(2007/11) November MTBs

K@ye, u mentioned regarding the jabs , only if bb going to infantcare then need to take right? what if its my son who attends the childcare? will he pass any virus her caught from the childcare bk home to my gal? so should i give my girl the jab too? i m trying to cut down on the jabs so tt she dun hv to be poked unnecessarily.

sabrina, oh ya kept forgetting to update u. yes its good. can empty breasts..i jus used this aft at a shopping mall. BUT becos i m using the Avent DUO at home, i tend to compare the suction.
i called Avent and they advise to brin it down for them to assess. i see how la cos maybe the suction is fine jus tt i m so used to the power of DUO

thanks for letting go the pump to me.

poissons:: my bb is also on enfalac and i realise that after that meal, his poo is also green a bit slimy.. is yours slimy? don't know if it's okay not.. but the rest of the time is still BM so it's the mustard type. hmmm. hahaa even when he's on BM and only 1FM feed, he also have to use a lot of strength to PUSH.

Elaine,
Sorry I didnt get your PM and you dont accept PM somehow. Anyways, you can contact Doris Fok at 96387660. She is mentioned on a few websites like www.momsinmind.com and www.breastfeeding.org.sg

RE : Formula feeding
I'm thinking of switching to FM from BM. Can FM mums advise : do you make the whole day's worth of FM in the morning and leave in the fridge, or do you make each feed at a time, only when baby is about to feed? How long can FM last in the fridge? When I tried to make FM by adding hot water first, then adding cold water, the FM doesnt seem to toally dissolve. Still can see the milk looking a bit powdery. Is it suppose to be like that? I tried Enfalac and Similac.

mummies, items from Drugstore spree #1 has arrived. Give me some time to sort them out and post to you!

Meanwhile, can mummies let me know who needs the cream urgently as the last time i mentioned i only managed to order 26 tubes out of the 31 orders. hence some mummies might wan to wait for #2 batch and let those mummies who need them urgently to get it first?

FM and babies poo.

Similac-mustardish, semi solid
Enfalac- green, slimy
NAN- green, slimy, runny, and very often.
Mamex-constipation, yellow.

I am lost at what to try next and whether i should try anymore FM!!!I'm letting Luis latch on as much as possible to help his constipation. Luckily he has finally pooed after 2 days!!

Looks like we have better numbers this time round for the gathering. So no need to make it a weekend hor?
I was thinking that if we have weekend and lots of ppl then we do catering...hehe

S@L,
I need the cream!!!! pass to me on gathering ;)

Twiggy,
You CAN make batches of FM and refrigerate. I prefer to make it when bb requires it. The FM should dissolve completely, if you still see specks of powder than it hasn't been made properly. You should make sure your water is hot enough to dissolve the powder, then cool the milk by putting the bottle in cold water for ready feeding. I used to make batches of milk when my boys got older and it makes life soo much easier. FM in the fridge can be kept for 24hrs

Have been following this thread for some time now since my pregnancy. Gave birth to my son, Ethan on 9th of Nov. He'll be 10 weeks tomorrow and we found out that he weighed 6.7kg on Tues when we visited the PD. I was a little worried abt his weight but my PD reassured me that baby knows best and his growth will plateau soon and normalize once I get back to work next month.

Here's my response to some queries raised by mummies:

- Is it safe to take weight loss pills like Duromine during Breastfeeding?
--> I'm a pharmacist by training and I would strongly advise against taking any medications, especially prescription medications from doctors as these are more often than not excreted into the breastmilk and affect babies as their livers are still immature and are unable to breakdown these foreign compounds. Thats just the advice I would give my patients.

- Descaling your sterilizer:
I'm currently using the Pigeon sterilizer. To descale, I bought some white vinegar from NTUC and added half a cup of vinegar and half a cup of water (I used the Pigeon cup which is 120mls). After running the sterilizer, I wait for 15 minutes for it to cool down somewhat and run another cycle using just water. After these 2 cycles, you can put in all the bottles again for sterilization. (Please remember to take out all the bottles when running these 2 descaling cycles)

my girl hit a "new record" today... 9hours n she took less than 200ml of milk thru e botl.. she'd rather starve, n sleep.. but stil good mood enuf to smile at us when we talk to her.. but just REFUSE e bottle... im reli at my wits end liaoz.. tried calling TMC parentcraft but Mrs Wong too bz to respond either...

<font color="0000ff">2nd child</font>
<font color="ff6000">pig07</font>, u r reli a gungho mummy for planning #2 so soon... depending on ur health &amp; ur childcare options, theres no reason y u cant start ur quest for #2 now ar...
i had 2 kids in 2yrs.. e age gap between my 2 kids are 12.5mths... but hv to admit, both are by accident. i was still bf-ing my #1 when i suddenly found myself preggy (with no menses b4hand). initially we wanted 3, but my hb turning 40 tis yr, im 30... so decided to close shop now lor...
e "con" of hving 2 kids with such small age gap is tat u or ur caregiver muz reli have patience + ENERGY + tolerance to take care of #1 who is super active, walking ard everywhere (unstably, so gotto monitor closely), exploring (i.e. touching, hitting) everything in e hse... n coping with a newborn who's temperament u havent familiarise yet...

<font color="0000ff">own mum as caregiver</font>
<font color="ff6000">poissons</font>, i think my mum opposite of urs..
in my case, she's constantly complaining &amp; comparing my 2 kids.. cos gorgor is much easier bb to take care of (no feeding problem), plus tat time only 1, easier... meimei now feeding got problem, so whole day quite fussy n always needs to b carried/coax/etc... my mum can let meimei cry for so long until i BTH ask my maid quickly go carry meimei n make her stop crying... sometimes i stress myself n worry abt how badly meimei will be crying when i go back to work... then hb will scold me say i worry for nothing.. its still her granddaughter mah...

tweety, so what FM u r using now? I tries Friso - yellow color also poo every alternate days. Now on Enfalac poo is green due to the Iron contents in the milk powder. Poo same also every alternate days sometimes at day 3. Did swith to enfalac HA poo also green n smelly n alot. actually my family asked me to change to Dumex.but i find the ingredients in dumex aren't as gd as enfalac, friso or similac. so i decide to stay w enfalac....

twiggy, i made as when bb require. i never keep the milk more than 1 hr. it states that dun keep for more than 24 or 48 hrs. i usually use a spoon to stir when i make.

tinkabel,
me me taking cab to tweety's place. i stay in bukit merah view. where do u stay? we can take a cab together. let me know...

Girls,
btw, FOX and GAP having 50% off. go grab if u need clothes for baby..

poissons: my mil also wants to keep carrying luke
much as i can understand that, it makes looking after him difficult for me..after training him to be able to be byhimself on weekdays, she comes on weekends and carries him for hours and the next day i'm back to square one.. v frus..

re: 2nd child
i have a 25m gap between my 2 kids and used to work part time but am now a SAHM.. to me this gap is still too small cos my older girl is v attached to me and will only accept me as the caregiver.. at 25m, she still needs help during feeding.. was also unable to toilet train her despite many attempts before luke arrived..although i have a maid, she doesn't look after my kids..so it's tough having to still feed, diaper change, put to sleep and play with my 2yr+girl who's also going through her terrible twos now and also breastfeed and care for a baby..plus my hubby doesn't work regular hours.. think it depends on caregiving arrangement.. would be ok if there's help but if looking after yourself, it's possible but tough..

S@L,
I need the cream as going back to work. Need to put at SIL's place.

michviv,
Thanks for your advice

Zoe,
Our kids age gap is about the same. Why can't your maid help ?

went back office for a day to clear some work and meeting. Carried so many barang barang...sianz. Now asking for a sterilizer in lactation room. Hopefully granted. Then I can carry less things. Officially starting work on 11th Feb..yipee..after CNY

Also had discussion with my boss how to clear my remaining 3 weeks leave after I return to work.
She wanted me to clear a week each month. I am thinking after tue and thu go on full day leave.
Must think through. Haiz

Next gathering would be farewell for tinkabel as she departs for Shanghai. :p
Tinka, any special request?

From today, I must start asking my hubby to let me go for the gathering. Keep your posted.

grace,
me staying telok blangah hts, can go tog. we confirm again later

maidenform online is hvg 50% discount on clearance. me n my sis wanted to get some stuff, so i org a last spree. i still hv a 25% discount code on top of that n for all regular items. Any one needs to get new lingerie? i still prefer normal bras to nursing bras... email me at [email protected] or post in this thread...

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/590029/1189648.html?1199977026

hope to close spree asap as sizes n colours are running out fast

S@L,
the last time i went there, the auntie said that they were moving out of that place, not sure if they are still there. I buy my pao from their outlet at Geylang now.

Ueno, recently there was a recall for the sports water bottle XXgene brand. but the verdict was the BPA nt harmful.

in fact a lot have proven that BPA dun leach into the contents in the btl jus by using it. i think should be safe since polybicarbonate bottles have been used since we were young. but if mummies wan to be safe, i thnk there are only 1 kinds of btls in the market tat is considered 'safe'.

oh no. i'm using avent bottles!!!

ueno:: thanks for the link.. whats this bfree brand they're talking abt ya know? can fit avent teats?

thank you s@l:: but i guess sigh no way to really avoid de hahaha!! somemore i don't want to change my sterilizer too! HB says should be safe, like you said for nalgene... so. hmm. you're also using avent eh?

Cindy, ya all my things are from avent! Even breast pump funnel is made in Polybicarbonate also contain BPA. i believe if its really harmful to a certain extent then it would have been removed from the shelves long ago. However i do try to be careful and only buy reputable brands like Avent/Pigeon things...those 'non-brand-ed' btls/baby feeding accessories i usually wont buy...dun wan to take risk of lead, colouring etc...

i think i'm addicted to pumping. eventhough i have decided to stop bf.. but i feel strange if don't pump at least once for the day. Like somthing is missing. Ended up taking out my pump and happily pumping away.

S@l, on the jabs hor. Think best to consult the PD coz its possible for your son to pass germs (if he kena any from the childcare centre) to Mischa.

But the childcare centre pretty strict these day, they will check for the temperature and spots on the hands &amp; feet. Futhermore, if the child has any sickness, they will ask the parent to bring the kids home!

One good news, my Mum is able to take care of Claire for me! I dun have to put her in the infant care centre!

sabrina and s@L:: haha ya in fact most of my things are avent too. i just leave it lah. hahaha/ nothing is absolutely safe too!

sabrina:: hahah!! you're so funny!! but even if u don't pump u don't feel engorged eh? how long did you take ha? from starting to decrease the amy pumped out? now me still trying to replace latching on feeds with FM, hope slowly can reduce supply without taking med. haha!

sabrina, ur body is telling u to continue pumping. ya i hv the same feeling too...i kinda 'enjoy' pumpin and seein the amt of milk collect at the end...feel so satisfied. but now having problem cos running out of fridge space and my son cant clear tt much in time, i also dun wan to give Mischa frozen ones. MY fren suggested something funny. she used her 'almost expired' BM to soak her hands and do facial...she really have a lot of milk la....

S@L,
i also need the cream, currently i'm using johnson baby powder. i order 2 tubes from u, but i'm ok if u send me 1 tube 1st and the other tube u can sent me later if ur #2 batch arrive.

Tweety / Yoko,
Thanks for the info on making FM. Maybe I didnt make my FM wiht water that's hot enough. But problem w making when baby wants it is that by the time he's crying, I dont have time to make with hot water and cooling it. Cooling takes a long time. So wondering if what most people do is make them in batches and keep in fridge.

S@L,
Wah! You have so much milk. That's a blessing. If you dont' want to give Mischa frozen milk, why not donate your milk to other mums who might need it but don't have. Some babies are allergic to FM but their mums can't produce enough BM. You can start a thread to see if anyone wants.

RE : Bfree vs Avent bottles
I'm using both Avent and Bfree bottles. The Bfree bottles are really expensive and quite a hassle to use I find. So many part to assemble and disassemble. And if dont assemble tightly enough, it will leak. So in the end I end up using my Avent more often. I think as long as you change the bottles frequently enough, should be ok to use bottles with the B-substance.

RE : Gina Ford routine
Mothers on the GF routine, I have a question. What do you do when baby starts crying before his schedule feeding time? Try to coax him and wait till feeding time? Also, what about growth spurts period when they totally go outta whack and want to feed more often than their routine?

Yoko and Lazykat,
I spoke to my gyne yesterday and she said the medicine to stop BM ss does coz breasts to become smallr than pre-preg size. So I think I will do the gradual method instead. I'm already so flat, if I use medicine, my chest will become concave.

RE : Gathering
I'd love to join in for the gathering but not sure if I can. I can only be out for 4-5 hours because of my pumping schedule but so happens I have a Dr's appt on 23rd at 930am.
I'll try to join you girls if I can as I really want to meet you all.

twiggy... i also don't make in batches, like you, sometimes or rather most times still have some undissolved clumps... also thinking of how to solve it cause a wailing bb makes me stressed! haha..

For those mummies who are planning to pump when back at work, how are you planning to sterilize your pump parts assuming one pumps 2-3 times during the workday?

Not sure if I should get a microwavae sterilizer or sterilizing tablets?

I'm going back to work on the 11th of Feb so I hope to get all this stuff sorted out before CNY. Oh, by the way, have any of you come across where I can get those cute chinese outfits for 2 month old? All those currently on sale in the forum are for kids much older.

Twiggy,
I realise every gynae has his/her opinion, but most imptly u muz feel comfortable with the decision u make.

It din occur to me that i shld make FM in advance.. anyway very fast compared to warming EBM. i prefer making it fresh too - perhaps wat u can do is to measure out the powder and store in those containers used for travelling purpose, standby an assembled bottle next to it. So u juz need to add in water before the feed.

Re: Gathering
me also would love to join, but need to work out schedule with in laws/hubby first as juz started orientation with them today.. so can only confirm next wk.

twiggy,

Re- Gina Ford routine

I use my discretion when he wakes up ealier for milk, usually il try to hold him off by entertaining him n he's happy to wait. But there were times when he really wants milk, cried really loud, il feed him. Maybe those were the periods of growth spurts?

ueno,
dunno how you can make ur boy sleep from 730pm to 730am. Yesterday my boy had his last feed at 830pm and then slept at 10pm. Woke up 330AM, was crying like mad for milk (that's already 7 hours since his last feed)

twiggy,
come la. At most bring ur pump and pump at tweety's place. The last time i brought my pump, but guess waht, I forgot my adaptor, so I felt so bad. This time, must def remember to bring my adaptor if gathering is longer.

cindy, your darling baby look so much like your hubby! so cute u let him wear Friday romper..

re: going out alone with baby
today is my first trip with baby out alone to the nearby shopping centre. so happy i can cope and its really not that difficult. i took a bus too although its only 1 bus stop away. had her in her bb bjorn. i feel so happy and empowered now. not like last time, everything also have to wait for hubby. =) hooray!

sabrina,
I have the same feeling too when I stop pumping for my 1st baby. It's a tough decision to stop as I didn't yield a lot of BM. My collegues who were pumping together also salute to me.
I hope this time, my milk supply can last longer.

I actually feel sad when I get to know some of you who can yield lots of BM want to stop pumping or BF. But I also understand that they have to face another problem....engogement...pain. Sigh !

grace
i brought matt out a few times alone. yesterday i go ica to collect his passport, i also took mrt n bus home. my MIL was shocked!!!

hahah grace:: thank you! ya loh he got mon to sun romper hahaha....

And tinkabel and grace:: WOW!i still cannot go out with bb alone. can't carry him and carry bag so heavy! hahaha!!

Cindy, bring bb out is like a strategic plan. Must bring the minimum but enough. In my case, i just stuff my wallets &amp; mobile phone into the diaper bag!

So whenever i bring Claire out alone, its just a backpack, her milk bottles container &amp; her Benz (stroller)...

Re: TBF
Any mummy still doing TBF? Since I see so many discussion on switching to FM and FM issues. Me still doing TBF, actually want to do that for 1 year, but now that I am closer to going back to SH, I just wonder whether I can keep that up when back at work. Cos if can't, then I prob need to stock up FM to bring over to SH. Sigh, what a dilemma...

Re: Engorgement
I really find my right breast more engorged and uncomfortable. When I look at them, the right side look bigger when engorged. Really worried might become 1 big 1 small... anyone can advise?

Cindy,
Haha....ya, stress lah.. hear baby crying like mad, I cannot wait for milk to cool slowly.

Lazykat,
The time consuming part is not portioning the powder but waiting for milk to cool if I use hot water to dissolve the milk. So that's why I was wondering if most people make in batches and leave in fridge? I find heating up EBM faster. Dunno, maybe coz my baby doesnt mind drinking his milk slightly cold.

Tinkabel,
I'm hoping I can come for the gathering. But I take almost an hour to pump leh.....

Ueno,
Thanks for the advice on GF routine. I tried doing that today. Ended up using the pacifier a lot to keep him to his meals times. :p

Superhappymummy,
I know what you mean, I very heartache to stop BFing, especially since my supply is good. That's why I've persisted but always thinking of quitting. Very funny, it's like everytime breasts a full and painful, I make up my mind to quit. And once they're emptied, I'll be happy and thinking I'll continue BFing.

RE : Bringing baby out alone
I've not tried it so far but like so much to bring. If I take cab, hubby wants me to bring the car seat. Which means I'll have to handle car seat, stroller, and diaper bag. Seems easier to just take the bus and use the Baby Bjorn carrier.