(2007/11) November MTBs

GF method

i am also trying the GF method on my baby. started trying on sat noon. i was alone at home with baby during daytime so it was quite tiring trying to keep baby awake when i was feeling so sleepy. yday was the full day "practice". he still wakes up at nite *sigh* but good news is he can sleep 3-4hrs (after his 10pm bedtime) b4 waking up for his feed. i dun have to resort to giving him FM or letting him sleep on his stomach! he does dift off to lala-land at 7pm (acc to GF schedule) but he still wakes up on & off for small feeds before really going to sleep at 10pm.

i try to make baby follow the sleeping schedule. Feeding-wise, it's quite impossible to follow the schedule coz he still cries for milk every 2hrs. Wat i do find amazing is tat GF's recommendation tat baby should be allowed to sleep/nap after 2hrs being awake is v applicable to my baby. he is usually v sleepy after 2hrs of being awake & nothing can stop him from sleeping.

i hope to make more progress so i can wave bye bye to my panda eyes...hahaa. Wish me luck!

zoe+luke, same sentiments. i realised tt GF routine is not favourable for family with more than 1 bb. for instance my son will kinda disrupt the routine when he fuss and wakes bb up then i hv to make bb sleep again. timin will be delayed and its like a vicious cycle. so i have kinda stopped practisin the routine for now and take her cue. so far so good although she has nt slept thru the night. and i reckon tt not all babies can sleep thru and since now she only wakes 1-2 times a night and goes bk to sleep right aft feed, i m fine with tt. i feel so stress to follow the GF routine.and the pumping time in the routine kinda doesnt work for me as i pump aft every feed, and i passing to my mum soon so i need to pump more times in a day.

Thanks Dokiesim, i got the info.

Gillian, i got ur email but i already sent out the Drugstore orders. so sorri. next round i inform u again if any.

S@L, Plim. Placed orders for the almond drink. I will ask a friend to send to S@L's place on thu or friday.
The supplier will send my weekly supplies and the 2 tins to my office.

dokie, ok thanks. can u inform me in advance cos i start work already
let me know how much to pay you.

hiyo mommies, last night i had a great fright. everything was ok in the day, suddenly at 4 am, i woke up and found a lump in one of my boobs. it was sooo hard n big n painful. the rest of the boob feels normal soft. I was soo scared i kept massaging n put hot towel n let bb latch on that side. finally, it went away after 2 feeds. goodness me. I was scared stiff!!

does your bb sleep n suddenly cry out very loudly? mine does, MIL says he got scared by something. say cannot bring him out in future. sighs. bad monday.

Dokie, thanks...

S@L, i'll pay u for the almond drink together with the rest of the things...

Cindy,
yes, my baby does scream/cry out very loudly suddenly while she was sleeping... this happened 2 or 3 times before... i am also puzzled as to why it happens... but usually she's soothed once we pick her up and pat her... she'll doze off to sleep afterwhich...

Cindy, no la...we have night mares too...hehehehe...so serious cant go out?! if he persists crying the whole day, u can give him some 'bao yin dan'. Mischa sometimes wll cry suddenly too when she wakes.

Cindy, my girl cries out loudly when she pass urine.
Or when there is a loud sound... so i place a bean sprout pillow on her during the day. I do not do it during the nite cos I am worried that she turn n twist so much that the pillow cover her face.

how long is ur MIL intending to 'imprison' ur baby??

plim and s@l:: ahhaha, he always does this ley. not just once or twice le. this whole morning we've been taking turns to carry him. even when we carry him, he fall asleep, suddenly he'll scream out. hai. really headache!!!

yami:: i don't know, sighs, i want to bring him out, he really enjoys gg out. i also place a bean sprout pillow but doesn't seem to help. gosh.

Cindy, Twiggy,
I juz went straight to my gynae for the medication, and yes, even with the medi, u still hv to bear with the pain that comes wif engorgement and the tingling sensation (hence also taking anti-swell medi). My fren who has no prob on engorgement juz take the stop BM pills.

Twiggy, I din receive yr PM leh. maybe u juz send direct to my email add at [email protected]

lazykat:: i see... so when theres engorgement, we just have to bear with it? need to massage? how long will it take for engorgement to clear? how u feeling now? haha.. can i ad u to msn? hoho!!

Cindy, sure =) .. once u took medi, cant massage breast liao (also muz reduce any form of stimulation), u will feel farnie for the 1 wk or so, but now my one wk is over, breasts juz feel very soft, so need to wear back tight bra with gd support. (some people say the medi will make yr breasts small, for mine, its juz almost back to pre-pregnancy size - i am never well endowed in the first place, so din quite bother me)

IMO, it will be gd to hv someone take care of baby in the interim cos my hubby is working, and I am alone at home with my gal then - so I got my PIL to drop by to help me out in the daytime, to minimise any stimulation to the breasts... Now I still hv some residue BM and no stinging pain oredi.. Blues are gone too, and plan to enjoy this third mth of my maternity leave with my gal before i go back to work next mth, yeah.

hey i realise my engorgement on the right breast is worse than my left one. Gosh, will my breast be lopsided in time to come? Needless to say, I always manage to pump out more milk from the right side. A bit worried.

Haiz, me also starting to work remotely. Need to start pacing myself back to work. Got to travel up to HK for a trip next week. Think will miss my baby like mad. But then i need to really start getting back to work. And also good la, can go hk for some shopping...

lazykat:: okays thank you! hah have added you le!!
k, will it feel very rocky? now i'm trying to replace feeds slowly by FM, and till now, missing one feed, i still don't feel very ROCKY yet, will fill full but bearable. Okay, you made me less nervous and scared haha. gg to enjoy my one last month of BF and next month NO MORE! cause i took 2 months of no pay, so i'll try to stop mid next month so i can have some time to enjoy with bb other than hating to carry him, cause when i carry means it's time to feed.
haha.

tinkabel:: you are soo funny! but seriously, i also have the same prob. right more engorged than left. i think it's normal. hahaha ya la, can go HK for shopping for bb~ i think i also won't bear to go to work but i guess if i face bb all day, i'll also go mad. hahah!!

tinkabel, i was a bit heavier on my left previously too. Now in fact seem more balanced leh.. well until breasts firm up.. heard my fren say will remain soft for a while.. How I miss air travel! Already missed 2 biz travelling to US - but I think its worth it, cos preggie then and now on maternity leave, cant bear to go away for 1 wk. Also, gal need me to rock and sing to her before ZZzz.. haiz

Cindy, no more hard rocks! but a bit farnie initially cos still feel fullness but nothing much flows out.. to eventually trickles. i am even thinking of getting some exercise done.. to rid those bulky thighs!

Tinkabel, no need to worry. same here my right side can yield more BM too. since i BF my son last time already like tt. maybe cos i used to latch on right side more. bt this time i tried to 'balance'by leting Mischa latch more on left and pump from right. so far left side ss inc, but right side still more thn left.

Looks like a lot of u starting work soon hor? kinda sad..cos we have been chitchatting since preggy days and ML also...when evryone start work this thread will prob move slower again.

Those using Avent UNO, jus check with u anyone using the 'new' version? cos a few ppl said the 'older' version suction nt strong and they actually complained to Avent and exchange for new one which the adaptor is different and suction better. Any idea?

hahah lazykat:: thank you! so when it was hardening, is it painful? can still carry baby? i heard it'll be so pain man. i can't wait to buy NEW BRA! goodness. i love to buy bras last time. now, i can only LOOK.

tinkabel:: i added yuo! hehe... those who wanna add me can do so. [email protected]

cindy,
why u want to stop breastfeeding? Me still thinkg of continuing with it. Just tat if I travel, must pump out the milk and throw away to prevent engorgement. That's the part I hate. got to time myself when going out.

Hi Cindy,

My boy also cry suddenly at times in middle of his sleep. What my CL did and thot me to do is to say softly to him,'it's ok. just dreaming.. just dreaming..'and lightly pat his chest back to his sleep. She didnt carry him up.

Hi Cindy,

so how did you coax him back to sleep?

my boy will cry till tears come out from side of his closed eyes. like very ke lian. sometimes he will also bian zui (pressed his lips together).

pig:: we carry him loh! this whole morning me and MIL take turns carrying him hahaha!!! ya cry until tears come out so we just relented and carried him in our arms. even when he sleeps in our arms he'll still cry out loudly.

dear mommies, i have a serious problem now. donm't know why bb is rejecting btl of FM now! gosh!! i don't know what to do now. sighs.

Cindy, i guess he knows ur intention to stop BF soon and is protesting!!! hahaha....keep up ur BM babe..
he still loves mummy's milk

catherine: my baby same as yours.. i'm using the GF routine for nap and activity time.. feeds can't follow..cos in the day luke is on 2hourly feeds, but nighttime variable some nights he goes 6 hours, some nights it's 3hrly..

s@l: yah, GF is good if can follow strictly but with 2 kids, have to adjust somewhat..i fully latch and some days i'm latching my younger boy at the dining table and feeding my older girl (26m) lunch at the same time.. i'm still trying to juggle.. my current goal is to get luke, my baby boy to try to sleep on his own..now i have luke taking his mid day nap 1130-2 and zoe my older girl taking her nap 1-3.. this combi seems to work
at least allows me to handle one at a time..
you're going back to work soon? so passing your kids to your mum?

I am also trying to train my baby gal using GF method - though I failed to make her sleep by 7pm, but has been sleeping from 11/midnight thru 6/7am.. a few times she may make some noise at 4am, but I did not give her milk, juz coax her, e.g. pat pat her, give her a bit of pacifier if it doesnt calm her down, then she will go back to la la land again.. hopefully this will continue to work..

pig07, my gal also will bian zui, haha.. but i still love the way she smile after her feed/burp.. as tho very contented.

zoe+luke'smummy,
i starting to help my hubby in his ID biz...time quite flexi so i can still latch her often but needs to pump for her feeds when i send her to my mum. i prefer to give her fresh EBM then the frozen ones give to my son.
But i m facing some storage problem here! hiaz..my frozen stash of EBM is scary....

s@l:: haha no lah! definitely must switch to fM someday mah haha tonight i try again see how. haaha...

lazykat:: maybe i should do like you lah. when he makes noise untill it's UNBEARABLE, those elephant noises, i will latch him on, then he will suckle for 10 min to 15 min and back to lala land. maybe i'll try to do what u did tonight. hahaha!! my boy doesn't sleep from 6plus all the way till 8 to 9 where he gets his last feed. all the best to you!

zoe & lazykat,
how long have u been trying GF method? my baby still cries for milk a few times at nite. i tried giving him water but he'll cry even louder! think i might have to succumb to pacifier soon. these few days, he takes half feeds 2 hrly from 7pm-1am. when my mum or HB feed him, he difts off to sleep v soon. sometimes he cant even finish half of his normal feed. i suspect he is more sleepy than hungry, hence this behaviour. at nite, i latch so i not sure how much he takes but it's also 2hrly.

pig07 & lazykat,
my boy will also bian zui if we pick him up after he has cried v long or he cried v pitiful. it's as if he's complaining to us. hahaha

S@L,
y ur frozen stash of EBM is scary? u have too many bags of EBM? i only have 6 bags of 200ml each...

Cindy,
mine also happen to be the most difficult from 7pm thru 11pm (last feed).. as tho she knows daddy is home..hmm..worse if she is awake for more then 2 hrs.. super cranky! so muz try to make her sleep even if its for 15/30min - think the 2 hr awake rule kinda apply to her too.. for late night feed, I know she is drinking enuf fr 7am thru 11pm, so not worried abt not giving her milk at 4am+. Need to trial and error since every baby is different. Good Luck! Accepted u in MSN liao..

Cat, ya i pump aft every feed n usually Mischa cant even finish one side. if i dun latch i can pump for 2 feeds each time...so end up alot of EBM...

s@l:: wow means you got a lot of milk ley! usually my boy will FEED both sides. hahaha then another 2.5hrs to 3 hours again. WOW! hehe no wonder you got stash! but that's so good for your boy and girl.

lazykat:: yes hahaha my boy's like your little girl, want to play in the pm! and will feed like nonstop from that time. last night i fed him from 730 to 830, then 915pm he wanna feed again. Gave him FM but he doesn't want, spit out the teat and cry so badly! so no choice, let him latch on till 1015pm, then put him back on bed and topped up 30mL FM , finally he took the bottle, but drank only 20mL haha. And slept till 2am then 5am and 8am. Gosh. I wanna try your method tonight! hopefully he won't reject FM btl tonight!

Hi Lazykat and Catherine,

Ya.. when they bian zui, like so ke lian.. sometimes when i 'scolding' him for wasting milk, he will look at me and smile. When i was talking to another person, he will also turn his head and follow me and listen as if he knows. Can be very satisfying to see babies growing up this way.

my baby also bian zui. she more funny.. i take out her diapers liao then she pee. then i say her lah(why never pee properly. then she smile. i buay tahan...

she seems happy to wet herself.haha..dirty girl.

Cindy, like u said the last time if latch and pump will end up alot of supply. tats true for me and also engorgement happens very often too.

tinkabel, cindy,
added both of you!

lazykat, the method u use for ur girl when she wakes up for night feed was the same i used for my elder gal... that time was so tired and lazy that i juz pat her, hoping she wld fall asleep after waking up in the middle of the night... and she did! hehe...

am going to do tat for this younger one also, but holding off a little bit since i'm waking up to pump at the same time after giving her the midnight feed

I think the babies can really understand us, so I will pat her and talk to her, saying its not milk time, so you have to go back to sleep, and mummy is helping u to do so.. and in less then 10min i walk away, waited outside her room for another 5 to 10 min to ensure she is not uncomfy in other ways, or by then her eyes wld be closed.. I am following the GF feeding time, so will try to fit in all 5 feeds within 7 ~ 11pm. Started a few wks back, but as I was on EBM then, so more worried that she genuinely hungry, so will still give in if she makes noise at 2-3am.. but now that I am on FM for the past wk, I tend to be more hard-fisted..

lazykat,
my boy same as yours. Most difficult from 7pm to 11pm. He is usually awake the whole morning and then after his noon feed, he will nap most of the afternoon. But when evening time comes, he's really difficult. Last night, after I fed him at 830pm, I tried 2 times to carry him and then put him to sleep. Both times he woke up. Then my FIL tried for another 2 times, this time, also gave pacifier. But as soon as he puts bb down, bb cries again. Happened until 11PM where I give him his last feed then he slept. Haiz, if every nite like that, I will faint. Esp when I go back to work. As for night feeds, he usually wakes up ard 3-4AM, for 1 time, then will wake up at 6 or 7 plus to start the day again.

Haiz, tomorrow need to bring my boy to ICA to collect his passport. Will be a challenge man, since I need to handle him alone and it is prob going to take at least 2-3 hours.

tinkabel,
maybe he slept too much in the afternoon? Try to play with him during 3-5pm? My gal juz woke up fr her nap.. time to talk to her, hee. Good Luck!

Also added u in MSN, as well as S@l.

S@l,

since u hv so much milk, r u intendg on gettg a freezer for ur BM? my hb just got an extra fridge to store but it's full already. hence, i thot this time round, a freezer cld b more viable. i really feel v sad if there's no place to store e BM.

steffietan, no actually i dun wish to store so much frozen stash. i prefer to give fresh/chilled ones to bb. i hope to clear the frozen stash soon, jus keep some for emergency then pump daily for feeds.

luckily my fridge has this seperate compartment which can convert into a chiller or freezer. hence i have the whole compartment to myself. the freezer in the top door is for storing food.

i heard some mummies from other threads actually bought those industrial freezer for their EBM. but i dun intend to do so...abit too 'kua zhang'..kekeke

mummies who had c-section, what colour is your scar? Mine is reddish still, so I'm wondering if this has anything to do with drinking tea and coffee. Could this be the cause to a darker scar?