! I used to trust my maid. But now i seems to hold back.

Anyone knows case 1 and 2 which nationality are the 2 maids?

juz now brought my daughter to the PD... PD upon hearing her breathe immediately say she has very blocked nose... however, he did not prescribe any medicine for her cough/flu cos he said too young cannot take medicine... only gave nose drop to clear her blocked nose... also fever medicine to stand by (she only has very slight fever, 1 or 2 degree above niah)...
poor thing, she's sleeping now, but coughing every now and then... but as long as she still can sleep, drink and play, i am not that worried... guess i'll juz have to take more vitamins (must rem. to take those pre-natal vitamins) so that she gets more nutrients when taking the EBM...

Tinkabel, Grace, Cindy, I decided liao .To buy a second set for home use and leave my PIS in office. I didnt ask hubby but make my own decision. I decided to go for it because it would give me the max satisfaction. :p If I have the last dollar, I would still buy it. So the answer is clear to me. Feel relieved even though it is such a simple decision making process.

Yoko, glad to see you and back in shape :p
I havent lose much weights because indulged in CNY goodies..haiz

plim, drink carrot juice is good when u are nursing; full of nutrients. I forward you the article I sent to S@L. In fact, my eye degrees dropped after taking carrots juice daily for a year.

tinkabel, I also wrote to my company worklife committees this afternoon to buy a sterilizer to put in the lactation room. If granted, I don even have to bring bf apparatus to office. I just bring my bottles for milk storage and ice bag will do.
Daily just travel light hopefully without notebook. I may be tempted to bring notebook home because need not lug my PIS anymore. Sigh! Slave to work...

yoko

the trips to KKH is no joke 1 lor. Stayed there from 10pm to 1am (sat night) waiting for my baby to pee. hubby wanted to go home, doctor said can either wait for her to pee or can bring the urine back within 2 hrs after she pee.

In the end, decided to head home. Baby really pee in the urine bag but hubby too tried to drive back to KKH. Brought baby back to sunday morning for the urine test. The 3 of us stayed at the KKH for 4 hrs again (10am till 2pm).

Somemore forget to close the windows b4 going to KKH, end up having a mini flood in my house.

kaye,

yes, that bb store is in chinatown, the block next to OG, i find that their stuff are cheaper than other stores even when other stores having promo, theirs still cheaper and best part, for buiky item or $150 above, they deliver lor, I need not get out to buy.

bumbo seat at 68 but if i want the tray, taka is the cheapest cost only 79.90 for both. bought 1 bumper mat, LG prime at special discount BP $250 but realised their store only $21x :-(

i suspect those BP stock are from there leh cos saw their catalogue, their price got put BP price, but their store can try item like little pod sling lor and still almost same price as BP, no need to wait and can try.

any of your babies drinking NAN? My goodness, I juz changed to NAN and realised that my boy's poo stinks like rotten eggs and his fart is as smelly as cowdung. He also dun like the taste and always refused to finish his milk...anyone experiencing the same thing? I'm switching back to Enfalac.

dokie,
yah when i bought my 2nd avent uno, i was considering the fact that I will lug my laptop home, since now with bb, decided to have a better work life balance. Go home earlier and maybe work after bb is asleep. So the thought of lugging laptop, milk bag, uno pump motor + adaptor turns me off. Now at least with a 2nd pump, only need to lug laptop and milk bag. Somemore now winter in SH, already wear a lot of clothes, can't imagine lugging every thg with me. As for the steriliser, dun tink they will add (it's PRC u know). So will sterilise all stuff at home and tighten with caps. So far i have been doing this when I go to my mum's place. Shd be ok.

poissons,

my boy drinking dumex mamil, poo and fart also very stink, whenever he fart, my family members will start asking who fart so smelly but no one suspect my boy cos they can never imagine a bb fart can be so stink :)

dokie,

my nephew used to have yellowish skin when he starts his solid but his eye white is very white, so my sis asked his PD, the PD told my sis to cut down on carrot, papaya, pumkin and wolfberries cos they will make his skin yellowish. so she tried not to add carrot too often in his porridge and his yellowish skin becomes ok.

Joey,
currently no PD for Mischa. I m bringin her for jabs at Hougang Polyclinic. My son's PD is at Pasir Ris Elias Mall. If Mischa falls sick most likely will bring her to the same PD.

The other when she had fever I brought her and her brother to Mt Alvernia clinic.

Happy,
When my boy drinks Enfalac, his poo stinks too but he dun fart so often and they are not smelly. He used to poo once a day but with Nan, he poo-ed 4 times yday! I think he's not suitable drinking Nan..

Morn ladies!

After seeing the baby abuse video on news last nite, i told my hubby that i rather resign from my work than let the maid take care! Its so scary, just pray that there won;t be anything wrong with the baby.

My fren also told me abt horror stories on KKH, he sent his daughter to the A&E and then the doctors told him to admit his daughter... He sensed something not right, then he refused. The next morn, he went to the PD and the PD gave his daugher some injection and was alright...

HAppy, Claire used to drink Dumex Mamex. Her poo & urine very stinko (even though we force feed her water), fart only loud but not smelly. When i switched her to soy based milk (due to her eczema), her poo is hard & stinks. Now, i switched her to NEstle the hypoallegric milk.. Her poo like no smell...

I know i very suakoo, what is a bumper mat?

Kaye,
That's the Nan milk my boy is drinking now lor..the hypoallegenic one..his poo is dark green, damn smelly and fart also stinks. How come your gal's dun? Hmm..

dokie, glad u came to a good conclusion. Happy Mummy = More milk for baby =)

Beloved, xie xie ni. post your boy's pic also, i long time no see him.. must have grown alot.

happy: thanks
have already done so
apptmt w senior consultant gastro at KKH next tues..

yoko: is it glucolin that you add? yah, all these teaching hospitals, best to get at least a senior registar, the medical officers usually not specialist or trainees..it's just the way the system is..

Happy, wont be excessive because I only take 240ml a day. Recommended is 1 pint which is 480ml. I drink 240ml because the body based on research can only take 240ml at one go. So no point drinking more. I lazy to juice a second time , so just take 240ml. :p

I get what u mean because my elder son has the same problem , I fed him pumpkin, papaya, carrot etc almost daily. PD said the same things. But is really fine. No harm at all. Just don feed excessively.

Plim, havent forward. I will do it now. Rushed to do marketing just now. just came back not long ago.

Tinkabel,Grace, bought my pump. Happy liao! CNY can use. Travel light! It really makes sense . Now cant incur taxi fare with crazy peak surcharge, I have to take mrt.sigh!

I saw the maid video...soo shocked that someone can be soo heartless and cruel to a helpless baby. My heart just stopped when watching it and it really makes me think twice about hiring a maid now. Imagine how long this abuse has been going on before the parents found out?? The baby is soo young and delicate yet subjected to this kind of abuse. I hope they severely punish the maid if only to deter others from doing the same.
Feel soo sad for the innoccent baby

k@ye,
Did your PD perscribe oilatum emollient for the baby's bath water and hydrocortisone ointment for her skin? I found that when I switched to soy milk my sons eczema got better. In UK 9 out 10 babies get eczema because of the hard water. My first son had it very bad and only went away when he was 3yrs old.

long time never post anything here...seems all babies growing very well...CNY coming i m sure all mummies have bot many new clothes for bb and cant wait to bring them for visiting hehee...

i will be bring my gal to hk in 3 weeks time...so nervous..dont know i can handle well or not during that 3+hr journey...already informed the PD that we r traveling and has been given some med to bring along...

any mummies already brought bb oversea? anything to watch out?

7)Poissons - baby Garreth - 6.5kg on FM (2 mths 2 wks) Gosh! I think he is overweight!!
17) Catherine - baby Jovan - 6.7kg on BM (mostly) & FM (bedtime) (2mths 2wks 4days)
25) winwin - baby carrie - 5.6kg o FM (3 months)

Poissons, mabbe i forced feed her to drink water... but still too early to tell whether her poo stinks...

Tweety, my PD gave her steroid cream and told me to avoid all soap. So now, i m just applying lotsa moisturiser on her coz her skin now is flaking. But, my Mum told me not to put any moisturiser on her... Sigh!

kaye,

bumper mat is cushion mat on the floor for bb to play on so that if they fell,not so hard lor, like abc mat but it is one piece type :)

my boy still drinking dumex mamil, no intention to change cos beside stinky poo and fart, so far okay, wanted to change when find that he only poo once and day or once every 2 days but my sis and pd said, it is ok, dun change if nothing wrong cos might be worse lor.

zoe+luke,

yes at least a senior consultant. my boy is seeing dr tan, a half retired PD in KKH for his immunisation and development but for other issues, seeing dr irene chan in paragon who used to be a head in KKH, intensive unit dept. becos got once wanted to make appt to see dr tan in KKH, the girl told me earliest is 2 mths later :-( and ask me to walk in :-( no way, pay $70 for walk in, in the end might need to remake appt to see senior again so wat's the point.

In KKH, whether it is gynae or PD, need to make appt to see specific dr that i want else.....but those good doctors in KKH are really good lor. when my son born, the first PD that came to check him thoroughly is a senior but the MO that discharge him is a filippino dr and she knows nut, so angry at her cos she cannot answer my questions and even told me that my son need surgery when i told her that the senior already said no need, just come back for review 2 mths time and when I told her to go and see the record of what yesterday PD wrote, she went to the nursery dunno looking for what and when the nurse asked her what she wants, she said dunno what I said and want and what is a PD? gosh! what a stupid MO, dun even know how to read record and the meaning of PD, even the nurse commented on that later, so fed up with her.

kaye,
mine i also force feed water, but still dunno why still smelly. And the poo and fart changes the next day when i switched to Nan..so dunno why.

as for eczema, how come u use steroid cream? there's a non-steroid cream call Protopic, maybe can try that instead? cos' i understood from my PD that steroid cream will thin the baby's skin and is very dry. My PD also prescribed another type of moisturizer to apply after we applied Protopic on my boy's skin.

22) Joey - baby Javier - 6kg on BM (11weeks)

Happy, my PD is Dr Irene Chan from Paragon, i din know she is so experienced till i went to her clinic when i bought Claire for her review when Claire is 5 days old.

She was recommended by my gynae when the nurses in my delivery suite asked which PD to assign to Claire.

Poissons, my Mum forced feed her water at least 3 times a day. The PD told me to use the steriod cream for 1-2 days but i stopped using it on the 2nd day. So, now its loads of moisturiser and my Mum bath my baby with bittergourd vines & "chicken shit" (literal translation) vines.

Here's travis! he doesn't seem to happy hahaha!

cou;ldn't find the jumbo seat at kiddypalace so got this instead as i couldn't wait HAHAHAHAs.

1238390.jpg

Been really a long long time since I last post...been very very busy with my baby. I am on total breastfeeding (direct) and only bottle feed him when I go to church (MIL feeds him). He still drinks every 2 hours, sometimes even less than 2 hours, so my spare time is used up to do all the other necessities like bathing, eating, and housework...sigh, life has really changed.

glad to know that everyone seems to be doing fine with their babies.
K@ye, you mentioned your PD is Dr Irene Chan...my PD is also her, recommended by my gynae when I delivered. Do you mean she is not experience or experience as she was the one who recommended you the steroid cream?

hi erika, u may want to check if baby is drinking sufficiently since he is drinking every 2 hours.

Erika, i mean i didn't know she is so experienced. My daughter's eczema is pretty bad, that's y she recommend me the steriod cream and she did tell me to apply for 1-2 days only...

Frankly speaking, i trust her prof judgement if not her clinic won't be beaming with patients.

Cindy, Travis has this funny expression like want to poo poo look.....

Cindy, your baby is my mum's favourite. each time featured travis, I would ask my mum..come , come ,come and see this baby...!
She would view it and always begin with a "wow"!

Travis looks fit and sturdy leh...ur hardwork paid off.

kaye, erika,

so we all have the same PD :) but her charges quite ex lor, first time consultation w/o medicine $100, my sis PD only $45.

22) Joey - baby Javier - 6kg on BM (11weeks)
26) efynn - baby xuan - 7.3kg on BM & FM (3 mth)

Happy, she charges me $60 for consultation in 2007 but now she charges $70 for consultation.

I think the charges are based on how long ur session with her (taken from a guideline on medical fees placed at every clinic)

kaye,

really? my gf told me she charges her $90 every visit leh. dun tell me her charges vary between different nationality? how long is your session with her? she checks your bb overall? and answer some of your questions right?

the last time was just bb mouth, diaper area and general questions from me.

kaye:: HAHHAA yes yes! like so uncomfortable look! muahahha!!

dokie:: really? thank your mommy for me ahaha! my hard work paid off yes... heheh I hope so. now i'm trying to replace all day feeds (those times when i'm at work with FM) so far he is taking 2 per day of FM. slowly see if i cna adjust to nurse him only at night when i'm back from work. hahaha!! now a bit sad to want to give up BFing him. hohooos.
here's another for your mommy lah! hahaha.
1238584.jpg

Happy, my session is usually 5-10 mins.... I will ask her abt general questions and she will check the mouth & diaper area and her lungs if i told her i suspect phelgm or whatever so... Usually, on Sat, it will be faster coz alot of patients.

Mabbe my daughter is seen by her since birth... Mabbe that's the cheaper consultation charges? But with medication, the charges will definitely hit $100

can share ur sleeping times for ur kiddos? Mischa seem to be sleeping very very little in the day ! BUT but....still dun sleep thru the night le. I have no problem with her waking up for feeds, but i not sure if its ok tt she dun sleep as much now? i can latch and pat her till she fall asleep and put her in cot.then i will leave the room close the door. but by less than 20min she will be crying and awake again! it gets frustrating sometimes cos i take real long to pat her and sometimes settle down to do things / work she will be awake again. then will be another round of 'talking', coo -ing and awww -ing with her and the cycle repeats. Until evening like 7-8plus then she will really doze off for long hrs.

And at my mum plc she said Mischa can sleep a good 2-3hrs! hiaz...she didnt do anything special le, i heed her advise to put bolsters (cos she sleeps on her side) and cool the room....still the same.

S@L, same with my baby. He doesnt sleep very much in the day time. He wants to be carried and once put down on the crib, he will be awake and the cycle starts again. He usually goes to bed by 10pm and wake up for morning feed btw 6 to 7am. He will doze off again and wake out for feed btw 10 to 11am. Thereafter, don sleep soundly

S@L

My gal also behaves the same as Mischa. She wakes up every 20mins crying. I have to pick her up and pat her walking up and down.

She sleeps very long at my mum's hse too. I also duno why leh. My mum says her place is more windy than my house.

How often do u place mischa at your mum's hse? Mine only come back during wkends so maybe she is adapting to the new environment.

s@l: travis's pattern is the same as dokie. but he sleeps around 8plus 9 and gets up 2 to 3 am and then 5 to 6 am and feed again around 10am. STIll doesn't sleep through the night. only naps here and there and nap NO longer than 30 mins. HAHHAHA...

hi i'm new to this thread, my baby ashlee is 12 weeks old. She sleeps very little in the day and only willing to sleep in the yao lan and most times needs to be rocked all the way
Thanks goodness, she zzz in the cot at night and usu sleeps ard 8pm to 6plus in the morn.

She is on FM and the last 2 days, she's been fussy during feeding and keeps turning her head left n right and uses her hand to push away the bottle. However she wails when the teat is not in her mouth. She is using lv 2 teats so my hb say to chg to lv 3. Issit too soon to use lv 3 teats?

We also hv a bumbo seat but dare not try yet, how to tell when baby's head is firm enuff to sit in it?

Hiaz 1st time mummy so very blur leh.

S@L,

my boy is similar too, as they grows, they sleep lesser and shorter. was told that at their age, they cannot do anything so once wakes up, need attention, imagine your bb wakes up and just stare at the ceiling quietly, no cry at all, isn't that a bit worrying too :) so once they learn how to flip, crawl and sit, will be better, now they can only depends on us, everyday at 7am when i wakes up to start my boy first feed, i know the day is gonna be very long till 10:30am for his last feed for the day, in between the day, same plight as you too.

recommended in gina ford book that bb at our age are not supposed to sleep more than 3.5 hr in the day, other than the 12pm to 2pm longer nap, the rest is like 30mins or not more than 45 mins